
1.1 Senator .................... moves to amend S.F. No. 2218 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 223.16, is amended by adding a subdivision​

1.4 to read:​

1.5 Subd. 3c. Failure. "Failure" means a determination by the commissioner that a grain​

1.6 buyer or grain warehouse has failed to pay for delivered grain, breached a contract, breached​

1.7 more than one contract, or failed to redeliver stored grain to a producer.​

1.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.​

1.9 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 223.17, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

1.10 Subd. 7. Action on a bond Breach of contract. A producer claiming to be damaged​

1.11 by a breach of a contract for the purchase of grain by a licensed grain buyer may file a​

1.12 written claim with the commissioner. The claim must state the facts constituting the claim.​

1.13 The claim must be filed with the commissioner within 180 days of the breach of the contract.​

1.14 If a claim is valid, the commissioner may immediately suspend the license, in which case​

1.15 the licensee shall surrender the license to the commissioner. Within 15 days the licensee​

1.16 may request an administrative hearing subject to chapter 14 to determine whether the license​

1.17 should be revoked. If no request is made within 15 days, the commissioner shall revoke the​

1.18 license.​

1.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.​

1.20 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 223.17, subdivision 7a, is amended to read:​

1.21 Subd. 7a. Bond requirements; claims. For entities licensed under this chapter and​

1.22 chapter 232, the bond requirements and claims actions against the bond are governed under​

1.23 section 232.22, subdivision 6a 223.28.​

1.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.​

1.25 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 223.175, is amended to read:​

1.26 223.175 WRITTEN VOLUNTARY EXTENSION OF CREDIT CONTRACTS;​

1.27 FORM.​

1.28 A written confirmation required under section 223.177, subdivision 2, and a written​

1.29 voluntary extension of credit contract must include those items prescribed by the​

1.30 commissioner by rule. A contract shall include a statement of the legal and financial​
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2.1 responsibilities of grain buyers and sellers established in this chapter. A contract shall also​

2.2 include the following statement in not less than ten point, all capital type, framed in a box​

2.3 with space provided for the seller's signature: "THIS CONTRACT CONSTITUTES A​

2.4 VOLUNTARY EXTENSION OF CREDIT. THIS CONTRACT IS NOT COVERED BY​

2.5 ANY GRAIN BUYER'S BOND MAY NOT BE COVERED COMPLETELY BY THE​

2.6 GRAIN INDEMNITY ACCOUNT." If a written contract is provided at the time the grain​

2.7 is delivered to the grain buyer, the seller shall sign the contract in the space provided beneath​

2.8 the statement. A transaction that does not meet the provisions of a voluntary extension of​

2.9 credit, including the issuance and signing of a voluntary extension of credit contract, is a​

2.10 cash sale.​

2.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.​

2.12 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 223.19, is amended to read:​

2.13 223.19 RULES.​

2.14 The commissioner may make rules pursuant to chapter 14 to carry out the provisions of​

2.15 sections 223.15 to 223.23 223.28.​

2.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.​

2.17 Sec. 6. [223.24] GRAIN INDEMNITY ACCOUNT.​

2.18 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The grain indemnity account is established in the​

2.19 agricultural fund. The grain indemnity account shall consist of grain indemnity premiums,​

2.20 money from any other source, and interest.​

2.21 Subd. 2. Account; appropriation. (a) Money in the grain indemnity account, including​

2.22 interest, is appropriated to the commissioner to pay valid claims and to administer this​

2.23 section.​

2.24 (b) The commissioner shall direct payments from the grain indemnity account only for​

2.25 the following purposes:​

2.26 (1) the payment of valid claims;​

2.27 (2) the payment of grain indemnity premium refunds;​

2.28 (3) the payment of administrative expenses under paragraph (c);​

2.29 (4) the payment of legal fees and legal expenses under subdivision 7; or​

2.30 (5) the payment of a trustee appointed under subdivision 6.​
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3.1 (c) The commissioner shall allocate money from the grain indemnity account to a separate​

3.2 administrative expenses account to pay or reimburse the agency for grain indemnity account​

3.3 expenses. Administrative expenses under this paragraph include the actual cost of processing​

3.4 payments and refunds, enforcement, record keeping, ordinary management and investment​

3.5 fees connected with the operation of the grain indemnity account, and legal expenses.​

