01/20/23	SENATEE	SS	SS0075R
01/20/23		55	

Senator Hawj from the Committee on Environment, Climate, and Legacy, to which was referred

S.F. No. 75: A bill for an act relating to state lands; modifying requirements for conveying easements and leasing state lands; adding to and deleting from state forests; adding to state parks; authorizing sales and conveyances of certain land; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 84.63; 84.631; 84.632; 92.502; 282.04, subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision; repealing Laws 2012, chapter 236, section 28, subdivision 9, as amended.

Reports the same back with the recommendation that the bill be amended as follows:

Page 9, after line 13, insert:

1.1

1.2

1.3

1.4

1.5

1.6

1.7

1.8

1.9

1.10

1.11

1.12

1.13

1.14

1.15

1.16

1.17

1.18

1.19

1.20

1.21

1.22

1.23

1.24

1.25

1.26

1.27

1.28

1.29

1.30

1.31

1.32

1.33

1.34

1.35

"Sec. 7. [282.41] SALE OF TAX-FORFEITED LEASED LANDS; ST. LOUIS COUNTY.

Subdivision 1. Sale authorized; applicability. Notwithstanding sections 92.45 and 282.018, subdivision 1, and the public sale provisions of this chapter, St. Louis County may in its sole discretion sell tax-forfeited lakeshore lots that are currently leased. St. Louis County may also sell other adjacent tax-forfeited lands under this section that are necessary for roadway access and for creating conforming lot sizes. This section applies only to St. Louis County.

- Subd. 2. Method of sale. (a) The leaseholder of a leased parcel may purchase at private sale the leased parcel and any other lands allocated to the parcel by the county under subdivision 6 that is offered for sale under this section. The purchase price is the appraised value of the land under subdivision 3 exclusive of improvements on it. To purchase a parcel, a leaseholder must pay in cash to the county an amount equal to the appraised value of the land within 180 days from the date of mailing to or service of notice of appraised value to the leaseholder by the county. The 180-day period runs from the date the county mails a copy of the appraisal to the leaseholder at the address shown upon the most recent lease agreement between the parties, exclusive of the date of mailing or service. The county may use any alternative method of notice under the Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure for the service of a summons and complaint.
- (b) If the leaseholder does not purchase the parcel so offered, the county may offer the lands for sale at public auction under section 282.01, subdivision 3. If a person other than the leaseholder purchases the parcel, the purchaser must make payment in full to the leaseholder in the manner provided in section 92.06, subdivision 4, for the value of any improvements as determined under subdivision 3.
- (c) Failure of a purchaser to comply with the terms of payment voids the sale, and the county may reoffer the property for sale.

Subd. 3. Appraisal. (a) An appraisal must be made in accordance with section 282.01, 2.1 subdivision 3, except as modified by this subdivision. Improvements that are owned by the 2.2 2.3 lessee must be appraised separately. (b) The county must select the appraiser. The appraiser selected must meet the minimal 2.4 appraisal standards established by the federal Farmers Home Administration or the federal 2.5 Veterans Administration and must be licensed under section 82B.03, to appraise the property 2.6 to be sold. 2.7 (c) The county must allocate the costs of appraisal to the lots offered for sale, and the 2.8 successful purchaser on each lot must reimburse the county for the appraisal costs allocated 2.9 to the lot purchased. If no one purchases a lot, the county is responsible for the appraisal 2.10 cost. 2.11 2.12 (d) If a leaseholder disagrees with the appraised value of the leasehold improvements, the leaseholder may select an appraiser that meets the qualifications in paragraph (b) to 2.13 reappraise the improvements. The leaseholder must give notice of intent to object to the 2.14 appraised value of the improvements within ten days of the date of the mailing or service 2.15 of notice under subdivision 2, paragraph (a). The leaseholder must deliver the reappraisal 2.16 to the county auditor within 60 days of the date of mailing or service of notice of appraised 2.17 value under subdivision 2, paragraph (a). If the reappraisal is not delivered to the county 2.18 auditor according to this paragraph, the initial appraisal is conclusive. The leaseholder is 2.19 responsible for the costs of the reappraisal. If the parcel is reappraised within the time 2.20 required in this paragraph and the county and the leaseholder fail to agree on the value of 2.21 the improvements by a date set by the county, each of the appraisers must agree upon the 2.22 selection of a third appraiser to conduct a third appraisal that is conclusive as to the value 2.23 of the improvements. The cost of the third appraisal must be paid equally by the county and 2.24 the leaseholder. 2.25 2.26 Subd. 4. **Proceeds.** (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), the county must deposit the proceeds from the sale of land described in subdivision 1 into an environmental trust fund 2.27 as provided in Laws 1998, chapter 389, article 16, section 31, subdivision 4, as amended. 2.28 (b) The following amounts may be withheld by the county board and not deposited into 2.29 an environmental trust fund: 2.30 (1) the costs of appraisal, abstracts, and surveys; 2.31 (2) money received from a sale that is attributable to land owned by the county in fee; 2.32 (3) amounts the county paid to lessees for improvements; and 2.33

	01/20/23	SENATEE	SS	SS0075R
3.1	(4) the costs of sale to lo	essees or other parties, including t	the costs of adver	tising, realtors,
3.2	and closing services.			
3.3	<u>Subd. 5.</u> <u>Survey.</u> (a) Bo	efore offering a lot for sale, St. L	ouis County mus	st have each lot
3.4	surveyed by a licensed sur	veyor.		
3.5	(b) The county must al	locate the costs of the survey to t	the lots offered f	or sale, and the
3.6	successful purchaser on ea	sch lot must reimburse the county	y for the survey	costs allocated
3.7	to the lot purchased. If no	one purchases the lot, the county	is responsible f	or the survey
3.8	costs. All surveying must	be conducted by a licensed surve	eyor.	
3.9	Subd. 6. Adding lands	s; zoning conformance. Any lan	ds to be sold und	der this section
3.10	must be considered lots of	record for zoning purposes. When	never possible, St	t. Louis County
3.11	may add land to the lots of	ffered for sale to permit conformations	ance with zoning	g requirements.
3.12	The added lands must be i	ncluded in the appraised value of	f the lot.	
3.13	Subd. 7. Roadways. St	t. Louis County may designate w	hether roads wit	hin minor
3.14	subdivisions under the cou	anty platting and subdivision ordi	inance are public	or private.
3.15	Subd. 8. Opt out; cont	inuing lease. The leaseholder may	y elect not to pure	chase the leased
3.16	parcel if offered for sale un	nder this section and instead conti	nue in the annua	l lease program
3.17	with the county, not to exc	eed the lifetime of the leaseholde	er. The fee for a l	ease under this
3.18	subdivision must include t	he amount of the estimated propo	erty tax on the pa	arcel if it had
3.19	been returned to private ov	wnership.		
3.20	EFFECTIVE DATE.	This section is effective retroacti	ively from April	28, 2022."
3.21	Page 16, lines 15 and 2	25, after "stream" insert "and acce	ess"	
3.22	Page 22, delete section	23		
3.23	Renumber the sections	in sequence		
3.24	Amend the title number	ers accordingly		
3.25	And when so amended	the bill do pass and be re-referre	d to the Commit	tee on Finance.
3.26	Amendments adopted. Rej	port adopted.		
		Tiones	11	
3.27 3.28		(Committee Chai	.X. r)	
5.20		(Committee Char	· - /	

3.29 3.30 January 20, 2023.....(Date of Committee recommendation)