Minnesota State Senate

Environment, Climate, and Legacy Committee Tuesday, January 17, 2023 3:00 PM, 1150 Minnesota Senate Bldg.

Minutes

<u>Present</u>: Senator Foung Hawj - Chair, Senator Jennifer A. McEwen Vice Chair, Senator Justin D. Eichorn, Senator Steve Green, Senator Grant Hauschild, Senator John A. Hoffman, Senator Mary K. Kunesh, Senator Andrew R. Lang, Senator Kelly L. Morrison, Senator Nathan Wesenberg

Absent: No Members Absent

Senator Foung Hawj called the meeting to order at 3:05pm

Committee Member & Staff Introductions

Overview of Environment, Climate, and Legacy Committee Jurisdiction

Ben Stanley (Non-partisan Senate Counsel) gave an overview of the committee jurisdiction.

Daniel Mueller (Non-partisan Senate Fiscal Analyst) gave an overview of the committee budget.

Pollution Control Agency (PCA) Overview

Presenters: Katrina Kessler (Commissioner, MPCA); Tom Johnson (Government Relations Director, MPCA)

Confirmation of Pollution Control Agency Commissioner Katrina Kessler

Board of Water and Soil Resources (BWSR) Overview

Presenters: John Jaschke (Executive Director, BWSR)

Environment Quality Board (EQB) Overview

Presenters: Erik Cedarleaf Dahl (Interim Executive Director, EQB)

Senator Foung Hawj adjourned the meeting at 4:31pm

Senator Foung Hawj, Chair

Maikao Vue, Legislative Assistant