
1.1 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 35.155, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

1.2 Subdivision 1. Running at large prohibited. (a) An owner may not allow farmed​

1.3 Cervidae to run at large. The owner must make all reasonable efforts to return escaped​

1.4 farmed Cervidae to their enclosures as soon as possible. The owner must immediately notify​

1.5 the commissioner of natural resources of the escape of farmed Cervidae if the farmed​

1.6 Cervidae are not returned or captured by the owner within 24 hours of their escape.​

1.7 (b) An owner is liable for expenses of another person in capturing, caring for, and​

1.8 returning farmed Cervidae that have left their enclosures if the person capturing the farmed​

1.9 Cervidae contacts the owner as soon as possible.​

1.10 (c) If an owner is unwilling or unable to capture escaped farmed Cervidae, the​

1.11 commissioner of natural resources may destroy the escaped farmed Cervidae. The​

1.12 commissioner of natural resources must allow the owner to attempt to capture the escaped​

1.13 farmed Cervidae prior to destroying the farmed Cervidae. Farmed Cervidae that are not​

1.14 captured by 24 hours after escape may be destroyed.​

1.15 (d) A hunter licensed by the commissioner of natural resources under chapter 97A may​

1.16 kill and possess escaped farmed Cervidae in a lawful manner and is not liable to the owner​

1.17 for the loss of the animal.​

1.18 (e) Escaped farmed Cervidae killed by a hunter or destroyed by the commissioner of​

1.19 natural resources must be tested for chronic wasting disease.​

1.20 (f) The owner is responsible for proper disposal, as determined by the board, of farmed​

1.21 Cervidae that are killed or destroyed under this subdivision and test positive for chronic​

1.22 wasting disease.​

1.23 (g) An owner is liable for any additional costs associated with escaped farmed Cervidae​

1.24 that are infected with chronic wasting disease. This paragraph may be enforced by the​

1.25 attorney general on behalf of any state agency affected.​

1.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 1, 2023.​

1.27 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 35.155, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

1.28 Subd. 4. Fencing. Farmed Cervidae must be confined in a manner designed to prevent​

1.29 escape. All perimeter fences for farmed Cervidae must be at least 96 inches in height and​

1.30 be constructed and maintained in a way that prevents the escape of farmed Cervidae or,​

1.31 entry into the premises by free-roaming Cervidae, and physical contact between farmed​

1.32 Cervidae and free-roaming Cervidae. The Board of Animal Health may determine whether​
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2.1 the construction and maintenance of fencing is adequate under this subdivision and may​

2.2 compel corrective action where it determines fencing is inadequate. After July 1, 2019, All​

2.3 new fencing installed and all fencing used to repair deficiencies must be high tensile. By​

2.4 December 1, 2019, All entry areas for farmed Cervidae enclosure areas must have two​

2.5 redundant gates, which must be maintained to prevent the escape of animals through an​

2.6 open gate. If a fence deficiency allows entry or exit by farmed or wild Cervidae, the owner​

2.7 must immediately repair the deficiency. All other deficiencies must be repaired within a​

2.8 reasonable time, as determined by the Board of Animal Health, not to exceed 45 14 days.​

2.9 If a fence deficiency is detected during an inspection, the facility must be reinspected at​

2.10 least once in the subsequent three months. The farmed Cervidae owner must pay a​

2.11 reinspection fee equal to one-half the applicable annual inspection fee under subdivision​

2.12 7a for each reinspection related to a fence violation. If the facility experiences more than​

2.13 one escape incident in any six-month period or fails to correct a deficiency found during​

2.14 an inspection, the board may revoke the facility's registration and order the owner to remove​

2.15 or destroy the animals as directed by the board. If the board revokes a facility's registration,​

2.16 the commissioner of natural resources may seize and destroy animals at the facility.​

2.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 1, 2024.​

2.18 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 35.155, subdivision 10, is amended to read:​

2.19 Subd. 10. Mandatory registration. (a) A person may not possess live Cervidae in​

2.20 Minnesota unless the person is registered with the Board of Animal Health and meets all​

2.21 the requirements for farmed Cervidae under this section. Cervidae possessed in violation​

2.22 of this subdivision may be seized and destroyed by the commissioner of natural resources.​

2.23 (b) A person whose registration is revoked by the board is ineligible for future registration​

2.24 under this section unless the board determines that the person has undertaken measures that​

2.25 make future escapes extremely unlikely.​

2.26 (c) The board must not allow new registrations under this section for possessing​

2.27 white-tailed deer. A valid registration may be sold or transferred only once under this​

2.28 paragraph. Before the board approves a sale or transfer under this paragraph, the board must​

2.29 verify that the herd is free from chronic wasting disease.​

2.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​
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3.1 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 35.155, subdivision 11, is amended to read:​

