
Improving licensing laws for barbers 
and cosmetologists in Minnesota

Cosmetology and barber  
licensing in Minnesota

Many occupations require state licensing. Gener-
ally, however, cosmetologists and barbers are two 
of the most widely licensed occupations and are 
also among the most onerously licensed, especially 
among low-income occupations.

In 2017, for example, the Institute of Justice pub-
lished a study that analyzed 102 commonly licensed 
low-income occupations among the states. And 
among those, barbers and cosmetologists were in 
the top 10 most onerously licensed occupations. 

For Minnesota, out of 34 licensed low-income 
occupations, barbers ranked the 8th highest, and 
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1.	� Reduce required training hours for barbers and 
cosmetologists

2.	�� Create a specialty hair technician license
3.	�� Adopt inspection, registration, or other less 

burdensome rules
4.	�� Repeal unnecessary administrative rules 
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According to the Institute of Justice, most people 
attending cosmetology or barber school rarely 
graduate on time, which means they delay their 
entry into the workforce and lose even more money. 
The Institute of Justice estimated that in the six-
year period ranging from the 2011– 2012 through 
2016–2017 academic years, only about 24 percent 
of cosmetology students in Minnesota graduated 
on time. The rest took more than 12 months. 

To make matters worse, the cosmetology industry 
mostly consists of low-income individuals who do 
not have tens of thousands of dollars to invest in 
cosmetology or barber school. So, a good portion of 
students ends up taking on debt to finance school-
ing. The Institute of Justice estimated that, on av-
erage, two out of every three cosmetology license 
holders in Minnesota had some federal student 
debt in the six-year period between the 2011–2012 
through 2016–2017 academic calendars. 

Reform is necessary

Compared to most licensed occupations, barbers 
and cosmetologists face more stringent require-
ments, despite the evidence showing that these 
licensing requirements have little to no effect on 
quality, safety, or health. 

Additionally, these requirements restrict the supply 
of barber and cosmetology services, thereby raising 
prices. These requirements also make it hard for 
low-income individuals to enter the cosmetology 
and barbering industries, which can keep them poor, 
thereby worsening income inequality.

The Minnesota legislature should take steps to ease 
the burden of barber and cosmetology licensing and 

cosmetologists ranked the 10th highest most 
burdensome occupational licenses. Upon analyzing 
what is involved for an individual to meet the 
requirements of licensure in Minnesota, it is easy to 
see why this is the case. During the publication of 
the Institute of Justice’s report in 2017, Minnesota 
required anyone applying for a cosmetology license 
to complete 1,550 hours of education, write 3 exams, 
and pay $285 in fees. To be a barber, Minnesota 
required an applicant to complete 1,500 hours of 
education, have 12 months of experience, write 4 
exams, and pay $182 in fees. The Institute of Justice 
estimated that individuals spent 613 days meeting 
requirements for a barber license and 362 days 
meeting cosmetology licensing requirements.

At present, Minnesota no longer requires anyone 
applying for a barber license to have 12 months of 
experience. But all the other requirements remain 
unchanged. And even though Minnesota isn’t the 
most burdensome state, licensing requirements for 
cosmetologists and barbers could be eased, espe-
cially considering how stringent they are compared 
to the requirements of other licensed occupations 
in the state.

Burdensome requirements keep 
low-income Minnesotans out 

Burdensome requirements raise the cost of getting 
a license since applicants usually spend thousands 
of dollars on programs that take years to finish, 
while at the same time foregoing income. At the 
Minnesota School of Cosmetology, for instance, it 
costs nearly $25,000 and takes 11 months of full-
time studying to finish a cosmetology course. And 
at the Minnesota school of barbering, it costs nearly 
$12,000 to finish a barber training program. 

TABLE 1:  
Minnesota licensing requirements 

Barbers Cosmetologists 

Fees $182 $285 

Required hours of education 1,500 1,550

Exams 4 3

Average Minimum Grade 10 12
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Figure 1:
Estimated calendar days lost while meeting  

cosmetology licensing requirements, 2017
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ing, hair styling, skincare and facials, makeup, wax-
ing, and manicuring and nail care.” 

Services like manicuring, nail care, waxing, and 
makeup have nothing to do with hair. So, requiring 
would-be hair technicians to spend thousands of 
hours, and thousands of dollars learning about nails, 
skincare, facials, and makeup — skills that they are 
not interested in and will likely not use — only de-
ters and delays applicants without improving safety 
or quality. 

