

January 18, 2023

Chair Aric Putnam
Ranking Member Torrey Westrom
Senate Agriculture, Broadband, and Rural Development Committee
1150 Minnesota Senate Building
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155

Dear Chair Putnam and Ranking Member Westrom:

On behalf of the Minnesota Bio-Fuels Association, a nonprofit organization dedicated to supporting and representing the renewable fuel industry in Minnesota, I write to enthusiastically support the confirmation of Thom Petersen to be Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Agriculture.

The Minnesota Bio-Fuels Association works closely with industry and government stakeholders in a collaborative manner to achieve our collective goal of a greener future, a stronger economy in Minnesota, consumer savings at the pump, and a more energy independent America.

Commissioner Petersen is a willing partner whenever the Minnesota Bio-Fuels Association engages the state government in dialogue about how to better achieve those goals. He has taken the time and effort to understand the renewable fuels industry, the products and co-products it produces, and the benefits it creates for Minnesota's agricultural economy and environment.

Sales of E15 (a gasoline blend with 15 percent ethanol and commonly marketed as Unleaded 88) broke records in Minnesota this past year in part thanks to the effective implementation and administration of the Minnesota Department of Agriculture's AGRI Biofuels Infrastructure Grant Program. After the Biofuels Infrastructure Grant Program awarded nearly \$6.5 million to 44 recipients in Fiscal Years 2022 and 2023, Minnesota now offers E15 at 242 retail stations – more than any other state. That retail partners often remark about the efficient and streamlined application process under the program is a credit to Commissioner Petersen.

For these reasons and more, on behalf of the Minnesota Bio-Fuels Association, I enthusiastically support the confirmation of Thom Petersen to be Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Agriculture.

Sincerely,

Brian Werner Executive Director

Br-J Win

Minnesota Bio-Fuels Association