

Minnesota Environment, Climate, & Legacy Committee

March 7th, 2023 3:00 p.m. MSB 1150

Chair

Foung Hawj 3231 University Ave W St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-5285 Sen.foung.hawj@senate.mn

Vice Chair

Jennifer McEwen

Ranking Minority Member

Justin Eichorn

Members

Steve Green Grant Hauschild John Hoffman Mary Kunesh Andrew Lang Kelly Morrison Nathan Wesenberg

Committee Staff:

Committee Administrator

Kära Josephson (651) 296-7891

Kara.josephson@senate.mn

Committee Legislative Assistant

Maikao Vue (651) 296-5285

Maikao.vue@senate.mn

Research

Cassie Tommerdahl (D) Greg Exley (R)

Senate Counsel
Ben Stanley

Fiscal Analyst
Dan Mueller

Marcus Paul

Committee Pages
Claire DeMay

Agenda

1. Call to Order

2. S.F. 1940 (Maye Quade) Minnesota Zoological Garden appropriation

o Missy McGrath, MN Zoo

3. S.F. 2047 (Seeberger) Issuance authorization and modification prohibition of certain water use permits

o Charles Cadehead, Mayor of Lake Elmo

- o Dan Louismet, White Bear Lake Mayor
- o Bryan Bear, Hugo City Manager

4. S.F. 2191 (McEwen) Statewide drinking water safety action plan development appropriation

- o Dr. Anthony Runkle, Acting Director, Minnesota Geological Survey
- o Mark Toso, Professional Geologist
- o Dave Schulenberg Executive Director, Minnesota Water Well Association
- o Jim Stark, LCC Subcommittee on MN Water Policy
- o Jim Lundy

5. S.F. 2330 (Morrison) Scope of work appropriation for a plan to promote and protect clean water in Minnesota for the next 50 years

- o John Forester, MN Lakes and Rivers Advocates
- o Andy Erickson, PhD, University of Minnesota

6. S.F. 2317 (Morrison) Aquatic invasive species research implementation appropriation

- o John Forester, MN Lakes and Rivers Advocates
- o Thomas Watson, Whitefish Area Property Owners Association (WAPOA)

7. S.F. 466 (Champion) Requirement to analyze and consider cumulative pollution before issuing air quality permit modification; identification of environmental justice areas establishment; demographic analysis in certain environmental permitting and review requirement

- o Roxxanne O'Brien with Community Members for Environmental Justice (CMEJ)
- o Andrea Lovoll with Minnesota Center for Environmental Advocacy (MCEA)
- o Jessica Garraway, Minneapolis Federation of Teachers (MFT)
- o Tom Johnson, MPCA
- o Tony Kwilas, MN Chamber of Commerce
- o Jessica Ryman-Rasmussen, PhD, DABT, American Chemistry Council

8. Adjournment