
1.1 Senator .................... moves to amend S.F. No. 2744 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "ARTICLE 1​

1.4 APPROPRIATIONS​

1.5 Section 1. APPROPRIATIONS.​

1.6 The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the agencies​

1.7 and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the general fund,​

1.8 or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose.​

1.9 The figures "2024" and "2025" used in this article mean that the appropriations listed under​

1.10 them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, or June 30, 2025, respectively.​

1.11 "The first year" is fiscal year 2024. "The second year" is fiscal year 2025. "The biennium"​

1.12 is fiscal years 2024 and 2025. If an appropriation in this act is enacted more than once in​

1.13 the 2023 legislative session, the appropriation must be given effect only once.​

1.14 APPROPRIATIONS​
1.15 Available for the Year​
1.16 Ending June 30​

2025​1.17 2024​

1.18 Sec. 2. DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE​

34,660,000​$​33,757,000​$​1.19 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation​

1.20 Appropriations by Fund​

2025​1.21 2024​

31,752,000​30,876,000​1.22 General​

2,093,000​2,093,000​1.23 Special Revenue​

815,000​788,000​
1.24 Workers'​
1.25 Compensation Fund​

1.26 The amounts that may be spent for each​

1.27 purpose are specified in the following​

1.28 subdivisions.​

2,689,000​2,569,000​1.29 Subd. 2. Financial Institutions​

1.30 (a) $400,000 each year is for a grant to Prepare​

1.31 and Prosper to develop, market, evaluate, and​

1.32 distribute a financial services inclusion​

1.33 program that (1) assists low-income and​

1.34 financially underserved populations to build​

1​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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2.1 savings and strengthen credit, and (2) provides​

2.2 services to assist low-income and financially​

2.3 underserved populations to become more​

2.4 financially stable and secure. Money​

2.5 remaining after the first year is available for​

2.6 the second year.​

2.7 (b) $254,000 each year is to administer the​

2.8 requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter​

2.9 58B.​

2.10 (c) $197,000 each year is to administer the​

2.11 requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section​

2.12 58B.011.​

10,144,000​10,088,000​2.13 Subd. 3. Administrative Services​

2.14 (a) $353,000 each year is for system​

2.15 modernization and cybersecurity upgrades for​

2.16 the unclaimed property program.​

2.17 (b) $586,000 in the first year and $608,000 in​

2.18 the second year are for additional operations​

2.19 of the unclaimed property program.​

2.20 (c) $249,000 each year is for the senior safe​

2.21 fraud prevention program.​

2.22 (d) $568,000 the first year and $537,000 the​

2.23 second year are for the duties under Minnesota​

2.24 Statutes, sections 62J.841 to 64J.845. The base​

2.25 for this appropriation beginning in fiscal year​

2.26 2026 is $500,000.​

2.27 (e) $150,000 each year are for a grant to​

2.28 Exodus Lending to expand program and​

2.29 operational capacity to help individuals reach​

2.30 financial stability through small dollar​

2.31 consumer loans, including through resolution​

2.32 of consumer short-term loans carrying interest​

2.33 rates grater than 36 percent. The​

2​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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3.1 appropriations in this paragraph are available​

3.2 until June 30, 2027.​

3.3 (f) $200,000 in fiscal year 2024 is appropriated​

3.4 to the commissioner of commerce for a grant​

3.5 to Exodus Lending to assist the development​

3.6 of a character-based small dollar loan lending​

3.7 program. Character-based lending is the​

3.8 practice of issuing loans based on the​

3.9 borrower's involvement in and ties to​

3.10 community-based organizations that provide​

3.11 client services such as financial coaching. This​

3.12 is a onetime appropriation and is available​

3.13 until June 30, 2027.​

3.14 Loans issued under the program must be (1)​

3.15 interest- and fee-free, and (2) made to​

3.16 Minnesotans facing significant barriers,​

3.17 including banking history, credit history and​

3.18 credit score requirements, scarcity of bank​

3.19 branches in lower-income and communities​

3.20 of color, and low or irregular income flows,​

3.21 to mainstream financial products. Mainstream​

3.22 financial products are those products provided​

3.23 most commonly by regulated financial​

3.24 institutions, including credit cards and​

3.25 installment loans. Program participants must​

3.26 be recruited through a statewide network of​

3.27 trusted community-based partners. Loan​

3.28 payments by borrowers must be reported to​

3.29 the credit bureaus.​

3.30 (g) No later than July 15, 2024, and annually​

3.31 thereafter until fiscal year 2027, Exodus​

3.32 Lending must submit a report to the​

3.33 commissioner of commerce on required​

3.34 activities of Exodus Lending under paragraphs​

3.35 (e) and (f). The report must detail, at​

3​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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4.1 minimum, each of the following for the prior​

4.2 calendar year:​

4.3 (1) the total number of loans granted;​

4.4 (2) the total number of participants granted​

4.5 loans;​

4.6 (3) an analysis of the participants' race and​

4.7 ethnicity, gender, and geographic locations;​

4.8 (4) the average loan amount;​

4.9 (5) the total loan amounts paid back by​

4.10 participants;​

4.11 (6) a list of the trusted community-based​

4.12 partners described in section 2;​

4.13 (7) the final criteria developed for​

4.14 character-based small dollar loan program​

4.15 determinations under section 2; and​

4.16 (8) summary data on the significant barriers​

4.17 to mainstream financial products faced by​

4.18 participants.​

4.19 No later than August 15, 2024, and annually​

4.20 thereafter until fiscal year 2027, the​

4.21 commissioner of commerce must submit a​

4.22 report to the chairs and ranking minority​

4.23 members of the legislative committees of the​

4.24 senate and house of representatives with​

4.25 primary jurisdiction over commerce and​

4.26 consumer protection. The report must detail​

4.27 the information collected by the commissioner​

4.28 of commerce under paragraph (f).​

4.29 (h) $12,000 each year is for the intermediate​

4.30 blends of gasoline and biofuels report in​

4.31 Minnesota Statutes, chapter 239.791,​

4.32 subdivision 8.​

4​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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7,473,000​7,185,000​5.1 Subd. 4. Enforcement​

5.2 Appropriations by Fund​

7,258,000​6,977,000​5.3 General​

215,000​208,000​
5.4 Workers'​
5.5 Compensation​

5.6 (a) $811,000 each year is for five additional​

5.7 peace officers in the Commerce Fraud Bureau.​

5.8 Money under this paragraph is transferred​

5.9 from the general fund to the insurance fraud​

5.10 prevention account under Minnesota Statutes,​

5.11 section 45.0135, subdivision 6.​

5.12 (b) $345,000 each year is for additional staff​

5.13 to focus on market conduct examinations.​

5.14 (c) $283,000 each year is for the law​

5.15 enforcement salary increases authorized under​

5.16 Laws 2021, chapter 4, article 9, section 1.​

5.17 (d) $41,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $21,000​

5.18 in fiscal year 2025 are for body cameras worn​

5.19 by Commerce Fraud Bureau agents.​

5.20 (e) $208,000 in the first year and $215,000 in​

5.21 the second year are from the workers'​

5.22 compensation fund.​

5.23 (f) $100,000 in the second year is to create​

5.24 and operate the Mental Health Parity and​

5.25 Substance Abuse Accountability Office under​

5.26 Minnesota Statutes, section 62Q.465. The base​

5.27 for fiscal year 2026 and beyond is $175,000.​

3,261,000​3,221,000​5.28 Subd. 5. Telecommunications​

5.29 Appropriations by Fund​

1,168,000​1,128,000​5.30 General​

2,093,000​2,093,000​5.31 Special Revenue​

5.32 $2,093,000 each year is from the​

5.33 telecommunications access Minnesota fund​

5​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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6.1 account in the special revenue fund for the​

6.2 following transfers:​

6.3 (1) $1,620,000 each year is to the​

6.4 commissioner of human services to​

6.5 supplement the ongoing operational expenses​

6.6 of the Commission of Deaf, DeafBlind, and​

6.7 Hard-of-Hearing Minnesotans. This transfer​

6.8 is subject to Minnesota Statutes, section​

6.9 16A.281;​

6.10 (2) $290,000 each year is to the chief​

6.11 information officer to coordinate technology​

6.12 accessibility and usability;​

6.13 (3) $133,000 each year is to the Legislative​

6.14 Coordinating Commission for captioning​

6.15 legislative coverage. This transfer is subject​

6.16 to Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.281; and​

6.17 (4) $50,000 each year is to the Office of​

6.18 MN.IT Services for a consolidated access fund​

6.19 to provide grants or services to other state​

6.20 agencies related to accessibility of web-based​

6.21 services.​

9,567,000​9,163,000​6.22 Subd. 6. Insurance​

6.23 Appropriations by Fund​

8,967,000​8,583,000​6.24 General​

600,000​580,000​
6.25 Workers'​
6.26 Compensation​

6.27 (a) $34,000 each year is for continuing​

6.28 coverage of preventive services.​

6.29 (b) $136,000 each year is to advance​

6.30 standardized health plan options.​

6.31 (c) $318,000 each year is to conduct a​

6.32 feasibility study on a proposal to offer free​

6.33 primary care to Minnesotans. These are​

6.34 onetime appropriations.​

6​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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7.1 (d) $105,000 each year is to evaluate​

7.2 legislation for new mandated health benefits​

7.3 under Minnesota Statutes, section 62J.26.​

7.4 (e) $180,000 each year is for additional staff​

7.5 to focus on property- and casualty-related​

7.6 insurance products.​

7.7 (f) $580,000 in the first year and $600,000 in​

7.8 the second year are from the workers'​

7.9 compensation fund.​

7.10 (g) $42,000 each year is for ensuring health​

7.11 plan company compliance with Minnesota​

7.12 Statutes, section 62Q.47.​

7.13 (h) $25,000 each year is to pay the costs​

7.14 incurred to evaluate existing statutory health​

7.15 benefit mandates under article 2, section 39.​

1,556,000​1,531,000​7.16 Subd. 7. Weights and Measures Division​

691,000​$​691,000​$​7.17 Sec. 3. ATTORNEY GENERAL​

7.18 $549,000 each year is for the duties under​

7.19 Minnesota Statutes, sections 62J.841 to​

7.20 64J.845.​

7.21 $142,000 each year are to administer the​

7.22 requirements of the Minnesota​

7.23 Age-Appropriate Design Code Act.​

56,000​$​74,000​$​7.24 Sec. 4. DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH​

7.25 $69,000 the first year and $51,000 the second​

7.26 year are for the duties under Minnesota​

7.27 Statutes, sections 62J.841 to 64J.845.​

7.28 $5,000 each year is for consultation with the​

7.29 commissioner of commerce to evaluate​

7.30 existing statutory health benefits under article​

7.31 2, section 39.​

0​$​100,000​$​7.32 Sec. 5. DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION​

7​Article 1 Sec. 5.​
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8.1 (a) $100,000 in fiscal year 2022 is for a grant​

8.2 to the Minnesota Council on Economic​

8.3 Education. The funds be used by the council​

8.4 to:​

8.5 (1) provide professional development to​

8.6 Minnesota teachers of courses or content​

8.7 related to personal finance or consumer​

8.8 protection for students in grade 9 through​

8.9 grade 12;​

8.10 (2) support the direct-to-student ancillary​

8.11 personal finance programs that Minnesota​

8.12 teachers supervise and coach or that the​

8.13 Minnesota Council on Economic Education​

8.14 delivers directly to students; and​

8.15 (3) provide support to geographically diverse​

8.16 affiliated higher education-based centers for​

8.17 economic education engaged in financial​

8.18 literacy education as it pertains to financial​

8.19 literacy education initiatives, including those​

8.20 based at Minnesota State University Mankato,​

8.21 St. Cloud State University, and St. Catherine​

8.22 University, as their work relates to activities​

8.23 in clauses (1) and (2).​

8.24 (b) The Minnesota Council on Economic​

8.25 Education must prepare and submit reports to​

8.26 the commissioner of education in the form and​

8.27 manner prescribed by the commissioner that:​

8.28 (1) describe the number and type of in-person​

8.29 and online teacher professional development​

8.30 opportunities provided by the Minnesota​

8.31 Council on Economic Education or its​

8.32 affiliated state centers;​

8.33 (2) list the content, length, and location of the​

8.34 programs;​

8​Article 1 Sec. 5.​
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9.1 (3) identify the number of preservice and​

9.2 licensed teachers receiving professional​

9.3 development through each of these​

9.4 opportunities;​

9.5 (4) summarize evaluations of professional​

9.6 opportunities for teachers; and​

9.7 (5) list the number, types, and summary​

9.8 evaluations of the direct-to-student ancillary​

9.9 personal finance programs that are supported​

9.10 with funds from the grant.​

9.11 (c) By February 15 of each year following the​

9.12 receipt of a grant, the Minnesota Council on​

9.13 Economic Education must provide a mid-year​

9.14 report to the commissioner of education and,​

9.15 on August 15 of each year following receipt​

9.16 of a grant, the Minnesota Council on​

9.17 Economic Education must prepare a year-end​

9.18 report according to the requirements of​

9.19 paragraph (b). The reports must be prepared​

9.20 and filed according to Minnesota Statutes,​

9.21 section 3.195. The commissioner may request​

9.22 additional information as necessary. This is a​

9.23 onetime appropriation. Any balance in the first​

9.24 year does not cancel and is available in the​

9.25 second year.​

9.26 Sec. 6. PREMIUM SECURITY ACCOUNT TRANSFER; OUT.​

9.27 $275,775,000 in fiscal year 2026 is transferred from the premium security plan account​

9.28 under Minnesota Statutes, section 62E.25, subdivision 1, to the general fund. This is a​

9.29 onetime transfer.​

9.30 Sec. 7. PREMIUM SECURITY ACCOUNT TRANSFER; IN.​

9.31 $229,465,000 in fiscal year 2025 is transferred from the general fund to the premium​

9.32 security plan account under Minnesota Statutes, section 62E.25, subdivision 1. This is a​

9.33 onetime transfer.​

9​Article 1 Sec. 7.​
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10.1 Sec. 8. TRANSFER FROM CONSUMER EDUCATION ACCOUNT.​

10.2 $100,000 in fiscal year 2024 is transferred from the consumer education account in the​

10.3 special revenue fund to the general fund.​

10.4 Sec. 9. Laws 2022, chapter 93, article 1, section 2, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

522,000​-0-​10.5 Subd. 5. Enforcement and Examinations​

10.6 $522,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for the auto​

10.7 theft prevention library under Minnesota​

10.8 Statutes, section 65B.84, subdivision 1,​

10.9 paragraph (d). This is a onetime appropriation,​

10.10 available until June 30, 2024.​

10.11 ARTICLE 2​

10.12 INSURANCE POLICY​

10.13 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 60A.14, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

10.14 Subdivision 1. Fees other than examination fees. In addition to the fees and charges​

10.15 provided for examinations, the following fees must be paid to the commissioner for deposit​

10.16 in the general fund:​

10.17 (a) by township mutual fire insurance companies:​

10.18 (1) for filing certificate of incorporation $25 and amendments thereto, $10;​

10.19 (2) for filing annual statements, $15;​

10.20 (3) for each annual certificate of authority, $15;​

10.21 (4) for filing bylaws $25 and amendments thereto, $10;​

10.22 (b) by other domestic and foreign companies including fraternals and reciprocal​

10.23 exchanges:​

10.24 (1) for filing an application for an initial certification of authority to be admitted to​

10.25 transact business in this state, $1,500;​

10.26 (2) for filing certified copy of certificate of articles of incorporation, $100;​

10.27 (3) for filing annual statement, $225 $300;​

10.28 (4) for filing certified copy of amendment to certificate or articles of incorporation, $100;​

10.29 (5) for filing bylaws, $75 or amendments thereto, $75;​

10​Article 2 Section 1.​

COUNSEL NH/HGN/DN/SC SCS2744A-2​03/29/23 01:11 pm ​



11.1 (6) for each company's certificate of authority, $575 $750, annually;​

11.2 (c) the following general fees apply:​

11.3 (1) for each certificate, including certified copy of certificate of authority, renewal,​

11.4 valuation of life policies, corporate condition or qualification, $25;​

11.5 (2) for each copy of paper on file in the commissioner's office 50 cents per page, and​

11.6 $2.50 for certifying the same;​

11.7 (3) for license to procure insurance in unadmitted foreign companies, $575;​

11.8 (4) for valuing the policies of life insurance companies, one cent two cents per $1,000​

11.9 of insurance so valued, provided that the fee shall not exceed $13,000 $26,000 per year for​

11.10 any company. The commissioner may, in lieu of a valuation of the policies of any foreign​

11.11 life insurance company admitted, or applying for admission, to do business in this state,​

11.12 accept a certificate of valuation from the company's own actuary or from the commissioner​

11.13 of insurance of the state or territory in which the company is domiciled;​

11.14 (5) for receiving and filing certificates of policies by the company's actuary, or by the​

11.15 commissioner of insurance of any other state or territory, $50;​

11.16 (6) for each appointment of an agent filed with the commissioner, $30;​

11.17 (7) for filing forms, rates, and compliance certifications under section 60A.315, $140​

11.18 per filing, or $125 per filing when submitted via electronic filing system. Filing fees may​

11.19 be paid on a quarterly basis in response to an invoice. Billing and payment may be made​

11.20 electronically;​

11.21 (8) for annual renewal of surplus lines insurer license, $300 $400.​

11.22 The commissioner shall adopt rules to define filings that are subject to a fee.​

11.23 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62A.152, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

11.24 Subd. 3. Provider discrimination prohibited. All group policies and group subscriber​

11.25 contracts that provide benefits for mental or nervous disorder treatments in a hospital must​

11.26 provide direct reimbursement for those services at a hospital or psychiatric residential​

11.27 treatment facility if performed by a mental health professional qualified according to section​

11.28 245I.04, subdivision 2, to the extent that the services and treatment are within the scope of​

11.29 mental health professional licensure.​

11.30 This subdivision is intended to provide payment of benefits for mental or nervous disorder​

11.31 treatments performed by a licensed mental health professional in a hospital or psychiatric​

11​Article 2 Sec. 2.​
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12.1 residential treatment facility and is not intended to change or add benefits for those services​

12.2 provided in policies or contracts to which this subdivision applies.​

12.3 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62D.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

12.4 read:​

12.5 Subd. 17. Preventive items and services. "Preventive items and services" has the​

12.6 meaning given in section 62Q.46, subdivision 1, paragraph (a).​

12.7 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62D.095, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

12.8 Subd. 2. Co-payments. A health maintenance contract may impose a co-payment and​

12.9 coinsurance consistent with the provisions of the Affordable Care Act as defined under​

12.10 section 62A.011, subdivision 1a, and for items and services that are not preventive items​

12.11 and services.​

12.12 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62D.095, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

12.13 Subd. 3. Deductibles. A health maintenance contract may must not impose a deductible​

12.14 consistent with the provisions of the Affordable Care Act as defined under section 62A.011,​

12.15 subdivision 1a for preventive items and services.​

12.16 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62D.095, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

12.17 Subd. 4. Annual out-of-pocket maximums. A health maintenance contract may must​

12.18 not impose an annual out-of-pocket maximum consistent with the provisions of the​

12.19 Affordable Care Act as defined under section 62A.011, subdivision 1a for services rendered​

12.20 that are not listed under section 62D.02, subdivision 17, or for preventive items and services.​

12.21 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62D.095, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

12.22 Subd. 5. Exceptions. No Co-payments or deductibles may must not be imposed on​

12.23 preventive health care items and services consistent with the provisions of the Affordable​

12.24 Care Act as defined under section 62A.011, subdivision 1a.​

12.25 Sec. 8. [62J.841] DEFINITIONS.​

12.26 Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes of sections 62J.841 to 62J.845, the following​

12.27 definitions apply.​

12.28 Subd. 2. Consumer Price Index. "Consumer Price Index" means the Consumer Price​

12.29 Index, Annual Average, for All Urban Consumers, CPI-U: U.S. City Average, All Items,​

12​Article 2 Sec. 8.​
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13.1 reported by the United States Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics, or its​

13.2 successor or, if the index is discontinued, an equivalent index reported by a federal authority​

13.3 or, if no such index is reported, "Consumer Price Index" means a comparable index chosen​

13.4 by the Bureau of Labor Statistics.​

13.5 Subd. 3. Generic or off-patent drug. "Generic or off-patent drug" means any prescription​

13.6 drug for which any exclusive marketing rights granted under the Federal Food, Drug, and​

13.7 Cosmetic Act, section 351 of the federal Public Health Service Act, and federal patent law​

13.8 have expired, including any drug-device combination product for the delivery of a generic​

13.9 drug.​

13.10 Subd. 4. Manufacturer. "Manufacturer" means an entity that:​

13.11 (1) engages in the manufacture of a prescription drug product or enters into a lease with​

13.12 another manufacturer to market and distribute a prescription drug product under the entity's​

13.13 own name; and​

13.14 (2) sets or changes the wholesale acquisition cost of the prescription drug product it​

13.15 manufactures or markets.​

13.16 Subd. 5. Prescription drug. "Prescription drug" means a drug for human use subject​

13.17 to United States Code, title 21, section 353(b)(1).​

13.18 Subd. 6. Wholesale acquisition cost. "Wholesale acquisition cost" has the meaning​

13.19 provided in United States Code, title 42, section 1395w-3a.​

13.20 Subd. 7. Wholesale distributor. "Wholesale distributor" has the meaning provided in​

13.21 section 151.441, subdivision 14.​

13.22 Sec. 9. [62J.842] EXCESSIVE PRICE INCREASES PROHIBITED.​

13.23 Subdivision 1. Prohibition. No manufacturer shall impose, or cause to be imposed, an​

13.24 excessive price increase, whether directly or through a wholesale distributor, pharmacy, or​

13.25 similar intermediary, on the sale of any generic or off-patent drug sold, dispensed, or​

13.26 delivered to any consumer in the state.​

13.27 Subd. 2. Excessive price increase. A price increase is excessive for purposes of this​

13.28 section when:​

13.29 (1) the price increase, adjusted for inflation utilizing the Consumer Price Index, exceeds:​

13.30 (i) 15 percent of the wholesale acquisition cost over the immediately preceding calendar​

13.31 year; or​

13​Article 2 Sec. 9.​
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14.1 (ii) 40 percent of the wholesale acquisition cost over the immediately preceding three​

14.2 calendar years; and​

14.3 (2) the price increase, adjusted for inflation utilizing the Consumer Price Index, exceeds​

14.4 $30 for:​

14.5 (i) a 30-day supply of the drug; or​

14.6 (ii) a course of treatment lasting less than 30 days.​

14.7 Subd. 3. Exemption. It is not a violation of this section for a wholesale distributor or​

14.8 pharmacy to increase the price of a generic or off-patent drug if the price increase is directly​

14.9 attributable to additional costs for the drug imposed on the wholesale distributor or pharmacy​

14.10 by the manufacturer of the drug.​

14.11 Sec. 10. [62J.843] REGISTERED AGENT AND OFFICE WITHIN THE STATE.​

14.12 Any manufacturer that sells, distributes, delivers, or offers for sale any generic or​

14.13 off-patent drug in the state must maintain a registered agent and office within the state.​

14.14 Sec. 11. [62J.844] ENFORCEMENT.​

14.15 Subdivision 1. Notification. (a) The commissioner of health shall notify the manufacturer​

14.16 of a generic or off-patent drug, the attorney general, and the Board of Pharmacy of any price​

14.17 increase that the commissioner believes may violate section 62J.842.​

14.18 (b) The commissioner of management and budget and any other state agency that provides​

14.19 or purchases a pharmacy benefit except the Department of Human Services, and any entity​

14.20 under contract with a state agency to provide a pharmacy benefit other than an entity under​

14.21 contract with the Department of Human Services, may notify the manufacturer of a generic​

14.22 or off-patent drug, the attorney general, and the Board of Pharmacy of any price increase​

14.23 that the commissioner or entity believes may violate section 62J.842.​

14.24 Subd. 2. Submission of drug cost statement and other information by manufacturer;​

14.25 investigation by attorney general. (a) Within 45 days of receiving a notice under subdivision​

14.26 1, the manufacturer of the generic or off-patent drug shall submit a drug cost statement to​

14.27 the attorney general. The statement must:​

14.28 (1) itemize the cost components related to production of the drug;​

14.29 (2) identify the circumstances and timing of any increase in materials or manufacturing​

14.30 costs that caused any increase during the preceding calendar year, or preceding three calendar​

14.31 years as applicable, in the price of the drug; and​
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15.1 (3) provide any other information that the manufacturer believes to be relevant to a​

15.2 determination of whether a violation of section 62J.842 has occurred.​

15.3 (b) The attorney general may investigate whether a violation of section 62J.842 has​

15.4 occurred, in accordance with section 8.31, subdivision 2.​

15.5 Subd. 3. Petition to court. (a) On petition of the attorney general, a court may issue an​

15.6 order:​

15.7 (1) compelling the manufacturer of a generic or off-patent drug to:​

15.8 (i) provide the drug cost statement required under subdivision 2, paragraph (a); and​

15.9 (ii) answer interrogatories, produce records or documents, or be examined under oath,​

15.10 as required by the attorney general under subdivision 2, paragraph (b);​

15.11 (2) restraining or enjoining a violation of sections 62J.841 to 62J.845, including issuing​

15.12 an order requiring that drug prices be restored to levels that comply with section 62J.842;​

15.13 (3) requiring the manufacturer to provide an accounting to the attorney general of all​

15.14 revenues resulting from a violation of section 62J.842;​

15.15 (4) requiring the manufacturer to repay to all Minnesota consumers, including any​

15.16 third-party payers, any money acquired as a result of a price increase that violates section​

15.17 62J.842;​

15.18 (5) notwithstanding section 16A.151, requiring that all revenues generated from a​

15.19 violation of section 62J.842 be remitted to the state and deposited into a special fund, to be​

15.20 used for initiatives to reduce the cost to consumers of acquiring prescription drugs, if a​

15.21 manufacturer is unable to determine the individual transactions necessary to provide the​

15.22 repayments described in clause (4);​

15.23 (6) imposing a civil penalty of up to $10,000 per day for each violation of section 62J.842;​

15.24 (7) providing for the attorney general's recovery of costs and disbursements incurred in​

15.25 bringing an action against a manufacturer found in violation of section 62J.842, including​

15.26 the costs of investigation and reasonable attorney's fees; and​

15.27 (8) providing any other appropriate relief, including any other equitable relief as​

15.28 determined by the court.​

15.29 (b) For purposes of paragraph (a), clause (6), every individual transaction in violation​