3.6 Subd. 3. Eligibility. A producer is eligible to receive a grain indemnity payment from​

3.7 the commissioner if the producer sold grain to a grain buyer as defined in this chapter or​

3.8 stored grain with a public grain warehouse operator under chapter 232 and the producer is​

3.9 damaged by the grain buyer's or public grain warehouse operator's failure to pay for or​

3.10 redeliver grain.​

3.11 Subd. 4. Application. (a) A producer asserting eligibility under subdivision 3 must file​

3.12 a completed claim with the commissioner. The producer must state the facts constituting​

3.13 the claim and all other information required by the commissioner.​

3.14 (b) Upon receiving a claim, the commissioner must promptly determine the validity of​

3.15 the claim and notify the claimant of the commissioner's determination.​

3.16 (c) An aggrieved party may appeal the commissioner's determination by requesting,​

3.17 within 15 days, that the commissioner initiate a contested case proceeding under chapter​

3.18 14.​

3.19 Subd. 5. Payment limitation. (a) For each failure as defined by section 223.16,​

3.20 subdivision 3c, the commissioner must pay the eligible producer:​

3.21 (1) the amount equal to the value of the grain sold on cash sale, grain assigned to​

3.22 warehouse receipt, or grain assigned to open storage less than 180 days from the deposit;​

3.23 (2) the amount equal to the value of grain sold up to $200,000, or the lesser of $750,000​

3.24 or 75 percent of the amount owed to the seller for a contract in excess of $200,000 for a​

3.25 deferred or delayed payment contract for which a price has been established when the​

3.26 contract originated within 120 days of the breach of contract;​

3.27 (3) the lesser of $750,000 or 75 percent of the amount owed to the seller for a voluntary​

3.28 extension of credit contract for which no price has been established when the contract​

3.29 originated within 180 days of the breach of contract;​

3.30 (4) the lesser of $500,000 or 50 percent for an open storage assignment or a voluntary​

3.31 extension of credit contract when the open storage assignment or contract originated between​

3.32 181 days and 18 months from the failure; or​
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4.1 (5) the lesser of $250,000 or 25 percent for an open storage assignment or a voluntary​

4.2 extension of credit contract when the open storage assignment or contract originated between​

4.3 19 months and 36 months from the failure.​

4.4 (b) Claims filed more than 36 months from the failure are not eligible for payment.​

4.5 (c) For the purposes of this subdivision, multiple breaches of contract with a single entity​

4.6 constitute one failure.​

4.7 (d) If a grain buyer holds both a Minnesota grain buyer license, as defined in chapter​

4.8 223, and a license with the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) under the​

4.9 United States Warehouse Act, a seller may only file a claim with the grain indemnity account​

4.10 if the seller sold grain as a cash sale or under a voluntary extension of credit contract. The​

4.11 commissioner must deny any claims for stored grain from a seller that holds both a Minnesota​

4.12 grain buyer license and a license with the USDA under the United States Warehouse Act.​

4.13 (e) If valid claims exceed the amount of money available in the grain indemnity account,​

4.14 the commissioner must pay claims to producers in the order that the claims were received.​

4.15 When additional money becomes available, the commissioner must resume issuing grain​

4.16 indemnity payments to each eligible producer until each producer receives the maximum​

4.17 amount payable under paragraph (a).​

4.18 (f) If the grain indemnity account balance is insufficient to pay refunds under section​

4.19 223.26 and valid claims exist, once money is deposited into the grain indemnity account,​

4.20 the commissioner must issue pending refunds for grain indemnity premium payments before​

4.21 issuing payments to claimants.​

4.22 Subd. 6. Court order. (a) The commissioner may apply to a district court for an order​

4.23 appointing a trustee or receiver to manage and supervise the operations of a grain buyer or​

4.24 public grain warehouse operator in default. The commissioner may participate in any​

4.25 resulting court proceeding as an interested party.​

4.26 (b) The commissioner may recover the cost of the appointed trustee using money​

4.27 appropriated under subdivision 2.​

4.28 Subd. 7. Debt obligation; subrogated claim. (a) Money paid by the commissioner to​

4.29 satisfy a valid claim constitutes a debt obligation of the grain buyer or public grain warehouse​

4.30 operator in default. The commissioner may take action against the grain buyer or public​

4.31 grain warehouse operator to recover the amount of any claim payment plus reasonable costs,​

