Senator moves to amend S.F. No. 3975 as follows: 1.1 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert: 1.2 1.3 "ARTICLE 1 STATE GOVERNMENT APPROPRIATIONS 1.4 Section 1. STATE GOVERNMENT APPROPRIATIONS. 1.5 The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are added to or, if shown in 1.6 parentheses, subtracted from the appropriations in Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 1.7 12, article 1, to the agencies and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations 1.8 are from the general fund, or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years 1.9 indicated for each purpose. The figures "2022" and "2023" used in this article mean that 1.10 the appropriations listed under them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, 1.11 or June 30, 2023, respectively. All base adjustments identified within this article are 1.12 adjustments to the base contained in Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 12, article 1.13 1. 1.14 **APPROPRIATIONS** 1.15 Available for the Year 1.16 **Ending June 30** 1.17 <u>2023</u> 2022 1.18 Sec. 2. SECRETARY OF STATE -0- \$ 6,000,000 1.19 \$ \$6,000,000 in fiscal year 2023 is to make 1.20 1.21 grants to local units of government to (1) hire temporary staff to enter voter registration 1.22 applications into the statewide voter 1.23 registration system as required under 1.24 Minnesota Statutes, section 201.121, 1.25 subdivision 1, (2) comply with livestreaming 1.26 requirements under Minnesota Statutes, 1.27 sections 203B.082, subdivision 2, and 1.28 203B.121, subdivision 7, and (3) purchase 1.29 ballot paper that conforms to the security 1.30 marking requirements in Minnesota Statutes, 1.31 section 204B.36, subdivision 1, paragraph (b). 1.32 Any amounts under this section not 1.33 encumbered by January 1, 2023, are 1.34

2.1	transferred to the voting equipment grant			
2.2	account under Minnesota Statutes, section			
2.3	206.95, and are available until June 30, 2024.			
2.4	This is a onetime appropriation.			
2.5	Sec. 3. MINNESOTA IT SERVICES	<u>\$</u>	<u>-0-</u> \$	4,000,000
2.6	\$4,000,000 in fiscal year 2023 is to livestream			
2.7	and record election-related activity and to			
2.8	retain data as required under Minnesota			
2.9	Statues, section 203B.155. The base for this			
2.10	appropriation in fiscal year 2024 and each			
2.11	fiscal year thereafter is \$1,000,000.			
2.12	Sec. 4. Laws 2021, First Special Session cha	apter 12, ar	ticle 1, section 6, is a	amended to
2.13	read:			
2.14	Sec. 6. SECRETARY OF STATE	\$	9,684,000 \$	9,152,000
2.14	Sec. 0. SECRETARY OF STATE	Ф	9,004,000 \$	9,132,000
2.15	\$750,000 each year is for transfer to the voting			
2.16	equipment grant account under Minnesota			
2.17	Statutes, section 206.95.			
2.18	\$1,000,000 each year is for grants to local			
2.19	units of government to implement the			
2.20	provisions of Minnesota Statutes, section			
2.21	203B.082. This is a onetime appropriation.			
2.22	ARTIC	ELE 2		
2.23	STATE GOVERNME		RATIONS	
2.24	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section	3 303 cub	division 6 is amende	ed to read:
2.27				
2.25	Subd. 6. Grants; staff; space; equipment			•
2.26	grants, employ an executive director and other	r staff, and	obtain office space,	equipment,
2.27	and supplies necessary to perform its duties.			
2.28	(b) The executive director may enter into c	ontracts in	compliance with sec	etion 3.225 to
2.29	provide necessary services and supplies for the	house of r	epresentatives and th	ne senate, and
2.30	for legislative commissions and joint legislative	ve offices.	A contract for profes	ssional or
2.31	technical services that is valued at more than \$	50,000 may	y be made only after	the executive
2.32	director has received written approval from th	e chair and	vice-chair of the co	mmission.

COUNSEL

SJJ/HF

SCS3975A-1

04/01/22 11:41 am

<u>(a)</u>	Except a	as otherwise	provided by	y law, al	ll legal	services	of the	Office of	of the	Attorney
Gener	al shall h	e performed	l exclusively	v hv·						

(1) an employee of the office;

3.1

3.2

3.3

3.4

3.9

3.10

3.11

3.12

3.13

3.14

3.15

3.16

3.17

3.18

3.19

3.20

3.21

3.22

3.23

3.24

3.25

- 3.5 (2) an employee of another Minnesota governmental entity as may be provided by law;3.6 or
- 3.7 (3) an employee of a federal governmental entity pursuant to an agreement between the
 3.8 attorney general and the federal governmental entity.
 - Except as otherwise provided under this section, the sole source of compensation paid to employees of the Office of the Attorney General for performing legal services on behalf of the state shall be from the appropriations provided under this chapter or from an appropriation by law. In a case in which the attorney general is authorized under law to contract with, hire, or engage a person other than a person described in clauses (1), (2), or (3) to perform legal services on behalf of the state, the sole consideration for the legal services shall be a monetary amount bargained for in an arm's length transaction with the person and the attorney general or another Minnesota governmental entity, and must state under what authority the attorney general enters the contract.
 - (b) Only persons described in paragraph (a), clause (1), (2), or (3), shall perform legal services on premises leased by the attorney general.
 - (c) Nothing in this section prohibits the attorney general from entering into a settlement agreement with a defendant arising from a case litigated or prosecuted by a federal governmental entity, local governmental entity, or an attorney general's office in another state or a United States territory. Nothing in this section prohibits the attorney general from employing and providing office space to an unpaid intern assisting in performing legal services, provided that the intern does not possess a current license to practice law in Minnesota, any other state or commonwealth, or any United States territory.
- Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 15A.0825, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- 3.28 Subdivision 1. **Membership.** (a) The Legislative Salary Council consists of the following members:
- 3.30 (1) one person, who is not a judge, from each congressional district, appointed by the chief justice of the supreme court; and
- 3.32 (2) one person from each congressional district, appointed by the governor.

(b) If Minnesota has an odd number of congressional districts, the governor and the chief justice must each appoint an at-large member, in addition to a member from each congressional district.

- (c) One-half of the members appointed by the governor and one-half of the members appointed by the chief justice must belong to the political party that has the most members in the legislature. One-half of the members appointed by the governor and one-half of the members appointed by the chief justice must belong to the political party that has the second most members in the legislature.
- (d) None of the members of the council may be:
- 4.10 (1) a current or former legislator, or the spouse of a current legislator;
- 4.11 (2) a current or former lobbyist registered under Minnesota law;
- 4.12 (3) a current employee of the legislature;
- 4.13 (4) a current or former judge; or

4.1

4.2

4.3

4.4

4.5

4.6

4.7

4.8

4.18

4.19

4.20

4.21

4.22

4.23

4.24

- 4.14 (5) a current or former governor, lieutenant governor, attorney general, secretary of state,
 4.15 or state auditor; or
- 4.16 (6) a current employee of an entity in the executive or judicial branch.
- Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 15A.0825, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 2. Initial appointment; convening authority; first meeting in odd-numbered year. Appointing authorities must make their initial appointments by January 2, 2017 after the first Monday in January and before January 15 in each odd-numbered year. The governor shall designate one member to convene and chair the first meeting of the council. The first meeting must be before January 15, 2017 25 of that year. At its first meeting, the council must elect a chair from among its members. Members that reside in an even-numbered congressional district serve a first term ending January 15, 2019. Members residing in an odd-numbered congressional district serve a first term ending January 15, 2021.
- 4.26 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 15A.0825, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Terms.** (a) Except for initial terms and for the first term following redistricting, a term is four years or until new appointments are made after congressional redistricting as provided in subdivision 4. Members may serve no more than two full terms or portions of two consecutive terms.

(b) If a member ceases to reside in the congressional district that the member resided in at the time of appointment as a result of moving or redistricting, the appointing authority who appointed the member must appoint a replacement who resides in the congressional district to serve the unexpired term.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.

5.1

5.2

5.3

5.4

5.5

5.6

5.7

5.8

5.9

5.10

5.11

5.12

5.13

5.14

5.15

5.16

5.17

5.18

5.19

5.20

5.21

5.22

5.23

5.24

5.25

5.26

5.27

5.28

5.29

5.30

5.31

5.32

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 16B.32, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. **Onsite energy generation from renewable sources.** A state agency that prepares a predesign for a new building must consider meeting at least two percent of the energy needs of the building from renewable sources located on the building site. For purposes of this subdivision, "renewable sources" are limited to wind and the sun. The predesign must include an explicit cost and price analysis of complying with the two-percent requirement compared with the present and future costs of energy supplied by a public utility from a location away from the building site and the present and future costs of controlling carbon emissions. If the analysis concludes that the building should not meet at least two percent of its energy needs from renewable sources located on the building site, the analysis must provide explicit reasons why not. The building may not receive further state appropriations for design or construction unless at least two percent of its energy needs are designed to be met from renewable sources, unless the commissioner finds that the reasons given by the agency for not meeting the two-percent requirement were supported by evidence in the record.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and applies to any new building project for which the predesign work is completed after the day of enactment.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 16B.325, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Development of sustainable building guidelines.** The Department of Administration and the Department of Commerce, with the assistance of other agencies, shall develop sustainable building design guidelines for all new state buildings by January 15, 2003, and for all major renovations of state buildings by February 1, 2009. The primary objectives of these guidelines are to ensure that all new state buildings, and major renovations of state buildings, initially exceed the state energy code, as established in Minnesota Rules, chapter 7676, by at least 30 percent. The guidelines shall not require that renewable energy sources be located on the building site.

04/01/22 11.41 am	COLNEEL	CII/IIE	CCC2075 A 1
04/01/22 11:41 am	COUNSEL	SJJ/HF	SCS3975A-1

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and 6.1 applies to any new building project for which the predesign work is completed after the day 6.2 6.3 of enactment. Sec. 8. [16B.971] GRANTS TO NONPROFIT ORGANIZATIONS. 6.4 Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the 6.5 meanings given. 6.6 (b) "Certified financial audit" means a review of an organization's financial statements, 6.7 fiscal policies, and control procedures by an independent third party to determine if the 6.8 statements fairly represent the organization's financial position and if organizational 6.9 procedures are in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles. 6.10 (c) "Fiscal agent" means the commissioner or head of the state agency responsible for 6.11 administering a grant. 6.12 6.13 (d) "Grant" means a grant of state money from any source. (e) "Organization" means a nongovernmental organization that is tax exempt under the 6.14 6.15 Internal Revenue Code. Subd. 2. Requirements for eligibility. (a) For an organization to be eligible to receive 6.16 a grant, the organization must meet the following criteria: 6.17 (1) the organization must submit to the fiscal agent the relevant series Internal Revenue 6.18 Service Form 990 in each of the two years preceding the execution of a grant agreement; 6.19 (2) the organization must not compensate an officer or employee in an amount greater 6.20 than the governor's annual compensation in a 12-month period during the first fiscal year 6.21 beginning, during, or after the 12-month period or in the following fiscal year. Compensation 6.22 for purposes of this section includes salary, bonuses, the present value of stock options, the 6.23 6.24 value of employment benefits, employer contributions to retirement or deferred compensation plans on behalf of the officer or employee, and any other compensation or benefit of value; 6.25 and 6.26 (3) the organization must not have on its governing board a voting member who is: 6.27 (i) an employee of a state agency; or 6.28 (ii) an official elected to serve in a state, county, or local government office. 6.29 6.30 Subd. 3. Additional eligibility requirements for certain nonprofit organizations. For an organization that received more than 50 percent of revenue from state funds in the fiscal 6.31

04/01/22 11:41 am	COUNSEL	SJJ/HF	SCS3975A-1

7.1	year preceding the organization's grant application to be eligible to receive a grant, the
7.2	organization must meet the following criteria:
7.3	(1) the organization must submit to the fiscal agent certified financial audits of the most
7.4	recent two fiscal years preceding the grant application; and
7.5	(2) officers and members of the governing board of the organization must not have been
7.6	convicted of any offense involving theft, fraud, embezzlement, or other misuse or
7.7	misappropriation of funds or property. The commissioner of administration must conduct
7.8	background checks on officers and members of the governing body of the organization
7.9	before an agency may enter into a grant agreement with the organization.
7.10	Subd. 4. Notice to legislature of ineligibility. If a grant has been awarded by law to a
7.11	specified organization that the commissioner determines is ineligible to receive the grant
7.12	under subdivision 2 or 3, the commissioner must promptly report that determination to the
7.13	chair of the committee on finance in the senate and the chair of the committee on ways and
7.14	means in the house of representatives.
7.15	Subd. 5. Grant application. (a) A fiscal agent administering a grant program must
7.16	require the following information as part of a grant application:
7.17	(1) the purpose of the grant, including goals, priorities, and measurable outcomes;
7.18	(2) eligibility requirements for individuals who will be served by the grant program;
7.19	(3) the proposed geographic service areas for individuals served by the grant;
7.20	(4) the reporting requirements; and
7.21	(5) certification that the applicant is eligible under subdivisions 2 and 3 to receive a
7.22	grant.
7.23	These requirements are in addition to any requirements under existing laws and policies.
7.24	(b) An organization that is specifically identified in law to receive a grant must provide
7.25	the information in paragraph (a) to the commissioner of the fiscal agent for the grant before
7.26	the commissioner may execute the grant agreement.
7.27	Subd. 6. Reporting on use of funds. (a) Organizations must provide the following
7.28	information to the fiscal agent:
7.29	(1) a detailed accounting of the use of any grant proceeds;
7.30	(2) a description of program outcomes to date, including performance measured against
7.31	indicators specified in the grant agreement, including but not limited to job creation,

04/01/22 11:41 am	COUNSEL	SJJ/HF	SCS3975A-1
0 1/01/22 11.11 am	COUNDEL	000/111	

employment activity, wage information, business formation or expansion, and academic
performance; and

(3) the portion of the grant, if any, spent on the recipient's operating expenses.

