
1.1 Senator Limmer from the Committee on Judiciary and Public Safety Finance and​
1.2 Policy, to which was referred​

1.3 S.F. No. 2673: A bill for an act relating to public safety; prohibiting courts from​
1.4 sentencing a person without regard to the mandatory minimum sentence applicable to certain​
1.5 designated crimes involving firearms; amending Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.11,​
1.6 subdivision 8.​

1.7 Reports the same back with the recommendation that the bill be amended as follows:​

1.8 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.9 "ARTICLE 1​

1.10 APPROPRIATIONS AND RELATED PROVISIONS​

1.11 Section 1. APPROPRIATIONS.​

1.12 The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are added to or, if shown in​

1.13 parentheses, subtracted from the appropriations in Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter​

1.14 11, article 1, to the agencies and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations​

1.15 are from the general fund, or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years​

1.16 indicated for each purpose. The figures "2022" and "2023" used in this article mean that​

1.17 the addition to or subtraction from the appropriation listed under them is available for the​

1.18 fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, or June 30, 2023, respectively. "The first year" is fiscal​

1.19 year 2022. "The second year" is fiscal year 2023. Supplemental appropriations and reductions​

1.20 to appropriations for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, are effective the day following​

1.21 final enactment.​

1.22 APPROPRIATIONS​
1.23 Available for the Year​
1.24 Ending June 30​

2023​1.25 2022​

2,304,000​$​-0-​$​1.26 Sec. 2. SUPREME COURT​

1.27 Justices' compensation is increased by six​

1.28 percent.​

621,000​$​-0-​$​1.29 Sec. 3. COURT OF APPEALS​

1.30 Judges' compensation is increased by six​

1.31 percent.​

14,803,000​$​-0-​$​1.32 Sec. 4. DISTRICT COURTS​

1.33 Judges' compensation is increased by six​

1.34 percent.​

50,000,000​$​-0-​$​1.35 Sec. 5. PUBLIC DEFENDERS​

1​Article 1 Sec. 5.​
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838,000​$​-0-​$​2.1 Sec. 6. SENTENCING GUIDELINES​

2.2 (a) Searchable Public Database​

2.3 $265,000 is to develop and maintain a publicly​

2.4 searchable database pursuant to Minnesota​

2.5 Statutes, section 244.09, subdivision 6a. The​

2.6 base is $289,000 in fiscal year 2024 and​

2.7 $87,000 in fiscal year 2025 and beyond.​

2.8 (b) Recordings of Commission Meetings​

2.9 $4,000 is to make visual and audio recordings​

2.10 of commission meetings and to make the​

2.11 recordings available to the public on the​

2.12 commission's website. This is a onetime​

2.13 appropriation.​

2.14 (c) Reports on Dismissals by Prosecutors​

2.15 $569,000 is to implement the reporting​

2.16 requirement in Minnesota Statutes, section​

2.17 244.09, subdivision 15. The base for this is​

2.18 $145,000 in fiscal year 2024 and beyond.​

2.19 Sec. 7. CORRECTIONS​

27,782,000​$​-0-​$​
2.20 Subdivision 1. Total​
2.21 Appropriation​

2.22 The amounts that may be spent for each​

2.23 purpose are specified in the following​

2.24 subdivisions.​

2,782,000​-0-​2.25 Subd. 2. Incarceration and Prerelease Services​

2.26 Interstate Adult Offender Transfer​

2.27 Transportation Expenses​

2.28 $250,000 is for reimbursement of​

2.29 transportation expenses related to the return​

2.30 of probationers to the state who are being held​

2.31 in custody under Minnesota Statutes, section​

2.32 243.1605. Reimbursement shall be based on​

2.33 a fee schedule agreed to by the Department of​

2​Article 1 Sec. 7.​
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3.1 Corrections and the Minnesota Sheriffs'​

3.2 Association. The required return to the state​

3.3 of a probationer in custody as a result of a​

3.4 nationwide warrant issued pursuant to the​

3.5 Interstate Compact for Adult Supervision must​

3.6 be arranged and supervised by the sheriff of​

3.7 the county in which the court proceedings are​

3.8 to be held and at the expense of the state as​

3.9 provided for in this subdivision. This expense​

3.10 offset is not applicable to the transport of​

3.11 individuals from pickup locations within 250​

3.12 miles of the office of the sheriff arranging and​

3.13 supervising the offender's return to the state.​

25,000,000​-0-​

3.14 Subd. 3. Community​
3.15 Supervision and Postrelease​
3.16 Services​

3.17 (a) Community Corrections Act​

3.18 $16,250,000 is added to the Community​

3.19 Corrections Act subsidy under Minnesota​

3.20 Statutes, section 401.14.​

3.21 (b) County Probation Officer​

3.22 Reimbursement​

3.23 $5,000,000 is added to the county probation​

3.24 officer reimbursement program as described​

3.25 in Minnesota Statutes, section 244.19,​

3.26 subdivision 6.​

3.27 (c) Department of Corrections Supervision​

3.28 Services​

3.29 $3,750,000 is for the department's probation​

3.30 and supervised release services.​

3.31 (d) Reporting Required​

3.32 By January 1, 2023, each county receiving​

3.33 reimbursement under Minnesota Statutes,​

3.34 section 244.19, and each county or group of​

3​Article 1 Sec. 7.​
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4.1 counties receiving funding under Minnesota​

4.2 Statutes, section 401.14, shall report to the​

4.3 commissioner of corrections how they spent​

4.4 the additional funds appropriated in this​

4.5 subdivision, including how many new​

4.6 probation officers or other supervisory staff​

4.7 were hired, and any new supervision programs​

4.8 initiated.​

4.9 (e) Reporting Required​

4.10 By February 1, 2023, the commissioner shall​

4.11 collate the information received under​

4.12 paragraph (d) and submit it to the chairs and​

4.13 ranking minority members of the legislative​

4.14 committees having jurisdiction over criminal​

4.15 justice policy and finance. The commissioner​

4.16 shall also report on how the additional funds​

4.17 appropriated in paragraph (c) to the​

4.18 Department of Corrections for probation and​

4.19 supervised release were spent, using the same​

4.20 statistical indexes and format.​

101,685,000​$​-0-​$​4.21 Sec. 8. PUBLIC SAFETY​

4.22 (a) Promoting Peace Officers​

4.23 $1,000,000 is to implement, in coordination​

4.24 with the Peace Officer Standards and Training​

4.25 Board, a marketing and advertising campaign​

4.26 to publicly promote the importance of peace​

4.27 officers for the safety of Minnesotans and to​

4.28 recruit more persons into law enforcement​

4.29 careers. This is a onetime appropriation.​

4.30 By January 15, 2024, the commissioner shall​

4.31 report to the chairs and ranking minority​

4.32 members of the legislative committees having​

4.33 jurisdiction over criminal justice policy and​

4.34 finance on the campaign required by this​

4​Article 1 Sec. 8.​
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5.1 paragraph. The report must provide a detailed​

5.2 overview on how the appropriation was spent,​

5.3 including but not limited to information that​

5.4 itemizes how the campaign was conducted,​

5.5 the types of marketing and advertising​

5.6 activities conducted, and the types of media​

5.7 used. In addition, the report must address the​

5.8 level of success and efficacy of the campaign​

5.9 using objective and verifiable criteria.​

5.10 (b) Pathway to Policing​

5.11 $1,000,000 is for reimbursement grants to state​

5.12 and local law enforcement agencies that​

5.13 operate pathway to policing programs intended​

5.14 to bring persons with nontraditional​

5.15 backgrounds into law enforcement. Applicants​

5.16 for reimbursement grants may receive up to​

5.17 50 percent of the cost of compensating and​

5.18 training pathway to policing participants.​

5.19 Reimbursement grants must be proportionally​

5.20 allocated based on the number of grant​

5.21 applications approved by the commissioner.​

5.22 By February 15 of each odd-numbered year,​

5.23 the commissioner shall report to the chairs and​

5.24 ranking minority members of the legislative​

5.25 committees with jurisdiction over public safety​

5.26 policy and finance on the pathway to policing​

5.27 grant program. At a minimum, the report must​

5.28 identify the agencies receiving the grants and​

5.29 the number of individuals recruited or hired​

5.30 based on the grants and the nature of the​

5.31 individual's nontraditional backgrounds, and​

5.32 include an evaluation of the success of the​

5.33 program in achieving its goals.​

5.34 (c) Gunshot Detection System​

5​Article 1 Sec. 8.​
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6.1 $2,000,000 is for a grant to the Ramsey​

6.2 County Sheriff's Office to improve the​

6.3 detection of incidents involving gunfire and​

6.4 facilitate a rapid response to those incidents.​

6.5 This is a onetime appropriation.​

6.6 This money may be used to:​

6.7 (1) purchase technology systems, including​

6.8 portable devices, that detect outdoor audible​

6.9 gunfire within a specific coverage area using​

6.10 acoustic sensors that accurately pinpoint the​

6.11 location of the gunfire; and​

6.12 (2) obtain and maintain software that allows​

6.13 peace officers to receive an alert on a mobile​

6.14 computer, smartphone, or tablet indicating the​

6.15 address of the gunfire, the time frame in which​

6.16 shots were fired, the number of shots fired,​

6.17 and any other available information.​

6.18 The Ramsey County Sheriff's Office shall​

6.19 place technology that detects outdoor audible​

6.20 gunfire in areas in the county where there are​

6.21 a disproportionately high number of gunfire​

6.22 incidents.​

6.23 (d) First Responders Mental Health​

6.24 $1,000,000 is for a grant to a nonprofit​

6.25 organization that provides nonmedical mental​

6.26 health support to first responders who have​

6.27 experienced traumatic events. The grant​

6.28 recipient shall use the money to fund mental​

6.29 health treatment for present and former law​

6.30 enforcement officers and first responders​

6.31 facing employment-related mental health​

6.32 issues, utilizing interactive group activity and​

6.33 other methods.​

6​Article 1 Sec. 8.​
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7.1 By February 15 of each odd-numbered year,​

7.2 the commissioner shall report to the chairs and​

7.3 ranking minority members of the legislative​

7.4 committees with jurisdiction over public safety​

7.5 policy and finance on the grant made under​

7.6 this paragraph. The report must identify the​

7.7 grantee and give detailed information on how​

7.8 the money was used by the grantee and​

7.9 provide an evaluation of the success of the​

7.10 grantee in meeting the goals of the program.​

7.11 (e) Violent Crime Enforcement Teams​

7.12 $2,500,000 is for additional violent crime​

7.13 enforcement teams.​

7.14 (f) Local Government Emergency​

7.15 Management​

7.16 $3,000,000 is to award grants in equal​

7.17 amounts to the emergency management​

7.18 organizations of the 87 counties, 11 federally​

7.19 recognized Tribes, and four cities of the first​

7.20 class for reimbursement of planning and​

7.21 preparedness activities, including capital​

7.22 purchases, that are eligible under federal​

7.23 emergency preparedness grant guidelines.​

7.24 Local emergency management organizations​

7.25 must make a request to Homeland Security​

7.26 and Emergency Management for these grants.​

7.27 Current local funding for emergency​

7.28 management and preparedness activities may​

7.29 not be supplanted by these additional state​

7.30 funds. Of this amount, up to one percent may​

7.31 be used for the department's administrative​

7.32 costs. This appropriation does not lapse and​

7.33 is available until expended. Unspent money​

7.34 may be redistributed to eligible local​

7.35 emergency management organizations.​

7​Article 1 Sec. 8.​
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8.1 By February 15 of each odd-numbered year,​

8.2 the commissioner shall submit a report on the​

8.3 grant awards to the chairs and ranking​

8.4 minority members of the legislative​

8.5 committees with jurisdiction over emergency​

8.6 management and preparedness activities. At​

8.7 a minimum, the report must identify grant​

8.8 recipients and give detailed information on​

8.9 how the grantees used the money received.​

8.10 (g) Youth Intervention Grants​

8.11 $3,000,000 is for youth intervention program​

8.12 grants under Minnesota Statutes, section​

8.13 299A.73.​

8.14 (h) School Safety Center​

8.15 $250,000 is for two school safety specialists​

8.16 at the Minnesota School Safety Center.​

8.17 (i) Prosecutorial Training​

8.18 $100,000 is for a grant to the Minnesota​

8.19 County Attorneys Association to be used for​

8.20 prosecutorial and law enforcement training,​

8.21 including trial school training and​

8.22 train-the-trainers courses.​

8.23 (j) Ramsey County Sheriff Violent Crime​

8.24 Initiative; Air Patrol​

8.25 $2,400,000 is for a grant to the Ramsey​

8.26 County Sheriff's Office. In coordination with​

8.27 other sheriffs' offices, police departments, and​

8.28 Metro Transit, the Ramsey County sheriff shall​

8.29 use the funds to prevent and combat surging​

8.30 rates of violent crime, including murder,​

8.31 assault, carjacking, and other crimes against​

8.32 the person, in the seven-county metropolitan​

8.33 area with a concentration of efforts in areas​

8​Article 1 Sec. 8.​
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9.1 that have experienced the largest increase in​

9.2 violent crimes since July 1, 2020. The Ramsey​

9.3 County sheriff may use these funds to​

9.4 reimburse or directly compensate peace​

9.5 officers from other jurisdictions who assist in​

9.6 crime prevention efforts coordinated by the​

9.7 sheriff. This is a onetime appropriation.​

9.8 $600,000 is for the State Patrol's use of the air​

9.9 patrol, in coordination with the Ramsey​

9.10 County sheriff, to prevent and combat violent​

9.11 crime in the seven-county metropolitan area​

9.12 with a concentration of efforts in areas that​

9.13 have experienced the largest increase in​

9.14 violent crimes since July 1, 2020. This is a​

9.15 onetime appropriation.​

9.16 By February 1, 2024, the commissioner shall​

9.17 report to the chairs and ranking minority​

9.18 members of the legislative committees with​

9.19 jurisdiction over criminal justice policy and​

9.20 finance on how the appropriations in this​

9.21 paragraph were used. The report must detail​

9.22 the impact the appropriations had on reducing​

9.23 violent criminal activity in the seven-county​

9.24 metropolitan area and make recommendations​

9.25 on how future state appropriations can be used​

9.26 to reduce violent crime in the seven-county​

9.27 metropolitan area. The report must provide​

9.28 specific details on the number of arrests made​

9.29 in whole or in part from the grant, the crimes​

9.30 for which the arrests were made, the​

9.31 convictions obtained, the number of resulting​

9.32 forfeitures, and the specific uses to which the​

9.33 air patrol was employed. In addition, the report​

9.34 must identify instances in which a portion of​

9.35 the appropriation was used to reimburse or​

9​Article 1 Sec. 8.​

SENATEE SS SS2673R​04/01/22  ​



10.1 directly compensate peace officers from other​

10.2 jurisdictions, specifying this by agency and​

10.3 amount.​

10.4 (k) Portable Recording Systems​

10.5 $5,000,000 is to provide grants for portable​

10.6 recording systems and portable recording​

10.7 system data under Minnesota Statutes, section​

10.8 299A.88, purchased or contracted for on or​

10.9 after July 1, 2022.​

10.10 (l) Use of Force Training; Reimbursement​

10.11 $2,625,000 is for reimbursement grants, to be​

10.12 made in consultation with the executive​

10.13 director of the Peace Officer Standards and​

10.14 Training Board, to postsecondary schools​

10.15 certified to provide programs of professional​

10.16 peace officer education for providing​

10.17 in-service training programs on the use of​

10.18 force, including deadly force, by peace​

10.19 officers. This is a onetime appropriation and​

10.20 is available until June 30, 2025.​

10.21 To be eligible for reimbursement, training​

10.22 offered by a postsecondary school must:​

10.23 (1) satisfy the requirements of Minnesota​

10.24 Statutes, section 626.8452, and be approved​

10.25 by the Peace Officer Standards and Training​

10.26 Board;​

10.27 (2) utilize scenario-based training that​

10.28 simulates real-world situations and involves​

10.29 the use of real firearms that fire nonlethal​

10.30 ammunition; and​

10.31 (3) be offered to peace officers at no charge​

10.32 to the peace officer or law enforcement​

10.33 agency.​

10​Article 1 Sec. 8.​
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11.1 A postsecondary school that offers training​

