

Chair

Erin Murphy 3211 MSB St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-5931 sen.erin.murphy@senate.mn

Vice Chair Nicole Mitchell

Ranking Minority Member Bruce Anderson

Members

Calvin Bahr Jim Carlson Steve Cwodzinski Steve Drazkowski Omar Fateh Heather Gustafson John Jasinski Mark Koran Andrew Lang Erin Maye Quade Kelly Morrison

Committee Staff: Committee Administrator Teresa Mozur (651) 296-4151 teresa.mozur@senate.mn

Committee Legislative Assistant

Alexis Kise (651) 296-5931 alexis.kise@senate.mn

Caucus Research

Hayley Bloom Peterson (DFL) Joey Wiley (GOP)

Senate Counsel Stephanie James Joan White

Minnesota Senate State and Local Government and Veterans Committee

Friday, March 17th, 2023 - 8:30 am - MSB 1200

Agenda

1. Call to order

- 2. S.F. 1772 Dahms: Automotive self-insurance rules modification by the commissioner of commerce requirement
- 3. S.F. 2401 Wiklund: Dept of Children, Youth, and Families establishment; children's cabinet modification; appropriating money
 - Erin Bailey, Minnesota Department of Management and Budget
 - Tikki Brown, Minnesota Department of Human Services
 - Bobbie Burnham, Minnesota Department of Education
 - Ellory Roske
 - **Rich** Neumeister
- 4. S.F. 2668 Rest: Appointment authority modification for certain members of the legislative audit commission and party affiliation clarification for the chair and vice-chair of the commission
- 5. S.F. 2098 Marty: Process provision to refund the state stadium bonds
 - Commissioner Schowalter, Minnesota Department of Management and Budget
 - Bryan Dahl, Minnesota Department of Management and Budget
- 6. S.F. 1096 Frentz: Commissioner of management and budget direction to make a determination on use of the general reserve account in connection with refunding or prepayment of stadium appropriation bonds authorization

Fiscal Analyst

Andrew Erickson

Minnesota Senate State and Local Government and Veterans Committee

Tuesday, Thursday MSB 1200 12:30 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.



Chair

Erin Murphy 3211 MSB St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-5931 sen.erin.murphy@senate.mn

Vice Chair Nicole Mitchell

Ranking Minority Member Bruce Anderson

Members

Calvin Bahr Jim Carlson Steve Cwodzinski Steve Drazkowski Omar Fateh Heather Gustafson John Jasinski Mark Koran Andrew Lang Erin Maye Quade Kelly Morrison

Committee Staff:

Committee Administrator Teresa Mozur (651) 296-4151 teresa.mozur@senate.mn

Committee Legislative Assistant

Alexis Kise (651) 296-5931 alexis.kise@senate.mn

Caucus Research

Hayley Bloom Peterson (DFL) Joey Wiley (GOP)

Senate Counsel Stephanie James

Joan White

Minnesota Senate State and Local Government and Veterans Committee

- 7. S.F. 2815 Dibble: Minneapolis local sales and use tax provisions, lawful gambling tax provisions and other stadium-related provisions modification
 - Heather Johnston City of Minneapolis

8. S.F. 2252- Mitchell: Data practices provisions modifications; Office of Collaborative and dispute resolution and Office of Enterprise Sustainability establishment

Julie Bayerl, Department of Administration

9. S.F. 2270 - Morrison: Ranked voting in elections for federal and state offices establishment; jurisdiction adoption of ranked choice voting for local offices authorization

- Secretary of State Steve Simon
- U.S. Representative Mary Peltola (AK)
- Councilmember Jenna Carter, City of Bloomington

10. S.F. 1681 - Wiklund: Health system requirement to return charitable assets received from the state to the general fund in certain circumstances

- Danny Ackert, MN Hospital Association
- Matthew Bergeron, MN Hospital Association
- Michael Miller, SCA Surgery
- Ben Baglio, MN Nurses Association
- Heidi Holste, Health Plan Partnership of Minnesota
- Justin Stofferahn, Minnesota Farmer's Union
- Erin Conti, Office of the Attorney General

11. S.F. 1621 - Pappas - Minnesota Nursing Home Workforce Standards Board Act

• Travis Burth, SEIU Healthcare Minnesota and Iowa

Fiscal Analyst Andrew Erickson

^{son} Minnesota Senate State and Local Government and Veterans Committee

Tuesday, Thursday MSB 1200 12:30 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.



Chair

Erin Murphy 3211 MSB St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-5931 sen.erin.murphy@senate.mn

Vice Chair Nicole Mitchell

Ranking Minority Member Bruce Anderson

Members

Calvin Bahr Jim Carlson Steve Cwodzinski Steve Drazkowski Omar Fateh Heather Gustafson John Jasinski Mark Koran Andrew Lang Erin Maye Quade Kelly Morrison

Committee Staff:

Committee Administrator Teresa Mozur (651) 296-4151 teresa.mozur@senate.mn

Committee Legislative Assistant

Alexis Kise (651) 296-5931 alexis.kise@senate.mn

Caucus Research

Hayley Bloom Peterson (DFL) Joey Wiley (GOP)

Senate Counsel Stephanie James Joan White

Fiscal Analyst

Andrew Erickson

Minnesota Senate State and Local Government and Veterans Committee

Tuesday, Thursday MSB 1200 12:30 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.

Minnesota Senate State and Local Government and Veterans Committee

12. SF 83 – McEwen - Legislative employees authorization to obtain elections for exclusive representation to bargain collectively as to terms of employment

- Devin Bruce, MAPE
- Ethan Vogel, AFSCME Council 5

13. S.F. 360 - Mohamed: Office of New Americans creation

14. S.F. 1476 – Kunesh: Ethnic studies requirement establishment; Ethnic Studies Working Group establishment; appropriating money