Minnesota State Senate

Environment, Climate, and Legacy Committee Thursday, February 16, 2023 3:00 PM, 1150 Minnesota Senate Bldg.

Minutes

<u>Present</u>: Senator Foung Hawj - Chair, Senator Jennifer A. McEwen Vice Chair, Senator Justin D. Eichorn, Senator Steve Green, Senator Mary K. Kunesh, Senator Kelly L. Morrison, Senator Nathan Wesenberg

Absent: Senator Grant Hauschild, Senator John A. Hoffman, Senator Andrew R. Lang

Senator Foung Hawj called the meeting to order at 3:06p

Call To Order

Board of Water and Soil Resources (BWSR) Budget Presentation

Presenters: John Jaschke (Executive Director, BWSR); Andrea Fish (Assistant Director, BWSR)

MN Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) Budget Presentation

Presenters: Katrina Kessler (Commissioner, MPCA); Tom Johnson (Government Relations Director, MPCA)

S.F. 755: Senator Morrison: Salt applicator program establishment and liability limitation authorization.

Testifiers: Sue Nissen (Stop Over Salting); Kevin Reich (Executive Director, Mississippi Watershed Management Organization); Carly Griffith (Water Program Director, MN Center for Environmental Advocacy); Joel Carlson (MN Association for Justice); Tom Johnson (Governer Relations Director, MPCA); Paulita LaPlante (Owner, Prescription Landscape)

Senator McEwen moved that S.F. 755, be recommended to pass and re-referred to the Judiciary and Public Safety Committee. - **MOTION PREVAILED**.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:46p

Senator Foung Hawj, Chair

Maikao Vue, Legislative Assistant