3.2 Subd. 11. Mandatory surveillance for chronic wasting disease; depopulation. (a)​

3.3 An inventory for each farmed Cervidae herd must be verified by an accredited veterinarian​

3.4 and filed with the Board of Animal Health every 12 months.​

3.5 (b) Movement of farmed Cervidae from any premises to another location must be reported​

3.6 to the Board of Animal Health within 14 days of the movement on forms approved by the​

3.7 Board of Animal Health. A person must not move farmed white-tailed deer from a herd that​

3.8 tests positive for chronic wasting disease from any premises to another location.​

3.9 (c) All animals from farmed Cervidae herds that are over 12 six months of age that die​

3.10 or are slaughtered must be tested for chronic wasting disease.​

3.11 (d) The owner of a premises where chronic wasting disease is detected must:​

3.12 (1) allow and cooperate with inspections of the premises as determined by the Board of​

3.13 Animal Health and Department of Natural Resources conservation officers and wildlife​

3.14 managers;​

3.15 (1) (2) depopulate the premises of Cervidae after the federal indemnification process​

3.16 has been completed or, if an indemnification application is not submitted, within a reasonable​

3.17 time determined by the board in consultation with the commissioner of natural resources​

3.18 30 days;​

3.19 (2) (3) maintain the fencing required under subdivision 4 on the premises for five ten​

3.20 years after the date of detection; and​

3.21 (3) (4) post the fencing on the premises with biohazard signs as directed by the board.;​

3.22 (5) not raise farmed Cervidae on the premises for at least ten years;​

3.23 (6) before signing an agreement to sell or transfer the property, disclose in writing to​

3.24 the buyer or transferee the date of depopulation and the requirements incumbent upon the​

3.25 premises and the buyer or transferee under this paragraph; and​

3.26 (7) record with the county recorder or registrar of titles as appropriate, in the county​

3.27 where the premises is located, a notice, in the form required by the board that meets the​

3.28 recording requirements of sections 507.093 and 507.24, and that includes the nearest address​

3.29 and the legal description of the premises, the date of detection, the date of depopulation,​

3.30 the landowner requirements under this paragraph, and any other information required by​

3.31 the board. The legal description must be the legal description of record with the county​

3.32 recorder or registrar of titles and must not otherwise be the real estate tax statement legal​
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4.1 description for the premises. The notice expires and has no effect ten years after the date​

4.2 of detection stated in the notice. An expired notice must be omitted by the registrar of titles​

4.3 from future certificates of title.​

4.4 (e) An owner of farmed Cervidae that test positive for chronic wasting disease is​

4.5 responsible for proper disposal of the animals, as determined by the board.​

4.6 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 35.155, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

4.7 read:​

4.8 Subd. 11a. Liability. (a) A herd owner is liable in a civil action to a person injured by​

4.9 the owner's sale or unlawful disposal of farmed Cervidae if the herd owner knew or​

4.10 reasonably should have known that the farmed Cervidae were infected with or exposed to​

4.11 chronic wasting disease. Action may be brought in a county where the farmed Cervidae are​

4.12 sold, delivered, or unlawfully disposed.​

4.13 (b) A herd owner is liable to the state for costs associated with the owner's unlawful​

4.14 disposal of farmed Cervidae infected with or exposed to chronic wasting disease. This​

4.15 paragraph may be enforced by the attorney general on behalf of any state agency affected.​

4.16 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 35.155, subdivision 12, is amended to read:​

4.17 Subd. 12. Importation. (a) A person must not import live Cervidae or Cervidae semen​

4.18 into the state from a herd that is:​

4.19 (1) infected with or has been exposed to chronic wasting disease; or​

4.20 (2) from a known state or province where chronic wasting disease endemic area, as​

4.21 determined by the board is present in farmed or wild Cervidae populations.​

4.22 (b) A person may import live Cervidae or Cervidae semen into the state only from a​

4.23 herd that:​

4.24 (1) is not in a known located in a state or province where chronic wasting disease endemic​

4.25 area, as determined by the board, is present in farmed or wild Cervidae populations; and​

4.26 the herd​

4.27 (2) has been subject to a state or provincial approved state- or provincial-approved​

4.28 chronic wasting disease monitoring program for at least three years.​

4.29 (c) Cervidae or Cervidae semen imported in violation of this section may be seized and​

4.30 destroyed by the commissioner of natural resources.​
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5.1 (d) Nothing in this section prohibits a person from importing Cervidae semen from a​

5.2 herd certified as low-risk for chronic wasting disease under the chronic wasting disease​

5.3 voluntary herd certification program operated by the United States Department of​

5.4 Agriculture's Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service.​

5.5 (e) Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to prevent:​

5.6 (1) interstate transfer of animals between two facilities accredited by the Association of​

5.7 Zoos and Aquariums; or​

5.8 (2) importation of orphaned wild Cervidae for placement at an institution accredited by​

5.9 the Association of Zoos and Aquariums when approved on a case-by-case basis by the​

5.10 commissioner of natural resources.​

5.11 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 35.155, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

