

### Chair

Mary Kunesh 95 University Ave W St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-4334 Sen.mary.kunesh@senate.mn

Vice Chair

Heather Gustafson

Ranking Minority Member

Jason Rarick

#### Members

Steve A. Cwodzinski Robert D. Farnsworth Michael E. Kreun Eric Lucero Erin K. Maye Quade Clare Oumou Verbeten Bonnie S. Westlin

### **Committee Staff:**

Committee Administrator

Danna Elling (651) 296-4175 Danna.elling@senate.mn

Committee Legislative Assistant

Sami Rajab 651-296-4334 Sami.rajab@senate.mn

Research

Ryan Majerus (D) Ed Cook (R)

Senate Counsel

Ann Marie Lewis

Legislative Analyst

Bettsy Hjelseth

Fiscal Analyst
Jenna Hofer

# **Minnesota Education Finance Committee**

Wednesday, March 1st, 2023 8:30 a.m. Room 1150

## Agenda

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. S.F. 1553 Lucero American Indian education aid school district authorization to carry forward from one school year to the next under certain circumstances.
  - i. Testifiers
    - 1. Abbi Wilde Sabrina, St Francis School District (virtual)
    - 2. Van Denburgh, St Francis School District (virtual)
    - 3. Adosh Unni, Director of Government Relations, MDE (virtual)
    - 4. Candy Sina (virtual)
    - 5. Haley Dagle (virtual)
    - 6. Marsha Van Denburgh (virtual)
- 3. S.F. 0615 Kunesh Voluntary prekindergarten and school readiness plus program permanent expansion and appropriation
  - i. Testifiers
    - Kimberly Antonson, licensed preschool teacher, Ogema, school board member in the Frazee/Vergas school district (virtual)
    - Jason Sellars, Director of Community Education, District
       191 Burnsville Eagan Savage School District (in-person)
    - Stefanie Youngberg, Superintendent for East Central Schools (in-person)
    - Shana Morse, Assistant Director of Government Relations,
       Minnesota Department of Education (in-person)

## **Minnesota Education Finance Committee**

- 4. S.F. 0448 Gustafson General education basic formula allowance increase by five percent per year for fiscal years 2024 and 2025 authorization; future formula increases linkage to the rate of inflation establishment; appropriating money
  - i. Testifiers
    - 1. Bob Indihar, Executive Director of the MN Rural Education Association (inperson)
    - Cathy Nathan, Rochester Public Schools board chair and president of the Minnesota PTO (virtual)
    - 3. Kristi Peterson, Shakopee Public Schools Board Chair (virtual)
    - 4. Kenneth Eban, Executive Director, Advancing Equity Coalition (in-person)
    - 5. Tim Wald, White Bear Lake Assistant Supt. for Finance and Operations (virtual)
    - 6. Rhoda Mhiripiri-Reed, Hopkins Superintendent (virtual)
    - 7. Cathy Nathan, MN PTA Advocacy Chair and Rochester School Board Chair (virtual)
    - 8. Kristi Peterson, Shakopee School Board Chair (virtual)
- 5. S.F. 1276 Maye Quade Early learning scholarship program modification and appropriation
  - i. Testifiers
    - 1. Temphy Thompson, Parent (virtual)
    - 2. Barb Fabre, CEO, Indigenous Visioning (remote)
    - 3. Sondra Samuels, President & CEO, Northside Achievement Zone (in person)
- 6. Adjournment