15.30 of section 62J.842 is considered a separate violation.​
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16.1 Subd. 4. Private right of action. Any action brought pursuant to section 8.31, subdivision​

16.2 3a, by a person injured by a violation of section 62J.842 is for the benefit of the public.​

16.3 Sec. 12. [62J.845] PROHIBITION ON WITHDRAWAL OF GENERIC OR​

16.4 OFF-PATENT DRUGS FOR SALE.​

16.5 Subdivision 1. Prohibition. A manufacturer of a generic or off-patent drug is prohibited​

16.6 from withdrawing that drug from sale or distribution within this state for the purpose of​

16.7 avoiding the prohibition on excessive price increases under section 62J.842.​

16.8 Subd. 2. Notice to board and attorney general. Any manufacturer that intends to​

16.9 withdraw a generic or off-patent drug from sale or distribution within the state shall provide​

16.10 a written notice of withdrawal to the Board of Pharmacy and the attorney general, at least​

16.11 90 days prior to the withdrawal.​

16.12 Subd. 3. Financial penalty. The attorney general shall assess a penalty of $500,000 on​

16.13 any manufacturer of a generic or off-patent drug that the attorney general determines has​

16.14 failed to comply with the requirements of this section.​

16.15 Sec. 13. [62J.846] SEVERABILITY.​

16.16 If any provision of sections 62J.841 to 62J.845 or the application thereof to any person​

16.17 or circumstance is held invalid for any reason in a court of competent jurisdiction, the​

16.18 invalidity does not affect other provisions or any other application of sections 62J.841 to​

16.19 62J.845 that can be given effect without the invalid provision or application.​

16.20 Sec. 14. [62J.85] CITATION.​

16.21 Sections 62J.85 to 62J.95 may be cited as the "Prescription Drug Affordability Act."​

16.22 Sec. 15. [62J.86] DEFINITIONS.​

16.23 Subdivision 1. Definitions. For the purposes of sections 62J.85 to 62J.95, the following​

16.24 terms have the meanings given them.​

16.25 Subd. 2. Advisory council. "Advisory council" means the Prescription Drug Affordability​

16.26 Advisory Council established under section 62J.88.​

16.27 Subd. 3. Biologic. "Biologic" means a drug that is produced or distributed in accordance​

16.28 with a biologics license application approved under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42,​

16.29 section 447.502.​
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17.1 Subd. 4. Biosimilar. "Biosimilar" has the meaning provided in section 62J.84, subdivision​

17.2 2, paragraph (b).​

17.3 Subd. 5. Board. "Board" means the Prescription Drug Affordability Board established​

17.4 under section 62J.87.​

17.5 Subd. 6. Brand name drug. "Brand name drug" means a drug that is produced or​

17.6 distributed pursuant to:​

17.7 (1) a new drug application approved under United States Code, title 21, section 355(c),​

17.8 except for a generic drug as defined under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section​

17.9 447.502; or​

17.10 (2) a biologics license application approved under United States Code, title 45, section​

17.11 262(a)(c).​

17.12 Subd. 7. Generic drug. "Generic drug" has the meaning provided in section 62J.84,​

17.13 subdivision 2, paragraph (e).​

17.14 Subd. 8. Group purchaser. "Group purchaser" has the meaning given in section 62J.03,​

17.15 subdivision 6, and includes pharmacy benefit managers as defined in section 62W.02,​

17.16 subdivision 15.​

17.17 Subd. 9. Manufacturer. "Manufacturer" means an entity that:​

17.18 (1) engages in the manufacture of a prescription drug product or enters into a lease with​

17.19 another manufacturer to market and distribute a prescription drug product under the entity's​

17.20 own name; and​

17.21 (2) sets or changes the wholesale acquisition cost of the prescription drug product it​

17.22 manufacturers or markets.​

17.23 Subd. 10. Prescription drug product. "Prescription drug product" means a brand name​

17.24 drug, a generic drug, a biologic, or a biosimilar.​

17.25 Subd. 11. Wholesale acquisition cost or WAC. "Wholesale acquisition cost" or "WAC"​

17.26 has the meaning given in United States Code, title 42, section 1395W-3a(c)(6)(B).​

17.27 Sec. 16. [62J.87] PRESCRIPTION DRUG AFFORDABILITY BOARD.​

17.28 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The commissioner of commerce shall establish the​

17.29 Prescription Drug Affordability Board, which shall be governed as a board under section​

17.30 15.012, paragraph (a), to protect consumers, state and local governments, health plan​
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18.1 companies, providers, pharmacies, and other health care system stakeholders from​

18.2 unaffordable costs of certain prescription drugs.​

18.3 Subd. 2. Membership. (a) The Prescription Drug Affordability Board consists of nine​

18.4 members appointed as follows:​

18.5 (1) seven voting members appointed by the governor;​

18.6 (2) one nonvoting member appointed by the majority leader of the senate; and​

18.7 (3) one nonvoting member appointed by the speaker of the house.​

18.8 (b) All members appointed must have knowledge and demonstrated expertise in​

18.9 pharmaceutical economics and finance or health care economics and finance. A member​

18.10 must not be an employee of, a board member of, or a consultant to a manufacturer or trade​

18.11 association for manufacturers or a pharmacy benefit manager or trade association for​

18.12 pharmacy benefit managers.​

18.13 (c) Initial appointments must be made by January 1, 2024.​

18.14 Subd. 3. Terms. (a) Board appointees shall serve four-year terms, except that initial​

18.15 appointees shall serve staggered terms of two, three, or four years as determined by lot by​

18.16 the secretary of state. A board member shall serve no more than two consecutive terms.​

18.17 (b) A board member may resign at any time by giving written notice to the board.​

18.18 Subd. 4. Chair; other officers. (a) The governor shall designate an acting chair from​

18.19 the members appointed by the governor.​

18.20 (b) The board shall elect a chair to replace the acting chair at the first meeting of the​

18.21 board by a majority of the members. The chair shall serve for one year.​

18.22 (c) The board shall elect a vice-chair and other officers from its membership as it deems​

18.23 necessary.​

18.24 Subd. 5. Staff; technical assistance. (a) The board shall hire an executive director and​

18.25 other staff, who shall serve in the unclassified service. The executive director must have​

18.26 knowledge and demonstrated expertise in pharmacoeconomics, pharmacology, health policy,​

18.27 health services research, medicine, or a related field or discipline.​

18.28 (b) The commissioner of health shall provide technical assistance to the board. The board​

18.29 may also employ or contract for professional and technical assistance as the board deems​

18.30 necessary to perform the board's duties.​

18.31 (c) The attorney general shall provide legal services to the board.​
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19.1 Subd. 6. Compensation. The board members shall not receive compensation but may​

19.2 receive reimbursement for expenses as authorized under section 15.059, subdivision 3.​

19.3 Subd. 7. Meetings. (a) Meetings of the board are subject to chapter 13D. The board shall​

19.4 meet publicly at least every three months to review prescription drug product information​

19.5 submitted to the board under section 62J.90. If there are no pending submissions, the chair​

19.6 of the board may cancel or postpone the required meeting. The board may meet in closed​

19.7 session when reviewing proprietary information as determined under the standards developed​

19.8 in accordance with section 62J.91, subdivision 3.​

19.9 (b) The board shall announce each public meeting at least three weeks prior to the​

19.10 scheduled date of the meeting. Any materials for the meeting shall be made public at least​

19.11 two weeks prior to the scheduled date of the meeting.​

19.12 (c) At each public meeting, the board shall provide the opportunity for comments from​

19.13 the public, including the opportunity for written comments to be submitted to the board​

19.14 prior to a decision by the board.​

19.15 Sec. 17. [62J.88] PRESCRIPTION DRUG AFFORDABILITY ADVISORY​

19.16 COUNCIL.​

19.17 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The governor shall appoint a 12-member stakeholder​

19.18 advisory council to provide advice to the board on drug cost issues and to represent​

19.19 stakeholders' views. The governor shall appoint the members of the advisory council based​

19.20 on the members' knowledge and demonstrated expertise in one or more of the following​

19.21 areas: the pharmaceutical business; practice of medicine; patient perspectives; health care​

19.22 cost trends and drivers; clinical and health services research; and the health care marketplace.​

19.23 Subd. 2. Membership. The council's membership shall consist of the following:​

19.24 (1) two members representing patients and health care consumers;​

19.25 (2) two members representing health care providers;​

19.26 (3) one member representing health plan companies;​

19.27 (4) two members representing employers, with one member representing large employers​

19.28 and one member representing small employers;​

19.29 (5) one member representing government employee benefit plans;​

19.30 (6) one member representing pharmaceutical manufacturers;​

19.31 (7) one member who is a health services clinical researcher;​
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20.1 (8) one member who is a pharmacologist; and​

20.2 (9) one member representing the commissioner of health with expertise in health​

20.3 economics.​

20.4 Subd. 3. Terms. (a) The initial appointments to the advisory council must be made by​

20.5 January 1, 2024. The initial appointed advisory council members shall serve staggered terms​

20.6 of two, three, or four years determined by lot by the secretary of state. Following the initial​

20.7 appointments, the advisory council members shall serve four-year terms.​

20.8 (b) Removal and vacancies of advisory council members shall be governed by section​

20.9 15.059.​

20.10 Subd. 4. Compensation. Advisory council members may be compensated according to​

20.11 section 15.059.​

20.12 Subd. 5. Meetings. Meetings of the advisory council are subject to chapter 13D. The​

20.13 advisory council shall meet publicly at least every three months to advise the board on drug​

20.14 cost issues related to the prescription drug product information submitted to the board under​

20.15 section 62J.90.​

20.16 Subd. 6. Exemption. Notwithstanding section 15.059, the advisory council shall not​

20.17 expire.​

20.18 Sec. 18. [62J.89] CONFLICTS OF INTEREST.​

20.19 Subdivision 1. Definition. For purposes of this section, "conflict of interest" means a​

20.20 financial or personal association that has the potential to bias or have the appearance of​

20.21 biasing a person's decisions in matters related to the board, the advisory council, or in the​

20.22 conduct of the board's or council's activities. A conflict of interest includes any instance in​

20.23 which a person, a person's immediate family member, including a spouse, parent, child, or​

20.24 other legal dependent, or an in-law of any of the preceding individuals, has received or​

20.25 could receive a direct or indirect financial benefit of any amount deriving from the result​

20.26 or findings of a decision or determination of the board. For purposes of this section, a​

20.27 financial benefit includes honoraria, fees, stock, the value of the member's, immediate family​

20.28 member's, or in-law's stock holdings, and any direct financial benefit deriving from the​

20.29 finding of a review conducted under sections 62J.85 to 62J.95. Ownership of securities is​

20.30 not a conflict of interest if the securities are: (1) part of a diversified mutual or exchange​

20.31 traded fund; or (2) in a tax-deferred or tax-exempt retirement account that is administered​

20.32 by an independent trustee.​
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21.1 Subd. 2. General. (a) Prior to the acceptance of an appointment or employment, or prior​

21.2 to entering into a contractual agreement, a board or advisory council member, board staff​

21.3 member, or third-party contractor must disclose to the appointing authority or the board​

21.4 any conflicts of interest. The information disclosed must include the type, nature, and​

21.5 magnitude of the interests involved.​

21.6 (b) A board member, board staff member, or third-party contractor with a conflict of​

21.7 interest with regard to any prescription drug product under review must recuse themselves​

21.8 from any discussion, review, decision, or determination made by the board relating to the​

21.9 prescription drug product.​

21.10 (c) Any conflict of interest must be disclosed in advance of the first meeting after the​

21.11 conflict is identified or within five days after the conflict is identified, whichever is earlier.​

21.12 Subd. 3. Prohibitions. Board members, board staff, or third-party contractors are​

21.13 prohibited from accepting gifts, bequeaths, or donations of services or property that raise​

21.14 the specter of a conflict of interest or have the appearance of injecting bias into the activities​

21.15 of the board.​

21.16 Sec. 19. [62J.90] PRESCRIPTION DRUG PRICE INFORMATION; DECISION​

21.17 TO CONDUCT COST REVIEW.​

21.18 Subdivision 1. Drug price information from the commissioner of health and other​

21.19 sources. (a) The commissioner of health shall provide to the board the information reported​

21.20 to the commissioner by drug manufacturers under section 62J.84, subdivisions 3, 4, and 5.​

21.21 The commissioner shall provide this information to the board within 30 days of the date the​

21.22 information is received from drug manufacturers.​

21.23 (b) The board may subscribe to one or more prescription drug pricing files, such as​

21.24 Medispan or FirstDatabank, or as otherwise determined by the board.​

21.25 Subd. 2. Identification of certain prescription drug products. (a) The board, in​

21.26 consultation with the advisory council, shall identify selected prescription drug products​

21.27 based on the following criteria:​

21.28 (1) brand name drugs or biologics for which the WAC increases by $3,000 during any​

21.29 12-month period or course of treatment if less than 12 months, after adjusting for changes​

21.30 in the consumer price index (CPI);​

21.31 (2) brand name drugs or biologics with a WAC of $60,000 or more per calendar year​

21.32 or per course of treatment;​
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22.1 (3) biosimilar drugs that have a WAC that is not at least 20 percent lower than the​

22.2 referenced brand name biologic at the time the biosimilar is introduced; and​

22.3 (4) generic drugs for which:​

22.4 (i) the price increase, adjusted for inflation using the Consumer Price Index, as defined​

22.5 in section 62J.841, subdivision 2, exceeds:​

22.6 (A) 15 percent of the wholesale acquisition cost over the immediately preceding calendar​

22.7 year; or​

22.8 (B) 40 percent of the wholesale acquisition cost over the immediately preceding three​

22.9 calendar years; and​

22.10 (ii) the price increase, adjusted for inflation utilizing the Consumer Price Index, exceeds​

22.11 $30 for:​

22.12 (A) a 30-day supply of the drug; or​

22.13 (B) a course of treatment lasting less than 30 days.​

22.14 The board is not required to identify all prescription drug products that meet the criteria in​

22.15 this paragraph.​

22.16 (b) The board, in consultation with the advisory council and the commissioner of health,​

22.17 may identify prescription drug products not described in paragraph (a) that may impose​

22.18 costs that create significant affordability challenges for the state health care system or for​

22.19 patients, including but not limited to drugs to address public health emergencies.​

22.20 (c) The board shall make available to the public the names and related price information​

22.21 of the prescription drug products identified under this subdivision, with the exception of​

22.22 information determined by the board to be proprietary under the standards developed by​

22.23 the board under section 62J.91, subdivision 3, and information provided by the commissioner​

22.24 of health classified as not public data under section 13.02, subdivision 8a, or as trade secret​

22.25 information under section 13.37, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), or as trade secret information​

22.26 under the Defend Trade Secrets Act of 2016, United States Code, title 18, section 1836, as​

22.27 amended.​

22.28 Subd. 3. Determination to proceed with review. (a) The board may initiate a cost​

22.29 review of a prescription drug product identified by the board under this section.​

22.30 (b) The board shall consider requests by the public for the board to proceed with a cost​

22.31 review of any prescription drug product identified under this section.​
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23.1 (c) If there is no consensus among the members of the board on whether to initiate a​

23.2 cost review of a prescription drug product, any member of the board may request a vote to​

23.3 determine whether to review the cost of the prescription drug product.​

23.4 Sec. 20. [62J.91] PRESCRIPTION DRUG PRODUCT REVIEWS.​

23.5 Subdivision 1. General. Once a decision by the board has been made to proceed with​

23.6 a cost review of a prescription drug product, the board shall conduct the review and make​

23.7 a determination as to whether appropriate utilization of the prescription drug under review,​

23.8 based on utilization that is consistent with the United States Food and Drug Administration​

23.9 (FDA) label or standard medical practice, has led or will lead to affordability challenges​

23.10 for the state health care system or for patients.​

23.11 Subd. 2. Review considerations. In reviewing the cost of a prescription drug product,​

23.12 the board may consider the following factors:​

23.13 (1) the price at which the prescription drug product has been and will be sold in the state;​

23.14 (2) manufacturer monetary price concessions, discounts, or rebates, and drug-specific​

23.15 patient assistance;​

23.16 (3) the price of therapeutic alternatives;​

23.17 (4) the cost to group purchasers based on patient access consistent with the FDA-labeled​

23.18 indications and standard medical practice;​

23.19 (5) measures of patient access, including cost-sharing and other metrics;​

23.20 (6) the extent to which the attorney general or a court has determined that a price increase​

23.21 for a generic or off-patent prescription drug product was excessive under sections 62J.842​

23.22 and 62J.844;​

23.23 (7) any information a manufacturer chooses to provide; and​

23.24 (8) any other factors as determined by the board.​

23.25 Subd. 3. Public data; proprietary information. (a) Any submission made to the board​

23.26 related to a drug cost review must be made available to the public with the exception of​

23.27 information determined by the board to be proprietary and information provided by the​

23.28 commissioner of health classified as not public data under section 13.02, subdivision 8a, or​

23.29 as trade secret information under section 13.37, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), or as trade​

23.30 secret information under the Defend Trade Secrets Act of 2016, United States Code, title​

23.31 18, section 1836, as amended.​
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24.1 (b) The board shall establish the standards for the information to be considered proprietary​

24.2 under paragraph (a) and section 62J.90, subdivision 2, including standards for heightened​

24.3 consideration of proprietary information for submissions for a cost review of a drug that is​

24.4 not yet approved by the FDA.​

24.5 (c) Prior to the board establishing the standards under paragraph (b), the public shall be​

24.6 provided notice and the opportunity to submit comments.​

24.7 (d) The establishment of standards under this subdivision is exempt from the rulemaking​

24.8 requirements under chapter 14, and section 14.386 does not apply.​

24.9 Sec. 21. [62J.92] DETERMINATIONS; COMPLIANCE; REMEDIES.​

24.10 Subdivision 1. Upper payment limit. (a) In the event the board finds that the spending​

24.11 on a prescription drug product reviewed under section 62J.91 creates an affordability​

24.12 challenge for the state health care system or for patients, the board shall establish an upper​

24.13 payment limit after considering:​

24.14 (1) extraordinary supply costs, if applicable;​

24.15 (2) the range of prices at which the drug is sold in the United States according to one or​

24.16 more pricing files accessed under section 62J.90, subdivision 1, and the range at which​

24.17 pharmacies are reimbursed in Canada; and​

24.18 (3) any other relevant pricing and administrative cost information for the drug.​

24.19 (b) An upper payment limit applies to all purchases of, and payer reimbursements for,​

24.20 a prescription drug that is dispensed or administered to individuals in the state in person,​

24.21 by mail, or by other means, and for which an upper payment limit has been established.​

24.22 Subd. 2. Implementation and administration of the upper payment limit. (a) An​

24.23 upper payment limit may take effect no sooner than 120 days following the date of its public​

24.24 release by the board.​

24.25 (b) When setting an upper payment limit for a drug subject to the Medicare maximum​

24.26 fair price under United States Code, title 42, section 1191(c), the board shall set the upper​

24.27 payment limit at the Medicare maximum fair price.​

24.28 (c) Pharmacy dispensing fees must not be counted toward or subject to any upper payment​

24.29 limit. State-licensed independent pharmacies must not be reimbursed by health carriers and​

24.30 pharmacy benefit managers at amounts that are less than the upper payment limit.​

24.31 (d) Health plan companies and pharmacy benefit managers shall report annually to the​

24.32 board, in the form and manner specified by the board, on how cost savings resulting from​
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25.1 the establishment of an upper payment limit have been used by the health plan company or​

25.2 pharmacy benefit manager to benefit enrollees, including but not limited to reducing enrollee​

25.3 cost-sharing.​

25.4 Subd. 3. Noncompliance. (a) The board shall, and other persons may, notify the Office​

25.5 of the Attorney General of a potential failure by an entity subject to an upper payment limit​

25.6 to comply with that limit.​

25.7 (b) If the Office of the Attorney General finds that an entity was noncompliant with the​

25.8 upper payment limit requirements, the attorney general may pursue remedies consistent​

25.9 with chapter 8 or appropriate criminal charges if there is evidence of intentional profiteering.​

25.10 (c) An entity who obtains price concessions from a drug manufacturer that result in a​

25.11 lower net cost to the stakeholder than the upper payment limit established by the board is​

25.12 not considered noncompliant.​

25.13 (d) The Office of the Attorney General may provide guidance to stakeholders concerning​

25.14 activities that could be considered noncompliant.​

25.15 Subd. 4. Appeals. (a) Persons affected by a decision of the board may request an appeal​

25.16 of the board's decision within 30 days of the date of the decision. The board shall hear the​

25.17 appeal and render a decision within 60 days of the hearing.​

25.18 (b) All appeal decisions are subject to judicial review in accordance with chapter 14.​

25.19 Sec. 22. [62J.93] REPORTS.​

25.20 Beginning March 1, 2024, and each March 1 thereafter, the board shall submit a report​

25.21 to the governor and legislature on general price trends for prescription drug products and​

25.22 the number of prescription drug products that were subject to the board's cost review and​

25.23 analysis, including the result of any analysis as well as the number and disposition of appeals​

25.24 and judicial reviews.​

25.25 Sec. 23. [62J.94] ERISA PLANS AND MEDICARE DRUG PLANS.​

25.26 (a) Nothing in sections 62J.85 to 62J.95 shall be construed to require ERISA plans or​

25.27 Medicare Part D plans to comply with decisions of the board. ERISA plans or Medicare​

25.28 Part D plans are free to choose to exceed the upper payment limit established by the board​

25.29 under section 62J.92.​

25.30 (b) Providers who dispense and administer drugs in the state must bill all payers no more​

25.31 than the upper payment limit without regard to whether an ERISA plan or Medicare Part​
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26.1 D plan chooses to reimburse the provider in an amount greater than the upper payment limit​

26.2 established by the board.​

26.3 (c) For purposes of this section, an ERISA plan or group health plan is an employee​

26.4 welfare benefit plan established by or maintained by an employer or an employee​

26.5 organization, or both, that provides employer sponsored health coverage to employees and​

26.6 the employee's dependents and is subject to the Employee Retirement Income Security Act​

26.7 of 1974 (ERISA).​

26.8 Sec. 24. [62J.95] SEVERABILITY.​

26.9 If any provision of sections 62J.85 to 62J.94 or the application thereof to any person or​

26.10 circumstance is held invalid for any reason in a court of competent jurisdiction, the invalidity​

26.11 does not affect other provisions or any other application of sections 62J.85 to 62J.94 that​

26.12 can be given effect without the invalid provision or application.​

26.13 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62K.10, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

26.14 Subd. 4. Network adequacy. Each designated provider network must include a sufficient​

26.15 number and type of providers, including providers that specialize in mental health and​

26.16 substance use disorder services, to ensure that covered services are available to all enrollees​

26.17 without unreasonable delay. In determining network adequacy, the commissioner of health​

26.18 shall consider availability of services, including the following:​

26.19 (1) primary care physician services are available and accessible 24 hours per day, seven​

26.20 days per week, within the network area;​

26.21 (2) a sufficient number of primary care physicians have hospital admitting privileges at​

26.22 one or more participating hospitals within the network area so that necessary admissions​

26.23 are made on a timely basis consistent with generally accepted practice parameters;​

26.24 (3) specialty physician service is available through the network or contract arrangement;​

26.25 (4) mental health and substance use disorder treatment providers, including but not​

26.26 limited to psychiatric residential treatment facilities, are available and accessible through​

26.27 the network or contract arrangement;​

26.28 (5) to the extent that primary care services are provided through primary care providers​

26.29 other than physicians, and to the extent permitted under applicable scope of practice in state​

26.30 law for a given provider, these services shall be available and accessible; and​
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27.1 (6) the network has available, either directly or through arrangements, appropriate and​

27.2 sufficient personnel, physical resources, and equipment to meet the projected needs of​

27.3 enrollees for covered health care services.​

27.4 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62Q.19, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

27.5 Subdivision 1. Designation. (a) The commissioner shall designate essential community​

27.6 providers. The criteria for essential community provider designation shall be the following:​

27.7 (1) a demonstrated ability to integrate applicable supportive and stabilizing services with​

27.8 medical care for uninsured persons and high-risk and special needs populations, underserved,​

27.9 and other special needs populations; and​

27.10 (2) a commitment to serve low-income and underserved populations by meeting the​

27.11 following requirements:​

27.12 (i) has nonprofit status in accordance with chapter 317A;​

27.13 (ii) has tax-exempt status in accordance with the Internal Revenue Service Code, section​

27.14 501(c)(3);​

27.15 (iii) charges for services on a sliding fee schedule based on current poverty income​

27.16 guidelines; and​

27.17 (iv) does not restrict access or services because of a client's financial limitation;​

27.18 (3) status as a local government unit as defined in section 62D.02, subdivision 11, a​

27.19 hospital district created or reorganized under sections 447.31 to 447.37, an Indian tribal​

27.20 government, an Indian health service unit, or a community health board as defined in chapter​

27.21 145A;​

27.22 (4) a former state hospital that specializes in the treatment of cerebral palsy, spina bifida,​

27.23 epilepsy, closed head injuries, specialized orthopedic problems, and other disabling​

27.24 conditions;​

27.25 (5) a sole community hospital. For these rural hospitals, the essential community provider​

27.26 designation applies to all health services provided, including both inpatient and outpatient​

27.27 services. For purposes of this section, "sole community hospital" means a rural hospital​

27.28 that:​

27.29 (i) is eligible to be classified as a sole community hospital according to Code of Federal​

27.30 Regulations, title 42, section 412.92, or is located in a community with a population of less​

27.31 than 5,000 and located more than 25 miles from a like hospital currently providing acute​

27.32 short-term services;​
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28.1 (ii) has experienced net operating income losses in two of the previous three most recent​

28.2 consecutive hospital fiscal years for which audited financial information is available; and​

28.3 (iii) consists of 40 or fewer licensed beds;​

28.4 (6) a birth center licensed under section 144.615; or​

28.5 (7) a hospital and affiliated specialty clinics that predominantly serve patients who are​

28.6 under 21 years of age and meet the following criteria:​

28.7 (i) provide intensive specialty pediatric services that are routinely provided in fewer​

28.8 than five hospitals in the state; and​

28.9 (ii) serve children from at least one-half of the counties in the state; or​

28.10 (8) a psychiatric residential treatment facility as defined in section 256B.0625, subdivision​

28.11 45a, paragraph (b), that is certified and licensed by the commissioner of health.​

28.12 (b) Prior to designation, the commissioner shall publish the names of all applicants in​

28.13 the State Register. The public shall have 30 days from the date of publication to submit​

28.14 written comments to the commissioner on the application. No designation shall be made​

