
1.1 Senator .................... moves to amend S.F. No. 4198 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "ARTICLE 1​

1.4 HEALTH DEPARTMENT​

1.5 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 103I.005, subdivision 17a, is amended to​

1.6 read:​

1.7 Subd. 17a. Temporary boring Submerged closed loop heat exchanger. "Temporary​

1.8 boring" "Submerged closed loop heat exchanger" means an excavation that is 15 feet or​

1.9 more in depth, is sealed within 72 hours of the time of construction, and is drilled, cored,​

1.10 washed, driven, dug, jetted, or otherwise constructed to a heating and cooling system that:​

1.11 (1) conduct physical, chemical, or biological testing of groundwater, including​

1.12 groundwater quality monitoring is installed in a water supply well;​

1.13 (2) monitor or measure physical, chemical, radiological, or biological parameters of​

1.14 earth materials or earth fluids, including hydraulic conductivity, bearing capacity, or​

1.15 resistance utilizes the convective flow of groundwater as the primary medium of heat​

1.16 exchange;​

1.17 (3) measure groundwater levels, including use of a piezometer contained potable water​

1.18 as the heat transfer fluid; and​

1.19 (4) determine groundwater flow direction or velocity operates using nonconsumptive​

1.20 recirculation.​

1.21 A submerged closed loop heat exchanger also includes submersible pumps, a heat exchanger​

1.22 device, piping, and other necessary appurtenances.​

1.23 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 103I.005, is amended by adding a subdivision​

1.24 to read:​

1.25 Subd. 17b. Temporary boring. "Temporary boring" means an excavation that is 15​

1.26 feet or more in depth, is sealed within 72 hours of the time of construction, and is drilled,​

1.27 cored, washed, driven, dug, jetted, or otherwise constructed to:​

1.28 (1) conduct physical, chemical, or biological testing of groundwater, including​

1.29 groundwater quality monitoring;​
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2.1 (2) monitor or measure physical, chemical, radiological, or biological parameters of​

2.2 earth materials or earth fluids, including hydraulic conductivity, bearing capacity, or​

2.3 resistance;​

2.4 (3) measure groundwater levels, including use of a piezometer; and​

2.5 (4) determine groundwater flow direction or velocity.​

2.6 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 103I.005, subdivision 20a, is amended to read:​

2.7 Subd. 20a. Water supply well. "Water supply well" means a well that is not a dewatering​

2.8 well or environmental well and includes wells used:​

2.9 (1) for potable water supply;​

2.10 (2) for irrigation;​

2.11 (3) for agricultural, commercial, or industrial water supply;​

2.12 (4) for heating or cooling; and​

2.13 (5) for containing a submerged closed loop heat exchanger; and​

2.14 (6) for testing water yield for irrigation, commercial or industrial uses, residential supply,​

2.15 or public water supply.​

2.16 Sec. 4. [103I.631] INSTALLATION OF A SUBMERGED CLOSED LOOP HEAT​

2.17 EXCHANGER.​

2.18 Subdivision 1. Installation. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the​

2.19 commissioner must allow the installation of a submerged closed loop heat exchanger in a​

2.20 water supply well. A project may consist of more than one water supply well on a particular​

2.21 site.​

2.22 Subd. 2. Setbacks. Water supply wells used only for the nonpotable purpose of providing​

2.23 heating and cooling using a submerged closed-loop heat exchanger are exempt from isolation​

2.24 distance requirements greater than 10 feet.​

2.25 Subd. 3. Construction. The screened interval of a water supply well constructed to​

2.26 contain a submerged closed-loop heat exchanger completed within a single aquifer may be​

2.27 designed and constructed using any combination of screen, casing, leader, riser, sump, or​

2.28 other piping combinations, so long as the screen configuration does not interconnect aquifers.​

2.29 Subd. 4. Permits. A submerged closed loop heat exchanger is not subject to the permit​

2.30 requirements in this chapter.​
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3.1 Subd. 5. Variances. A variance is not required to install or operate a submerged closed​

3.2 loop heat exchanger.​

3.3 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 144.057, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