11.2 consistent with the requirements of this​

11.3 paragraph may apply for reimbursement for​

11.4 the costs of offering the training.​

11.5 Reimbursement shall be made at a rate of $250​

11.6 for each officer who participates in the​

11.7 training. The postsecondary school shall​

11.8 submit the name and peace officer license​

11.9 number of the peace officer who received the​

11.10 training.​

11.11 As used in this paragraph:​

11.12 (i) "law enforcement agency" has the meaning​

11.13 given in Minnesota Statutes, section 626.84,​

11.14 subdivision 1, paragraph (f); and​

11.15 (ii) "peace officer" has the meaning given in​

11.16 Minnesota Statutes, section 626.84,​

11.17 subdivision 1, paragraph (c).​

11.18 (m) Peace Officer Education​

11.19 Reimbursement​

11.20 $2,500,000 is for education reimbursement​

11.21 grants, to be made in consultation with the​

11.22 executive director of the Peace Officer​

11.23 Standards and Training Board, to eligible​

11.24 peace officers.​

11.25 An eligible peace officer is a person who:​

11.26 (1) is a peace officer as defined in Minnesota​

11.27 Statutes, section 626.84, subdivision 1,​

11.28 paragraph (c);​

11.29 (2) began employment as a peace officer on​

11.30 or after July 1, 2021;​

11.31 (3) has been continuously employed as a peace​

11.32 officer for at least 12 months;​

11​Article 1 Sec. 8.​
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12.1 (4) has not been found to be in violation of the​

12.2 standards of conduct set forth in Minnesota​

12.3 Rules, part 6700.1600; and​

12.4 (5) paid tuition or other fees to a​

12.5 postsecondary school to participate in a​

12.6 professional peace officer education program​

12.7 as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section​

12.8 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (g).​

12.9 An eligible peace officer may receive​

12.10 reimbursement equal to the amount paid in​

12.11 tuition or other fees to a postsecondary school​

12.12 to participate in a professional peace officer​

12.13 education program or $5,000, whichever is​

12.14 less. An eligible peace officer may not receive​

12.15 reimbursement for any amount paid by a third​

12.16 party or reimbursed by any other entity, or any​

12.17 amount of a loan that was forgiven or is​

12.18 eligible to be forgiven from money borrowed​

12.19 from a financial institution or other entity.​

12.20 The commissioner, in consultation with the​

12.21 executive director, shall establish the​

12.22 requirements for an application for​

12.23 reimbursement of education expenses. At a​

12.24 minimum, the application must include:​

12.25 (i) the name, date of birth, and peace officer​

12.26 license number of the applicant;​

12.27 (ii) the postsecondary school to which tuition​

12.28 or other fees were paid and the amount paid;​

12.29 (iii) the date of completion of a professional​

12.30 peace officer education program;​

12.31 (iv) the date on which the person began​

12.32 employment as a peace officer;​

12​Article 1 Sec. 8.​
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13.1 (v) certification by a chief law enforcement​

13.2 officer that the person is employed as a peace​

13.3 officer at the time of application and has been​

13.4 employed as a peace officer for at least the​

13.5 previous 12 months; and​

13.6 (vi) a statement signed by the applicant, under​

13.7 penalty of perjury as provided in Minnesota​

13.8 Statutes, section 609.48, attesting that the​

13.9 applicant paid the tuition or fees being​

13.10 claimed; the amount paid was not reimbursed​

13.11 by any other entity or through any other​

13.12 program; and the applicant is not claiming​

13.13 reimbursement for any amount of a loan that​

13.14 was forgiven or is eligible to be forgiven from​

13.15 money borrowed from a financial institution​

13.16 or other entity.​

13.17 The commissioner shall prepare and make​

13.18 forms available on its website for use by​

13.19 applicants and chief law enforcement officers.​

13.20 By February 15 of each odd-numbered year,​

13.21 the commissioner shall report to the chairs and​

13.22 ranking minority members of the legislative​

13.23 committees having jurisdiction over public​

13.24 safety policy and finance on the grants made​

13.25 under this paragraph. At a minimum, the report​

13.26 must give details on the number of grants​

13.27 made, the amount of each grant, the​

13.28 postsecondary schools attended, and the law​

13.29 enforcement agency the peace officer is​

13.30 employed by.​

13.31 (n) Reimbursement Grants to Law​

13.32 Enforcement Agencies for New Peace​

13.33 Officer Hiring Bonuses​

13​Article 1 Sec. 8.​
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14.1 $20,000,000 is for grants, to be made in​

14.2 consultation with the executive director of the​

14.3 Peace Officer Standards and Training Board,​

14.4 to law enforcement agencies under this​

14.5 paragraph. This is a onetime appropriation and​

14.6 is available until June 30, 2025.​

14.7 The commissioner, in consultation with the​

14.8 executive director, may make reimbursement​

14.9 grants as provided in this paragraph to law​

14.10 enforcement agencies that have paid​

14.11 recruitment bonuses to newly hired peace​

14.12 officers. Agencies may apply for grants on​

14.13 forms and as directed by the commissioner.​

14.14 The maximum amount of a grant is $10,000​

14.15 per officer hired. An agency may apply for​

14.16 multiple grants to cover multiple eligible​

14.17 bonuses. Grants are awarded at the discretion​

14.18 of the commissioner, in consultation with the​

14.19 executive director, and are limited to the​

14.20 amount appropriated for this purpose.​

14.21 Law enforcement agencies may offer​

14.22 recruitment bonuses to provide incentives to​

14.23 individuals to become peace officers with the​

14.24 agency. A reimbursement grant under this​

14.25 paragraph may be made only if the peace​

14.26 officer was hired after having received notice​

14.27 of the availability of a recruitment bonus and​

14.28 only after the agency has paid the bonus. An​

14.29 officer is eligible for a bonus upon reaching​

14.30 the officer's one year anniversary of starting​

14.31 employment at the agency and only if the​

14.32 officer is a member in good standing with the​

14.33 agency. A grant may be awarded only for a​

14.34 bonus paid to a newly licensed peace officer​

14.35 hire. Grants may not reimburse bonuses paid​

14​Article 1 Sec. 8.​
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15.1 to officers moving laterally from other​

15.2 jurisdictions within the state or officers who​

15.3 previously served as correctional officers​

15.4 within the state. If the demand for grants​

15.5 exceeds the amount appropriated, the​

15.6 commissioner, in consultation with the​

15.7 executive director, shall award grants in a​

15.8 manner that ensures that grants are distributed​

15.9 to agencies in a geographically balanced​

15.10 manner and also in a balanced manner in terms​

15.11 of the size of the law enforcement agencies​

15.12 receiving grants.​

15.13 By January 15, 2025, the commissioner shall​

15.14 report to the chairs and ranking minority​

15.15 members of the legislative committees having​

15.16 jurisdiction over criminal justice policy and​

15.17 finance on the grant program. At a minimum,​

15.18 the report must provide detailed information​

15.19 on the grants awarded under this paragraph,​

15.20 including the amount of each grant and the​

15.21 recipient agency, and the number of new hires​

15.22 made in whole or in part because of the grants.​

15.23 (o) Peace Officer Bonus Program​

15.24 $2,500,000 is for the bonus program described​

15.25 in Minnesota Statutes, section 626.8415.​

15.26 (p) Bonus Payments to Peace Officers​

15.27 $47,000,000 is to distribute, in consultation​

15.28 with the executive director of the Peace​

15.29 Officer Standards and Training Board, a​

15.30 onetime bonus payment to each peace officer,​

15.31 as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section​

15.32 626.84, subdivision 1, who is employed as of​

15.33 July 1, 2022. The bonus payment must be​

15.34 $3,000 for peace officers under the age of 50​

15​Article 1 Sec. 8.​
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16.1 as of July 1, 2022, and $10,000 for peace​

16.2 officers aged 55 or over as of July 1, 2022.​

16.3 For a peace officer aged 50 to 54 as of July 1,​

16.4 2022, the bonus payment is $3,000. However,​

16.5 the peace officer must be paid an additional​

16.6 $7,000 bonus upon reaching 55 years of age​

16.7 if the person is still employed as a peace​

16.8 officer or upon working an additional two​

16.9 years as a peace officer, whichever occurs​

16.10 first. This is a onetime appropriation and is​

16.11 available until June 30, 2025.​

16.12 By February 1, 2026, the commissioner shall​

16.13 report to the chairs and ranking minority​

16.14 members of the legislative committees with​

16.15 jurisdiction over public safety policy and​

16.16 finance on the bonus payments made under​

16.17 this paragraph. At a minimum, the report must​

16.18 identify the number of grants made, the​

16.19 amount of each grant, the number of grants​

16.20 by category, and the number of grants made​

16.21 to peace officers aged 50 to 54 that were later​

16.22 supplemented upon the peace officer working​

16.23 two additional years or turning 55.​

16.24 (q) Police Officer Skills Training and​

16.25 Provider Program Grants​

16.26 $5,000,000 is to transfer to the Minnesota​

16.27 State Colleges and Universities Board of​

16.28 Trustees for grants to the nine Minnesota State​

16.29 Colleges and Universities police officer skills​

16.30 training and provider programs. The grants​

16.31 may be used for technological needs, including​

16.32 body cameras to enhance student learning​

16.33 through the use of real-time review; fleet​

16.34 vehicles and accessories such as automatic​

16.35 vehicle locators, light bars, and radio racks; a​
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17.1 de-escalation simulation program; a​

17.2 360-degree force continuum simulator; a​

17.3 tactical warehouse recording system; personal​

17.4 interaction replay equipment, such as​

17.5 electronic tablets for crime scene investigation​

17.6 scenarios; and other costs associated with​

17.7 operating a skills program.​

17.8 The Board of Trustees shall award the grants​

17.9 based on the nine police officer skills training​

17.10 and provider program enrollment. This is a​

17.11 onetime appropriation.​

17.12 (r) Racially Diverse Youth​

17.13 $210,000 is for grants to organizations to​

17.14 address racial disparity of youth using shelter​

17.15 services in the Rochester and St. Cloud​

17.16 regional areas. A grant recipient shall establish​

17.17 and operate a pilot program connected to​

17.18 shelter services to engage in community​

17.19 intervention outreach, mobile case​

17.20 management, family reunification, aftercare,​

17.21 and follow up when family members are​

17.22 released from shelter services. A pilot program​

17.23 must specifically address the high number of​

17.24 racially diverse youth that enter shelters in the​

17.25 regions. This is a onetime appropriation.​

17.26 (s) Administration Costs​

17.27 Except as otherwise provided, up to 2.5​

17.28 percent of the money appropriated in this​

17.29 section may be used by the commissioner to​

17.30 administer the grant programs described.​

17.31 (t) Costs of Sexual Assault Medical​

17.32 Examinations​

17.33 $....... is to pay for the cost of medical​

17.34 examinations for sexual assault victims in​
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18.1 accordance with Minnesota Statutes, new​

18.2 section 609.35.​

18.3 (u) Prohibition on Supplanting​

18.4 Notwithstanding any contrary provision in​

18.5 ordinance or contract, a local unit of​

18.6 government may not use any money​

18.7 appropriated or granted under this section to​

18.8 supplant its funding of peace officer salaries,​

18.9 salary ranges, or other compensation, or use​

18.10 it in a manner that differs from the purposes​

18.11 specified.​

18.12 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 144.6586, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

18.13 Subd. 2. Contents of notice. The commissioners of health and public safety, in​

18.14 consultation with sexual assault victim advocates and health care professionals, shall develop​

18.15 the notice required by subdivision 1. The notice must inform the victim, at a minimum, of:​

18.16 (1) the obligation under section 609.35 of the county where the criminal sexual conduct​

18.17 occurred state to pay for the examination performed for the purpose of gathering evidence,​

18.18 that payment is not contingent on the victim reporting the criminal sexual conduct to law​

18.19 enforcement, and that the victim may incur expenses for treatment of injuries;​

18.20 (2) the victim's rights if the crime is reported to law enforcement, including the victim's​

18.21 right to apply for reparations under sections 611A.51 to 611A.68, information on how to​

18.22 apply for reparations, and information on how to obtain an order for protection or a​

18.23 harassment restraining order; and​

18.24 (3) the opportunity under section 611A.27 to obtain status information about an​

18.25 unrestricted sexual assault examination kit, as defined in section 299C.106, subdivision 1,​

18.26 paragraph (h).​

18.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2022, and applies to any​

18.28 examination that occurs on or after that date.​

18.29 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 244.09, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

18.30 read:​

18.31 Subd. 6a. Publicly searchable database. (a) The commission shall maintain a public​

18.32 website with a searchable database that provides the public with information on criminal​
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19.1 sentences stayed or imposed by the courts. The website must not include information that​

19.2 is not public data, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 8a.​

19.3 (b) The website required under paragraph (a) must contain all the information transmitted​

19.4 from the sentencing court to the commission including information in the sentencing​

19.5 worksheet transmitted pursuant to section 609.115, subdivision 2a, and the sentencing order​

19.6 and departure report, if any, sent pursuant to Rules of Criminal Procedure, rule 27.03. Data​

19.7 received by the commission must be entered into separate fields in the database.​

19.8 (c) The searchable database must allow a user of the website to:​

19.9 (1) search by individual fields, including but not limited to:​

19.10 (i) case number;​

19.11 (ii) defendant name;​

19.12 (iii) date of offense;​

19.13 (iv) judicial district where the sentence was stayed or imposed;​

19.14 (v) county where the sentence was stayed or imposed;​

19.15 (vi) year in which the sentence was stayed or imposed;​

19.16 (vii) judge who stayed or imposed the sentence;​

19.17 (viii) crime for which the sentence was stayed or imposed;​

19.18 (ix) defendant's criminal history score;​

19.19 (x) severity level of the offense for which a sentence was stayed or imposed;​

19.20 (xi) executed sentences, including the length of sentence imposed and executed;​

19.21 (xii) stayed sentences, including the length of probation ordered and, if applicable, the​

19.22 length of sentence imposed but not executed;​

19.23 (xiii) whether the sentence was a departure from the Sentencing Guidelines and, if so,​

19.24 whether it was an aggravated durational, aggravated dispositional, mitigated durational,​

19.25 mitigated dispositional, or hybrid departure; and​

19.26 (xiv) whether a departure from the Sentencing Guidelines was ordered with prosecutor​

19.27 agreement;​

19.28 (2) perform a search using at least two fields;​

19.29 (3) sort by each field;​
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20.1 (4) obtain information grouped or aggregated by each field, where groups or subtotals​

20.2 are feasible; and​

20.3 (5) allow the user to download the data into a user-controlled database.​

20.4 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 244.09, subdivision 11, is amended to read:​

20.5 Subd. 11. Modification. The commission shall meet as necessary for the purpose of​

20.6 modifying and improving the guidelines. The commission shall allow members of the public​

20.7 to monitor each meeting electronically from a remote location and to comment from that​

20.8 location during the public comment period of each meeting. The commission shall make a​

20.9 visual and audio recording of each meeting and make the recordings available to the public​

20.10 on the commission's website or through a link posted on the website. Any modification​

20.11 which amends the Sentencing Guidelines grid, including severity levels and criminal history​

20.12 scores, or which would result in the reduction of any sentence or in the early release of any​

20.13 inmate, with the exception of a modification mandated or authorized by the legislature or​

20.14 relating to a crime created or amended by the legislature in the preceding session, shall be​

20.15 submitted to the legislature by January 15 of any year in which the commission wishes to​

20.16 make the change and shall be effective on August 1 of that year, unless the legislature by​

20.17 law provides otherwise. All other modifications shall take effect according to the procedural​

20.18 rules of the commission. On or before January 15 of each year, the commission shall submit​

20.19 a written report to the committees of the senate and the house of representatives with​

