

Chair

Matt D. Klein 2105 Minnesota Senate Building St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-4370 sen.matt.klein@senate.mn

Vice Chair

Judy Seeberger

Ranking Minority Member

Gary H. Dahms

Members

Zach Duckworth Nick A. Frentz Jeff R. Howe Ron Latz Jordan Rasmusson Melissa H. Wiklund Tou Xiong

**Committee Staff:** 

Committee Administrator

Bill Lunzer (651) 296-2090 bill.lunzer@senate.mn

## Committee Legislative Assistant

Tyler Kline (651) 296-4370 tyler.kline@senate.mn

## Caucus Research

Amanda Pedersen (DFL) Linnea Michaelson (R)

Counsel

Nolan Hudalla

Fiscal Analyst

Hannah Grunewald Noeldner

## **Minnesota Senate Commerce and Consumer Protection Committee**

Tuesday February 28, 2023 12:30 p.m. Room G-15 Capitol

## **AGENDA**

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. S.F. 1598 (Kupec) Digital Fair Repair Act
  - Corey Donovan, Alta Technologies
  - Tim Velde, MN Farmers Union Officer
  - Dustin Siemers, Tech Fixers, Shakopee
  - Jen Larson, Vibrant Technologies
  - Tammy Gilliard, Minnesota Tech for Success
  - Emily Barker, ReUSE Minnesota
  - Chris Olson, Repowered
  - Brian Martinson, Solid Waste Administrators Assoc. of MN
  - David Fisch, MN Electronic Security and Technology Systems Association (MNESTA)
  - Dan Glessing, President of Minnesota Farm Bureau
  - J.R. Burke, Director of State Government Affairs Polaris
  - Lisa Volpe McCabe, CTIA
  - Tyler Diers, TechNet
  - Todd Martin, Arnolds
  - John Weber, RDO Equipment
  - Tom Schuneman, Kibble Equipment
  - Ben Pias, Titan Machinery
  - Matthew Larsgaard, President, Pioneer Equipment Dealers
  - John Keane, Association of Home Appliance Manufacturers
  - Andrew O'Connor, State Government Affairs Director for the Entertainment Software Association
- 3. S.F. 1635 (Seeberger) Interest rates regulation for consumer short-term and small loans
  - Pastor Runney Patterson, Pastor of New Hope Baptist Church and President of the MN State Baptist Convention
  - Desiree Smith, former payday borrower
  - Debra Hurston, Executive Director of Association for Black Economic Power (ABEP) and board member for Arise Credit Union
  - Christina Volkers, City Administrator, City of Oakdale
  - Deacon Tim Dolan, Catholic Diocese of New Ulm
  - Kent Kaiser, Domestic Policy Caucus
  - Paul Cassidy, Director of Government Relations at Stinson LLP
  - Maya Latrice Wright, Payday America Customer
  - Jack Radomski, a student at the University of Minnesota
  - Erik Simonson, Populus Financial
- 4. S.F. 1775 (Seeberger) Loan resolution and financial stability program and character-based innovative loan program appropriation
  - Anne Leland Clark, Executive Director, Exodus Lending
  - Susan Schroeder, Deputy Director of Programs and Services, Neighbors Inc
- 5. Adjournment

**Minnesota Senate Commerce and Consumer Protection Committee**