

Minnesota Senate State and Local Government and Veterans Committee

Chair

Erin Murphy 3211 MSB St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-5931 sen.erin.murphy@senate.mn

Thursday, March 16th, 2023 - 12:30 pm - MSB 1200

Vice Chair

Nicole Mitchell

Ranking Minority Member

Bruce Anderson

Members

Calvin Bahr Jim Carlson Steve Cwodzinski Steve Drazkowski Omar Fateh Heather Gustafson John Jasinski

Mark Koran Andrew Lang Erin Maye Quade

Kelly Morrison

Committee Staff:

Committee Administrator

Teresa Mozur (651) 296-4151

teresa.mozur@senate.mn

Committee Legislative Assistant

Alexis Kise (651) 296-5931 alexis.kise@senate.mn

Caucus Research

Hayley Bloom Peterson (DFL) Joey Wiley (GOP)

Senate Counsel

Stephanie James Joan White

Fiscal Analyst

Andrew Erickson

Agenda

- 1. Call to order
- 2. Overview from the Minnesota State Arts Board
 - Sue Gens, Minnesota State Arts Board
- 3. Overview from the Capitol Area Architectural and Planning Board
 - · Merritt Clapp-Smith, Capitol Area Architectural and Planning Board
- 4. Overview from the Minnesota History Center
 - David Kelliher, Minnesota History Center
- 5. S.F. 2568 Champion: St. Anthony Falls area geophysical study appropriation
 - Colleen O'Connor Toberman, Friends of the Mississippi River
 - Eric Waage, Hennepin County
 - Carrie Jennings, Freshwater
- 6. S.F. 1433 Hawj: City of St. Paul authorization to use a design-build process for a skate park project.
 - Alice Messer City of Saint Paul

Minnesota Senate State and Local Government and Veterans Committee



Minnesota Senate State and Local Government and Veterans Committee

Chair

Erin Murphy 3211 MSB St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-5931 sen.erin.murphy@senate.mn

Vice Chair
Nicole Mitchell

Ranking Minority Member

Bruce Anderson

Members

Calvin Bahr Jim Carlson Steve Cwodzinski Steve Drazkowski Omar Fateh Heather Gustafson John Jasinski Mark Koran Andrew Lang Erin Maye Quade Kelly Morrison

Committee Staff: Committee Administrator

Teresa Mozur (651) 296-4151 teresa.mozur@senate.mn

Committee Legislative Assistant

Alexis Kise (651) 296-5931 alexis.kise@senate.mn

Caucus Research

Hayley Bloom Peterson (DFL) Joey Wiley (GOP)

Senate Counsel

Stephanie James Joan White

Fiscal Analyst
Andrew Erickson

7. S.F. 2431- Mitchell: Council on LGBTQIA Minnesotans establishment

• Karlton Laster, Outfront MN

8. S.F. 2442 - Cwodzinski: Genocidal education bill

• Jackie Subar, Anti-Defamation League

• Laura Zelle, Jewish Community Relations Council of Minnesota and the Dakotas

9. S.F. 1476 - Kunesh: Ethnic studies requirement establishment; Ethnic Studies Working Group establishment appropriating money.

10. S.F. 36 - Kunesh: Missing and murdered Indigenous relatives information reward fund establishment and appropriation

11. S.F. 0820 - Kunesh: Indigenous Peoples' Day school observance required, and Indigenous Peoples' Day established as state holiday and Christopher Columbus Day eliminated as state holiday.

12. S.F. 1772 - Dahms: Automobile self-insurance provisions modification.

- Jon Kelly, Department of Commerce
- Bruce Kleven
- 13. Adjournment

Minnesota Senate State and Local Government and Veterans Committee