

Chair

Senator Nick Frentz 3109 Minnesota Senate Building St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-6153 Sen.Nick,Frentz@Senate.MN

Vice Chair

Tou Xiong

Ranking Minority Member

Andrew Mathews

Members

D. Scott Dibble Steve Green Glenn H. Gruenhagen John A. Hoffman

Matt D. Klein Eric Lucero

Jennifer A. McEwen Nicole L. Mitchell Lindsey Port Jason Rarick Bill Weber

Committee Staff:

Committee Administrator

Justin Emmerich 651-296-4901 Justin.Emmerich@Senate.MN

Committee Legislative Assistant

Travis Urness (651) 296-6153 Travis.Urness@Senate.MN

Caucus Research

Cassie Tommerdahl (D) Dave Fraser (R)

Legislative

Counsel

Ben Stanley Nolan Hudalla

Fiscal Analyst
Dan Mueller

Minnesota Senate

Energy, Utilities, Environment, and Climate Committee

Monday, March 13, 2023 12:30 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. 1150 Minnesota Senate Building

AGENDA

1. Call to Order

2. S.F. 1787 – Xiong - Grant program establishment to upgrade electric panels in residential buildings

Testifiers:

- Andy Snope, Legislative and Political Director, IBEW Local 292
- Mike Robertson, Twin Cities Habitat for Humanity
- Mike Bull, Minnesota Power
- Eric Fowler, Fresh Energy

3. S.F. 2301 – Xiong - Minnesota Innovation Finance Authority establishment

Testifiers:

- Julia Nerbonne, MN Interfaith Power and Light
- Henry Litman, Coalition for Green Capital
- Jeremy Kalin, Avisen Legal

4. S.F. 2462 – Xiong - Microgrid research and application appropriation

Testifiers:

- Mahmoud Kabalan, PhD, Professor of Electrical Engineering, University of St. Thomas
- Don Weinkauf, PhD, Dean of Engineering, University of St. Thomas

5. S.F. 2201 – Dibble - Energy guidelines for state buildings to incorporate provisions that address resiliency with respect to climate change requirement

Testifiers:

 Richard Graves, FAIA, Director and Associate Professor, Center for Sustainable Building Research, College of Design, University of Minnesota

6. S.F. 2267 – Dibble - Supplemental energy assistance fund appropriation

Testifiers:

- Annie Levenson-Falk, Executive Director, Citizens Utility Board of Minnesota
- Rosa Tock, Executive Director, Minnesota Council on Latino Affairs

Remote Testifiers:

- Lisa Drew, Director of Planning, Evaluation & Agency Technology Operations, Tri-County Action Program

7. S.F. 2720 – Rasmusson - Definitions of gas and hazardous liquid addition.

Testifiers:

- Christy Brusven, Fredrikson and Byron

Minnesota Senate Energy, Utilities, Environment, and Climate