20.20 jurisdiction over criminal justice policy that identifies and explains all modifications made​

20.21 during the preceding 12 months and all proposed modifications that are being submitted to​

20.22 the legislature that year.​

20.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

20.24 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 244.09, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

20.25 read:​

20.26 Subd. 15. Report on dismissals with agreement of the prosecutor. The Sentencing​

20.27 Guidelines Commission shall include in its annual report to the legislature a summary and​

20.28 analysis of reports received from county attorneys under section 388.052.​

20.29 Sec. 13. [299A.88] PORTABLE RECORDING SYSTEMS.​

20.30 Subdivision 1. Grants. The commissioner of public safety shall award grants to local​

20.31 law enforcement agencies for the purchase, maintenance, support, and storage of portable​

20.32 recording systems and portable recording system data. An applicant must provide a 25​
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21.1 percent match to be eligible to receive a grant. The commissioner shall give priority to law​

21.2 enforcement agencies located outside of the seven-county metropolitan area that do not​

21.3 have a portable recording system program. Grants under this section apply only to contracts​

21.4 for portable recording systems and portable recording system data with a duration of five​

21.5 years or less.​

21.6 Subd. 2. Reporting. By February 15 of each odd-numbered year, the commissioner​

21.7 shall report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with​

21.8 jurisdiction over public safety policy and finance on the grants made pursuant to this section.​

21.9 At a minimum, the report must specify the agencies receiving grants and how they used the​

21.10 money, including whether it was used for new purchases or replacements; the number of​

21.11 providers used to provide or support the systems, the length of the contracts for this, and​

21.12 whether the contracts included other items; and what features were included with the systems.​

21.13 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 357.021, subdivision 1a, is amended​

21.14 to read:​

21.15 Subd. 1a. Transmittal of fees to commissioner of management and budget. (a) Every​

21.16 person, including the state of Minnesota and all bodies politic and corporate, who shall​

21.17 transact any business in the district court, shall pay to the court administrator of said court​

21.18 the sundry fees prescribed in subdivision 2. Except as provided in paragraph (d), the court​

21.19 administrator shall transmit the fees monthly to the commissioner of management and budget​

21.20 for deposit in the state treasury and credit to the general fund. $30 $60 of each fee collected​

21.21 in a dissolution action under subdivision 2, clause (1), must be deposited by the commissioner​

21.22 of management and budget in the special revenue fund and is appropriated to the​

21.23 commissioner of employment and economic development for the Minnesota Family​

21.24 Resiliency Partnership under section 116L.96.​

21.25 (b) In a county which has a screener-collector position, fees paid by a county pursuant​

21.26 to this subdivision shall be transmitted monthly to the county treasurer, who shall apply the​

21.27 fees first to reimburse the county for the amount of the salary paid for the screener-collector​

21.28 position. The balance of the fees collected shall then be forwarded to the commissioner of​

21.29 management and budget for deposit in the state treasury and credited to the general fund.​

21.30 In a county in a judicial district under section 480.181, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), which​

21.31 has a screener-collector position, the fees paid by a county shall be transmitted monthly to​

21.32 the commissioner of management and budget for deposit in the state treasury and credited​

21.33 to the general fund. A screener-collector position for purposes of this paragraph is an​
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22.1 employee whose function is to increase the collection of fines and to review the incomes​

22.2 of potential clients of the public defender, in order to verify eligibility for that service.​

22.3 (c) No fee is required under this section from the public authority or the party the public​

22.4 authority represents in an action for:​

22.5 (1) child support enforcement or modification, medical assistance enforcement, or​

22.6 establishment of parentage in the district court, or in a proceeding under section 484.702;​

22.7 (2) civil commitment under chapter 253B;​

22.8 (3) the appointment of a public conservator or public guardian or any other action under​

22.9 chapters 252A and 525;​

22.10 (4) wrongfully obtaining public assistance under section 256.98 or 256D.07, or recovery​

22.11 of overpayments of public assistance;​

22.12 (5) court relief under chapters 260, 260A, 260B, and 260C;​

22.13 (6) forfeiture of property under sections 169A.63 and 609.531 to 609.5317;​

22.14 (7) recovery of amounts issued by political subdivisions or public institutions under​

22.15 sections 246.52, 252.27, 256.045, 256.25, 256.87, 256B.042, 256B.14, 256B.15, 256B.37,​

22.16 260B.331, and 260C.331, or other sections referring to other forms of public assistance;​

22.17 (8) restitution under section 611A.04; or​

22.18 (9) actions seeking monetary relief in favor of the state pursuant to section 16D.14,​

22.19 subdivision 5.​

22.20 (d) $20 from each fee collected for child support modifications under subdivision 2,​

22.21 clause (13), must be transmitted to the county treasurer for deposit in the county general​

22.22 fund and $35 from each fee shall be credited to the state general fund. The fees must be​

22.23 used by the county to pay for child support enforcement efforts by county attorneys.​

22.24 (e) No fee is required under this section from any federally recognized Indian Tribe or​

22.25 its representative in an action for:​

22.26 (1) child support enforcement or modification, medical assistance enforcement, or​

22.27 establishment of parentage in the district court or in a proceeding under section 484.702;​

22.28 (2) civil commitment under chapter 253B;​

22.29 (3) the appointment of a public conservator or public guardian or any other action under​

22.30 chapters 252A and 525; or​

22.31 (4) court relief under chapters 260, 260A, 260B, 260C, and 260D.​
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23.1 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 357.021, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

23.2 Subd. 2. Fee amounts. The fees to be charged and collected by the court administrator​

23.3 shall be as follows:​

23.4 (1) In every civil action or proceeding in said court, including any case arising under​

23.5 the tax laws of the state that could be transferred or appealed to the Tax Court, the plaintiff,​

23.6 petitioner, or other moving party shall pay, when the first paper is filed for that party in said​

23.7 action, a fee of $285, except in marriage dissolution actions the fee is $315.​

23.8 The defendant or other adverse or intervening party, or any one or more of several​

23.9 defendants or other adverse or intervening parties appearing separately from the others,​

23.10 shall pay, when the first paper is filed for that party in said action, a fee of $285, except in​

23.11 marriage dissolution actions the fee is $315. This subdivision does not apply to the filing​

23.12 of an Application for Discharge of Judgment. Section 548.181 applies to an Application​

23.13 for Discharge of Judgment.​

23.14 The party requesting a trial by jury shall pay $100.​

23.15 The fees above stated shall be the full trial fee chargeable to said parties irrespective of​

23.16 whether trial be to the court alone, to the court and jury, or disposed of without trial, and​

23.17 shall include the entry of judgment in the action, but does not include copies or certified​

23.18 copies of any papers so filed or proceedings under chapter 103E, except the provisions​

23.19 therein as to appeals.​

23.20 (2) Certified copy of any instrument from a civil or criminal proceeding, $14, and $8​

23.21 for an uncertified copy.​

23.22 (3) Issuing a subpoena, $16 for each name.​

23.23 (4) Filing a motion or response to a motion in civil, family, excluding child support, and​

23.24 guardianship cases, $75.​

23.25 (5) Issuing an execution and filing the return thereof; issuing a writ of attachment,​

23.26 injunction, habeas corpus, mandamus, quo warranto, certiorari, or other writs not specifically​

23.27 mentioned, $55.​

23.28 (6) Issuing a transcript of judgment, or for filing and docketing a transcript of judgment​

23.29 from another court, $40.​

23.30 (7) Filing and entering a satisfaction of judgment, partial satisfaction, or assignment of​

23.31 judgment, $5.​
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24.1 (8) Certificate as to existence or nonexistence of judgments docketed, $5 for each name​

24.2 certified to.​

24.3 (9) Filing and indexing trade name; or recording basic science certificate; or recording​

24.4 certificate of physicians, osteopathic physicians, chiropractors, veterinarians, or optometrists,​

24.5 $5.​

24.6 (10) For the filing of each partial, final, or annual account in all trusteeships, $55.​

24.7 (11) For the deposit of a will, $27.​

24.8 (12) For recording notary commission, $20.​

24.9 (13) Filing a motion or response to a motion for modification of child support, a fee of​

24.10 $50.​

24.11 (14) All other services required by law for which no fee is provided, such fee as compares​

24.12 favorably with those herein provided, or such as may be fixed by rule or order of the court.​

24.13 (15) In addition to any other filing fees under this chapter, a surcharge in the amount of​

24.14 $75 must be assessed in accordance with section 259.52, subdivision 14, for each adoption​

24.15 petition filed in district court to fund the fathers' adoption registry under section 259.52.​

24.16 The fees in clauses (3) and (5) need not be paid by a public authority or the party the​

24.17 public authority represents. No fee may be charged for an uncertified copy of an instrument​

24.18 from a civil or criminal proceeding.​

24.19 Sec. 16. [388.052] REPORT ON CRIMINAL CHARGES AND CASES DISMISSED.​

24.20 (a) In each case where the defendant is charged with a felony, a county attorney who​

24.21 dismisses any part of a criminal action pursuant to Rules of Criminal Procedure, rule 30.01,​

24.22 shall record the following information in writing:​

24.23 (1) the name of the defendant;​

24.24 (2) the date of the offense;​

24.25 (3) all crimes charged;​

24.26 (4) any charges that were dismissed;​

24.27 (5) the name of the assistant county attorney who authorized the dismissal;​

24.28 (6) the date of dismissal; and​

24.29 (7) any reason for the dismissal, including dismissals due to diversion, suppression or​

24.30 loss of evidence, lack of cooperation of a victim or witness, a plea agreement on a single​
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25.1 felony complaint with multiple felony counts, or a plea agreement involving more than one​

25.2 separately charged felony complaint.​

25.3 The county attorney may not record any information under this paragraph that indicates the​

25.4 cooperation of a defendant as a reason for a dismissal.​

25.5 (b) The county attorney shall forward the information recorded under paragraph (a) to​

25.6 the Sentencing Guidelines Commission upon forms prescribed by the commission and must​

25.7 publish the information on the county attorney's publicly accessible website. Information​

25.8 forwarded to the Sentencing Guidelines Commission and posted on the county attorney's​

25.9 website must not include the identifying information of any victim.​

25.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2022, and applies to dismissals​

25.11 that take place on or after that date.​

25.12 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 517.08, subdivision 1c, is amended to read:​

25.13 Subd. 1c. Disposition of license fee. (a) Of the civil marriage license fee collected​

25.14 pursuant to subdivision 1b, paragraph (a), $25 must be retained by the county. The local​

25.15 registrar must pay $90 to the commissioner of management and budget to be deposited as​

25.16 follows:​

25.17 (1) $55 $25 in the general fund;​

25.18 (2) $3 in the state government special revenue fund to be appropriated to the​

25.19 commissioner of public safety for parenting time centers under section 119A.37;​

25.20 (3) $2 in the special revenue fund to be appropriated to the commissioner of health for​

25.21 developing and implementing the MN ENABL program under section 145.9255;​

25.22 (4) $25 $55 in the special revenue fund is appropriated to the commissioner of​

25.23 employment and economic development for the Minnesota Family Resiliency Partnership​

25.24 under section 116L.96; and​

25.25 (5) $5 in the special revenue fund, which is appropriated to the Board of Regents of the​

25.26 University of Minnesota for the Minnesota couples on the brink project under section 137.32.​

25.27 (b) Of the $40 fee under subdivision 1b, paragraph (b), $25 must be retained by the​

25.28 county. The local registrar must pay $15 to the commissioner of management and budget​

25.29 to be deposited as follows:​

25.30 (1) $5 as provided in paragraph (a), clauses (2) and (3); and​
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26.1 (2) $10 in the special revenue fund is appropriated to the commissioner of employment​

26.2 and economic development for the Minnesota Family Resiliency Partnership under section​

26.3 116L.96.​

26.4 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.35, is amended to read:​

26.5 609.35 COSTS OF MEDICAL EXAMINATION.​

26.6 (a) Costs incurred by a county, city, or private hospital or other emergency medical​

26.7 facility or by a private physician or other licensed health care provider for the examination​

26.8 of a victim of criminal sexual conduct when the examination is performed for the purpose​

26.9 of gathering evidence shall be paid by the county in which the criminal sexual conduct​

26.10 occurred state. These costs include, but are not limited to, the full cost of the rape kit​

26.11 examination,; any associated tests and treatment relating to the complainant's a sexually​

26.12 transmitted disease status, infection; and any associated tests relating to the victim's​

26.13 pregnancy status. A hospital, emergency medical facility, or health care provider shall​

26.14 submit the costs for the examination and any associated tests and necessary treatment to​

26.15 the Office of Justice Programs for payment. Upon receipt of the costs, the office shall provide​

26.16 payment to the facility or health care provider.​

26.17 (b) Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit the duties, responsibilities, or​

26.18 liabilities of any insurer, whether public or private. However, a county the state may seek​

26.19 insurance reimbursement from the victim's insurer only if authorized by the victim. This​

26.20 authorization may only be sought after the examination is performed. When seeking this​

26.21 authorization, the county state shall inform the victim that if the victim does not authorize​

26.22 this, the county state is required by law to pay for the examination and that the victim is in​

26.23 no way liable for these costs or obligated to authorize the reimbursement.​

26.24 (c) The applicability of this section does not depend upon whether the victim reports​

26.25 the offense to law enforcement or the existence or status of any investigation or prosecution.​

26.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2022, and applies to any​

26.27 examination that occurs on or after that date.​

26.28 Sec. 19. [626.8415] PEACE OFFICER BONUS PROGRAM.​

26.29 Subdivision 1. Program established. The commissioner of public safety, in consultation​

26.30 with the executive director of the Peace Officer Standards and Training Board, may issue​

26.31 bonus payments to peace officers employed by state or local law enforcement agencies as​

26.32 provided under this section. To be eligible for a bonus payment, the peace officer must have​
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27.1 been nominated by the chief law enforcement officer of the agency employing the peace​

27.2 officer. The commissioner, in consultation with the executive director, shall develop​

27.3 nomination forms and guidelines for bonus payment eligibility. The guidelines must describe​

27.4 the process and criteria by which payments are to be awarded. Final decisions on the actual​

27.5 awarding and amount of individual bonuses are at the discretion of the commissioner, in​

27.6 consultation with the executive director, and are limited to funds appropriated for this​

27.7 purpose.​

27.8 Subd. 2. Types of bonuses. The commissioner, in consultation with the executive​

27.9 director, may accept nominations and award bonuses for exemplary service that goes above​

27.10 and beyond the call of duty, including but not limited to acts of heroism or valor. In addition,​

27.11 the commissioner, in consultation with the executive director, may award bonuses for​

27.12 recognition of meritorious service in which the recipient peace officer has served for a​

27.13 minimum of five years without having any adverse disciplinary actions taken against the​

27.14 peace officer. An individual bonus payment may not exceed $10,000.​

27.15 Subd. 3. Report required. By January 15 of each year, the commissioner shall report​

27.16 to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees having jurisdiction​

27.17 over criminal justice policy and finance on the bonus program. At a minimum, the report​

27.18 must provide detailed information on the bonuses awarded under this section, including the​

27.19 amount of each bonus, the agency employing the recipient, and general information on the​

27.20 reasons for the bonus.​

27.21 ARTICLE 2​

27.22 CRIMINAL LAW AND SENTENCING CHANGES​

27.23 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13A.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

27.24 Subdivision 1. Access by government. Except as authorized by this chapter, no​

27.25 government authority may have access to, or obtain copies of, or the information contained​

27.26 in, the financial records of any customer from a financial institution unless the financial​

27.27 records are reasonably described and:​

27.28 (1) the customer has authorized the disclosure;​

27.29 (2) the financial records are disclosed in response to a search warrant;​

27.30 (3) the financial records are disclosed in response to a judicial or administrative subpoena;​

27.31 (4) the financial records are disclosed to law enforcement, a lead investigative agency​

27.32 as defined in section 626.5572, subdivision 13, or prosecuting authority that is investigating​
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28.1 financial exploitation of a vulnerable adult in response to a judicial subpoena or​

