COUNSEL

ACS/GC

1.1	Senator moves to amend S.F. No. 3582 as follows:
1.2	Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:
1.3	"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.002, is amended by adding a subdivision
1.4	to read:
1.5	Subd. 12a. Full-service provider. "Full-service provider" means a person who is
1.6	appointed by the commissioner as both a deputy registrar under this chapter and a driver's
1.7	license agent under chapter 171 who provides all driver services, excluding International
1.8	Registration Plan and International Fuel Tax Agreement transactions.
1.9	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 168.327, subdivision 1, is amended
1.10	to read:
1.11	Subdivision 1. Records and fees. (a) Upon request by any person authorized in this
1.12	section, the commissioner shall or full-service provider must furnish a certified copy of any
1.13	driver's license record, instruction permit record, Minnesota identification card record,
1.14	vehicle registration record, vehicle title record, or accident record.
1.15	(b) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5b, and other than accident records
1.16	governed under section 169.09, subdivision 13, the requester shall must pay a fee of \$10
1.17	for each certified record specified in paragraph (a) or a fee of \$9 for each record that is not
1.18	certified.
1.19	(c) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5b, in addition to the record fee in
1.20	paragraph (b), the fee for a copy of the history of any vehicle title not in electronic format
1.21	is \$1 for each page of the historical record.
1.22	(d) Fees collected by the commissioner under paragraph (b) for driver's license, instruction
1.23	permit, and Minnesota identification card records must be paid into the state treasury with
1.24	50 cents of each fee credited to the general fund. The remainder of the fees collected by the
1.25	commissioner must be credited to the driver services operating account in the special revenue
1.26	fund under section 299A.705. Of the fees collected by a full-service provider under paragraph
1.27	(b) for driver's license, instruction permit, and Minnesota identification card records, the
1.28	provider must transmit 50 cents to the commissioner to be deposited into the general fund,
1.29	and the provider must retain the remainder.
1.30	(e) Fees collected by the commissioner under paragraphs (b) and (c) for vehicle

registration or title records must be paid into the state treasury with 50 cents of each fee
credited to the general fund. The remainder of the fees collected by the commissioner must

2.1	be credited to the vehicle services operating account in the special revenue fund specified
2.2	in section 299A.705. Of the fees collected by a full-service provider under paragraphs (b)
2.3	and (c) for vehicle registration or title records, the provider must transmit 50 cents to the
2.4	commissioner to be deposited into the general fund, and the provider must retain the
2.5	remainder.
2.6	(f) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5b, the commissioner shall or full-service
2.7	provider must permit a person to inquire into a record by the person's own electronic means
2.8	for a fee of \$4.50 for each inquiry, except that no fee may be charged when the requester
2.9	is the subject of the data. Of the fee collected by the commissioner:
2.10	(1) \$2.70 must be deposited in the general fund;
2.11	(2) for driver's license, instruction permit, or Minnesota identification card records, the
2.12	remainder must be deposited in the driver services operating account in the special revenue
2.13	fund under section 299A.705; and
2.14	(3) for vehicle title or registration records, the remainder must be deposited in the vehicle
2.15	services operating account in the special revenue fund under section 299A.705.
2.16	Of the fees collected by a full-service provider, the provider must transmit \$2.70 to the
2.17	commissioner to be deposited into the general fund, and the provider must retain the
2.18	remainder.
2.19	(g) Fees and the deposit of the fees for accident records and reports are governed by
2.20	section 169.09, subdivision 13.
2.21	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to requests
2.22	for records made on or after that date.
2.23	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.327, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
2.24	Subd. 2. Requests for information; surcharge on fee. (a) Except as otherwise provided
2.25	in subdivision 3, the commissioner shall or full-service provider must impose a surcharge
2.26	of 50 cents on each fee charged by the commissioner or full-service provider under section
2.27	13.03, subdivision 3, for copies or electronic transmittals of public information about the
2.28	registration of a vehicle or an applicant, or holder of a driver's license, instruction permit,
2.29	or Minnesota identification card.
	(h) The synchronic culture unlies to a feeting and in managers to a manager mode in name

(b) The surcharge only applies to a fee imposed in response to a request made in person
or by mail, or to a request for transmittal through a computer modem <u>online</u>. The surcharge
does not apply to the request of an individual for information about that individual's driver's

ACS/GC

license, instruction permit, or Minnesota identification card or about vehicles registered or 3.1 titled in the individual's name. 3.2 (c) The surcharges collected by the commissioner under this subdivision must be credited 3.3 to the general fund. The surcharges collected by a full-service provider must be transmitted 3.4 to the commissioner to be deposited into the general fund. 3.5 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to requests 3.6 for records made on or after that date. 3.7 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.327, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 3.8 Subd. 3. Exception to fee and surcharge. (a) Notwithstanding subdivision 2 or section 3.9 13.03, a fee or surcharge may not be imposed in response to a request for public information 3.10 about the registration of a vehicle if the commissioner or full-service provider is satisfied 3.11 that: 3.12 3.13 (1) the requester seeks the information on behalf of a community-based, nonprofit organization designated by a local law enforcement agency to be a requester; and 3.14 3.15 (2) the information is needed to identify suspected prostitution law violators, controlled substance law violators, or health code violators. 3.16 (b) The commissioner shall or full-service provider must not require a requester under 3.17 paragraph (a) to make a minimum number of data requests or limit the requester to a 3.18 maximum number of data requests. 3.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to requests 3.20 for records made on or after that date. 3.21 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.33, subdivision 7, is amended to read: 3.22 3.23 Subd. 7. Filing fees; allocations. (a) In addition to all other statutory fees and taxes, a filing fee of: 3.24 (1) \$7 is imposed on every vehicle registration renewal, excluding pro rate transactions; 3.25 and 3.26 (2) \$11 is imposed on every other type of vehicle transaction, including motor carrier 3.27 fuel licenses under sections 168D.05 and 168D.06, and pro rate transactions-; and 3.28 (3) \$5 is imposed on every vehicle registration renewal, excluding pro rate transactions, 3.29 that is submitted by mail. 3.30

4.1 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a):

4.2 (1) a filing fee may not be charged for a document returned for a refund or for a correction
4.3 of an error made by the Department of Public Safety, a dealer, or a deputy registrar; and

4.4 (2) no filing fee or other fee may be charged for the permanent surrender of a title for a4.5 vehicle.

4.6 (c) The filing fee must be shown as a separate item on all registration renewal notices
4.7 sent out by the commissioner.