4.32 attorney fees, and interest computed at the rate provided in section 270C.40. The​
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5.1 commissioner must deposit any amount recovered under this subdivision in the grain​

5.2 indemnity account.​

5.3 (b) As a condition of payment from the commissioner, a producer must subrogate the​

5.4 producer's interest in a voluntary extension of credit contract to the commissioner in an​

5.5 amount equal to any claim payment or payments that the producer received under this​

5.6 section.​

5.7 (c) The commissioner may recover any debt to the grain indemnity account from a​

5.8 member of the board or management who acted negligently or fraudulently.​

5.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.​

5.10 Sec. 7. [223.25] GRAIN INDEMNITY PREMIUMS.​

5.11 Subdivision 1. Charges. (a) Except as provided in subdivision 3, producers of grain​

5.12 must be charged a grain indemnity premium as determined and published by the​

5.13 commissioner not to exceed 0.2 percent of the price on all marketed grain that is sold to a​

5.14 grain buyer as defined in chapter 223.​

5.15 (b) The grain indemnity premiums required under this section are in addition to any​

5.16 other fees or assessments required by law.​

5.17 Subd. 2. Collection and submission of grain indemnity premiums. (a) Each producer​

5.18 must pay to the commissioner a grain indemnity premium of not more than 0.2 percent of​

5.19 the net proceeds from all grain sold by the producer to a grain buyer purchasing grain in​

5.20 Minnesota. When grain is sold to a grain buyer, the grain buyer must deduct the grain​

5.21 indemnity premium from the proceeds of the sale and pay the grain indemnity premium to​

5.22 the commissioner on behalf of the producer.​

5.23 (b) When purchasing grain from a producer, a grain buyer must deduct the grain​

5.24 indemnity premium described in paragraph (a) from the proceeds of the sale and notify the​

5.25 producer of the amount of the deduction in writing. The grain buyer must forward the grain​

5.26 indemnity premium to the commissioner for a deposit into the grain indemnity account on​

5.27 behalf of the producer as described in this subdivision.​

5.28 (c) A grain buyer must clearly indicate the grain indemnity premiums collected under​

5.29 paragraph (b) in the grain buyer's books and records. A grain buyer must retain books and​

5.30 records containing the grain indemnity premiums for at least three years. A grain buyer​

5.31 must make the grain buyer's books and records available for inspection by the commissioner​

5.32 during regular business hours. The department must take steps reasonably necessary to​

5.33 verify the accuracy of the grain indemnity premiums as recorded in the grain buyer's books​
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6.1 and records. Any record or portion thereof seized or copied by the commissioner is private​

6.2 or nonpublic data as provided in section 13.02, except that the commissioner may disclose​

6.3 this data to aid in the law enforcement process.​

6.4 (d) A grain buyer must submit grain indemnity premiums collected under paragraph (a)​

6.5 to the commissioner for the purpose of financing or contributing to the financing of the​

6.6 grain indemnity account by:​

6.7 (1) January 31 for grain indemnity premiums collected during the months of July, August,​

6.8 September, October, November, and December; and​

6.9 (2) July 31 for grain indemnity premiums collected during the months of January,​

6.10 February, March, April, May, and June.​

6.11 Subd. 3. Amount in grain indemnity account; basis for suspension and reinstatement​

6.12 of grain indemnity premium collection. (a) The grain indemnity premiums required under​

6.13 this section must be collected until the grain indemnity account contains more than​

6.14 $15,000,000, as of June 30 of any given year.​

6.15 (b) Except as provided in paragraph (c), after the grain indemnity account reaches​

6.16 $15,000,000, the commissioner may not require the collection of additional grain indemnity​

6.17 premiums until the amount in the grain indemnity account drops below $9,000,000. In a​

6.18 year when the commissioner determines that the grain indemnity account is at or below​

6.19 $9,000,000, the commissioner may reinstate the collection described in this section.​

6.20 (c) The commissioner shall announce the intention to collect the premiums described​

6.21 in this section by May 1 with collection to begin July 1 until the grain indemnity account​

6.22 contains at least $15,000,000. The commissioner must notify the public of the commissioner's​

6.23 intent to reinstate collection of additional grain indemnity premiums through publication​

6.24 in the State Register and by notifying each licensee of the licensee's obligation to collect​

6.25 premiums.​

6.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.​

6.27 Sec. 8. [223.26] GRAIN INDEMNITY OPT OUT.​

6.28 (a) A producer that has paid a grain indemnity premium under section 223.25 may receive​