3.4 Subdivision 1. Background studies required. (a) Except as specified in paragraph (b),​

3.5 the commissioner of health shall contract with the commissioner of human services to​

3.6 conduct background studies of:​

3.7 (1) individuals providing services that have direct contact, as defined under section​

3.8 245C.02, subdivision 11, with patients and residents in hospitals, boarding care homes,​

3.9 outpatient surgical centers licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.58; nursing homes and​

3.10 home care agencies licensed under chapter 144A; assisted living facilities and assisted living​

3.11 facilities with dementia care licensed under chapter 144G; and board and lodging​

3.12 establishments that are registered to provide supportive or health supervision services under​

3.13 section 157.17;​

3.14 (2) individuals specified in section 245C.03, subdivision 1, who perform direct contact​

3.15 services in a nursing home or a home care agency licensed under chapter 144A; an assisted​

3.16 living facility or assisted living facility with dementia care licensed under chapter 144G;​

3.17 or a boarding care home licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.58. If the individual under​

3.18 study resides outside Minnesota, the study must include a check for substantiated findings​

3.19 of maltreatment of adults and children in the individual's state of residence when the​

3.20 information is made available by that state, and must include a check of the National Crime​

3.21 Information Center database;​

3.22 (3) all other employees in assisted living facilities or assisted living facilities with​

3.23 dementia care licensed under chapter 144G, nursing homes licensed under chapter 144A,​

3.24 and boarding care homes licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.58. A disqualification of​

3.25 an individual in this section shall disqualify the individual from positions allowing direct​

3.26 contact or access to patients or residents receiving services. "Access" means physical access​

3.27 to a client or the client's personal property without continuous, direct supervision as defined​

3.28 in section 245C.02, subdivision 8, when the employee's employment responsibilities do not​

3.29 include providing direct contact services;​

3.30 (4) individuals employed by a supplemental nursing services agency, as defined under​

3.31 section 144A.70, who are providing services in health care facilities; and​

3.32 (5) controlling persons of a supplemental nursing services agency, as defined under​

3.33 section 144A.70.​
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4.1 (b) The commissioner of human services is not required to conduct a background study​

4.2 on any individual identified in paragraph (a) if the individual has a valid license issued by​

4.3 a health-related licensing board as defined in section 214.01, subdivision 2, and has completed​

4.4 the criminal background check as required in section 214.075.​

4.5 (c) If a facility or program is licensed by the Department of Human Services and subject​

4.6 to the background study provisions of chapter 245C and is also licensed by the Department​

4.7 of Health, the Department of Human Services is solely responsible for the background​

4.8 studies of individuals in the jointly licensed programs.​

4.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

4.10 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 144.1222, subdivision 2d, is amended to read:​

4.11 Subd. 2d. Hot tubs on rental houseboats property. (a) A hot water spa pool intended​

4.12 for seated recreational use, including a hot tub or whirlpool, that is located on a houseboat​

4.13 that is rented to the public is not a public pool and is exempt from the requirements for​

4.14 public pools under this section and Minnesota Rules, chapter 4717.​

4.15 (b) A spa pool intended for seated recreational use, including a hot tub or whirlpool,​

4.16 that is located on the property of a stand-alone single-unit rental property that is rented to​

4.17 the public by the property owner or through a resort and the spa pool is only intended to be​

4.18 used by the occupants of the rental property, is not a public pool and is exempt from the​

4.19 requirements for public pools under this section and Minnesota Rules, chapter 4717.​

4.20 (c) A hot water spa pool under this subdivision must be conspicuously posted with the​

4.21 following notice to renters:​

4.22 "NOTICE​

4.23 This spa is exempt from state and local sanitary requirements that prevent disease​

4.24 transmission.​

4.25 USE AT YOUR OWN RISK​

4.26 This notice is required under Minnesota Statutes, section 144.1222, subdivision 2d."​

4.27 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 144.551, subdivision 1, is amended​

4.28 to read:​

4.29 Subdivision 1. Restricted construction or modification. (a) The following construction​

4.30 or modification may not be commenced:​
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5.1 (1) any erection, building, alteration, reconstruction, modernization, improvement,​

