Education Policy Committee Wednesday, March 8, 2023 12:30 PM, Room 1200, Minnesota Senate Bldg.

Minutes

<u>Present</u>: Senator Steve A. Cwodzinski - Chair, Senator Erin K. Maye Quade Vice Chair, Senator Jim Abeler, Senator Liz Boldon, Senator Julia E. Coleman, Senator Zach Duckworth, Senator Grant Hauschild, Senator Mary K. Kunesh, Senator Alice Mann, Senator Nathan Wesenberg

Absent: No Members Absent

Senator Steve A. Cwodzinski called the meeting to order at 12:31 pm

S.F. 1311: Senator Cwodzinski: Education provisions modifications.

Chair Cwodzinski introduced himself before the testifier table and Vice Chair Maye Quade assumed the gavel at 12:32 PM.

Chair Cwodzinski presented S.F. 1311. Testimony was heard from Willie Jett II, Department of Education Commissioner; Claire Luger, Special Education Teacher, White Bear Lake; Kate Lynne Snyder, Lobbyist, Education Minnesota; Dr. Julie Bunn, Financial Literacy Coalition of MN; Cyndy Milda, Public Education Program Coordinator, for the Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux Community; Shep Harris, on behalf MN Assoc of Independent Schools; Catrin Wigfall, policy fellow at American Experiment, former classroom teacher; Matt Shaver, Policy Director, EdAllies; Roger Aronson, on behalf of Minnesota Elementary School Principals Association and the Minnesota Secondary School Principals Association; Melinda Low, Citizen Advocate; Carrie Phelps, Citizen Advocate.

Senator Cwodzinski moved the SF1311A3

Senator Abeler moved to adopt article 6 section 7 of SF1311A3 and requested roll call.

Chair Cwodzinski- Y. Senator Maye Quade- Y. Senator Abeler- N. Senator Boldon- Y. Senator Coleman- N. Senator Duckworth- N. Senator Hauschild- Y. Senator Kunesh- Y. Senator Mann- Y. Senator Wesenberg- N.

Motion Prevailed.

Senator Abeler moved to adopt article 1 section 16 of SF1311A3 and requested roll call.

Chair Cwodzinski- Y. Senator Maye Quade- Y. Senator Abeler- N. Senator Boldon- Y. Senator Coleman- N. Senator Duckworth- N. Senator Hauschild- Y. Senator Kunesh- Y. Senator Mann- Y. Senator Wesenberg- N.

Motion Prevailed.

Senator Cwodzinski renewed the motion to adopt SF1311A3 and Senator Abeler requested roll call.

Senator Abeler moved to adopt article 1 section 16 of SF1311A3 and requested roll call.

Chair Cwodzinski- Y. Senator Maye Quade- Y. Senator Abeler- N. Senator Boldon- Y. Senator Coleman- N. Senator Duckworth- N. Senator Hauschild- Y. Senator Kunesh- Y. Senator Mann- Y. Senator Wesenberg- N.

Motion Prevailed.

Senator Coleman presented SF1311A7. Senator Coleman moved to adopt SF1311A7 and requested roll call.

Chair Cwodzinski- N. Senator Maye Quade- N. Senator Abeler- Y. Senator Boldon- N. Senator Coleman-Y. Senator Duckworth- Y. Senator Hauschild- N. Senator Kunesh- N. Senator Mann- N. Senator Wesenberg- Y.

Motion did not prevail.

Senator Wesenberg presented SF1311A8 and moved to adopt. Roll call requested.

Chair Cwodzinski- N. Senator Maye Quade- N. Senator Abeler- Y. Senator Boldon- N. Senator Coleman-Y. Senator Duckworth- Y. Senator Hauschild- N. Senator Kunesh- N. Senator Mann- N. Senator Wesenberg- Y.

Motion did not prevail.

Senator Abeler presented SF1311A11 and moved to adopt. Roll call requested.

Chair Cwodzinski- N. Senator Maye Quade- N. Senator Abeler- Y. Senator Boldon- N. Senator Coleman-Y. Senator Duckworth- Y. Senator Hauschild- N. Senator Kunesh- N. Senator Mann- N. Senator Wesenberg- Y.

Motion did not prevail.

Senator Duckworth presented SF1311A12 and moved to adopt. Roll call requested.

Chair Cwodzinski- N. Senator Maye Quade- N. Senator Abeler- Y. Senator Boldon- N. Senator Coleman-Y. Senator Duckworth- Y. Senator Hauschild- N. Senator Kunesh- N. Senator Mann- N. Senator Wesenberg- Y.

Motion did not prevail.

Senator Duckworth presented SF1311A17 and moved to adopt. Roll call requested.

Chair Cwodzinski- N. Senator Maye Quade- N. Senator Abeler- Y. Senator Boldon- N. Senator Coleman-Y. Senator Duckworth- Y. Senator Hauschild- N. Senator Kunesh- N. Senator Mann- N. Senator Wesenberg- Y.

Motion did not prevail.

Chair Cwodzinski presented SF1311A14 and moved to adopt. Voice vote was taken.

Motion prevailed.

Chair Cwodzinski presented SF1311A6 and moved to adopt. Voice vote was taken.

Motion prevailed.

Chair Cwodzinski presented SF1311A18 and moved to adopt. Voice vote was taken.

Motion prevailed.

Senator Mann presented SF1311A5 and moved to adopt. Voice vote was taken.

Motion prevailed.

Senator Cwodzinski moved that S.F. 1311, as amended, be recommended to pass. Roll call requested. Chair Cwodzinski- Y. Senator Maye Quade- Y. Senator Abeler- N. Senator Boldon- Y. Senator Coleman-N. Senator Duckworth- N. Senator Hauschild- Y. Senator Kunesh- Y. Senator Mann- Y. Senator Wesenberg- N.

MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:02pm

Senator Steve A. Cwodzinski, Chair

Reagan Greene

Reagan Greene, Legislative Assistant