Minnesota State Senate

Transportation Committee
Monday, January 30, 2023
3:30 PMLivestream YouTube

Minutes

<u>Present</u>: Senator D. Scott Dibble - Chair, Senator Kelly L. Morrison Vice Chair, Senator Jim Carlson, Senator Julia E. Coleman, Senator Foung Hawj, Senator Jeff R. Howe, Senator John R. Jasinski, Senator Andrew R. Lang, Senator Jennifer A. McEwen, Senator Lindsey Port

Absent: No Members Absent

Chair D. Scott Dibble called the committee to order at 3:31.

S.F. 74: Senator Port: Commuter rail and intercity passenger rail moratorium repeal.

Senator Lindsey Port presented S.F.74.

Senator Port moved A1 amendment. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed and the amendment was adopted

Testimony was heard from the following inviduals:

- Jack Flom
- Jesse Cook
- Darwin Schaeferlane

Senator Port moved that S.F.74 pass and be referred to the floor. Via voice, the motion was adopted.

S.F. 202: Senator McEwen: Minneapolis to Duluth inter-city passenger rail appropriation.

Senator Jennifer A. McEwen presented S.F.202.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

- Andrew Johnson, Minneapolis City Council, NLX Alliance Chair
- Melanie Benjamin, Chief Executive, Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe
- Keith Nelson, St. Louis County Commissioner
- Jim Paine, Mayor of Superior, Wisconsin (REMOTE)
- Evan Vogel, Cambridge City Administrator
- Daniel Fanning, Duluth Area Chamber of Commerce
- Joel Mueller, Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers & Trainmen
- Derrick James, AMTRAK (REMOTE)
- Dan Streu, President, St. Louis County Historical Society and
- Veterans Memorial Hall/Military Veteran (REMOTE)
- Ken Buehler, NLX Technical Advisory Committee Chair
- Frank Loetterle, MnDOT Freight & Rail Planning Program Manager
- Jack Kimbler
- Kylee Smet
- Jesse Cook

- Gunnar Aas
- Darwin Schaeferlane

S.F.202 was laid over.

S.F. 458: Senator Jasinski: Minnesota rail service improvement program bond issue and appropriation.

Senator John R. Jasinski presented S.F.458

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

- Wayne Hall, Minnesota Commercial Railway
- Jack Kimbler
- Bryce Riesner

Senator Jasinski moved that S.F.458 be referred to the Capital Investment Committee. Via voice vote, this motion prevailed.

Chair Dibble adjourned the committee at 5:06pm.

Senator D. Scott Dibble, Chair

O. Scott Dibble

Alex Will, Legislative Assistant