Minnesota State Senate

Transportation Committee
Monday, January 23, 2023
3:00 PMLivestream YouTube

Minutes

<u>Present</u>: Senator D. Scott Dibble - Chair, Senator Kelly L. Morrison Vice Chair, Senator Jim Carlson, Senator Julia E. Coleman, Senator Foung Hawj, Senator Jeff R. Howe, Senator John R. Jasinski, Senator Andrew R. Lang, Senator Jennifer A. McEwen, Senator Lindsey Port

Absent: No Members Absent

Chair D. Scott Dibble called the committee to order 3:00pm.

Federal Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act update, Minnesota Department of Transportation

The presentation was given by the individuals from the Minnesota Department of Transportation:

- Nancy Daubenberger, Commissioner
- Serge Phillips, Federal Relations Manager
- Sam Brown, Interim Budget Director
- Josh Knatterud-Hubinger, Chief Financial Officer

The committee opened up to discussion and questions.

Chair Dibble handed the gavel to Vice Chair Kelly L. Morrison.

S.F. 24: Senator Dibble: Federal Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act appropriation Testimony expected from: -John Thorson, LIUNA Minnesota and North Dakota -John Pollard, Int'l Union of Operating Engineers Local 49 -Abbey Bryduck, MN Asphalt Paving Association -Laura Zieglar, Associated General Contractors -Bentley Graves, MN Chamber of Commerce.

Chair Dibble presented S.F.24.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals.

- John Thorson, LIUNA Minnesota and North Dakota
- John Pollard, Int'l Union of Operating Engineers Local 49
- Abbey Bryduck, MN Asphalt Paving Association
- Laura Zieglar, Associated General Contractors
- Bentley Graves, MN Chamber of Commerce.

Ranking Minority Member Senator John R. Jasinski moved the A1 Amendment. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed, and the amendment was adopted.

Chair Dibble moved to pass S.F.24 as amended and re-refer it to the Finance Committee. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed.

Following the passage of S.F.24, Vice Chair Morrison returned the gavel to Chair Dibble.

Fiscal Overview with SCRFA Staff

Presentation by Krista Boyd regarding transportation financing.

Chair Dibble adjourned the committee at 4:53.

O. Scott Dibble

Senator D. Scott Dibble, Chair

Alex Will, Legislative Assistant