6.29 a refund of that premium from the grain indemnity account by submitting a written demand​

6.30 for a refund to the commissioner, delivered personally or by first-class mail within 12 months​

6.31 after the producer paid the grain indemnity premium.​
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7.1 (b) A producer must submit a demand for a refund of a grain indemnity premium under​

7.2 paragraph (a) on a demand for refund form developed by the commissioner. The​

7.3 commissioner must make the form available to a licensee, producer, or member of the public​

7.4 upon request.​

7.5 (c) If a producer is entitled to a refund of a grain indemnity premium under this section,​

7.6 the commissioner must pay the refund within 90 days of receiving the demand for a refund.​

7.7 If the grain indemnity account balance is insufficient to pay refunds under this subdivision​

7.8 and valid claims exist, the commissioner must issue refunds for grain indemnity premium​

7.9 payments before issuing payments to claimants once money is deposited into the grain​

7.10 indemnity account.​

7.11 (d) If the commissioner announces grain indemnity premiums as required under section​

7.12 223.25, subdivision 3 by June 30, the commissioner must send a notice to each producer​

7.13 who requested a refund of a grain indemnity premium during the previous three fiscal years.​

7.14 The notice must inform the producer of the deadline for and method of submitting a demand​

7.15 for a refund to the commissioner under paragraphs (a) and (b) and the method for reentering​

7.16 the grain indemnity program under paragraph (e).​

7.17 (e) A producer that receives a refund of a grain indemnity premium under paragraph (a)​

7.18 is not entitled to participate in the grain indemnity program or to receive any payment under​

7.19 this section unless the producer reenters the grain indemnity program by meeting all of the​

7.20 following conditions:​

7.21 (1) the producer must submit a request for reentry into the grain indemnity program to​

7.22 the commissioner. The producer must submit the request on the form required by the​

7.23 commissioner and must deliver the request to the commissioner;​

7.24 (2) the producer's request is approved by the commissioner; and​

7.25 (3) the producer must pay into the grain indemnity account all grain indemnity premiums​

7.26 that were refunded to the producer and interest on the refunds as determined by the​

7.27 commissioner.​

7.28 (f) A producer that reenters the grain indemnity program under paragraph (e) is eligible​

7.29 to be reimbursed for claims under the grain indemnity program for any breach of contract​

7.30 that occurs at least 90 days after application for reentry and all required payments have been​

7.31 made.​

7​Sec. 8.​

COUNSEL LP/SC SCS2218A-1​03/01/23 02:41 pm ​



8.1 (g) A producer is not eligible for a refund of a grain indemnity premium under this​

8.2 section if the producer has received payment from the grain indemnity account for a valid​

8.3 claim within the preceding 36 months.​

8.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.​

8.5 Sec. 9. [223.27] PENALTIES; ENFORCEMENT ACTION; COSTS AND EXPENSES.​

8.6 (a) In addition to any other penalty or remedy provided by law, a person who knowingly​

8.7 or intentionally commits any of the following is subject to civil penalties under section​

8.8 18J.10:​

8.9 (1) refusing or failing to collect any grain indemnity premiums as required under section​

8.10 223.25;​

8.11 (2) refusing or failing to pay to the commissioner any grain indemnity premiums collected​

8.12 under section 223.25;​

8.13 (3) making a false statement, representation, or certification, or knowingly failing to​

8.14 make a required statement, representation, or certification in a record, report, or other​

8.15 document required under this chapter or filed with the commissioner; or​

8.16 (4) resisting, preventing, impeding, or interfering with the commissioner in the​

8.17 performance of the commissioner's duties under this chapter.​

8.18 (b) In addition to the civil penalty described in paragraph (a), the commissioner in an​

8.19 enforcement action for a violation described in paragraph (a), clause (1) or (2), must order​

8.20 the grain buyer to pay into the grain indemnity account any grain indemnity premiums​

8.21 collected by the grain buyer that the grain buyer owes to the grain indemnity account and​

8.22 may order the grain buyer to pay interest on the amount that the grain buyer owes to the​

8.23 grain indemnity account.​

8.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.​

8.25 Sec. 10. [223.28] GRAIN BONDS; NEW LICENSE HOLDERS.​

8.26 (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), before the commissioner issues a grain buyer​