28.2 administrative subpoena under section 388.23; or​

28.3 (5) the financial records are disclosed pursuant to section 609.527 or 609.535 or other​

28.4 statute or rule.​

28.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022.​

28.6 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13A.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

28.7 Subd. 2. Release prohibited. No financial institution, or officer, employee, or agent of​

28.8 a financial institution, may provide to any government authority access to, or copies of, or​

28.9 the information contained in, the financial records of any customer except in accordance​

28.10 with the provisions of this chapter.​

28.11 Nothing in this chapter shall require a financial institution to inquire or determine that​

28.12 those seeking disclosure have duly complied with the requirements of this chapter, provided​

28.13 only that the customer authorization, search warrant, subpoena, or written certification​

28.14 pursuant to section 609.527, subdivision 8; 609.535, subdivision 6; 626.557; or other statute​

28.15 or rule, served on or delivered to a financial institution shows compliance on its face.​

28.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022.​

28.17 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.44, is amended to read:​

28.18 169A.44 CONDITIONAL RELEASE.​

28.19 Subdivision 1. Nonfelony violations. (a) This subdivision applies to a person charged​

28.20 with a nonfelony violation of section 169A.20 (driving while impaired) under circumstances​

28.21 described in section 169A.40, subdivision 3 (certain DWI offenders; custodial arrest).​

28.22 (b) Except as provided in subdivision 3, unless maximum bail is imposed under section​

28.23 629.471, a person described in paragraph (a) may be released from detention only if the​

28.24 person agrees to:​

28.25 (1) abstain from alcohol; and​

28.26 (2) submit to a program of electronic alcohol monitoring, involving at least daily​

28.27 measurements of the person's alcohol concentration, pending resolution of the charge.​

28.28 Clause (2) applies only when electronic alcohol-monitoring equipment is available to​

28.29 the court. The court shall require partial or total reimbursement from the person for the cost​

28.30 of the electronic alcohol-monitoring, to the extent the person is able to pay.​
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29.1 Subd. 2. Felony violations. (a) Except as provided in subdivision 3, a person charged​

29.2 with violating section 169A.20 within ten years of the first of three or more qualified prior​

29.3 impaired driving incidents may be released from detention only if the following conditions​

29.4 are imposed:​

29.5 (1) the conditions described in subdivision 1, paragraph (b), if applicable;​

29.6 (2) the impoundment of the registration plates of the vehicle used to commit the violation,​

29.7 unless already impounded;​

29.8 (3) if the vehicle used to commit the violation was an off-road recreational vehicle or a​

29.9 motorboat, the impoundment of the off-road recreational vehicle or motorboat;​

29.10 (4) a requirement that the person report weekly to a probation agent;​

29.11 (5) a requirement that the person abstain from consumption of alcohol and controlled​

29.12 substances and submit to random alcohol tests or urine analyses at least weekly;​

29.13 (6) a requirement that, if convicted, the person reimburse the court or county for the​

29.14 total cost of these services; and​

29.15 (7) any other conditions of release ordered by the court.​

29.16 (b) In addition to setting forth conditions of release under paragraph (a), if required by​

29.17 court rule, the court shall also fix the amount of money bail without other conditions upon​

29.18 which the defendant may obtain release.​

29.19 Subd. 3. Exception; ignition interlock program. A court is not required, either when​

29.20 initially reviewing a person's release or when modifying the terms of the person's release,​

29.21 to order a person charged with violating section 169A.24 (first-degree driving while​

29.22 impaired), 169A.25 (second-degree driving while impaired), or 169A.26 (third-degree​

29.23 driving while impaired) to submit to a program of electronic alcohol monitoring under​

29.24 subdivision 1 or 2 if the person becomes a program participant in the ignition interlock​

29.25 program under section 171.306. A judicial officer, county agency, or probation office may​

29.26 not require or suggest that the person use a particular ignition interlock vendor when​

29.27 complying with this subdivision but may provide the person with a list of all Minnesota​

29.28 vendors of certified devices.​

29.29 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.174, is amended to read:​

29.30 171.174 REVOCATION; FLEEING PEACE OFFICER OFFENSE.​

29.31 The commissioner of public safety shall revoke the license of a person upon receipt of​

29.32 a certificate of conviction showing that the person has in a motor vehicle violated section​
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30.1 609.487, subdivision 3, 3a, or 4, or an ordinance in conformity with those subdivisions. The​

30.2 commissioner shall revoke the license as follows:​

30.3 (1) for the first offense under section 609.487, subdivision 3, for not less than one year;​

30.4 (2) for the second offense or subsequent offenses under section 609.487, subdivision 3,​

30.5 for not less than three years;​

30.6 (3) for an offense under section 609.487, subdivision 3a, for not less than four years;​

30.7 (4) for an offense under section 609.487, subdivision 4, clause (a), for not less than ten​

30.8 years;​

30.9 (4) (5) for an offense under section 609.487, subdivision 4, clause (b), for not less than​

30.10 seven years; and​

30.11 (5) (6) for an offense under section 609.487, subdivision 4, clause (c), for not less than​

30.12 five years.​

30.13 A limited license under section 171.30 may not be issued for one-half of the revocation​

30.14 period specified in clauses (1) to (5) (6) and after that period is over only upon and as​

30.15 recommended by the adjudicating court.​

30.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​

30.17 committed on or after that date but may provide the person with a list of all Minnesota​

30.18 vendors of certified devices.​

30.19 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.306, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

30.20 read:​

30.21 Subd. 9. Choice of vendor. A judicial officer, county agency, or probation office may​

30.22 not require or suggest that a person participating in the ignition interlock device program​

30.23 under this section use a particular ignition interlock vendor but may provide the person with​

30.24 a list of all Minnesota vendors of certified devices.​

30.25 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 244.01, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

30.26 Subd. 8. Term of imprisonment. "Term of imprisonment," as applied to inmates whose​

30.27 crimes were committed before August 1, 1993, is the period of time for which an inmate is​

30.28 committed to the custody of the commissioner of corrections minus earned good time. "Term​

30.29 of imprisonment," as applied to inmates whose crimes were committed on or after August​

30.30 1, 1993, is the period of time equal to two-thirds three-fourths of the inmate's executed​

30.31 sentence.​

30​Article 2 Sec. 6.​
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31.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​

31.2 committed on or after that date.​

31.3 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 244.05, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

31.4 Subd. 4. Minimum imprisonment, life sentence. (a) An inmate serving a mandatory​

31.5 life sentence under section 609.106 or 609.3455, subdivision 2, must not be given supervised​

31.6 release under this section.​

31.7 (b) An inmate serving a mandatory life sentence under section 609.185, paragraph (a),​

31.8 clause (3), (5), or (6); or 609.2661, clause (3); or Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.109,​

31.9 subdivision 3, must not be given supervised release under this section without having served​

31.10 a minimum term of 30 years.​

31.11 (c) An inmate serving a mandatory life sentence under section 609.385 must not be given​

31.12 supervised release under this section without having served a minimum term of imprisonment​

31.13 of 17 years.​

31.14 (d) An inmate serving a mandatory life sentence under section 609.3455, subdivision 3​

31.15 or 4, must not be given supervised release under this section without having served the​

31.16 minimum term of imprisonment specified by the court in its sentence.​

31.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​

31.18 committed on or after that date.​

31.19 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 244.05, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

31.20 Subd. 5. Supervised release, life sentence. (a) The commissioner of corrections may,​

31.21 under rules promulgated by the commissioner, give supervised release to an inmate serving​

31.22 a mandatory life sentence under section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3), (5), or (6);​

31.23 609.2661, clause (3); 609.3455, subdivision 3 or 4; or 609.385; or Minnesota Statutes 2004,​

31.24 section 609.109, subdivision 3, after the inmate has served the minimum term of​

31.25 imprisonment specified in subdivision 4.​

31.26 (b) The commissioner shall require the preparation of a community investigation report​

31.27 and shall consider the findings of the report when making a supervised release decision​

31.28 under this subdivision. The report shall reflect the sentiment of the various elements of the​

31.29 community toward the inmate, both at the time of the offense and at the present time. The​

31.30 report shall include the views of the sentencing judge, the prosecutor, any law enforcement​

31.31 personnel who may have been involved in the case, and any successors to these individuals​

31.32 who may have information relevant to the supervised release decision. The report shall also​
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32.1 include the views of the victim and the victim's family unless the victim or the victim's​

32.2 family chooses not to participate.​

32.3 (c) The commissioner shall make reasonable efforts to notify the victim, in advance, of​

32.4 the time and place of the inmate's supervised release review hearing. The victim has a right​

32.5 to submit an oral or written statement at the review hearing. The statement may summarize​

32.6 the harm suffered by the victim as a result of the crime and give the victim's recommendation​

32.7 on whether the inmate should be given supervised release at this time. The commissioner​

32.8 must consider the victim's statement when making the supervised release decision.​

32.9 (d) When considering whether to give supervised release to an inmate serving a life​

32.10 sentence under section 609.3455, subdivision 3 or 4, the commissioner shall consider, at a​

32.11 minimum, the following: the risk the inmate poses to the community if released, the inmate's​

32.12 progress in treatment, the inmate's behavior while incarcerated, psychological or other​

32.13 diagnostic evaluations of the inmate, the inmate's criminal history, and any other relevant​

32.14 conduct of the inmate while incarcerated or before incarceration. The commissioner may​

32.15 not give supervised release to the inmate unless:​

32.16 (1) while in prison:​

32.17 (i) the inmate has successfully completed appropriate sex offender treatment;​

32.18 (ii) the inmate has been assessed for chemical dependency needs and, if appropriate, has​

32.19 successfully completed chemical dependency treatment; and​

32.20 (iii) the inmate has been assessed for mental health needs and, if appropriate, has​

32.21 successfully completed mental health treatment; and​

32.22 (2) a comprehensive individual release plan is in place for the inmate that ensures that,​

32.23 after release, the inmate will have suitable housing and receive appropriate aftercare and​

32.24 community-based treatment. The comprehensive plan also must include a postprison​

32.25 employment or education plan for the inmate.​

32.26 (e) As used in this subdivision, "victim" means the individual who suffered harm as a​

32.27 result of the inmate's crime or, if the individual is deceased, the deceased's surviving spouse​

32.28 or next of kin.​

32.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​

32.30 committed on or after that date.​

32​Article 2 Sec. 8.​

SENATEE SS SS2673R​04/01/22  ​



33.1 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 244.09, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

33.2 Subd. 2. Members. The Sentencing Guidelines Commission shall consist of the​

33.3 following:​

33.4 (1) the chief justice of the supreme court or a designee;​

33.5 (2) one judge of the court of appeals, appointed by the chief justice of the supreme court;​

33.6 (3) one district court judge appointed by the chief justice of the supreme court;​

33.7 (4) one public defender appointed by the governor upon recommendation of the state​

33.8 public defender;​

33.9 (5) one county attorney appointed by the governor upon recommendation of the board​

33.10 of directors of the Minnesota County Attorneys Association;​

33.11 (6) the commissioner of corrections or a designee;​

33.12 (7) one peace officer as defined in section 626.84 appointed by the governor;​

33.13 (8) one probation officer or parole officer appointed by the governor; and​

33.14 (9) three public members appointed by the governor, one of whom shall be a victim of​

33.15 a crime defined as a felony.​

33.16 When an appointing authority selects individuals for membership on the commission,​

33.17 the authority shall make reasonable efforts to appoint qualified members of protected groups,​

33.18 as defined in section 43A.02, subdivision 33.​

33.19 One of the members shall be designated by the governor as chair of the commission.​

33.20 The appointments of members described in clauses (4), (5), (7), (8), and (9) are to be​

33.21 made with the advice and consent of the senate. Section 15.066 applies to these appointments.​

33.22 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 244.101, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

33.23 Subdivision 1. Executed sentences. When a felony offender is sentenced to a fixed​

33.24 executed sentence for an offense committed on or after August 1, 1993, the executed sentence​

33.25 consists of two parts: (1) a specified minimum term of imprisonment that is equal to​

33.26 two-thirds three-fourths of the executed sentence; and (2) a specified maximum supervised​

33.27 release term that is equal to one-third one-quarter of the executed sentence. The amount of​

33.28 time the inmate actually serves in prison and on supervised release is subject to the provisions​

33.29 of section 244.05, subdivision 1b.​

33​Article 2 Sec. 10.​

SENATEE SS SS2673R​04/01/22  ​



34.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​

34.2 committed on or after that date.​

34.3 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 244.14, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

34.4 Subd. 3. Sanctions. The commissioner shall impose severe and meaningful sanctions​

34.5 for violating the conditions of an intensive community supervision program. The​

34.6 commissioner shall provide for revocation of intensive community supervision of an offender​

34.7 who:​

34.8 (1) commits a material violation of or repeatedly fails to follow the rules of the program;​

34.9 (2) commits any misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony offense; or​

34.10 (3) presents a risk to the public, based on the offender's behavior, attitude, or abuse of​

34.11 alcohol or controlled substances. The revocation of intensive community supervision is​

34.12 governed by the procedures in the commissioner's rules adopted under section 244.05,​

34.13 subdivision 2.​

34.14 An offender whose intensive community supervision is revoked shall be imprisoned for​

34.15 a time period equal to the offender's term of imprisonment, but in no case for longer than​

34.16 the time remaining in the offender's sentence. "Term of imprisonment" means a time period​

34.17 equal to two-thirds three-fourths of the sentence originally executed by the sentencing court,​

34.18 minus jail credit, if any.​

34.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​

34.20 committed on or after that date.​

34.21 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 244.171, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

34.22 Subd. 4. Sanctions. The commissioner shall impose severe and meaningful sanctions​

34.23 for violating the conditions of the challenge incarceration program. The commissioner shall​

34.24 remove an offender from the challenge incarceration program if the offender:​

34.25 (1) commits a material violation of or repeatedly fails to follow the rules of the program;​

34.26 (2) commits any misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony offense; or​

34.27 (3) presents a risk to the public, based on the offender's behavior, attitude, or abuse of​

34.28 alcohol or controlled substances. The removal of an offender from the challenge incarceration​

34.29 program is governed by the procedures in the commissioner's rules adopted under section​

34.30 244.05, subdivision 2.​
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35.1 An offender who is removed from the challenge incarceration program shall be​

35.2 imprisoned for a time period equal to the offender's term of imprisonment, minus earned​

35.3 good time if any, but in no case for longer than the time remaining in the offender's sentence.​

35.4 "Term of imprisonment" means a time period equal to two-thirds three-fourths of the sentence​

35.5 originally executed by the sentencing court, minus jail credit, if any.​

35.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​

35.7 committed on or after that date.​

35.8 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.035, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

35.9 Subdivision 1. Conduct; multiple crimes; chargeable for one offense. Except as​

35.10 provided in subdivisions 2, 3, 4, and 5, 6, and 7, and in sections 609.2114, subdivision 3,​

35.11 609.251, 609.2691, 609.486, 609.494, 609.585, and 609.856, and Minnesota Statutes 2012,​

35.12 section 609.21, subdivision 1b, if a person's conduct constitutes more than one offense under​

35.13 the laws of this state, the person may be punished for only one of the offenses and a​

35.14 conviction or acquittal of any one of them is a bar to prosecution for any other of them. All​

35.15 the offenses, if prosecuted, shall be included in one prosecution which shall be stated in​

35.16 separate counts.​

35.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​

35.18 committed on or after that date.​

35.19 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.035, is amended by adding a subdivision​

35.20 to read:​

35.21 Subd. 7. Exception; certain theft offenses. Notwithstanding section 609.04, a​

35.22 prosecution or conviction for violating section 609.52, subdivision 3a, paragraph (b), is not​

35.23 a bar to conviction of or punishment for any other crime committed by the defendant as​

35.24 part of the same conduct.​

35.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​

35.26 committed on or after that date.​

35.27 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.106, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

35.28 Subd. 2. Life without release. The court shall sentence a person to life imprisonment​

35.29 without possibility of release under the following circumstances:​

35.30 (1) the person is convicted of first-degree murder under section 609.185, paragraph (a),​