28.15 by the commissioner until the 30-day period has expired.​

28.16 (c) The commissioner may designate an eligible provider as an essential community​

28.17 provider for all the services offered by that provider or for specific services designated by​

28.18 the commissioner.​

28.19 (d) For the purpose of this subdivision, supportive and stabilizing services include at a​

28.20 minimum, transportation, child care, cultural, and linguistic services where appropriate.​

28.21 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62Q.46, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

28.22 Subdivision 1. Coverage for preventive items and services. (a) "Preventive items and​

28.23 services" has the meaning specified in the Affordable Care Act. Preventive items and services​

28.24 includes:​

28.25 (1) evidence-based items or services that have in effect a rating of A or B in the current​

28.26 recommendations of the United States Preventive Services Task Force with respect to the​

28.27 individual involved;​

28.28 (2) immunizations for routine use in children, adolescents, and adults that have in effect​

28.29 a recommendation from the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices of the Centers​

28.30 for Disease Control and Prevention with respect to the individual involved. For purposes​

28.31 of this clause, a recommendation from the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices​
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29.1 of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is considered in effect after the​

29.2 recommendation has been adopted by the Director of the Centers for Disease Control and​

29.3 Prevention, and a recommendation is considered to be for routine use if the recommendation​

29.4 is listed on the Immunization Schedules of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention;​

29.5 (3) with respect to infants, children, and adolescents, evidence-informed preventive care​

29.6 and screenings provided for in comprehensive guidelines supported by the Health Resources​

29.7 and Services Administration;​

29.8 (4) with respect to women, such additional preventive care and screenings not listed​

29.9 with a rating of A or B by the United States Preventive Services Task Force but provided​

29.10 for in comprehensive guidelines supported by the Health Resources and Services​

29.11 Administration; and​

29.12 (5) all contraceptive methods established in guidelines published by the United States​

29.13 Food and Drug Administration.​

29.14 (b) A health plan company must provide coverage for preventive items and services at​

29.15 a participating provider without imposing cost-sharing requirements, including a deductible,​

29.16 coinsurance, or co-payment. Nothing in this section prohibits a health plan company that​

29.17 has a network of providers from excluding coverage or imposing cost-sharing requirements​

29.18 for preventive items or services that are delivered by an out-of-network provider.​

29.19 (c) A health plan company is not required to provide coverage for any items or services​

29.20 specified in any recommendation or guideline described in paragraph (a) if the​

29.21 recommendation or guideline is no longer included as a preventive item or service as defined​

29.22 in paragraph (a). Annually, a health plan company must determine whether any additional​

29.23 items or services must be covered without cost-sharing requirements or whether any items​

29.24 or services are no longer required to be covered.​

29.25 (d) Nothing in this section prevents a health plan company from using reasonable medical​

29.26 management techniques to determine the frequency, method, treatment, or setting for a​

29.27 preventive item or service to the extent not specified in the recommendation or guideline.​

29.28 (e) This section does not apply to grandfathered plans.​

29.29 (f) This section does not apply to plans offered by the Minnesota Comprehensive Health​

29.30 Association.​
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30.1 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62Q.46, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

30.2 Subd. 3. Additional services not prohibited. Nothing in this section prohibits a health​

30.3 plan company from providing coverage for preventive items and services in addition to​

30.4 those specified in the Affordable Care Act under subdivision 1, paragraph (a), or from​

30.5 denying coverage for preventive items and services that are not recommended as preventive​

30.6 items and services specified under the Affordable Care Act subdivision 1, paragraph (a). A​

30.7 health plan company may impose cost-sharing requirements for a treatment not described​

30.8 in the Affordable Care Act under subdivision 1, paragraph (a), even if the treatment results​

30.9 from a preventive item or service described in the Affordable Care Act under subdivision​

30.10 1, paragraph (a).​

30.11 Sec. 29. [62Q.465] MENTAL HEALTH PARITY AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE​

30.12 ACCOUNTABILITY OFFICE.​

30.13 (a) The Mental Health Parity and Substance Abuse Accountability Office is established​

30.14 within the Department of Commerce to create and execute effective strategies for​

30.15 implementing the requirements under:​

30.16 (1) Minnesota Statutes, section 62Q.47;​

30.17 (2) the federal Mental Health Parity Act of 1996, Public Law 104-204;​

30.18 (3) the federal Paul Wellstone and Pete Domenici Mental Health Parity and Addiction​

30.19 Equity Act of 2008, Public Law 110-343, division C, sections 511 and 512;​

30.20 (4) the Affordable Care Act, as defined under section 62A.011, subdivision 1a; and​

30.21 (5) amendments made to, and federal guidance or regulations issued or adopted under,​

30.22 the acts listed under clauses (2) to (4).​

30.23 (b) The office may oversee compliance reviews, conduct and lead stakeholder​

30.24 engagement, review consumer and provider complaints, and serve as a resource for ensuring​

30.25 health plan compliance with mental health and substance abuse requirements.​

30.26 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62Q.47, is amended to read:​

30.27 62Q.47 ALCOHOLISM, MENTAL HEALTH, AND CHEMICAL DEPENDENCY​

30.28 SERVICES.​

30.29 (a) All health plans, as defined in section 62Q.01, that provide coverage for alcoholism,​

30.30 mental health, or chemical dependency services, must comply with the requirements of this​

30.31 section.​
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31.1 (b) Cost-sharing requirements and benefit or service limitations for outpatient mental​

31.2 health and outpatient chemical dependency and alcoholism services, except for persons​

31.3 placed in chemical dependency services under Minnesota Rules, parts 9530.6600 to​

31.4 9530.6655, must not place a greater financial burden on the insured or enrollee, or be more​

31.5 restrictive than those requirements and limitations for outpatient medical services.​

31.6 (c) Cost-sharing requirements and benefit or service limitations for inpatient hospital​

31.7 mental health services, psychiatric residential treatment facility services, and inpatient​

31.8 hospital and residential chemical dependency and alcoholism services, except for persons​

31.9 placed in chemical dependency services under Minnesota Rules, parts 9530.6600 to​

31.10 9530.6655, must not place a greater financial burden on the insured or enrollee, or be more​

31.11 restrictive than those requirements and limitations for inpatient hospital medical services.​

31.12 (d) A health plan company must not impose an NQTL with respect to mental health and​

31.13 substance use disorders in any classification of benefits unless, under the terms of the health​

31.14 plan as written and in operation, any processes, strategies, evidentiary standards, or other​

31.15 factors used in applying the NQTL to mental health and substance use disorders in the​

31.16 classification are comparable to, and are applied no more stringently than, the processes,​

31.17 strategies, evidentiary standards, or other factors used in applying the NQTL with respect​

31.18 to medical and surgical benefits in the same classification.​

31.19 (e) All health plans must meet the requirements of the federal Mental Health Parity Act​

31.20 of 1996, Public Law 104-204; Paul Wellstone and Pete Domenici Mental Health Parity and​

31.21 Addiction Equity Act of 2008; the Affordable Care Act; and any amendments to, and federal​

31.22 guidance or regulations issued under, those acts.​

31.23 (f) The commissioner may require information from health plan companies to confirm​

31.24 that mental health parity is being implemented by the health plan company. Information​

31.25 required may include comparisons between mental health and substance use disorder​

31.26 treatment and other medical conditions, including a comparison of prior authorization​

31.27 requirements, drug formulary design, claim denials, rehabilitation services, and other​

31.28 information the commissioner deems appropriate.​

31.29 (g) Regardless of the health care provider's professional license, if the service provided​

31.30 is consistent with the provider's scope of practice and the health plan company's credentialing​

31.31 and contracting provisions, mental health therapy visits and medication maintenance visits​

31.32 shall be considered primary care visits for the purpose of applying any enrollee cost-sharing​

31.33 requirements imposed under the enrollee's health plan.​
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32.1 (h) All health plan companies offering health plans that provide coverage for alcoholism,​

32.2 mental health, or chemical dependency benefits shall provide reimbursement for the benefits​

32.3 delivered through the psychiatric Collaborative Care Model, which must include the following​

32.4 Current Procedural Terminology or Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System billing​

32.5 codes:​

32.6 (1) 99492;​

32.7 (2) 99493;​

32.8 (3) 99494;​

32.9 (4) G2214; and​

32.10 (5) G0512.​

32.11 This paragraph does not apply to: (i) managed care plans or county-based purchasing plans​

32.12 when the plan provides coverage to public health care program enrollees under chapter​

32.13 256B or 256L; or (ii) health care coverage offered by the state employee group insurance​

32.14 program.​

32.15 (i) The commissioner of commerce shall update the list of codes in paragraph (h) if any​

32.16 alterations or additions to the billing codes for the psychiatric Collaborative Care Model​

32.17 are made.​

32.18 (j) "Psychiatric Collaborative Care Model" means the evidence-based, integrated​

32.19 behavioral health service delivery method described at Federal Register, volume 81, page​

32.20 80230, which includes a formal collaborative arrangement among a primary care team​

32.21 consisting of a primary care provider, a care manager, and a psychiatric consultant, and​

32.22 includes but is not limited to the following elements:​

32.23 (1) care directed by the primary care team;​

32.24 (2) structured care management;​

32.25 (3) regular assessments of clinical status using validated tools; and​

32.26 (4) modification of treatment as appropriate.​

32.27 (h) (k) By June 1 of each year, beginning June 1, 2021, the commissioner of commerce,​

32.28 in consultation with the commissioner of health, shall submit a report on compliance and​

32.29 oversight to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with​

32.30 jurisdiction over health and commerce. The report must:​
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33.1 (1) describe the commissioner's process for reviewing health plan company compliance​

33.2 with United States Code, title 42, section 18031(j), any federal regulations or guidance​

33.3 relating to compliance and oversight, and compliance with this section and section 62Q.53;​

33.4 (2) identify any enforcement actions taken by either commissioner during the preceding​

33.5 12-month period regarding compliance with parity for mental health and substance use​

33.6 disorders benefits under state and federal law, summarizing the results of any market conduct​

33.7 examinations. The summary must include: (i) the number of formal enforcement actions​

33.8 taken; (ii) the benefit classifications examined in each enforcement action; and (iii) the​

33.9 subject matter of each enforcement action, including quantitative and nonquantitative​

33.10 treatment limitations;​

33.11 (3) detail any corrective action taken by either commissioner to ensure health plan​

33.12 company compliance with this section, section 62Q.53, and United States Code, title 42,​

33.13 section 18031(j); and​

33.14 (4) describe the information provided by either commissioner to the public about​

33.15 alcoholism, mental health, or chemical dependency parity protections under state and federal​

33.16 law.​

33.17 The report must be written in nontechnical, readily understandable language and must be​

33.18 made available to the public by, among other means as the commissioners find appropriate,​

33.19 posting the report on department websites. Individually identifiable information must be​

33.20 excluded from the report, consistent with state and federal privacy protections.​

33.21 Sec. 31. [62Q.481] COST-SHARING FOR PRESCRIPTION DRUGS AND RELATED​

33.22 MEDICAL SUPPLIES TO TREAT CHRONIC DISEASE.​

33.23 Subdivision 1. Cost-sharing limits. (a) A health plan must limit the amount of any​

33.24 enrollee cost-sharing for prescription drugs prescribed to treat a chronic disease to no more​

33.25 than $25 per one-month supply for each prescription drug regardless of the amount or type​

33.26 of medication required to fill the prescription, and to no more than $50 per month in total​

33.27 for all related medical supplies. The cost-sharing limit for related medical supplies does not​

33.28 increase with the number of chronic diseases for which an enrollee is treated. Coverage​

33.29 under this section shall not be subject to any deductible.​

33.30 (b) If application of this section before an enrollee has met their plan's deductible would​

33.31 result in: (1) health savings account ineligibility under United States Code, title 26, section​

33.32 223; or (2) catastrophic health plan ineligibility under United States Code, title 42, section​
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34.1 18022(e), then this section shall apply to that specific prescription drug or related medical​

34.2 supply only after the enrollee has met their plan's deductible.​

34.3 Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following definitions apply.​

34.4 (b) "Chronic disease" means diabetes, asthma, and allergies requiring the use of​

34.5 epinephrine auto-injectors.​

34.6 (c) "Cost-sharing" means co-payments and coinsurance.​

34.7 (d) "Related medical supplies" means syringes, insulin pens, insulin pumps, test strips,​

34.8 glucometers, continuous glucose monitors, epinephrine auto-injectors, asthma inhalers, and​

34.9 other medical supply items necessary to effectively and appropriately treat a chronic disease​

34.10 or administer a prescription drug prescribed to treat a chronic disease.​

34.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024, and applies to health​

34.12 plans offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.​

34.13 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62Q.81, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

34.14 Subd. 4. Essential health benefits; definition. For purposes of this section, "essential​

34.15 health benefits" has the meaning given under section 1302(b) of the Affordable Care Act​

34.16 and includes:​

34.17 (1) ambulatory patient services;​

34.18 (2) emergency services;​

34.19 (3) hospitalization;​

34.20 (4) laboratory services;​

34.21 (5) maternity and newborn care;​

34.22 (6) mental health and substance use disorder services, including behavioral health​

34.23 treatment;​

34.24 (7) pediatric services, including oral and vision care;​

34.25 (8) prescription drugs;​

34.26 (9) preventive and wellness services and chronic disease management;​

34.27 (10) rehabilitative and habilitative services and devices; and​

34.28 (11) additional essential health benefits included in the EHB-benchmark plan, as defined​

34.29 under the Affordable Care Act, and preventive items and services, as defined under section​

34.30 62Q.46, subdivision 1, paragraph (a).​
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35.1 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62Q.81, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

35.2 read:​

35.3 Subd. 7. Standard plans. (a) A health plan company that offers individual health plans​

35.4 must ensure that no less than one individual health plan at each level of coverage described​

35.5 in subdivision 1, paragraph (b), clause (3), that they offer in each geographic rating area​

35.6 they serve, conforms to the standard plan parameters as determined by the commissioner​

35.7 under paragraph (e).​

35.8 (b) An individual health plan offered under this subdivision must be:​

35.9 (1) clearly and appropriately labeled as standard plans to aid the purchaser in the selection​

35.10 process;​

35.11 (2) marketed as standard plans and in the same manner as other individual health plans​

35.12 offered by the health plan company; and​

35.13 (3) offered for purchase to any individual.​

35.14 (c) This subdivision does not apply to catastrophic plans, grandfathered plans, small​

35.15 group health plans, large group health plans, health savings accounts, qualified high​

35.16 deductible health benefit plans, limited health benefit plans, or short-term limited-duration​

35.17 health insurance policies.​

35.18 (d) Health plan companies must meet the requirements in this subdivision separately for​

35.19 plans offered through MNsure under chapter 62V and plans offered outside of MNsure.​

35.20 (e) The commissioner of commerce, in consultation with the commissioner of health,​

35.21 shall annually determine standard plan parameters, including but not limited to cost-sharing​

35.22 structure and covered benefits, that comprise a standard plan in Minnesota.​

35.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to individual​

35.24 health plans offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.​

35.25 Sec. 34. [62W.15] CLINICIAN-ADMINISTERED DRUGS.​

35.26 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following definitions​

35.27 apply.​

35.28 (b) "Affiliated pharmacy" means a pharmacy in which a pharmacy benefit manager or​

35.29 health carrier has an ownership interest either directly or indirectly, or through an affiliate​

35.30 or subsidiary.​
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36.1 (c) "Clinician-administered drug" means an outpatient prescription drug other than a​

36.2 vaccine that:​

36.3 (1) cannot reasonably be self-administered by the patient to whom the drug is prescribed​

36.4 or by an individual assisting the patient with self-administration; and​

36.5 (2) is typically administered:​

36.6 (i) by a health care provider authorized to administer the drug, including when acting​

36.7 under a physician's delegation and supervision; and​

36.8 (ii) in a physician's office, hospital outpatient infusion center, or other clinical setting.​

36.9 Subd. 2. Prohibition on requiring coverage as a pharmacy benefit. A pharmacy​

36.10 benefit manager or health carrier shall not require that a clinician-administered drug or the​

36.11 administration of a clinician-administered drug be covered as a pharmacy benefit.​

36.12 Subd. 3. Enrollee choice. A pharmacy benefit manager or health carrier:​

36.13 (1) shall permit an enrollee to obtain a clinician-administered drug from a health care​

36.14 provider authorized to administer the drug, or a pharmacy;​

36.15 (2) shall not interfere with the enrollee's right to obtain a clinician-administered drug​

36.16 from their provider or pharmacy of choice, and shall not offer financial or other incentives​

36.17 to influence the enrollee's choice of a provider or pharmacy;​

36.18 (3) shall not require clinician-administered drugs to be dispensed by a pharmacy selected​

36.19 by the pharmacy benefit manager or health carrier; and​

36.20 (4) shall not limit or exclude coverage for a clinician-administered drug when it is not​

36.21 dispensed by a pharmacy selected by the pharmacy benefit manager or health carrier, if the​

36.22 drug would otherwise be covered.​

36.23 Subd. 4. Cost-sharing and reimbursement. A pharmacy benefit manager or health​

36.24 carrier:​

36.25 (1) may impose coverage or benefit limitations on an enrollee who obtains a​

36.26 clinician-administered drug from a health care provider authorized to administer the drug,​

36.27 or a pharmacy, only if these limitations would also be imposed were the drug to be obtained​

36.28 from an affiliated pharmacy or a pharmacy selected by the pharmacy benefit manager or​

36.29 health carrier;​

36.30 (2) may impose cost-sharing requirements on an enrollee who obtains a​

36.31 clinician-administered drug from a health care provider authorized to administer the drug,​

36.32 or a pharmacy, only if these requirements would also be imposed were the drug to be obtained​
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37.1 from an affiliated pharmacy or a pharmacy selected by the pharmacy benefit manager or​

37.2 health carrier; and​

37.3 (3) shall not reimburse a health care provider or pharmacy for clinician-administered​

37.4 drugs and their administration, at an amount that is lower than would be applied to an​

37.5 affiliated pharmacy or pharmacy selected by the pharmacy benefit manager or health carrier.​

37.6 Subd. 5. Other requirements. A pharmacy benefit manager or health carrier:​

37.7 (1) shall not require or encourage the dispensing of a clinician-administered drug to an​

37.8 enrollee in a manner that is inconsistent with the supply chain security controls and chain​

37.9 of distribution set by the federal Drug Supply Chain Security Act, United States Code, title​

37.10 21, section 360eee, et seq.;​

37.11 (2) shall not require a specialty pharmacy to dispense a clinician-administered drug​

37.12 directly to a patient with the intention that the patient will transport the drug to a health care​

37.13 provider for administration; and​

37.14 (3) may offer, but shall not require:​

37.15 (i) the use of a home infusion pharmacy to dispense or administer clinician-administered​

37.16 drugs to enrollees; and​

37.17 (ii) the use of an infusion site external to the enrollee's provider office or clinic.​

37.18 Subd. 6. Exclusion. This section does not apply to health plans offered under chapter​

37.19 256B or 256L.​

37.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.​

37.21 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.071, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

37.22 Subdivision 1. Forms of disciplinary action. When the board finds that a licensee,​

37.23 registrant, or applicant has engaged in conduct prohibited under subdivision 2, it may do​

37.24 one or more of the following:​

37.25 (1) deny the issuance of a license or registration;​

37.26 (2) refuse to renew a license or registration;​

37.27 (3) revoke the license or registration;​

37.28 (4) suspend the license or registration;​

37.29 (5) impose limitations, conditions, or both on the license or registration, including but​

37.30 not limited to: the limitation of practice to designated settings; the limitation of the scope​
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38.1 of practice within designated settings; the imposition of retraining or rehabilitation​

38.2 requirements; the requirement of practice under supervision; the requirement of participation​

38.3 in a diversion program such as that established pursuant to section 214.31 or the conditioning​

38.4 of continued practice on demonstration of knowledge or skills by appropriate examination​

38.5 or other review of skill and competence;​

38.6 (6) impose a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 for each separate violation, except that​

38.7 a civil penalty not exceeding $25,000 may be imposed for each separate violation of section​

38.8 62J.842, the amount of the civil penalty to be fixed so as to deprive a licensee or registrant​

38.9 of any economic advantage gained by reason of the violation, to discourage similar violations​

38.10 by the licensee or registrant or any other licensee or registrant, or to reimburse the board​

38.11 for the cost of the investigation and proceeding, including but not limited to, fees paid for​

38.12 services provided by the Office of Administrative Hearings, legal and investigative services​

38.13 provided by the Office of the Attorney General, court reporters, witnesses, reproduction of​

38.14 records, board members' per diem compensation, board staff time, and travel costs and​

38.15 expenses incurred by board staff and board members; and​

38.16 (7) reprimand the licensee or registrant.​

38.17 Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.071, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

38.18 Subd. 2. Grounds for disciplinary action. The following conduct is prohibited and is​

38.19 grounds for disciplinary action:​

38.20 (1) failure to demonstrate the qualifications or satisfy the requirements for a license or​

38.21 registration contained in this chapter or the rules of the board. The burden of proof is on​

38.22 the applicant to demonstrate such qualifications or satisfaction of such requirements;​

38.23 (2) obtaining a license by fraud or by misleading the board in any way during the​

38.24 application process or obtaining a license by cheating, or attempting to subvert the licensing​

38.25 examination process. Conduct that subverts or attempts to subvert the licensing examination​

38.26 process includes, but is not limited to: (i) conduct that violates the security of the examination​

38.27 materials, such as removing examination materials from the examination room or having​

38.28 unauthorized possession of any portion of a future, current, or previously administered​

38.29 licensing examination; (ii) conduct that violates the standard of test administration, such as​

38.30 communicating with another examinee during administration of the examination, copying​

38.31 another examinee's answers, permitting another examinee to copy one's answers, or​

38.32 possessing unauthorized materials; or (iii) impersonating an examinee or permitting an​

38.33 impersonator to take the examination on one's own behalf;​
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39.1 (3) for a pharmacist, pharmacy technician, pharmacist intern, applicant for a pharmacist​

39.2 or pharmacy license, or applicant for a pharmacy technician or pharmacist intern registration,​

39.3 conviction of a felony reasonably related to the practice of pharmacy. Conviction as used​

39.4 in this subdivision includes a conviction of an offense that if committed in this state would​

39.5 be deemed a felony without regard to its designation elsewhere, or a criminal proceeding​

39.6 where a finding or verdict of guilt is made or returned but the adjudication of guilt is either​

39.7 withheld or not entered thereon. The board may delay the issuance of a new license or​

39.8 registration if the applicant has been charged with a felony until the matter has been​

39.9 adjudicated;​

39.10 (4) for a facility, other than a pharmacy, licensed or registered by the board, if an owner​

39.11 or applicant is convicted of a felony reasonably related to the operation of the facility. The​

39.12 board may delay the issuance of a new license or registration if the owner or applicant has​

39.13 been charged with a felony until the matter has been adjudicated;​

39.14 (5) for a controlled substance researcher, conviction of a felony reasonably related to​

39.15 controlled substances or to the practice of the researcher's profession. The board may delay​

39.16 the issuance of a registration if the applicant has been charged with a felony until the matter​

39.17 has been adjudicated;​

39.18 (6) disciplinary action taken by another state or by one of this state's health licensing​

39.19 agencies:​

39.20 (i) revocation, suspension, restriction, limitation, or other disciplinary action against a​

39.21 license or registration in another state or jurisdiction, failure to report to the board that​

39.22 charges or allegations regarding the person's license or registration have been brought in​

39.23 another state or jurisdiction, or having been refused a license or registration by any other​

39.24 state or jurisdiction. The board may delay the issuance of a new license or registration if an​

39.25 investigation or disciplinary action is pending in another state or jurisdiction until the​

39.26 investigation or action has been dismissed or otherwise resolved; and​

39.27 (ii) revocation, suspension, restriction, limitation, or other disciplinary action against a​

39.28 license or registration issued by another of this state's health licensing agencies, failure to​

39.29 report to the board that charges regarding the person's license or registration have been​

39.30 brought by another of this state's health licensing agencies, or having been refused a license​

39.31 or registration by another of this state's health licensing agencies. The board may delay the​

39.32 issuance of a new license or registration if a disciplinary action is pending before another​

39.33 of this state's health licensing agencies until the action has been dismissed or otherwise​

39.34 resolved;​
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40.1 (7) for a pharmacist, pharmacy, pharmacy technician, or pharmacist intern, violation of​

40.2 any order of the board, of any of the provisions of this chapter or any rules of the board or​

40.3 violation of any federal, state, or local law or rule reasonably pertaining to the practice of​

40.4 pharmacy;​

40.5 (8) for a facility, other than a pharmacy, licensed by the board, violations of any order​

40.6 of the board, of any of the provisions of this chapter or the rules of the board or violation​

40.7 of any federal, state, or local law relating to the operation of the facility;​

40.8 (9) engaging in any unethical conduct; conduct likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the​

40.9 public, or demonstrating a willful or careless disregard for the health, welfare, or safety of​

40.10 a patient; or pharmacy practice that is professionally incompetent, in that it may create​

40.11 unnecessary danger to any patient's life, health, or safety, in any of which cases, proof of​

40.12 actual injury need not be established;​

40.13 (10) aiding or abetting an unlicensed person in the practice of pharmacy, except that it​

40.14 is not a violation of this clause for a pharmacist to supervise a properly registered pharmacy​

40.15 technician or pharmacist intern if that person is performing duties allowed by this chapter​

40.16 or the rules of the board;​

40.17 (11) for an individual licensed or registered by the board, adjudication as mentally ill​

40.18 or developmentally disabled, or as a chemically dependent person, a person dangerous to​

40.19 the public, a sexually dangerous person, or a person who has a sexual psychopathic​

40.20 personality, by a court of competent jurisdiction, within or without this state. Such​

40.21 adjudication shall automatically suspend a license for the duration thereof unless the board​

40.22 orders otherwise;​

40.23 (12) for a pharmacist or pharmacy intern, engaging in unprofessional conduct as specified​

40.24 in the board's rules. In the case of a pharmacy technician, engaging in conduct specified in​

40.25 board rules that would be unprofessional if it were engaged in by a pharmacist or pharmacist​

40.26 intern or performing duties specifically reserved for pharmacists under this chapter or the​

40.27 rules of the board;​

40.28 (13) for a pharmacy, operation of the pharmacy without a pharmacist present and on​

40.29 duty except as allowed by a variance approved by the board;​

40.30 (14) for a pharmacist, the inability to practice pharmacy with reasonable skill and safety​

40.31 to patients by reason of illness, use of alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or any other type​

