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Senator .......eeeeeeeeennn. moves to amend S.F. No. 2980 as follows:

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 10A.01, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

Subd. 10. Candidate. "Candidate" means an individual who seeks nomination or election
as a state constitutional officer, legislator, or judge. An individual is deemed to seek
nomination or election if the individual has taken the action necessary under the law of this
state to qualify for nomination or election, has received contributions or made expenditures
in excess of $750 $200, or has given implicit or explicit consent for any other person to
receive contributions or make expenditures in excess of $750 $200, for the purpose of
bringing about the individual's nomination or election. A candidate remains a candidate
until the candidate's principal campaign committee is dissolved as provided in section

10A.243.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 10A.105, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Single committee. A candidate must not accept contributions from a
source, other than self, in aggregate in excess of $750 $200 or accept a public subsidy unless
the candidate designates and causes to be formed a single principal campaign committee
for each office sought. A candidate may not authorize, designate, or cause to be formed any
other political committee bearing the candidate's name or title or otherwise operating under
the direct or indirect control of the candidate. However, a candidate may be involved in the

direct or indirect control of a party unit.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 10A.12, subdivision 1, is amended

to read:

Subdivision 1. When required for contributions and approved expenditures. An
association other than a political committee or party unit may not contribute more than $750
$200 in aggregate in any calendar year to candidates, local candidates, political committees,
or party units or make approved expenditures of more than $750 $200 in aggregate in any

calendar year unless the contribution or expenditure is made through a political fund.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 10A.14, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. First registration. (a) The treasurer of a political committee, political

fund, principal campaign committee, or party unit must register with the board by filing a

Sec. 4. 1
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registration statement. The registration statement must be filed by the earliest of the following

dates:

(1) no later than 14 days after the committee, fund, or party unit has made a contribution,

received contributions, or made expenditures in excess of $750 $200;

(2) no later than the next report of receipts and expenditures filing date applicable to the
committee, fund, or party unit if the committee, fund, or party unit reached the threshold in

clause (1) before the end of the reporting period covered by that report; or

(3) by the end of the next business day after it has received a loan or contribution that

must be reported under section 10A.20, subdivision 5.

(b) This subdivision does not apply to ballot question or independent expenditure political

committees or funds, which are subject to subdivision 1a.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 10A.20, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Report when no committee. (a) A candidate who does not designate and cause
to be formed a principal campaign committee and who makes campaign expenditures in
aggregate in excess of $750 $200 in a year must file with the board a report containing the
information required by subdivision 3. Reports required by this subdivision must be filed

by the dates on which reports by principal campaign committees must be filed.

(b) An individual who makes independent expenditures that aggregate more than $1,500
in a calendar year or expenditures to promote or defeat a ballot question that aggregate more
than $5,000 in a calendar year must file with the board a report containing the information
required by subdivision 3. A report required by this subdivision must be filed by the date

on which the next report by political committees and political funds must be filed.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 10A.244, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Resumption of active status or termination. (a) An association that has placed
its political fund in voluntary inactive status may resume active status upon written notice

to the board.

(b) A political fund placed in voluntary inactive status must resume active status within
14 days of the date that it has accepted contributions or made expenditures, contributions,
or disbursements that aggregate more than $750 $200 since the political fund was placed
on inactive status. If, after meeting this threshold, the association does not notify the board
that its fund has resumed active status, the board may place the association's political fund

in active status and notify the association of the change in status.

Sec. 6. 2
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(c) An association that has placed its political fund in voluntary inactive status may

terminate the registration of the fund without returning it to active status.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 10A.25, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Amounts. (a) In a segment of an election cycle, the principal campaign
committee of the candidate must not make campaign expenditures nor permit approved
expenditures to be made on behalf of the candidate that result in aggregate expenditures in

excess of the following:

(1) for governor and lieutenant governor, running together, $3,817,700 in the election

segment and $1,697,400 in the nonelection segment;

(2) for attorney general, $654,600 in the election segment and $226,400 in the nonelection

segment;

(3) for secretary of state and state auditor, separately, $436,400 in the election segment

and $113,300 in the nonelection segment;

(4) for state senator, $102,800 in the election segment and $32,800 in a nonelection

segment;
(5) for state representative, $68,500 in the election segment.

(b) In addition to the amount in paragraph (a), clause (1), a candidate for endorsement
for the office of lieutenant governor at the convention of a political party may make campaign

expenditures and approved expenditures of five percent of that amount to seek endorsement.

(c) If a special election cycle occurs during a general election cycle, expenditures by or
on behalf of a candidate in the special election do not count as expenditures by or on behalf

of the candidate in the general election.

(d) The expenditure limits in this subdivision for an office are increased by ten percent
for a candidate who has not previously held the same office, whose name has not previously
been on the primary or general election ballot for that office, and who has not in the past
ten years raised or spent more than $750 $200 in a run for any other office whose territory
now includes a population that is more than one-third of the population in the territory of
the new office. Candidates who qualify for first-time candidate status receive a ten percent
increase in the campaign expenditure limit in all segments of the applicable election cycle.
In the case of a legislative candidate, the office is that of a member of the house of

representatives or senate without regard to any specific district.

Sec. 7. 3
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Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 211A.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. When and where filed by committees. (a) A committee or a candidate
who receives contributions or makes disbursements of more than $750 $200 in a calendar
year shall submit an initial report to the filing officer within 14 days after the candidate or
committee receives or makes disbursements of more than $750 $200 and shall continue to

make the reports listed in paragraph (b) until a final report is filed.

(b) The committee or candidate must file a report by January 31 of each year following
the year when the initial report was filed and in a year when the candidate's name or a ballot

question appears on the ballot, the candidate or committee shall file a report:
(1) ten days before the primary or special primary;
(2) ten days before the general election or special election; and

(3) 30 days after a general or special election.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 211A.05, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Penalty. A candidate who intentionally fails to file a report required by
section 211A.02 or a certification required by this section is guilty of a misdemeanor. The
treasurer of a committee formed to promote or defeat a ballot question who intentionally
fails to file a report required by section 211A.02 or a certification required by this section
is guilty of a misdemeanor. Each candidate or treasurer of a committee formed to promote
or defeat a ballot question shall certify to the filing officer that all reports required by section
211A.02 have been submitted to the filing officer or that the candidate or committee has
not received contributions or made disbursements exceeding $750 $200 in the calendar
year. The certification shall be submitted to the filing officer no later than seven days after
the general or special election. The secretary of state shall prepare blanks for this certification.
An officer who issues a certificate of election to a candidate who has not certified that all

reports required by section 211A.02 have been filed is guilty of a misdemeanor."

Amend the title accordingly

Sec. 9. 4
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