

56 State Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155 Phone: (651) 284-6431 www.lcc.leg.mn

## Subcommittee on Minnesota Water Policy

65 State Office Building, St. Paul, MN 55155-1201 Phone (651) 284-6431 Fax (651) 297-3697

## **Past House Members**

Representative John Poston, Co-Chair Representative Patty Acomb Representative Peter Fischer Representative Josh Heintzeman Representative Todd Lippert Representative Paul Torkelson Past Senate Members Senator Chris Eaton, Co-Chair Senator Rich Draheim Senator Kent Eken Senator Michael Goggin Senator Bill Weber Senator Charles Wiger

February 20, 2023

Chair Hawj and Members,

For the record, I am Jim Stark, Director of the Subcommittee on Water Policy. SF 1608 is one of several bills that have resulted from the subcommittee's stakeholder process over the summer. That process involved hearing and prioritizing over 50 issues relating to water management and water policy. The Subcommittee consists of 12 members, 6 from each of the bodies, equally split between the parties. It has been my good fortune to have Senator Weber as a member during the four years I have been with the subcommittee, and to have him as a co-chair.

SF 1608 involves a simple change to the water law in Chapter 103D. Currently, the law includes an ad valorem tax levy, of 0.048 percent of the estimated market value, or \$250,000, whichever is less. This ceiling has been in place for many years. Inflation has greatly reduced the value of the levy. The ceiling limits the ability of Watershed Districts to implement watershed plans and to plan and implement the one-watershed/one plan process. The ceiling applies only to Watershed Districts in greater Minnesota, and not to Metro Watershed Districts.

The requested change would raise the ceiling from \$250,000 to \$500,000.

Mr. Bohn, representing the Association of Watershed Districts, is here to further explain the history and details about the bill.

Respectfully,

Jim Stark