Education Finance Committee Wednesday, March 29, 2023 9:00 AM Livestream YouTube

Minutes

<u>Present</u>: Senator Mary K. Kunesh - Chair, Senator Heather Gustafson - Vice Chair, Senator Steve A. Cwodzinski, Senator Robert D. Farnsworth, Senator Michael E. Kreun, Senator Eric Lucero, Senator Erin K. Maye Quade, Senator Clare Oumou Verbeten, Senator Jason Rarick, Senator Bonnie S. Westlin

Absent: No Members Absent

Senator Mary K. Kunesh called the meeting to order at 8:30 am

Call to order

Senator Gustafson assumes the role of Chair

S.F. 2684: Senator Kunesh: Funding provision for prekindergarten through grade 12 education.

- 1. Willie Jett, Commissioner of MDE (In-person)
- 2. Angie Jerabek, Counselor, Founder and Executive Director of BARR Center (In-Person)
- 3. Cat Briggs, Bus Driver District 196 (in-person)
- 4. Sue Abderholden, Executive Director, NAMI Minnesota (in-person)
- 5. Dianne Krizan, Minnesota Children's Museum (in-person)
- 6. Laura Mogelson, MN Association of Colleges of Teacher Education (in-person)
- 7. Paul Bourgeois, Executive Director of Finance, Minnetonka Public Schools
- 8. Amy Walstien, Senior Policy Director, MN Business Partnership (in-person)
- 9. Deb Henton, MN Association of School Administrators (in-person)
- 10. Robert Osburn, Wilberforce International Institute, (in-person)
- 11. Ericca Maas, Think Small (in-person)
- 12. Brad Jensen, President, Minnesota Association of Alternative Programs (MAAP) (remote)
- 13. Calandrian Kemp, State Policy Director, Sandy Hook Promise (remote)
- 14. Stacey Vanderport, Teacher, Mounds View Public Schools, President, Mounds View Education Association (in-person)
- 15. Sean Burke, ISAIAH MN/Kids Count on Us (in-person)
- 16. Paul Spies, Legislative Action Team Lead
- 17. Scott Croonquist, Ass. of Metropolitan School Districts (in-person)
- 18. Jessica Lopez Martinez, Student, Richfield High School (in-person)
- 19. Jeff Tollefson, Minnesota Technology Association (in-person)
- 20. Liz Lynch, MN Library Association (Remote)
- 21. Keem Anderson, Ignite Afterschool Network (In-person)
- 22. Jim Grathwol (in-person)
- 23. Kimberley Dunn Lewis, MN School Boards Association (in-person)
- 24. Roger Aronson (In-person)
- 25. Matt Shaver, EdAllies (In-person)
- 26. Malachi Johnson, on the Teacher of Color executive board, (remote)
- 27. Emilia Kalscheur, Special Education Teacher, (remote) Discussion only.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:35 am

Senator Mary Kunesh, Chair

Sami Rajak

Sami Rajab, Legislative Assistant