

335 Randolph Ave, Suite 120 St. Paul, Minnesota 55102 Phone: 651-201-2820 Fax: 651-797-1371

Web: mn.gov/boards/barber-examiners

February 28th, 2022

State Government Finance and Policy and Elections Committee Senator Mary Kiffmeyer, Chair 95 University Ave W Saint Paul, MN 55103

RE: SF3485 - Board of Barber Examiners provisions modifications; mobile barber shops provisions modifications

Senator Kiffmeyer and Members of the Committee:

The Minnesota Board of Barber Examiners are seeking modifications to MN Statute Chapter 154 related to the regulation of barbers. This bill makes technical changes, eliminates unnecessary barriers of entry into barbering for persons who wish to become registered barbers by examination, establishes rules and fees for mobile barber shops, updates requirements for board member appointments and creates a reciprocity process for cosmetologists to become registered barbers. The board anticipates minimal costs related to these changes and is not seeking additional funding due to changes proposed by this bill.

The changes sought include:

- Clarifying that the board may use a board approved provider to administer nationally certified barber examinations. The board does not currently use a nationally certified barber examination. Nationally certified exams are required by Minnesota Statute, section 214.03.
- Elimination of a requirement that individuals who fail the comprehensive examination complete an additional 500 hours of barber education before being eligible to retake the comprehensive examination. It allows individuals who pass one portion of the comprehensive exam to receive a registration as a registered barber if they pass the other portion of the comprehensive exam within one year.
- Elimination of a requirement for some examinees to purchase a home study course developed by the board before being eligible to register for the comprehensive examination.
- Replaces a requirement of a tenth-grade education to receive a certificate of registration as a registered barber with a requirement that a person be at least 17 years of age to receive a certificate of registration as a registered barber.
- Repeals Minnesota rules made unnecessary by this bill; 2100.2500, 2100.2600, 2100.2900, 2100.3000 and 2100.3200.
- Elimination of a requirement that one board member be a member of, or recommended by, a union of journey men, and one barber member shall be a member of, or recommended by, a professional organization of barbers. There are no active unions or professional organizations of barbers active in the State of Minnesota.
- Establishing definitions, fees and provisions for new law that would enable registered barbers to operate mobile barber shops.
- Adding a process for cosmetologists to receive reciprocity to become registered barbers.
- Adding definitions for straight razor shaving and waxing. Clarifies that waxing is not included in the definition of barbering.

The Board is funded by the General Fund, all revenues are deposited to the General Fund, and the Board receives an annual allocation for operations. The Minnesota Board of Barber Examiners thanks you for your time and consideration of this bill.

Respectfully, Brent Grebinoski Executive Director