Grant recipients must report the information required under this paragraph to the fiscal agent within one year after receiving any portion of the grant, and annually thereafter, and within 30 days following the use of all funds provided under the grant.

(b) The fiscal agent for a grant to an organization must submit a report containing the information provided by the grant recipients to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees and budget divisions with jurisdiction over the agency serving as fiscal agent for the grant. The report submitted under this section must also include the commissioner's summary of the use of grant proceeds and an analysis of the grant recipients' success in meeting the goals, priorities, and measurable outcomes specified for the grant. An updated version of this report must be submitted on January 15 of each succeeding year until January 15 in the year following the date when all of the grant funds have been spent.

Subd. 7. Notice to legislature of fraud or abuse claims. If the commissioner of administration or the Department of Administration Office of Grants Management receives a comment or concern about fraud or waste for a grant made by law to a specified organization, the commissioner must promptly report the comment or concern to the chair of the committee on finance in the senate and the chair of the committee on ways and means in the house of representatives.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and applies to grants appropriated by law after the effective date and to grant agreements executed after the effective date.

- Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 16B.98, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
- 8.25 Subd. 8. **Audit.** (a) A grant agreement made by an executive agency must include an audit clause that provides:
 - (1) that the books, records, documents, and accounting procedures and practices of the grantee receiving a grant of more than \$500,000 are subject to examination by the granting agency and either the legislative auditor or the state auditor, as appropriate, for a period of two years prior to the execution of the grant agreement for a grant and during the term of the grant agreement; and
 - (2) that the books, records, documents, and accounting procedures and practices of the grantee or other party that are relevant to the grant or transaction are subject to examination

8.4

8.5

8.6

8.7

8.8

8.9

8.10

8.11

8.12

8.13

8.14

8.15

8.16

8.17

8.18

8.19

8.20

8.21

8.22

8.23

8.24

8.27

8.28

8.29

8.30

8.31

8.32

04/01/22 11:41 am C0	OUNSEL	SJJ/HF	SCS3975A-1
----------------------	--------	--------	------------

by the granting agency and either the legislative auditor or the state auditor, as appropriate, for a minimum of six years from the grant agreement end date, receipt and approval of all final reports, or the required period of time to satisfy all state and program retention requirements, whichever is later. If a grant agreement does not include an express audit clause, the audit authority under this subdivision is implied.

(b) If a grant agreement does not include an express audit clause, the audit authority under this subdivision is implied.

(b) (c) If the granting agency is a local unit of government, and the governing body of the local unit of government requests that the state auditor examine the books, records, documents, and accounting procedures and practices of the grantee or other party according to this subdivision, the granting agency shall be liable for the cost of the examination. If the granting agency is a local unit of government, and the grantee or other party requests that the state auditor examine all books, records, documents, and accounting procedures and practices related to the grant, the grantee or other party that requested the examination shall be liable for the cost of the examination.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and applies to grants appropriated by law after the effective date and to grant agreements executed after the effective date.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 118A.09, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Definition**; qualifying government. "Qualifying government" means:

- (1) a county or statutory or home rule charter city with a population of more than 100,000;
- (2) a county or statutory or home rule charter city which had its most recently issued general obligation bonds rated in the highest category by a national bond rating agency whose most recent long-term, senior, general obligation rating by one or more national rating organizations in the prior 18-month period is AA or higher; or
 - (3) a self-insurance pool listed in section 471.982, subdivision 3.

A county or statutory or home rule charter city with a population of 100,000 or less that is a qualifying government, but is subsequently rated less than the highest category by a national bond rating agency on a general obligation bond issue does not meet the threshold under clause (2), may not invest additional funds under this section but may continue to manage funds previously invested under subdivision 2.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

9.1

9.2

9.3

9.4

9.5

9.6

9.7

9.8

9.9

9.10

9.11

9.12

9.13

9.14

9.15

9.16

9.17

9.18

9.19

9.20

9.21

9.22

9.23

9.24

9.25

9.26

9.27

9.28

9.29

9.30

9.31

04/01/22 11:41 am	COUNSEL	SJJ/HF	SCS3975A-1
04/01/22 11.41 alli	COUNSEL	OJJ/111 ¹	3C337/3A-1

	Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 118A.09, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
	Subd. 2. Additional investment authority. Qualifying governments may invest the
	amount described in subdivision 3:
	(1) in index mutual funds based in the United States and indexed to a broad market
Ţ	United States equity index, on the condition that index mutual fund investments must be
1	made directly with the main sales office of the fund; or
	(2) with the Minnesota State Board of Investment subject to such terms and minimum
	amounts as may be adopted by the board. Index mutual fund investments must be made
•	directly with the main sales office of the fund.
	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
	Sec. 12. [118A.10] SELF-INSURANCE POOLS; ADDITIONAL INVESTMENT
	AUTHORITY.
	Subdivision 1. Definition. For the purposes of this section, "qualifying government"
1	means a self-insurance pool formed under section 471.982.
	Subd. 2. Additional investment authority. A qualifying government may invest in the
5	securities specified in section 11A.24.
	Subd. 3. Approval. Before investing pursuant to this section, the governing body of a
(qualifying government must adopt an investment policy pursuant to a resolution that includes
1	both of the following statements:
	(1) the governing body understands that investments under this section have a risk of
	loss; and
	(2) the governing body understands the type of funds that are being invested and the
-	specific investment itself.
	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
	Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 136F.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
	Subdivision 1. Membership. The board consists of 15 members appointed by the
٤	governor, including three members who are students who have attended an institution for
	at least one year and are enrolled at the time of appointment at least half time in a degree,
•	diploma, or certificate program in an institution governed by the board. The student members
	shall include one member from a community college, one member from a state university,
	and one member from a technical college. One member representing labor must be appointed

after considering the recommendations made under section 136F.045. The governor is not bound by the recommendations. Appointments to the board are with the advice and consent of the senate. At least one member of the board must be a resident of each congressional district. All other members must be appointed to represent the state at large. In selecting appointees, the governor must consider the needs of the board and the balance of the board membership with respect to labor and business representation and; racial, gender, geographic, and ethnic composition; and occupation and experience. In selecting appointees, the governor must consider the needs of the board for skills relevant to the governance of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities and the candidate's ability to discharge the responsibilities of the board.

- 11.11 A commissioner of a state agency may not serve as a member of the board.
- 11.12 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.20, is amended to read:

11.13 **155A.20 BOARD OF COSMETOLOGIST EXAMINERS CREATED; TERMS.**

- 11.14 (a) A Board of Cosmetologist Examiners is established to consist of seven 11 members,
 11.15 appointed by the governor as follows:
- 11.16 (1) two cosmetologists, one of whom is recommended by a professional association of cosmetologists, nail technicians, and estheticians;
- 11.18 (2) two school instructors, one of whom is teaching at a public cosmetology school in
 11.19 the state and one of whom is teaching at a private cosmetology school in the state;
- 11.20 (3) one esthetician;

11.1

11.2

11.3

11.4

11.5

11.6

11.7

11.8

11.9

- (4) one advanced practice esthetician;
- 11.22 (4) (5) one nail technician; and
- 11.23 (6) one hair technician; and
- 11.24 (5) one (7) three public member members, as defined in section 214.02.
- 11.25 (b) All cosmetologist, esthetician, advanced practice esthetician, hair technician, and
 11.26 nail technician members must be currently licensed in the field of cosmetology, advanced
 11.27 practice esthiology, hair technology, nail technology, or esthetology, esthiology in Minnesota,
 11.28 have practiced in the licensed occupation for at least five years immediately prior to their
 11.29 appointment, be graduates from grade 12 of high school or have equivalent education, and
 11.30 have knowledge of sections 155A.21 to 155A.36 and Minnesota Rules, chapters 2105 and
 11.31 2110.

04/01/22 11:41 am	COUNSEL	SJJ/HF	SCS3975A-1

(c) Membership terms, compensation of members, removal of members, the filling of membership vacancies, and fiscal year and reporting requirements shall be as provided in sections 214.07 to 214.09. The provision of staff, administrative services, and office space; the review and processing of complaints; the setting of board fees; and other provisions relating to board operations shall be as provided in chapter 214.

(d) Members appointed to fill vacancies caused by death, resignation, or removal shall serve during the unexpired term of their predecessors.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.

- Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.23, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
- Subd. 8. **Manager.** A "manager" is any person who is a cosmetologist, esthetician, advanced practice esthetician, hair technician, nail technician practitioner, or eyelash technician practitioner, and who has a manager license and provides any services under that license, as defined in subdivision 3.
- 12.14 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.
- Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.23, subdivision 11, is amended to read:
- Subd. 11. **Instructor.** An "instructor" is any person employed by a school to prepare and present the theoretical and practical education of cosmetology to persons who seek to practice cosmetology. An instructor must maintain an active operator or manager's license in the area in which the instructor holds an instructor's license. While an instructor holds an active instructor license, the instructor's license as an operator or a salon manager in the same field is automatically renewed without fees with a term ending when the instructor license expires.
- 12.23 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.
- Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.23, subdivision 18, is amended to read:
- Subd. 18. **Practitioner.** A "practitioner" is any person licensed <u>as an operator or manager</u> in the practice of cosmetology, esthiology, <u>advanced practice esthiology</u>, <u>hair technology</u> services, nail technology services, or eyelash technology services.
- 12.28 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.

12.1

12.2

12.3

12.4

12.5

12.6

12.7

COUNSEL SJJ/HF SCS3975A-1

04/01/22 11:41 am Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.23, is amended by adding a subdivision 13.1 to read: 13.2 13.3 Subd. 21. Hair technician. A "hair technician" is any person who, for compensation, performs personal services for the cosmetic care of hair on the scalp. Hair technician services 13.4 include cutting hair and the application of dyes, bleach, reactive chemicals, keratin, or other 13.5 preparations to color or alter the structure of hair. A person who only performs hairstyling 13.6 as defined by subdivision 19 is not a hair technician. 13.7 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024. 13.8 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.25, subdivision 1a, is amended to read: 13.9 Subd. 1a. Schedule. (a) The schedule for fees and penalties is as provided in this 13.10 subdivision. 13.11 (b) Three-year Four-year license fees are as follows: 13.12 (1) \$195 initial practitioner, manager, or instructor license, divided as follows: 13.13 13.14 (i) \$155 for each initial license; and (ii) \$40 for each initial license application fee; 13.15 (2) \$115 renewal of practitioner license, divided as follows: 13.16 (i) \$100 for each renewal license; and 13.17

- (ii) \$15 for each renewal application fee; 13.18
- (3) \$145 renewal of manager or instructor license, divided as follows: 13.19
- (i) \$130 for each renewal license; and 13.20
- (ii) \$15 for each renewal application fee; 13.21
- (4) \$350 initial salon license, divided as follows: 13.22
- (i) \$250 for each initial license; and 13.23
- (ii) \$100 for each initial license application fee; 13.24
- (5) \$225 renewal of salon license, divided as follows: 13.25
- (i) \$175 for each renewal; and 13.26
- (ii) \$50 for each renewal application fee; 13.27
- (6) \$4,000 initial school license, divided as follows: 13.28

- (i) \$3,000 for each initial license; and
- (ii) \$1,000 for each initial license application fee; and
- 14.3 (7) \$2,500 renewal of school license, divided as follows:
- (i) \$2,000 for each renewal; and
- 14.5 (ii) \$500 for each renewal application fee.
- (c) Penalties may be assessed in amounts up to the following:
- 14.7 (1) reinspection fee, \$150;
- 14.8 (2) manager and owner with expired practitioner found on inspection, \$150 each;
- (3) expired practitioner or instructor found on inspection, \$200;
- 14.10 (4) expired salon found on inspection, \$500;
- 14.11 (5) expired school found on inspection, \$1,000;
- 14.12 (6) failure to display current license, \$100;
- 14.13 (7) failure to dispose of single-use equipment, implements, or materials as provided under section 155A.355, subdivision 1, \$500;
- 14.15 (8) use of prohibited razor-type callus shavers, rasps, or graters under section 155A.355, 14.16 subdivision 2, \$500;
- 14.17 (9) performing nail or cosmetology services in esthetician salon, or performing esthetician or cosmetology services in a nail salon, \$500;
- (10) owner and manager allowing an operator to work as an independent contractor,
- 14.20 \$200;
- 14.21 (11) operator working as an independent contractor, \$100;
- 14.22 (12) refusal or failure to cooperate with an inspection, \$500;
- 14.23 (13) practitioner late renewal fee, \$45; and
- 14.24 (14) salon or school late renewal fee, \$50.
- 14.25 (d) Administrative fees are as follows:
- 14.26 (1) homebound service permit, \$50 three-year four-year fee;
- 14.27 (2) name change, \$20;
- 14.28 (3) certification of licensure, \$30 each;

04/01/22 11:41 am	COUNSEL	SJJ/HF	SCS3975A-1
04/01/22 11.41 alli	COUNSEL	ЭЈЈ/ПГ	3C339/3A-1

- (4) duplicate license, \$20; 15.1 (5) special event permit, \$75 per year; 15.2 (6) \$100 for each temporary military license for a cosmetologist, nail technician, 15.3 esthetician, or advanced practice esthetician one-year fee; 15.4 15.5 (7) (6) expedited initial individual license, \$150; (8) (7) expedited initial salon license, \$300; 15.6 (9) (8) instructor continuing education provider approval, \$150 each year; and 15.7 (10) (9) practitioner continuing education provider approval, \$150 each year. 15.8 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024, and applies to licenses 15.9 issued or renewed on or after that date. 15.10 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.27, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 15.11 Subdivision 1. Licensing. A person must hold an individual license to practice in the 15.12 state as a cosmetologist, esthetician, hair technician, nail technician, eyelash technician, 15.13 advanced practice esthetician, manager, or instructor. 15.14 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024. 15.15 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.27, subdivision 5a, is amended to read: 15.16 Subd. 5a. Temporary military license. The board shall establish temporary licenses 15.17 for a cosmetologist, hair technician, nail technician, and esthetician in accordance with 15.18 section 197.4552. A temporary license is valid for a four-year license cycle. The board may 15.19 15.20 only issue one temporary license to an applicant. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024, and applies to licenses 15.21 15.22 issued or renewed on or after that date. Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.27, subdivision 6, is amended to read: 15.23 Subd. 6. Duration of license. Licensing in each classification shall be for a period of 15.24
- three four years. The board may extend a licensee's operator or salon manager license when 15.25 15.26 issuing a new instructor license to the licensee so that the operator or salon manager license expires on the same date as the instructor license. 15.27
- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024, and applies to licenses 15.28 issued or renewed on or after that date. 15.29

04/01/22 11:41 am	COUNSEL	SJJ/HF	SCS3975A-1

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.27, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. **Renewals.** Renewal of license shall be for a period of three four years under the conditions and process established by rule and subject to continuing education requirements of section 155A.271.

- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024, and applies to licenses issued or renewed on or after that date.
- Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.27, subdivision 10, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 10. **Nonresident licenses.** (a) A nonresident cosmetologist, <u>hair technician</u>, nail technician, <u>or eyelash technician</u> may be licensed in Minnesota if the individual has completed cosmetology school in a state or country with the same or greater school hour requirements, has an active license in that state or country, and has passed a board-approved theory and practice-based examination, the Minnesota-specific written operator examination for cosmetologist, <u>hair technician</u>, nail technician, <u>or</u> esthetician, <u>or eyelash technician</u>. If a test is used to verify the qualifications of trained cosmetologists, the test should be translated into the nonresident's native language within the limits of available resources. Licenses shall not be issued under this subdivision for managers or instructors.
 - (b) If an individual has less than the required number of school hours, the individual must have had a current active license in another state or country for at least three four years and have passed a board-approved theory and practice-based examination, and the Minnesota-specific written operator examination for cosmetologist, hair technician, nail technician, or eyelash technician. If a test is used to verify the qualifications of trained cosmetologists, the test should be translated into the nonresident's native language within the limits of available resources. Licenses must not be issued under this subdivision for managers or instructors.
- 16.26 (c) Applicants claiming training and experience in a foreign country shall supply official
 English-language translations of all required documents from a board-approved source.
- 16.28 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024, and applies to licenses issued or renewed on or after that date.

16.2

16.3

16.4

16.5

16.6

16.8

16.9

16.10

16.11

16.12

16.13

16.14

16.15

16.16

16.17

16.18

16.19

16.20

16.21

16.22

16.23

16.24

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.27, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 11. **Reciprocity for barbers.** A barber who has a currently active registration under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 154, may be granted credit, as determined by rule, toward the required hours of study required for licensure in cosmetology or hair technology.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.

17.1

17.2

17.3

17.4

17.5

17.6

17.7

17.8

17.9

17.10

17.11

17.12

17.13

17.14

17.15

17.16

17.17

17.18

17.19

17.20

17.21

17.22

17.23

17.24

17.25

17.26

17.27

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.271, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Continuing education requirements.** (a) To qualify for license renewal under this chapter as an individual cosmetologist, <u>hair technician</u>, nail technician, esthetician, advanced practice esthetician, eyelash technician, or salon manager, the applicant must complete four hours of continuing education credits from a board-approved continuing education provider during the <u>three four</u> years prior to the applicant's renewal date. One credit hour of the requirement must include instruction pertaining to state laws and rules governing the practice of cosmetology. Three credit hours must include instruction pertaining to health, safety, and infection control matters consistent with the United States Department of Labor's Occupational Safety and Health Administration standards applicable to the practice of cosmetology, or other applicable federal health, infection control, and safety standards, and must be regularly updated so as to incorporate newly developed standards and accepted professional best practices. Credit hours earned are valid for <u>three four</u> years and may be applied simultaneously to all individual licenses held by a licensee under this chapter.

- (b) Effective August 1, 2017, In addition to the hours of continuing education credits required under paragraph (a), to qualify for license renewal under this chapter as an individual cosmetologist, hair technician, nail technician, esthetician, advanced practice esthetician, or salon manager, the applicant must also complete a four credit hour continuing education course from a board-approved continuing education provider based on any of the following within the licensee's scope of practice:
- 17.28 (1) product chemistry and chemical interaction;
- 17.29 (2) proper use and maintenance of machines and instruments;
- 17.30 (3) business management, professional ethics, and human relations; or
- 17.31 (4) techniques relevant to the type of license held.

|--|

Credits are valid for three four years and must be completed with a board-approved provider of continuing education during the three four years prior to the applicant's renewal date and may be applied simultaneously to other individual licenses held as applicable, except that credits completed under this paragraph must not duplicate credits completed under paragraph (a).

(c) Paragraphs (a) and (b) do not apply to an instructor license, a school manager license, or an inactive license.

- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024, and applies to licenses issued or renewed on or after that date.
- 18.10 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.29, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Licensing.** A person must not offer cosmetology services for compensation unless the services are provided by a licensee in a licensed salon or as otherwise provided in this section. Each salon must be licensed as a cosmetology salon, a nail salon, esthetician salon, advanced practice esthetician salon, or eyelash extension salon. A salon may hold more than one type of salon license.
- 18.16 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- 18.17 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.29, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Renewal.** Licenses shall be renewed every three four years by a process established by rule.
- 18.20 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024, and applies to licenses issued or renewed on or after that date.
- Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.30, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Standards.** The board shall by rule establish minimum standards of course content and length specific to the educational preparation prerequisite to testing and licensing as cosmetologist, hair technician, esthetician, and advanced practice esthetician, nail technician, and eyelash technician.
- 18.27 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.
- 18.28 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.30, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Applications.** Application for a license shall be prepared on forms furnished by the board and shall contain the following and such other information as may be required:

18.1

18.2

18.3

18.4

18.5

18.6

18.7

18.8

(1) the name of the school, together with ownership and controlling officers, members, and managing employees;

- (2) the specific fields of instruction which will be offered and reconciliation of the course content and length to meet the minimum standards, as prescribed in subdivision 2;
 - (3) the place or places where instruction will be given;
- (4) a listing of the equipment available for instruction in each course offered;
- 19.7 (5) the maximum enrollment to be accommodated;

19.1

19.2

19.3

19.4

19.5

19.6

19.8

19.9

19.10

19.11

19.12

19.13

19.16

19.17

19.18

19.19

19.20

19.21

19.22

19.24

19.25

19.26

19.27

19.28

19.29

19.30

19.31

- (6) a listing of instructors, all of whom shall be licensed as provided in section 155A.27, subdivision 2, except that any school may use occasional instructors or lecturers who would add to the general or specialized knowledge of the students but who need not be licensed;
- (7) a current balance sheet, income statement or documentation to show sufficient financial worth and responsibility to properly conduct a school and to assure financial resources ample to meet the school's financial obligations;
- 19.14 (8) other financial guarantees which would assure protection of the public as determined 19.15 by rule; and
 - (9) a copy of all written material which the school uses to solicit prospective students, including but not limited to a tuition and fee schedule, and all catalogues, brochures and other recruitment advertisements. Each school shall annually, on a date determined by the board, file with the board any new or amended materials which it has distributed during the past year. written materials that the school will use for prospective student enrollment, including the enrollment contract, student handbook, and tuition and fee information.
 - **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.
- 19.23 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.30, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 4. **Verification of application.** Each application shall be signed and certified to under oath by the proprietor if the applicant is a proprietorship, by the managing partner if the applicant is a partnership, or by the authorized officers of the applicant if the applicant is a corporation, association, company, firm, society or trust. the school administrator. For purposes of this section, "school administrator" means the proprietor, if the applicant is a proprietorship; the managing partner, if the applicant is a partnership; the authorized officers, if the applicant is a corporation, association, company, firm, society, or trust; or, the dean, principal, or other authorized signatory, if the applicant is a school in the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system or a secondary school.

20.1	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.
20.2	Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.30, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
20.3	Subd. 6. Fees; renewals. (a) Applications for initial license under sections 155A.21 to
20.4	155A.36 shall be accompanied by a nonrefundable application fee set forth in section
20.5	155A.25.
20.6	(b) License duration shall be three four years. Each renewal application shall be
20.7	accompanied by a nonrefundable renewal fee set forth in section 155A.25.
20.8	(c) Application for renewal of license shall be made as provided in rules adopted by the
20.9	board and on forms supplied by the board.
20.10	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024, and applies to licenses
20.11	issued or renewed on or after that date.
20.12	Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.30, subdivision 11, is amended to read:
20.13	Subd. 11. Instruction requirements. (a) Instruction may be offered for no more than
20.14	ten hours per day per student.
20.15	(b) Instruction must be given within a licensed school building except as provided for
20.16	in paragraph (c). Online instruction is permitted for board-approved theory-based classes.
20.17	<u>Instruction</u> may be given online for theory-based portions of a board-approved curriculum.
20.18	Practice-based <u>elasses</u> <u>portions of a board-approved curriculum</u> must not be given online.
20.19	(c) Schools may offer field trips outside of a licensed school building if the field trips
20.20	are related to the course curriculum for industry educational purposes.
20.21	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
20.22	Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.1419, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
20.23	Subd. 2. Members. (a) The commission shall be composed of 15 members of whom:
20.24	(1) one shall be appointed by the commissioner of transportation;
20.25	(2) one shall be appointed by the commissioner of natural resources;
20.26	(3) one shall be appointed by the director of Explore Minnesota Tourism;
20.27	(4) one shall be appointed by the commissioner of agriculture;
20.28	(5) one shall be appointed by the director of the Minnesota Historical Society State

20.29

<u>Historic Preservation Office;</u>

21.1	(6) two shall be members of the senate to be appointed by the Committee on Committees;
21.2	(7) two shall be members of the house of representatives to be appointed by the speaker;
21.3	(8) one shall be the secretary appointed pursuant to subdivision 3; and
21.4	(9) five shall be citizen members appointed to staggered four-year terms by the members
21.5	appointed under clauses (1) to (8) after receiving recommendations from five citizen
21.6	committees established by the members appointed under clauses (1) to (8), with each citizen
21.7	committee established within and representing each of the following geographic segments
21.8	along the Mississippi River:
21.9	(i) Lake Itasca to but not including the city of Grand Rapids;
21.10	(ii) Grand Rapids to but not including the city of Brainerd;
21.11	(iii) Brainerd to but not including the city of Elk River;
21.12	(iv) Elk River to but not including the city of Hastings; and
21.13	(v) Hastings to the Iowa border.
21.14	Each citizen committee member shall be a resident of the geographic segment that the
21.15	committee and member represents.
21.16	(b) The members of the commission appointed in paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (8), shall
21.17	serve for a term expiring at the close of each regular session of the legislature and until their
21.18	successors are appointed.
21.19	(c) Successor members shall be appointed by the same appointing authorities. Members
21.20	may be reappointed. Any vacancy shall be filled by the appointing authority. The
21.21	commissioner of transportation, the commissioner of natural resources, and the director of
21.22	the Minnesota Historical Society shall be ex officio members, and shall be in addition to
21.23	the 15 members heretofore provided for. Immediately upon making the appointments to the
21.24	commission the appointing authorities shall so notify the Mississippi River Parkway
21.25	Commission, hereinafter called the National Commission, giving the names and addresses
21.26	of the members so appointed.
21.27	Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 240.131, subdivision 7, is amended
21.28	to read:
21.29	Subd. 7. Payments to state. (a) A regulatory fee is imposed at the rate of one percent
21.30	of all amounts wagered by Minnesota residents with an authorized advance deposit wagering
21.31	provider. The fee shall be declared on a form prescribed by the commission. The ADW

provider must pay the fee to the commission no more than 15 days after the end of the month in which the wager was made. Fees collected under this paragraph must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to a racing and card-playing regulation account in the special revenue fund and are appropriated to the commission to offset the costs incurred by the commission as described in section 240.30, subdivision 9, or the costs associated with regulating horse racing and pari-mutuel wagering in Minnesota.

(b) A breeders fund fee is imposed in the amount of one-quarter of one percent of all amounts wagered by Minnesota residents with an authorized advance deposit wagering provider. The fee shall be declared on a form prescribed by the commission. The ADW provider must pay the fee to the commission no more than 15 days after the end of the month in which the wager was made. Fees collected under this paragraph must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to a racing and card-playing regulation account in the special revenue fund and are appropriated to the commission to offset the cost of administering the breeders fund, to support racehorse adoption, retirement, and repurposing, and promote horse breeding in Minnesota.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2022.

- Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299E.04, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Expiration.** The advisory committee on Capitol Area Security expires June
- 22.19 30, 2022 2036.

22.1

22.2

22.3

22.4

22.5

22.6

22.7

22.8

22.9

22.10

22.11

22.12

22.13

22.14

22.15

22.16

22.23

22.24

22.25

22.26

22.27

22.28

22.29

22.30

22.31

22.32

- 22.20 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.
- Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 326A.09, is amended to read:

326A.09 REINSTATEMENT.

The board may reinstate a suspended, revoked, expired, or surrendered certificate, registration, or permit or suspended, revoked, expired, or surrendered practice privileges upon petition of the person or firm holding or formerly holding the registration, permit, or certificate, or practice privileges. The board may, in its sole discretion, require that the person or firm submit to the board evidence of having obtained up to 120 hours of continuing professional education credits that would have been required had the person or firm held a registration, certificate, permit, or practice privileges continuously. The board may, in its sole discretion, place any other conditions upon reinstatement of a suspended, revoked, expired, or surrendered certificate, permit, registration, or of practice privileges that it finds appropriate and necessary to ensure that the purposes of this chapter are met. No suspended

certificate, registration, permit, or practice privileges may be reinstated until the former holder, or person with practice privileges has completed one-half of the suspension.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

- Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 349.151, subdivision 4d, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4d. Electronic pull-tab devices and electronic pull-tab game system. (a) The board may adopt rules it deems necessary to ensure the integrity of electronic pull-tab devices, the electronic pull-tab games played on the devices, and the electronic pull-tab game system necessary to operate them.
 - (b) The board may not require an organization to use electronic pull-tab devices.
- (c) Before authorizing the lease or sale of electronic pull-tab devices and the electronic pull-tab game system, the board shall examine electronic pull-tab devices allowed under section 349.12, subdivision 12b. The board may contract for the examination of the game system and electronic pull-tab devices and may require a working model to be transported to locations the board designates for testing, examination, and analysis. The manufacturer must pay all costs of any testing, examination, analysis, and transportation of the model. The system must be approved by the board before its use in the state and must have the capability to permit the board to electronically monitor its operation and internal accounting systems.
- (d) The board may require a manufacturer to submit a certificate from an independent testing laboratory approved by the board to perform testing services, stating that the equipment has been tested, analyzed, and meets the standards required in this chapter and any applicable board rules.
- (e) The board, or the director if authorized by the board, may require the deactivation of an electronic pull-tab device for violation of a law or rule and to implement any other controls deemed necessary to ensure and maintain the integrity of electronic pull-tab devices and the electronic pull-tab games played on the devices.
- (f) The board may not deactivate or prohibit the use, lease, or sale of an authorized or approved electronic pull-tab device, electronic pull-tab game, or electronic pull-tab game system provided the electronic pull-tab device, electronic pull-tab game, or electronic pull-tab game system continues to meet the standards required in this chapter and any applicable board rules that were in effect at the time of approval or authorization unless a later enacted law, passed by the legislature and signed by the governor, requires that an electronic pull-tab

23.1

23.2

23.3

23.4

23.5

23.6

23.7

23.8

23.9

23.10

23.11

23.12

23.13

23.14

23.15

23.16

23.17

23.18

23.19

23.20

23.21

23.22

23.23

23.24

23.25

23.26

23.27

23.28

23.29

23.30

23.31

04/01/22 11.41 am	COLNEEL	CII/IIE	CCC2075 A 1
04/01/22 11:41 am	COUNSEL	SJJ/HF	SCS3975A-1

device, electronic pull-tab game, or electronic pull-tab game system comply with rules 24.1 adopted after the date of approval or authorization. 24.2 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 24.3 Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 349.1721, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 24.4 24.5 Subdivision 1. Cumulative or carryover games. The board shall by rule permit pull-tab games with multiple seals. The board shall also adopt rules for pull-tab games with 24.6 cumulative or carryover prizes. The rules shall also apply to electronic pull-tab games. 24.7 Electronic pull-tab games are subject to the rules in effect at the time the electronic pull-tab 24.8 game was approved or authorized unless a later enacted law, passed by the legislature and 24.9 signed by the governor, requires that an electronic pull-tab game comply with rules adopted 24.10 after the date of approval or authorization. 24.11 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 24.12 Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 349.1721, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 24.13 Subd. 2. Event games. The board shall by rule permit pull-tab games in which certain 24.14 winners are determined by the random selection of one or more bingo numbers or by another 24.15 method approved by the board. The rules shall also apply to electronic pull-tab games. 24.16 Electronic pull-tab games are subject to the rules in effect at the time the electronic pull-tab 24.17 game was approved or authorized unless a later enacted law, passed by the legislature and 24.18 signed by the governor, requires that an electronic pull-tab game comply with rules adopted 24.19 after the date of approval or authorization. 24.20 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 24.21 Sec. 41. BOARD OF COSMETOLOGIST EXAMINERS LICENSING WORKING 24.22 GROUP. 24.23 Subdivision 1. Membership. The board of cosmetologist examiners licensing working 24.24 group consists of the following eleven members: 24.25 (1) the executive director of the Minnesota Board of Barber Examiners; 24.26 (2) one licensed salon owner, appointed by the executive director of the board of 24.27 cosmetologist examiners; 24.28 (3) one representative of a cosmetology school, appointed by the executive director of 24.29 the board of cosmetologist examiners; 24.30

04/01/22 11:41 am	COUNSEL	SJJ/HF	SCS3975A-1
04/01/22 11.41 alli	COUNSEL	SJJ/111 [*]	3C337/3A-1

25.1	(4) a representative of a trade association in the cosmetology industry that operates in
25.2	the state, appointed by the executive director of the board of cosmetologist examiners;
25.3	(5) one state employee from another state agency that works with health and safety
25.4	issues, appointed by the governor;
25.5	(6) two members of the public who use cosmetology services, appointed by the governor;
25.6	(7) two senators, one appointed by the majority leader and one appointed by the minority
25.7	leader; and
25.8	(8) two members of the house of representatives, one appointed by the speaker of the
25.9	house and one appointed by the minority leader.
25.10	(b) The executive director or a designee shall serve as an ex officio.
25.11	Subd. 2. Duties; report. (a) The working group must submit a report to the chairs and
25.12	ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over state
25.13	government finance and policy by February 15, 2023. The report must:
25.14	(1) evaluate the recommendations in the 2021 Office of the Legislative Auditor program
25.15	evaluation titled Board of Cosmetology Licensing and recommend whether and how to
25.16	adopt the recommendations;
25.17	(2) evaluate the salon manager license and school manager license;
25.18	(3) evaluate the scope and requirements for special event services and homebound
25.19	services permits and considering merging both permits; and
25.20	(4) evaluate an endorsement-based licensing structure.
25.21	(b) The report must include draft legislation to implement the recommendations of the
25.22	working group.
25.23	Subd. 3. Meetings; chair. (a) The executive director of the board of cosmetologist
25.24	examiners must convene the first meeting of the working group by September 15, 2022. At
25.25	the first meeting, the members must elect a chair. Subsequent meetings of the working group
25.26	must be convened by the chair or the chair's designee.
25.27	(b) The working group may conduct meetings remotely.
25.28	(c) The chair shall be responsible for document management of materials for the working
25.29	group.

0.4/0.1/20.11.41	COLDICEI	CII/III	0.002075 4 1
04/01/22 11:41 am	COUNSEL	SJJ/HF	SCS3975A-1

26.1	Subd. 4. Compensation; reimbursement. Members appointed under subdivision 1,
26.2	clauses (2) through (6) may be compensated and reimbursed for expenses as provided in
26.3	Minnesota Statutes, section 15.0575, subdivision 3.
26.4	Subd. 5. Administrative support. The Board of Cosmetologist Examiners must provide
26.5	administrative support and meeting space to the working group.
26.6	Subd. 6. Expiration. The working group expires February 16, 2023, or the day after
26.7	submitting the report required in subdivision 2, whichever occurs earlier.
26.8	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
26.9	Sec. 42. MISSISSIPPI RIVER PARKWAY COMMISSION; CITIZEN MEMBERS.
26.10	Citizens currently appointed to the Mississippi River Parkway Commission under
26.11	Minnesota Statutes, section 161.1419, subdivision 2, serve terms as follows:
26.12	(1) Lake Itasca, to but not including the city of Grand Rapids, for a term ending December
26.13	<u>31, 2026;</u>
26.14	(2) Grand Rapids, to but not including the city of Brainerd, for a term ending December
26.15	31, 2026; and
26.16	(3) Brainerd, to but not including the city of Elk River, for a term ending December 31,
26.17	<u>2026.</u>
26.18	Sec. 43. UNITED STATES AMATEUR SPORTS AND TRAINING CENTER IN
26.19	DAKOTA COUNTY; REPORT.
26.20	Subdivision 1. Study required. (a) The Minnesota Amateur Sports Commission must
26.21	partner with the city of Eagan and the city of Inver Grove Heights to study the development
26.22	of the United States Amateur Sports and Training Center in Dakota County.
26.23	(b) The study must:
26.24	(1) identify potential users of the training facility including youth and adult sport activities
26.25	from diverse populations to be served by the training center;
26.26	(2) address possible sites of the training center and the proximity to other existing training
26.27	facilities;
26.28	(3) address costs of construction for the training center based on needs identified in the
26.29	study;
26.30	(4) address ongoing operational costs of the training center once completed;

$04/01/22 \ 11.41 \ am$	COUNSEL	SII/HF	SCS3975A-1

27.1	(5) determine if the estimated training facility rental rates and user fees, and sponsorship
27.2	fees are adequate to support the training center's ongoing operations; and
27.3	(6) evaluate the potential for local, nonstate resources to support the training facility
27.4	operations to maintain the training facility, if necessary without regard to any debt service
27.5	for capital improvements.
27.6	Subd. 2. Study requirements. (a) The commission's market analysis of user rental rates
27.7	and user fees to determine potential revenues for the facility must consider the impacts on
27.8	or duplication of existing private or government-sponsored facilities.
27.9	(b) The commission must analyze the state and local economic impacts of the proposed
27.10	facility once fully operational including sales tax revenue increases and local venue and
27.11	revenue impacts from sports tourism.
27.12	(c) The study must address the training center's ability to provide opportunities to
27.13	underserved populations including culturally and economically diverse users and possible
27.14	training center needs and uses for specific age and gender participants.
27.15	Subd. 3. Legislative report. The commission must submit a report describing its work
27.16	and findings to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees
27.17	responsible for capital investment and state government finance no later than January 15,
27.18	<u>2023.</u>
27.19	Sec. 44. DEPARTMENT OF IRON RANGE RESOURCES AND
27.20	REHABILITATION; SEPARATION AND RETENTION INCENTIVE PROGRAM
27.21	AUTHORIZATION.
27.22	The commissioner of Iron Range resources and rehabilitation may provide separation
27.23	and retention incentive programs for employees of the department that are consistent with
27.24	the provisions of Laws 2009, chapter 78, article 7, section 2, as amended by Laws 2010,
27.25	chapter 215, article 9, section 2, and Laws 2010, chapter 216, section 53. The cost of such
27.26	incentives are payable solely by funds made available to the commissioner under Minnesota
27.27	Statutes, chapter 298. Employees are not required to participate in the programs.
27.28	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
27.29	Sec. 45. PUBLIC LAND SURVEY MONUMENT RESTORATION.
27.30	The chief geospatial information officer must submit a report by January 1, 2023, to the
27.31	chairs and ranking minority members of the committees in the house of representatives and
27.32	the senate with jurisdiction over local government detailing the status of the monuments

04/01/22 11:41 am	COUNSEL	SJJ/HF	SCS3975A-1
-------------------	---------	--------	------------

28.1	that mark public land survey corners, the work needed by each county to restore missing
28.2	or mislocated monuments so that all public land survey corners are documented and marked
28.3	with monuments, and the estimated costs for each county to complete the work. The report
28.4	must describe the state's interest in the restoration of missing or mislocated monuments;
28.5	propose a schedule for state funding, if warranted, for grants to counties to complete the
28.6	work; whether the county has used or plans to use taxing authority in Minnesota Statutes,
28.7	section 381.12, subdivision 12, to defray the expenses for the work; identify federal money
28.8	that may be available for this work; or propose another manner of funding the work.
28.9	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
28.10	Sec. 46. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.
28.11	The revisor of statutes must change "Board of Cosmetologist Examiners" to "Board of
28.12	Cosmetology" wherever it appears in Minnesota Statutes.
28.13	Sec. 47. REPEALER.
28.14	Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 136F.03; and 326A.04, subdivision 11, are repealed.
28.15	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
28.16	ARTICLE 3
28.17	ELECTIONS & CAMPAIGN FINANCE
28.18	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 10A.01, subdivision 10, is amended to read:
28.19	Subd. 10. Candidate. "Candidate" means an individual who seeks nomination or election
28.20	as a state constitutional officer, legislator, or judge. An individual is deemed to seek
28.21	nomination or election if the individual has taken the action necessary under the law of this
28.22	state to qualify for nomination or election, has received contributions or made expenditures
28.23	in excess of \$750 \$200, or has given implicit or explicit consent for any other person to
28.24	receive contributions or make expenditures in excess of \$750 \$200, for the purpose of
28.25	bringing about the individual's nomination or election. A candidate remains a candidate
28.26	until the candidate's principal campaign committee is dissolved as provided in section
28.27	10A.243.
28.28	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 10A.105, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Single committee.** A candidate must not accept contributions from a source, other than self, in aggregate in excess of \$750 \$200 or accept a public subsidy unless the candidate designates and causes to be formed a single principal campaign committee for each office sought. A candidate may not authorize, designate, or cause to be formed any other political committee bearing the candidate's name or title or otherwise operating under the direct or indirect control of the candidate. However, a candidate may be involved in the direct or indirect control of a party unit.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

- Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 10A.14, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **First registration.** (a) The treasurer of a political committee, political fund, principal campaign committee, or party unit must register with the board by filing a registration statement. The registration statement must be filed by the earliest of the following dates:
- 29.15 (1) no later than 14 days after the committee, fund, or party unit has made a contribution, received contributions, or made expenditures in excess of \$750 \$200;
 - (2) no later than the next report of receipts and expenditures filing date applicable to the committee, fund, or party unit if the committee, fund, or party unit reached the threshold in clause (1) before the end of the reporting period covered by that report; or
 - (3) by the end of the next business day after it has received a loan or contribution that must be reported under section 10A.20, subdivision 5.
- 29.22 (b) This subdivision does not apply to ballot question or independent expenditure political committees or funds, which are subject to subdivision 1a.
- 29.24 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.
- Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 10A.20, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. **Report when no committee.** (a) A candidate who does not designate and cause to be formed a principal campaign committee and who makes campaign expenditures in aggregate in excess of \$750 \$200 in a year must file with the board a report containing the information required by subdivision 3. Reports required by this subdivision must be filed by the dates on which reports by principal campaign committees must be filed.