5.2 extension, lease, or other acquisition by or on behalf of a hospital that increases the bed​

5.3 capacity of a hospital, relocates hospital beds from one physical facility, complex, or site​

5.4 to another, or otherwise results in an increase or redistribution of hospital beds within the​

5.5 state; and​

5.6 (2) the establishment of a new hospital.​

5.7 (b) This section does not apply to:​

5.8 (1) construction or relocation within a county by a hospital, clinic, or other health care​

5.9 facility that is a national referral center engaged in substantial programs of patient care,​

5.10 medical research, and medical education meeting state and national needs that receives more​

5.11 than 40 percent of its patients from outside the state of Minnesota;​

5.12 (2) a project for construction or modification for which a health care facility held an​

5.13 approved certificate of need on May 1, 1984, regardless of the date of expiration of the​

5.14 certificate;​

5.15 (3) a project for which a certificate of need was denied before July 1, 1990, if a timely​

5.16 appeal results in an order reversing the denial;​

5.17 (4) a project exempted from certificate of need requirements by Laws 1981, chapter 200,​

5.18 section 2;​

5.19 (5) a project involving consolidation of pediatric specialty hospital services within the​

5.20 Minneapolis-St. Paul metropolitan area that would not result in a net increase in the number​

5.21 of pediatric specialty hospital beds among the hospitals being consolidated;​

5.22 (6) a project involving the temporary relocation of pediatric-orthopedic hospital beds to​

5.23 an existing licensed hospital that will allow for the reconstruction of a new philanthropic,​

5.24 pediatric-orthopedic hospital on an existing site and that will not result in a net increase in​

5.25 the number of hospital beds. Upon completion of the reconstruction, the licenses of both​

5.26 hospitals must be reinstated at the capacity that existed on each site before the relocation;​

5.27 (7) the relocation or redistribution of hospital beds within a hospital building or​

5.28 identifiable complex of buildings provided the relocation or redistribution does not result​

5.29 in: (i) an increase in the overall bed capacity at that site; (ii) relocation of hospital beds from​

5.30 one physical site or complex to another; or (iii) redistribution of hospital beds within the​

5.31 state or a region of the state;​

5.32 (8) relocation or redistribution of hospital beds within a hospital corporate system that​

5.33 involves the transfer of beds from a closed facility site or complex to an existing site or​
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6.1 complex provided that: (i) no more than 50 percent of the capacity of the closed facility is​

6.2 transferred; (ii) the capacity of the site or complex to which the beds are transferred does​

6.3 not increase by more than 50 percent; (iii) the beds are not transferred outside of a federal​

6.4 health systems agency boundary in place on July 1, 1983; (iv) the relocation or redistribution​

6.5 does not involve the construction of a new hospital building; and (v) the transferred beds​

6.6 are used first to replace within the hospital corporate system the total number of beds​

6.7 previously used in the closed facility site or complex for mental health services and substance​

6.8 use disorder services. Only after the hospital corporate system has fulfilled the requirements​

6.9 of this item may the remainder of the available capacity of the closed facility site or complex​

6.10 be transferred for any other purpose;​

6.11 (9) a construction project involving up to 35 new beds in a psychiatric hospital in Rice​

6.12 County that primarily serves adolescents and that receives more than 70 percent of its​

6.13 patients from outside the state of Minnesota;​

6.14 (10) a project to replace a hospital or hospitals with a combined licensed capacity of​

6.15 130 beds or less if: (i) the new hospital site is located within five miles of the current site;​

6.16 and (ii) the total licensed capacity of the replacement hospital, either at the time of​

6.17 construction of the initial building or as the result of future expansion, will not exceed 70​

6.18 licensed hospital beds, or the combined licensed capacity of the hospitals, whichever is less;​

6.19 (11) the relocation of licensed hospital beds from an existing state facility operated by​

6.20 the commissioner of human services to a new or existing facility, building, or complex​

6.21 operated by the commissioner of human services; from one regional treatment center site​

