

Chair

Jason Rarick 3411 Minnesota Senate Bldg St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-1508

Vice Chair
Gene Dornink

Ranking Minority Member
Jennifer McEwen

Members

Michael Goggin Jason Isaacson

Committee Staff:

Committee Administrator

Tricia Elite (651) 296-1738

Committee Legislative Assistant Karen Johnson

(651) 296-0293

Research

Andrew Larson (R) Craig Janezich (DFL)

Senate Counsel

Carlon Doyle Fontaine

Senate Labor & Industry Policy Committee

Wednesday, March 23, 2022 123 Capitol – 8:30 a.m.

Agenda

I. **S.F. 181** (Rarick)—State building code inspection exemptions clarification

A-3 Amendment

- 1. Joel Johnson, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers State Council
- 2. Mike Bull, Director, Policy and Regulatory Affairs, Minnesota Rural Electric Association (MREA)
- 3. Michelle Drier, Member Engagement & Government Affairs Manager, MREA
- 4. Justin Jahnz, CEO, East Central Energy
- 5. Jamie Fitzke, Director of Legislative Affairs, Center for Energy and Environment
- 6. Todd Green, Assistant Director for Construction Codes and Licensing, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
- II. S.F. 3942 (Rarick)—Electrical inspections fee increases authorization A-1 Amendment
 - 1. Les Heen, Contract Electrical Inspectors Association of Minnesota
 - 2. Todd Green, Assistant Director for Construction Codes and Licensing, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
- III. S.F. 2442 (Rarick)—Elevator code requirements modifications

A-1 Amendment

- 1. Adam Duininck, Director of Government Affairs, North Central States Regional Council of Carpenters
- 2. Adam Hanson, Chapter President, Associated Builders and Contractors of MN/ND
- 3. Todd Green, Assistant Director for Construction Codes and Licensing, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry

Agenda continued on page 2

Senate Labor & Industry Policy Committee Agenda Continued

- IV. **S.F. 183** (Rarick)—Backflow prevention tester and rebuilder designations modification **A-1 Amendment**
 - 1. Tim Power, Minnesota Nursery & Landscape Association (MNLA)
 - 2. Tim Malooly, Former President, MNLA & Owner, Irrigation by Design
 - 3. David Radziej, Executive Vice President, Plumbing Heating Cooling Contractors of MN
 - 4. Adam Hanson, Chapter President, Associated Builders and Contractors of MN/ND
 - 5. Mike Westemeier, Plumbing Plan Review Supervisor, Construction Codes and Licensing, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
- S.F. 3881 (Rarick)—Department of Labor and Industry and Minnesota Management and Budget appropriation
 - > SF 3881 may be brought up for further discussion, if time permits.