35.31 clause (1), (2), (4), or (7);​
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36.1 (2) the person is convicted of committing first-degree murder in the course of a​

36.2 kidnapping under section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3); or​

36.3 (3) the person is convicted of first-degree murder under section 609.185, paragraph (a),​

36.4 clause (3), (5), or (6), or 609.2661, clause (3), and the court determines on the record at the​

36.5 time of sentencing that the person has one or more previous convictions for a heinous crime;​

36.6 or​

36.7 (4) the person is convicted of first-degree murder of an unborn child under section​

36.8 609.2661, clause (1) or (2).​

36.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​

36.10 committed on or after that date.​

36.11 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.1095, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

36.12 Subd. 2. Increased sentences for dangerous offender who commits third violent​

36.13 crime. Whenever a person is convicted of a violent crime that is a felony, and the judge​

36.14 presumption under the Sentencing Guidelines is imposing an executed sentence based on​

36.15 a Sentencing Guidelines presumptive imprisonment sentence of imprisonment, the judge​

36.16 may shall impose and execute a prison sentence with an aggravated durational departure​

36.17 from the presumptive imprisonment sentence up to the statutory maximum sentence if:​

36.18 (1) the offender was at least 18 years old at the time the felony was committed, and: ;​

36.19 (1) (2) the court determines on the record at the time of sentencing that the offender has​

36.20 two or more prior convictions for violent crimes; and​

36.21 (2) (3) the fact finder determines that the offender is a danger to public safety. The fact​

36.22 finder may base its determination that the offender is a danger to public safety on the​

36.23 following factors:​

36.24 (i) the offender's past criminal behavior, such as the offender's high frequency rate of​

36.25 criminal activity or juvenile adjudications, or long involvement in criminal activity including​

36.26 juvenile adjudications; or​

36.27 (ii) the fact that the present offense of conviction involved an aggravating factor that​

36.28 would justify a durational departure under the Sentencing Guidelines.​

36.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​

36.30 committed on or after that date.​
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37.1 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.1095, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

37.2 Subd. 3. Mandatory sentence for dangerous offender who commits third violent​

37.3 felony. (a) Unless a longer mandatory minimum sentence is otherwise required by law or​

37.4 the court imposes and executes a longer aggravated durational departure under subdivision​

37.5 2 or 4, a person who is convicted of a violent crime that is a felony must shall be committed​

37.6 to the commissioner of corrections for a mandatory sentence of at least the length of the​

37.7 presumptive sentence under the Sentencing Guidelines if the court determines on the record​

37.8 at the time of sentencing that the person has two or more prior felony convictions for violent​

37.9 crimes. The court shall impose and execute the prison sentence regardless of whether the​

37.10 guidelines presume an executed prison sentence.​

37.11 Any person convicted and sentenced as required by this subdivision is not eligible for​

37.12 probation, parole, discharge, or work release, until that person has served the full term of​

37.13 imprisonment imposed by the court, notwithstanding sections 241.26, 242.19, 243.05,​

37.14 244.04, 609.12, and 609.135.​

37.15 (b) For purposes of this subdivision, "violent crime" does not include a violation of​

37.16 section 152.023 or 152.024.​

37.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​

37.18 committed on or after that date.​

37.19 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.1095, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

37.20 Subd. 4. Increased sentence for offender who commits sixth felony. Whenever a​

37.21 person is convicted of a felony, and the judge presumption under the Sentencing Guidelines​

37.22 is imposing an executed sentence based on a Sentencing Guidelines presumptive​

37.23 imprisonment sentence of imprisonment, the judge may shall impose and execute a prison​

37.24 sentence with an aggravated durational departure from the presumptive sentence up to the​

37.25 statutory maximum sentence if the factfinder fact finder determines that the offender has​

37.26 five or more prior felony convictions and that the present offense is a felony that was​

37.27 committed as part of a pattern of criminal conduct.​

37.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​

37.29 committed on or after that date.​
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38.1 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.1095, is amended by adding a subdivision​

38.2 to read:​

38.3 Subd. 5. Consecutive sentences; release. (a) Any person convicted and sentenced as​

38.4 required by this section must serve any imposed sentences consecutively to any unexpired​

38.5 portion of a previously imposed sentence unless the total time to serve in prison would be​

38.6 longer if a concurrent sentence were imposed.​

38.7 (b) Notwithstanding sections 241.26, 242.19, 243.05, 244.04, 609.12, and 609.135, any​

38.8 person convicted and sentenced as required by this section is not eligible for probation,​

38.9 parole, discharge, or work release until that person has served the full term of imprisonment​

38.10 imposed by the court.​

38.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​

38.12 committed on or after that date.​

38.13 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.11, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

38.14 Subd. 8. Motion by prosecutor; dangerous weapons cases. (a) Except as otherwise​

38.15 provided in paragraphs paragraph (b) and (c), prior to the time of sentencing, the prosecutor​

38.16 may file a motion to have the defendant sentenced without regard to the mandatory minimum​

38.17 sentences sentence established by this section in subdivision 4. The motion shall be​

38.18 accompanied by a statement on the record of the reasons for it. When presented with the​

38.19 motion, or on its own motion, the court may sentence the defendant without regard to the​

38.20 mandatory minimum sentences sentence established by this section in subdivision 4 if the​

38.21 court finds substantial and compelling reasons to do so. A sentence imposed under this​

38.22 subdivision is a departure from the Sentencing Guidelines.​

38.23 (b) The court may not, on its own motion or the prosecutor's motion, sentence a defendant​

38.24 without regard to the mandatory minimum sentences sentence established by this section​

38.25 in subdivision 4 if the defendant previously has been convicted of an offense listed in​

38.26 subdivision 9 in which the defendant used or possessed a firearm or other dangerous weapon.​

38.27 (c) The court may not, on its own motion or the prosecutor's motion, sentence a defendant​

38.28 without regard to the mandatory minimum sentences established by subdivision 5, if the​

38.29 defendant was convicted of a crime under section 152.021, subdivision 1, or 152.022,​

38.30 subdivision 1, and the person or an accomplice possessed on their person or within immediate​

38.31 reach, or used, whether by brandishing, displaying, threatening with, or otherwise employing,​

38.32 a firearm.​
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39.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​

39.2 committed on or after that date.​

39.3 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.11, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

39.4 read:​

39.5 Subd. 8a. Motion by prosecutor; firearms cases. (a) Except as otherwise provided in​

39.6 paragraphs (c) and (d), prior to the time of sentencing, the prosecutor may file a motion to​

39.7 have the defendant sentenced without regard to the mandatory minimum sentence established​

39.8 in subdivision 5 for a case in which the basis for the mandatory sentence is that the​

39.9 defendant's accomplice had a firearm in possession at the time of the offense. The motion​

39.10 may be made only if the defendant was unaware that the accomplice possessed the firearm.​

39.11 No motion to sentence a defendant without regard to the mandatory sentence applicable in​

39.12 subdivision 5 may be made or granted for any other reason or in any other situation.​

39.13 (b) The motion under paragraph (a) shall be accompanied by a statement on the record​

39.14 of the reasons for the motion. When presented with the motion, or on its own motion, the​

39.15 court may sentence the defendant without regard to the mandatory minimum sentence​

39.16 established in subdivision 5 if the court finds that the criteria in paragraph (a) have been​

39.17 met and there are substantial and compelling reasons to do so. A sentence imposed under​

39.18 this subdivision is a departure from the Sentencing Guidelines.​

39.19 (c) The court may not, on its own motion or the prosecutor's motion, sentence a defendant​

39.20 described in paragraph (a) without regard to the mandatory minimum sentence established​

39.21 in subdivision 5 if the defendant previously had been convicted of an offense listed in​

39.22 subdivision 9 in which the defendant used or possessed a firearm or other dangerous weapon.​

39.23 (d) The court may not, on its own motion or the prosecutor's motion, sentence a defendant​

39.24 described in paragraph (a) without regard to the mandatory minimum sentence established​

39.25 by subdivision 5 if the defendant was convicted of a crime under section 152.021, subdivision​

39.26 1, or 152.022, subdivision 1, and the person or an accomplice possessed on their person or​

39.27 within immediate reach, or used, whether by brandishing, displaying, threatening with, or​

39.28 otherwise employing, a firearm.​

39.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​

39.30 committed on or after that date.​
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40.1 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.115, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:​

40.2 Subd. 2a. Sentencing worksheet; sentencing guidelines commission. If the defendant​

40.3 has been convicted of a felony, including a felony for which a mandatory life sentence is​

40.4 required by law, the court shall cause a sentencing worksheet as provided in subdivision 1​

40.5 to be completed and forwarded to the Sentencing Guidelines Commission.​

40.6 For the purpose of this section, "mandatory life sentence" means a sentence under section​

40.7 609.106, subdivision 2; 609.185; 609.2661; 609.3455; or 609.385, subdivision 2; or​

40.8 Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.109, subdivision 3, and governed by section 244.05.​

40.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​

40.10 committed on or after that date.​

40.11 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 609.135, subdivision 2, is amended​

40.12 to read:​

40.13 Subd. 2. Stay of sentence maximum periods. (a) If the conviction is for a felony other​

40.14 than section 609.2113, subdivision 1 or 2, 609.2114, subdivision 2, or section 609.3451,​

40.15 subdivision 1 or 1a, or Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609.21, subdivision 1a, paragraph​

40.16 (b) or (c), the stay shall be for not more than four years or the maximum period for which​

40.17 the sentence of imprisonment might have been imposed, whichever is longer.​

40.18 (b) If the conviction is for a gross misdemeanor violation of section 169A.20, 609.2113,​

40.19 subdivision 3, or 609.3451, or for a felony described in section 609.2113, subdivision 1 or​

40.20 2, 609.2114, subdivision 2, or 609.3451, subdivision 1 or 1a, the stay shall be for not more​

40.21 than six years. The court shall provide for unsupervised probation for the last year of the​

40.22 stay unless the court finds that the defendant needs supervised probation for all or part of​

40.23 the last year.​

40.24 (c) If the conviction is for a gross misdemeanor not specified in paragraph (b), the stay​

40.25 shall be for not more than two years.​

40.26 (d) If the conviction is for any misdemeanor under section 169A.20; 609.746, subdivision​

40.27 1; 609.79; or 617.23; or for a misdemeanor under section 609.2242 or 609.224, subdivision​

40.28 1, in which the victim of the crime was a family or household member as defined in section​

40.29 518B.01, the stay shall be for not more than two years. The court shall provide for​

40.30 unsupervised probation for the second year of the stay unless the court finds that the​

40.31 defendant needs supervised probation for all or part of the second year.​

40.32 (e) If the conviction is for a misdemeanor not specified in paragraph (d), the stay shall​

40.33 be for not more than one year.​
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41.1 (f) The defendant shall be discharged six months after the term of the stay expires, unless​

41.2 the stay has been revoked or extended under paragraph (g), or the defendant has already​

41.3 been discharged.​

41.4 (g) Notwithstanding the maximum periods specified for stays of sentences under​

41.5 paragraphs (a) to (f), a court may extend a defendant's term of probation for up to one year​

41.6 if it finds, at a hearing conducted under subdivision 1a, that:​

41.7 (1) the defendant has not paid court-ordered restitution in accordance with the payment​

41.8 schedule or structure; and​

41.9 (2) the defendant is likely to not pay the restitution the defendant owes before the term​

41.10 of probation expires.​

41.11 This one-year extension of probation for failure to pay restitution may be extended by the​

41.12 court for up to one additional year if the court finds, at another hearing conducted under​

41.13 subdivision 1a, that the defendant still has not paid the court-ordered restitution that the​

41.14 defendant owes.​

41.15 Nothing in this subdivision limits the court's ability to refer the case to collections under​

41.16 section 609.104.​

41.17 (h) Notwithstanding the maximum periods specified for stays of sentences under​

41.18 paragraphs (a) to (f), a court may extend a defendant's term of probation for up to three​

41.19 years if it finds, at a hearing conducted under subdivision 1c, that:​

41.20 (1) the defendant has failed to complete court-ordered treatment successfully; and​

41.21 (2) the defendant is likely not to complete court-ordered treatment before the term of​

41.22 probation expires.​

41.23 (i) Notwithstanding any law or provision of the Sentencing Guidelines to the contrary,​

41.24 when ordering a stay of imposition or execution of sentence for a felony offense described​

41.25 in this paragraph, the maximum length of the stay and the process for pronouncing it are​

41.26 governed exclusively by this section. This paragraph applies to violations of the following:​

41.27 sections 152.021 (controlled substance crime in the first degree); 152.022 (controlled​

41.28 substance crime in the second degree); 152.023, subdivision 1 (controlled substance crime​

41.29 in the third degree, sales); 152.024, subdivision 1 (controlled substance crime in the fourth​

41.30 degree, sales); 152.0261 (importing controlled substances across state borders); 152.0262​

41.31 (possession of substances with intent to manufacture methamphetamine); 609.19 (murder​

41.32 in the second degree); 609.195 (murder in the third degree); 609.20 (manslaughter in the​

41.33 first degree); 609.205 (manslaughter in the second degree); 609.2112 (criminal vehicular​
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42.1 homicide); 609.221 (assault in the first degree); 609.222 (assault in the second degree);​

42.2 609.229 (crimes committed for the benefit of a gang); 609.24 (simple robbery); 609.245​

42.3 (aggravated robbery); 609.2456 (carjacking); 609.25 (kidnapping); 609.2662 (murder of an​

42.4 unborn child in the second degree); 609.2663 (murder of an unborn child in the third degree);​

42.5 609.2664 (manslaughter of an unborn child in the first degree); 609.268 (death or injury of​

42.6 an unborn child in the commission of a crime); 609.322 (solicitation, inducement, and​

42.7 promotion of prostitution; sex trafficking); 609.342 (criminal sexual conduct in the first​

42.8 degree); 609.343 (criminal sexual conduct in the second degree); 609.344 (criminal sexual​

42.9 conduct in the third degree); 609.345 (criminal sexual conduct in the fourth degree);​

42.10 609.3451, subdivision 3 (felony criminal sexual conduct in the fifth degree); 609.377,​

42.11 subdivision 6 (malicious punishment of a child, great bodily harm); 609.52 (involving theft​

42.12 of a firearm and theft involving the theft of a controlled substance, an explosive, or an​

42.13 incendiary device); 609.561 (arson in the first degree); 609.562 (arson in the second degree);​

42.14 609.582, subdivision 1 or 2 (burglary in the first and second degrees); 609.66, subdivision​

42.15 1e, paragraph (b) (drive-by shooting at or toward a person or occupied building); 609.71,​

42.16 subdivision 1 (riot in the first degree); and 609.749, subdivision 3, paragraph (b), subdivision​

42.17 4, paragraph (b), and subdivision 5, paragraph (a) (certain harassment crimes); and an​

42.18 attempt or conspiracy to commit any of these offenses where the maximum penalty applicable​

42.19 for the attempt or conspiracy is longer than five years imprisonment.​

42.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and​

42.21 applies to crimes committed on or after that date.​

42.22 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.2231, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

42.23 Subd. 2. Firefighters and, emergency medical personnel, and other health care​

42.24 professionals. Whoever assaults any of the following persons and inflicts demonstrable​

42.25 bodily harm on or intentionally throws or otherwise transfers bodily fluids or feces at or​

42.26 onto any of the following persons is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment​

42.27 for not more than two years or to payment of a fine of not more than $4,000, or both:​

42.28 (1) a member of a municipal or volunteer fire department or emergency medical services​

42.29 personnel unit in the performance of the member's duties; or​

42.30 (2) a physician, nurse, or other person, while providing health care services in a hospital​

42.31 emergency department.​

42.32 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​

42.33 committed on or after that date.​
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43.1 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 609.2325, subdivision 1, is amended​

43.2 to read:​

43.3 Subdivision 1. Crimes. A caregiver who, with intent to produce physical or mental pain​

43.4 or injury to a vulnerable adult, (1) subjects a vulnerable adult to any aversive or deprivation​

