February 13, 2023

The Honorable Jim Carlson, Chair Senate Elections Committee Minnesota Senate Bldg., Room 3221 St. Paul, MN 55155

The Honorable Mark Koran, Republican Lead Senate Elections Committee Minnesota Senate Bldg., Room 2203 St. Paul, MN 55155

Dear Chair Carlson, Republican Lead Koran, and Members of the Committee:

Students United is the statewide student association representing all future, current, and former Minnesota State students attending the seven Minnesota State universities: Bemidji State University, Minnesota State University – Moorhead, Minnesota State University – Mankato, Metropolitan State University, Southwest Minnesota State University, St. Cloud State University, and Winona State University.

With such a large and engaged portion of the electorate reflected on our campuses, ahead of the 2022 midterm elections, Students United worked closely with student leaders, campus administrators, and the Minnesota State system office to register and turn out thousands of students to vote. Our students recognize that active participation in our democracy is a fundamental responsibility, and that is why civic engagement is a priority for Students United. Yet, we know more must be done to ensure that students are able to lift their voices each election.

While Minnesota has historically been a high turn-out state, it has not kept pace with innovative policies that allow for greater access to the ballot box. In fact, the Cost of Voting Index now ranks Minnesota 24th in the country in relative ease of voting. This can be attributed to the fact that Minnesota has not adopted more policies that remove barriers to voting, and that is why Students United stands in support of SF1515.

This legislation removes a potential barrier, making it easier for students across our state to vote and establish a habit of civic engagement. Importantly, SF1515 accomplishes this while maintaining protections for student privacy and security. For these reasons, we are excited to stand in support of SF1515 and we thank Senator Putnam for authoring this bill.

Best.

Kaileigh Weber, 2022-23 State Chair

Kouligh Weber