The legislature should create a hair technician li-
cense with fewer training requirements only specific 
to hair care. This would reduce the cost of entering 
the industry, giving more opportunities to low-in-
come Minnesotans who are specifically interested 
in hair care. There is no reason to believe enacting 
a similar specialty license that already exists for es-
theticians, nail technicians, and eyelash technicians 
would have negative impacts on the safety and 
quality of hair care services.

Adopt inspection, registration, or 
other less burdensome rules

Apart from training hours, lawmakers can also adopt 
other less burdensome regulations like registration, 
certification, or inspection. Cosmetology and bar-
bering are low-risk industries whereby hygiene — 
which can be regulated through inspection— is the 
biggest concern. 

To ensure hygiene and safety, legislators can still re-
quire workers to be instructed in topics like chemi-
cal reactions, hygiene, and bacterial infections. 
Besides licensing, there are a lot of ways through 
which workers can obtain the necessary skills and 
knowledge to perform these tasks without spending 
tens of thousands of dollars as well as thousands of 
hours at a beauty school. These include apprentice-
ships or on-the-job training — methods that are sig-
nificantly less costly compared to licensing. 

Repeal unnecessary  
administrative rules

Some licensing rules for barbers and cosmetolo-
gists are unnecessary and they make licensing more 

make it easier for low-income Minnesotans to enter 
the industry. 

Reduce training hours 

It takes less training time to become an Emergency 
Medical Technician (EMT) than it does to become 
a licensed barber or cosmetologist in Minnesota. 
To become an EMT, the state only requires that an 
applicant undertakes 150 hours of education. Cos-
metologists and barbers, however, need 10 times as 
many training hours. 

But being an EMT arguably involves more risk than 
cutting hair, putting on makeup, or styling hair. If 
these rules were based on the level of risk, the dif-
ferences in education requirements would reflect 
that reality. The fact that training requirements are 
not driven by the level of risk suggests that there are 
some other factors at play. Most likely, industry in-
cumbents push for strict requirements to keep their 
competition out. 

Legislators need to reduce the number of training 
hours required for barbers or cosmetologists. The 
market system provides customers with numer-
ous means for regulating quality — such as online 
reviews — so reducing training hours would not af-
fect quality or safety but would improve supply and 
competition by encouraging more entrants into the 
industry. Moreover, less burdensome rules would 
enable low-income Minnesotans to enter these oc-
cupations without incurring massive student debt. 
 
Create a specialty hair  
technician license 

Nail technicians, estheticians, and eyelash techni-
cians are allowed to apply for specialty licenses that 
require far fewer training hours that only cover their 
specific field of interest. 

People that are only interested in hair care are not 
offered the same opportunity, however. In Minneso-
ta, anyone who performs hair services must get a 
full cosmetology license which involves 1,550 hours 
of instruction and training in things like “makeup, 
shampooing, scalp and hair conditioning, hair de-
sign and shaping, chemical hair control, hair color-
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nesota Board of Barbershop Examiners should con-
sider how existing barbershops and barber schools 
would be affected, and whether there is a need for 
a new facility. This rule gives incumbents power to 
block out their competition by claiming that new 
entrants would hurt existing establishments, even 
when customers would benefit from having more 
establishments to choose from. 

Conclusion

Burdensome licensing rules for cosmetology and 
barbers have little to no effect on safety and quality, 
yet they raise prices and deny low-income Minne-
sotans jobs and business opportunities. Loosening 
these requirements would make it less costly for 
individuals to get licensed, which would improve 
supply and competition, thereby lowering prices for 
consumers. 

complex than it needs to be. Legislators need to re-
peal such rules. A few such laws include:

• �requiring barbers to renew their licenses 
every year,

• �requiring any barber student who has not 
obtained a license in more than four years 
since undergoing barber school to retake 
an additional 500 hours of barber school 
education,

• �requiring managers to have both a salon 
and school manager license, and

• �requiring cosmetology licensees from out-
side the state to write an extra exam in the 
state even if they have come from a state 
with similar education requirements.

The legislature should also repeal the “public wel-
fare” rule which requires that when reviewing an 
application for a new barber school facility, the Min-
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