

## **Minnesota Senate Elections Committee**

Tuesday, March 14<sup>th</sup>, 2023 3:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Room 1200 MSB

#### Chair

Jim Carlson 3221 Minnesota Senate Bldg. St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 297-8073 jimc@senate.mn

*Vice Chair*Bonnie S. Westlin

Ranking Minority Member Mark W. Koran

### Members

Bruce D. Anderson Calvin K. Bahr Liz Boldon Steve A. Cwodzinski Gene Dornink Warren Limmer John Marty Andrew Mathews Nicole L. Mitchell Lindsey Port Ann H. Rest

# Committee Staff: Committee Administrator

Beth Fraser (651) 296-2167

beth.fraser@senate.mn

### Committee Legislative Assistant

Taylor Spreeman (651) 297-8073 taylor.spreeman@senate.mn

### Caucus Research

William Freeman (DFL) Joe Wiley (R)

Senate Counsel
Alexis Stangl

Fiscal Analyst
Andrew Erickson

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. SF 1827, Senator Carlson, Major party qualification
  - a. Oliver Steinberg, Grassroots-Legalize Cannabis Party of Minnesota
  - b. Travis "Bull" Johnson, Constitutional Republic Party via Zoom
  - c. Tom Wiesen
  - d. Burnsville City Council Member Cara Schulz
  - e. Nate Atkins, Libertarian Party of Minnesota
  - f. Richard Winger, Ballot Access News, via Zoom
  - g. Mark Globus, via Zoom
  - h. Governor Jesse Ventura
  - i. Loner Blue
- 3. SF 1361, Senator Carlson, Accessible voting and counting write in votes
  - a. Nicole Freeman, Office of the Secretary of State
- 4. SF 2732, Senator Boldon, Electioneering communications
  - a. Elizabeth Shimek, Campaign Legal Center, via Zoom
  - b. Ken Peterson, Clean Elections Minnesota
- 5. SF 1394, Senator Maye Quade, Deep fake election videos Prohibited
- 6. Adjourn