29.1

29.2

29.3

29.4

29.5

29.6

29.7

29.8

29.9

29.10

29.17

29.18

29.19

29.20

(b) An individual who makes independent expenditures that aggregate more than \$1,500 in a calendar year or expenditures to promote or defeat a ballot question that aggregate more than \$5,000 in a calendar year must file with the board a report containing the information required by subdivision 3. A report required by this subdivision must be filed by the date on which the next report by political committees and political funds must be filed.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 10A.25, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Amounts.** (a) In a segment of an election cycle, the principal campaign committee of the candidate must not make campaign expenditures nor permit approved expenditures to be made on behalf of the candidate that result in aggregate expenditures in excess of the following:
- 30.12 (1) for governor and lieutenant governor, running together, \$3,817,700 in the election segment and \$1,697,400 in the nonelection segment;
- 30.14 (2) for attorney general, \$654,600 in the election segment and \$226,400 in the nonelection segment;
- 30.16 (3) for secretary of state and state auditor, separately, \$436,400 in the election segment and \$113,300 in the nonelection segment;
 - (4) for state senator, \$102,800 in the election segment and \$32,800 in a nonelection segment;
- 30.20 (5) for state representative, \$68,500 in the election segment.
- 30.21 (b) In addition to the amount in paragraph (a), clause (1), a candidate for endorsement 30.22 for the office of lieutenant governor at the convention of a political party may make campaign 30.23 expenditures and approved expenditures of five percent of that amount to seek endorsement.
 - (c) If a special election cycle occurs during a general election cycle, expenditures by or on behalf of a candidate in the special election do not count as expenditures by or on behalf of the candidate in the general election.
 - (d) The expenditure limits in this subdivision for an office are increased by ten percent for a candidate who has not previously held the same office, whose name has not previously been on the primary or general election ballot for that office, and who has not in the past ten years raised or spent more than \$750 \$200 in a run for any other office whose territory now includes a population that is more than one-third of the population in the territory of the new office. Candidates who qualify for first-time candidate status receive a ten percent

30.1

30.2

30.3

30.4

30.5

30.6

30.7

30.8

30.9

30.10

30.11

30.18

30.19

30.24

30.25

30.26

30.27

30.28

30.29

30.30

30.31

04/01/22 11:41 am	COUNSEL	SJJ/HF	SCS3975A-1

increase in the campaign expenditure limit in all segments of the applicable election cycle.

In the case of a legislative candidate, the office is that of a member of the house of
representatives or senate without regard to any specific district.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

- Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 10A.273, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Contributions during legislative session.** (a) A candidate for the legislature or for constitutional office, the candidate's principal campaign committee, or a political committee or party unit established by all or a part of the party organization within a house of the legislature, must not solicit or accept a contribution from a registered lobbyist, political committee, political fund, or an association not registered with the board during a regular session of the legislature.
- (b) A registered lobbyist, political committee, political fund, or an association not registered with the board must not make a contribution to a candidate for the legislature or for constitutional office, the candidate's principal campaign committee, or a political committee or party unit established by all or a part of the party organization within a house of the legislature during a regular session of the legislature.
- (c) A lobbyist, political committee, or political fund must not make a contribution at any time for membership in, or access to, a facility during a regular legislative session if the facility is operated by the principal campaign committee of a candidate for the legislature or constitutional office, or by a political party organization within a house of the legislature.
- Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.607, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 6a. Registered voter lists. Data on registered voters is governed by section 201.022, subdivision 4.
- 31.25 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment and applies to requests for data made on or after that date.
- Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 201.022, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 4. **Data.** (a) Except as provided in this subdivision, all data in the statewide voter registration system is public data on individuals, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 15.

31.4

31.5

31.6

31.7

31.8

31.9

31.10

31.11

31.12

31.13

31.14

31.15

31.16

31.17

31.18

31.19

04/01/22 11:41 am	COUNSEL	SJJ/HF	SCS3975A-1
04/01/22 11.41 alli	COUNSEL	333/111	3C337/3A-1

32.1	(b) The following data is private data on individuals, as defined in section 13.02,
32.2	subdivision 12: any identifying information related to a minor, a voter's date of birth, driver's
32.3	license number, identification card number, military identification card number, passport
32.4	number, or any part of a voter's Social Security number.
32.5	(c) Information maintained on the presidential primary political party list required by
32.6	section 201.091, subdivision 4a, is private data on individuals as defined under section
32.7	13.02, subdivision 12, except that the secretary of state must provide the list to the chair of
32.8	each major political party.
32.9	(d) Upon receipt of a statement signed by the voter that withholding the voter's name
32.10	from the public is required for the safety of the voter or the voter's family, the secretary of
32.11	state and county auditor must withhold from the public the name of the registered voter.
32.12	Data withheld pursuant to this paragraph is private data on individuals, as defined in section
32.13	13.02, subdivision 12.
32.14	(e) Any person requesting public data must state in writing that any information obtained
32.15	from the statewide voter registration system will not be used for purposes unrelated to
32.16	elections, political activities, or law enforcement.
32.17	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and
32.18	applies to requests for data made on or after that date.
32.19	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 201.091, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
32.20	Subd. 4. Public information lists. The county auditor shall make available for inspection
32.21	a public information list which must contain the name, address, year of birth, and voting
32.22	history of each registered voter in the county. The list must not include the party choice of
32.23	any voter who voted in a presidential nomination primary. data classified as private data on
32.24	individuals pursuant to section 201.022, subdivision 4. The telephone number must be
32.25	included on the list if provided by the voter. The public information list may also include
32.26	information on voting districts. The county auditor may adopt reasonable rules governing
32.27	access to the list. No individual inspecting the public information list shall tamper with or
32.28	alter it in any manner. No individual who inspects the public information list or who acquires
32.29	a list of registered voters prepared from the public information list may use any information
32.30	contained in the list for purposes unrelated to elections, political activities, or law
32.31	enforcement. The secretary of state may provide copies of the public information lists and
32.32	other information from the statewide registration system for uses related to elections, political
32.33	activities, or in response to a law enforcement inquiry from a public official concerning a

|--|

Before inspecting the public information list or obtaining a list of voters or other information from the list, the individual shall provide identification to the public official having custody of the public information list and shall state in writing that any information obtained from the list will not be used for purposes unrelated to elections, political activities, or law enforcement. Requests to examine or obtain information from the public information lists or the statewide registration system must be made and processed in the manner provided 33.6 in the rules of the secretary of state. 33.8 Upon receipt of a statement signed by the voter that withholding the voter's name from the public information list is required for the safety of the voter or the voter's family, the 33.9 secretary of state and county auditor must withhold from the public information list the 33.10 name of a registered voter. 33.11 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment and 33.12 applies to requests for data made on or after that date. 33.13 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 201.091, subdivision 4a, is amended to read: 33.14 Subd. 4a. Presidential nomination primary political party list. The secretary of state 33.15 33.16 must maintain a list of the voters who voted in a presidential nomination primary and the political party each voter selected. Information maintained on the list is private data on 33.17 individuals as defined under section 13.02, subdivision 12, except that the secretary of state 33.18 must provide the list to the chair of each major political party. 33.19 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment and 33.20 applies to requests for data made on or after that date. 33.21 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 201.091, is amended by adding a subdivision 33.22 to read: 33.23 33.24 Subd. 10. Requests for data. Nothing in this section prevents a person from requesting public data as described in section 201.022, subdivision 4. 33.25 33.26 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment and applies to requests for data made on or after that date. 33.27 33.28 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 201.121, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Entry of registration information. (a) At the time a voter registration 33.29 application is properly completed, submitted, and received in accordance with sections 33.30 201.061 and 201.071, the county auditor shall enter the information contained on it into the 33.31

33.1

33.2

33.3

33.4

33.5

statewide <u>voter</u> registration system. Voter registration applications completed before election day must be entered into the statewide <u>voter</u> registration system within ten days after they have been submitted to the county auditor. Voter registration applications completed on election day must be entered into the statewide <u>voter</u> registration system within 42 days after the election, unless the county auditor notifies the secretary of state before the deadline has expired that the deadline will not be met. Upon receipt of a notification under this paragraph, the secretary of state must extend the deadline for that county auditor by an additional 28 days. The secretary of state may waive a county's obligations under this paragraph if, on good cause shown, the county demonstrates its permanent inability to comply before the canvas of that election is started.

The secretary of state must post data on each county's compliance with this paragraph on the secretary of state's website including, as applicable, the date each county fully complied or the deadline by which a county's compliance must be complete.

- (b) Upon receiving a completed voter registration application, the secretary of state may must electronically transmit the information on the application to the appropriate county auditor as soon as possible for review by the county auditor before final entry into the statewide voter registration system. The secretary of state may mail the voter registration application to the county auditor.
- (c) Within ten days after the county auditor has entered information from a voter registration application into the statewide <u>voter</u> registration system, the secretary of state shall compare the voter's name, date of birth, and driver's license number, state identification number, or the last four digits of the Social Security number with the same information contained in the Department of Public Safety database.
- (d) The secretary of state shall provide a report to the county auditor on a weekly basis that includes a list of voters whose name, date of birth, or identification number have been compared with the same information in the Department of Public Safety database and cannot be verified as provided in this subdivision. The report must list separately those voters who have submitted a voter registration application by mail and have not voted in a federal election in this state.
- (e) The county auditor shall compile a list of voters for whom the county auditor and the secretary of state are unable to conclude that information on the voter registration application and the corresponding information in the Department of Public Safety database relate to the same person.

34.1

34.2

34.3

34.4

34.5

34.6

34.7

34.8

34.9

34.10

34.11

34.12

34.13

34.14

34.15

34.16

34.17

34.18

34.19

34.20

34.21

34.22

34.23

34.24

34.25

34.26

34.27

34.28

34.29

34.30

34.31

34.32

(f) The county auditor shall send a notice of incomplete registration to any voter whose name appears on the list and change the voter's status to "incomplete." A voter who receives a notice of incomplete registration from the county auditor may either provide the information required to complete the registration at least 21 days before the next election or at the polling place on election day.

- 35.6 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is September 1, 2022, and applies to elections on or after that date.
- Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 203B.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
 - Subdivision 1. **Delivery of envelopes, directions.** The county auditor or the municipal clerk shall prepare, print, and transmit a return envelope, a signature envelope, a ballot secrecy envelope, and a copy of the directions for casting an absentee ballot to each applicant whose application for absentee ballots is accepted pursuant to section 203B.04. The county auditor or municipal clerk shall provide first class postage for the return envelope. The directions for casting an absentee ballot shall be printed in at least 14-point bold type with heavy leading and may be printed on the ballot secrecy envelope. When a person requests the directions in Braille or on audio file, the county auditor or municipal clerk shall provide them in the form requested. The secretary of state shall prepare Braille and audio file copies and make them available.
- When a voter registration application is sent to the applicant as provided in section 203B.06, subdivision 4, the directions or registration application shall include instructions for registering to vote.
- Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 203B.07, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Design of envelopes.** (a) The return signature envelope shall be of sufficient size to conveniently enclose and contain the ballot secrecy envelope and a folded voter registration application. The return signature envelope shall be designed to open on the left-hand end.
- 35.27 (b) The return envelope must be designed in one of the following ways:
- (1) it must be of sufficient size to contain an additional a signature envelope that when and when the return envelope is sealed, it conceals the signature, identification, and other information; or
- 35.31 (2) it must <u>be the signature envelope and provide</u> an additional flap that when sealed, 35.32 conceals the signature, identification, and other information.