8.27 or public grain warehouse operator license, a person who has not been licensed to buy grain​

8.28 or operate a public grain warehouse in the previous licensing period must file with the​

8.29 commissioner a grain bond in a penal sum of $100,000. A grain bond must remain in effect​

8.30 for the first three years of the license.​

8​Sec. 10.​

COUNSEL LP/SC SCS2218A-1​03/01/23 02:41 pm ​



9.1 (b) A grain buyer who purchases grain immediately upon delivery solely with cash; a​

9.2 certified check; a cashier's check; or a postal, bank, or express money order is exempt from​

9.3 this subdivision if the grain buyer's gross annual purchases are $1,000,000 or less.​

9.4 (c) The commissioner may require a supplemental bond in an amount prescribed by the​

9.5 commissioner based on the financial statements required in section 223.17, subdivision 6.​

9.6 (d) A grain bond must be on a form provided by the commissioner.​

9.7 (e) A grain bond required under paragraphs (a) and (c) must provide for the payment of​

9.8 any loss caused by the grain buyer's failure to pay upon the owner's demand, including loss​

9.9 caused by the grain buyer's failure to pay within the time required. The grain bond must be​

9.10 conditioned upon the grain buyer being duly licensed.​

9.11 (f) A grain bond required under paragraphs (a) and (c) that is obtained by a public grain​

9.12 warehouse operator must be conditioned that the public grain warehouse operator issuing​

9.13 a grain warehouse receipt is liable to the depositor for the delivery of the kind, grade, and​

9.14 net quantity of grain called for by the receipt. A grain bond must be conditioned upon the​

9.15 operator being duly licensed.​

9.16 (g) A grain bond must not be cumulative from one licensing period to the next. The​

9.17 maximum liability of the grain bond must be the grain bond's face value for the licensing​

9.18 period.​

9.19 (h) A grain bond must be continuous until canceled. To cancel a grain bond, a surety​

9.20 must provide 90 days' written notice of the grain bond's termination date to the licensee and​

9.21 the commissioner.​

9.22 (i) Upon the commissioner's determination that a claim is valid, the surety for any claims​

9.23 against the grain bond must make payments to the grain indemnity account.​

9.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.​

9.25 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 232.22, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

9.26 Subd. 5. Statement of grain in storage; reports. (a) All public grain warehouse operators​

9.27 must by February 15 of each year file with the commissioner on a form approved by the​

9.28 commissioner a report showing the annual average liability of all grain outstanding on grain​

9.29 warehouse receipts, open storage, and grain stored for feed processing that occurred during​

9.30 the preceding calendar year. This report shall be used for the purpose of establishing the​

9.31 penal sum of the bond.​
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10.1 (b) Warehouse operators that are at a maximum bond and want to continue at maximum​

10.2 bond do not need to file this report.​

10.3 (c) It is a violation of this chapter for any public grain warehouse operator to fail to file​

10.4 the report required in paragraph (a).​

10.5 (d) (a) Every public grain warehouse operator shall keep in a place of safety complete​

10.6 and accurate records and accounts relating to any grain warehouse operated. The records​

10.7 shall reflect each commodity received and shipped daily, the balance remaining in the grain​

10.8 warehouse at the close of each business day, a listing of all unissued grain warehouse receipts​

10.9 in the operator's possession, a record of all grain warehouse receipts issued which remain​

10.10 outstanding and a record of all grain warehouse receipts which have been returned for​

10.11 cancellation. Copies of grain warehouse receipts or other documents evidencing ownership​

10.12 of grain by a depositor, or other liability of the grain warehouse operator, shall be retained​

10.13 as long as the liability exists but must be kept for a minimum of three years.​

10.14 (e) (b) Every public grain warehouse operator must maintain in the grain warehouse at​

10.15 all times grain of proper grade and sufficient quantity to meet delivery obligations on all​

10.16 outstanding grain warehouse receipts.​

10.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.​

10.18 Sec. 12. TRANSFER.​

10.19 $15,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 is transferred from the general fund to the grain indemnity​

10.20 account established in Minnesota Statutes, section 223.24. This is a onetime transfer.​

10.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.​

10.22 Sec. 13. REPEALER.​

10.23 Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 223.17, subdivisions 4 and 8; and 232.22, subdivisions​

10.24 4, 6, 6a, and 7, are repealed."​

10.25 Amend the title accordingly​
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