40.32 of material or as a result of any mental or physical condition, including deterioration through​

40.33 the aging process or loss of motor skills. In the case of registered pharmacy technicians,​

40.34 pharmacist interns, or controlled substance researchers, the inability to carry out duties​
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41.1 allowed under this chapter or the rules of the board with reasonable skill and safety to​

41.2 patients by reason of illness, use of alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or any other type​

41.3 of material or as a result of any mental or physical condition, including deterioration through​

41.4 the aging process or loss of motor skills;​

41.5 (15) for a pharmacist, pharmacy, pharmacist intern, pharmacy technician, medical gas​

41.6 dispenser, or controlled substance researcher, revealing a privileged communication from​

41.7 or relating to a patient except when otherwise required or permitted by law;​

41.8 (16) for a pharmacist or pharmacy, improper management of patient records, including​

41.9 failure to maintain adequate patient records, to comply with a patient's request made pursuant​

41.10 to sections 144.291 to 144.298, or to furnish a patient record or report required by law;​

41.11 (17) fee splitting, including without limitation:​

41.12 (i) paying, offering to pay, receiving, or agreeing to receive, a commission, rebate,​

41.13 kickback, or other form of remuneration, directly or indirectly, for the referral of patients;​

41.14 (ii) referring a patient to any health care provider as defined in sections 144.291 to​

41.15 144.298 in which the licensee or registrant has a financial or economic interest as defined​

41.16 in section 144.6521, subdivision 3, unless the licensee or registrant has disclosed the​

41.17 licensee's or registrant's financial or economic interest in accordance with section 144.6521;​

41.18 and​

41.19 (iii) any arrangement through which a pharmacy, in which the prescribing practitioner​

41.20 does not have a significant ownership interest, fills a prescription drug order and the​

41.21 prescribing practitioner is involved in any manner, directly or indirectly, in setting the price​

41.22 for the filled prescription that is charged to the patient, the patient's insurer or pharmacy​

41.23 benefit manager, or other person paying for the prescription or, in the case of veterinary​

41.24 patients, the price for the filled prescription that is charged to the client or other person​

41.25 paying for the prescription, except that a veterinarian and a pharmacy may enter into such​

41.26 an arrangement provided that the client or other person paying for the prescription is notified,​

41.27 in writing and with each prescription dispensed, about the arrangement, unless such​

41.28 arrangement involves pharmacy services provided for livestock, poultry, and agricultural​

41.29 production systems, in which case client notification would not be required;​

41.30 (18) engaging in abusive or fraudulent billing practices, including violations of the​

41.31 federal Medicare and Medicaid laws or state medical assistance laws or rules;​
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42.1 (19) engaging in conduct with a patient that is sexual or may reasonably be interpreted​

42.2 by the patient as sexual, or in any verbal behavior that is seductive or sexually demeaning​

42.3 to a patient;​

42.4 (20) failure to make reports as required by section 151.072 or to cooperate with an​

42.5 investigation of the board as required by section 151.074;​

42.6 (21) knowingly providing false or misleading information that is directly related to the​

42.7 care of a patient unless done for an accepted therapeutic purpose such as the dispensing and​

42.8 administration of a placebo;​

42.9 (22) aiding suicide or aiding attempted suicide in violation of section 609.215 as​

42.10 established by any of the following:​

42.11 (i) a copy of the record of criminal conviction or plea of guilty for a felony in violation​

42.12 of section 609.215, subdivision 1 or 2;​

42.13 (ii) a copy of the record of a judgment of contempt of court for violating an injunction​

42.14 issued under section 609.215, subdivision 4;​

42.15 (iii) a copy of the record of a judgment assessing damages under section 609.215,​

42.16 subdivision 5; or​

42.17 (iv) a finding by the board that the person violated section 609.215, subdivision 1 or 2.​

42.18 The board must investigate any complaint of a violation of section 609.215, subdivision 1​

42.19 or 2;​

42.20 (23) for a pharmacist, practice of pharmacy under a lapsed or nonrenewed license. For​

42.21 a pharmacist intern, pharmacy technician, or controlled substance researcher, performing​

42.22 duties permitted to such individuals by this chapter or the rules of the board under a lapsed​

42.23 or nonrenewed registration. For a facility required to be licensed under this chapter, operation​

42.24 of the facility under a lapsed or nonrenewed license or registration; and​

42.25 (24) for a pharmacist, pharmacist intern, or pharmacy technician, termination or discharge​

42.26 from the health professionals services program for reasons other than the satisfactory​

42.27 completion of the program.; and​

42.28 (25) for a manufacturer, a violation of section 62J.842 or section 62J.845.​

42.29 Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0631, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

42.30 Subdivision 1. Cost-sharing. (a) Except as provided in subdivision 2, the medical​

42.31 assistance benefit plan shall include the following cost-sharing for all recipients, effective​

42.32 for services provided on or after September 1, 2011:​
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43.1 (1) $3 per nonpreventive visit, except as provided in paragraph (b). For purposes of this​

43.2 subdivision, a visit means an episode of service which is required because of a recipient's​

43.3 symptoms, diagnosis, or established illness, and which is delivered in an ambulatory setting​

43.4 by a physician or physician assistant, chiropractor, podiatrist, nurse midwife, advanced​

43.5 practice nurse, audiologist, optician, or optometrist;​

43.6 (2) $3.50 for nonemergency visits to a hospital-based emergency room, except that this​

43.7 co-payment shall be increased to $20 upon federal approval;​

43.8 (3) $3 per brand-name drug prescription, $1 per generic drug prescription, and $1 per​

43.9 prescription for a brand-name multisource drug listed in preferred status on the preferred​

43.10 drug list, subject to a $12 per month maximum for prescription drug co-payments. No​

43.11 co-payments shall apply to antipsychotic drugs when used for the treatment of mental illness;​

43.12 (4) a family deductible equal to $2.75 per month per family and adjusted annually by​

43.13 the percentage increase in the medical care component of the CPI-U for the period of​

43.14 September to September of the preceding calendar year, rounded to the next higher five-cent​

43.15 increment; and​

43.16 (5) total monthly cost-sharing must not exceed five percent of family income. For​

43.17 purposes of this paragraph, family income is the total earned and unearned income of the​

43.18 individual and the individual's spouse, if the spouse is enrolled in medical assistance and​

43.19 also subject to the five percent limit on cost-sharing. This paragraph does not apply to​

43.20 premiums charged to individuals described under section 256B.057, subdivision 9.; and​

43.21 (6) cost-sharing for prescription drugs and related medical supplies to treat chronic​

43.22 disease must comply with the requirements of section 62Q.481.​

43.23 (b) Recipients of medical assistance are responsible for all co-payments and deductibles​

43.24 in this subdivision.​

43.25 (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), the commissioner, through the contracting process​

43.26 under sections 256B.69 and 256B.692, may allow managed care plans and county-based​

43.27 purchasing plans to waive the family deductible under paragraph (a), clause (4). The value​

43.28 of the family deductible shall not be included in the capitation payment to managed care​

43.29 plans and county-based purchasing plans. Managed care plans and county-based purchasing​

43.30 plans shall certify annually to the commissioner the dollar value of the family deductible.​

43.31 (d) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), the commissioner may waive the collection of the​

43.32 family deductible described under paragraph (a), clause (4), from individuals and allow​

43.33 long-term care and waivered service providers to assume responsibility for payment.​
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44.1 (e) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), the commissioner, through the contracting process​

44.2 under section 256B.0756 shall allow the pilot program in Hennepin County to waive​

44.3 co-payments. The value of the co-payments shall not be included in the capitation payment​

44.4 amount to the integrated health care delivery networks under the pilot program.​

44.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.​

44.6 Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256L.03, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

44.7 Subd. 5. Cost-sharing. (a) Co-payments, coinsurance, and deductibles do not apply to​

44.8 children under the age of 21 and to American Indians as defined in Code of Federal​

44.9 Regulations, title 42, section 600.5.​

44.10 (b) The commissioner shall adjust co-payments, coinsurance, and deductibles for covered​

44.11 services in a manner sufficient to maintain the actuarial value of the benefit to 94 percent.​

44.12 The cost-sharing changes described in this paragraph do not apply to eligible recipients or​

44.13 services exempt from cost-sharing under state law. The cost-sharing changes described in​

44.14 this paragraph shall not be implemented prior to January 1, 2016.​

44.15 (c) The cost-sharing changes authorized under paragraph (b) must satisfy the requirements​

44.16 for cost-sharing under the Basic Health Program as set forth in Code of Federal Regulations,​

44.17 title 42, sections 600.510 and 600.520.​

44.18 (d) Cost-sharing for prescription drugs and related medical supplies to treat chronic​

44.19 disease must comply with the requirements of section 62Q.481.​

44.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.​

44.21 Sec. 39. EVALUATION OF EXISTING STATUTORY HEALTH BENEFIT​

44.22 MANDATES.​

44.23 (a) The commissioner of commerce must evaluate existing Minnesota statutory provisions​

44.24 that would constitute a state-required benefit included in Minnesota's EHB-benchmark plan,​

44.25 as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, section 156.20, if the statutory provision​

44.26 was offered as a legislative proposal on the date of enactment of this act.​

44.27 (b) The commissioner must conduct the evaluation using the process established under​

44.28 Minnesota Statutes, section 62J.26, subdivision 2.​

44.29 (c) The commissioner may prioritize and determine the order in which statutory provisions​

44.30 are evaluated under this section, provided that at least one statutory provision is evaluated​

44.31 each year.​
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45.1 (d) This section expires January 1, 2034.​

45.2 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

45.3 ARTICLE 3​

45.4 FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS​

45.5 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 46.131, subdivision 11, is amended to read:​

45.6 Subd. 11. Financial institutions account; appropriation. (a) The financial institutions​

45.7 account is created as a separate account in the special revenue fund. Earnings, including​

45.8 interest, dividends, and any other earnings arising from account assets, must be credited to​

45.9 the account.​

45.10 (b) The account consists of funds received from assessments under subdivision 7,​

45.11 examination fees under subdivision 8, and funds received pursuant to subdivision 10 and​

45.12 the following provisions: sections 46.04; 46.041; 46.048, subdivision 1; 47.101; 47.54,​

45.13 subdivision 1; 47.60, subdivision 3; 47.62, subdivision 4; 48.61, subdivision 7, paragraph​

45.14 (b); 49.36, subdivision 1; 52.203; 53B.09; 53B.11, subdivision 1; 53B.38; 53B.41; 53B.43;​

45.15 53C.02; 56.02; 58.10; 58A.045, subdivision 2; 59A.03; 216C.437, subdivision 12; 332A.04;​

45.16 and 332B.04.​

45.17 (c) Funds in the account are annually appropriated to the commissioner of commerce​

45.18 for activities under this section.​

45.19 Sec. 2. [53B.28] DEFINITIONS.​

45.20 Subdivision 1. Terms. For the purposes of this chapter, the terms defined in this section​

45.21 have the meanings given them.​

45.22 Subd. 2. Acting in concert. "Acting in concert" means persons knowingly acting together​

45.23 with a common goal of jointly acquiring control of a licensee, whether or not pursuant to​

45.24 an express agreement.​

45.25 Subd. 3. Authorized delegate. "Authorized delegate" means a person a licensee​

45.26 designates to engage in money transmission on behalf of the licensee.​

45.27 Subd. 4. Average daily money transmission liability. "Average daily money​

45.28 transmission liability" means the amount of the licensee's outstanding money transmission​

45.29 obligations in Minnesota at the end of each day in a given period of time, added together,​

45.30 and divided by the total number of days in the given period of time. For purposes of​

45.31 calculating average daily money transmission liability under this chapter for any licensee​
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46.1 required to do so, the given period of time shall be the quarters ending March 31, June 30,​

46.2 September 30, and December 31.​

46.3 Subd. 5. Bank Secrecy Act. "Bank Secrecy Act" means the Bank Secrecy Act under​

46.4 United States Code, title 31, section 5311, et seq., and the Bank Secrecy Act's implementing​

46.5 regulations, as amended and recodified from time to time.​

46.6 Subd. 6. Closed loop stored value. "Closed loop stored value" means stored value that​

46.7 is redeemable by the issuer only for a good or service provided by the issuer, the issuer's​

46.8 affiliate, the issuer's franchisees, or an affiliate of the issuer's franchisees, except to the​

46.9 extent required by applicable law to be redeemable in cash for the good or service's cash​

46.10 value.​

46.11 Subd. 7. Control. "Control" means:​

46.12 (1) the power to vote, directly or indirectly, at least 25 percent of the outstanding voting​

46.13 shares or voting interests of a licensee or person in control of a licensee;​

46.14 (2) the power to elect or appoint a majority of key individuals or executive officers,​

46.15 managers, directors, trustees, or other persons exercising managerial authority of a person​

46.16 in control of a licensee; or​

46.17 (3) the power to exercise, directly or indirectly, a controlling influence over the​

46.18 management or policies of a licensee or person in control of a licensee.​

46.19 Subd. 8. Eligible rating. "Eligible rating" means a credit rating of any of the three highest​

46.20 rating categories provided by an eligible rating service, whereby each category may include​

46.21 rating category modifiers such as "plus" or "minus" or the equivalent for any other eligible​

46.22 rating service. Long-term credit ratings are deemed eligible if the rating is equal to A- or​

46.23 higher or the equivalent from any other eligible rating service. Short-term credit ratings are​

46.24 deemed eligible if the rating is equal to or higher than A-2 or SP-2 by S&P, or the equivalent​

46.25 from any other eligible rating service. In the event that ratings differ among eligible rating​

46.26 services, the highest rating shall apply when determining whether a security bears an eligible​

46.27 rating.​

46.28 Subd. 9. Eligible rating service. "Eligible rating service" means any Nationally​

46.29 Recognized Statistical Rating Organization (NRSRO), as defined by the United States​

46.30 Securities and Exchange Commission and any other organization designated by the​

46.31 commissioner by rule or order.​

46.32 Subd. 10. Federally insured depository financial institution. "Federally insured​

46.33 depository financial institution" means a bank, credit union, savings and loan association,​
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47.1 trust company, savings association, savings bank, industrial bank, or industrial loan company​

47.2 organized under the laws of the United States or any state of the United States, when the​

47.3 bank, credit union, savings and loan association, trust company, savings association, savings​

47.4 bank, industrial bank, or industrial loan company has federally insured deposits.​

47.5 Subd. 11. In Minnesota. "In Minnesota" means at a physical location within the state​

47.6 of Minnesota for a transaction requested in person. For a transaction requested electronically​

47.7 or by telephone, the provider of money transmission may determine if the person requesting​

47.8 the transaction is in Minnesota by relying on other information provided by the person​

47.9 regarding the location of the individual's residential address or a business entity's principal​

47.10 place of business or other physical address location, and any records associated with the​

47.11 person that the provider of money transmission may have that indicate the location, including​

47.12 but not limited to an address associated with an account.​

47.13 Subd. 12. Individual. "Individual" means a natural person.​

47.14 Subd. 13. Key individual. "Key individual" means any individual ultimately responsible​

47.15 for establishing or directing policies and procedures of the licensee, including but not limited​

47.16 to as an executive officer, manager, director, or trustee.​

47.17 Subd. 14. Licensee. "Licensee" means a person licensed under this chapter.​

47.18 Subd. 15. Material litigation. "Material litigation" means litigation, that according to​

47.19 United States generally accepted accounting principles, is significant to a person's financial​

47.20 health and would be required to be disclosed in the person's annual audited financial​

47.21 statements, report to shareholders, or similar records.​

47.22 Subd. 16. Money. "Money" means a medium of exchange that is authorized or adopted​

47.23 by the United States or a foreign government. Money includes a monetary unit of account​

47.24 established by an intergovernmental organization or by agreement between two or more​

47.25 governments.​

47.26 Subd. 17. Monetary value. "Monetary value" means a medium of exchange, whether​

47.27 or not redeemable in money.​

47.28 Subd. 18. Money transmission. (a) "Money transmission" means:​

47.29 (1) selling or issuing payment instruments to a person located in this state;​

47.30 (2) selling or issuing stored value to a person located in this state; or​

47.31 (3) receiving money for transmission from a person located in this state.​
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48.1 (b) Money includes payroll processing services. Money does not include the provision​

48.2 solely of online or telecommunications services or network access.​

48.3 Subd. 19. Money services business accredited state or MSB accredited state. "Money​

48.4 services businesses accredited state" or "MSB accredited state" means a state agency that​

48.5 is accredited by the Conference of State Bank Supervisors and Money Transmitter Regulators​

48.6 Association for money transmission licensing and supervision.​

48.7 Subd. 20. Multistate licensing process. "Multistate licensing process" means any​

48.8 agreement entered into by and among state regulators relating to coordinated processing of​

48.9 applications for money transmission licenses, applications for the acquisition of control of​

48.10 a licensee, control determinations, or notice and information requirements for a change of​

48.11 key individuals.​

48.12 Subd. 21. NMLS. "NMLS" means the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and​

48.13 Registry developed by the Conference of State Bank Supervisors and the American​

48.14 Association of Residential Mortgage Regulators and owned and operated by the State​

48.15 Regulatory Registry, LLC, or any successor or affiliated entity, for the licensing and​

48.16 registration of persons in financial services industries.​

48.17 Subd. 22. Outstanding money transmission obligations. (a) "Outstanding money​

48.18 transmission obligations" must be established and extinguished in accordance with applicable​

48.19 state law and means:​

48.20 (1) any payment instrument or stored value issued or sold by the licensee to a person​

48.21 located in the United States or reported as sold by an authorized delegate of the licensee to​

48.22 a person that is located in the United States that has not yet been paid or refunded by or for​

48.23 the licensee, or escheated in accordance with applicable abandoned property laws; or​

48.24 (2) any money received for transmission by the licensee or an authorized delegate in the​

48.25 United States from a person located in the United States that has not been received by the​

48.26 payee or refunded to the sender, or escheated in accordance with applicable abandoned​

48.27 property laws.​

48.28 (b) For purposes of this subdivision, "in the United States" includes, to the extent​

48.29 applicable, a person in any state, territory, or possession of the United States; the District​

48.30 of Columbia; the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico; or a U.S. military installation that is​

48.31 located in a foreign country.​

48.32 Subd. 23. Passive investor. "Passive investor" means a person that:​
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49.1 (1) does not have the power to elect a majority of key individuals or executive officers,​

49.2 managers, directors, trustees, or other persons exercising managerial authority of a person​

49.3 in control of a licensee;​

49.4 (2) is not employed by and does not have any managerial duties of the licensee or person​

49.5 in control of a licensee;​

49.6 (3) does not have the power to exercise, directly or indirectly, a controlling influence​

49.7 over the management or policies of a licensee or person in control of a licensee; and​

49.8 (4) attests to clauses (1), (2), and (3), in a form and in a medium prescribed by the​

49.9 commissioner, or commits to the passivity characteristics under clauses (1), (2), and (3) in​

49.10 a written document.​

49.11 Subd. 24. Payment instrument. (a) "Payment instrument" means a written or electronic​

49.12 check, draft, money order, traveler's check, or other written or electronic instrument for the​

49.13 transmission or payment of money or monetary value, whether or not negotiable.​

49.14 (b) Payment instrument does not include stored value or any instrument that is: (1)​

49.15 redeemable by the issuer only for goods or services provided by the issuer, the issuer's​

49.16 affiliate, the issuer's franchisees, or an affiliate of the issuer's franchisees, except to the​

49.17 extent required by applicable law to be redeemable in cash for its cash value; or (2) not sold​

49.18 to the public but issued and distributed as part of a loyalty, rewards, or promotional program.​

49.19 Subd. 25. Payroll processing services. "Payroll processing services" means receiving​

49.20 money for transmission pursuant to a contract with a person to deliver wages or salaries,​

49.21 make payment of payroll taxes to state and federal agencies, make payments relating to​

49.22 employee benefit plans, or make distributions of other authorized deductions from wages​

49.23 or salaries. The term payroll processing services does not include an employer performing​

49.24 payroll processing services on the employer's own behalf or on behalf of the employer's​

49.25 affiliate, or a professional employment organization subject to regulation under other​

49.26 applicable state law.​

49.27 Subd. 26. Person. "Person" means any individual, general partnership, limited partnership,​

49.28 limited liability company, corporation, trust, association, joint stock corporation, or other​

49.29 corporate entity identified by the commissioner.​

49.30 Subd. 27. Receiving money for transmission or money received for​

49.31 transmission. "Receiving money for transmission" or "money received for transmission"​

49.32 means receiving money or monetary value in the United States for transmission within or​

49.33 outside the United States by electronic or other means.​
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50.1 Subd. 28. Stored value. (a) "Stored value" means monetary value representing a claim​

50.2 against the issuer evidenced by an electronic or digital record, and that is intended and​

50.3 accepted for use as a means of redemption for money or monetary value, or payment for​

50.4 goods or services. Stored value includes but is not limited to prepaid access, as defined​

50.5 under Code of Federal Regulations, title 31, part 1010.100, as amended or recodified from​

50.6 time to time.​

50.7 (b) Notwithstanding this subdivision, stored value does not include: (1) a payment​

50.8 instrument or closed loop stored value; or (2) stored value not sold to the public but issued​

50.9 and distributed as part of a loyalty, rewards, or promotional program.​

50.10 Subd. 29. Tangible net worth. "Tangible net worth" means the aggregate assets of a​

50.11 licensee excluding all intangible assets, less liabilities, as determined in accordance with​

50.12 United States generally accepted accounting principles.​

50.13 Sec. 3. [53B.29] EXEMPTIONS.​

50.14 This chapter does not apply to:​

50.15 (1) an operator of a payment system, to the extent the operator of a payment system​

50.16 provides processing, clearing, or settlement services between or among persons exempted​

50.17 by this section or licensees in connection with wire transfers, credit card transactions, debit​

50.18 card transactions, stored-value transactions, automated clearing house transfers, or similar​

50.19 funds transfers;​

50.20 (2) a person appointed as an agent of a payee to collect and process a payment from a​

50.21 payor to the payee for goods or services, other than money transmission itself, provided to​

50.22 the payor by the payee, provided that:​

50.23 (i) there exists a written agreement between the payee and the agent directing the agent​

50.24 to collect and process payments from payors on the payee's behalf;​

50.25 (ii) the payee holds the agent out to the public as accepting payments for goods or services​

50.26 on the payee's behalf; and​

50.27 (iii) payment for the goods and services is treated as received by the payee upon receipt​

50.28 by the agent so that the payor's obligation is extinguished and there is no risk of loss to the​

50.29 payor if the agent fails to remit the funds to the payee;​

50.30 (3) a person that acts as an intermediary by processing payments between an entity that​

50.31 has directly incurred an outstanding money transmission obligation to a sender, and the​

50.32 sender's designated recipient, provided that the entity:​
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51.1 (i) is properly licensed or exempt from licensing requirements under this chapter;​

51.2 (ii) provides a receipt, electronic record, or other written confirmation to the sender​

51.3 identifying the entity as the provider of money transmission in the transaction; and​

51.4 (iii) bears sole responsibility to satisfy the outstanding money transmission obligation​

51.5 to the sender, including the obligation to make the sender whole in connection with any​

51.6 failure to transmit the funds to the sender's designated recipient;​

51.7 (4) the United States; a department, agency, or instrumentality of the United States; or​

51.8 an agent of the United States;​

51.9 (5) money transmission by the United States Postal Service or by an agent of the United​

51.10 States Postal Service;​

51.11 (6) a state; county; city; or any other governmental agency, governmental subdivision,​

51.12 or instrumentality of a state; or the state's agent;​

51.13 (7) a federally insured depository financial institution; bank holding company; office of​

51.14 an international banking corporation; foreign bank that establishes a federal branch pursuant​

51.15 to the International Bank Act, United States Code, title 12, section 3102, as amended or​

51.16 recodified from time to time; corporation organized pursuant to the Bank Service Corporation​

51.17 Act, United States Code, title 12, sections 1861 to 1867, as amended or recodified from​

51.18 time to time; or corporation organized under the Edge Act, United States Code, title 12,​

51.19 sections 611 to 633, as amended or recodified from time to time;​

51.20 (8) electronic funds transfer of governmental benefits for a federal, state, county, or​

51.21 governmental agency by a contractor on behalf of the United States or a department, agency,​

51.22 or instrumentality thereof, or on behalf of a state or governmental subdivision, agency, or​

51.23 instrumentality thereof;​

51.24 (9) a board of trade designated as a contract market under the federal Commodity​

51.25 Exchange Act, United States Code, title 7, sections 1 to 25, as amended or recodified from​

51.26 time to time; or a person that in the ordinary course of business provides clearance and​

51.27 settlement services for a board of trade to the extent of its operation as or for such a board;​

51.28 (10) a registered futures commission merchant under the federal commodities laws, to​

51.29 the extent of the registered futures commission merchant's operation as a merchant;​

51.30 (11) a person registered as a securities broker-dealer under federal or state securities​

51.31 laws, to the extent of the person's operation as a securities broker-dealer;​
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52.1 (12) an individual employed by a licensee, authorized delegate, or any person exempted​

52.2 from the licensing requirements under this chapter when acting within the scope of​

52.3 employment and under the supervision of the licensee, authorized delegate, or exempted​

52.4 person as an employee and not as an independent contractor;​

52.5 (13) a person expressly appointed as a third-party service provider to or agent of an​

52.6 entity exempt under clause (7), solely to the extent that:​

52.7 (i) the service provider or agent is engaging in money transmission on behalf of and​

52.8 pursuant to a written agreement with the exempt entity that sets forth the specific functions​

52.9 that the service provider or agent is to perform; and​

52.10 (ii) the exempt entity assumes all risk of loss and all legal responsibility for satisfying​

52.11 the outstanding money transmission obligations owed to purchasers and holders of the​

52.12 outstanding money transmission obligations upon receipt of the purchaser's or holder's​

52.13 money or monetary value by the service provider or agent; or​

52.14 (14) a person exempt by regulation or order if the commissioner finds that (i) the​

52.15 exemption is in the public interest, and (ii) the regulation of the person is not necessary for​

52.16 the purposes of this chapter.​

52.17 Sec. 4. [53B.30] AUTHORITY TO REQUIRE DEMONSTRATION OF​

52.18 EXEMPTION.​

52.19 The commissioner may require any person that claims to be exempt from licensing under​

52.20 section 53B.29 to provide to the commissioner information and documentation that​

52.21 demonstrates the person qualifies for any claimed exemption.​

52.22 Sec. 5. [53B.31] IMPLEMENTATION.​

52.23 Subdivision 1. General authority. In order to carry out the purposes of this chapter, the​

52.24 commissioner may, subject to section 53B.32, paragraphs (a) and (b):​

52.25 (1) enter into agreements or relationships with other government officials or federal and​

