Education Finance Committee Thursday, February 16, 2023 6:00 PM Livestream YouTube

Minutes

<u>Present</u>: Senator Mary K. Kunesh - Chair, Senator Heather Gustafson - Vice Chair, Senator Steve A. Cwodzinski, Senator Robert D. Farnsworth, Senator Michael E. Kreun, Senator Eric Lucero, Senator Erin K. Maye Quade, Senator Clare Oumou Verbeten, Senator Jason Rarick, Senator Bonnie S. Westlin

Absent: No Members Absent

Senator Mary K. Kunesh called the meeting to order at 6:00 pm

Call to Order

S.F. 32: Senator McEwen: Wage credits modification and reimbursement provision.

Senator McEwen offered the a-1 amendment, a-1 amendment passed with a voice vote

Testifiers

- 1. Dave Kamper, Economic Policy Institute
- 2. Adosh Unni, J.D. Director of Government Relations MDE
- 3. Sarah Cooke, Roseville Public School Parent
- 4. Denise Dittrich, Minnesota School Boards Association
- 5. Leah Harper, St. Louis Park Parent (virtual)
- 6. Jodi Primrose, Paraprofessional, Brainerd Public Schools (virtual)
- 7. Rochelle Stoffel, Clerk, St. Paul Public Schools
- 8. Scott McMahon, MN School Bud Operators Association
- 9. Lwan Moe, First Student Bus Driver
- 10. Christie Elliot, Para with Crosby-Ironton Schools (virtual)
- 11. Avonna Starck, Fridley School Board Member (virtual)
- 12. Tina Burkholder, Director of Business Services, Monticello Public Schools (virtual)
- 13. Andrea Hanek, Duluth Parent (virtual)
- 14. Sara Rapp, Cook at Hastings High School
- 15. Cat Briggs, Bus Driver District 196

Senator Gustafson moved that S.F. 32, as amended, recommended to pass and re-referred to the Higher Education Committee. - MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:00 PM

anglande

Senator Mary Kunesh, Chair

Sami Rajab

Sami Rajab, Legislative Assistant