6.22 to another; or from one building or site to a new or existing building or site on the same​

6.23 campus;​

6.24 (12) the construction or relocation of hospital beds operated by a hospital having a​

6.25 statutory obligation to provide hospital and medical services for the indigent that does not​

6.26 result in a net increase in the number of hospital beds, notwithstanding section 144.552, 27​

6.27 beds, of which 12 serve mental health needs, may be transferred from Hennepin County​

6.28 Medical Center to Regions Hospital under this clause;​

6.29 (13) a construction project involving the addition of up to 31 new beds in an existing​

6.30 nonfederal hospital in Beltrami County;​

6.31 (14) a construction project involving the addition of up to eight new beds in an existing​

6.32 nonfederal hospital in Otter Tail County with 100 licensed acute care beds;​

6.33 (15) a construction project involving the addition of 20 new hospital beds in an existing​

6.34 hospital in Carver County serving the southwest suburban metropolitan area;​
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7.1 (16) a project for the construction or relocation of up to 20 hospital beds for the operation​

7.2 of up to two psychiatric facilities or units for children provided that the operation of the​

7.3 facilities or units have received the approval of the commissioner of human services;​

7.4 (17) a project involving the addition of 14 new hospital beds to be used for rehabilitation​

7.5 services in an existing hospital in Itasca County;​

7.6 (18) a project to add 20 licensed beds in existing space at a hospital in Hennepin County​

7.7 that closed 20 rehabilitation beds in 2002, provided that the beds are used only for​

7.8 rehabilitation in the hospital's current rehabilitation building. If the beds are used for another​

7.9 purpose or moved to another location, the hospital's licensed capacity is reduced by 20 beds;​

7.10 (19) a critical access hospital established under section 144.1483, clause (9), and section​

7.11 1820 of the federal Social Security Act, United States Code, title 42, section 1395i-4, that​

7.12 delicensed beds since enactment of the Balanced Budget Act of 1997, Public Law 105-33,​

7.13 to the extent that the critical access hospital does not seek to exceed the maximum number​

7.14 of beds permitted such hospital under federal law;​

7.15 (20) notwithstanding section 144.552, a project for the construction of a new hospital​

7.16 in the city of Maple Grove with a licensed capacity of up to 300 beds provided that:​

7.17 (i) the project, including each hospital or health system that will own or control the entity​

7.18 that will hold the new hospital license, is approved by a resolution of the Maple Grove City​

7.19 Council as of March 1, 2006;​

7.20 (ii) the entity that will hold the new hospital license will be owned or controlled by one​

7.21 or more not-for-profit hospitals or health systems that have previously submitted a plan or​

7.22 plans for a project in Maple Grove as required under section 144.552, and the plan or plans​

7.23 have been found to be in the public interest by the commissioner of health as of April 1,​

7.24 2005;​

7.25 (iii) the new hospital's initial inpatient services must include, but are not limited to,​

7.26 medical and surgical services, obstetrical and gynecological services, intensive care services,​

7.27 orthopedic services, pediatric services, noninvasive cardiac diagnostics, behavioral health​

7.28 services, and emergency room services;​

7.29 (iv) the new hospital:​

7.30 (A) will have the ability to provide and staff sufficient new beds to meet the growing​

7.31 needs of the Maple Grove service area and the surrounding communities currently being​

7.32 served by the hospital or health system that will own or control the entity that will hold the​

7.33 new hospital license;​
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8.1 (B) will provide uncompensated care;​

8.2 (C) will provide mental health services, including inpatient beds;​

8.3 (D) will be a site for workforce development for a broad spectrum of health-care-related​

8.4 occupations and have a commitment to providing clinical training programs for physicians​

8.5 and other health care providers;​

8.6 (E) will demonstrate a commitment to quality care and patient safety;​

8.7 (F) will have an electronic medical records system, including physician order entry;​

8.8 (G) will provide a broad range of senior services;​

8.9 (H) will provide emergency medical services that will coordinate care with regional​

8.10 providers of trauma services and licensed emergency ambulance services in order to enhance​