35.1

35.2

35.3

35.4

35.5

35.9

35.10

35.11

35.12

35.13

35.14

35.15

35.16

35.17

(c) Election officials may open the flap or the additional return envelope at any time after receiving the returned ballot to inspect the returned certificate for completeness or to ascertain other information.

- Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 203B.07, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. Eligibility certificate. A certificate of eligibility to vote by absentee ballot shall be printed on the back of the return signature envelope. The certificate shall contain space for the voter's Minnesota driver's license number, state identification number, or the last four digits of the voter's Social Security number, or to indicate that the voter does not have one of these numbers. The space must be designed to ensure that the voter provides the same type of identification as provided on the voter's absentee ballot application for purposes of comparison. The certificate must also contain a statement to be signed and sworn by the voter indicating that the voter meets all of the requirements established by law for voting by absentee ballot and space for a statement signed by a person who is registered to vote in Minnesota or by a notary public or other individual authorized to administer oaths stating that:
- (1) the ballots were displayed to that individual unmarked;
- 36.17 (2) the voter marked the ballots in that individual's presence without showing how they
 36.18 were marked, or, if the voter was physically unable to mark them, that the voter directed
 36.19 another individual to mark them; and
- 36.20 (3) if the voter was not previously registered, the voter has provided proof of residence as required by section 201.061, subdivision 3.
- Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 203B.08, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- 36.24 Subdivision 1. Marking and return by voter. (a) An eligible voter who receives absentee ballots as provided in this chapter shall mark them in the manner specified in the directions 36.25 for casting the absentee ballots. The return envelope containing marked ballots may be 36.26 mailed as provided in the directions for casting the absentee ballots, may be left with 36.27 personally delivered to the office of the county auditor or municipal clerk who transmitted 36.28 the absentee ballots to the voter, or may be left in a drop box as provided in section 203B.082. 36.29 If delivered in person, the return envelope must be submitted to the county auditor or 36.30 municipal clerk by 3:00 p.m. on election day. 36.31

36.1

36.2

36.3

36.4

36.5

36.6

36.7

36.8

36.9

36.10

36.11

36.12

36.13

36.14

36.15

(b) The voter may designate an agent to deliver in person the sealed absentee ballot return envelope to the county auditor or municipal clerk or to deposit the return envelope in the mail. An agent may deliver or mail the return envelopes of not more than three voters in any election. An agent must not deposit the absentee ballot return envelope of another person in a drop box. Any person designated as an agent who tampers with either the return envelope or the voted ballots or does not immediately mail or deliver the return envelope to the county auditor or municipal clerk is guilty of a misdemeanor.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and applies to elections conducted on or after that date.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 203B.081, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Location; timing.** An eligible voter may vote by absentee ballot in the office of the county auditor and at any other additional polling place designated by the county auditor during the 46 days before the election, except as provided in this section. An additional polling place designated by the county auditor pursuant to this section must be at a precinct polling place designated pursuant to section 204B.16. Where the county auditor administers absentee voting, each additional polling places must be open for in-person absentee voting for the entire absentee voting period during the same days and hours as the office of the county auditor is open for in-person absentee voting. Where a municipal clerk has been designated to administer absentee voting pursuant to section 203B.05, each additional polling places designated within the municipality must be open for in-person absentee voting for the entire absentee voting period during the regular business hours for

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 203B.082, is amended to read:

203B.082 ABSENTEE BALLOT DROP BOXES; SECURITY AND INTEGRITY.

Subdivision 1. **Definition.** As used in this section, "drop box" means a secure receptacle or container established to receive completed absentee ballots 24 hours per day. Drop box does not include a receptacle or container maintained by the United States Postal Service, or a location at which a voter or an agent may return a completed absentee ballot by providing it directly to an employee of the county auditor or municipal clerk.

Subd. 2. **Minimum security and integrity standards.** The county auditor or municipal clerk may provide locations at which a voter may deposit a completed absentee ballot enclosed in the completed signature envelope in a secure drop box, consistent with the following security and integrity standards:

37.1

37.2

37.3

37.4

37.5

37.6

37.7

37.8

37.9

37.10

37.11

37.12

37.13

37.14

37.15

37.16

37.17

37.18

37.19

37.20

37.21

37.22

37.23

37.24

37.25

37.26

37.27

37.28

37.29

37.30

37.31

37.32

37.33

the municipal clerk's office.

	04/01/22 11:41 am	COUNSEL	SJJ/HF	SCS3975A-
--	-------------------	---------	--------	-----------

38.1	(1) each drop box must be continually recorded <u>livestreamed</u> during the absentee voting
38.2	period as provided in section 203B.155 and on election day;
38.3	(2) each drop box must be located within 100 feet of a door of the building where the
38.4	county auditor or municipal clerk's office is located;
38.5	(3) each drop box must be available for use during the entire absentee voting period;
38.6	(4) each drop box must be assigned an identification number that is unique to that drop
38.7	box;
38.8	(2) (5) each drop box must be designed to prevent an unauthorized person from moving,
38.9	removing, or tampering with the drop box;
38.10	(3)(6) each drop box placed in an outdoor location must be fastened to a building, bolted
38.11	to a concrete pad, or otherwise attached to a similarly secure structure;
38.12	(4)(7) ballots deposited in a drop box must be secured against access by any unauthorized
38.13	person, and in the case of a drop box located in an outdoor location, the drop box must be
38.14	secured against damage due to weather or other natural conditions;
38.15	(5) (8) each drop box must contain signage or markings that:
38.16	(i) clearly identifies the drop box as an official absentee ballot return location; and
38.17	(ii) include the location and hours where an agent may return an absentee ballot;
38.18	(iii) include the statement: "STOP! You can only return your own ballot in this drop
38.19	box."; and
38.20	(iv) the identification number assigned to the drop box;
38.21	(6) (9) deposited ballots must be collected at least once per business day during the
38.22	absentee voting period by the county auditor, municipal clerk, or an elections official trained
38.23	by the county auditor or municipal clerk in the proper maintenance and handling of absentee
38.24	ballots and absentee ballot drop boxes, and in the security measures used to protect absentee
38.25	ballots; and
38.26	(7) (10) ballots collected from each drop box must be properly date-stamped and stored
38.27	in a locked ballot container or other secured and locked space consistent with any applicable
38.28	laws governing the collection and storage of absentee ballots.
38.29	Subd. 3. Publication of locations required. (a) The county auditor or municipal clerk
38.30	must provide a list of designated absentee ballot drop box locations to the secretary of state
38.31	no later than 40 days prior to the start of the absentee voting period at every regularly

scheduled primary or general election. The list must be published on the website of the county or municipality and on the website of the secretary of state at least 35 days prior to the start of the absentee voting period.

- (b) The county auditor or municipal clerk must provide an updated list of designated absentee ballot drop box locations to the secretary of state no later than 20 days prior to the start of the absentee voting period at every regularly scheduled primary or general election, if any locations have changed or been added since submission of the list under paragraph (a). The list must be published on the website of the county or municipality and on the website of the secretary of state at least 15 days prior to the start of the absentee voting period.
- Subd. 4. **Electioneering prohibited.** Section 211B.11 applies to conduct within 100 feet of an absentee ballot drop box established under this section.
- Subd. 5. **Ballot collection log and report.** (a) The county auditor or municipal clerk
 must maintain a log for each drop box. The log must include the unique identification number
 assigned to the drop box. The log must include the following information for each day
 during the absentee voting period:
 - (1) the date and time of each ballot collection;
- 39.18 (2) the person who collected the ballots; and
- 39.19 (3) the number of ballots collected.

39.1

39.2

39.3

39.4

39.5

39.6

39.7

39.8

39.9

39.10

39.17

39.20

39.21

39.22

39.23

39.24

39.25

39.26

- (b) Before the meeting of the local canvassing board, each county auditor and municipal clerk must total the number of ballots collected from each drop box for each day during the absentee voting period and submit the totals to the local ballot board and the secretary of state. Before the meeting of the state canvassing board for an election, the secretary of state must compile the totals, broken down by county. Prior to the state canvassing board beginning the state canvas, the secretary of state must submit the totals to the state canvassing board and the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees having jurisdiction over election policy.
- Subd. 6. Rulemaking prohibited. The secretary of state is not authorized to adopt rules to implement or supplement the provisions of this section.
- 39.30 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective September 1, 2022, and applies to elections conducted on or after that date.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 203B.121, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

- Subdivision 1. **Establishment; applicable laws.** (a) The governing body of each county, municipality, and school district with responsibility to accept and reject absentee ballots must, by ordinance or resolution, establish a ballot board. The board must consist of a sufficient number of election judges appointed as provided in sections 204B.19 to 204B.22. The board must not include deputy county auditors or deputy city clerks who have received training in the processing and counting of absentee ballots, unless the deputy county auditor or deputy city clerk has been appointed an election judge as provided in sections 204B.19 to 204B.22. Each member of the ballot board must be provided adequate training on the processing and counting of absentee ballots, including but not limited to instruction on accepting and rejecting absentee ballots, storage of absentee ballots, timelines and deadlines, the role of the ballot board, procedures for opening absentee ballot envelopes, procedures for counting absentee ballots, and procedures for reporting absentee ballot totals.
- (b) Each jurisdiction must pay a reasonable compensation to each member of that jurisdiction's ballot board for services rendered during an election.
- 40.17 (c) Except as otherwise provided by this section, all provisions of the Minnesota Election
 40.18 Law apply to a ballot board.
- 40.19 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment and applies to elections on or after that date.
- Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 203B.121, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. Opening of envelopes. After the close of business on the seventh day before 40.23 the election, the ballots from secrecy envelopes within the signature envelopes marked 40.24 "Accepted" may be opened, duplicated as needed in the manner provided in section 206.86, 40.25 subdivision 5, initialed by the members of the ballot board, and deposited in the appropriate 40.26 ballot box. Prior to depositing a ballot into the appropriate ballot box, the members of the 40.27 ballot board must verify that the ballot contains the security marking required by section 40.28 204B.36, subdivision 1. If more than one voted ballot is enclosed in the ballot secrecy 40.29 40.30 envelope, or if a ballot does not contain the required security marking, the ballots must be returned in the manner provided by section 204C.25 for return of spoiled ballots, and may 40.31 not be counted. 40.32

40.1

40.2

40.3

40.4

40.5

40.6

40.7

40.8

40.9

40.10

40.11

40.12

40.13

40.14

40.15

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 203B.121, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

- Subd. 5. **Storage and counting of absentee ballots.** (a) On a day on which absentee ballots are inserted into a ballot box, two members of the ballot board must:
- (1) remove the ballots from the ballot box at the end of the day;

41.1

41.2

41.3

41.4

41.10

41.11

41.12

41.13

41.14

41.15

41.16

41.17

41.18

41.19

41.20

41.21

41.22

41.23

41.24

41.25

41.26

41.27

41.28

41.29

41.30

41.31

41.32

- 41.5 (2) without inspecting the ballots, ensure that the number of ballots removed from the ballot box is equal to the number of voters whose absentee ballots were accepted that day; and
- 41.8 (3) seal and secure all voted and unvoted ballots present in that location at the end of the day.
 - (b) After the polls have closed on election day, two members of the ballot board must count the ballots, tabulating the vote in a manner that indicates each vote of the voter and the total votes cast for each candidate or question. In state primary and state general elections, the results must indicate the total votes cast for each candidate or question in each precinct and report the vote totals tabulated for each precinct. The count must be recorded on a summary statement in substantially the same format as provided in section 204C.26. The ballot board shall submit at least one completed summary statement to the county auditor or municipal clerk. The county auditor or municipal clerk may require the ballot board to submit a sufficient number of completed summary statements to comply with the provisions of section 204C.27, or the county auditor or municipal clerk may certify reports containing the details of the ballot board summary statement to the recipients of the summary statements designated in section 204C.27.
 - In state primary and state general elections, these vote totals shall be added to the vote totals on the summary statements of the returns for the appropriate precinct. In other elections, these vote totals may be added to the vote totals on the summary statement of returns for the appropriate precinct or may be reported as a separate total.
 - The <u>eount shall</u> <u>counting of ballots must</u> be public. No vote totals from ballots may be made public before the close of voting on election day. Vote totals must only be disclosed in accordance with section 204C.19.
 - (c) In addition to the requirements of paragraphs (a) and (b), if the task has not been completed previously, the members of the ballot board must verify as soon as possible, but no later than 24 hours after the end of the hours for voting, that voters whose absentee ballots arrived after the rosters were marked or supplemental reports were generated and whose ballots were accepted did not vote in person on election day. An absentee ballot submitted

04/01/22 11:41 am	COUNSEL	SJJ/HF	SCS3975A-1

by a voter who has voted in person on election day must be rejected. All other accepted 42.1 absentee ballots must be opened, duplicated if necessary, and counted by members of the 42.2 42.3 ballot board. The vote totals from these ballots must be incorporated into the totals with the other absentee ballots and handled according to paragraph (b). 42.4 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment and 42.5 applies to elections on or after that date. 42.6 42.7 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 203B.121, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: 42.8 Subd. 6. **Ballot board observers.** (a) For an election where a partisan office appears on 42.9 the ballot, a major or minor political party may appoint a person to serve as an absentee 42.10 ballot board observer. For an election where only nonpartisan offices are on the ballot, a 42.11 candidate appearing on the ballot may appoint a person to serve as an absentee ballot board 42.12 observer. All appointments must be made at least 30 days prior to the start of the absentee 42.13 voting period, except that if an observer is unable to perform the required duties the observer 42.14may be replaced by the appointing political party or candidate. The political party or 42.15 42.16 candidate must notify the county auditor, city clerk, or school district clerk if a ballot board observer is appointed and provide the observer's name, address, phone number, and e-mail 42.17 address. A ballot board observer must complete election judge training as described in 42.18 42.19 section 204B.25, including training on the processing and handling of absentee ballots. The following individuals are not eligible to serve as absentee ballot board observers: members 42.20 of the ballot board, candidates on the ballot, and immediate family members of candidates 42.21 on the ballot. 42.22 (b) A ballot board observer must be allowed to observe the following activities of the 42.23 ballot board that take place during the absentee voting period, on election day, or after 42.24 election day: 42.25 (1) examining envelopes and accepting or rejecting envelopes as required by subdivision 42.26 2; 42.27

(2) opening envelopes and duplicating ballots, if necessary, as required by subdivision 42.28

<u>4;</u> 42.29

42.32

(3) depositing absentee ballots into a ballot box as required by subdivision 5, paragraph 42.30

(a); and 42.31

(4) counting and tabulating the ballots as required by subdivision 5, paragraph (b).