(d) The statutory fees and taxes, and the filing fees imposed under paragraph (a) may
be paid by credit card or debit card. The deputy registrar may collect a surcharge on the
statutory fees, taxes, and filing fee not greater than the cost of processing a credit card or
debit card transaction, in accordance with emergency rules established by the commissioner
of public safety. The surcharge must be used to pay the cost of processing credit and debit
card transactions.

4.14 (e) The fees collected under this subdivision by the department <u>for in-person transactions</u>
4.15 must be allocated as follows:

4.16 (1) of the fees collected under paragraph (a), clause (1):

4.17 (i) \$5.50 must be deposited in the vehicle services operating account; and

4.18 (ii) \$1.50 must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services technology account; and

- 4.19 (2) of the fees collected under paragraph (a), clause (2):
- 4.20 (i) \$3.50 must be deposited in the general fund;
- 4.21 (ii) \$6.00 must be deposited in the vehicle services operating account; and
- 4.22 (iii) \$1.50 must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services technology account.
- 4.23 (f) The fees collected under this subdivision by the department for mail or online
- 4.24 transactions must be allocated as follows:
- 4.25 (1) of the fees collected under paragraph (a), clause (1):
- 4.26 (i) \$2.75 must be deposited in the vehicle services operating account;
- 4.27 (ii) \$0.75 must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services technology account; and
- 4.28 (iii) \$3.50 must be deposited in the full-service provider account;
- 4.29 (2) of the fees collected under paragraph (a), clause (2):
- 4.30 (i) \$3.50 must be deposited in the general fund;

COUNSEL

ACS/GC

- (ii) \$3.00 must be deposited in the vehicle services operating account; 5.1 (iii) \$0.75 must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services technology account; and 5.2 (iv) \$3.75 must be deposited in the full-service provider account; and 5.3 (3) of the fees collected under paragraph (a), clause (1): 5.4 (i) \$2.50 must be deposited in the vehicle services operating account; and 5.5 (ii) \$2.50 must be deposited in the full-service provider account. 5.6 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.345, is amended to read: 5.7 **168.345 USE OF VEHICLE REGISTRATION INFORMATION.** 5.8 Subdivision 1. Information by telephone. Information about vehicle registrations shall 5.9 must not be furnished on the telephone to any person except the owner of the vehicle, 5.10
- 5.11 personnel of law enforcement agencies, and the personnel of governmental motor vehicle
 5.12 and registration offices.
- Subd. 2. Lessees; information. The commissioner may not furnish information about 5.13 registered owners of passenger automobiles who are lessees under a lease for a term of 180 5.14 days or more to any person except the owner of the vehicle, the lessee, personnel of law 5.15 enforcement agencies and trade associations performing a member service under section 5.16 604.15, subdivision 4a, and federal, state, and local governmental units, and, at the 5.17 commissioner's discretion, to persons who use the information to notify lessees of automobile 5.18 recalls. The commissioner may release information about lessees in the form of summary 5.19 data, as defined in section 13.02, to persons who use the information in conducting statistical 5.20 analysis and market research. 5.21
- 5.22 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 169.09, subdivision 13, is amended
 5.23 to read:
- 5.24 Subd. 13. Reports confidential; evidence, fee, penalty, appropriation. (a) All reports
 5.25 and supplemental information required under this section must be for the use of the
 5.26 commissioner of public safety and other appropriate state, federal, county, and municipal
 5.27 governmental agencies for accident analysis purposes, except:
- 5.28 (1) upon written request, the commissioner of public safety, a full-service provider as
 5.29 defined in section 171.01, subdivision 33a, or any law enforcement agency shall must
 5.30 disclose the report required under subdivision 8 to:

(i) any individual involved in the accident, the representative of the individual's estate, 6.1 or the surviving spouse, or one or more surviving next of kin, or a trustee appointed under 6.2 section 573.02; 6.3

- (ii) any other person injured in person, property, or means of support, or who incurs 6.4 other pecuniary loss by virtue of the accident; 6.5
- (iii) legal counsel of a person described in item (i) or (ii); 6.6

(iv) a representative of the insurer of any person described in item (i) or (ii); or 6.7

(v) a city or county attorney or an attorney representing the state in an implied consent 6.8 action who is charged with the prosecution of a traffic or criminal offense that is the result 6.9 of a traffic crash investigation conducted by law enforcement; 6.10

(2) the commissioner of public safety shall, upon written request, provide the driver 6.11 filing a report under subdivision 7 with a copy of the report filed by the driver; 6.12

- (3) (2) the commissioner of public safety may verify with insurance companies vehicle 6.13 insurance information to enforce sections 65B.48, 169.792, 169.793, 169.796, and 169.797; 6.14
- (4) (3) the commissioner of public safety shall must provide the commissioner of 6.15 transportation the information obtained for each traffic accident involving a commercial 6.16 motor vehicle, for purposes of administering commercial vehicle safety regulations; 6.17
- (5) (4) upon specific request, the commissioner of public safety shall must provide the 6.18 commissioner of transportation the information obtained regarding each traffic accident 6.19 involving damage to identified state-owned infrastructure, for purposes of debt collection 6.20 under section 161.20, subdivision 4; and 6.21
- (6) (5) the commissioner of public safety may give to the United States Department of 6.22 Transportation commercial vehicle accident information in connection with federal grant 6.23 programs relating to safety. 6.24

(b) Accident reports and data contained in the reports are not discoverable under any 6.25 provision of law or rule of court. No report shall A report must not be used as evidence in 6.26 any trial, civil or criminal, or any action for damages or criminal proceedings arising out 6.27 of an accident. However, the commissioner of public safety shall must furnish, upon the 6.28 demand of any person who has or claims to have made a report or upon demand of any 6.29 court, a certificate showing that a specified accident report has or has not been made to the 6.30 commissioner solely to prove compliance or failure to comply with the requirements that 6.31 the report be made to the commissioner. 6.32

ACS/GC

(c) Nothing in this subdivision prevents any individual who has made a report under
this section from providing information to any individuals involved in an accident or their
representatives or from testifying in any trial, civil or criminal, arising out of an accident,
as to facts within the individual's knowledge. It is intended by this subdivision to render
privileged the reports required, but it is not intended to prohibit proof of the facts to which
the reports relate.

7.7 (d) Disclosing any information contained in any accident report, except as provided in
7.8 this subdivision, section 13.82, subdivision 3 or 6, or other statutes, is a misdemeanor.