43.5 procedure, unreasonable confinement, or involuntary seclusion, or (2) intentionally​

43.6 administers a controlled substance to a vulnerable adult without a valid prescription or​

43.7 administers the controlled substance in a manner inconsistent with the terms of a valid​

43.8 prescription, is guilty of criminal abuse and may be sentenced as provided in subdivision​

43.9 3.​

43.10 This subdivision does not apply to therapeutic conduct.​

43.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​

43.12 committed on or after that date.​

43.13 Sec. 26. [609.2456] CARJACKING.​

43.14 Subdivision 1. Crime described. A person who commits simple robbery as described​

43.15 in section 609.24, or aggravated robbery as described in section 609.245, where the personal​

43.16 property taken is a motor vehicle as defined in section 609.487, subdivision 2a, is guilty of​

43.17 carjacking and may be punished as provided in subdivision 2.​

43.18 Subd. 2. Penalties. (a) A person who violates subdivision 1 through the commission of​

43.19 simple robbery as described in section 609.24 may be sentenced to imprisonment for not​

43.20 more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $30,000, or both.​

43.21 (b) A person who violates subdivision 1 through the commission of aggravated robbery​

43.22 as described in section 609.245, subdivision 2, may be sentenced to imprisonment for not​

43.23 more than 20 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $35,000, or both.​

43.24 (c) A person who violates subdivision 1 through the commission of aggravated robbery​

43.25 as described in section 609.245, subdivision 1, may be sentenced to imprisonment for not​

43.26 more than 25 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $40,000, or both.​

43.27 Subd. 3. Mandatory minimum sentences. (a) A person convicted of carjacking shall​

43.28 be committed to the custody of the commissioner of corrections for not less than:​

43.29 (1) two years, nor more than 15 years, for a violation of subdivision 2, paragraph (a);​

43.30 (2) four years, nor more than 20 years, for a violation of subdivision 2, paragraph (b);​

43.31 or​

43.32 (3) six years, nor more than 25 years, for a violation of subdivision 2, paragraph (c).​
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44.1 (b) Notwithstanding the provisions of sections 241.26, 242.19, 243.05, 244.04, 609.12,​

44.2 and 609.135, a defendant convicted and sentenced as required by this subdivision is not​

44.3 eligible for probation, parole, discharge, work release, or supervised release until that person​

44.4 has served the full term of imprisonment as provided by law. Notwithstanding section​

44.5 609.135, the court may not stay the imposition or execution of this sentence.​

44.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​

44.7 committed on or after that date.​

44.8 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.487, is amended by adding a subdivision​

44.9 to read:​

44.10 Subd. 3a. Fleeing an officer; motor vehicle; culpable negligence. Whoever, by means​

44.11 of a motor vehicle, flees or attempts to flee a peace officer who is acting in the lawful​

44.12 discharge of an official duty, and the perpetrator knows or should reasonably know the same​

44.13 to be a peace officer, and who in the course of fleeing operates the vehicle in a culpably​

44.14 negligent manner whereby the perpetrator creates an unreasonable risk and consciously​

44.15 takes chances of causing death or great bodily harm to another, is guilty of a felony and​

44.16 may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than four years or to payment of a fine of​

44.17 not more than $8,000, or both.​

44.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​

44.19 committed on or after that date.​

44.20 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.487, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

44.21 Subd. 5. Revocation; fleeing peace officer offense. When a person is convicted of​

44.22 operating a motor vehicle in violation of subdivision 3, 3a, or 4, or an ordinance in conformity​

44.23 with those subdivisions, the court shall notify the commissioner of public safety and order​

44.24 the commissioner to revoke the driver's license of the person.​

44.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​

44.26 committed on or after that date.​

44.27 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 609.5151, is amended to read:​

44.28 609.5151 DISSEMINATION OF PERSONAL INFORMATION ABOUT LAW​

44.29 ENFORCEMENT CRIMINAL JUSTICE OFFICIALS PROHIBITED; PENALTY.​

44.30 Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section:​
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45.1 (1) "criminal justice official" includes a peace officer as defined in section 626.84,​

45.2 subdivision 1; a prosecuting attorney as defined in section 609.221, subdivision 6; a judge​

45.3 as defined in section 609.221, subdivision 6; a person employed as a public defender, a​

45.4 correctional officer, or a criminal defense attorney; and other persons employed by or in​

45.5 the same office as those officials;​

45.6 (2) "family or household member" has the meaning given in section 518B.01, subdivision​

45.7 2; and​

45.8 (2) "law enforcement official" means both peace officers as defined in section 626.84,​

45.9 subdivision 1, and persons employed by a law enforcement agency; and​

45.10 (3) "personal information" means a home address, directions to a home, or photographs​

45.11 of a home.​

45.12 Subd. 2. Crime described. (a) It is a misdemeanor for a person to knowingly and without​

45.13 consent make publicly available, including but not limited to through the Internet, personal​

45.14 information about a law enforcement criminal justice official or an official's family or​

45.15 household member, if:​

45.16 (1) the dissemination poses an imminent and serious threat to the official's safety or the​

45.17 safety of an official's family or household member; and​

45.18 (2) the person making the information publicly available knows or reasonably should​

45.19 know of the imminent and serious threat.​

45.20 (b) A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor if the person violates paragraph (a) and​

45.21 a law enforcement criminal justice official or an official's family or household member​

45.22 suffers great bodily harm or death as a result of the violation.​

45.23 (c) A person who is convicted of a second or subsequent violation of this section is guilty​

45.24 of a gross misdemeanor.​

45.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​

45.26 committed on or after that date.​

45.27 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.52, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

45.28 Subd. 3. Sentence. Whoever commits theft may be sentenced as follows:​

45.29 (1) to imprisonment for not more than 20 years or to payment of a fine of not more than​

45.30 $100,000, or both, if the property is a firearm, or the value of the property or services stolen​

45.31 is more than $35,000 and the conviction is for a violation of subdivision 2, clause (3), (4),​

45.32 (15), (16), or (19), or section 609.2335, subdivision 1, clause (1) or (2), item (i); or​
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46.1 (2) to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than​

46.2 $20,000, or both, if the value of the property or services stolen exceeds $5,000, or if the​

46.3 property stolen was an article representing a trade secret, an explosive or incendiary device,​

46.4 or a controlled substance listed in Schedule I or II pursuant to section 152.02 with the​

46.5 exception of marijuana; or​

46.6 (3) to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more​

46.7 than $10,000, or both, if any of the following circumstances exist:​

46.8 (a) the value of the property or services stolen is more than $1,000 but not more than​

46.9 $5,000; or​

46.10 (b) the property stolen was a controlled substance listed in Schedule III, IV, or V pursuant​

46.11 to section 152.02; or​

46.12 (c) the value of the property or services stolen is more than $500 but not more than​

46.13 $1,000 and the person has been convicted within the preceding five years for an offense​

46.14 under this section, section 256.98; 268.182; 609.24; 609.245; 609.522, 609.53; 609.582,​

46.15 subdivision 1, 2, or 3; 609.625; 609.63; 609.631; or 609.821, or a statute from another state,​

46.16 the United States, or a foreign jurisdiction, in conformity with any of those sections, and​

46.17 the person received a felony or gross misdemeanor sentence for the offense, or a sentence​

46.18 that was stayed under section 609.135 if the offense to which a plea was entered would​

46.19 allow imposition of a felony or gross misdemeanor sentence; or​

46.20 (d) the value of the property or services stolen is not more than $1,000, and any of the​

46.21 following circumstances exist:​

46.22 (i) the property is taken from the person of another or from a corpse, or grave or coffin​

46.23 containing a corpse; or​

46.24 (ii) the property is a record of a court or officer, or a writing, instrument or record kept,​

46.25 filed or deposited according to law with or in the keeping of any public officer or office; or​

46.26 (iii) the property is taken from a burning, abandoned, or vacant building or upon its​

46.27 removal therefrom, or from an area of destruction caused by civil disaster, riot, bombing,​

46.28 or the proximity of battle; or​

46.29 (iv) the property consists of public funds belonging to the state or to any political​

46.30 subdivision or agency thereof; or​

46.31 (v) the property stolen is a motor vehicle; or​
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47.1 (4) to imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than​

47.2 $3,000, or both, if the value of the property or services stolen is more than $500 but not​

47.3 more than $1,000; or​

47.4 (5) in all other cases where the value of the property or services stolen is $500 or less,​

47.5 to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of not more than $1,000,​

47.6 or both, provided, however, in any prosecution under subdivision 2, clauses (1), (2), (3),​

47.7 (4), (13), and (19), the value of the money or property or services received by the defendant​

47.8 in violation of any one or more of the above provisions within any six-month period may​

47.9 be aggregated and the defendant charged accordingly in applying the provisions of this​

47.10 subdivision; provided that when two or more offenses are committed by the same person​

47.11 in two or more counties, the accused may be prosecuted in any county in which one of the​

47.12 offenses was committed for all of the offenses aggregated under this paragraph.​

47.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​

47.14 committed on or after that date.​

47.15 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.52, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:​

47.16 Subd. 3a. Enhanced penalty. (a) If a violation of this section creates a reasonably​

47.17 foreseeable risk of bodily harm to another, the penalties described in subdivision 3 are​

47.18 enhanced as follows:​

47.19 (1) if the penalty is a misdemeanor or a gross misdemeanor, the person is guilty of a​

47.20 felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than three years or to payment​

47.21 of a fine of not more than $5,000, or both; and​

47.22 (2) if the penalty is a felony, the statutory maximum sentence for the offense is 50 percent​

47.23 longer than for the underlying crime.​

47.24 (b) Notwithstanding the maximum penalty otherwise provided in subdivision 3, a person​

47.25 who violates subdivision 2 where the property stolen is a motor vehicle, and where the​

47.26 person uses the vehicle in furtherance of a crime of violence within seven days of the theft,​

47.27 is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced:​

47.28 (1) to imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than​

47.29 $30,000, or both, if the value of the stolen vehicle exceeds $5,000; and​

47.30 (2) to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than​

47.31 $20,000, or both, if the value of the stolen vehicle is $5,000 or less.​

47.32 As used in this paragraph, "crime of violence" means:​
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48.1 (1) felony convictions of the following offenses: sections 152.021 (controlled substance​

48.2 crime in the first degree); 152.022 (controlled substance crime in the second degree); 152.023,​

48.3 subdivision 1 (controlled substance crime in the third degree, sales crimes); 152.024,​

48.4 subdivision 1 (controlled substance crimes in the fourth degree, sales crimes); 152.025,​

48.5 subdivision 1 (controlled substance crimes in the fifth degree, sales crimes); 152.0261​

48.6 (importing controlled substances across state borders); 152.0262 (possession of substances​

48.7 with intent to manufacture methamphetamine); 152.027, subdivision 6, paragraph (b) (sale​

48.8 of synthetic cannabinoid for remuneration); 152.096 (conspiracy to commit a violation of​

48.9 chapter 152); 152.097 (simulated controlled substances); 152.136, subdivision 4 (illegal​

48.10 activities relating to anhydrous ammonia); 152.137 (certain methamphetamine-related​

48.11 crimes); 152.33, subdivision 1, 2, or 4 (certain violations related to medical cannabis);​

48.12 609.165 (possession of firearm or ammunition by an ineligible person); 609.185 (murder​

48.13 in the first degree); 609.19 (murder in the second degree); 609.195 (murder in the third​

48.14 degree); 609.20 (manslaughter in the first degree); 609.205 (manslaughter in the second​

48.15 degree); 609.2112 (criminal vehicular homicide); 609.2113 (criminal vehicular operation);​

48.16 609.2114 (criminal vehicular operation, unborn child); 609.215 (aiding suicide and aiding​

48.17 attempted suicide); 609.221 (assault in the first degree); 609.222 (assault in the second​

48.18 degree); 609.223 (assault in the third degree); 609.2247 (domestic assault by strangulation);​

48.19 609.228 (great bodily harm by distribution of drugs); 609.229 (crimes committed for the​

48.20 benefit of a gang); 609.235 (use of drugs to injure or facilitate crime); 609.24 (simple​

48.21 robbery); 609.245 (aggravated robbery); 609.2456 (carjacking); 609.25 (kidnapping);​

48.22 609.255 (false imprisonment); 609.2661 (murder of an unborn child in the first degree);​

48.23 609.2662 (murder of an unborn child in the second degree); 609.2663 (murder of an unborn​

48.24 child in the third degree); 609.2664 (manslaughter of an unborn child in the first degree);​

48.25 609.2665 (manslaughter of an unborn child in the second degree); 609.267 (assault of an​

48.26 unborn child in the first degree); 609.2671 (assault of an unborn child in the second degree);​

48.27 609.2672 (assault of an unborn child in the third degree); 609.282 (labor trafficking); 609.322​

48.28 (solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution; sex trafficking); 609.342 (criminal​

48.29 sexual conduct in the first degree); 609.343 (criminal sexual conduct in the second degree);​

48.30 609.344 (criminal sexual conduct in the third degree); 609.345 (criminal sexual conduct in​

48.31 the fourth degree); 609.3453 (criminal sexual predatory conduct); 609.352 (solicitation of​

48.32 children); 609.377 (malicious punishment of a child); 609.378 (neglect or endangerment​

48.33 of a child); 609.486 (commission of crime while wearing or possessing a bullet-resistant​

48.34 vest); 609.49 (failure to appear); 609.504 (disarming a peace officer); 609.52 (involving​

48.35 theft of a firearm and theft involving the theft of a controlled substance, an explosive, or an​

48.36 incendiary device); 609.561 (arson in the first degree); 609.562 (arson in the second degree);​
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49.1 609.582, subdivision 1 or 2 (burglary in the first and second degrees); 609.66, subdivision​

49.2 1e (drive-by shooting); 609.67 (unlawfully owning, possessing, operating a machine gun​

49.3 or short-barreled shotgun); 609.71 (riot); 609.713 (terroristic threats); and 609.855,​

49.4 subdivision 5 (shooting at a public transit vehicle or facility);​

49.5 (2) convictions regardless of the penalty level of the following offenses: sections 518B.01​

49.6 (domestic abuse orders for protection); 609.2231 (assault in the fourth degree); 609.224​

49.7 (assault in the fifth degree); 609.2242 (domestic assault); 609.3451 (criminal sexual conduct​

49.8 in the fifth degree); 609.487 (fleeing a peace officer); 609.66 (dangerous weapons); 609.749​

49.9 (harassment); 609.75 (domestic abuse no contact orders); and 624.713 (certain persons not​

49.10 to possess firearms); and​

49.11 (3) an attempt to commit any of these offenses described in clause (1) or (2).​

49.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​

49.13 committed on or after that date.​

49.14 Sec. 32. [609.522] ORGANIZED RETAIL THEFT.​

49.15 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the terms in this subdivision have​

49.16 the meanings given.​

49.17 (b) "Article surveillance system" means any electronic device or other security device​

49.18 that is designed to detect or prevent the unauthorized removal of retail merchandise from​

49.19 a retailer.​

49.20 (c) "Retailer" means a person or entity that sells retail merchandise.​

49.21 (d) "Retail merchandise" means all forms of tangible property, without limitation, held​

49.22 out for sale by a retailer.​

49.23 (e) "Value" means the retail market value at the time of the theft or, if the retail market​

49.24 value cannot be ascertained, the cost of replacement of the property within a reasonable​

49.25 time after the theft.​

49.26 Subd. 2. Organized retail theft. (a) Whoever steals or fraudulently obtains retail​

49.27 merchandise from a retailer commits organized retail theft and may be sentenced as provided​

49.28 in subdivision 3 if the actor:​

49.29 (1) resells or intends to resell the retail merchandise;​

49.30 (2) advertises or displays any item of the retail merchandise for sale;​

49.31 (3) returns any item of the retail merchandise to a retailer for anything of value; or​
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50.1 (4) steals retail merchandise within five years of a conviction under this section.​

50.2 (b) Whoever receives, purchases, or possesses retail merchandise knowing or having​