52.26 state regulatory agencies and regulatory associations in order to (i) improve efficiencies​

52.27 and reduce regulatory burden by standardizing methods or procedures, and (ii) share​

52.28 resources, records, or related information obtained under this chapter;​

52.29 (2) use, hire, contract, or employ analytical systems, methods, or software to examine​

52.30 or investigate any person subject to this chapter;​
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53.1 (3) accept, from other state or federal government agencies or officials, licensing,​

53.2 examination, or investigation reports made by such other state or federal government agencies​

53.3 or officials; and​

53.4 (4) accept audit reports made by an independent certified public accountant or other​

53.5 qualified third-party auditor for an applicant or licensee and incorporate the audit report in​

53.6 any report of examination or investigation.​

53.7 Subd. 2. Administrative authority. The commissioner is granted broad administrative​

53.8 authority to: (1) administer, interpret, and enforce this chapter; (2) adopt regulations to​

53.9 implement this chapter; and (3) recover the costs incurred to administer and enforce this​

53.10 chapter by imposing and collecting proportionate and equitable fees and costs associated​

53.11 with applications, examinations, investigations, and other actions required to achieve the​

53.12 purpose of this chapter.​

53.13 Sec. 6. [53B.32] CONFIDENTIALITY.​

53.14 (a) All information or reports obtained by the commissioner contained in or related to​

53.15 an examination that is prepared by, on behalf of, or for the use of the commissioner are​

53.16 confidential and are not subject to disclosure under section 46.07.​

53.17 (b) The commissioner may disclose information not otherwise subject to disclosure​

53.18 under paragraph (a) to representatives of state or federal agencies pursuant to section 53B.31,​

53.19 subdivision 1.​

53.20 (c) This section does not prohibit the commissioner from disclosing to the public a list​

53.21 of all licensees or the aggregated financial or transactional data concerning those licensees.​

53.22 Sec. 7. [53B.33] SUPERVISION.​

53.23 (a) The commissioner may conduct an examination or investigation of a licensee or​

53.24 authorized delegate or otherwise take independent action authorized by this chapter, or by​

53.25 a rule adopted or order issued under this chapter, as reasonably necessary or appropriate to​

53.26 administer and enforce this chapter, rules implementing this chapter, and other applicable​

53.27 law, including the Bank Secrecy Act and the USA PATRIOT Act, Public Law 107-56. The​

53.28 commissioner may:​

53.29 (1) conduct an examination either on site or off site as the commissioner may reasonably​

53.30 require;​
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54.1 (2) conduct an examination in conjunction with an examination conducted by​

54.2 representatives of other state agencies or agencies of another state or of the federal​

54.3 government;​

54.4 (3) accept the examination report of another state agency or an agency of another state​

54.5 or of the federal government, or a report prepared by an independent accounting firm, which​

54.6 on being accepted is considered for all purposes as an official report of the commissioner;​

54.7 and​

54.8 (4) summon and examine under oath a key individual or employee of a licensee or​

54.9 authorized delegate and require the person to produce records regarding any matter related​

54.10 to the condition and business of the licensee or authorized delegate.​

54.11 (b) A licensee or authorized delegate must provide, and the commissioner has full and​

54.12 complete access to, all records the commissioner may reasonably require to conduct a​

54.13 complete examination. The records must be provided at the location and in the format​

54.14 specified by the commissioner. The commissioner may use multistate record production​

54.15 standards and examination procedures when the standards reasonably achieve the​

54.16 requirements of this paragraph.​

54.17 (c) Unless otherwise directed by the commissioner, a licensee must pay all costs​

54.18 reasonably incurred in connection with an examination of the licensee or the licensee's​

54.19 authorized delegates.​

54.20 Sec. 8. [53B.34] NETWORKED SUPERVISION.​

54.21 (a) To efficiently and effectively administer and enforce this chapter and to minimize​

54.22 regulatory burden, the commissioner is authorized to participate in multistate supervisory​

54.23 processes established between states and coordinated through the Conference of State Bank​

54.24 Supervisors, the Money Transmitter Regulators Association, and the affiliates and successors​

54.25 of the Conference of State Bank Supervisors and the Money Transmitter Regulators​

54.26 Association for all licensees that hold licenses in this state and other states. As a participant​

54.27 in multistate supervision, the commissioner may:​

54.28 (1) cooperate, coordinate, and share information with other state and federal regulators​

54.29 in accordance with section 53B.32;​

54.30 (2) enter into written cooperation, coordination, or information-sharing contracts or​

54.31 agreements with organizations the membership of which is made up of state or federal​

54.32 governmental agencies; and​
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55.1 (3) cooperate, coordinate, and share information with organizations the membership of​

55.2 which is made up of state or federal governmental agencies, provided that the organizations​

55.3 agree in writing to maintain the confidentiality and security of the shared information in​

55.4 accordance with section 53B.32.​

55.5 (b) The commissioner is prohibited from waiving, and nothing in this section constitutes​

55.6 a waiver of, the commissioner's authority to conduct an examination or investigation or​

55.7 otherwise take independent action authorized by this chapter, or a rule adopted or order​

55.8 issued under this chapter, to enforce compliance with applicable state or federal law.​

55.9 (c) A joint examination or investigation, or acceptance of an examination or investigation​

55.10 report, does not waive an examination fee provided for in this chapter.​

55.11 Sec. 9. [53B.35] RELATIONSHIP TO FEDERAL LAW.​

55.12 (a) In the event state money transmission jurisdiction is conditioned on a federal law,​

55.13 any inconsistencies between a provision of this chapter and the federal law governing money​

55.14 transmission is governed by the applicable federal law to the extent of the inconsistency.​

55.15 (b) In the event of any inconsistencies between this chapter and a federal law that governs​

55.16 pursuant to paragraph (a), the commissioner may provide interpretive guidance that:​

55.17 (1) identifies the inconsistency; and​

55.18 (2) identifies the appropriate means of compliance with federal law.​

55.19 Sec. 10. [53B.36] LICENSE REQUIRED.​

55.20 (a) A person is prohibited from engaging in the business of money transmission, or​

55.21 advertising, soliciting, or representing that the person provides money transmission, unless​

55.22 the person is licensed under this chapter.​

55.23 (b) Paragraph (a) does not apply to:​

55.24 (1) a person that is an authorized delegate of a person licensed under this chapter acting​

55.25 within the scope of authority conferred by a written contract with the licensee; or​

55.26 (2) a person that is exempt under section 53B.29 and does not engage in money​

55.27 transmission outside the scope of the exemption.​

55.28 (c) A license issued under section 53B.40 is not transferable or assignable.​
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56.1 Sec. 11. [53B.37] CONSISTENT STATE LICENSING.​

56.2 (a) To establish consistent licensing between Minnesota and other states, the​

56.3 commissioner is authorized to:​

56.4 (1) implement all licensing provisions of this chapter in a manner that is consistent with​

56.5 (i) other states that have adopted substantially similar licensing requirements, or (ii) multistate​

56.6 licensing processes; and​

56.7 (2) participate in nationwide protocols for licensing cooperation and coordination among​

56.8 state regulators provided that the protocols are consistent with this chapter.​

56.9 (b) In order to fulfill the purposes of this chapter, the commissioner is authorized to​

56.10 establish relationships or contracts with NMLS or other entities designated by NMLS to​

56.11 enable the commissioner to:​

56.12 (1) collect and maintain records;​

56.13 (2) coordinate multistate licensing processes and supervision processes;​

56.14 (3) process fees; and​

56.15 (4) facilitate communication between the commissioner and licensees or other persons​

56.16 subject to this chapter.​

56.17 (c) The commissioner is authorized to use NMLS for all aspects of licensing in accordance​

56.18 with this chapter, including but not limited to license applications, applications for​

56.19 acquisitions of control, surety bonds, reporting, criminal history background checks, credit​

56.20 checks, fee processing, and examinations.​

56.21 (d) The commissioner is authorized to use NMLS forms, processes, and functions in​

56.22 accordance with this chapter. If NMLS does not provide functionality, forms, or processes​

56.23 for a requirement under this chapter, the commissioner is authorized to implement the​

56.24 requirements in a manner that facilitates uniformity with respect to licensing, supervision,​

56.25 reporting, and regulation of licensees which are licensed in multiple jurisdictions.​

56.26 (e) For the purpose of participating in the NMLS registry, the commissioner is authorized​

56.27 to, by rule or order: (1) waive or modify, in whole or in part, any or all of the requirements;​

56.28 and (2) establish new requirements as reasonably necessary to participate in the NMLS​

56.29 registry.​
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57.1 Sec. 12. [53B.38] APPLICATION FOR LICENSE.​

57.2 (a) An applicant for a license must apply in a form and in a medium as prescribed by​

57.3 the commissioner. The application must state or contain, as applicable:​

57.4 (1) the legal name and residential and business addresses of the applicant and any​

57.5 fictitious or trade name used by the applicant in conducting its business;​

57.6 (2) a list of any criminal convictions of the applicant and any material litigation in which​

57.7 the applicant has been involved in the ten-year period next preceding the submission of the​

57.8 application;​

57.9 (3) a description of any money transmission previously provided by the applicant and​

57.10 the money transmission that the applicant seeks to provide in this state;​

57.11 (4) a list of the applicant's proposed authorized delegates and the locations in this state​

57.12 where the applicant and its authorized delegates propose to engage in money transmission;​

57.13 (5) a list of other states in which the applicant is licensed to engage in money transmission​

57.14 and any license revocations, suspensions, or other disciplinary action taken against the​

57.15 applicant in another state;​

57.16 (6) information concerning any bankruptcy or receivership proceedings affecting the​

57.17 licensee or a person in control of a licensee;​

57.18 (7) a sample form of contract for authorized delegates, if applicable;​

57.19 (8) a sample form of payment instrument or stored value, as applicable;​

57.20 (9) the name and address of any federally insured depository financial institution through​

57.21 which the applicant plans to conduct money transmission; and​

57.22 (10) any other information the commissioner or NMLS reasonably requires with respect​

57.23 to the applicant.​

57.24 (b) If an applicant is a corporation, limited liability company, partnership, or other legal​

57.25 entity, the applicant must also provide:​

57.26 (1) the date of the applicant's incorporation or formation and state or country of​

57.27 incorporation or formation;​

57.28 (2) if applicable, a certificate of good standing from the state or country in which the​

57.29 applicant is incorporated or formed;​
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58.1 (3) a brief description of the structure or organization of the applicant, including any​

58.2 parents or subsidiaries of the applicant, and whether any parents or subsidiaries are publicly​

58.3 traded;​

58.4 (4) the legal name, any fictitious or trade name, all business and residential addresses,​

58.5 and the employment, as applicable, in the ten-year period next preceding the submission of​

58.6 the application of each key individual and person in control of the applicant;​

58.7 (5) a list of any criminal convictions and material litigation in which a person in control​

58.8 of the applicant that is not an individual has been involved in the ten-year period preceding​

58.9 the submission of the application;​

58.10 (6) a copy of audited financial statements of the applicant for the most recent fiscal year​

58.11 and for the two-year period next preceding the submission of the application or, if the​

58.12 commissioner deems acceptable, certified unaudited financial statements for the most recent​

58.13 fiscal year or other period acceptable to the commissioner;​

58.14 (7) a certified copy of unaudited financial statements of the applicant for the most recent​

58.15 fiscal quarter;​

58.16 (8) if the applicant is a publicly traded corporation, a copy of the most recent report filed​

58.17 with the United States Securities and Exchange Commission under section 13 of the federal​

58.18 Securities Exchange Act of 1934, United States Code, title 15, section 78m, as amended or​

58.19 recodified from time to time;​

58.20 (9) if the applicant is a wholly owned subsidiary of:​

58.21 (i) a corporation publicly traded in the United States, a copy of audited financial​

58.22 statements for the parent corporation for the most recent fiscal year or a copy of the parent​

58.23 corporation's most recent report filed under section 13 of the Securities Exchange Act of​

58.24 1934, United States Code, title 15, section 78m, as amended or recodified from time to time;​

58.25 or​

58.26 (ii) a corporation publicly traded outside the United States, a copy of similar​

58.27 documentation filed with the regulator of the parent corporation's domicile outside the​

58.28 United States;​

58.29 (10) the name and address of the applicant's registered agent in this state; and​

58.30 (11) any other information the commissioner reasonably requires with respect to the​

58.31 applicant.​
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59.1 (c) A nonrefundable application fee of $4,000 must accompany an application for a​

59.2 license under this section.​

59.3 (d) The commissioner may: (1) waive one or more requirements of paragraphs (a) and​

59.4 (b); or (2) permit an applicant to submit other information in lieu of the required information.​

59.5 Sec. 13. [53B.39] INFORMATION REQUIREMENTS; CERTAIN INDIVIDUALS.​

59.6 Subdivision 1. Individuals with or seeking control. Any individual in control of a​

59.7 licensee or applicant, any individual that seeks to acquire control of a licensee, and each​

59.8 key individual must furnish to the commissioner through NMLS:​

59.9 (1) the individual's fingerprints for submission to the Federal Bureau of Investigation​

59.10 and the commissioner for a national criminal history background check, unless the person​

59.11 currently resides outside of the United States and has resided outside of the United States​

59.12 for the last ten years; and​

59.13 (2) personal history and business experience in a form and in a medium prescribed by​

59.14 the commissioner, to obtain:​

59.15 (i) an independent credit report from a consumer reporting agency;​

59.16 (ii) information related to any criminal convictions or pending charges; and​

59.17 (iii) information related to any regulatory or administrative action and any civil litigation​

59.18 involving claims of fraud, misrepresentation, conversion, mismanagement of funds, breach​

59.19 of fiduciary duty, or breach of contract.​

59.20 Subd. 2. Individuals having resided outside the United States. (a) If an individual​

59.21 has resided outside of the United States at any time in the last ten years, the individual must​

59.22 also provide an investigative background report prepared by an independent search firm​

59.23 that meets the requirements of this subdivision.​

59.24 (b) At a minimum, the search firm must:​

59.25 (1) demonstrate that the search firm has sufficient knowledge, resources, and employs​

59.26 accepted and reasonable methodologies to conduct the research of the background report;​

59.27 and​

59.28 (2) not be affiliated with or have an interest with the individual the search firm is​

59.29 researching.​

59.30 (c) At a minimum, the investigative background report must be written in English and​

59.31 must contain:​
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60.1 (1) if available in the individual's current jurisdiction of residency, a comprehensive​

60.2 credit report, or any equivalent information obtained or generated by the independent search​

60.3 firm to accomplish a credit report, including a search of the court data in the countries,​

60.4 provinces, states, cities, towns, and contiguous areas where the individual resided and​

60.5 worked;​

60.6 (2) criminal records information for the past ten years, including but not limited to​

60.7 felonies, misdemeanors, or similar convictions for violations of law in the countries,​

60.8 provinces, states, cities, towns, and contiguous areas where the individual resided and​

60.9 worked;​

60.10 (3) employment history;​

60.11 (4) media history, including an electronic search of national and local publications, wire​

60.12 services, and business applications; and​

60.13 (5) financial services-related regulatory history, including but not limited to money​

60.14 transmission, securities, banking, consumer finance, insurance, and mortgage-related​

60.15 industries.​

60.16 Sec. 14. [53B.40] LICENSE ISSUANCE.​

60.17 (a) When an application for an original license under this chapter includes all of the​

60.18 items and addresses all of the matters that are required, the application is complete and the​

60.19 commissioner must promptly notify the applicant in a record of the date on which the​

60.20 application is determined to be complete.​

60.21 (b) The commissioner's determination that an application is complete and accepted for​

60.22 processing means only that the application, on the application's face, appears to include all​

60.23 of the items, including the criminal background check response from the Federal Bureau​

60.24 of Investigation, and address all of the matters that are required. The commissioner's​

60.25 determination that an application is complete is not an assessment of the substance of the​

60.26 application or of the sufficiency of the information provided.​

60.27 (c) When an application is filed and considered complete under this section, the​

60.28 commissioner must investigate the applicant's financial condition and responsibility, financial​

60.29 and business experience, character, and general fitness. The commissioner may conduct an​

60.30 investigation of the applicant, the reasonable cost of which the applicant must pay. The​

60.31 commissioner must issue a license to an applicant under this section if the commissioner​

60.32 finds:​

60.33 (1) the applicant has complied with sections 53B.38 and 53B.39; and​

60​Article 3 Sec. 14.​

COUNSEL NH/HGN/DN/SC SCS2744A-2​03/29/23 01:11 pm ​



61.1 (2) the financial condition and responsibility; financial and business experience,​

61.2 competence, character, and general fitness of the applicant; and the competence, experience,​

61.3 character, and general fitness of the key individuals and persons in control of the applicant​

61.4 indicate that it is in the interest of the public to permit the applicant to engage in money​

61.5 transmission.​

61.6 (d) If an applicant avails itself of or is otherwise subject to a multistate licensing process:​

61.7 (1) the commissioner is authorized to accept the investigation results of a lead​

61.8 investigative state for the purposes of paragraph (c); or​

61.9 (2) if Minnesota is a lead investigative state, the commissioner is authorized to investigate​

61.10 the applicant pursuant to paragraph (c) and the time frames established by agreement through​

61.11 the multistate licensing process, provided that the time frame complies with the application​

61.12 review period provided under paragraph (e).​

61.13 (e) The commissioner must approve or deny the application within 120 days after the​

61.14 date the application is deemed complete. If the application is not approved or denied within​

61.15 120 days after the completion date, the application is approved and the license takes effect​

61.16 on the first business day after the 120-day period expires.​

61.17 (f) The commissioner must issue a formal written notice of the denial of a license​

61.18 application within 30 days of the date the decision to deny the application is made. The​

61.19 commissioner must set forth in the notice of denial the specific reasons for the denial of the​

61.20 application. An applicant whose application is denied by the commissioner under this​

61.21 paragraph may appeal within 30 days of the date the written notice of the denial is received.​

61.22 The commissioner must set a hearing date that is not later than 60 days after service of the​

61.23 response, unless a later date is set with the consent of the denied applicant.​

61.24 (g) The initial license term begins on the day the application is approved. The license​

61.25 expires on December 31 of the year in which the license term began, unless the initial license​

61.26 date is between November 1 and December 31, in which case the initial license term runs​

61.27 through December 31 of the following year. If a license is approved between November 1​

61.28 and December 31, the applicant is subject to the renewal fee under section 53B.31, paragraph​

61.29 (a).​

61.30 Sec. 15. [53B.41] LICENSE RENEWAL.​

61.31 (a) A license under this chapter must be renewed annually. An annual renewal fee of​

61.32 $2,500 must be paid no more than 60 days before the license expires. The renewal term is​
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62.1 a period of one year and begins on January 1 each year after the initial license term. The​

62.2 renewal term expires on December 31 of the year the renewal term begins.​

62.3 (b) A licensee must submit a renewal report with the renewal fee, in a form and in a​

62.4 medium prescribed by the commissioner. The renewal report must state or contain a​

62.5 description of each material change in information submitted by the licensee in the licensee's​

62.6 original license application that has not been previously reported to the commissioner.​

62.7 (c) The commissioner may grant an extension of the renewal date for good cause.​

62.8 (d) The commissioner is authorized to use the NMLS to process license renewals,​

62.9 provided that the NMLS functionality is consistent with this section.​

62.10 Sec. 16. [53B.42] MAINTENANCE OF LICENSE.​

62.11 (a) If a licensee does not continue to meet the qualifications or satisfy the requirements​

62.12 that apply to an applicant for a new money transmission license, the commissioner may​

62.13 suspend or revoke the licensee's license in accordance with the procedures established by​

62.14 this chapter or other applicable state law for license suspension or revocation.​

62.15 (b) An applicant for a money transmission license must demonstrate that the applicant​

62.16 meets or will meet, and a money transmission licensee must at all times meet, the​

62.17 requirements in sections 53B.59 to 53B.61.​

62.18 Sec. 17. [53B.43] ACQUISITION OF CONTROL.​

62.19 (a) Any person, or group of persons acting in concert, seeking to acquire control of a​

62.20 licensee must obtain the commissioner's written approval before acquiring control. An​

62.21 individual is not deemed to acquire control of a licensee and is not subject to these acquisition​

62.22 of control provisions when that individual becomes a key individual in the ordinary course​

62.23 of business.​

62.24 (b) For the purpose of this section, a person is presumed to exercise a controlling influence​

62.25 when the person holds the power to vote, directly or indirectly, at least ten percent of the​

62.26 outstanding voting shares or voting interests of a licensee or person in control of a licensee.​

62.27 A person presumed to exercise a controlling influence as defined by this subdivision can​

62.28 rebut the presumption of control if the person is a passive investor.​

62.29 (c) For purposes of determining the percentage of a person controlled by any other​

62.30 person, the person's interest shall be aggregated with the interest of any other immediate​

62.31 family member, including the person's spouse, parents, children, siblings, mothers- and​
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63.1 fathers-in-law, sons- and daughters-in-law, brothers- and sisters-in-law, and any other person​

63.2 who shares the person's home.​

63.3 (d) A person, or group of persons acting in concert, seeking to acquire control of a​

63.4 licensee must, in cooperation with the licensee:​

63.5 (1) submit an application in a form and in a medium prescribed by the commissioner;​

63.6 and​

63.7 (2) submit a nonrefundable fee of $4,000 with the request for approval.​

63.8 (e) Upon request, the commissioner may permit a licensee or the person, or group of​

63.9 persons acting in concert, to submit some or all information required by the commissioner​

63.10 pursuant to paragraph (d), clause (1), without using NMLS.​

63.11 (f) The application required by paragraph (d), clause (1), must include information​

63.12 required by section 53B.39 for any new key individuals that have not previously completed​

63.13 the requirements of section 53B.39 for a licensee.​

63.14 (g) When an application for acquisition of control under this section appears to include​

63.15 all of the items and address all of the matters that are required, the application is considered​

63.16 complete and the commissioner must promptly notify the applicant in a record of the date​

63.17 on which the application was determined to be complete.​

63.18 (h) The commissioner must approve or deny the application within 60 days after the​

63.19 completion date. If the application is not approved or denied within 60 days after the​

63.20 completion date, the application is approved and the person, or group of persons acting in​

63.21 concert, are not prohibited from acquiring control. The commissioner may extend the​

63.22 application period for good cause.​

63.23 (i) The commissioner's determination that an application is complete and is accepted for​

63.24 processing means only that the application, on the application's face, appears to include all​

63.25 of the items and address all of the matters that are required. The commissioner's determination​

63.26 that an application is complete is not an assessment of the application's substance or of the​

63.27 sufficiency of the information provided.​

63.28 (j) When an application is filed and considered complete under paragraph (g), the​

63.29 commissioner must investigate the financial condition and responsibility; the financial and​

63.30 business experience; character; and the general fitness of the person, or group of persons​

63.31 acting in concert, seeking to acquire control. The commissioner must approve an acquisition​

63.32 of control under this section if the commissioner finds:​

63.33 (1) the requirements of paragraphs (d) and (f) have been met, as applicable; and​
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64.1 (2) the financial condition and responsibility, financial and business experience,​

64.2 competence, character, and general fitness of the person, or group of persons acting in​

64.3 concert, seeking to acquire control; and the competence, experience, character, and general​

64.4 fitness of the key individuals and persons that control the licensee after the acquisition of​

64.5 control indicate that it is in the interest of the public to permit the person, or group of persons​

64.6 acting in concert, to control the licensee.​

64.7 (k) If an applicant avails itself of or is otherwise subject to a multistate licensing process:​

64.8 (1) the commissioner is authorized to accept the investigation results of a lead​

64.9 investigative state for the purposes of paragraph (j); or​

64.10 (2) if Minnesota is a lead investigative state, the commissioner is authorized to investigate​

64.11 the applicant under paragraph (j) and consistent with the time frames established by​

64.12 agreement through the multistate licensing process.​

64.13 (l) The commissioner must issue a formal written notice of the denial of an application​

64.14 to acquire control. The commissioner must set forth in the notice of denial the specific​

64.15 reasons the application was denied. An applicant whose application is denied by the​

64.16 commissioner under this paragraph may appeal the denial within 30 days of the date the​

64.17 written notice of the denial is received. Chapter 14 applies to appeals under this paragraph.​

64.18 (m) Paragraphs (a) and (d) do not apply to:​

64.19 (1) a person that acts as a proxy for the sole purpose of voting at a designated meeting​

64.20 of the shareholders or holders of voting shares or voting interests of a licensee or a person​

64.21 in control of a licensee;​

64.22 (2) a person that acquires control of a licensee by devise or descent;​

64.23 (3) a person that acquires control of a licensee as a personal representative, custodian,​

64.24 guardian, conservator, or trustee, or as an officer appointed by a court of competent​

64.25 jurisdiction or by operation of law;​

64.26 (4) a person that is exempt under section 53B.29, clause (7);​

64.27 (5) a person that the commissioner determines is not subject to paragraph (a), based on​

64.28 the public interest;​

64.29 (6) a public offering of securities of a licensee or a person in control of a licensee; or​

64.30 (7) an internal reorganization of a person controlling the licensee, where the ultimate​

64.31 person controlling the licensee remains the same.​

64​Article 3 Sec. 17.​

COUNSEL NH/HGN/DN/SC SCS2744A-2​03/29/23 01:11 pm ​



65.1 (n) A person identified in paragraph (m), clause (2), (3), (4), or (6), that is cooperating​

65.2 with the licensee must notify the commissioner within 15 days of the date the acquisition​

65.3 of control occurs.​

65.4 (o) Paragraphs (a) and (d) do not apply to a person that has complied with and received​

65.5 approval to engage in money transmission under this chapter, or that was identified as a​

65.6 person in control in a prior application filed with and approved by the commissioner or by​

65.7 another state pursuant to a multistate licensing process, provided that:​

65.8 (1) the person has not had a license revoked or suspended or controlled a licensee that​

65.9 has had a license revoked or suspended while the person was in control of the licensee in​

65.10 the previous five years;​

65.11 (2) if the person is a licensee, the person is well managed and has received at least a​

65.12 satisfactory rating for compliance at the person's most recent examination by an​

65.13 MSB-accredited state if a rating was given;​

65.14 (3) the licensee to be acquired is projected to meet the requirements of sections 53B.59​

65.15 to 53B.61 after the acquisition of control is completed, and if the person acquiring control​

65.16 is a licensee, the acquiring licensee is also projected to meet the requirements of sections​

