

#### Chair

Aric Putnam
3215 Minnesota Senate Building
St. Paul, MN 55155
(651) 296-6455
sen.aric.putnam@senate.mn

## Vice Chair

Robert J. Kupec

#### Ranking Minority Member

Torrey N. Westrom

#### Members

Bruce D. Anderson Gary H. Dahms Gene Dornink Heather Gustafson Mary K. Kunesh Judy Seeberger

#### **Committee Staff:**

#### Committee Administrator

Hunter Pederson (651) 296-5712 hunter.pederson@senate.mn

#### Committee Legislative Assistant

Jacqueline Borromeo (651) 296-6455 jacqueline.borromeo@senate.mn

#### Caucus Research

Amanda Pedersen (DFL) Andrew Larson (R)

#### Legislative Analyst

Laura Paynter

### Fiscal Analyst

Erik Olson

# Minnesota Senate Agriculture, Broadband, and Rural Development Committee

Monday, February 27<sup>th</sup>, 2023 3:00 p.m. 1150 Minnesota Senate Building

## **AGENDA**

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Presentation by Minnesota FFA State Officers
- Emma Kuball, FFA State President
- Natalie Beckendorf, FFA State Vice-President
- Caidyn Johnson, FFA State Reporter
- 3. SF 1524 (Gustafson) Agricultural Utilization Research Institute appropriation
- Shannon Schlecht, Executive Director, Agricultural Utilization Research Institute (AURI)
- 4. SF 1525 (Kupec) Agricultural Utilization Research Institute appropriation for specific purposes
- Shannon Schlecht, Executive Director, AURI
- Jennifer Wagner-Lahr, Senior Director of Business Development and Commercialization, AURI
- Luca Zullo, Senior Director of Science and Technology, AURI
- 5. SF 1563 (Lieske) Cottage food exemption modification
- Jennifer Carriveau, Vice President, Minnesota Cottage Food

**Producers Association** 

- Kathy Zeman, Executive Director, Minnesota Farmers' Market Association
- Tom Nechomodu, Owner, Behind the Breadbox

- 6. SF 1407 (Dahms) Minnesota Agricultural Educational and Leadership Council grants appropriation
- Sarah Dornink, Executive Director, Minnesota Agricultural Education and Leadership Council (MAELC)
- Tom Appel, Executive Director, Minnesota Association of Agricultural Educators (MAAE)
- 7. SF 1522 (Kupec) Veterinary technicians, the practice of veterinary technology and unlicensed veterinary employees regulation
- 8. SF 1773 (Kupec) University of Minnesota employees veterinary medicine licensure modification
- Dr. Laura Molgaard, Dean, University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine
- Dr. Trevor Ames, Minnesota Veterinary Medical Association
- 9. Governor's Budget Presentation- Board of Animal Health Items
- Dr. Marion Garcia, Executive Director, Board of Animal Health
- 10. SF 1955 (Putnam) Board of Animal Health appropriation
- 11. Adjournment