Minnesota State Senate

Finance Committee Thursday, January 12, 2023 8:30 AM, Room 1200, Minnesota Senate Bldg.

Minutes

<u>Present</u>: Senator John Marty - Chair, Senator Nick A. Frentz - Vice Chair, Senator Bobby Joe Champion, Senator Gary H. Dahms, Senator Rich Draheim, Senator Justin D. Eichorn, Senator Zaynab Mohamed, Senator Erin P. Murphy, Senator Sandra L. Pappas, Senator Eric R. Pratt, Senator Torrey N. Westrom, Senator Melissa H. Wiklund

Absent: No Members Absent

Senator John Marty called the meeting to order at 8:35AM.

S.F. 46: Senator Marty: State forecast inclusion of the rate of inflation authorization.

Senator Marty moved the A1 amendment The motion prevailed Testifiers: Britta Reitan, MN Management and Budget Deputy Commissioner Bryan Dahl, MN Management and Budget Executive Budget Coordinator Clark Biegler Goldenrod, Deputy Director, Minnesota Budget Project Mark Haveman, Executive Director, Minnesota Center for Fiscal Excellence Jay Kiedrowski, Former Commissioner of Finance and Chief Financial Officer for the State of Minnesota Senator Westrom moved an oral amendment: On line 1.13 insert "and deflation" after inflation and on line 1.14 add "or deflation" after inflation The motion to adopt the oral amendment did not prevail Senator Pappas requested a roll call vote Senator Pratt requested that the result of the roll call vote be recorded in the journal Four hands were counted and the request was granted

The result of the roll call was 7 yes and 5 no votes

Senator Marty moved that S.F. 46, as amended, be recommended to pass. - MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:36AM.

Senator John Marty, Chair

Killian Becker, Legislative Assistant