65.17 53B.59 to 53B.61 after the acquisition of control is completed;​

65.18 (4) the licensee to be acquired does not implement any material changes to the acquired​

65.19 licensee's business plan as a result of the acquisition of control, and if the person acquiring​

65.20 control is a licensee, the acquiring licensee does not implement any material changes to the​

65.21 acquiring licensee's business plan as a result of the acquisition of control; and​

65.22 (5) the person provides notice of the acquisition in cooperation with the licensee and​

65.23 attests to clauses (1), (2), (3), and (4) in a form and in a medium prescribed by the​

65.24 commissioner.​

65.25 (p) If the notice under paragraph (o), clause (5), is not disapproved within 30 days after​

65.26 the date on which the notice was determined to be complete, the notice is deemed approved.​

65.27 (q) Before filing an application for approval to acquire control of a licensee, a person​

65.28 may request in writing a determination from the commissioner as to whether the person​

65.29 would be considered a person in control of a licensee upon consummation of a proposed​

65.30 transaction. If the commissioner determines that the person would not be a person in control​

65.31 of a licensee, the proposed person and transaction is not subject to paragraphs (a) and (d).​

65.32 (r) If a multistate licensing process includes a determination pursuant to paragraph (q)​

65.33 and an applicant avails itself or is otherwise subject to the multistate licensing process:​
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66.1 (1) the commissioner is authorized to accept the control determination of a lead​

66.2 investigative state with sufficient staffing, expertise, and minimum standards for the purposes​

66.3 of paragraph (q); or​

66.4 (2) if Minnesota is a lead investigative state, the commissioner is authorized to investigate​

66.5 the applicant under paragraph (q) and consistent with the time frames established by​

66.6 agreement through the multistate licensing process.​

66.7 Sec. 18. [53B.44] CHANGE OF KEY INDIVIDUALS; NOTICE AND​

66.8 INFORMATION REQUIREMENTS.​

66.9 (a) A licensee that adds or replaces any key individual must:​

66.10 (1) provide notice, in a manner prescribed by the commissioner, within 15 days after​

66.11 the effective date of the key individual's appointment; and​

66.12 (2) provide the information required under section 53B.39 within 45 days of the effective​

66.13 date of the key individual's appointment.​

66.14 (b) Within 90 days of the date on which the notice provided under section 53B.44,​

66.15 paragraph (a), was determined to be complete, the commissioner may issue a notice of​

66.16 disapproval of a key individual if the commissioner finds that the competence, business​

66.17 experience, character, or integrity of the individual is not in the best interests of the public​

66.18 or the customers of the licensee.​

66.19 (c) A notice of disapproval must contain a statement of the basis for disapproval and​

66.20 must be sent to the licensee and the disapproved individual. A licensee may appeal a notice​

66.21 of disapproval pursuant to chapter 14 within 30 days of the date the notice of disapproval​

66.22 is received.​

66.23 (d) If the notice provided under paragraph (a) is not disapproved within 90 days after​

66.24 the date on which the notice was determined to be complete, the key individual is deemed​

66.25 approved.​

66.26 (e) If a multistate licensing process includes a key individual notice review and​

66.27 disapproval process under this section and the licensee avails itself of or is otherwise subject​

66.28 to the multistate licensing process:​

66.29 (1) the commissioner is authorized to accept the determination of another state if the​

66.30 investigating state has sufficient staffing, expertise, and minimum standards for the purposes​

66.31 of this section; or​
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67.1 (2) if Minnesota is a lead investigative state, the commissioner is authorized to investigate​

67.2 the applicant under paragraph (b) and the time frames established by agreement through​

67.3 the multistate licensing process.​

67.4 Sec. 19. [53B.45] REPORT OF CONDITION.​

67.5 (a) Each licensee must submit a report of condition within 45 days of the end of the​

67.6 calendar quarter, or within any extended time the commissioner prescribes.​

67.7 (b) The report of condition must include:​

67.8 (1) financial information at the licensee level;​

67.9 (2) nationwide and state-specific money transmission transaction information in every​

67.10 jurisdiction in the United States where the licensee is licensed to engage in money​

67.11 transmission;​

67.12 (3) a permissible investments report;​

67.13 (4) transaction destination country reporting for money received for transmission, if​

67.14 applicable; and​

67.15 (5) any other information the commissioner reasonably requires with respect to the​

67.16 licensee.​

67.17 (c) The commissioner is authorized to use NMLS to submit the report required under​

67.18 paragraph (a).​

67.19 (d) The information required by paragraph (b), clause (4), must only be included in a​

67.20 report of condition submitted within 45 days of the end of the fourth calendar quarter.​

67.21 Sec. 20. [53B.46] AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.​

67.22 (a) Each licensee must, within 90 days after the end of each fiscal year, or within any​

67.23 extended time the commissioner prescribes, file with the commissioner:​

67.24 (1) an audited financial statement of the licensee for the fiscal year prepared in accordance​

67.25 with United States generally accepted accounting principles; and​

67.26 (2) any other information the commissioner may reasonably require.​

67.27 (b) The audited financial statements must be prepared by an independent certified public​

67.28 accountant or independent public accountant who is satisfactory to the commissioner.​

67.29 (c) The audited financial statements must include or be accompanied by a certificate of​

67.30 opinion prepared by the independent certified public accountant or independent public​
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68.1 accountant that is satisfactory in form and content to the commissioner. If the certificate or​

68.2 opinion is qualified, the commissioner may order the licensee to take any action the​

68.3 commissioner finds necessary to enable the independent or certified public accountant or​

68.4 independent public accountant to remove the qualification.​

68.5 Sec. 21. [53B.47] AUTHORIZED DELEGATE REPORTING.​

68.6 (a) Each licensee must submit a report of authorized delegates within 45 days of the end​

68.7 of the calendar quarter. The commissioner is authorized to use NMLS to submit the report​

68.8 required by this paragraph, provided that the functionality is consistent with the requirements​

68.9 of this section.​

68.10 (b) The authorized delegate report must include, at a minimum, each authorized delegate's:​

68.11 (1) company legal name;​

68.12 (2) taxpayer employer identification number;​

68.13 (3) principal provider identifier;​

68.14 (4) physical address;​

68.15 (5) mailing address;​

68.16 (6) any business conducted in other states;​

68.17 (7) any fictitious or trade name;​

68.18 (8) contact person name, telephone number, and email;​

68.19 (9) start date as the licensee's authorized delegate;​

68.20 (10) end date acting as the licensee's authorized delegate, if applicable;​

68.21 (11) court orders under section 53B.53; and​

68.22 (12) any other information the commissioner reasonably requires with respect to the​

68.23 authorized delegate.​

68.24 Sec. 22. [53B.48] REPORTS OF CERTAIN EVENTS.​

68.25 (a) A licensee must file a report with the commissioner within ten business days after​

68.26 the licensee has reason to know any of the following events has occurred:​

68.27 (1) a petition by or against the licensee under the United States Bankruptcy Code, United​

68.28 States Code, title 11, sections 101 to 110, as amended or recodified from time to time, for​

68.29 bankruptcy or reorganization has been filed;​
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69.1 (2) a petition by or against the licensee for receivership, the commencement of any other​

69.2 judicial or administrative proceeding for the licensee's dissolution or reorganization, or the​

69.3 making of a general assignment for the benefit of the licensee's creditors has been filed; or​

69.4 (3) a proceeding to revoke or suspend the licensee's license in a state or country in which​

69.5 the licensee engages in business or is licensed has been commenced.​

69.6 (b) A licensee must file a report with the commissioner within ten business days after​

69.7 the licensee has reason to know any of the following events has occurred:​

69.8 (1) the licensee or a key individual or person in control of the licensee is charged with​

69.9 or convicted of a felony related to money transmission activities; or​

69.10 (2) an authorized delegate is charged with or convicted of a felony related to money​

69.11 transmission activities.​

69.12 Sec. 23. [53B.49] BANK SECRECY ACT REPORTS.​

69.13 A licensee and an authorized delegate must file all reports required by federal currency​

69.14 reporting, record keeping, and suspicious activity reporting requirements as set forth in the​

69.15 Bank Secrecy Act and other federal and state laws pertaining to money laundering. A licensee​

69.16 and authorized delegate that timely files with the appropriate federal agency a complete and​

69.17 accurate report required under this section is deemed to comply with the requirements of​

69.18 this section.​

69.19 Sec. 24. [53B.50] RECORDS.​

69.20 (a) A licensee must maintain the following records, for purposes of determining the​

69.21 licensee's compliance with this chapter, for at least three years:​

69.22 (1) a record of each outstanding money transmission obligation sold;​

69.23 (2) a general ledger posted at least monthly containing all asset, liability, capital, income,​

69.24 and expense accounts;​

69.25 (3) bank statements and bank reconciliation records;​

69.26 (4) records of outstanding money transmission obligations;​

69.27 (5) records of each outstanding money transmission obligation paid within the three-year​

69.28 period;​

69.29 (6) a list of the last known names and addresses of all of the licensee's authorized​

69.30 delegates; and​
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70.1 (7) any other records the commissioner reasonably requires by administrative rule.​

70.2 (b) The items specified in paragraph (a) may be maintained in any form of record.​

70.3 (c) The records specified in paragraph (a) may be maintained outside of Minnesota if​

70.4 the records are made accessible to the commissioner upon seven business-days' notice that​

70.5 is sent in a record.​

70.6 (d) All records maintained by the licensee as required under paragraphs (a) to (c) are​

70.7 open to inspection by the commissioner under section 53B.33, paragraph (a).​

70.8 Sec. 25. [53B.51] RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN LICENSEE AND AUTHORIZED​

70.9 DELEGATE.​

70.10 (a) For purposes of this section, "remit" means to make direct payments of money to (1)​

70.11 a licensee, or (2) a licensee's representative authorized to receive money or to deposit money​

70.12 in a bank in an account specified by the licensee.​

70.13 (b) Before a licensee is authorized to conduct business through an authorized delegate​

70.14 or allows a person to act as the licensee's authorized delegate, the licensee must:​

70.15 (1) adopt, and update as necessary, written policies and procedures reasonably designed​

70.16 to ensure that the licensee's authorized delegates comply with applicable state and federal​

70.17 law;​

70.18 (2) enter into a written contract that complies with paragraph (d); and​

70.19 (3) conduct a reasonable risk-based background investigation sufficient for the licensee​

70.20 to determine whether the authorized delegate has complied and will likely comply with​

70.21 applicable state and federal law.​

70.22 (c) An authorized delegate must operate in full compliance with this chapter.​

70.23 (d) The written contract required by paragraph (b) must be signed by the licensee and​

70.24 the authorized delegate. The written contract must, at a minimum:​

70.25 (1) appoint the person signing the contract as the licensee's authorized delegate with the​

70.26 authority to conduct money transmission on behalf of the licensee;​

70.27 (2) set forth the nature and scope of the relationship between the licensee and the​

70.28 authorized delegate and the respective rights and responsibilities of the parties;​

70.29 (3) require the authorized delegate to agree to fully comply with all applicable state and​

70.30 federal laws, rules, and regulations pertaining to money transmission, including this chapter​

70​Article 3 Sec. 25.​

COUNSEL NH/HGN/DN/SC SCS2744A-2​03/29/23 01:11 pm ​



71.1 and regulations implementing this chapter, relevant provisions of the Bank Secrecy Act and​

71.2 the USA PATRIOT Act, Public Law 107-56;​

71.3 (4) require the authorized delegate to remit and handle money and monetary value in​

71.4 accordance with the terms of the contract between the licensee and the authorized delegate;​

71.5 (5) impose a trust on money and monetary value net of fees received for money​

71.6 transmission for the benefit of the licensee;​

71.7 (6) require the authorized delegate to prepare and maintain records as required by this​

71.8 chapter or administrative rules implementing this chapter, or as reasonably requested by​

71.9 the commissioner;​

71.10 (7) acknowledge that the authorized delegate consents to examination or investigation​

71.11 by the commissioner;​

71.12 (8) state that the licensee is subject to regulation by the commissioner and that as part​

71.13 of that regulation the commissioner may (1) suspend or revoke an authorized delegate​

71.14 designation, or (2) require the licensee to terminate an authorized delegate designation; and​

71.15 (9) acknowledge receipt of the written policies and procedures required under paragraph​

71.16 (b), clause (1).​

71.17 (e) If the licensee's license is suspended, revoked, surrendered, or expired, within five​

71.18 business days the licensee must provide documentation to the commissioner that the licensee​

71.19 has notified all applicable authorized delegates of the licensee whose names are in a record​

71.20 filed with the commissioner of the suspension, revocation, surrender, or expiration of a​

71.21 license. Upon suspension, revocation, surrender, or expiration of a license, applicable​

71.22 authorized delegates must immediately cease to provide money transmission as an authorized​

71.23 delegate of the licensee.​

71.24 (f) An authorized delegate of a licensee holds in trust for the benefit of the licensee all​

71.25 money net of fees received from money transmission. If an authorized delegate commingles​

71.26 any funds received from money transmission with other funds or property owned or​

71.27 controlled by the authorized delegate, all commingled funds and other property are considered​

71.28 held in trust in favor of the licensee in an amount equal to the amount of money net of fees​

71.29 received from money transmission.​

71.30 (g) An authorized delegate is prohibited from using a subdelegate to conduct money​

71.31 transmission on behalf of a licensee.​

71​Article 3 Sec. 25.​

COUNSEL NH/HGN/DN/SC SCS2744A-2​03/29/23 01:11 pm ​



72.1 Sec. 26. [53B.52] UNAUTHORIZED ACTIVITIES.​

72.2 A person is prohibited from engaging in the business of money transmission on behalf​

72.3 of a person not licensed under this chapter or not exempt under sections 53B.29 and 53B.30.​

72.4 A person that engages in the business of money transmission on behalf of a person that is​

72.5 not licensed under this chapter or not exempt under sections 53B.29 and 53B.30 provides​

72.6 money transmission to the same extent as if the person were a licensee, and is jointly and​

72.7 severally liable with the unlicensed or nonexempt person.​

72.8 Sec. 27. [53B.53] PROHIBITED AUTHORIZED DELEGATES.​

72.9 (a) The district court in an action brought by a licensee has jurisdiction to grant​

72.10 appropriate equitable or legal relief, including without limitation prohibiting the authorized​

72.11 delegate from directly or indirectly acting as an authorized delegate for any licensee in​

72.12 Minnesota and the payment of restitution, damages, or other monetary relief, if the district​

72.13 court finds that an authorized delegate failed to remit money in accordance with the written​

72.14 contract required by section 53B.51, paragraph (b), or as otherwise directed by the licensee​

72.15 or required by law.​

72.16 (b) If the district court issues an order prohibiting a person from acting as an authorized​

72.17 delegate for any licensee under paragraph (a), the licensee that brought the action must​

72.18 report the order to the commissioner within 30 days of the date of the order and must report​

72.19 the order through NMLS within 90 days of the date of the order.​

72.20 Sec. 28. [53B.54] TIMELY TRANSMISSION.​

72.21 (a) Every licensee must forward all money received for transmission in accordance with​

72.22 the terms of the agreement between the licensee and the sender, unless the licensee has a​

72.23 reasonable belief or a reasonable basis to believe that the sender may be a victim of fraud​

72.24 or that a crime or violation of law, rule, or regulation has occurred, is occurring, or may​

72.25 occur.​

72.26 (b) If a licensee fails to forward money received for transmission as provided under this​

72.27 section, the licensee must respond to inquiries by the sender with the reason for the failure,​

72.28 unless providing a response would violate a state or federal law, rule, or regulation.​

72.29 Sec. 29. [53B.55] REFUNDS.​

72.30 (a) This section does not apply to:​

72​Article 3 Sec. 29.​

COUNSEL NH/HGN/DN/SC SCS2744A-2​03/29/23 01:11 pm ​



73.1 (1) money received for transmission that is subject to the federal remittance rule under​

73.2 Code of Federal Regulations, title 12, part 1005, subpart B, as amended or recodified from​

73.3 time to time; or​

73.4 (2) money received for transmission pursuant to a written agreement between the licensee​

73.5 and payee to process payments for goods or services provided by the payee.​

73.6 (b) A licensee must refund to the sender within ten days of the date the licensee receives​

73.7 the sender's written request for a refund of any and all money received for transmission,​

73.8 unless:​

73.9 (1) the money has been forwarded within ten days of the date on which the money was​

73.10 received for transmission;​

73.11 (2) instructions have been given committing an equivalent amount of money to the​

73.12 person designated by the sender within ten days of the date on which the money was received​

73.13 for transmission;​

73.14 (3) the agreement between the licensee and the sender instructs the licensee to forward​

73.15 the money at a time that is beyond ten days of the date on which the money was received​

73.16 for transmission. If money has not been forwarded in accordance with the terms of the​

73.17 agreement between the licensee and the sender, the licensee must issue a refund in accordance​

73.18 with the other provisions of this section; or​

73.19 (4) the refund is requested for a transaction that the licensee has not completed based​

73.20 on a reasonable belief or a reasonable basis to believe that a crime or violation of law, rule,​

73.21 or regulation has occurred, is occurring, or may occur.​

73.22 (c) A refund request does not enable the licensee to identify:​

73.23 (1) the sender's name and address or telephone number; or​

73.24 (2) the particular transaction to be refunded in the event the sender has multiple​

73.25 transactions outstanding.​

73.26 Sec. 30. [53B.56] RECEIPTS.​

73.27 Subdivision 1. Definition. For purposes of this section, "receipt" means a paper receipt,​

73.28 electronic record, or other written confirmation.​

73.29 Subd. 2. Exemption. This section does not apply to:​

73​Article 3 Sec. 30.​
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74.1 (1) money received for transmission that is subject to the federal remittance rule under​

74.2 Code of Federal Regulations, title 12, part 1005, subpart B, as amended or recodified from​

74.3 time to time;​

74.4 (2) money received for transmission that is not primarily for personal, family, or​

74.5 household purposes;​

74.6 (3) money received for transmission pursuant to a written agreement between the licensee​

74.7 and payee to process payments for goods or services provided by the payee; or​

74.8 (4) payroll processing services.​

74.9 Subd. 3. Transaction types; receipts form. For a transaction conducted in person, the​

74.10 receipt may be provided electronically if the sender requests or agrees to receive an electronic​

74.11 receipt. For a transaction conducted electronically or by telephone, a receipt may be provided​

74.12 electronically. All electronic receipts must be provided in a retainable form.​

74.13 Subd. 4. Receipts required. (a) Every licensee or its authorized delegate shall provide​

74.14 the sender a receipt for money received for transmission.​

74.15 (b) The receipt must contain, as applicable:​

74.16 (1) the name of the sender;​

74.17 (2) the name of the designated recipient;​

74.18 (3) the date of the transaction;​

74.19 (4) the unique transaction or identification number;​

74.20 (5) the name of the licensee, NMLS Unique ID, the licensee's business address, and the​

74.21 licensee's customer service telephone number;​

74.22 (6) the transaction amount, expressed in United States dollars;​

74.23 (7) any fee the licensee charges the sender for the transaction; and​

74.24 (8) any taxes the licensee collects from the sender for the transaction.​

74.25 (c) The receipt required by this section must be in (1) English, and (2) the language​

74.26 principally used by the licensee or authorized delegate to advertise, solicit, or negotiate,​

74.27 either orally or in writing, for a transaction conducted in person, electronically, or by​

74.28 telephone, if the language principally used is a language other than English.​

74​Article 3 Sec. 30.​
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75.1 Sec. 31. [53B.57] NOTICE.​

75.2 Every licensee or authorized delegate must include on a receipt or disclose on the​

75.3 licensee's website or mobile application the name and telephone number of the department​

75.4 and a statement that the licensee's customers can contact the department with questions or​

75.5 complaints about the licensee's money transmission services.​

75.6 Sec. 32. [53B.58] PAYROLL PROCESSING SERVICES; DISCLOSURES.​

75.7 (a) A licensee that provides payroll processing services must:​

75.8 (1) issue reports to clients detailing client payroll obligations in advance of the payroll​

75.9 funds being deducted from an account; and​

75.10 (2) make available worker pay stubs or an equivalent statement to workers.​

75.11 (b) Paragraph (a) does not apply to a licensee providing payroll processing services if​

75.12 the licensee's client designates the intended recipients to the licensee and is responsible for​

75.13 providing the disclosures required by paragraph (a), clause (2).​

75.14 Sec. 33. [53B.59] NET WORTH.​

75.15 (a) A licensee under this chapter must maintain at all times a tangible net worth that is​

75.16 the greater of: (1) $100,000; or (2) three percent of total assets for the first $100,000,000;​

75.17 two percent of additional assets between $100,000,000 to $1,000,000,000; and one-half​

75.18 percent of additional assets over $1,000,000,000.​

75.19 (b) Tangible net worth must be demonstrated in the initial application by the applicant's​

75.20 most recent audited or unaudited financial statements under section 53B.38, paragraph (b),​

75.21 clause (6).​

75.22 (c) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) and (b), the commissioner has the authority, for good​

75.23 cause shown, to exempt any applicant or licensee in-part or in whole from the requirements​

75.24 of this section.​

75.25 Sec. 34. [53B.60] SURETY BOND.​

75.26 (a) An applicant for a money transmission license must provide, and a licensee must at​

75.27 all times maintain (1) security consisting of a surety bond in a form satisfactory to the​

75.28 commissioner, or (2) with the commissioner's approval, a deposit instead of a bond in​

75.29 accordance with this section.​

75.30 (b) The amount of the required security under this section is:​

75​Article 3 Sec. 34.​
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76.1 (1) the greater of (i) $100,000, or (ii) an amount equal to one hundred percent of the​

76.2 licensee's average daily money transmission liability in Minnesota, calculated for the most​

76.3 recently completed three-month period, up to a maximum of $500,000; or​

76.4 (2) in the event that the licensee's tangible net worth exceeds ten percent of total assets,​

76.5 the licensee must maintain a surety bond of $100,000.​

76.6 (c) A licensee that maintains a bond in the maximum amount provided for in paragraph​

76.7 (b), clause (1) or (2), as applicable, is not required to calculate the licensee's average daily​

76.8 money transmission liability in Minnesota for purposes of this section.​

76.9 (d) A licensee may exceed the maximum required bond amount pursuant to section​

76.10 53B.62, paragraph (a), clause (5).​

76.11 (e) The security device remains effective until cancellation, which may occur only after​

76.12 30 days' written notice to the commissioner. Cancellation does not affect the rights of any​

76.13 claimant for any liability incurred or accrued during the period for which the bond was in​

76.14 force.​

76.15 (f) The security device must remain in place for no longer than five years after the​

76.16 licensee ceases money transmission operations in Minnesota. Notwithstanding this paragraph,​

76.17 the commissioner may permit the security device to be reduced or eliminated before that​

76.18 time to the extent that the amount of the licensee's payment instruments outstanding in​

76.19 Minnesota are reduced. The commissioner may also permit a licensee to substitute a letter​

76.20 of credit or other form of security device acceptable to the commissioner for the security​

76.21 device in place at the time the licensee ceases money transmission operations in Minnesota.​

76.22 Sec. 35. [53B.61] MAINTENANCE OF PERMISSIBLE INVESTMENTS.​

76.23 (a) A licensee must maintain at all times permissible investments that have a market​

76.24 value computed in accordance with United States generally accepted accounting principles​

76.25 of not less than the aggregate amount of all of the licensee's outstanding money transmission​

76.26 obligations.​

76.27 (b) Except for permissible investments enumerated in section 53B.62, paragraph (a),​

76.28 the commissioner may by administrative rule or order, with respect to any licensee, limit​

76.29 the extent to which a specific investment maintained by a licensee within a class of​

76.30 permissible investments may be considered a permissible investment, if the specific​

76.31 investment represents undue risk to customers not reflected in the market value of​

76.32 investments.​

76​Article 3 Sec. 35.​
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77.1 (c) Permissible investments, even if commingled with other assets of the licensee, are​

77.2 held in trust for the benefit of the purchasers and holders of the licensee's outstanding money​

77.3 transmission obligations in the event of insolvency; the filing of a petition by or against the​

77.4 licensee under the United States Bankruptcy Code, United States Code, title 11, sections​

77.5 101 to 110, as amended or recodified from time to time, for bankruptcy or reorganization;​

77.6 the filing of a petition by or against the licensee for receivership; the commencement of any​

77.7 other judicial or administrative proceeding for the licensee's dissolution or reorganization;​

77.8 or in the event of an action by a creditor against the licensee who is not a beneficiary of this​

77.9 statutory trust. No permissible investments impressed with a trust pursuant to this paragraph​

77.10 are subject to attachment, levy of execution, or sequestration by order of any court, except​

77.11 for a beneficiary of the statutory trust.​

77.12 (d) Upon the establishment of a statutory trust in accordance with paragraph (c), or when​

77.13 any funds are drawn on a letter of credit pursuant to section 53B.62, paragraph (a), clause​

77.14 (4), the commissioner must notify the applicable regulator of each state in which the licensee​

77.15 is licensed to engage in money transmission, if any, of the establishment of the trust or the​

77.16 funds drawn on the letter of credit, as applicable. Notice is deemed satisfied if performed​

77.17 pursuant to a multistate agreement or through NMLS. Funds drawn on a letter of credit, and​

77.18 any other permissible investments held in trust for the benefit of the purchasers and holders​

77.19 of the licensee's outstanding money transmission obligations, are deemed held in trust for​

77.20 the benefit of the purchasers and holders of the licensee's outstanding money transmission​

77.21 obligations on a pro rata and equitable basis in accordance with statutes pursuant to which​

77.22 permissible investments are required to be held in Minnesota and other states, as defined​

77.23 by a substantially similar statute in the other state. Any statutory trust established under this​

77.24 section terminates upon extinguishment of all of the licensee's outstanding money​

77.25 transmission obligations.​

77.26 (e) The commissioner may by rule or by order allow other types of investments that the​

77.27 commissioner determines are of sufficient liquidity and quality to be a permissible​

77.28 investment. The commissioner is authorized to participate in efforts with other state regulators​

77.29 to determine that other types of investments are of sufficient liquidity and quality to be a​

77.30 permissible investment.​

77.31 Sec. 36. [53B.62] PERMISSIBLE INVESTMENTS.​

77.32 Subdivision 1. Certain investments permissible. The following investments are​

77.33 permissible under section 53B.61:​

77​Article 3 Sec. 36.​
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78.1 (1) cash, including demand deposits, savings deposits, and funds in accounts held for​

78.2 the benefit of the licensee's customers in a federally insured depository financial institution;​

78.3 and cash equivalents, including ACH items in transit to the licensee and ACH items or​