8.11 the continuity of care for emergency medical patients; and​

8.12 (I) will be completed by December 31, 2009, unless delayed by circumstances beyond​

8.13 the control of the entity holding the new hospital license; and​

8.14 (v) as of 30 days following submission of a written plan, the commissioner of health​

8.15 has not determined that the hospitals or health systems that will own or control the entity​

8.16 that will hold the new hospital license are unable to meet the criteria of this clause;​

8.17 (21) a project approved under section 144.553;​

8.18 (22) a project for the construction of a hospital with up to 25 beds in Cass County within​

8.19 a 20-mile radius of the state Ah-Gwah-Ching facility, provided the hospital's license holder​

8.20 is approved by the Cass County Board;​

8.21 (23) a project for an acute care hospital in Fergus Falls that will increase the bed capacity​

8.22 from 108 to 110 beds by increasing the rehabilitation bed capacity from 14 to 16 and closing​

8.23 a separately licensed 13-bed skilled nursing facility;​

8.24 (24) notwithstanding section 144.552, a project for the construction and expansion of a​

8.25 specialty psychiatric hospital in Hennepin County for up to 50 beds, exclusively for patients​

8.26 who are under 21 years of age on the date of admission. The commissioner conducted a​

8.27 public interest review of the mental health needs of Minnesota and the Twin Cities​

8.28 metropolitan area in 2008. No further public interest review shall be conducted for the​

8.29 construction or expansion project under this clause;​

8.30 (25) a project for a 16-bed psychiatric hospital in the city of Thief River Falls, if the​

8.31 commissioner finds the project is in the public interest after the public interest review​

8.32 conducted under section 144.552 is complete;​
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9.1 (26)(i) a project for a 20-bed psychiatric hospital, within an existing facility in the city​

9.2 of Maple Grove, exclusively for patients who are under 21 years of age on the date of​

9.3 admission, if the commissioner finds the project is in the public interest after the public​

9.4 interest review conducted under section 144.552 is complete;​

9.5 (ii) this project shall serve patients in the continuing care benefit program under section​

9.6 256.9693. The project may also serve patients not in the continuing care benefit program;​

9.7 and​

9.8 (iii) if the project ceases to participate in the continuing care benefit program, the​

9.9 commissioner must complete a subsequent public interest review under section 144.552. If​

9.10 the project is found not to be in the public interest, the license must be terminated six months​

9.11 from the date of that finding. If the commissioner of human services terminates the contract​

9.12 without cause or reduces per diem payment rates for patients under the continuing care​

9.13 benefit program below the rates in effect for services provided on December 31, 2015, the​

9.14 project may cease to participate in the continuing care benefit program and continue to​

9.15 operate without a subsequent public interest review;​

9.16 (27) a project involving the addition of 21 new beds in an existing psychiatric hospital​

9.17 in Hennepin County that is exclusively for patients who are under 21 years of age on the​

9.18 date of admission;​

9.19 (28) a project to add 55 licensed beds in an existing safety net, level I trauma center​

9.20 hospital in Ramsey County as designated under section 383A.91, subdivision 5, of which​

9.21 15 beds are to be used for inpatient mental health and 40 are to be used for other services.​

9.22 In addition, five unlicensed observation mental health beds shall be added;​

9.23 (29) upon submission of a plan to the commissioner for public interest review under​

9.24 section 144.552 and the addition of the 15 inpatient mental health beds specified in clause​

9.25 (28), to its bed capacity, a project to add 45 licensed beds in an existing safety net, level I​

9.26 trauma center hospital in Ramsey County as designated under section 383A.91, subdivision​

9.27 5. Five of the 45 additional beds authorized under this clause must be designated for use​

9.28 for inpatient mental health and must be added to the hospital's bed capacity before the​

9.29 remaining 40 beds are added. Notwithstanding section 144.552, the hospital may add licensed​

9.30 beds under this clause prior to completion of the public interest review, provided the hospital​

9.31 submits its plan by the 2021 deadline and adheres to the timelines for the public interest​