(e) The commissioner of public safety shall or full-service provider as defined in section 7.9 7.10 171.01, subdivision 33a, must charge authorized persons as described in paragraph (a) a \$5 fee for a copy of an accident report. Ninety percent of the \$5 fee collected by the 7.11 commissioner under this paragraph must be deposited in the special revenue fund and 7.12 credited to the driver services operating account established in section 299A.705 and ten 7.13 percent must be deposited in the general fund. Of the \$5 fee collected by a full-service 7.14 provider, the provider must transmit 50 cents to the commissioner to be deposited into the 7.15 general fund, and the provider must retain the remainder. The commissioner or full-service 7.16 provider may also furnish an electronic copy of the database of accident records, which 7.17 must not contain personal or private data on an individual, to private agencies as provided 7.18 in paragraph (g), for not less than the cost of preparing the copies on a bulk basis as provided 7.19 in section 13.03, subdivision 3. 7.20

(f) The fees specified in paragraph (e) notwithstanding, the commissioner, a full-service 7.21 provider, and law enforcement agencies shall must charge commercial users who request 7.22 access to response or incident data relating to accidents a fee not to exceed 50 cents per 7.23 record. "Commercial user" is a user who in one location requests access to data in more 7.24 than five accident reports per month, unless the user establishes that access is not for a 7.25 commercial purpose. Of the money collected by the commissioner under this paragraph, 7.26 90 percent must be deposited in the special revenue fund and credited to the driver services 7.27 operating account established in section 299A.705 and ten percent must be deposited in the 7.28 7.29 general fund. Of the fees collected by a full-service provider under this paragraph, the provider must transmit 50 cents to the commissioner to be deposited into the general fund, 7.30 and the provider must retain the remainder. 7.31

(g) The fees in paragraphs (e) and (f) notwithstanding, the commissioner shall or
<u>full-service provider must</u> provide an electronic copy of the accident records database to
the public on a case-by-case basis using the cost-recovery charges provided for under section
13.03, subdivision 3. The database provided must not contain personal or private data on

8.1	an individual. However, unless the accident records database includes the vehicle
8.2	identification number, the commissioner shall or full-service provider must include the
8.3	vehicle registration plate number if a private agency certifies and agrees that the agency:
8.4	(1) is in the business of collecting accident and damage information on vehicles;
8.5	(2) will use the vehicle registration plate number only for identifying vehicles that have
8.6	been involved in accidents or damaged, to provide this information to persons seeking access
8.7	to a vehicle's history and not for identifying individuals or for any other purpose; and
8.8	(3) will be subject to the penalties and remedies under sections 13.08 and 13.09.
8.9	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to requests
8.10	for records made on or after that date.
8.11	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to
8.12	read:
0.12	
8.13	Subd. 33a. Full-service provider. "Full-service provider" means a person who is
8.14	appointed by the commissioner as both a driver's license agent who provides all driver
8.15	services excluding International Registration Plan and International Fuel Tax Agreement
8.16	transactions under this chapter and deputy registrar services under chapter 168.
8.17	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.02, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
8.18	Subd. 3. Motorized bicycle. (a) A motorized bicycle may not be operated on any public
8.19	roadway by any person who does not possess a valid driver's license, unless the person has
8.20	obtained a motorized bicycle operator's permit or motorized bicycle instruction permit from
8.21	the commissioner of public safety. The operator's permit may be issued to any person who
8.22	has attained the age of 15 years and who has passed the examination prescribed by the
8.23	commissioner. The instruction permit may be issued to any person who has attained the age
8.24	of 15 years and who has successfully completed an approved safety course and passed the
8.25	written portion of the examination prescribed by the commissioner.
8.26	(b) This course must consist of, but is not limited to, a basic understanding of:
8.27	(1) motorized bicycles and their limitations;
8.28	(2) motorized bicycle laws and rules;
8.29	(3) safe operating practices and basic operating techniques;
8.30	(4) helmets and protective clothing;

COUNSEL

9.1	(5) motorized bicycle traffic st	trategies; and				
9.2	(6) effects of alcohol and drug	s on motorized b	oicycle operate	ors.		
9.3	(c) The commissioner may adopt rules prescribing the content of the safety course,			rse,		
9.4	examination, and the information	to be contained	on the permits	s. A person op	eratir	ng a
9.5	motorized bicycle under a motorized	zed bicycle perm	nit is subject to	the restriction	ns im	posed
9.6	by section 169.974, subdivision 2,	on operation of a	motorcycle un	der a two-whee	el ins	truction
9.7	permit.					
9.8	(d) The fees for motorized bic	ycle operator's p	ermits are as f	follows:		
9.9 9.10	(1) Motorized bicycle oper age 21	rator's permit be	fore age 21 an	d valid until	\$	9.75
9.11	(2) Renewal permit age 21	or older and val	lid for four eig	ght years	\$	15.75
9.12	(3) Duplicate of any renew	al permit			\$	5.25
9.13	(4) Written examination an	nd instruction pe	rmit, valid for	30 days	\$	6.75
9.14	EFFECTIVE DATE. This se	ction is effective	e August 1, 20	22, and applie	s to r	new or
9.15	renewal applications for driver's l	icenses or identi	fication cards	submitted on	or aft	ter that
9.16	date.					
9.17	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 202	0, section 171.0	6, subdivision	2, is amended	to re	ead:
9.18	Subd. 2. Fees. (a) The fees for	a license and Mi	nnesota identif	fication card ar	e as f	follows:
9.19 9.20 9.21	REAL ID Compliant or Noncompliant Classified Driver's License	D-\$21.00	C-\$25.00	B-\$32.00	A-	\$40.00
9.22	REAL ID Compliant or					
9.23 9.24	Noncompliant Classified Under-21 D.L.	D-\$21.00	C-\$25.00	B-\$32.00	A-	\$20.00
9.25	Enhanced Driver's License	D-\$36.00	C-\$40.00	B-\$47.00	A-	\$55.00
9.26	REAL ID Compliant or					
9.27 9.28	Noncompliant Instruction Permit					\$5.25
9.29 9.30	Enhanced Instruction Permit					\$20.25
9.31 9.32	Commercial Learner's Permit					\$2.50
9.33 9.34 9.35	REAL ID Compliant or Noncompliant Provisional License					\$8.25
9.36 9.37	Enhanced Provisional License					\$23.25

	03/03/22 01:18 pm	COUNSEL	ACS/GC	SCS3582A-7
10.1 10.2 10.3 10.4 10.5 10.6	Duplicate REAL ID Compliant or Noncompliant License or duplicate REAL ID Compliant or Noncompliant identification card			\$6.75
10.7 10.8 10.9	Enhanced Duplicate License or enhanced duplicate identification card			\$21.75
10.10 10.11 10.12 10.13 10.14 10.15 10.16 10.17 10.18	REAL ID Compliant or Noncompliant Minnesota identification card or REAL ID Compliant or Noncompliant Under-21 Minnesota identification card, other than duplicate, except as otherwise provided in section 171.07,			
10.19	subdivisions 3 and 3a			\$11.25
10.20 10.21	Enhanced Minnesota identification card			\$26.25

From August 1, 2019, to June 30, 2022, the fee is increased by \$0.75 for REAL ID compliant
or noncompliant classified driver's licenses, REAL ID compliant or noncompliant classified
under-21 driver's licenses, and enhanced driver's licenses.

