INTERNATIONAL UNION OF OPERATING ENGINEERS

LOCAL NO. 49, 49A, 49B, 49C, 49D, 49E, 49L Minnesota • North Dakota • South Dakota

CLAYTON J. JOHNSON, President RYAN P. DAVIES, Vice President STEVE R. PIPER, Recording-Corresponding Secretary OSCAR J. SLETTEN, Treasurer



JASON A. GEORGE Business Manager/Financial Secretary

2829 Anthony Lane South, Minneapolis, MN 55418-3285 Phone (612) 788-9441 • Toll Free (866) 788-9441 • Fax (612) 788-1936

January 9, 2023

Senator Scott Dibble, Chair Senate Transportation Committee 3107 Minnesota Senate Building St. Paul, MN 55155

Dear Chair Dibble:

On behalf of the International Union of Operating Engineers Local 49, we write today to express our support of Commissioner Nancy Daubenberger to continue to lead the Minnesota Department of Transportation. We encourage members of the Senate to support her confirmation.

Commissioner Daubenberger possesses the essential professional and technical expertise required to lead the department. As an engineer, she is uniquely qualified to provide the leadership the state needs regarding building and maintaining the roads and bridges which our economy is dependent upon. As a dedicated public servant, she also understands the concerns of the numerous stakeholder's groups, and ultimately, the citizens of the state.

In her service at the department, we have found the Commissioner to be accessible and responsive to the hard working men and women in the industry and greatly appreciate her concern for safety, promotion of apprenticeship programs, and efforts to recruit a highly skilled workforce.

It is for these reasons we strongly support Commissioner Daubenberger to be confirmed by the Minnesota Senate. Thank you for your consideration and we wish you the best in your deliberations.

Sincerely,

John Pollard Legislative Director

Cc: Governor Tim Walz Senator John Jasinski