Association *of* Minnesota Counties

March 8, 2022

Chair Abeler 3215 Minnesota Senate Bldg. St. Paul, MN 55155

Dear Chair Abeler and Members of the Human Services Reform Finance and Policy Committee:

On behalf of the Association of Minnesota Counties (AMC), an association representing all of Minnesota's 87 counties, we want to thank you for your work and leadership to address issues of homelessness within this committee. Counties across the state have come together to voice their collective concern for the rising numbers of homeless families and individuals. We write in support of <u>SF3140</u> (Senjem) which appropriates \$75 million for grants for the development and renovation of emergency shelters.

Minnesota is facing an unsheltered homelessness crisis that is not just confined to the metro. County commissioners across the state agree that the rising trends and impacts of homelessness are not acceptable. Counties are seeing significant adverse impacts on unsheltered individuals and families, which demands more from county budgets that support many of the services provided to those experiencing homelessness. While we recognize emergency shelter beds are a short-term solution for individuals and families sleeping outside, they are the starting point to gaining long-term stability. Counties provide the opportunity to connect with a myriad of support services and programs, either directly or through partnerships with community-based organizations, which are vital to help people move from shelters to stable housing. Moreover, counties know that housing stability in turn provides self-sufficiency and decreased reliance on safety net services funded through the property tax system.

SF3140 would provide much needed funding to increase the state's capacity of emergency shelters as well as fill a dire need to rehab existing shelters, ensuring the safety and sanitation for individuals and families who rely on these facilities. Counties standby ready to offer our assistance and partnership in any way that is helpful to you as this session continues.

Sincerely,

Raeanne Danielouski

Commissioner Raeanne Danielowski, Sherburne County Chair, AMC Economic Development, Housing, and Workforce Subcommittee

Inene Jernardo

Commissioner Irene Fernando, Hennepin County Vice-Chair, AMC Economic Development, Housing, and Workforce Subcommittee