(b) In addition to each fee required in paragraph (a), the commissioner shall must collect
a surcharge of \$2.25. Surcharges collected under this paragraph must be credited to the
driver and vehicle services technology account under section 299A.705.

(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), an individual who holds a provisional license and
has a driving record free of (1) convictions for a violation of section 169A.20, 169A.33,
169A.35, sections 169A.50 to 169A.53, or section 171.177, (2) convictions for crash-related
moving violations, and (3) convictions for moving violations that are not crash related, shall

10.32 <u>must have a \$3.50 credit toward the fee for any classified under-21 driver's license.</u> "Moving
10.33 violation" has the meaning given it in section 171.04, subdivision 1.

(d) In addition to the driver's license fee required under paragraph (a), the commissioner
shall must collect an additional \$4 processing fee from each new applicant or individual
renewing a license with a school bus endorsement to cover the costs for processing an
applicant's initial and biennial physical examination certificate. The department shall must
not charge these applicants any other fee to receive or renew the endorsement.

(e) In addition to the fee required under paragraph (a), a driver's license agent may charge
and retain a filing fee as provided under section 171.061, subdivision 4.

ACS/GC

11.1	(f) In addition to the fee required under paragraph (a), the commissioner shall must
11.2	charge a filing fee at the same amount as a driver's license agent under section 171.061,
11.3	subdivision 4. Revenue collected under this paragraph for in-person transactions must be
11.4	deposited in the driver services operating account under section 299A.705. Revenue collected
11.5	under this paragraph for mail or online transactions must be allocated as follows:
11.6	(1) 50 percent must be deposited in the driver services operating account under section
11.7	299A.705, subdivision 2; and
11.8	(2) 50 percent must be deposited in the full-service provider account under section
11.9	299A.705, subdivision 3a.
11.10	(g) An application for a Minnesota identification card, instruction permit, provisional
11.11	license, or driver's license, including an application for renewal, must contain a provision
11.12	that allows the applicant to add to the fee under paragraph (a), a \$2 donation for the purposes
11.13	of public information and education on anatomical gifts under section 171.075.
11.14	Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to
11.15	read:
11.15 11.16	read: Subd. 8. Preapplication; REAL ID. The commissioner must establish a process for an
11.16	Subd. 8. Preapplication; REAL ID. The commissioner must establish a process for an
11.16 11.17	Subd. 8. Preapplication; REAL ID. The commissioner must establish a process for an applicant to submit an electronic preapplication for a REAL ID-compliant driver's license
11.16 11.17 11.18	Subd. 8. Preapplication; REAL ID. The commissioner must establish a process for an applicant to submit an electronic preapplication for a REAL ID-compliant driver's license or REAL ID-compliant identification card. The commissioner must design the preapplication
11.16 11.17 11.18 11.19	Subd. 8. Preapplication; REAL ID. The commissioner must establish a process for an applicant to submit an electronic preapplication for a REAL ID-compliant driver's license or REAL ID-compliant identification card. The commissioner must design the preapplication so that the applicant must enter information required for the application. The preapplication
11.1611.1711.1811.1911.20	Subd. 8. Preapplication; REAL ID. The commissioner must establish a process for an applicant to submit an electronic preapplication for a REAL ID-compliant driver's license or REAL ID-compliant identification card. The commissioner must design the preapplication so that the applicant must enter information required for the application. The preapplication must also generate a list of documents the applicant is required to submit in person at the
 11.16 11.17 11.18 11.19 11.20 11.21 	Subd. 8. Preapplication; REAL ID. The commissioner must establish a process for an applicant to submit an electronic preapplication for a REAL ID-compliant driver's license or REAL ID-compliant identification card. The commissioner must design the preapplication so that the applicant must enter information required for the application. The preapplication must also generate a list of documents the applicant is required to submit in person at the time of the application. An applicant who submitted a preapplication is required to appear
 11.16 11.17 11.18 11.19 11.20 11.21 11.22 	Subd. 8. Preapplication; REAL ID. The commissioner must establish a process for an applicant to submit an electronic preapplication for a REAL ID-compliant driver's license or REAL ID-compliant identification card. The commissioner must design the preapplication so that the applicant must enter information required for the application. The preapplication must also generate a list of documents the applicant is required to submit in person at the time of the application. An applicant who submitted a preapplication is required to appear in person before a driver's license agent to submit a completed application for the REAL
 11.16 11.17 11.18 11.19 11.20 11.21 11.22 11.23 	Subd. 8. Preapplication; REAL ID. The commissioner must establish a process for an applicant to submit an electronic preapplication for a REAL ID-compliant driver's license or REAL ID-compliant identification card. The commissioner must design the preapplication so that the applicant must enter information required for the application. The preapplication must also generate a list of documents the applicant is required to submit in person at the time of the application. An applicant who submitted a preapplication is required to appear in person before a driver's license agent to submit a completed application for the REAL ID-compliant driver's license or REAL ID-compliant identification card. The commissioner
 11.16 11.17 11.18 11.19 11.20 11.21 11.22 11.23 11.24 	Subd. 8. Preapplication; REAL ID. The commissioner must establish a process for an applicant to submit an electronic preapplication for a REAL ID-compliant driver's license or REAL ID-compliant identification card. The commissioner must design the preapplication so that the applicant must enter information required for the application. The preapplication must also generate a list of documents the applicant is required to submit in person at the time of the application. An applicant who submitted a preapplication is required to appear in person before a driver's license agent to submit a completed application for the REAL ID-compliant driver's license or REAL ID-compliant identification card. The commissioner must provide a link to the preapplication website at the time an individual schedules an
 11.16 11.17 11.18 11.19 11.20 11.21 11.22 11.23 11.24 11.25 	Subd. 8. Preapplication; REAL ID. The commissioner must establish a process for an applicant to submit an electronic preapplication for a REAL ID-compliant driver's license or REAL ID-compliant identification card. The commissioner must design the preapplication so that the applicant must enter information required for the application. The preapplication must also generate a list of documents the applicant is required to submit in person at the time of the application. An applicant who submitted a preapplication is required to appear in person before a driver's license agent to submit a completed application for the REAL ID-compliant driver's license or REAL ID-compliant identification card. The commissioner must provide a link to the preapplication website at the time an individual schedules an appointment to apply for a REAL ID-compliant driver's license or REAL ID-compliant driver's license

11.29 application. as follows:

	03/03/22 01:18 pm	COUNSEL	ACS/GC	SCS.	3582A-7
12.1	(1) New application for not	ncompliant driver's lic	ense	<u>\$</u>	11.00
12.2 12.3	(2) New application for RE enhanced driver's licens		er's license or	<u>\$</u>	<u>16.00</u>
12.4 12.5	(3) <u>Renewal application fo</u> noncompliant driver's l	1	<u> </u>	<u>\$</u>	<u>11.00</u>

Except as provided in paragraph (c), the fee shall must cover all expenses involved in
receiving, accepting, or forwarding to the department the applications and fees required
under sections 171.02, subdivision 3; 171.06, subdivisions 2 and 2a; and 171.07, subdivisions
3 and 3a.