78.4 international wires in transit to a payee, cash in transit via armored car, cash in smart safes,​

78.5 cash in licensee-owned locations, debit card or credit card funded transmission receivables​

78.6 owed by any bank, or money market mutual funds rated AAA or the equivalent from any​

78.7 eligible rating service;​

78.8 (2) certificates of deposit or senior debt obligations of an insured depository institution,​

78.9 as defined in section 3 of the Federal Deposit Insurance Act, United States Code, title 12,​

78.10 section 1813, as amended or recodified from time to time, or as defined under the federal​

78.11 Credit Union Act, United States Code, title 12, section 1781, as amended or recodified from​

78.12 time to time;​

78.13 (3) an obligation of the United States or a commission, agency, or instrumentality thereof;​

78.14 an obligation that is guaranteed fully as to principal and interest by the United States; or an​

78.15 obligation of a state or a governmental subdivision, agency, or instrumentality thereof;​

78.16 (4) the full drawable amount of an irrevocable standby letter of credit, for which the​

78.17 stated beneficiary is the commissioner, that stipulates that the beneficiary need only draw​

78.18 a sight draft under the letter of credit and present the sight draft to obtain funds up to the​

78.19 letter of credit amount within seven days of presentation of the items required by subdivision​

78.20 2, paragraph (c); and​

78.21 (5) one hundred percent of the surety bond or deposit provided for under section 53B.60​

78.22 that exceeds the average daily money transmission liability in Minnesota.​

78.23 Subd. 2. Letter of credit; requirements. (a) A letter of credit under subdivision 1,​

78.24 clause (4), must:​

78.25 (1) be issued by a federally insured depository financial institution, a foreign bank that​

78.26 is authorized under federal law to maintain a federal agency or federal branch office in a​

78.27 state or states, or a foreign bank that is authorized under state law to maintain a branch in​

78.28 a state that: (i) bears an eligible rating or whose parent company bears an eligible rating;​

78.29 and (ii) is regulated, supervised, and examined by United States federal or state authorities​

78.30 having regulatory authority over banks, credit unions, and trust companies;​

78.31 (2) be irrevocable, unconditional, and indicate that it is not subject to any condition or​

78.32 qualifications outside of the letter of credit;​

78​Article 3 Sec. 36.​
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79.1 (3) not contain reference to any other agreements, documents, or entities, or otherwise​

79.2 provide for any security interest in the licensee; and​

79.3 (4) contain an issue date and expiration date, and expressly provide for automatic​

79.4 extension without a written amendment, for an additional period of one year from the present​

79.5 or each future expiration date, unless the issuer of the letter of credit notifies the​

79.6 commissioner in writing by certified or registered mail or courier mail or other receipted​

79.7 means, at least 60 days before any expiration date, that the irrevocable letter of credit will​

79.8 not be extended.​

79.9 (b) In the event of any notice of expiration or nonextension of a letter of credit issued​

79.10 under paragraph (a), clause (4), the licensee must demonstrate to the satisfaction of the​

79.11 commissioner, 15 days before the letter or credit's expiration, that the licensee maintains​

79.12 and will maintain permissible investments in accordance with section 53B.61, paragraph​

79.13 (a), upon the expiration of the letter of credit. If the licensee is not able to do so, the​

79.14 commissioner may draw on the letter of credit in an amount up to the amount necessary to​

79.15 meet the licensee's requirements to maintain permissible investments in accordance with​

79.16 section 53B.61, paragraph (a). Any draw under this paragraph must be offset against the​

79.17 licensee's outstanding money transmission obligations. The drawn funds must be held in​

79.18 trust by the commissioner or the commissioner's designated agent, to the extent authorized​

79.19 by law, as agent for the benefit of the purchasers and holders of the licensee's outstanding​

79.20 money transmission obligations.​

79.21 (c) The letter of credit must provide that the issuer of the letter of credit must honor, at​

79.22 sight, a presentation made by the beneficiary to the issuer of the following documents on​

79.23 or before the expiration date of the letter of credit:​

79.24 (1) the original letter of credit, including any amendments; and​

79.25 (2) a written statement from the beneficiary stating that any of the following events have​

79.26 occurred:​

79.27 (i) the filing of a petition by or against the licensee under the United States Bankruptcy​

79.28 Code, United States Code, title 11, sections 101 to 110, as amended or recodified from time​

79.29 to time, for bankruptcy or reorganization;​

79.30 (ii) the filing of a petition by or against the licensee for receivership, or the​

79.31 commencement of any other judicial or administrative proceeding for the licensee's​

79.32 dissolution or reorganization;​

79​Article 3 Sec. 36.​
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80.1 (iii) the seizure of assets of a licensee by a commissioner of any other state pursuant to​

80.2 an emergency order issued in accordance with applicable law, on the basis of an action,​

80.3 violation, or condition that has caused or is likely to cause the insolvency of the licensee;​

80.4 or​

80.5 (iv) the beneficiary has received notice of expiration or nonextension of a letter of credit​

80.6 and the licensee failed to demonstrate to the satisfaction of the beneficiary that the licensee​

80.7 will maintain permissible investments in accordance with section 53B.61, paragraph (a),​

80.8 upon the expiration or nonextension of the letter of credit.​

80.9 (d) The commissioner may designate an agent to serve on the commissioner's behalf as​

80.10 beneficiary to a letter of credit, provided the agent and letter of credit meet requirements​

80.11 the commissioner establishes. The commissioner's agent may serve as agent for multiple​

80.12 licensing authorities for a single irrevocable letter of credit if the proceeds of the drawable​

80.13 amount for the purposes of subdivision 1, clause (4), and this subdivision are assigned to​

80.14 the commissioner.​

80.15 (e) The commissioner is authorized to participate in multistate processes designed to​

80.16 facilitate the issuance and administration of letters of credit, including but not limited to​

80.17 services provided by the NMLS and State Regulatory Registry, LLC.​

80.18 Subd. 3. Other permissible investments. Unless the commissioner by administrative​

80.19 rule or order otherwise permits an investment to exceed the limit set forth in this subdivision,​

80.20 the following investments are permissible under section 53B.61 to the extent specified:​

80.21 (1) receivables that are payable to a licensee from its authorized delegates in the ordinary​

80.22 course of business that are less than seven days old, up to 50 percent of the aggregate value​

80.23 of the licensee's total permissible investments;​

80.24 (2) of the receivables permissible under clause (1), receivables that are payable to a​

80.25 licensee from a single authorized delegate in the ordinary course of business may not exceed​

80.26 ten percent of the aggregate value of the licensee's total permissible investments;​

80.27 (3) the following investments are permissible up to 20 percent per category and combined​

80.28 up to 50 percent of the aggregate value of the licensee's total permissible investments:​

80.29 (i) a short-term investment of up to six months bearing an eligible rating;​

80.30 (ii) commercial paper bearing an eligible rating;​

80.31 (iii) a bill, note, bond, or debenture bearing an eligible rating;​

80​Article 3 Sec. 36.​
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81.1 (iv) United States tri-party repurchase agreements collateralized at 100 percent or more​

81.2 with United States government or agency securities, municipal bonds, or other securities​

81.3 bearing an eligible rating;​

81.4 (v) money market mutual funds rated less than "AAA" and equal to or higher than "A-"​

81.5 by S&P, or the equivalent from any other eligible rating service; and​

81.6 (vi) a mutual fund or other investment fund composed solely and exclusively of one or​

81.7 more permissible investments listed in subdivision 1, clauses (1) to (3); and​

81.8 (4) cash, including demand deposits, savings deposits, and funds in accounts held for​

81.9 the benefit of the licensee's customers, at foreign depository institutions are permissible up​

81.10 to ten percent of the aggregate value of the licensee's total permissible investments, if the​

81.11 licensee has received a satisfactory rating in the licensee's most recent examination and the​

81.12 foreign depository institution:​

81.13 (i) has an eligible rating;​

81.14 (ii) is registered under the Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act, Public Law 111-147;​

81.15 (iii) is not located in any country subject to sanctions from the Office of Foreign Asset​

81.16 Control; and​

81.17 (iv) is not located in a high-risk or noncooperative jurisdiction, as designated by the​

81.18 Financial Action Task Force.​

81.19 Sec. 37. [53B.63] SUSPENSION; REVOCATION.​

81.20 (a) The commissioner may suspend or revoke a license or order a licensee to revoke the​

81.21 designation of an authorized delegate if:​

81.22 (1) the licensee violates this chapter, or an administrative rule adopted or an order issued​

81.23 under this chapter;​

81.24 (2) the licensee does not cooperate with an examination or investigation conducted by​

81.25 the commissioner;​

81.26 (3) the licensee engages in fraud, intentional misrepresentation, or gross negligence;​

81.27 (4) an authorized delegate is convicted of a violation of a state or federal statute​

81.28 prohibiting money laundering, or violates an administrative rule adopted or an order issued​

81.29 under this chapter, as a result of the licensee's willful misconduct or willful blindness;​

81.30 (5) the competence, experience, character, or general fitness of the licensee, authorized​

81.31 delegate, person in control of a licensee, key individual, or responsible person of the​

81​Article 3 Sec. 37.​

COUNSEL NH/HGN/DN/SC SCS2744A-2​03/29/23 01:11 pm ​



82.1 authorized delegate indicates that it is not in the public interest to permit the person to​

82.2 provide money transmission;​

82.3 (6) the licensee engages in an unsafe or unsound practice;​

82.4 (7) the licensee is insolvent, suspends payment of the licensee's obligations, or makes a​

82.5 general assignment for the benefit of the licensee's creditors; or​

82.6 (8) the licensee does not remove an authorized delegate after the commissioner issues​

82.7 and serves upon the licensee a final order that includes a finding that the authorized delegate​

82.8 has violated this chapter.​

82.9 (b) When determining whether a licensee is engaging in an unsafe or unsound practice,​

82.10 the commissioner may consider the size and condition of the licensee's money transmission,​

82.11 the magnitude of the loss, the gravity of the violation of this chapter, and the previous​

82.12 conduct of the person involved.​

82.13 Sec. 38. [53B.64] AUTHORIZED DELEGATES; SUSPENSION AND​

82.14 REVOCATION.​

82.15 (a) The commissioner may issue an order suspending or revoking the designation of an​

82.16 authorized delegate if the commissioner finds:​

82.17 (1) the authorized delegate violated this chapter, or an administrative rule adopted or an​

82.18 order issued under this chapter;​

82.19 (2) the authorized delegate did not cooperate with an examination or investigation​

82.20 conducted by the commissioner;​

82.21 (3) the authorized delegate engaged in fraud, intentional misrepresentation, or gross​

82.22 negligence;​

82.23 (4) the authorized delegate is convicted of a violation of a state or federal anti-money​

82.24 laundering statute;​

82.25 (5) the competence, experience, character, or general fitness of the authorized delegate​

82.26 or a person in control of the authorized delegate indicates that it is not in the public interest​

82.27 to permit the authorized delegate to provide money transmission; or​

82.28 (6) the authorized delegate is engaging in an unsafe or unsound practice.​

82.29 (b) When determining whether an authorized delegate is engaging in an unsafe or unsound​

82.30 practice, the commissioner may consider the size and condition of the authorized delegate's​

82.31 provision of money transmission, the magnitude of the loss, the gravity of the violation of​

82​Article 3 Sec. 38.​
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83.1 this chapter, or an administrative rule adopted or order issued under this chapter, and the​

83.2 previous conduct of the authorized delegate.​

83.3 (c) An authorized delegate may apply for relief from a suspension or revocation of​

83.4 designation as an authorized delegate in the same manner as a licensee.​

83.5 Sec. 39. [53B.65] ENFORCEMENT.​

83.6 Section 45.027 applies to this chapter.​

83.7 Sec. 40. [53B.66] CRIMINAL PENALTIES.​

83.8 (a) A person who intentionally makes a false statement, misrepresentation, or false​

83.9 certification in a record filed or required to be maintained under this chapter or that​

83.10 intentionally makes a false entry or omits a material entry in a record filed or required to​

83.11 be maintained under this chapter is guilty of a felony.​

83.12 (b) A person who knowingly engages in an activity for which a license is required under​

83.13 this chapter without being licensed under this chapter, and who receives more than $1,000​

83.14 in compensation within a 30-day period from the activity, is guilty of a felony.​

83.15 (c) A person who knowingly engages in an activity for which a license is required under​

83.16 this chapter without being licensed under this chapter, and who receives more than $500​

83.17 but less than $1,000 in compensation within a 30-day period from the activity, is guilty of​

83.18 a gross misdemeanor.​

83.19 (d) A person who knowingly engages in an activity for which a license is required under​

83.20 this chapter without being licensed under this chapter, and who receives no more than $500​

83.21 in compensation within a 30-day period from the activity, is guilty of a misdemeanor.​

83.22 Sec. 41. [53B.67] SEVERABILITY.​

83.23 If any provision of this chapter or the chapter's application to any person or circumstance​

83.24 is held invalid, the invalidity does not affect other provisions or applications of this chapter​

83.25 that can be given effect without the invalid provision or application.​

83.26 Sec. 42. [53B.68] TRANSITION PERIOD.​

83.27 (a) A person licensed in Minnesota to engage in the business of money transmission is​

83.28 not subject to the provisions of this chapter to the extent that this chapter's provisions conflict​

83.29 with current law or establish new requirements not imposed under current law until the​

83​Article 3 Sec. 42.​

COUNSEL NH/HGN/DN/SC SCS2744A-2​03/29/23 01:11 pm ​



84.1 licensee renews the licensee's current license or for five months after the effective date of​

84.2 this chapter, whichever is later.​

84.3 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a licensee is only required to amend the licensee's​

84.4 authorized delegate contracts for contracts entered into or amended after the effective date​

84.5 or the completion of any transition period contemplated under paragraph (a). Nothing in​

84.6 this section limits an authorized delegate's obligations to operate in full compliance with​

84.7 this chapter, as required under section 53B.51, paragraph (c).​

84.8 Sec. 43. [53B.69] DEFINITIONS.​

84.9 Subdivision 1. Terms. For purposes of sections 53B.70 to 53B.74, the following terms​

84.10 have the meaning given them.​

84.11 Subd. 2. Control of virtual currency. "Control of virtual currency," when used in​

84.12 reference to a transaction or relationship involving virtual currency, means the power to​

84.13 execute unilaterally or prevent indefinitely a virtual currency transaction.​

84.14 Subd. 3. Exchange. "Exchange," used as a verb, means to assume control of virtual​

84.15 currency from or on behalf of a person, at least momentarily, to sell, trade, or convert:​

84.16 (1) virtual currency for money, bank credit, or one or more forms of virtual currency;​

84.17 or​

84.18 (2) money or bank credit for one or more forms of virtual currency.​

84.19 Subd. 4. Transfer. "Transfer" means to assume control of virtual currency from or on​

84.20 behalf of a person and to:​

84.21 (1) credit the virtual currency to the account of another person;​

84.22 (2) move the virtual currency from one account of a person to another account of the​

84.23 same person; or​

84.24 (3) relinquish control of virtual currency to another person.​

84.25 Subd. 5. United States dollar equivalent of virtual currency. "United States dollar​

84.26 equivalent of virtual currency" means the equivalent value of a particular virtual currency​

84.27 in United States dollars shown on a virtual-currency exchange based in the United States​

84.28 for a particular date or period specified in this chapter.​

84.29 Subd. 6. Virtual currency. (a) "Virtual currency" means a digital representation of value​

84.30 that:​

84.31 (1) is used as a medium of exchange, unit of account, or store of value; and​
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85.1 (2) is not money, whether or not denominated in money.​

85.2 (b) Virtual currency does not include:​

85.3 (1) a transaction in which a merchant grants, as part of an affinity or rewards program,​

85.4 value that cannot be taken from or exchanged with the merchant for money, bank credit, or​

85.5 virtual currency; or​

85.6 (2) a digital representation of value issued by or on behalf of a publisher and used solely​

85.7 within an online game, game platform, or family of games sold by the same publisher or​

85.8 offered on the same game platform.​

85.9 Subd. 7. Virtual-currency administration. "Virtual-currency administration" means​

85.10 issuing virtual currency with the authority to redeem the currency for money, bank credit,​

85.11 or other virtual currency.​

85.12 Subd. 8. Virtual-currency business activity. "Virtual-currency business activity" means:​

85.13 (1) exchanging, transferring, or storing virtual currency or engaging in virtual-currency​

85.14 administration, whether directly or through an agreement with a virtual-currency​

85.15 control-services vendor;​

85.16 (2) holding electronic precious metals or electronic certificates representing interests in​

85.17 precious metals on behalf of another person or issuing shares or electronic certificates​

85.18 representing interests in precious metals; or​

85.19 (3) exchanging one or more digital representations of value used within one or more​

85.20 online games, game platforms, or family of games for:​

85.21 (i) virtual currency offered by or on behalf of the same publisher from which the original​

85.22 digital representation of value was received; or​

85.23 (ii) money or bank credit outside the online game, game platform, or family of games​

85.24 offered by or on behalf of the same publisher from which the original digital representation​

85.25 of value was received.​

85.26 Subd. 9. Virtual-currency control-services vendor. "Virtual-currency control-services​

85.27 vendor" means a person that has control of virtual currency solely under an agreement with​

85.28 a person that, on behalf of another person, assumes control of virtual currency.​

85.29 Sec. 44. [53B.70] SCOPE.​

85.30 (a) Sections 53B.71 to 53B.74 do not apply to the exchange, transfer, or storage of virtual​

85.31 currency or to virtual-currency administration to the extent the Electronic Fund Transfer​
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86.1 Act of 1978, United States Code, title 15, sections 1693 to 1693r, as amended or recodified​

86.2 from time to time; the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, United States Code, title 15, sections​

86.3 78a to 78oo, as amended or recodified from time to time; the Commodities Exchange Act​

86.4 of 1936, United States Code, title 7, sections 1 to 27f, as amended or recodified from time​

86.5 to time; or chapter 80A govern the activity.​

86.6 (b) Sections 53B.71 to 53B.74 do not apply to activity by:​

86.7 (1) a person that:​

86.8 (i) contributes only connectivity software or computing power to a decentralized virtual​

86.9 currency, or to a protocol governing transfer of the digital representation of value;​

86.10 (ii) provides only data storage or security services for a business engaged in​

86.11 virtual-currency business activity and does not otherwise engage in virtual-currency business​

86.12 activity on behalf of another person; or​

86.13 (iii) provides only to a person otherwise exempt from this chapter virtual currency as​

86.14 one or more enterprise solutions used solely among each other and has no agreement or​

86.15 relationship with a person that is an end-user of virtual currency;​

86.16 (2) a person using virtual currency, including creating, investing, buying or selling, or​

86.17 obtaining virtual currency as payment for the purchase or sale of goods or services, solely:​

86.18 (i) on the person's own behalf;​

86.19 (ii) for personal, family, or household purposes; or​

86.20 (iii) for academic purposes;​

86.21 (3) a person whose virtual-currency business activity with or on behalf of persons is​

86.22 reasonably expected to be valued, in the aggregate, on an annual basis at $5,000 or less,​

86.23 measured by the United States dollar equivalent of virtual currency;​

86.24 (4) an attorney to the extent of providing escrow services to a person;​

86.25 (5) a title insurance company to the extent of providing escrow services to a person; or​

86.26 (6) a securities intermediary, as defined under section 336.8-102(14), or a commodity​

86.27 intermediary, as defined under section 336.9-102(17), that:​

86.28 (i) does not engage in the ordinary course of business in virtual-currency business activity​

86.29 with or on behalf of a person in addition to maintaining securities accounts or commodities​

86.30 accounts and is regulated as a securities intermediary or commodity intermediary under​

86.31 federal law, law of Minnesota other than this chapter, or law of another state; and​
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87.1 (ii) affords a person protections comparable to those set forth under section 53B.37.​

87.2 (c) Sections 53B.71 to 53B.74 do not apply to a secured creditor, as defined under​

87.3 sections 336.9-101 to 336.9-809 or to a creditor with a judicial lien or lien arising by​

87.4 operation of law on collateral that is virtual currency, if the virtual-currency business activity​

87.5 of the creditor is limited to enforcement of the security interest in compliance with sections​

87.6 336.9-101 to 336.9-809 or lien in compliance with the law applicable to the lien.​

87.7 (d) Sections 53B.71 to 53B.74 do not apply to a virtual-currency control-services vendor.​

87.8 (e) Sections 53B.71 to 53B.74 do not apply to a person that:​

87.9 (1) does not receive compensation from a person to:​

87.10 (i) provide virtual-currency products or services; or​

87.11 (ii) conduct virtual-currency business activity; or​

87.12 (2) is engaged in testing products or services with the person's own money.​

87.13 (f) The commissioner may determine that a person or class of persons, given facts​

87.14 particular to the person or class, should be exempt from this chapter, whether the person or​

87.15 class is covered by requirements imposed under federal law on a money-service business.​

87.16 Sec. 45. [53B.71] VIRTUAL CURRENCY BUSINESS ACTIVITY; CONDITIONS​

87.17 PRECEDENT.​

87.18 (a) A person may not engage in virtual-currency business activity, or hold itself out as​

87.19 being able to engage in virtual-currency business activity, with or on behalf of another​

87.20 person unless the person is:​

87.21 (1) licensed in Minnesota by the commissioner under section 53B.40; or​

87.22 (2) exempt from licensing under section 53B.29.​

87.23 (b) A person that is licensed to engage in virtual-currency business activity is engaged​

87.24 in the business of money transmission and is subject to the requirements of this chapter.​

87.25 Sec. 46. [53B.72] REQUIRED DISCLOSURES.​

87.26 (a) A licensee that engages in virtual currency business activity must provide to a person​

87.27 who uses the licensee's products or services the disclosures required by paragraph (b) and​

87.28 any additional disclosure the commissioner by administrative rule determines reasonably​

87.29 necessary to protect persons. The commissioner must determine by administrative rule the​

87.30 time and form required for disclosure. A disclosure required by this section must be made​
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88.1 separately from any other information provided by the licensee and in a clear and conspicuous​

88.2 manner in a record the person may keep. A licensee may propose for the commissioner's​

88.3 approval alternate disclosures as more appropriate for the licensee's virtual-currency business​

88.4 activity with or on behalf of persons.​

88.5 (b) Before establishing a relationship with a person, a licensee must disclose, to the​

88.6 extent applicable to the virtual-currency business activity the licensee undertakes with the​

88.7 person:​

88.8 (1) a schedule of fees and charges the licensee may assess, the manner by which fees​

88.9 and charges are calculated if the fees and charges are not set in advance and disclosed, and​

88.10 the timing of the fees and charges;​

88.11 (2) whether the product or service provided by the licensee is covered by:​

88.12 (i) a form of insurance or is otherwise guaranteed against loss by an agency of the United​

88.13 States:​

88.14 (A) up to the full United States dollar equivalent of virtual currency purchased from the​

88.15 licensee or for control of virtual currency by the licensee as of the date of the placement or​

88.16 purchase, including the maximum amount provided by insurance under the Federal Deposit​

88.17 Insurance Corporation or otherwise available from the Securities Investor Protection​

88.18 Corporation; or​

88.19 (B) if not provided at the full United States dollar equivalent of virtual currency purchased​

88.20 from the licensee or for control of virtual currency by the licensee, the maximum amount​

88.21 of coverage for each person expressed in the United States dollar equivalent of the virtual​

88.22 currency; or​

88.23 (ii) private insurance against theft or loss, including cyber theft or theft by other means;​

88.24 (3) the irrevocability of a transfer or exchange and any exception to irrevocability;​

88.25 (4) a description of:​

88.26 (i) liability for an unauthorized, mistaken, or accidental transfer or exchange;​

88.27 (ii) the person's responsibility to provide notice to the licensee of the transfer or exchange;​

88.28 (iii) the basis for any recovery by the person from the licensee;​

88.29 (iv) general error-resolution rights applicable to the transfer or exchange; and​

88.30 (v) the method for the person to update the person's contact information with the licensee;​
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89.1 (5) that the date or time when the transfer or exchange is made and the person's account​

89.2 is debited may differ from the date or time when the person initiates the instruction to make​

89.3 the transfer or exchange;​

89.4 (6) whether the person has a right to stop a preauthorized payment or revoke authorization​

89.5 for a transfer, and the procedure to initiate a stop-payment order or revoke authorization​

89.6 for a subsequent transfer;​

89.7 (7) the person's right to receive a receipt, trade ticket, or other evidence of the transfer​

89.8 or exchange;​

89.9 (8) the person's right to at least 30 days' prior notice of a change in the licensee's fee​

89.10 schedule, other terms and conditions of operating the licensee's virtual-currency business​

89.11 activity with the person, and the policies applicable to the person's account; and​

89.12 (9) that virtual currency is not money.​

89.13 (c) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (d), at the conclusion of a virtual-currency​

89.14 transaction with or on behalf of a person, a licensee must provide the person a confirmation​

89.15 in a record. The record must contain:​

89.16 (1) the name and contact information of the licensee, including information the person​

89.17 may need to ask a question or file a complaint;​

89.18 (2) the type, value, date, precise time, and amount of the transaction; and​

89.19 (3) the fee charged for the transaction, including any charge for conversion of virtual​

89.20 currency to money, bank credit, or other virtual currency.​

89.21 (d) If a licensee discloses that it provides a daily confirmation in the initial disclosure​

89.22 under paragraph (c), the licensee may elect to provide a single, daily confirmation for all​

89.23 transactions with or on behalf of a person on that day instead of a per-transaction​

89.24 confirmation.​

89.25 Sec. 47. [53B.73] PROPERTY INTERESTS AND ENTITLEMENTS TO VIRTUAL​

89.26 CURRENCY.​

89.27 (a) A licensee that has control of virtual currency for one or more persons must maintain​

89.28 control of virtual currency in each type of virtual currency sufficient to satisfy the aggregate​

89.29 entitlements of the persons to the type of virtual currency.​

89.30 (b) If a licensee violates paragraph (a), the property interests of the persons in the virtual​

89.31 currency are pro rata property interests in the type of virtual currency to which the persons​
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90.1 are entitled, without regard to the time the persons became entitled to the virtual currency​

90.2 or the licensee obtained control of the virtual currency.​

90.3 (c) The virtual currency referred to in this section is:​

90.4 (1) held for the persons entitled to the virtual currency;​

90.5 (2) not property of the licensee;​

90.6 (3) not subject to the claims of creditors of the licensee; and​

90.7 (4) a permissible investment under this chapter.​

90.8 Sec. 48. [53B.74] VIRTUAL CURRENCY BUSINESS ACTIVITIES; ADDITIONAL​

90.9 REQUIREMENTS.​

90.10 (a) A licensee engaged in virtual currency business activities may include virtual currency​