50.3 reason to know the retail merchandise was stolen from a retailer and with the intent to resell​

50.4 that merchandise may be sentenced as provided in subdivision 3.​

50.5 (c) Whoever possesses any device, gear, or instrument designed to assist in shoplifting​

50.6 or defeating an electronic article surveillance system with intent to use the same to shoplift​

50.7 and thereby commit theft may be sentenced pursuant to subdivision 3, clause (3).​

50.8 Subd. 3. Sentence. Whoever commits organized retail theft may be sentenced as follows:​

50.9 (1) to imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than​

50.10 $35,000, or both, if the value of the property stolen exceeds $5,000;​

50.11 (2) to imprisonment for not more than seven years or to payment of a fine of not more​

50.12 than $14,000, or both, if either of the following circumstances exist:​

50.13 (i) the value of the property stolen is more than $1,000 but not more than $5,000; or​

50.14 (ii) the person commits the offense within ten years of the first of two or more convictions​

50.15 under this section;​

50.16 (3) to imprisonment for not more than two years or to payment of a fine of not more​

50.17 than $5,000, or both, if either of the following circumstances exist:​

50.18 (i) the value of the property stolen is more than $500 but not more than $1,000; or​

50.19 (ii) the person commits the offense within ten years of a previous conviction under this​

50.20 section; or​

50.21 (4) to imprisonment of not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than​

50.22 $3,000, or both, if the value of the property stolen is $500 or less.​

50.23 Subd. 4. Aggregation. The value of the retail merchandise received by the defendant​

50.24 in violation of this section within any six-month period may be aggregated and the defendant​

50.25 charged accordingly in applying the provisions of this subdivision; provided that when two​

50.26 or more offenses are committed by the same person in two or more counties, the accused​

50.27 may be prosecuted in any county in which one of the offenses was committed for all of the​

50.28 offenses aggregated under this paragraph.​

50.29 Subd. 5. Enhanced penalty. If a violation of this section creates a reasonably foreseeable​

50.30 risk of bodily harm to another, the penalties described in subdivision 3 are enhanced as​

50.31 follows:​
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51.1 (1) if the penalty is a gross misdemeanor, the person is guilty of a felony and may be​

51.2 sentenced to imprisonment for not more than three years or to payment of a fine of not more​

51.3 than $5,000, or both; and​

51.4 (2) if the penalty is a felony, the statutory maximum sentence for the offense is 50 percent​

51.5 longer than for the underlying crime.​

51.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​

51.7 committed on or after that date.​

51.8 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.527, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

51.9 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the​

51.10 meanings given them in this subdivision.​

51.11 (b) "Direct victim" means any person or entity described in section 611A.01, paragraph​

51.12 (b), whose identity has been transferred, used, or possessed in violation of this section.​

51.13 (c) "False pretense" means any false, fictitious, misleading, or fraudulent information​

51.14 or pretense or pretext depicting or including or deceptively similar to the name, logo, website​

51.15 address, e-mail address, postal address, telephone number, or any other identifying​

51.16 information of a for-profit or not-for-profit business or organization or of a government​

51.17 agency, to which the user has no legitimate claim of right.​

51.18 (d) "Financial institution" has the meaning given in section 13A.01, subdivision 2.​

51.19 (e) "Identity" means any name, number, or data transmission that may be used, alone or​

51.20 in conjunction with any other information, to identify a specific individual or entity, including​

51.21 any of the following:​

51.22 (1) a name, Social Security number, date of birth, official government-issued driver's​

51.23 license or identification number, government passport number, or employer or taxpayer​

51.24 identification number;​

51.25 (2) unique electronic identification number, address, account number, or routing code;​

51.26 or​

51.27 (3) telecommunication identification information or access device.​

51.28 (e) (f) "Indirect victim" means any person or entity described in section 611A.01,​

51.29 paragraph (b), other than a direct victim.​
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52.1 (f) (g) "Loss" means value obtained, as defined in section 609.52, subdivision 1, clause​

52.2 (3), and expenses incurred by a direct or indirect victim as a result of a violation of this​

52.3 section.​

52.4 (g) (h) "Unlawful activity" means:​

52.5 (1) any felony violation of the laws of this state or any felony violation of a similar law​

52.6 of another state or the United States; and​

52.7 (2) any nonfelony violation of the laws of this state involving theft, theft by swindle,​

52.8 forgery, fraud, or giving false information to a public official, or any nonfelony violation​

52.9 of a similar law of another state or the United States.​

52.10 (h) (i) "Scanning device" means a scanner, reader, or any other electronic device that is​

52.11 used to access, read, scan, obtain, memorize, or store, temporarily or permanently,​

52.12 information encoded on a computer chip or magnetic strip or stripe of a payment card,​

52.13 driver's license, or state-issued identification card.​

52.14 (i) (j) "Reencoder" means an electronic device that places encoded information from the​

52.15 computer chip or magnetic strip or stripe of a payment card, driver's license, or state-issued​

52.16 identification card, onto the computer chip or magnetic strip or stripe of a different payment​

52.17 card, driver's license, or state-issued identification card, or any electronic medium that​

52.18 allows an authorized transaction to occur.​

52.19 (j) (k) "Payment card" means a credit card, charge card, debit card, or any other card​

52.20 that:​

52.21 (1) is issued to an authorized card user; and​

52.22 (2) allows the user to obtain, purchase, or receive credit, money, a good, a service, or​

52.23 anything of value.​

52.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022.​

52.25 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.527, is amended by adding a subdivision​

52.26 to read:​

52.27 Subd. 8. Release of limited account information to law enforcement authorities. (a)​

52.28 A financial institution may release the information described in paragraph (b) to a law​

52.29 enforcement or prosecuting authority that certifies in writing that it is investigating or​

52.30 prosecuting a crime of identity theft under this section. The certification must describe with​

52.31 reasonable specificity the nature of the suspected identity theft that is being investigated or​

52.32 prosecuted, including the dates of the suspected criminal activity.​
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53.1 (b) This subdivision applies to requests for the following information relating to a​

53.2 potential victim's account:​

53.3 (1) the name of the account holder or holders; and​

53.4 (2) the last known home address and telephone numbers of the account holder or holders.​

53.5 (c) A financial institution may release the information requested under this subdivision​

53.6 that it possesses within a reasonable time after the request. The financial institution may​

53.7 not impose a fee for furnishing the information.​

53.8 (d) A financial institution is not liable in a criminal or civil proceeding for releasing​

53.9 information in accordance with this subdivision.​

53.10 (e) Release of limited account information to a law enforcement agency under this​

53.11 subdivision is criminal investigative data under section 13.82, subdivision 7.​

53.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022.​

53.13 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.582, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

53.14 Subd. 3. Burglary in the third degree. (a) Except as otherwise provided in this section,​

53.15 whoever enters a building without consent and with intent to steal or commit any felony or​

53.16 gross misdemeanor while in the building, or enters a building without consent and steals or​

53.17 commits a felony or gross misdemeanor while in the building, either directly or as an​

53.18 accomplice, commits burglary in the third degree and may be sentenced to imprisonment​

53.19 for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both.​

53.20 (b) Whoever enters a building that is open to the public, other than a building identified​

53.21 in subdivision 2, paragraph (b), with intent to steal while in the building, or enters a building​

53.22 that is open to the public, other than a building identified in subdivision 2, paragraph (b),​

53.23 and steals while in the building, either directly or as an accomplice, commits burglary in​

53.24 the third degree and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to​

53.25 payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both, if:​

53.26 (1) the person enters the building within one year after being told to leave the building​

53.27 and not return; and​

53.28 (2) the person has been convicted within the preceding five years for an offense under​

53.29 this section, section 256.98, 268.182, 609.24, 609.245, 609.52, 609.522, 609.53, 609.625,​

53.30 609.63, 609.631, or 609.821, or a statute from another state, the United States, or a foreign​

53.31 jurisdiction, in conformity with any of those sections, and the person received a felony​
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54.1 sentence for the offense or a sentence that was stayed under section 609.135 if the offense​

54.2 to which a plea was entered would allow imposition of a felony sentence.​

54.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​

54.4 committed on or after that date.​

54.5 Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.582, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

54.6 Subd. 4. Burglary in the fourth degree. (a) Whoever enters a building without consent​

54.7 and with intent to commit a misdemeanor other than to steal, or enters a building without​

54.8 consent and commits a misdemeanor other than to steal while in the building, either directly​

54.9 or as an accomplice, commits burglary in the fourth degree and may be sentenced to​

54.10 imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000,​

54.11 or both.​

54.12 (b) Whoever enters a building that is open to the public, other than a building identified​

54.13 in subdivision 2, paragraph (b), with intent to steal while in the building, or enters a building​

54.14 that is open to the public, other than a building identified in subdivision 2, paragraph (b),​

54.15 and steals while in the building, either directly or as an accomplice, commits burglary in​

54.16 the fourth degree and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year or to​

54.17 payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both, if the person enters the building within​

54.18 one year after being told to leave the building and not return.​

54.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​

54.20 committed on or after that date.​

54.21 Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609B.205, is amended to read:​

54.22 609B.205 FLEEING PEACE OFFICER; REVOCATION.​

54.23 A person's driver's license is revoked under section 171.174 if that person is convicted​

54.24 of fleeing a peace officer under section 609.487, subdivision 3, 3a, or 4. The periods of​

54.25 revocation vary depending upon the offense of conviction and whether the offense of​

54.26 conviction is a second or subsequent offense.​

54.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to crimes​

54.28 committed on or after that date.​
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55.1 Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 626.15, is amended to read:​

55.2 626.15 EXECUTION AND RETURN OF WARRANT; TIME.​

55.3 (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b) (c), a search warrant must be executed and​

55.4 returned to the court which issued it within ten days after its date. After the expiration of​

55.5 this time, the warrant is void unless previously executed.​

55.6 (b) A search warrant on a financial institution for financial records is valid for 30 days.​

55.7 (c) A district court judge may grant an extension of a the warrant on a financial institution​

55.8 for financial records upon an application under oath stating that the financial institution has​

55.9 not produced the requested financial records within ten days the 30-day period and that an​

55.10 extension is necessary to achieve the purposes for which the search warrant was granted.​

55.11 Each extension may not exceed 30 days.​

55.12 (d) For the purposes of this paragraph section, "financial institution" has the meaning​

55.13 given in section 13A.01, subdivision 2, and "financial records" has the meaning given in​

55.14 section 13A.01, subdivision 3.​

55.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022.​

55.16 Sec. 39. [626.5535] CARJACKING; REPORTING REQUIRED.​

55.17 Subdivision 1. Definition. For purposes of this section, "carjacking" has the meaning​

55.18 given in section 609.2456.​

55.19 Subd. 2. Use of information collected. (a) The head of a local law enforcement agency​

55.20 or state law enforcement department that employs peace officers, as defined in section​

55.21 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), must forward the following carjacking information​

55.22 from the agency's or department's jurisdiction to the commissioner of public safety at least​

55.23 quarterly each year:​

55.24 (1) the number of carjacking attempts;​

55.25 (2) the number of carjackings;​

55.26 (3) the number of persons injured in each offense;​

55.27 (4) the number of persons killed in each offense; and​

55.28 (5) weapons used in each offense, if any.​

55.29 (b) The commissioner of public safety must include the data received under paragraph​

55.30 (a) in a separate carjacking category in the department's annual uniform crime report.​
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56.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022.​

56.2 Sec. 40. [626.8477] REQUIRED RETENTION OF RECORDINGS OF DETAINED​

56.3 PERSONS.​

56.4 Each chief law enforcement officer of a law enforcement agency shall ensure that any​

56.5 video or audio recording made of a person during a custodial interview, booking, or implied​

56.6 consent or breath testing proceeding is retained for 60 days from the date of recording or​

56.7 until all criminal proceedings relating to the person recorded are complete, whichever period​

56.8 is longer.​

56.9 Sec. 41. DWI CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE ROADSIDE TESTING INSTRUMENT​

56.10 PILOT PROJECT; REPORT REQUIRED.​

56.11 (a) The commissioner of public safety shall design, plan, and implement a pilot project​

56.12 to study oral fluid roadside testing instruments to determine the presence of a controlled​

56.13 substance or intoxicating substance in individuals stopped or arrested for driving while​

56.14 impaired offenses. The pilot project shall determine the practicality, accuracy, and efficacy​

56.15 of these testing instruments and determine and make recommendations on the best instrument​

56.16 or instruments to pursue in the future.​

56.17 (b) The pilot project must begin on September 1, 2022, and continue until August 31,​

56.18 2023.​

56.19 (c) The commissioner shall consult with law enforcement officials, prosecutors, criminal​

56.20 defense attorneys, and other interested and knowledgeable parties when designing,​

56.21 implementing, and evaluating the pilot project.​

56.22 (d) All oral fluid samples obtained for the purpose of this pilot project shall be obtained​

56.23 by a certified drug recognition evaluator and may only be collected with the express voluntary​

56.24 consent of the person stopped or arrested for suspicion of driving while impaired. Results​

56.25 of tests conducted under the pilot project are to be used for the purpose of analyzing the​

56.26 practicality, accuracy, and efficacy of the instrument. Results may not be used to decide​

56.27 whether an arrest should be made and are not admissible in any legal proceeding.​

56.28 (e) By February 1, 2024, the commissioner shall report to the chairs and ranking minority​

56.29 members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over public safety on the results of​

56.30 the pilot project. At a minimum, the report must include information on how accurate the​

56.31 instruments were when tested against laboratory results, how often participants were found​

56.32 to have controlled substances or intoxicating substances in their systems, how often there​

56​Article 2 Sec. 41.​

SENATEE SS SS2673R​04/01/22  ​



57.1 was commingling of controlled substances or intoxicating substances with alcohol, the types​

57.2 of controlled substances or intoxicating substances found in participants' systems and which​

57.3 types were most common, and the number of participants in the project. In addition, the​

57.4 report must assess the practicality and reliability of using the instruments in the field and​

57.5 make recommendations on continuing the project permanently.​

57.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

57.7 Sec. 42. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.​

57.8 (a) The revisor of statutes shall insert a cross-reference to Minnesota Statutes, section​

57.9 609.2456, in the following statutory sections: Minnesota Statutes, sections 145A.061,​

57.10 subdivision 3; 146A.08, subdivision 1, paragraph (c); 253B.02, subdivision 4e; 253D.02,​

57.11 subdivision 8, paragraph (b); 260B.171, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (1); 299A.296,​

57.12 subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (5); 299C.105, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1),​

57.13 item (iv), and clause (3), item (iv); 299C.67, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), clause (1);​

57.14 609.1095, subdivision 1, paragraph (d); 609.11, subdivision 9; 609.341, subdivision 22;​

57.15 609.52, subdivision 3, clause (3), paragraph (c); 609.531, subdivision 1, paragraph (f),​

57.16 clause (3); 609.631, subdivision 4, clause (3), paragraph (b); 609.632, subdivision 4,​

57.17 paragraph (b), clause (3), item (ii); 609.821, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (1), item​

57.18 (iv); 611A.031; 611A.036, subdivision 7; 611A.08, subdivision 6; and 624.712, subdivision​

57.19 5.​

57.20 (b) The revisor shall insert a cross-reference to Minnesota Statutes, section 609.2456,​

57.21 subdivision 2, paragraph (a), in the following statutory sections: Minnesota Statutes, sections​

57.22 245C.15, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), and subdivision 4a, paragraph (d); and 245C.24,​

57.23 subdivision 3, paragraph (a).​

57.24 (c) The revisor shall insert a cross-reference to Minnesota Statutes, section 609.2456,​

57.25 subdivision 2, paragraph (c), in Minnesota Statutes, section 243.167, subdivision 1.​

57.26 (d) The revisor shall insert a cross-reference to Minnesota Statutes, section 609.2456,​

57.27 subdivision 2, paragraphs (b) and (c), in the following statutory sections: Minnesota Statutes,​

57.28 sections 245C.15, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), and subdivision 4a, paragraph (a); 609.902,​