(b) The statutory fees and the filing fees imposed under paragraph (a) may be paid by
credit card or debit card. The driver's license agent may collect a convenience fee on the
statutory fees and filing fees not greater than the cost of processing a credit card or debit
card transaction. The convenience fee must be used to pay the cost of processing credit card
and debit card transactions. The commissioner shall must adopt rules to administer this
paragraph using the exempt procedures of section 14.386, except that section 14.386,
paragraph (b), does not apply.

(c) The department shall must maintain the photo identification equipment for all agents 12.17 appointed as of January 1, 2000. Upon the retirement, resignation, death, or discontinuance 12.18 12.19 of an existing agent, and if a new agent is appointed in an existing office pursuant to Minnesota Rules, chapter 7404, and notwithstanding the above or Minnesota Rules, part 12.20 7404.0400, the department shall must provide and maintain photo identification equipment 12.21 without additional cost to a newly appointed agent in that office if the office was provided 12.22 the equipment by the department before January 1, 2000. All photo identification equipment 12.23 must be compatible with standards established by the department. 12.24

(d) A filing fee retained by the agent employed by a county board must be paid into the
county treasury and credited to the general revenue fund of the county. An agent who is not
an employee of the county shall must retain the filing fee in lieu of county employment or
salary and is considered an independent contractor for pension purposes, coverage under
the Minnesota State Retirement System, or membership in the Public Employees Retirement
Association.

(e) Before the end of the first working day following the final day of the reporting period
established by the department, the agent must forward to the department all applications
and fees collected during the reporting period except as provided in paragraph (d).

12.34 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to applications
12.35 made on or after that date.

ACS/GC

13.1 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.07, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

- Subd. 4. Identification card expiration. (a) Except as otherwise provided in this
 subdivision, the expiration date of a Minnesota identification card is the birthday of the
- applicant in the <u>fourth eighth</u> year following the date of issuance of the card.
- 13.5 (b) For an applicant age 65 or older:

(1) the expiration date of a Minnesota identification card is the birthday of the applicant
 in the eighth year following the date of issuance of the card; or

13.8 (2) a noncompliant identification card is valid for the lifetime of the applicant.

13.9 (c) For the purposes of paragraph (b), "Minnesota identification card" does not include
13.10 an enhanced identification card issued to an applicant age 65 or older.

13.11 (d) (b) The expiration date for an Under-21 identification card is the cardholder's 21st
13.12 birthday. The commissioner shall must issue an identification card to a holder of an Under-21
13.13 identification card who applies for the card, pays the required fee, and presents proof of
13.14 identify and age, unless the commissioner determines that the applicant is not qualified for
13.15 the identification card.

(e) (c) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) to (d) and (b), the expiration date for an
identification card issued to a person with temporary lawful status is the last day of the
person's legal stay in the United States, or one year after issuance if the last day of the
person's legal stay is not identified.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to new or
 renewal applications for driver's licenses or identification cards submitted on or after that
 <u>date.</u>

13.23 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.0705, is amended by adding a subdivision13.24 to read:

Subd. 11. Manual and study material availability. The commissioner must publish
the driver's manual on the department's website. The commissioner must also publish study
support materials for the written exam and skills exam, with a focus on the subjects and
skills that are most commonly failed by exam takers. The commissioner must ensure that
the driver's manual and study support materials are easily located and available for no cost.

ACS/GC

14.1 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 171.071, subdivision 4, is amended
14.2 to read:

Subd. 4. Variance for homebound individuals. (a) Notwithstanding section 171.07 or 14.3 Minnesota Rules, part 7410.1810, the commissioner may grant a variance from the 14.4 photograph requirements for a noncompliant identification card if: (1) the individual is 14.5 homebound as defined in paragraph (b); (2) the individual has submitted proof of homebound 14.6 status; and (3) the department has a photograph of the applicant on file that was taken within 14.7 14.8 the last four eight years or during the most recent renewal cycle or the applicant has submitted a photograph to the department that meets the requirements of section 171.07, Minnesota 14.9 Rules, part 7410.1810, subpart 1, and other technical requirements established by the 14.10 commissioner, such as background color and electronic file size, to ensure the image can 14.11 be used on a credential and conforms with images taken by the department. Applicants 14.12 granted a photograph variance under this subdivision are not required to appear in person 14.13 to have a new photograph taken. 14.14

(b) For purposes of this subdivision, "homebound" means the individual is unable to
leave the individual's residence due to a medical, physical, or mental health condition or
infirmity as documented in writing by a physician, case worker, or social worker.

14.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to new or
 14.19 renewal applications for driver's licenses or identification cards submitted on or after that
 14.20 date.

14.21 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.12, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. Driver and vehicle services information system; security and auditing. (a) 14.22 The commissioner must establish written procedures to ensure that only individuals 14.23 authorized by law may enter, update, or access not public data collected, created, or 14.24 maintained by the driver and vehicle services information system. An authorized individual's 14.25 ability to enter, update, or access data in the system must correspond to the official duties 14.26 or training level of the individual and to the statutory authorization granting access for that 14.27 purpose. All queries and responses, and all actions in which data are entered, updated, 14.28 accessed, shared, or disseminated, must be recorded in a data audit trail. Data contained in 14.29 the audit trail are public to the extent the data are not otherwise classified by law. 14.30

(b) <u>The commissioner must not suspend or revoke the authorization of any individual</u>
who properly accessed data to complete an authorized transaction or to resolve an issue that
does not result in a completed authorized transaction. The commissioner must immediately
and permanently revoke the authorization of any individual who willfully entered, updated,

ACS/GC

accessed, shared, or disseminated data in violation of state or federal law. If an individual
willfully gained access to data without authorization by law, the commissioner must forward
the matter to the appropriate prosecuting authority for prosecution. The commissioner must
establish a process that allows an individual whose access was revoked to appeal that

15.5 decision.

