Johnny Johnson President

Valentina Mgeni Secretary



Cody Whitebear Assistant Secretary/Treasurer Shelley Buck Vice President

Michael Childs Jr.
Treasurer

March 20, 2023

Senator Andrew Mathews 2233 Minnesota Senate Building St. Paul. MN 55155

Dear Senator Matthews and Members of the Senate Energy Committee:

We write on behalf of the Prairie Island Indian Community regarding S.F. 2824, which would allow for the new construction of a nuclear generating plant with a maximum generating capacity of 300 megawatts. As you know from our previous discussions, the Prairie Island Indian Community sits a mere 700 yards from the Prairie Island Nuclear Power plant and its fifty casks of spent nuclear fuel. We are the closest community in the country to a nuclear power plant. Every day, we bear the burden of our nation's failed nuclear waste disposal policy. We want to be clear that the Prairie Island Indian Community does not oppose nuclear power. However, until there is a mechanism in place for the safe storage of nuclear waste, we will not support the construction of new nuclear power and, by extension, the creation of new nuclear waste.

PIIC strenuously advocates for the removal of the nuclear waste that currently is on site at Prairie Island, as well as future waste that is generated from the plant or any new generating plants. Our concern is that, if new nuclear energy generation were constructed, Prairie Island could become the de facto storage site for the spent nuclear waste. This would mean that the nuclear waste deposited 700 yards from our community would grow at a much faster rate. In short, we are interested in less nuclear waste next to our community, not more.

We ask you and the committee to bear in mind that there isn't a concrete and workable policy in place to remove the waste. Until that issue is resolved, we strongly urge the legislature delay authorizing any new nuclear power generation.

Thank you for the opportunity to weigh in on this important issue.

Johnny Johnson President Shelley Buck Vice President

Valentina Mgeni Secretary Michael Childs Jr Treasurer

Cody Whitebear Assistant Secretary/Treasurer