

Chair Mary Kunesh 95 University Ave W St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-4334 Sen.mary.kunesh@senate.mn

Vice Chair Heather Gustafson

Ranking Minority Member Jason Rarick

Members

Steve A. Cwodzinski Robert D. Farnsworth Michael E. Kreun Eric Lucero Erin K. Maye Quade Clare Oumou Verbeten Bonnie S. Westlin

Committee Staff:

Committee Administrator Danna Elling (651) 296-4175 Danna.elling@senate.mn

Committee Legislative Assistant

Sami Rajab 651-296-4334 Sami.rajab@senate.mn

Research Ryan Majerus (D) Ed Cook (R)

Senate Counsel Ann Marie Lewis

Legislative Analyst Bettsy Hjelseth

Fiscal Analyst Jenna Hofer

Minnesota Education Finance Committee

Thursday, January 19th, 2023 8:30 a.m. Room 1150

Agenda

1. Call to Order

2. S.F. 28 School districts special education services fully funding

establishment and appropriation - Westlin

- i. John Morstad Virtual
 - 1. Director of Finance AT Osseo School District
- ii. Scott Croonquist In person
 - 1. Association of Metropolitan School Districts Executive Director
- iii. David Engstron Virtual
 - 1. Robbinsdale Super Intendent
- iv. Kristi Peterson TBD
 - 1. School board chair Shakopee Area schools
- v. Heidi Nistler TBD
 - 1. Special Education Director for Eden Prairie Schools
- vi. Rochelle Cox In person
 - 1. Minneapolis Public Schools Superintendent
- vii. Kate Lynne Snyder
 - 1. Lobbyist, Education Minnesota

3. S.F. 21 English learner programming funding increase; English learner

cross subsidy aid addition; appropriating money - Oumou Verbeten

- i. Lourdes Flores-Hanson In person
 - 1. Administrator for the Multilingual Learners program at Roseville area schools.
- ii. Dr. Sarah Schmidt de Carranza TBD
 - 1. Executive Director, Office of Multilingual Learning

Minnesota Education Finance Committee

- iii. Irma Márquez Trapero In person
 - 1. Executive Director of LatinoLEAD
- iv. Natalia Benjamin virtual
 - 2021 Minnesota Teacher of the Year, Coordinator for Multilingual Learning, Rochester Public Schools
- $v. \quad Paola\ Cole-In\ person$
 - 1. Educators for Excellence

4. Adjournment

Minnesota Education Finance Committee