57.29 subdivision 4; and 626A.05, subdivision 2, clause (1).​

57.30 (e) Consistent with paragraphs (a) to (d), the revisor may make technical and other​

57.31 necessary changes to language, grammar, and sentence structure in the statutory sections​

57.32 listed in this section to preserve the meaning of the text.​
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58.1 ARTICLE 3​

58.2 DRIVING WHILE IMPAIRED SEARCH WARRANT CHANGES​

58.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.51, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

58.4 Subd. 3. Blood or urine tests; search warrant required. (a) Notwithstanding any​

58.5 contrary provisions in sections 169A.51 to 169A.53, a blood or urine test may be conducted​

58.6 only pursuant to a search warrant under sections 626.04 to 626.18, or a judicially recognized​

58.7 exception to the search warrant requirement. In addition, blood and urine tests may be​

58.8 conducted only as provided in sections 169A.51 to 169A.53 and 171.177.​

58.9 (b) When, under the provisions of section 169A.20, 169A.51, or 171.177, a search​

58.10 warrant is required for a blood or urine test, that requirement is met if a judicially recognized​

58.11 exception to the warrant requirement is applicable.​

58.12 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.51, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

58.13 Subd. 4. Requirement of urine or blood test. A blood or urine test may be required​

58.14 pursuant to a search warrant under sections 626.04 to 626.18 even after a breath test has​

58.15 been administered if there is probable cause to believe that:​

58.16 (1) there is impairment by a controlled substance or an intoxicating substance that is not​

58.17 subject to testing by a breath test;​

58.18 (2) a controlled substance listed in Schedule I or II or its metabolite, other than marijuana​

58.19 or tetrahydrocannabinols, is present in the person's body; or​

58.20 (3) the person is unconscious or incapacitated to the point that the peace officer providing​

58.21 a breath test advisory, administering a breath test, or serving the search warrant has a​

58.22 good-faith belief that the person is mentally or physically unable to comprehend the breath​

58.23 test advisory or otherwise voluntarily submit to chemical tests.​

58.24 Action may be taken against a person who refuses to take a blood test under this​

58.25 subdivision only if a urine test was offered and action may be taken against a person who​

58.26 refuses to take a urine test only if a blood test was offered. This limitation does not apply​

58.27 to an unconscious person under the circumstances described in clause (3).​
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59.1 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.51, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

59.2 read:​

59.3 Subd. 8. Definition. As used in this section, a "search warrant" means a judicially​

59.4 approved search warrant obtained pursuant to the requirements in sections 626.04 to 626.18​

59.5 or conforming statutes in an adjacent state.​

59.6 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.177, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

59.7 Subdivision 1. Search warrant-required testing advisory. At the time a blood or urine​

59.8 test is directed pursuant to a search warrant under sections 626.04 to 626.18, the person​

59.9 must be informed that refusal to submit to a blood or urine test is a crime.​

59.10 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.177, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

59.11 Subd. 3. License revocation pursuant to search warrant. After executing a search​

59.12 warrant under sections 626.04 to 626.18 for the collection of a blood or urine sample based​

59.13 upon probable cause of a violation of section 169A.20, the peace officer acting under sections​

59.14 626.13 to 626.17 shall certify to the commissioner of public safety:​

59.15 (1) when a person refuses to comply with the execution of the search warrant; or​

59.16 (2) if a person submits to the test and the test results indicate:​

59.17 (i) an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more;​

59.18 (ii) an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or more, if the person was driving, operating, or in​

59.19 physical control of a commercial motor vehicle at the time of the violation; or​

59.20 (iii) the presence of a controlled substance listed in Schedule I or II or its metabolite,​

59.21 other than marijuana or tetrahydrocannabinols.​

59.22 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.177, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

59.23 Subd. 4. Test refusal; license revocation. (a) Upon certification under subdivision 3​

59.24 that there existed probable cause to believe the person had been driving, operating, or in​

59.25 physical control of a motor vehicle in violation of section 169A.20, and that the person​

59.26 refused to comply with the execution of the search warrant under sections 626.04 to 626.18,​

59.27 the commissioner shall revoke the person's license or permit to drive or nonresident operating​

59.28 privilege. The commissioner shall revoke the license, permit, or nonresident operating​

59.29 privilege:​
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60.1 (1) for a person with no qualified prior impaired driving incidents within the past ten​

60.2 years, for a period of not less than one year;​

60.3 (2) for a person under the age of 21 years and with no qualified prior impaired driving​

60.4 incidents within the past ten years, for a period of not less than one year;​

60.5 (3) for a person with one qualified prior impaired driving incident within the past ten​

60.6 years or two qualified prior impaired driving incidents, for a period of not less than two​

60.7 years;​

60.8 (4) for a person with two qualified prior impaired driving incidents within the past ten​

60.9 years or three qualified prior impaired driving incidents, for a period of not less than three​

60.10 years;​

60.11 (5) for a person with three qualified prior impaired driving incidents within the past ten​

60.12 years, for a period of not less than four years; or​

60.13 (6) for a person with four or more qualified prior impaired driving incidents, for a period​

60.14 of not less than six years.​

60.15 (b) When a person who had been driving, operating, or in physical control of a​

60.16 commercial motor vehicle refuses to comply with the search warrant and permit testing,​

60.17 the commissioner shall disqualify the person from operating a commercial motor vehicle​

60.18 and shall revoke the person's license or permit to drive or nonresident operating privilege​

60.19 according to the federal regulations adopted by reference in section 171.165, subdivision​

60.20 2.​

60.21 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.177, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

60.22 Subd. 5. Test failure; license revocation. (a) Upon certification under subdivision 3,​

60.23 pursuant to a search warrant under sections 626.04 to 626.18, that there existed probable​

60.24 cause to believe the person had been driving, operating, or in physical control of a motor​

60.25 vehicle in violation of section 169A.20, and that the person submitted to a test and the test​

60.26 results indicate an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more or the presence of a controlled​

60.27 substance listed in Schedule I or II or its metabolite, other than marijuana or​

60.28 tetrahydrocannabinols, the commissioner shall revoke the person's license or permit to drive​

60.29 or nonresident operating privilege:​

60.30 (1) for a period of 90 days or, if the test results indicate an alcohol concentration of twice​

60.31 the legal limit or more, not less than one year;​
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61.1 (2) if the person is under the age of 21 years, for a period of not less than 180 days or,​

61.2 if the test results indicate an alcohol concentration of twice the legal limit or more, not less​

61.3 than one year;​

61.4 (3) for a person with one qualified prior impaired driving incident within the past ten​

61.5 years or two qualified prior impaired driving incidents, for a period of not less than one​

61.6 year or, if the test results indicate an alcohol concentration of twice the legal limit or more,​

61.7 not less than two years;​

61.8 (4) for a person with two qualified prior impaired driving incidents within the past ten​

61.9 years or three qualified prior impaired driving incidents, for a period of not less than three​

61.10 years;​

61.11 (5) for a person with three qualified prior impaired driving incidents within the past ten​

61.12 years, for a period of not less than four years; or​

61.13 (6) for a person with four or more qualified prior impaired driving incidents, for a period​

61.14 of not less than six years.​

61.15 (b) On certification by the peace officer that there existed probable cause to believe the​

61.16 person had been driving, operating, or in physical control of a commercial motor vehicle​

61.17 with any presence of alcohol and that the person submitted to a test and the test results​

61.18 indicated an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or more, the commissioner shall disqualify the​

61.19 person from operating a commercial motor vehicle under section 171.165.​

61.20 (c) If the test is of a person's blood or urine by a laboratory operated by the Bureau of​

61.21 Criminal Apprehension or authorized by the bureau to conduct the analysis of a blood or​

61.22 urine sample, the laboratory may directly certify to the commissioner the test results, and​

61.23 the peace officer shall certify to the commissioner that there existed probable cause to​

61.24 believe the person had been driving, operating, or in physical control of a motor vehicle in​

61.25 violation of section 169A.20, and that the person submitted to a test. Upon receipt of both​

61.26 certifications, the commissioner shall undertake the license actions described in paragraphs​

61.27 (a) and (b).​

61.28 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.177, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

61.29 Subd. 8. Test refusal; driving privilege lost. (a) On behalf of the commissioner, a peace​

61.30 officer requiring a test or directing the administration of a chemical test pursuant to a search​

61.31 warrant under sections 626.04 to 626.18 shall serve immediate notice of intention to revoke​

61.32 and of revocation on a person who refuses to permit a test or on a person who submits to a​

61.33 test, the results of which indicate an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more.​
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62.1 (b) On behalf of the commissioner, a peace officer requiring a test or directing the​

62.2 administration of a chemical test of a person driving, operating, or in physical control of a​

62.3 commercial motor vehicle pursuant to a search warrant under sections 626.04 to 626.18​

62.4 shall serve immediate notice of intention to disqualify and of disqualification on a person​

62.5 who refuses to permit a test or on a person who submits to a test, the results of which indicate​

62.6 an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or more.​

62.7 (c) The officer shall:​

62.8 (1) invalidate the person's driver's license or permit card by clipping the upper corner​

62.9 of the card in such a way that no identifying information including the photo is destroyed,​

62.10 and immediately return the card to the person;​

62.11 (2) issue the person a temporary license effective for only seven days; and​

62.12 (3) send the notification of this action to the commissioner along with the certificate​

62.13 required by subdivision 5 or 6.​

62.14 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.177, subdivision 12, is amended to read:​

62.15 Subd. 12. Judicial hearing; issues, order, appeal. (a) A judicial review hearing under​

62.16 this section must be before a district judge in any county in the judicial district where the​

62.17 alleged offense occurred. The hearing is to the court and may be conducted at the same time​

62.18 and in the same manner as hearings upon pretrial motions in the criminal prosecution under​

62.19 section 169A.20, if any. The hearing must be recorded. The commissioner shall appear and​

62.20 be represented by the attorney general or through the prosecuting authority for the jurisdiction​

62.21 involved. The hearing must be held at the earliest practicable date, and in any event no later​

62.22 than 60 days following the filing of the petition for review. The judicial district administrator​

62.23 shall establish procedures to ensure efficient compliance with this subdivision. To accomplish​

62.24 this, the administrator may, whenever possible, consolidate and transfer review hearings​

62.25 among the locations within the judicial district where terms of district court are held.​

62.26 (b) The scope of the hearing is limited to the issues in clauses (1) to (13):​

62.27 (1) Did the peace officer have probable cause to believe the person was driving, operating,​

62.28 or in physical control of a motor vehicle or commercial motor vehicle in violation of section​

62.29 169A.20?​

62.30 (2) Was the person lawfully placed under arrest for violation of section 169A.20?​

62.31 (3) Was the person involved in a motor vehicle accident or collision resulting in property​

62.32 damage, personal injury, or death?​
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63.1 (4) Did a licensed peace officer apply for a search warrant in accordance with the​

63.2 requirements set forth in sections 626.04 to 626.18 or conforming statutes in an adjacent​

63.3 state?​

63.4 (5) Did a neutral magistrate review the application for a search warrant and determine​

63.5 there was probable cause to believe that the person was driving, operating, or in physical​

63.6 control of a motor vehicle or commercial motor vehicle in violation of section 169A.20?​

63.7 (6) Was the search warrant and the process by which it was obtained valid?​

63.8 (7) At the time of directing the person to take the test, did the peace officer inform the​

63.9 person that refusing the test was a crime as required by subdivision 1?​

63.10 (8) Did the person refuse to permit the test?​

63.11 (9) If a test was taken by a person driving, operating, or in physical control of a motor​

63.12 vehicle, did the test results indicate at the time of testing:​

63.13 (i) an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more; or​

63.14 (ii) the presence of a controlled substance listed in Schedule I or II or its metabolite,​

63.15 other than marijuana or tetrahydrocannabinols?​

63.16 (10) If a test was taken by a person driving, operating, or in physical control of a​

63.17 commercial motor vehicle, did the test results indicate an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or​

63.18 more at the time of testing?​

63.19 (11) Was the testing method used valid and reliable and were the test results accurately​

63.20 evaluated?​

63.21 (12) Did the person prove the defense of necessity?​

63.22 (13) Did the person prove the defense of controlled substance use in accordance with a​

63.23 prescription?​

63.24 (c) Certified or otherwise authenticated copies of laboratory or medical personnel reports,​

63.25 records, documents, licenses, and certificates are admissible as substantive evidence.​

63.26 (d) The court shall order that the revocation or disqualification be either rescinded or​

63.27 sustained and forward the order to the commissioner. The court shall file its order within​

63.28 14 days following the hearing. If the revocation or disqualification is sustained, the court​

63.29 shall also forward the person's driver's license or permit to the commissioner for further​

63.30 action by the commissioner if the license or permit is not already in the commissioner's​

63.31 possession.​
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64.1 (e) Any party aggrieved by the decision of the reviewing court may appeal the decision​

64.2 as provided in the Rules of Appellate Procedure.​

64.3 (f) The civil hearing under this section shall not give rise to an estoppel on any issues​

64.4 arising from the same set of circumstances in any criminal prosecution.​

64.5 (g) It is an affirmative defense for the petitioner to prove a necessity.​

64.6 (h) It is an affirmative defense to the presence of a Schedule I or II controlled substance​

64.7 that the person used the controlled substance according to the terms of a prescription issued​

64.8 for the person according to sections 152.11 and 152.12, unless the court finds by a​

64.9 preponderance of the evidence that the use of the controlled substance impaired the person's​

64.10 ability to operate a motor vehicle.​

64.11 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.177, subdivision 14, is amended to read:​

64.12 Subd. 14. Definitions. (a) The definitions in section 169A.03 apply to this section.​

64.13 (b) For purposes of this section, a "search warrant" means a judicially approved search​

64.14 warrant obtained pursuant to the requirements of sections 626.04 to 626.18 or conforming​

64.15 statutes in an adjacent state."​

64.16 Delete the title and insert:​

64.17 "A bill for an act​

64.18 relating to public safety; amending certain statutes regarding public safety, criminal​
64.19 justice, and corrections; establishing new crimes and expanding existing ones;​
64.20 modifying sentencing provisions; modifying fees; requiring reporting; authorizing​
64.21 pilot projects; providing for grant programs; appropriating money for the judiciary,​
64.22 public safety, public defenders, sentencing guidelines, and corrections; amending​
64.23 Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 13A.02, subdivisions 1, 2; 144.6586, subdivision​
64.24 2; 169A.44; 169A.51, subdivisions 3, 4, by adding a subdivision; 171.174; 171.177,​
64.25 subdivisions 1, 3, 4, 5, 8, 12, 14; 171.306, by adding a subdivision; 244.01,​
64.26 subdivision 8; 244.05, subdivisions 4, 5; 244.09, subdivisions 2, 11, by adding​
64.27 subdivisions; 244.101, subdivision 1; 244.14, subdivision 3; 244.171, subdivision​
64.28 4; 357.021, subdivision 2; 517.08, subdivision 1c; 609.035, subdivision 1, by​
64.29 adding a subdivision; 609.106, subdivision 2; 609.1095, subdivisions 2, 3, 4, by​
64.30 adding a subdivision; 609.11, subdivision 8, by adding a subdivision; 609.115,​
64.31 subdivision 2a; 609.2231, subdivision 2; 609.35; 609.487, subdivision 5, by adding​
64.32 a subdivision; 609.52, subdivisions 3, 3a; 609.527, subdivision 1, by adding a​
64.33 subdivision; 609.582, subdivisions 3, 4; 609B.205; 626.15; Minnesota Statutes​
64.34 2021 Supplement, sections 357.021, subdivision 1a; 609.135, subdivision 2;​
64.35 609.2325, subdivision 1; 609.5151; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota​
64.36 Statutes, chapters 299A; 388; 609; 626."​

64.37 And when so amended the bill do pass and be re-referred to the Committee on Finance.​

64.38 Amendments adopted. Report adopted.​
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65.1 .............................................................................
65.2 (Committee Chair)​

65.3 April 1, 2022........................................................
65.4 (Date of Committee recommendation)​
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