90.11 in the licensee's calculation of tangible net worth, by measuring the average value of the​

90.12 virtual currency in United States dollar equivalent over the prior six months, excluding​

90.13 control of virtual currency for a person entitled to the protections under section 53B.73.​

90.14 (b) A licensee must maintain, for all virtual-currency business activity with or on behalf​

90.15 of a person five years after the date of the activity, a record of:​

90.16 (1) each of the licensee's transactions with or on behalf of the person, or for the licensee's​

90.17 account in Minnesota, including:​

90.18 (i) the identity of the person;​

90.19 (ii) the form of the transaction;​

90.20 (iii) the amount, date, and payment instructions given by the person; and​

90.21 (iv) the account number, name, and United States Postal Service address of the person,​

90.22 and, to the extent feasible, other parties to the transaction;​

90.23 (2) the aggregate number of transactions and aggregate value of transactions by the​

90.24 licensee with or on behalf of the person and for the licensee's account in this state, expressed​

90.25 in the United States dollar equivalent of the virtual currency for the previous 12 calendar​

90.26 months;​

90.27 (3) each transaction in which the licensee exchanges one form of virtual currency for​

90.28 money or another form of virtual currency with or on behalf of the person;​

90.29 (4) a general ledger posted at least monthly that lists all of the licensee's assets, liabilities,​

90.30 capital, income, and expenses;​
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91.1 (5) each business-call report the licensee is required to create or provide to the department​

91.2 or NMLS;​

91.3 (6) bank statements and bank reconciliation records for the licensee and the name,​

91.4 account number, and United States Postal Service address of each bank the licensee uses​

91.5 to conduct virtual-currency business activity with or on behalf of the person;​

91.6 (7) a report of any dispute with the person; and​

91.7 (8) a report of any virtual-currency business activity transaction with or on behalf of a​

91.8 person which the licensee was unable to complete.​

91.9 (c) A licensee must maintain records required by paragraph (b) in a form that enables​

91.10 the commissioner to determine whether the licensee is in compliance with this chapter, any​

91.11 court order, and law of Minnesota other than this chapter.​

91.12 Sec. 49. [58B.011] STUDENT LOAN ADVOCATE.​

91.13 Subdivision 1. Designation of a student loan advocate. The commissioner of commerce​

91.14 must designate a student loan advocate within the Department of Commerce to provide​

91.15 timely assistance to borrowers and to effectuate this chapter.​

91.16 Subd. 2. Duties. The student loan advocate has the following duties:​

91.17 (1) receive, review, and attempt to resolve complaints from borrowers, including but​

91.18 not limited to attempts to resolve borrower complaints in collaboration with institutions of​

91.19 higher education, student loan servicers, and any other participants in student loan lending;​

91.20 (2) compile and analyze data on borrower complaints received under clause (1);​

91.21 (3) help borrowers understand the rights and responsibilities under the terms of student​

91.22 loans;​

91.23 (4) provide information to the public, state agencies, legislators, and relevant stakeholders​

91.24 regarding the problems and concerns of borrowers;​

91.25 (5) make recommendations to resolve the problems of borrowers;​

91.26 (6) analyze and monitor the development and implementation of federal, state, and local​

91.27 laws, regulations, and policies relating to borrowers, and recommend any changes deemed​

91.28 necessary;​

91.29 (7) review the complete student loan history for any borrower who has provided written​

91.30 consent to conduct the review;​
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92.1 (8) increase public awareness that the advocate is available to assist in resolving the​

92.2 student loan servicing concerns of potential and actual borrowers, institutions of higher​

92.3 education, student loan servicers, and any other participant in student loan lending; and​

92.4 (9) take other actions as necessary to fulfill the duties of the advocate, as provided under​

92.5 this section.​

92.6 Subd. 3. Student loan education course. The advocate must establish and maintain a​

92.7 borrower education course. The course must include educational presentations and materials​

92.8 regarding important topics in student loans, including but not limited to:​

92.9 (1) the meaning of important terminology used in student lending;​

92.10 (2) documentation requirements;​

92.11 (3) monthly payment obligations;​

92.12 (4) income-based repayment options;​

92.13 (5) the availability of state and federal loan forgiveness programs; and​

92.14 (6) disclosure requirements.​

92.15 Subd. 4. Reporting. By January 15 of each odd-numbered year, the advocate must report​

92.16 to the legislative committees with jurisdiction over commerce and higher education. The​

92.17 report must describe the advocate's implementation of this section, the outcomes achieved​

92.18 by the advocate during the previous two years, and recommendations to improve the​

92.19 regulation of student loan servicers.​

92.20 Sec. 50. REPEALER.​

92.21 Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 53B.01; 53B.02; 53B.03; 53B.04; 53B.05; 53B.06;​

92.22 53B.07; 53B.08; 53B.09; 53B.10; 53B.11; 53B.12; 53B.13; 53B.14; 53B.15; 53B.16;​

92.23 53B.17; 53B.18; 53B.19; 53B.20; 53B.21; 53B.22; 53B.23; 53B.24; 53B.25; 53B.26; and​

92.24 53B.27, subdivisions 1, 2, 5, 6, and 7, are repealed.​

92.25 ARTICLE 4​

92.26 WEIGHTS AND MEASURES​

92.27 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 239.791, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

92.28 Subd. 8. Disclosure; reporting. (a) A refinery or terminal, shall provide, at the time​

92.29 gasoline is sold or transferred from the refinery or terminal, a bill of lading or shipping​

92.30 manifest to the person who receives the gasoline. For oxygenated gasoline, the bill of lading​
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93.1 or shipping manifest must include the identity and the volume percentage or gallons of​

93.2 oxygenate included in the gasoline, and it must state: "This fuel contains an oxygenate. Do​

93.3 not blend this fuel with ethanol or with any other oxygenate." For nonoxygenated gasoline​

93.4 sold or transferred after September 30, 1997, the bill or manifest must state: "This fuel is​

93.5 not oxygenated. It must not be sold at retail in Minnesota." This subdivision does not apply​

93.6 to sales or transfers of gasoline between refineries, between terminals, or between a refinery​

93.7 and a terminal.​

93.8 (b) A delivery ticket required under section 239.092 for biofuel blended with gasoline​

93.9 must state the volume percentage of biofuel blended into gasoline delivered through a meter​

93.10 into a storage tank used for dispensing by persons not exempt under subdivisions 10 to 14​

93.11 and 16.​

93.12 (c) On or before the 23rd day of each month, a person responsible for the product must​

93.13 report to the department, in the form prescribed by the commissioner, the gross number of​

93.14 gallons of intermediate blends sold at retail by the person during the preceding calendar​

93.15 month. The report must identify the number of gallons by blend type. For purposes of this​

93.16 subdivision, "intermediate blends" means blends of gasoline and biofuel in which the biofuel​

93.17 content, exclusive of denaturants and other permitted components, is greater than ten percent​

93.18 and no more than 50 percent by volume. This paragraph only applies to a person who is​

93.19 responsible for selling intermediate blends at retail at more than ten locations. A person​

93.20 responsible for the product at fewer than ten locations is not precluded from reporting the​

93.21 gross number of intermediate blends if a report is available.​

93.22 (d) All reports provided pursuant to paragraph (c) are nonpublic data as defined in section​

93.23 13.02, subdivision 9.​

93.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.​

93.25 ARTICLE 5​

93.26 CONSUMER PROTECTION​

93.27 Section 1. [13.6505] ATTORNEY GENERAL DATA CODED ELSEWHERE.​

93.28 Subdivision 1. Scope. The sections referred to in this section are codified outside this​

93.29 chapter. Those sections classify attorney general data as other than public, place restrictions​

93.30 on access to government data, or involve data sharing.​

93.31 Subd. 2. Data protection impact assessments. A data protection impact assessment​

93.32 collected or maintained by the attorney general under section 325O.04, is classified under​

93.33 section 325O.04, subdivision 4.​
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94.1 Sec. 2. [325O.01] CITATION; CONSTRUCTION.​

94.2 Subdivision 1. Citation. This chapter may be cited as the "Minnesota Age-Appropriate​

94.3 Design Code Act."​

94.4 Subd. 2. Construction. (a) A business that develops and provides online services,​

94.5 products, or features that children are likely to access must consider the best interests of​

94.6 children when designing, developing, and providing that online service, product, or feature.​

94.7 (b) If a conflict arises between commercial interests of a business and the best interests​

94.8 of children likely to access an online product, service, or feature, the business must prioritize​

94.9 the privacy, safety, and well-being of children over its commercial interests.​

94.10 Sec. 3. [325O.02] DEFINITIONS.​

94.11 (a) For purposes of this chapter, the following terms have the meanings given.​

94.12 (b) "Affiliate" means a legal entity that controls, is controlled by, or is under common​

94.13 control with, that other legal entity. For these purposes, "control" or "controlled" means:​

94.14 ownership of, or the power to vote, more than 50 percent of the outstanding shares of any​

94.15 class of voting security of a company; control in any manner over the election of a majority​

94.16 of the directors or of individuals exercising similar functions; or the power to exercise a​

94.17 controlling influence over the management of a company.​

94.18 (c) "Business" means:​

94.19 (1) a sole proprietorship, partnership, limited liability company, corporation, association,​

94.20 or other legal entity that is organized or operated for the profit or financial benefit of its​

94.21 shareholders or other owners; and​

94.22 (2) an affiliate of a business that shares common branding with the business. For purposes​

94.23 of this clause, "common branding" means a shared name, servicemark, or trademark that​

94.24 the average consumer would understand that two or more entities are commonly owned.​

94.25 For purposes of this chapter, for a joint venture or partnership composed of businesses in​

94.26 which each business has at least a 40 percent interest, the joint venture or partnership and​

94.27 each business that composes the joint venture or partnership shall separately be considered​

94.28 a single business, except that personal data in the possession of each business and disclosed​

94.29 to the joint venture or partnership must not be shared with the other business.​

94.30 (d) "Child" means a consumer who is under 18 years of age.​
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95.1 (e) "Collect" means buying, renting, gathering, obtaining, receiving, or accessing any​

95.2 personal data pertaining to a consumer by any means. This includes receiving data from the​

95.3 consumer, either actively or passively, or by observing the consumer's behavior.​

95.4 (f) "Consumer" means a natural person who is a Minnesota resident, however identified,​

95.5 including by any unique identifier.​

95.6 (g) "Dark pattern" means a user interface designed or manipulated with the substantial​

95.7 effect of subverting or impairing user autonomy, decision making, or choice.​

95.8 (h) "Data protection impact assessment" means a systematic survey to assess and mitigate​

95.9 risks to children who are reasonably likely to access the online service, product, or feature​

95.10 that arise from the data management practices of the business.​

95.11 (i) "Default" means a preselected option adopted by the business for the online service,​

95.12 product, or feature.​

95.13 (j) "Deidentified" means data that cannot reasonably be used to infer information about,​

95.14 or otherwise be linked to, an identified or identifiable natural person, or a device linked to​

95.15 such person, provided that the business that possesses the data:​

95.16 (1) takes reasonable measures to ensure that the data cannot be associated with a natural​

95.17 person;​

95.18 (2) publicly commits to maintain and use the data only in a deidentified fashion and not​

95.19 attempt to reidentify the data; and​

95.20 (3) contractually obligates any recipients of the data to comply with all provisions of​

95.21 this paragraph.​

95.22 (k) "Likely to be accessed by children" means an online service, product, or feature that​

95.23 it is reasonable to expect would be accessed by children based on any of the following​

95.24 indicators:​

95.25 (1) the online service, product, or feature is directed to children, as defined by the​

95.26 Children's Online Privacy Protection Act, United States Code, title 15, section 6501 et seq.;​

95.27 (2) the online service, product, or feature is determined, based on competent and reliable​

95.28 evidence regarding audience composition, to be routinely accessed by a significant number​

95.29 of children;​

95.30 (3) the online service, product, or feature contains advertisements marketed to children;​

95.31 (4) the online service, product, or feature is substantially similar or the same as an online​

95.32 service, product, or feature subject to clause (2);​
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96.1 (5) the online service, product, or feature has design elements that are known to be of​

96.2 interest to children, including but not limited to games, cartoons, music, and celebrities who​

96.3 appeal to children; or​

96.4 (6) a significant amount of the audience of the online service, product, or feature is​

96.5 determined, based on internal company research, to be children.​

96.6 (l) "Online service, product, or feature" does not mean any of the following:​

96.7 (1) telecommunications service, as defined in United States Code, title 47, section 153;​

96.8 (2) a broadband service as defined by section 116J.39, subdivision 1; or​

96.9 (3) the delivery or use of a physical product.​

96.10 (m) "Personal data" means any information that is linked or reasonably linkable to an​

96.11 identified or identifiable natural person. Personal data does not include deidentified data or​

96.12 publicly available information. For purposes of this paragraph, "publicly available​

96.13 information" means information that (1) is lawfully made available from federal, state, or​

96.14 local government records or widely distributed media, and (2) a controller has a reasonable​

96.15 basis to believe a consumer has lawfully made available to the general public.​

96.16 (n) "Precise geolocation" means any data that is derived from a device and that is used​

96.17 or intended to be used to locate a consumer within a geographic area that is equal to or less​

96.18 than the area of a circle with a radius of 1,850 feet, except as prescribed by regulations.​

96.19 (o) "Process" or "processing" means any operation or set of operations that are performed​

96.20 on personal data or on sets of personal data, whether or not by automated means, such as​

96.21 the collection, use, storage, disclosure, analysis, deletion, or modification of personal data.​

96.22 (p) "Profiling" means any form of automated processing of personal data to evaluate,​

96.23 analyze, or predict personal aspects concerning an identified or identifiable natural person's​

96.24 economic situation, health, personal preferences, interests, reliability, behavior, location,​

96.25 or movements.​

96.26 (q) "Sale," "sell," or "sold" means the exchange of personal data for monetary or other​

96.27 valuable consideration by a business to a third party. Sale does not include the following:​

96.28 (1) the disclosure of personal data to a third party who processes the personal data on​

96.29 behalf of the business;​

96.30 (2) the disclosure of personal data to a third party with whom the consumer has a direct​

96.31 relationship for purposes of providing a product or service requested by the consumer;​

96.32 (3) the disclosure or transfer of personal data to an affiliate of the business;​
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97.1 (4) the disclosure of data that the consumer intentionally made available to the general​

97.2 public via a channel of mass media and did not restrict to a specific audience; or​

97.3 (5) the disclosure or transfer of personal data to a third party as an asset that is part of a​

97.4 completed or proposed merger, acquisition, bankruptcy, or other transaction in which the​

97.5 third party assumes control of all or part of the business's assets.​

97.6 (r) "Share" means sharing, renting, releasing, disclosing, disseminating, making available,​

97.7 transferring, or otherwise communicating orally, in writing, or by electronic or other means​

97.8 a consumer's personal data by the business to a third party for cross-context behavioral​

97.9 advertising, whether or not for monetary or other valuable consideration, including​

97.10 transactions between a business and a third party for cross-context behavioral advertising​

97.11 for the benefit of a business in which no money is exchanged.​

97.12 (s) "Third party" means a natural or legal person, public authority, agency, or body other​

97.13 than the consumer or the business.​

97.14 Sec. 4. [325O.03] SCOPE; EXCLUSIONS.​

97.15 (a) A business is subject to this chapter if it:​

97.16 (1) collects consumers' personal data or has consumers' personal data collected on its​

97.17 behalf by a third party;​

97.18 (2) alone or jointly with others, determines the purposes and means of the processing​

97.19 of consumers' personal data;​

97.20 (3) does business in Minnesota; and​

97.21 (4) satisfies one or more of the following thresholds:​

97.22 (i) has annual gross revenues in excess of $25,000,000, as adjusted every odd-numbered​

97.23 year to reflect the Consumer Price Index;​

97.24 (ii) alone or in combination, annually buys, receives for the business's commercial​

97.25 purposes, sells, or shares for commercial purposes, alone or in combination, the personal​

97.26 data of 50,000 or more consumers, households, or devices; or​

97.27 (iii) derives 50 percent or more of its annual revenues from selling consumers' personal​

97.28 data.​

97.29 (b) This chapter does not apply to:​

97.30 (1) protected health information that is collected by a covered entity or business associate​

97.31 governed by the privacy, security, and breach notification rules issued by the United States​
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98.1 Department of Health and Human Services, Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, parts 160​

98.2 and 164, established pursuant to the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act​

98.3 of 1996, Public Law 104-191, and the Health Information Technology for Economic and​

98.4 Clinical Health Act, Public Law 111-5;​

98.5 (2) a covered entity governed by the privacy, security, and breach notification rules​

98.6 issued by the United States Department of Health and Human Services, Code of Federal​

98.7 Regulations, title 45, parts 160 and 164, established pursuant to the Health Insurance​

98.8 Portability and Accountability Act of 1996, Public Law 104-191, to the extent the provider​

98.9 or covered entity maintains patient information in the same manner as medical information​

98.10 or protected health information as described in clause (1); or​

98.11 (3) information collected as part of a clinical trial subject to the federal policy for the​

98.12 protection of human subjects, also known as the common rule, pursuant to good clinical​

98.13 practice guidelines issued by the International Council for Harmonisation or pursuant to​

98.14 human subject protection requirements of the United States Food and Drug Administration.​

98.15 Sec. 5. [325O.04] BUSINESS OBLIGATIONS.​

98.16 Subdivision 1. Requirements for businesses. A business that provides an online service,​

98.17 product, or feature likely to be accessed by children must:​

98.18 (1) before any new online services, products, or features are offered to the public,​

98.19 complete a data protection impact assessment for any online service, product, or feature​

98.20 likely to be accessed by children and maintain documentation of this assessment as long as​

98.21 the online service, product, or feature is likely to be accessed by children;​

98.22 (2) biennially review all data protection impact assessments;​

98.23 (3) document any risk of material detriment to children that arises from the data​

98.24 management practices of the business identified in the data protection impact assessment​

98.25 required by clause (1) and create a timed plan to mitigate or eliminate the risk before the​

98.26 online service, product, or feature is accessed by children;​

98.27 (4) within three business days of a written request by the attorney general, provide to​

98.28 the attorney general a list of all data protection impact assessments the business has​

98.29 completed;​

98.30 (5) within five business days of a written request by the attorney general, provide the​

98.31 attorney general with a copy of any data protection impact assessment;​
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99.1 (6) estimate the age of child users with a reasonable level of certainty appropriate to the​

99.2 risks that arise from the data management practices of the business or apply the privacy and​

99.3 data protections afforded to children to all consumers;​

99.4 (7) configure all default privacy settings provided to children by the online service,​

99.5 product, or feature to settings that offer a high level of privacy, unless the business can​

99.6 demonstrate a compelling reason that a different setting is in the best interests of children;​

99.7 (8) provide any privacy information, terms of service, policies, and community standards​

99.8 concisely, prominently, and using clear language suited to the age of children likely to​

99.9 access that online service, product, or feature;​

99.10 (9) if the online service, product, or feature allows a child's parent, guardian, or any​

99.11 other consumer to monitor the child's online activity or track the child's location, provide​

99.12 an obvious signal to the child when the child is being monitored or tracked;​

99.13 (10) enforce published terms, policies, and community standards established by the​

99.14 business, including but not limited to privacy policies and those concerning children; and​

99.15 (11) provide prominent, accessible, and responsive tools to help children, or if applicable​

99.16 their parents or guardians, exercise their privacy rights and report concerns.​

99.17 Subd. 2. Data protection impact assessments; requirements. (a) A data protection​

99.18 impact assessment required by this section must:​

99.19 (1) identify the purpose of the online service, product, or feature; how it uses children's​

99.20 personal data; and the risks of material detriment to children that arise from the data​

99.21 management practices of the business; and​

99.22 (2) address, to the extent applicable:​

99.23 (i) whether the design of the online product, service, or feature could harm children,​

99.24 including by exposing children to harmful, or potentially harmful, content on the online​

99.25 product, service, or feature;​

99.26 (ii) whether the design of the online product, service, or feature could lead to children​

99.27 experiencing or being targeted by harmful, or potentially harmful, contacts on the online​

99.28 product, service, or feature;​

99.29 (iii) whether the design of the online product, service, or feature could permit children​

99.30 to witness, participate in, or be subject to harmful, or potentially harmful, conduct on the​

99.31 online product, service, or feature;​
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100.1 (iv) whether the design of the online product, service, or feature could allow children​

100.2 to be party to or exploited by a harmful, or potentially harmful, contact on the online product,​

100.3 service, or feature;​

100.4 (v) whether algorithms used by the online product, service, or feature could harm children;​

100.5 (vi) whether targeted advertising systems used by the online product, service, or feature​

100.6 could harm children;​

100.7 (vii) whether and how the online product, service, or feature uses system design features​

100.8 to increase, sustain, or extend use of the online product, service, or feature by children,​

100.9 including the automatic playing of media, rewards for time spent, and notifications; and​

100.10 (viii) whether, how, and for what purpose the online product, service, or feature collects​

100.11 or processes personal data of children.​

100.12 (b) A data protection impact assessment conducted by a business for the purpose of​

100.13 compliance with any other law complies with this section if the data protection impact​

100.14 assessment meets the requirements of this chapter.​

100.15 (c) A single data protection impact assessment may contain multiple similar processing​

100.16 operations that present similar risks only if each relevant online service, product, or feature​

100.17 is addressed.​

100.18 Subd. 3. Prohibitions on businesses. A business that provides an online service, product,​

100.19 or feature likely to be accessed by children must not:​

100.20 (1) use the personal data of any child in a way that the business knows, or has reason to​

100.21 know, is materially detrimental to the physical health, mental health, or well-being of a​

100.22 child;​

100.23 (2) profile a child by default unless both of the following criteria are met:​

100.24 (i) the business can demonstrate it has appropriate safeguards in place to protect children;​

100.25 and​

100.26 (ii) either of the following is true:​

100.27 (A) profiling is necessary to provide the online service, product, or feature requested​

100.28 and only with respect to the aspects of the online service, product, or feature with which a​

100.29 child is actively and knowingly engaged; or​

100.30 (B) the business can demonstrate a compelling reason that profiling is in the best interests​

100.31 of children;​
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101.1 (3) collect, sell, share, or retain any personal data that is not necessary to provide an​

101.2 online service, product, or feature with which a child is actively and knowingly engaged,​

101.3 or as described below, unless the business can demonstrate a compelling reason that the​

101.4 collecting, selling, sharing, or retaining of the personal data is in the best interests of children​

101.5 likely to access the online service, product, or feature;​

101.6 (4) if the end user is a child, use personal data for any reason other than a reason for​

101.7 which that personal data was collected, unless the business can demonstrate a compelling​

101.8 reason that use of the personal data is in the best interests of children;​

101.9 (5) collect, sell, or share any precise geolocation information of children by default,​

101.10 unless the collection of that precise geolocation information is strictly necessary for the​

101.11 business to provide the service, product, or feature requested and then only for the limited​

101.12 time that the collection of precise geolocation information is necessary to provide the service,​

101.13 product, or feature;​

101.14 (6) collect any precise geolocation information of a child without providing an obvious​

101.15 sign to the child for the duration of that collection that precise geolocation information is​

101.16 being collected;​

101.17 (7) use dark patterns to lead or encourage children to provide personal data beyond what​

101.18 is reasonably expected to provide that online service, product, or feature to forego privacy​

101.19 protections, or to take any action that the business knows, or has reason to know, is materially​

101.20 detrimental to the child's physical health, mental health, or well-being; or​

101.21 (8) use any personal data collected to estimate age or age range for any purpose other​

101.22 than to fulfill the requirements of subdivision 1, clause (6), or retain that personal data longer​

101.23 than necessary to estimate age. Age assurance must be proportionate to the risks and data​

101.24 practice of an online service, product, or feature.​

101.25 Subd. 4. Data practices. (a) A data protection impact assessment collected or maintained​

101.26 by the attorney general under subdivision 1 is classified as nonpublic data or private data​

101.27 on individuals under section 13.02, subdivisions 9 and 12.​

101.28 (b) To the extent any information contained in a data protection impact assessment​

101.29 disclosed to the attorney general includes information subject to attorney-client privilege​

101.30 or work product protection, disclosure pursuant to this section does not constitute a waiver​

101.31 of that privilege or protection.​
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102.1 Sec. 6. [325O.05] ATTORNEY GENERAL ENFORCEMENT.​

102.2 (a) A business that violates this chapter may be subject to an injunction and liable for a​

102.3 civil penalty of not more than $2,500 per affected child for each negligent violation, or not​

102.4 more than $7,500 per affected child for each intentional violation, which may be assessed​

102.5 and recovered only in a civil action brought by the attorney general in accordance with​

102.6 section 8.31. If the state prevails in an action to enforce this chapter, the state may, in addition​

102.7 to penalties provided by this paragraph or other remedies provided by law, be allowed an​

102.8 amount determined by the court to be the reasonable value of all or part of the state's litigation​

102.9 expenses incurred.​

102.10 (b) Any penalties, fees, and expenses recovered in an action brought under this chapter​

102.11 must be deposited in an account in the special revenue fund and are appropriated to the​

102.12 attorney general to offset costs incurred by the attorney general in connection with​

102.13 enforcement of this chapter.​

102.14 (c) If a business is in substantial compliance with the requirements of section 325O.04,​

102.15 subdivision 1, clauses (1) to (5), the attorney general must, before initiating a civil action​

102.16 under this section, provide written notice to the business identifying the specific provisions​

102.17 of this chapter that the attorney general alleges have been or are being violated. If, within​

102.18 90 days of the notice required by this paragraph, the business cures any noticed violation​

102.19 and provides the attorney general a written statement that the alleged violations have been​

102.20 cured, and sufficient measures have been taken to prevent future violations, the business is​

102.21 not liable for a civil penalty for any violation cured pursuant to this section.​

102.22 (d) Nothing in this chapter provides a private right of action under this chapter, section​

102.23 8.31, or any other law.​

102.24 Sec. 7. EFFECTIVE DATE.​

102.25 (a) This article is effective July 1, 2024.​

102.26 (b) By July 1, 2025, a business must complete a data protection impact assessment for​

102.27 any online service, product, or feature likely to be accessed by children offered to the public​

102.28 before July 1, 2024, unless that online service, product, or feature is exempt under paragraph​

102.29 (c).​

102.30 (c) This article does not apply to an online service, product, or feature that is not offered​

102.31 to the public on or after July 1, 2024."​

102.32 Amend the title accordingly​
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