5.12 read:​

5.13 Subd. 15. Cooperation with Board of Animal Health. The commissioner of natural​

5.14 resources may contract with the Board of Animal Health to administer some or all of sections​

5.15 35.153 to 35.156 for farmed white-tailed deer.​

5.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2025.​

5.17 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 35.156, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

5.18 read:​

5.19 Subd. 3. Consultation required. The Board of Animal Health and the commissioner​

5.20 of natural resources must consult the Minnesota Center for Prion Research and Outreach​

5.21 at the University of Minnesota and incorporate peer-reviewed scientific information when​

5.22 administering and enforcing section 35.155 and associated rules pertaining to chronic wasting​

5.23 disease and farmed Cervidae.​

5.24 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 35.156, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

5.25 read:​

5.26 Subd. 4. Notice required. The Board of Animal Health must promptly notify affected​

5.27 local units of government and Tribal governments when an animal in a farmed Cervidae​

5.28 herd tests positive for chronic wasting disease.​
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6.1 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 35.156, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

6.2 read:​

6.3 Subd. 5. Annual testing required. (a) Once the United States Department of Agriculture​

6.4 has determined that the RT-QuIC test is capable of accurately detecting chronic wasting​

6.5 disease in white-tailed deer, the Board of Animal Health must have each farmed white-tailed​

6.6 deer possessed by a person registered under section 35.155 annually tested for chronic​

6.7 wasting disease using a real-time quaking-induced conversion (RT-QuIC) test offered by​

6.8 a public or private diagnostic laboratory. Live-animal testing must consist of an ear biopsy,​

6.9 the collection of which must be managed by the Board of Animal Health, with each laboratory​

6.10 reporting RT-QuIC results to both the commissioner of natural resources and the Board of​

6.11 Animal Health in the form required by both agencies. If a white-tailed deer tests positive,​

6.12 the owner must have the animal tested a second time using an RT-QuIC test performed on​

6.13 both a second ear biopsy and a tonsil or rectal biopsy.​

6.14 (b) If a farmed white-tailed deer tests positive using an RT-QuIC test performed on both​

6.15 a second ear biopsy and a tonsil or rectal biopsy, the owner must have the animal destroyed​

6.16 and tested for chronic wasting disease using a postmortem test approved by the Board of​

6.17 Animal Health.​

6.18 (c) If a farmed white-tailed deer tests positive for chronic wasting disease under paragraph​

6.19 (b), the owner must depopulate the premises of farmed Cervidae as required under section​

6.20 35.155, subdivision 11.​

6.21 Sec. 11. TRANSFER OF DUTIES; FARMED WHITE-TAILED DEER.​

6.22 (a) Responsibility for administering and enforcing the statutes and rules listed in clauses​

6.23 (1) and (2) for farmed white-tailed deer are, except as provided in paragraph (c), transferred​

6.24 pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 15.039, from the Board of Animal Health to the​

6.25 commissioner of natural resources:​

6.26 (1) Minnesota Statutes, sections 35.153 to 35.156; and​

6.27 (2) Minnesota Rules, parts 1721.0370 to 1721.0420.​

6.28 (b) The Board of Animal Health retains responsibility for administering and enforcing​

6.29 the statutes and rules listed in paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (2), for all other farmed Cervidae.​

6.30 (c) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 15.039, subdivision 7, the transfer of​

6.31 personnel will not take place. The commissioner of natural resources may contract with the​

6.32 Board of Animal Health for any veterinary services required to administer this program.​
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7.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2025.​

7.2 Sec. 12. APPROPRIATION; CHRONIC WASTING DISEASE TRANSMISSION​

7.3 CONTINGENCY PLANNING.​

7.4 $1,632,612 in fiscal year 2024 and $1,845,700 in fiscal year 2025 are appropriated from​

7.5 the general fund to the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota for chronic wasting​

7.6 disease contingency plans developed by the Center for Infectious Disease Research and​

7.7 Policy. The center must develop, refine, and share with relevant experts and stakeholders​

7.8 contingency plans regarding the potential transmission of chronic wasting disease from​

7.9 Cervidae to humans, livestock, and other species. The contingency plans must provide a​

7.10 blueprint for preparedness and response planning documents including authoritative risk​

7.11 communication, education, and outreach materials. The base for this appropriation is​

7.12 $1,603,000 in fiscal year 2026, $1,603,000 in fiscal year 2027, and $0 in fiscal year 2028​

7.13 and beyond.​

7.14 Sec. 13. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.​

7.15 The revisor of statutes must recodify the relevant sections in Minnesota Statutes, chapter​

7.16 35, and Minnesota Rules, chapter 1721, as necessary to conform with section 11. The revisor​

7.17 must also change the responsible agency, remove obsolete language, and make necessary​

7.18 cross-reference changes consistent with section 11 and the renumbering.​

7.19 Sec. 14. REPEALER.​

7.20 Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 35.155, subdivision 14, is repealed.​

7.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2025.​
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