

Chair

Senator Nick Frentz 3109 Minnesota Senate Building St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-6153 Sen.Nick.Frentz@Senate.MN

Vice Chair

Tou Xiong

Ranking Minority Member

Andrew Mathews

Members

D. Scott Dibble Steve Green

Glenn H. Gruenhagen

John A. Hoffman Matt D. Klein Eric Lucero

Jennifer A. McEwen

Nicole L. Mitchell

Lindsey Port

Jason Rarick

Bill Weber

Committee Staff:

Committee Administrator

Justin Emmerich 651-296-4901

Justin.Emmerich@Senate.MN

Committee Legislative Assistant

Travis Urness (651) 296-6153

Travis.Urness@Senate.MN

Caucus Research

Cassie Tommerdahl (D)

Dave Fraser (R)

Legislative

Counsel

Ben Stanley

Nolan Hudalla

Fiscal Analyst

Dan Mueller

Minnesota Senate

Energy, Utilities, Environment, and Climate Committee

Monday, January 23rd, 2023 12:30 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.

1150 Minnesota Senate Building

AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Testimony on SF 4 (Electric utility renewable energy standard obligations modifications)

Testifiers:

- Commissioner Grace Arnold, Department of Commerce
- Adam Duininck, Director of Government Affairs, North Central States Regional Council of Carpenters
- Jon Brekke, VP and Chief Power Supply Officer, Great River Energy
- Yvonne Mongare, Climate Generation's YEA! Program
- Kevin Pranis, LIUNA Minnesota & North Dakota
- Deb Birgen, Missouri River Energy Services
- Michael Noble, Fresh Energy
- Brian Cook, Director, Energy and Elections Policy, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce
- Tom Dicklich, Executive Director, Minnesota Building & Construction Trades Council
- Isaac Orr, Policy Fellow, Center of the American Experiment
- Will Steger, Polar Explorer
- Annie Levenson-Falk, Executive Director, Citizens Utility Board of Minnesota
- Julie Pierce, VP of Strategy and Planning for MN Power
- Bria Shea, VP of Regulatory Policy, Xcel Energy
- Aurora Vautrin, Political Director, 100% Campaign
- Madelyn Smerillo, Senior Policy Associate, Clean Grid Alliance
- Spencer Polk, Minneapolis resident
- Joe Hoppe, Otter Tail Power
- Bree Halverson, BlueGreen Alliance
- Gregg Mast, Clean Energy Economy MN
- Sarah Mooradian, Government Relations and Policy Director, CURE (Clean Up the River Environment)
- Ellen Anderson, Climate Program Director, MCEA
- Justin Jahnz, CEO, East Central Electric
- Mike Manzel, Co-Founder, Health Professionals for a Healthy Climate
- Rev. Christian Briones, Mayflower UCC
- Makayla Freeman, Youth Program and Outreach Assistant, Minnesota Interfaith Power & Light.
- David May, Retired, Electric Utility Employee
- Dawn Wheeler, MD
- Eric Meyer and Philip Hult, Generation Atomic
- Peter Wagenius, Legislative & Political Director, Sierra Club North Star Chapter
- Daniel Del Toro, Future Builders Co-op

Remote Testifiers:

- Stacey Dahl, Senior Manager External Affairs, Minnkota Power Cooperative
- Joyce Peppin, Dairyland Power Cooperative General Counsel
- Miranda Gohn, citizen, Meeker County
- Matt Rohn, Northfield Climate Leader
- Tahm Loyd, Thomas Jefferson High School Student
- Tyler Hamman, Basin Electric
- 3. Adjournment

Minnesota Senate Energy, Utilities, Environment, and Climate