Energy, Utilities, Environment, and Climate Committee

1.23.23

12:30pm

Minutes

<u>Present:</u> Senator Lucero, Senator Green, Senator Weber, Senator Gruenhagen, Senator Rarick, Senator Mathews, Senator Klein, Senator Dibble, Senator Xiong, Senator Mitchell, Senator McEwen, Senator Port, Senator Hoffman

Absent: No members absent

Senator Nick Frentz called the meeting to order 12:34 pm

2. Testimony on SF 4 (Electric utility renewable energy standard obligation modifications)

- Commissioner Grace Arnold, Department of Commerce
- Adam Duininck, Director of Government Affairs, North Central States Regional Council of Carpenters
- Jon Brekke, VP and Chief Power Supply Officer, Great River Energy
- Yvonne Mongare, Climate Generation's YEA! Program
- Deb Birgen, Missouri River Energy Services
- Michael Noble, Fresh Energy
- Kevin Pranis, LIUNA Minnesota & North Dakota
- Brian Cook, MN Chamber of Commerce
- Tom Dicklich, Executive Director, Minnesota Building & Construction Trades Council
- Isaac Orr, Policy Fellow, Center of the American Experiment
- Will Steger, Polar Explorer
- Annie Levenson-Falk, Executive Director, Citizens Utility Board of Minnesota
- Kent Sulem, MMUA
- Julie Pierce, VP of Strategy and Planning for MN Power
- Bria Shea, VP of Regulatory Policy, Xcel Energy
- Aurora Vautrin, Political Director, 100% Campaign
- Madilyn Smerillo, Senior Policy Associate, Clean Grid Alliance
- Spencer Polk, Minneapolis Resident
- Joe Hoppe, Otter Tail Power
- Bree Halverson, BlueGreen Alliance
- Gregg Mast, Clean Energy Economy MN
- Sarah Mooradian, Government Relations and Policy Director, CURE (Clean Up the River Environment)
- Ellen Anderson, Climate Program Director, MCEA
- Justin Jahnz, CEO, East Central Electric
- Mike Menzel, Co-Founder, Health Professionals for a Healthy Climate
- Rev. Christian Briones, Mayflower UCC
- Makayla Freeman, Youth Program and Outreach Assistance, Minnesota Interfaith Power & Light
- David May, Retired, Electric Utility Employee
- Dawn Wheeler, MD
- Eric Meyer and Philip Hult, Generation Atomic
- Peter Wagenius, Legislative & Political Director, Sierra Club North Star Chapter
- Daniel Del Toro, Future Builders Co-op

Remote Tesifiers

- Stacey Dahl, Senior Manager External Affairs, Minnkota Power Cooperative
- Joyce Peppin, Dairyland Power Cooperative General Counsel
- Matt Rohn, Northfield Climate Leader
- Tahm Loyd, Thomas Jefferson High School Student
- Tyler Hamman, Basin Electric

3. Adjournment at 2:25pm