Education Policy Committee Monday, February 6, 2023 12:30 PM, Room 1200, Minnesota Senate Bldg.

Minutes

<u>Present</u>: Senator Steve A. Cwodzinski - Chair, Senator Erin K. Maye Quade Vice Chair, Senator Jim Abeler, Senator Liz Boldon, Senator Julia E. Coleman, Senator Zach Duckworth, Senator Grant Hauschild, Senator Mary K. Kunesh, Senator Alice Mann, Senator Nathan Wesenberg

Absent: No Members Absent

Senator Steve A. Cwodzinski called the meeting to order at 12:32 pm.

Agenda:

S.F. 757: Senator Gustafson: Computer science education advancement fund establishment.

Senator Gustafson presented SF757. Testimony was heard from Cheryl Jerorek, School Board Chair of the Brooklyn Center Community Schools; Vic Drier, Director at Project Lead the Way, Board Chair of SciMathMN; Anthony Owens, Senior Director of State Government Affairs, Code.org; Alexandra Holter, Computer Science Coordinator, Bloomington Public Schools; Jeff Tollefson, President & CEO, Minnesota Technology Association.

Senator Gustafson presented SF757A2. Voice vote was taken. MOTION PREVAILED.

Senator Gustafson presented SF757A3. Voice vote was taken. MOTION PREVAILED.

Senator Maye Quade moved that S.F. 757, as amended, be recommended to pass and rereferred to the State and Local Government and Veterans Committee. MOTION PREVAILED

S.F. 1090: Senator Cwodzinski: Physical education standards review delay authorization.

Chair Cwodzinski presented SF1090. Testimony was heard from Jennifer Dugan, MDE Director of Standards, Assessment, and Instruction; Lisa Smith, Health, Physical Education & DAPE, Lakeville South High School Head Softball Coach.

Senator Cwodzinski moved that S.F. 1090, be recommended to pass and re-referred to the Education Finance Committee.

MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:33 pm.

Senator Steve A. Cwodzinski, Chair

Reagan Greene, Legislative Assistant Reagan Greene