

Chair Senator Nick Frentz 3109 Minnesota Senate Building St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-6153 Sen.Nick.Frentz@Senate.MN

Vice Chair Tou Xiong

Ranking Minority Member Andrew Mathews

Members

D. Scott Dibble Steve Green Glenn H. Gruenhagen John A. Hoffman Matt D. Klein Eric Lucero Jennifer A. McEwen Nicole L. Mitchell Lindsey Port Jason Rarick Bill Weber

Committee Staff:

Committee Administrator Justin Emmerich 651-296-4901 Justin.Emmerich@Senate.MN

Committee Legislative Assistant

Travis Urness (651) 296-6153 Travis.Urness@Senate.MN

Caucus Research

Cassie Tommerdahl (D) Dave Fraser (R)

Legislative

Counsel Ben Stanley Nolan Hudalla

Fiscal Analyst Dan Mueller

Minnesota Senate Energy, Utilities, Environment, and Climate Committee

Wednesday, January 18th, 2023 12:30 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. 1150 Minnesota Senate Building

AGENDA

1. Call to Order

2. Overview of Minnesota's Energy Mix, Transmission, and IIJA/IRA from the Minnesota Department of Commerce.

Testifiers:

- Michelle Gransee, Deputy Commissioner for Energy Resources
- Jessica Burdette, Director of Energy Regulation and Planning
- Jon Kelly, Director of Government Affairs

3. Energy and Transmission in Minnesota

Testifiers:

- Jon Brekke Vice President and Chief Power Supply Officer, Great River Energy (GRE)
- Matt Ellis, Manager of Transmission Strategy and Development, Great River Energy
- Chris Studer, East River Cooperative
- Kent Sulem, Director of Government Relations and Senior Counsel, MMUA
- Roger Warhime, General Manager, Owatonna Public Utilities
- Dave Geschwind, Executive Director and CEO, Southern Minnesota Municipal Power Agency (SMMPA)
- Deb Birgen, Vice-President of Government Relations, Missouri River Energy Services (MRES)
- Brad Steber, Director of Regional Operations Gas, & Jamie Fitzke, Director of Government Affairs, CenterPoint Energy
- Al Rudeck Jr., Safety and External Affairs Officer, ALLETE
- Rick Evans, Director, Regional Government Affairs, Xcel Energy
- Dave Wager, Executive Director of the Minnesota Propane Association
- Rev. Andrew Davis, St. Peter
- Kimberly Wilburn, Minnetonka City Council
- Lola Brown, Macalester College Student

4. Adjournment