Chair

Steve Cwodzinski 3207 University Ave W St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-1314 stevec@senate.mn

Vice Chair

Erin Maye Quade

Ranking Minority Member

Julia Coleman

Members

Jim Abeler Liz Boldon Zach Duckworth Grant Hauschild Mary Kunesh Alice Mann Nathan Wesenberg

Committee Staff:

Committee Administrator

Danna Elling (651) 296-4175

Danna.elling@senate.mn

Committee Legislative Assistant

Reagan Greene 651-296-1314

Reagan.greene@senate.mn

Research

Ryan Majerus (D) Ed Cook (R)

Senate Counsel

Ann Marie Lewis

Legislative Analyst

Bettsy Hjelseth

Fiscal Analyst

Jenna Hofer

Committee Pages

Kali Courtney

Morgan Turner

Minnesota Senate Education Policy Committee

Wednesday, March 8th, 2023 12:30 p.m. Room 1200

Agenda

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Senate File 1311: Senator Cwodzinski Presents
 - i. Education provisions modifications
 - 1. Testifiers:
 - a. Willie Jett II, Department of Education Commissioner
 - b. Claire Luger, Special Education Teacher, White Bear Lake
 - c. Kate Lynne Snyder, Lobbyist, Education Minnesota
 - d. Dr. Julie Bunn, Financial Literacy Coalition of MN
 - e. Cyndy Milda, Public Education Program Coordinator, for the Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux Community
 - f. Shep Harris, on behalf MN Assoc of Independent Schools
 - g. Catrin Wigfall, policy fellow at American Experiment, former classroom teacher
 - h. Matt Shaver, Policy Director, EdAllies
 - Roger Aronson, on behalf of Minnesota Elementary School Principals Association and the Minnesota Secondary School Principals Association
 - j. Melinda Low, Citizen Advocate
 - k. Carrie Phelps, Citizen Advocate

3. Adjournment

Minnesota Education Policy Committee