(c) The commissioner must arrange for an independent biennial audit of the driver and 15.6 vehicle services information system to determine whether data currently in the system are 15.7 15.8 classified correctly, how the data are used, and to verify compliance with this subdivision. The results of the audit are public. No later than 30 days following completion of the audit, 15.9 the commissioner must provide a report summarizing the audit results to the commissioner 15.10 of administration; the chairs and ranking minority members of the committees of the house 15.11 of representatives and the senate with jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance, 15.12 public safety, and data practices; and the Legislative Commission on Data Practices and 15.13 Personal Data Privacy. The report must be submitted as required under section 3.195, except 15.14

15.15 that printed copies are not required.

15.16 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 171.13, subdivision 1, is amended15.17 to read:

Subdivision 1. Examination subjects and locations; provisions for color blindness,
 disabled veterans. (a) Except as otherwise provided in this section, the commissioner shall
 <u>must</u> examine each applicant for a driver's license by such agency as the commissioner
 directs. This examination must include:

(1) a test of the applicant's eyesight, provided that this requirement is met by submission
of a vision examination certificate under section 171.06, subdivision 7;

(2) a test of the applicant's ability to read and understand highway signs regulating,
warning, and directing traffic;

(3) a test of the applicant's knowledge of (i) traffic laws; (ii) the effects of alcohol and
drugs on a driver's ability to operate a motor vehicle safely and legally, and of the legal
penalties and financial consequences resulting from violations of laws prohibiting the
operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs; (iii) railroad
grade crossing safety; (iv) slow-moving vehicle safety; (v) laws relating to pupil
transportation safety, including the significance of school bus lights, signals, stop arm, and
passing a school bus; (vi) traffic laws related to bicycles; and (vii) the circumstances and

15.33 dangers of carbon monoxide poisoning;

ACS/GC

(4) an actual demonstration of ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in theoperation of a motor vehicle; and

(5) other physical and mental examinations as the commissioner finds necessary todetermine the applicant's fitness to operate a motor vehicle safely upon the highways.

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), the commissioner must not deny an application for
a driver's license based on the exclusive grounds that the applicant's eyesight is deficient in
color perception or that the applicant has been diagnosed with diabetes mellitus. War veterans
operating motor vehicles especially equipped for disabled persons, if otherwise entitled to
a license, must be granted such license.

16.10 (c) The commissioner shall make provision for giving the examinations under this
 16.11 subdivision either in the county where the applicant resides or at a place adjacent thereto

16.12 reasonably convenient to the applicant.

16.13 (d) The commissioner shall ensure that an applicant is able to obtain an appointment for

16.14 an examination to demonstrate ability under paragraph (a), clause (4), within 14 days of the

16.15 applicant's request if, under the applicable statutes and rules of the commissioner, the

- 16.16 applicant is eligible to take the examination.
- 16.17 (e) The commissioner must ensure that 40 or more exam stations are located in the state.
 16.18 The exam stations must be distributed so that all regions of the state are provided the same
 16.19 level of service.
- (f) The commissioner must provide real-time information on the department's website
 about the availability and location of exam appointments. The website must show the next
 available exam dates and times for each exam station. The website must also provide an
 option for a person to enter an address to see the date and time of the next available exam
 at each exam station sorted by distance from the address provided. The information must
 be easily accessible and must not require a person to sign in or provide any other information,
 except an address, in order to see available exam dates.

16.27 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.13, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

16.28 Subd. 1a. Waiver when license issued by another jurisdiction. (a) If the commissioner

16.29 determines that an applicant 21 years of age or older possesses a valid driver's license issued

16.30 by another state or jurisdiction that requires a comparable examination for obtaining a

16.31 <u>driver's license, the commissioner may must</u> waive the <u>requirement requirements</u> that the

- 16.32 applicant pass a written knowledge examination and demonstrate ability to exercise ordinary
- 16.33 and reasonable control in the operation of a motor vehicle on determining that the applicant

COUNSEL

ACS/GC

17.1 possesses a valid driver's license issued by a jurisdiction that requires a comparable
17.2 demonstration for license issuance.

17.3 (b) If the commissioner determines that an applicant 21 years of age or older possesses

17.4 <u>a valid driver's license with a two-wheeled vehicle endorsement issued by another state or</u>

17.5 jurisdiction that requires a comparable examination for obtaining the endorsement, the

17.6 commissioner must waive the requirements that the applicant for a two-wheeled vehicle

17.7 endorsement pass a written knowledge examination and demonstrate the ability to exercise

17.8 ordinary and reasonable control in the operation of a motor vehicle.

17.9 (c) For purposes of this subdivision, "jurisdiction" includes, but is not limited to, both 17.10 the active and reserve components of any branch or unit of the United States armed forces, 17.11 and "valid driver's license" includes any driver's license that is recognized by that branch 17.12 or unit as currently being valid, or as having been valid at the time of the applicant's 17.13 separation or discharge from the military within a period of time deemed reasonable and 17.14 fair by the commissioner, up to and including one year past the date of the applicant's 17.15 separation or discharge.

17.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to applications 17.17 made on or after that date.

17.18 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 171.13, subdivision 7, is amended17.19 to read:

17.20 Subd. 7. **Examination fees.** (a) A fee of \$10 \$... must be paid by an individual to take 17.21 a third and any subsequent knowledge test administered by the department if the individual 17.22 has failed two previous consecutive knowledge tests on the subject.

(b) A fee of \$20 \$... must be paid by an individual to take a third and any subsequent
skills or road test administered by the department if the individual has previously failed two
consecutive skill or road tests in a specified class of motor vehicle.

(c) A fee of \$20 must be paid by an individual who fails to appear for a scheduled skills
or road test or who cancels a skills or road test within 24 hours of the appointment time.

(d) All fees received under this subdivision must be paid into the state treasury and
credited to the driver services operating account in the special revenue fund specified under
section 299A.705.

18.1 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 171.27, subdivision 1, is amended
18.2 to read:

Subdivision 1. Expiration. (a) Except as otherwise provided in this section, the expiration 18.3 date for each driver's license is the birthday of the driver in the fourth eighth year following 18.4 the date of issuance of the license. The birthday of the driver shall must be as indicated on 18.5 the application for a driver's license. A license may be renewed on or before expiration or 18.6 within one year after expiration upon application, payment of the required fee, and passing 18.7 18.8 the examination required of all drivers for renewal. Driving privileges shall must be extended or renewed on or preceding the expiration date of an existing driver's license unless the 18.9 commissioner believes that the licensee is no longer qualified as a driver. 18.10

(b) The expiration date for each under-21 license shall must be the 21st birthday of the
licensee. Upon the licensee attaining the age of 21 and upon the application, payment of
the required fee, and passing the examination required of all drivers for renewal, a driver's
license shall must be issued unless the commissioner determines that the licensee is no
longer qualified as a driver.

