

Chair

Aric Putnam
3215 Minnesota Senate Building
St. Paul, MN 55155
(651) 296-6455
sen.aric.putnam@senate.mn

Vice Chair

Robert J. Kupec

Ranking Minority Member

Torrey N. Westrom

Members

Bruce D. Anderson Gary H. Dahms Gene Dornink Heather Gustafson Mary K. Kunesh Judy Seeberger

Committee Staff:

Committee Administrator

Hunter Pederson (651) 296-5712 hunter.pederson@senate.mn

Committee Legislative Assistant

Jacqueline Borromeo (651) 296-6455 jacqueline.borromeo@senate.mn

Caucus Research

Amanda Pedersen (DFL) Andrew Larson (R)

Legislative Analyst

Laura Paynter

Fiscal Analyst

Erik Olson

Minnesota Senate Agriculture, Broadband, and Rural Development Committee

Monday, March 20th, 2023 3:00 p.m. 1150 Minnesota Senate Building

AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. SF 2128 (Putnam) Restricted species provisions modifications (as amended by the A-1 delete everything amendment)
- 3. SF 2315 (Putnam) Nonnative Phragmites addition to noxious weeds provisions
- 4. SF 2763 (Putnam) Grants appropriation to Minnesota dairy farmers
- 5. SF 2513 (Putnam) Green fertilizer production using renewable energy investment support appropriation
- Mike Reese; Director of Operations, Renewable Hydrogen and Ammonia Lead; University of Minnesota College of Food,
 Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences West Central Research & Outreach Center
- Gary Wertish, President, Minnesota Farmers Union
- Tom Traen, Former General Manager, Glacial Plains Cooperative
- Margaret Cherne-Hendrick, Fresh Energy
- 6. SF 2169 (Seeberger) Border-to-border broadband grant program modification
- Nathan Zacharias, Technology Policy Analyst, Association of Minnesota Counties
- Tarryl Clark, Stearns County Commissioner, First District
- Brent Christensen, President/CEO, Minnesota Telecom Alliance
- Cap O'Rourke, Executive Director, Minnesota Association of Small Cities
- Steve Giorgi, Range Association of Municipalities and Schools

Minnesota Senate Agriculture, Broadband, and Rural Development Committee

- 7. SF 2786 (Kupec) Northern Crops Institute grant appropriation
- Bruce Kleven, Minnesota Association of Wheat Growers
- Cory Bennett, Minnesota Soybean Growers Association
- 8. SF 2465 (Kunesh) Industrial hemp processing facility appropriation
- Esther Ames, Anishanaabe Agriculture Institute
- Angela Dawson; Co-Founder, President/CEO; 40 Acre Co-op
- Dan Skogen, Director of Government and Industry Relations, Agricultural Utilization Research Institute (AURI)
- 9. SF 2900 (Kunesh) Farmers' markets support appropriation
- Sina Pleggenkuhle, Director of Communications, Minnesota Farmers' Market Association
- Erica Lanning, Farmers' Market Manager, Neighborhood Roots
- Morgan LaSalle, ForageScape Farm
- 10. Adjournment