

### Chair

Justin Eichorn 3213 Minnesota Senate Bldg. St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-7079

Vice Chair
Mike Goggin

Ranking Minority Member
Mary Kunesh

#### Members

Carrie Ruud David Tomassoni Jason Isaacson

# Committee Staff: Committee Administrator

Jesse McArdell (651) 296—4901

### Committee Legislative Assistant

Victor Florell (651) 296—4136

#### Senate Counsel

Ben Stanley

#### Research

Andrew Larson (R) Cassie Tommerdahl (DFL)

# **Senate Mining and Forestry Policy Committee**

Tuesday March 15, 2022 Hybrid Hearing, Room G—23 – 3:00 p.m.

## **Agenda**

- 1. Call to order
- 2. S.F.—2797 Tomassoni: Coordination, effectiveness, transparency and accountability of environmental review and process for metallic mining projects permission improvements
- a. Director of Environmental for U. S. Steel Mining and Tubular Operations Chrissy L. Bartovich, Executive Director of Mining Minnesota Frank Ongaro, Board Chair of Jobs for Minnesotans Brian Hanson, Business Manager for the International Union of Operating Engineers Local 49 Jason George, Vice President for the Range Association of Municipalities and Schools (RAMS) Pat Medure, Director of Environmental Policy for the Minnesota Chamber of Commerce Tony Kwilas, and President and CEO of the Laurentian Chamber of Commerce Teresa Appelwick
- b. DNR Ecology and Waters Division Director Katie Smith and Assistant Commissioner Bob Meier
- c. Chief Strategy Officer of the Minnesota Center for Environmental Advocacy Aaron Klemz
- 3. S.F.—3899 Eichorn: School trust lands director duties and powers modification
- a. Director of the Minnesota Office of School Trust Lands Aaron Vande Linde
- 4. Adjourn