Transportation Finance and Policy Committee Tuesday, February 22, 2022 3:00 PMLivestream YouTube

Minutes

<u>Present</u>: Senator Scott J. Newman - Chair, Senator John R. Jasinski - Vice Chair, Senator Jim Carlson, Senator Julia E. Coleman, Senator D. Scott Dibble, Senator Jeff R. Howe, Senator Ann M. Johnson Stewart, Senator Mary Kiffmeyer, Senator Jennifer A. McEwen, Senator David J. Osmek, Senator Eric R. Pratt

Absent: Senator Susan Kent

Senator David J. Osmek called the meeting to order at 3:05 p.m.

<u>S.F. 3081:</u> Senator Newman: State general sales tax revenue related to motor vehicle repair and replacement parts allocation exclusively to fund roads.

Senator Newman passes the gavel to Senator Osmek.

Testifiers:

Tim Worke, CEO, Associated General Contractors of MN

Jason George, Business Manager, IUOE Local 49

Chris DeLaForest, North Central States Regional Council of Carpenters

Bentley Graves, Director of Health Care and Transportation Policy, MN Chamber of Commerce

Abbey Bryduck, Executive Director, MN Asphalt Pavement Association

Matt Zeller, Executive Director, Concrete Paving Association of MN

John Thorson, Legislative Director, LIUNA Local 563

Senator Newman requests a roll call vote.

Roll call vote request granted.

Voting in the Affirmative:

Senator Newman
Senator Jasinski
Senator Dibble
Senator Carlson
Senator Coleman
Senator Howe
Senator Johnson Stewart
Senator Kiffmeyer
Senator McEwen
Senator Osmek
Senator Pratt
Voting in the Negative:
N/A
Members Absent:
Senator Kent
Senator Newman moved that S.F. 3081, be recommended to pass and re-referred to the Taxes Committee MOTION PREVAILED.
S.F. 3086: Senator Howe: Allocation modification of sales tax revenue related to motor vehicle repair and replacement parts.
repair and replacement parts.
Testifiers:
Margaret Donahoe, Executive Director, MN Transportation Alliance
Jeff Krueger, Executive Director, Minnesota Association of Townships

Cap O'Rourke, MN Association of Small Cities

Shane Zahrt, Coalition of Greater MN Cities
Anne Finn, League of Minnesota Cities
Senator Howe requests a roll call vote.
Roll call vote request granted.
Voting in the Affirmative:
Senator Newman
Senator Jasinski
Senator Dibble
Senator Carlson
Senator Coleman
Senator Howe
Senator Johnson Stewart
Senator Kiffmeyer
Senator McEwen
Senator Osmek
Senator Pratt
Voting in the Negative:
N/A
Members Absent:
Senator Kent

Senator Howe moved that S.F. 3086, be recommended to pass and re-referred to the Taxes Committee. - MOTION PREVAILED.

<u>S.F. 1602:</u> Senator Howe: Electric fuel distributed by a utility through an electric vehicle charging station at a public or private parking space tax imposition.

otation at a passio of private parking opero tax imposition.
Senator Howe has the A-2 author's amendment.
A-2 author's amendment passes voice vote.
A-2 author's amendment is adopted.
Testifiers:
Margaret Donahoe, Executive Director, MN Transportation Alliance
Tim Sexton, MnDOT Assistant Commissioner for Sustainability and Public Health
Senator Howe requests a roll call vote.
Roll call vote request is granted.
Voting in the Affirmative:
Senator Newman
Senator Jasinski
Senator Coleman
Senator Howe
Senator Johnson Stewart
Senator Kiffmeyer
Senator Osmek
Senator Pratt

Voting in the Negative:
Senator Dibble
Senator Carlson
Senator McEwen
Members Absent:
Senator Kent
Senator Howe moved that S.F. 1602, as amended, recommended to pass and re-referred to the Energy and Utilities Finance and Policy Committee MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:39 p.m.

Senator Scott J. Newman, Chair

Matt Wooldridge, Legislative Assistant