18.16 (c) The expiration date for each provisional license is two years after the date of18.17 application for the provisional license.

(d) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) to (c), the expiration date for a license issued to a
person with temporary lawful status is the last day of the person's legal stay in the United
States, or one year after issuance if the last day of the person's legal stay is not identified.

18.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to new or
 18.22 renewal applications for driver's licenses or identification cards submitted on or after that
 18.23 date.

18.24 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 171.27, subdivision 2, is amended18.25 to read:

18.26 Subd. 2. Extension of expiration. (a) For purposes of this subdivision, "eligible18.27 individual" means:

(1) a person then or subsequently serving outside Minnesota in active military service,
as defined in section 190.05, subdivision 5, in any branch or unit of the armed forces of the
United States;

(2) a person then or subsequently serving outside Minnesota as a volunteer in the PeaceCorps;

ACS/GC

(3) a person who is an employee of a federal department or agency and is assigned to 19.1 foreign service outside of the United States; or 19.2 (4) a person residing outside of Minnesota because the person is a spouse, domestic 19.3 partner, or dependent under age 26 of a person in clause (1), (2), or (3). 19.4 19.5 (b) A valid Minnesota driver's license issued to an eligible individual continues in full force and effect without requirement for renewal until the date one year following the 19.6 person's separation or discharge from active military or volunteer service, or following the 19.7 conclusion of assignment to foreign service outside the United States, and until the license 19.8 holder's birthday in the fourth eighth full year following the person's most recent license 19.9 19.10 renewal or, in the case of a provisional license, until the person's birthday in the third full year following the renewal. 19.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to new or 19.12 renewal applications for driver's licenses or identification cards submitted on or after that 19.13 date. 19.14 19.15 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299A.705, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 19.16 Subdivision 1. Vehicle services operating account. (a) The vehicle services operating account is created in the special revenue fund, consisting of all money from the vehicle 19.17 19.18 services fees specified in chapters 168, 168A, and 168D, and any other money donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise provided to the account. 19.19 (b) Funds appropriated from the account must be used by the commissioner of public 19.20 safety to administer the vehicle services specified in chapters 168, 168A, and 168D, and 19.21 section 169.345, including: 19.22 (1) designing, producing, issuing, and mailing vehicle registrations, plates, emblems, 19.23 and titles; 19.24 (2) collecting title and registration taxes and fees; 19.25 (3) transferring vehicle registration plates and titles; 19.26 (4) maintaining vehicle records; 19.27 (5) issuing disability certificates and plates; 19.28 (6) licensing vehicle dealers; 19.29

19.30 (7) appointing, monitoring, and auditing deputy registrars; and

19.31 (8) inspecting vehicles when required by law.

Sec. 22.

20.1	(c) \$ per mail transaction is annually appropriated from the account to the
20.2	commissioner for the expense of fulfilling these orders.
20.3	(d) \$ per online transaction is annually appropriated from the account to the
20.4	commissioner for the expense of fulfilling these orders.
20.5	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299A.705, is amended by adding a subdivision
20.6	to read:
20.7	Subd. 3a. Full-service provider account. (a) The full-service provider account is created
20.8	in the special revenue fund, consisting of fees described in sections 168.33, subdivision 7,
20.9	and 171.06, subdivision 2, and any other money donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise
20.10	provided to the account.
20.11	(b) Money in the account is annually appropriated to the commissioner of public safety
20.12	to distribute to full-service providers, as defined in section 168.002, subdivision 12a. At
20.13	least quarterly, the commissioner must distribute the money in the account to each full-service
20.14	provider that was in operation during that quarter based proportionally on the number of
20.15	transactions completed by each full-service provider.
20.16	Sec. 24. <u>REPORT; TRANSITION TO DIGITAL TITLES AND DRIVERS'</u>
20.16	Sec. 24. <u>REPORT; TRANSITION TO DIGITAL TITLES AND DRIVERS'</u>
20.16 20.17	Sec. 24. <u>REPORT; TRANSITION TO DIGITAL TITLES AND DRIVERS'</u> <u>LICENSES.</u>
20.16 20.17 20.18	Sec. 24. <u>REPORT; TRANSITION TO DIGITAL TITLES AND DRIVERS'</u> <u>LICENSES.</u> <u>By December 15, 2022, the commissioner of public safety must report to the chairs and</u>
20.1620.1720.1820.19	Sec. 24. <u>REPORT; TRANSITION TO DIGITAL TITLES AND DRIVERS'</u> <u>LICENSES.</u> <u>By December 15, 2022, the commissioner of public safety must report to the chairs and</u> <u>ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation</u>
 20.16 20.17 20.18 20.19 20.20 	Sec. 24. <u>REPORT; TRANSITION TO DIGITAL TITLES AND DRIVERS'</u> <u>LICENSES.</u> <u>By December 15, 2022, the commissioner of public safety must report to the chairs and</u> <u>ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation</u> <u>policy and finance on transitioning from physical driver and vehicle documents to digital</u>
20.16 20.17 20.18 20.19 20.20 20.21	Sec. 24. <u>REPORT; TRANSITION TO DIGITAL TITLES AND DRIVERS'</u> <u>LICENSES.</u> By December 15, 2022, the commissioner of public safety must report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance on transitioning from physical driver and vehicle documents to digital versions of the same documents. At a minimum, the report must:
 20.16 20.17 20.18 20.19 20.20 20.21 20.22 	Sec. 24. <u>REPORT; TRANSITION TO DIGITAL TITLES AND DRIVERS'</u> <u>LICENSES.</u> By December 15, 2022, the commissioner of public safety must report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance on transitioning from physical driver and vehicle documents to digital versions of the same documents. At a minimum, the report must: (1) include information on how other states have implemented the transition to digital
 20.16 20.17 20.18 20.19 20.20 20.21 20.22 20.23 	Sec. 24. <u>REPORT; TRANSITION TO DIGITAL TITLES AND DRIVERS'</u> <u>LICENSES.</u> By December 15, 2022, the commissioner of public safety must report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance on transitioning from physical driver and vehicle documents to digital versions of the same documents. At a minimum, the report must: (1) include information on how other states have implemented the transition to digital <u>documents;</u>
 20.16 20.17 20.18 20.19 20.20 20.21 20.22 20.23 20.24 	Sec. 24. <u>REPORT; TRANSITION TO DIGITAL TITLES AND DRIVERS'</u> <u>LICENSES. By December 15, 2022, the commissioner of public safety must report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance on transitioning from physical driver and vehicle documents to digital versions of the same documents. At a minimum, the report must: (1) include information on how other states have implemented the transition to digital documents; (2) make recommendations on how to ensure the security, integrity, and privacy of data;</u>
 20.16 20.17 20.18 20.19 20.20 20.21 20.22 20.23 20.24 20.25 	Sec. 24. <u>REPORT; TRANSITION TO DIGITAL TITLES AND DRIVERS'</u> <u>LICENSES.</u> By December 15, 2022, the commissioner of public safety must report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance on transitioning from physical driver and vehicle documents to digital versions of the same documents. At a minimum, the report must: (1) include information on how other states have implemented the transition to digital documents; (2) make recommendations on how to ensure the security, integrity, and privacy of data; (3) include an estimate of the costs for transitioning to digital documents;

