

*Chair* Mary Kunesh 95 University Ave W St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-4334 Sen.mary.kunesh@senate.mn

*Vice Chair* Heather Gustafson

**Ranking Minority Member** Jason Rarick

### Members

Steve A. Cwodzinski Robert D. Farnsworth Michael E. Kreun Eric Lucero Erin K. Maye Quade Clare Oumou Verbeten Bonnie S. Westlin

### **Committee Staff:**

*Committee Administrator* Danna Elling (651) 296-4175 Danna.elling@senate.mn

## Committee Legislative Assistant

Sami Rajab 651-296-4334 Sami.rajab@senate.mn

*Research* Ryan Majerus (D) Ed Cook (R)

Senate Counsel Ann Marie Lewis

*Legislative Analyst* Bettsy Hjelseth

*Fiscal Analyst* Jenna Hofer

# **Minnesota Education Finance Committee**

Wednesday, March 8th, 2023 8:30 a.m. Room 1150

## <u>Agenda</u>

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. S.F. 2383 Cwodzinski Extracurricular Activities Grant Program

## appropriation

- i. Testifiers
  - 1. Kaiya Grossman, Grand Rapids Highschool Student (inperson)
  - 2. Emma Braford, Grand Rapids Highschool Student (inperson)
  - Isaac Palecek, Grand Rapids Highschool Student (inperson)
  - Savannah Moinichen, Grand Rapids Highschool Student (in-person)
  - 5. Jason Anderson (in-person)
- 3. S.F. 1297 Gustafson Funding provision for student organizations
  - i. Testifiers
    - 1. Emily Saed, Executive Director, MFSO (in-person)
    - 2. Savanni Anandkumar, HOSA State Officer (in-person)
    - 3. Caleb Jarvis, DECA State Officer (in-person)
    - 4. Caidyn Johnson, FFA State Officer (in-person)
    - 5. Lavyne Rada, CTE TIP Director (in-person)
- 4. S.F. 1855 Xiong Growth factor modification for adult basic education aid
  - i. Testifiers
    - Scott Helland, Chair of Literacy Action Network government relations committee and the ABE Coordinator at Harmony (in-person)

## **Minnesota Education Finance Committee**

- Clarice Grabau ABE Instructor and Northfield Site Facilitator for the Northfield Public Schools Community Education (in-person)
- Aaron Gutzke Executive Director at ThinkSelf Minnesota (in-person)
- 5. S.F. 2255 Boldon ACHLA appropriation for English language learner programming
  - i. Testifiers
    - Gloria Torres-Herbeck, President of the ACHLA Board of Directors (remote)
    - Rebeca Sedarski, member of the ACHLA Civic Engagement and Economic Development Committees, and former board President (remote)
- 6. S.F. 1047 Mohamed Student admission provisions modification
- 7. Adjournment

**Minnesota Education Finance Committee**