04/01/22 11:41 am	COUNSEL	SJJ/HF	SCS3975A-1

43.1	(c) A ballot board observer must be allowed to be within four feet of the ballots or
43.2	envelopes being handled. A ballot board observer must not handle any absentee ballots,
43.3	envelopes, or other election documents. A ballot board observer must not prepare in any
43.4	manner any lists of individuals who have or have not voted. A ballot board observer must
43.5	not interfere with the conduct of the ballot board. The ballot board may have a ballot board
43.6	observer removed if the observer is disrupting the activities of the ballot board.
43.7	(d) The county auditor, municipal clerk, or school district clerk must notify each ballot
43.8	board observer of the date, time, and location anytime the activities in paragraph (b) will
43.9	take place. The notice must be in writing and mailed to the ballot board observer at least
43.10	seven days before the activity is to take place.
43.11	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective May 15, 2022, and applies to absentee
43.12	voting periods beginning on or after June 24, 2022.
43.13	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 203B.121, is amended by adding a subdivision
43.14	to read:
43.15	Subd. 7. Livestreaming. (a) The county auditor, municipal clerk, or school district clerk
43.16	must ensure that all ballot board activity is livestreamed as provided by this subdivision
43.17	and section 203B.155. This requirement applies during the absentee voting period, on
43.18	election day, and on the day following the election day if absentee ballots are being processed.
43.19	At a minimum, the following activities must be recorded:
43.20	(1) examining envelopes and accepting or rejecting envelopes as required by subdivision
43.21	<u>2;</u>
43.22	(2) opening envelopes and duplicating ballots, if necessary, as required by subdivision
43.23	<u>4;</u>
43.24	(3) depositing absentee ballots into a ballot box as required by subdivision 5, paragraph
43.25	(a); and
43.26	(4) counting and tabulating the ballots as required by subdivision 5, paragraph (b).
43.27	(b) The county auditor, municipal clerk, or school district clerk must position one or
43.28	more cameras so as to record the following:
43.29	(1) the ballot board members performing the activities described in paragraph (a);
43.30	(2) all ballots in the room where the activities in paragraph (a) are taking place; and
43.31	(3) all doors in the room where the activities in paragraph (a) are taking place.

04/01/22 11:41 am	COUNSEL	SJJ/HF	SCS3975A-1

To the extent possible while complying with clauses 1 to 3, the cameras must be positioned 44.1 so as to avoid recording private data included on absentee ballot envelopes or other 44.2 44.3 documents. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective September 1, 2022, and applies to 44.4 44.5 elections conducted on or after that date. Sec. 24. [203B.155] LIVESTREAMING REQUIREMENTS. 44.6 Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) The following terms have the meanings given for purposes 44.7 of this section. 44.8 (b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of information technology services. 44.9 (c) "Department" means the Department of Information Technology Services. 44.10 Subd. 2. Livestreaming. (a) Where livestreaming is required by sections 203B.082, 44.11 subdivision 2, clause (1), and 203B.121, the commissioner must ensure the livestream is 44.12 available on the department's website in a manner that allows members of the public to 44.13 easily access and view the livestream. The commissioner must record all livestreamed video 44.14 44.15 and retain the recording for at least 22 months after the date of the recording. Notwithstanding 44.16 chapter 13 or any other law to the contrary, the county auditor, city clerk, or school board clerk is not required to maintain any livestreamed or recorded data or provide access to the 44.17 data. The commissioner must not charge any fee to the public or to the county, municipality, 44.18 or school district for providing this service. 44.19 44.20 (b) The secretary of state must include information on the office's website on how to find and access videos on the department's website. Each county auditor, municipal clerk, 44.21 and school district clerk must post the same information on their respective local 44.22 government's website, if there is one. 44.23 Subd. 3. Data. The commissioner must retain video recordings of livestreamed activities 44.24 required by sections 203B.082, subdivision 2, clause (1), and 203B.121, as provided by this 44.25 section. The recordings are public data, except that the commissioner may obscure private 44.26 data on individuals that is visible on a recording. 44.27 Subd. 4. Livestream disruptions. If a livestream is disrupted or disabled, the 44.28 44.29 commissioner, county auditor, municipal clerk, or school district clerk is not liable if the disruption is due to a cause outside of the control of the commissioner, county auditor, 44.30 municipal clerk, or school district clerk. If there is a disruption, the commissioner must 44.31 work with the county auditor, municipal clerk, or school district clerk to reinstate video 44.32 coverage as soon as possible. If appointed ballot board observers are present and there is a 44.33

04/01/22 11:41 am	COUNSEL	SJJ/HF	SCS3975A-1

45.1	disruption in livestreaming, the activities of the ballot board may continue. If appointed
45.2	ballot board observers are not present and there is a disruption in livestreaming, the ballot
45.3	board must stop all activities until one of the following occurs:
45.4	(1) the livestream is reinstated;
45.5	(2) ballot board observers are present; or
45.6	(3) the county auditor, municipal clerk, or school district clerk arranges the activities to
45.7	be recorded in a manner that substantially complies with the requirements of this section
45.8	and section 203B.121, subdivision 7.
45.9	Within 24 hours of the livestream being reinstated, the county auditor, municipal clerk, or
45.10	school district clerk must transmit any recordings made pursuant to clause 3 to the
45.11	commissioner to be posted on the department's website.
45.12	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 1, 2022, and applies to
45.13	elections conducted on or after that date.
45.14	Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 203B.21, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
45.15	Subdivision 1. Form. Absentee ballots under sections 203B.16 to 203B.27 shall conform
45.16	to the requirements of the Minnesota Election Law, except that modifications in the size or
45.17	form of ballots or envelopes may be made if necessary to satisfy the requirements of the
45.18	United States postal service. The return envelope must be designed in one of the following
45.19	ways:
45.20	(1) it must be of sufficient size to contain an additional a signature envelope that when
45.21	and when the return envelope is sealed, it conceals the signature, identification, and other
45.22	information; or
45.23	(2) it must be the signature envelope and provide an additional flap that when sealed,
45.24	conceals the signature, identification, and other information.
45.25	The flap or the additional return envelope must be perforated to permit election officials to
45.26	inspect the returned certificate for completeness or to ascertain other information at any
45.27	time after receiving the returned ballot without opening the return signature envelope.
45.28	Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 203B.21, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
45.29	Subd. 3. Back of return signature envelope. On the back of the return signature envelope
45.30	a certificate shall appear with space for:
45.31	(1) the voter's address of present or former residence in Minnesota;

(2) the voter's current e-mail address, if the voter has one;

46.1

46.2

46.3

46.6

46.7

46.8

46.9

46.10

46.11

46.12

46.16

46.17

46.18

46.19

46.20

46.21

46.22

46.23

46.24

46.25

- (3) a statement indicating the category described in section 203B.16 to which the voter belongs;
- 46.4 (4) a statement that the voter has not cast and will not cast another absentee ballot in the same election or elections;
 - (5) a statement that the voter personally marked the ballots without showing them to anyone, or if physically unable to mark them, that the voter directed another individual to mark them; and
 - (6) the same voter's passport number, Minnesota driver's license or state identification card number, or the last four digits of the voter's Social Security number as provided on the absentee ballot application; if the voter does not have access to any of these documents, the voter may attest to the truthfulness of the contents of the certificate under penalty of perjury.
- The certificate shall also contain a signed oath in the form required by section 705 of the Help America Vote Act, Public Law 107-252, which must read:
- 46.15 "I swear or affirm, under penalty of perjury, that:
 - I am a member of the uniformed services or merchant marine on active duty or an eligible spouse or dependent of such a member; a United States citizen temporarily residing outside the United States; or other United States citizen residing outside the United States; and I am a United States citizen, at least 18 years of age (or will be by the date of the election), and I am eligible to vote in the requested jurisdiction; I have not been convicted of a felony, or other disqualifying offense, or been adjudicated mentally incompetent, or, if so, my voting rights have been reinstated; and I am not registering, requesting a ballot, or voting in any other jurisdiction in the United States except the jurisdiction cited in this voting form. In voting, I have marked and sealed my ballot in private and have not allowed any person to observe the marking of the ballot, except for those authorized to assist voters under state or federal law. I have not been influenced.
- The information on this form is true, accurate, and complete to the best of my knowledge.

 I understand that a material misstatement of fact in completion of this document may

 constitute grounds for a conviction for perjury."
- Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 203B.23, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Duties.** (a) The absentee ballot board must examine all returned absentee ballot envelopes for ballots issued under sections 203B.16 to 203B.27 and accept or reject the

absentee ballots in the manner provided in section 203B.24. If the certificate of voter eligibility is not printed on the <u>return or administrative</u> <u>signature</u> envelope, the certificate must be attached to the <u>ballot</u> secrecy envelope.

- (b) The absentee ballot board must immediately examine the return signature envelopes or certificates of voter eligibility that are attached to the secrecy envelopes and mark them "accepted" or "rejected" during the 45 days before the election. If an envelope has been rejected at least five days before the election, the ballots in the envelope must be considered spoiled ballots and the official in charge of the absentee ballot board must provide the voter with a replacement absentee ballot and return envelope envelopes in place of the spoiled ballot.
- (c) If a county has delegated the responsibility for administering absentee balloting to a municipality under section 203B.05, accepted absentee ballots must be delivered to the appropriate municipality's absentee ballot board. The absentee ballot board with the authority to open and count the ballots must do so in accordance with section 203B.121, subdivisions 4 and 5.
- Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 203B.24, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
 - Subdivision 1. Check of voter eligibility; proper execution of certificate. Upon receipt of an absentee ballot returned as provided in sections 203B.16 to 203B.27, the election judges shall compare the voter's name with the names recorded under section 203B.19 in the statewide registration system to insure that the ballot is from a voter eligible to cast an absentee ballot under sections 203B.16 to 203B.27. The election judges shall mark the signature envelope "Accepted" and initial or sign the signature envelope below the word "Accepted" if the election judges are satisfied that:
 - (1) the voter's name and address on the signature envelope appears in substantially the same form as on the application records provided to the election judges by the county auditor;
- 47.27 (2) the voter has signed the federal oath prescribed pursuant to section 705(b)(2) of the Help America Vote Act, Public Law 107-252;
 - (3) the voter has set forth the same voter's passport number, or Minnesota driver's license or state identification card number, or the last four digits of the voter's Social Security number as submitted on the application, if the voter has one of these documents;
 - (4) the voter is not known to have died; and
 - (5) the voter has not already voted at that election, either in person or by absentee ballot.

47.1

47.2

47.3

47.4

47.5

47.6

47.7

47.8

47.9

47.10

47.11

47.12

47.13

47.14

47.15

47.18

47.19

47.20

47.21

47.22

47.23

47.24

47.25

47.26

47.29

47.30

47.31

47.32

If the identification number described in clause (3) does not match the number as 48.1 submitted on the application, the election judges must make a reasonable effort to satisfy 48.2 themselves through other information provided by the applicant, or by an individual 48.3 authorized to apply on behalf of the voter, that the ballots were returned by the same person 48.4 to whom the ballots were transmitted. 48.5 An absentee ballot cast pursuant to sections 203B.16 to 203B.27 may only be rejected 48.6 for the lack of one of clauses (1) to (5). In particular, failure to place the ballot within the 48.7 secrecy envelope before placing it in the outer white signature envelope is not a reason to 48.8 reject an absentee ballot. 48.9 48.10 Election judges must note the reason for rejection on the back of the envelope in the space provided for that purpose. 48.11 48.12 Failure to return unused ballots shall not invalidate a marked ballot, but a ballot shall not be counted if the certificate on the return signature envelope is not properly executed. 48.13 In all other respects the provisions of the Minnesota Election Law governing deposit and 48.14 counting of ballots shall apply. Notwithstanding other provisions of this section, the counting 48.15 of the absentee ballot of a deceased voter does not invalidate the election. 48.16 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 204B.32, is amended by adding a subdivision 48.17 to read: 48.18 Subd. 3. Contributions for election expenses prohibited. Notwithstanding any home 48.19 rule charter or local ordinance to the contrary, a county, municipality, or school district may 48.20 not accept a contribution, in any form, from a for-profit business or a nonprofit organization 48.21 made for the purpose of paying expenses associated with conducting a federal, state, or 48.22 local election. 48.23 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 48.24 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 204B.36, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 48.25 48.26 Subdivision 1. Type. (a) All ballots shall be printed with black ink on paper of sufficient thickness to prevent the printing from being discernible from the back. All ballots shall be 48.27 printed in easily readable type with suitable lines dividing candidates, offices, instructions 48.28 and other matter printed on ballots. The same type shall be used for the names of all 48.29 candidates on the same ballot. 48.30 (b) Except for ballots prepared and distributed under sections 203B.16 to 203B.27, all 48.31

48.32

ballots must be printed on paper that contains a security marking designed to allow

04/01/22 11:41 am	COUNSEL	SJJ/HF	SCS3975A-1

verification of the ballot's authenticity. The security marking must be designed so that it does not interfere with a tabulator's ability to accurately read the ballot. At a federal or state election, the form of the security marking must be prescribed by the secretary of state. At a local election, the form of the security marking must be prescribed by the county auditor or municipal clerk. For purposes of this paragraph, a security marking is a watermark, ultraviolet light marking, or other substantially equivalent marking.

Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 204C.19, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Premature disclosure of count results. No The county auditor, municipal clerk, school district clerk, election judge, or any other person must not disclose count results from any precinct shall be disclosed by any election judge or other individual until all count results from that precinct are available, nor shall have been counted and totaled, including absentee votes received and processed by 8 p.m. on election day. Absentee ballots may continue to be processed and counted after 8 p.m. on election day as provided in section 203B.121, subdivision 5, paragraph (c). The public media must not disclose any count results from any precinct before the time when voting is scheduled to end in the state.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and applies to elections on or after that date.

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 204D.16, is amended to read:

204D.16 SAMPLE GENERAL ELECTION BALLOTS; POSTING;

49.20 **PUBLICATION.**

49.1

49.2

49.3

49.4

49.5

49.6

49.7

49.8

49.9

49.10

49.11

49.12

49.13

49.14

49.15

49.16

49.17

49.18

49.19

49.21

49.22

49.23

49.24

49.25

49.26

49.27

49.28

49.29

49.30

49.31

- (a) At least 46 days before the state general election, the county auditor shall <u>must</u> post sample ballots for each precinct in the auditor's office for public inspection and transmit an electronic copy of these sample ballots to the secretary of state.
- (b) No earlier than 15 days and no later than two days before the state general election the county auditor shall must cause a sample generic state general election ballot to be published in at least one newspaper of general circulation in the county. The generic ballot must include only the races and candidates that will appear on the ballot for every precinct in the county. The secretary of state, in collaboration with local government election officials and the Minnesota newspaper association, must design the generic ballot to be used by local election officials. When printed in the newspaper, the generic ballot must be sized so that it comprises a minimum of 75 percent of one page. The generic ballot must include the following statements:

"This ballot only includes the races and candidates that will appear on the ballot for every precinct in the county. Your ballot will have the names of all candidates for whom you can vote in your precinct. To view a sample ballot reflecting your specific address, please enter your address information on this website: [link to appropriate page on the secretary of state's website]. You may also view a list of sample ballots for each county precinct on [link to appropriate page on the county's website]. If you would like a copy of a sample ballot specific to your address sent to you, please contact [insert the name of the appropriate election official, phone number, and email address] and the county will mail you a sample at no charge."

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 206.805, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Contracts required.** (a) The secretary of state, with the assistance of the commissioner of administration, must establish one or more state voting systems contracts. The contracts should, if practical, include provisions for maintenance of the equipment purchased. The voting systems contracts must address precinct-based optical scan voting equipment, assistive voting technology, automatic tabulating equipment, and electronic roster equipment. The contracts must give the state a perpetual license to use and modify the software. The contracts must include provisions to escrow the software source code. Bids for voting systems and related election services must be solicited from each vendor selling or leasing voting systems that have been certified for use by the secretary of state. Bids for electronic roster equipment, software, and related services must be solicited from each vendor selling or leasing electronic roster equipment that meets the requirements of section 201.225, subdivision 2. The contracts must be renewed from time to time.

- (b) The secretary of state, with the assistance of the commissioner of administration, must establish one or more contracts for ballot paper bearing a security marking as described in section 204B.36, subdivision 1. The contracts must be renewed from time to time.
- (c) Counties and municipalities may purchase or lease voting systems and obtain related election services from the state contracts. All counties and municipalities are members of the cooperative purchasing venture of the Department of Administration for the purpose of this section. For the purpose of township elections, counties must aggregate orders under contracts negotiated under this section for products and services and may apportion the costs of those products and services proportionally among the townships receiving the products and services. The county is not liable for the timely or accurate delivery of those products or services.

50.1

50.2

50.3

50.4

50.5

50.6

50.7

50.8

50.9

50.10

50.11

50.12

50.13

50.14

50.15

50.16

50.17

50.18

50.19

50.20

50.21

50.22

50.23

50.24

50.25

50.26

50.27

50.28

50.29

50.30

50.31

50.32

50.33

Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 206.83, is amended to read:

206.83 TESTING OF VOTING SYSTEMS.

51.1

51.2

51.3

51.4

51.5

51.6

51.7

51.8

51.9

51.10

51.11

51.12

51.13

51.14

51.15

51.16

51.17

51.18

51.19

51.20

51.21

51.22

- (a) Within 14 days before election day, the official in charge of elections shall have the voting system tested to ascertain that the system will correctly mark ballots using all methods supported by the system, including through assistive technology, and count the votes cast for all candidates and on all questions. Public notice of the time and place of the test must be given at least two days in advance by publication once in official newspapers. The test must be observed by at least two election judges, who are not of the same major political party, and must be open to representatives of the political parties, candidates, the press, and the public. The test must be conducted by (1) processing a preaudited group of ballots punched or marked to record a predetermined number of valid votes for each candidate and on each question, and must include for each office one or more ballot cards which have votes in excess of the number allowed by law in order to test the ability of the voting system tabulator and electronic ballot marker to reject those votes; and (2) processing an additional test deck of ballots marked using the electronic ballot marker for the precinct, including ballots marked using the electronic ballot display, audio ballot reader, and any assistive voting technology used with the electronic ballot marker. If any error is detected, the cause must be ascertained and corrected and an errorless count must be made before the voting system may be used in the election. After the completion of the test, the programs used and ballot cards must be sealed, retained, and disposed of as provided for paper ballots.
- (b) At least 14 days before conducting the testing required by paragraph (a), the official in charge of elections must give notice of the date, time, and location of the testing in the following manner:
- 51.24 (1) by publishing the notice once in the official newspaper;
- 51.25 (2) by prominently posting the notice on the applicable county, municipal, or school district website, if there is one; and
- 51.27 (3) by sending the notice to the secretary of state. The secretary of state must prominently
 51.28 publish the notices on the secretary's website. The secretary of state must notify the chairs
 51.29 of each major and minor political party when notices are posted and where to find them.
- 51.30 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment and applies to elections on or after that date.

52.1	Sec. 35. [211B.075] DISTRIBUTION OF ABSENTEE BALLOT APPLICATIONS
52.2	AND SAMPLE BALLOTS.
52.3	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) The following terms have the meanings given for the
52.4	purpose of this section.
52.5	(b) "Person or entity" means any individual, committee, or association as defined by
52.6	section 10A.01, subdivision 6.
52.7	(c) "Sample ballot" means a document that is formatted and printed in a manner that so
52.8	closely resembles an official ballot that it could lead a reasonable person to believe the
52.9	document is an official ballot. A document that contains the names of particular candidates
52.10	or ballot questions alongside illustrations of a generic ballot or common ballot markings is
52.11	not a sample ballot as long as the document does not closely resemble an official ballot and
52.12	would not lead a reasonable person to believe the document is an official ballot.
52.13	Subd. 2. Requirements. (a) Any person or entity that mails an absentee ballot application
52.14	or sample ballot to anyone in the state must comply with this section.
52.15	(b) In addition to the absentee ballot application or sample ballot, the person or entity
52.16	must include a statement that says:
52.17	(1) the mailing is not an official election communication from a unit of government;
52.18	(2) the application or ballot has not been included at the request of a government official
52.19	<u>and</u>
52.20	(3) if a sample ballot is enclosed, that the sample ballot is not an official ballot and the
52.21	voter must not cast the ballot.
52.22	(c) The statement required by paragraph (c) must be printed in a typeface and format
52.23	designed to be clearly visible at the time the mailing is opened. The mailing envelope must
52.24	include markings to clearly distinguish it from official election mail sent by a unit of
52.25	government.
52.26	(d) If an absentee ballot application is included, the application must be blank and must
52.27	not include the voter's name, address, or any other required information.
52.28	(e) This section does not apply to a unit of government or employee of that unit of

Article 3 Sec. 35.

52.29

government when discharging official election duties.

(a) No later than January 15, 2024, the secretary of state must submit a report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees having jurisdiction over elections on grants awarded under Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 12, article 1, section 6, for ballot dropbox security and integrity. The report must detail each grant awarded including the jurisdiction, the amount of the grant, and what the grant money is intended to purchase.

(b) No later than January 15, 2024, the secretary of state must submit a report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees having jurisdiction over elections on grants awarded under section 2 for temporary staffing, livestreaming of election-related activity, and purchasing ballot paper with security markings. The report must detail each grant awarded including the jurisdiction, the amount of the grant, and what the grant money is intended to purchase.

Sec. 37. REPEALER.

53.1

53.2

53.3

53.4

53.5

53.6

53.7

53.8

53.9

53.10

53.11

53.12

53.13

53.14

53.19

53.22

53 24

53.25

53.26

53.27

53.28

53.29

53.30

53.31

53.32

53.33

53.34

53.35

53.36

53.37

53.38

Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 13.607, subdivision 6; and 201.091, subdivision 9, are repealed.

53.17 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment and applies to requests for data made on or after that date.

Sec. 38. EFFECTIVE DATE.

Except as otherwise provided, this article is effective July 1, 2022, and applies to elections conducted on or after that date."

Delete the title and insert:

53.23 "A bill for an act

relating to state government; specifying the performance of legal services by the Office of the Attorney General; modifying renewable energy requirements for state-funded construction projects; requiring study of the a center for amateur sports and training in Dakota County; authorizing the executive director of the Legislative Coordinating Commission to enter contracts; modifying enabling statute for Legislative Salary Council and Mississippi River Parkway Commission; increasing fiscal safeguards for state grants to nonprofit organizations; modifying Board of Cosmetologist Examiners provisions; making new rules inapplicable to previously authorized electronic pull-tab devices, games, and systems; adding to acceptable uses of the breeders fund; expanding eligibility for long-term equity investment for local governments; extending the sunset date of the Capitol Area Security Advisory Committee; authorizing separation and retention incentive programs for employees of the Department of Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation; changing a reinstatement provision for certified public accountants; repealing procedures related to the automatic revocation of certain public accountant

certificates; repealing the Candidate Advisory Commission for Minnesota State 54.1 Colleges and Universities Board of Trustees; limiting certain types of contributions 54.2 that grant; decreasing certain registration thresholds; classifying data in the 54.3 statewide voter registration system; modifying provisions related to sample ballots 54.4 and applications; prohibiting local governments from accepting certain contributions 54.5 for election expenses; modifying various provisions related to voting and absentee 54.6 voting; amending requirements on releasing vote totals; appropriating money; 54.7 requiring a report; making technical and conforming changes; amending Minnesota 54.8 Statutes 2020, sections 3.303, subdivision 6; 10A.01, subdivision 10; 10A.105, 54.9 subdivision 1; 10A.14, subdivision 1; 10A.20, subdivision 6; 10A.25, subdivision 54.10 2; 10A.273, subdivision 1; 13.607, by adding a subdivision; 15A.0825, subdivisions 54.11 1, 2, 3; 16B.32, subdivision 1a; 16B.325, subdivision 1; 16B.98, subdivision 8; 54.12 118A.09, subdivisions 1, 2; 136F.02, subdivision 1; 155A.20; 155A.23, subdivisions 54.13 8, 11, 18, by adding a subdivision; 155A.25, subdivision 1a; 155A.27, subdivisions 54.14 1, 5a, 6, 7, 10, by adding a subdivision; 155A.271, subdivision 1; 155A.29, 54.15 subdivisions 1, 4; 155A.30, subdivisions 2, 3, 4, 6, 11; 161.1419, subdivision 2; 54.16 201.022, by adding a subdivision; 201.091, subdivisions 4, 4a, by adding a 54.17 subdivision; 201.121, subdivision 1; 203B.07, subdivisions 1, 2, 3; 203B.081, 54.18 subdivision 1; 203B.121, subdivision 5, by adding subdivisions; 203B.21, 54.19 subdivisions 1, 3; 203B.23, subdivision 2; 204B.32, by adding a subdivision; 54.20 204B.36, subdivision 1; 204C.19, subdivision 3; 204D.16; 206.83; 299E.04, 54.21 subdivision 5; 326A.09; 349.151, subdivision 4d; 349.1721, subdivisions 1, 2; 54.22 Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, sections 203B.08, subdivision 1; 203B.082; 54.23 203B.121, subdivisions 1, 4; 203B.24, subdivision 1; 206.805, subdivision 1; 54.24 240.131, subdivision 7; Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 12, article 1, 54.25 section 6; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapters 8; 16B; 54.26 118A; 203B; 211B; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 13.607, subdivision 54.27 6; 136F.03; 201.091, subdivision 9; 326A.04, subdivision 11." 54.28