21.1	Sec. 25. <u>REPORT; DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES; POTENTIAL</u>
21.2	USE OF MNDRIVE.
21.3	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have
21.4	the meanings given.
21.5	(b) "Commissioners" means the commissioner of public safety and the commissioner
21.6	of natural resources.
21.7	(c) "DNR" means the Department of Natural Resources.
21.8	(d) "DNR system" means the current Department of Natural Resources system for boat,
21.9	all-terrain vehicle, and snowmobile registrations.
21.10	(e) "MnDRIVE" means the state's vehicle title and registration system.
21.11	Subd. 2. Report. By December 15, 2022, the commissioners, in consultation with deputy
21.12	registrars, must report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative
21.13	committees with jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance and natural resources
21.14	policy and finance on the potential of transitioning from the DNR system to MnDRIVE to
21.15	complete boat, all-terrain vehicle, and snowmobile registrations. At a minimum, the report
21.16	must evaluate whether the DNR system should be replaced and, if so, whether MnDRIVE
21.17	is an appropriate replacement. If the commissioners determine MnDRIVE is an appropriate
21.18	replacement, then the report must also:
21.19	(1) include an estimate of costs for transitioning from the DNR system to MnDRIVE;
21.20	(2) include an estimated timeline for transitioning from the DNR system to MnDRIVE;
21.21	and
21.22	(3) identify statutory changes necessary to implement the transition from the DNR system
21.23	to MnDRIVE.
21.24	Sec. 26. <u>REPORT; IMPLEMENTATION OF DRIVER AND VEHICLE SERVICES</u>
21.25	RECOMMENDATIONS.
21.26	(a) The legislature encourages the commissioner of public safety, in conjunction with
21.27	appropriate stakeholders, to implement the following recommendations included in
21.28	independent expert review of driver and vehicle services issued January 12, 2022:
21.29	(1) revise the deputy registrar and driver's license agent contracts to encourage all deputy
21.30	registrars and driver's license agents to become or remain full-service providers as defined
21.31	in Minnesota Statutes, section 168.002, subdivision 12a;

ACS/GC

22.1	(2) track and share student pass rates for each certified driving school and investigate
22.2	high student failure rates when they occur for a given school;
22.3	(3) determine how best to utilize certified and impartial third parties for administration
22.4	of knowledge and road tests;
22.5	(4) implement data and reporting practices to assist the commissioner in making decisions
22.6	focused on the residents of the state;
22.7	(5) conduct a staffing review that balances staff quantity and quality, leverages technology
22.8	automations and configurations, and establishes performance standards and targets that
22.9	meet the needs of the state;
22.10	(6) identify performance and service standards and create a deputy registrar performance
22.11	scorecard and a driver's license agent performance scorecard that monitors user performance
22.12	to ensure a consistently positive experience for Minnesotans;
22.13	(7) provide a rapid response communication method for situations where deputy registrars
22.14	or driver's license agents need immediate support;
22.15	(8) explore ways to speed up background checks of new employees at the division of
22.16	driver and vehicle services offices and deputy registrar offices, including using a police
22.17	department or county sheriff;
22.18	(9) promote the preapplication process and expand the use of preapplications to all
22.19	possible, relevant areas;
22.20	(10) evaluate and make recommendations to the legislature on areas where it is
22.21	appropriate to make preapplications mandatory;
22.22	(11) adjust policies and practices to automate as many approval transactions as possible;
22.23	(12) determine the proper user level field needed by transaction type and explore
22.24	additional differentiated user levels in MnDRIVE;
22.25	(13) allow deputy registrars to have increased visibility to and influence on the MnDRIVE
22.26	enhancement process;
22.27	(14) engage a learning consultant and create a content strategy and communications
22.28	campaign to meet the needs of Minnesota residents, including a feedback loop for continuous
22.29	improvement and evolution;
22.30	(15) provide additional training and clear guidance regarding permissible use of records
22.31	and enable in-application notation of usage other than for paid transactions;

ACS/GC

(16) consider what security measures are appropriate at each deputy registrar or driver's 23.1 license agent location, including the possible need for a security officer or for cameras with 23.2 23.3 recording capabilities; and (17) offer training in deescalation and negotiation techniques to all public-facing staff. 23.4 23.5 (b) By December 15, 2022, the commissioner must report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation finance 23.6 and policy on whether the recommendations in paragraph (a) and the recommendations 23.7 included in the March 2021 legislative auditor's report on driver examination stations have 23.8 been implemented, are in the process of being implemented, or will not be implemented. 23.9 23.10 For each recommendation that has been implemented, the commissioner must: (1) describe when and how the recommendation was implemented; 23.11 (2) describe the outcome of implementing the recommendation; and 23.12 (3) provide an estimated cost of implementing the recommendation. 23.13 23.14 For each recommendation that is in the process of being implemented, the commissioner must: 23.15 (1) describe how the recommendation is being implemented; 23.16 (2) provide the anticipated timeline for implementation; and 23.17 (3) provide an estimated cost of implementing the recommendation. 23.18 For each recommendation that will not be implemented, the commissioner must: 23.19 (1) provide a detailed explanation of why the recommendation will not be implemented; 23.20 (2) provide an estimated cost to implement the recommendation; 23.21 (3) provide an estimated timeline to implement the recommendation; 23.22 (4) describe any unmet needs that, if met, would allow the commissioner to implement 23.23 the recommendation. 23.24 23.25 In addition, the commissioner must include recommendations on any further changes to statutes necessary or beneficial for implementing the recommendations. 23.26 23.27 (c) The report required by paragraph (b) must also include the commissioner's plan for exam station locations, including how many exam stations will remain open and the locations 23.28 23.29 of the exam stations.

24.1 Sec. 27. <u>EFFECTIVE DATE.</u>

- 24.2 Except where otherwise specified, this act is effective August 1, 2022."
- 24.3 Amend the title accordingly