

Chair Erin Murphy 3211 MSB St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-5931 sen.erin.murphy@senate.mn

Vice Chair Nicole Mitchell

Ranking Minority Member Bruce Anderson

Members

Calvin Bahr Jim Carlson Steve Cwodzinski Steve Drazkowski Omar Fateh Heather Gustafson John Jasinski Mark Koran Andrew Lang Erin Maye Quade Kelly Morrison

Committee Staff:

Committee Administrator Teresa Mozur (651) 296-4151 teresa.mozur@senate.mn

Committee Legislative Assistant

Alexis Kise (651) 296-5931 alexis.kise@senate.mn

Caucus Research Hayley Bloom Peterson (DFL)

Joey Wiley (GOP)

Senate Counsel Stephanie James Joan White

Fiscal Analyst Andrew Erickson

Minnesota Senate State and Local Government and Veterans Committee

Tuesday, February 28th, 2023 12:30 pm MSB 1200

Agenda

1. Call to Order

- 2. S.F. 1927 Maye Quade Healthy eating, here at home program modification
 - Peter Woitock, Hunger Solutions
 - Sina Pleggenkuhle, Minnesota Farmers' Market Association

3. S.F. 402 - Kunesh - Community solutions establishment and appropriation for healthy child development grant.

- *Rinal Ray, Voices and Choices for Children Co-chair, CEO of People Serving People*
- Ying Lee, Community Solutions Advisory Council Co-chair

4. S.F. 1031 - Cwodzinkski - Minnesota State High School League governing board membership modification

- Erich Martens, Executive Director of Minnesota State High School League
- Roger Aronson, Legal and Legislative for Minnesota State High School League

5. S.F. 1022 - Morrison - Legislative task force on establishment to review and priorituze resources to support an aging demographic in the state.

- Kristine Sundberg, Executive Director of Elder Voice Advocates
- Kathy Kelso, Elder Voice Advocates
- Lief Grina, MN Reginal Retirees Council President
- Lisa Richards
- Axel Kylander, MN Disability Council
- Kari Benson, MN Board on Aging Executive Director

Minnesota Senate State and Local Government and Veterans Committee

Tuesday, Thursday MSB 1200 12:30 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.

- 6. Budget Overview from Minnesota State Office of the Secretary of State
 - Secretary of State Steve Simon
- 7. Budget overview from the Minnesota Department of Veteran Affairs (MDVA)
 - Ben Johnson, Legislative Director MDVA
- 8. Budget overview from the Minnesota Department of Military Affairs
 - Don Kerr, Executive Director, Minnesota Department of Military Affairs
 - Major General Shawn Manke
- 9. Adjournment

Minnesota Senate State and Local Government and Veterans Committee