STATE OF MINNESOTA FIFTH MEETING SENATE NINETY-THIRD SESSION

EDUCATION POLICY MINUTES

Senator Steve Cwodzinski, Chair of the Committee on Education Policy, called the meeting to order at 12:37 PM on January 25, 2023, in Room G 15 of the Minnesota State Capitol.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members Present: CWODZINSKI, Steve, Chair MAYE QUADE, Erin, Vice Chair COLEMAN, Julia, Ranking Member ABELER, Jim BOLDON, Liz DUCKWORTH, Zach HAUSCHILD, Grant KUNESH, Mary MANN, Alice WESENBERG, Nathan

A quorum was present.

Chair Cwodzinski moved SF618 to be heard in committee; be referred to the Committee on Education Finance.

Chair Cwodzinski presented SF618.

Chair Cwodzinski introduced himself before the testifier table and Vice Chair Maye Quade assumed the gavel at 12:39 PM.

The following testified on SF618.

- Aaditya Awahthi, Student, Eden Prairie High School (Hybrid)
- Brian Sibley, Teacher, Eden Prairie High School (Hybrid)
- Justice Paul Anderson, retired Minnesota Supreme Court Justice
- Matt Shaver, Education Allies
- Lisa Larson, League of Women Voters
- Anne Casey, St. Louis Park School Board Member

Senator Cwodzinski moved to lay SF618 on the table for potential future inclusion in the omnibus.

Chair Cwodzinski moved SF332 to be heard in committee; be referred to the Committee on Education Finance.

Senator Duckworth presented SF332.

The following testified on SF332.

• Andrew Traetow, Superintendent of Fairmont Area Schools (Hybrid)

Senator Duckworth renewed the motion that SF332 be referred to the Committee on Education Finance. A voice vote was taken. The motion prevailed.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:43 pm

1

Senator Steve Cwodzinski, Chair

Reagan Greene Reagan Greene, Committee Legislative Assistant