9.32 review described in section 144.552; or​

9.33 (30) upon submission of a plan to the commissioner for public interest review under​

9.34 section 144.552, a project to add up to 30 licensed beds in an existing psychiatric hospital​

9​Article 1 Sec. 7.​

COUNSEL KC/SC SCS4198A-2​03/29/22 09:11 am ​



10.1 in Hennepin County that exclusively provides care to patients who are under 21 years of​

10.2 age on the date of admission. Notwithstanding section 144.552, the psychiatric hospital​

10.3 may add licensed beds under this clause prior to completion of the public interest review,​

10.4 provided the hospital submits its plan by the 2021 deadline and adheres to the timelines for​

10.5 the public interest review described in section 144.552.;​

10.6 (31) a project to add licensed beds in a hospital that: (i) is designated as a critical access​

10.7 hospital under section 144.1483, clause (9), and United States Code, title 42, section 1395i-4;​

10.8 (ii) has a licensed bed capacity of fewer than 25 beds; and (iii) has an attached nursing home,​

10.9 so long as the total number of licensed beds in the hospital after the bed addition does not​

10.10 exceed 25 beds. Notwithstanding section 144.552, a public interest review is not required​

10.11 for a project authorized under this clause; or​

10.12 (32) upon submission of a plan to the commissioner for public interest review under​

10.13 section 144.552, a project to add 22 licensed beds at a Minnesota freestanding children's​

10.14 hospital in St. Paul that is part of an independent pediatric health system with freestanding​

10.15 inpatient hospitals located in Minneapolis and St. Paul. The beds shall be utilized for pediatric​

10.16 inpatient behavioral health services. Notwithstanding section 144.552, the hospital may add​

10.17 licensed beds under this clause prior to completion of the public interest review, provided​

10.18 the hospital submits its plan by the 2022 deadline and adheres to the timelines for the public​

10.19 interest review described in section 144.552.​

10.20 Sec. 8. [145.267] FETAL ALCOHOL SPECTRUM DISORDERS PREVENTION​

10.21 GRANTS.​

10.22 (a) The commissioner of health shall award a grant to a statewide organization that​

10.23 focuses solely on prevention of and intervention with fetal alcohol spectrum disorders. The​

10.24 grant recipient must make subgrants to eligible regional collaboratives in rural and urban​

10.25 areas of the state for the purposes specified in paragraph (c).​

10.26 (b) "Eligible regional collaboratives" means a partnership between at least one local​

10.27 government or Tribal government and at least one community-based organization and,​

10.28 where available, a family home visiting program. For purposes of this paragraph, a local​

10.29 government includes a county or a multicounty organization, a county-based purchasing​

10.30 entity, or a community health board.​

10.31 (c) Eligible regional collaboratives must use subgrant funds to reduce the incidence of​

10.32 fetal alcohol spectrum disorders and other prenatal drug-related effects in children in​

10.33 Minnesota by identifying and serving pregnant women suspected of or known to use or​
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11.1 abuse alcohol or other drugs. Eligible regional collaboratives must provide intensive services​

11.2 to chemically dependent women to increase positive birth outcomes.​

11.3 (d) An eligible regional collaborative that receives a subgrant under this section must​

11.4 report to the grant recipient by January 15 of each year on the services and programs funded​

11.5 by the subgrant. The report must include measurable outcomes for the previous year,​

11.6 including the number of pregnant women served and the number of toxin-free babies born.​

11.7 The grant recipient must compile the information in the subgrant reports and submit a​

11.8 summary report to the commissioner of health by February 15 of each year.​

11.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2013.​

11.10 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 151.01, subdivision 27, is amended to read:​

11.11 Subd. 27. Practice of pharmacy. "Practice of pharmacy" means:​

11.12 (1) interpretation and evaluation of prescription drug orders;​

11.13 (2) compounding, labeling, and dispensing drugs and devices (except labeling by a​

11.14 manufacturer or packager of nonprescription drugs or commercially packaged legend drugs​

11.15 and devices);​

11.16 (3) participation in clinical interpretations and monitoring of drug therapy for assurance​

