SS

## Senator Cwodzinski from the Committee on Education Policy, to which was referred 1.1 S.F. No. 1473: A bill for an act relating to education; removing barriers to teacher 1.2 licensure; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 122A.09, subdivision 10; 122A.181, 1.3 subdivision 4, by adding a subdivision; 122A.182, subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision; 1.4 122A.183, subdivisions 1, 2, by adding a subdivision; 122A.184, subdivision 1; 122A.185, 1.5 subdivisions 1, 4; 122A.635, subdivisions 3, 4; 122A.70, by adding a subdivision; proposing 1.6 coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 122A; repealing Minnesota Rules, part 1.7 8710.0500, subparts 8, 11. 1.8 Reports the same back with the recommendation that the bill be amended as follows: 1.9 1.10 Page 3, line 1, strike everything after "requested" Page 3, line 2, strike everything before the period and insert "; at the board's discretion, 1.11 the board may begin to accept and review licenses before July 1" 1.12 Page 3, after line 2, insert: 1.13 "EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment." 1.14 Page 4, after line 22, insert: 1.15 "Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 122A.182, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 1.16 Subd. 4. Application. The Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board must 1.17 accept applications for a Tier 2 teaching license beginning July 1 of the school year for 1.18 which the license is requested and must issue or deny the Tier 2 teaching license within 30 1.19 days of receiving the completed application; at the board's discretion, the board may begin 1.20 to accept and review licenses before July 1. 1.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment." 1.22 Page 9, after line 6, insert: 1.23 "(d) A school district or charter school must provide substitute teachers that receive a 1.24 substitute teaching license through the pilot program with substitute teacher training. The 1.25 board may remove a school district or charter school from the pilot program for failure to 1.26 provide the required training. 1.27 (e) A school district or charter school must not require an employee to apply for a 1.28 substitute teaching license, or retaliate against an employee that does not apply for a substitute 1.29 teaching license under the pilot program. 1.30 (f) A school district or charter school must compensate an employee working as a 1.31 short-call substitute teacher under the pilot program with the greater of \$200 per day or the 1.32 employee's regular rate of pay. 1.33

1

	03/03/23	SENATEE	SS	SS1473R
2.1	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is	s effective for the 2023-2	2024 and 2024-20	)25 school
2.2	years only."			
2.3	Renumber the sections in sequence			
2.4	Amend the title numbers accordingly	y		
2.5	And when so amended the bill do pas	s and be re-referred to th	e Committee on I	Education
2.6	Finance. Amendments adopted. Report	adopted.		
2.7 2.8		(Committee Chair)		

2.9 2.10 March 2, 2023..... (Date of Committee recommendation)