Minnesota State Senate

State and Local Government and Veterans Committee Thursday, January 19, 2023 5:30 PM, Location to be announced

Minutes

<u>Present</u>: Senator Erin P. Murphy - Chair, Senator Nicole L. Mitchell - Vice Chair, Senator Bruce D. Anderson, Senator Jim Carlson, Senator Steve A. Cwodzinski, Senator Omar Fateh, Senator Heather Gustafson, Senator John R. Jasinski, Senator Mark W. Koran, Senator Erin K. Maye Quade, Senator Kelly L. Morrison

Absent: Senator Calvin K. Bahr, Senator Steve Drazkowski, Senator Andrew R. Lang

Senator Erin P. Murphy called the meeting to order at 5:39 pm.

Opening Remarks

Public testimony

Testimony was heard from:

Lindsey Hofer

Mick Aguirre Kristy Janigo Jacob Thomas Jonna Phillips Dhuguma Tola Brian MacNeill Chuck LeTourneau Jim Meyer John Wexler Michael Cavanaugh

Presentation from Minnesota Department of Veterans Affairs Commissioner Herke

Confirmation of Minnesota Department of Veterans Affairs Commissioner Herke

Vice Chair Mitchell moved Larry Herke to be confirmed Commissioner of Minnesota Department of Veteran Affairs and recommended the committee members to confirm his appointment.

Motion prevailed with an unanimous voice vote.

Senator Mitchell moved that Confirmation of Minnesota Department of Veterans Affairs Commissioner Herke, be recommended

to pass. - MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:35 pm.

Senator Erin P. Marphy, Chair

Alexis Kise, Legislative Assistant

https://www.senate.mn/schedule/hearing_minutes.html?hearing_id=17381&ls=93