11.17 of safe and effective use of drugs, including the performance of ordering and performing​

11.18 laboratory tests that are waived under the federal Clinical Laboratory Improvement Act of​

11.19 1988, United States Code, title 42, section 263a et seq., provided that a pharmacist may​

11.20 interpret the results of laboratory tests but may modify A pharmacist may collect specimens,​

11.21 interpret results, notify the patient of results, and refer patients to other health care providers​

11.22 for follow-up care and may initiate, modify, or discontinue drug therapy only pursuant to​

11.23 a protocol or collaborative practice agreement. A pharmacy technician or pharmacist intern​

11.24 may perform tests authorized under this clause if the technician or intern is working under​

11.25 the direct supervision of a pharmacist;​

11.26 (4) participation in drug and therapeutic device selection; drug administration for first​

11.27 dosage and medical emergencies; intramuscular and subcutaneous administration used for​

11.28 the treatment of alcohol or opioid dependence; drug regimen reviews; and drug or​

11.29 drug-related research;​

11.30 (5) drug administration, through intramuscular and subcutaneous administration used​

11.31 to treat mental illnesses as permitted under the following conditions:​
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12.1 (i) upon the order of a prescriber and the prescriber is notified after administration is​

12.2 complete; or​

12.3 (ii) pursuant to a protocol or collaborative practice agreement as defined by section​

12.4 151.01, subdivisions 27b and 27c, and participation in the initiation, management,​

12.5 modification, administration, and discontinuation of drug therapy is according to the protocol​

12.6 or collaborative practice agreement between the pharmacist and a dentist, optometrist,​

12.7 physician, podiatrist, or veterinarian, or an advanced practice registered nurse authorized​

12.8 to prescribe, dispense, and administer under section 148.235. Any changes in drug therapy​

12.9 or medication administration made pursuant to a protocol or collaborative practice agreement​

12.10 must be documented by the pharmacist in the patient's medical record or reported by the​

12.11 pharmacist to a practitioner responsible for the patient's care;​

12.12 (6) participation in administration of influenza vaccines and vaccines approved by the​

12.13 United States Food and Drug Administration related to COVID-19 or SARS-CoV-2 to all​

12.14 eligible individuals six years of age and older and all other vaccines to patients 13 years of​

12.15 age and older by written protocol with a physician licensed under chapter 147, a physician​

12.16 assistant authorized to prescribe drugs under chapter 147A, or an advanced practice registered​

12.17 nurse authorized to prescribe drugs under section 148.235, provided that the pharmacist:​

12.18 (i) the protocol includes, at a minimum:​

12.19 (A) the name, dose, and route of each vaccine that may be given;​

12.20 (B) the patient population for whom the vaccine may be given;​

12.21 (C) contraindications and precautions to the vaccine;​

12.22 (D) the procedure for handling an adverse reaction;​

12.23 (E) the name, signature, and address of the physician, physician assistant, or advanced​

12.24 practice registered nurse;​

12.25 (F) a telephone number at which the physician, physician assistant, or advanced practice​

12.26 registered nurse can be contacted; and​

12.27 (G) the date and time period for which the protocol is valid;​

12.28 (ii) the pharmacist (i) has successfully completed a program approved by the Accreditation​

12.29 Council for Pharmacy Education specifically for the administration of immunizations or a​

12.30 program approved by the board;​
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13.1 (iii) the pharmacist (ii) utilizes the Minnesota Immunization Information Connection to​

13.2 assess the immunization status of individuals prior to the administration of vaccines, except​

13.3 when administering influenza vaccines to individuals age nine and older;​

13.4 (iv) the pharmacist (iii) reports the administration of the immunization to the Minnesota​

13.5 Immunization Information Connection; and​

13.6 (v) the pharmacist (iv) complies with guidelines for vaccines and immunizations​

13.7 established by the federal Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices, except that a​

13.8 pharmacist does not need to comply with those portions of the guidelines that establish​

13.9 immunization schedules when if the pharmacist is administering a vaccine pursuant to a​

13.10 valid, patient-specific order issued by a physician licensed under chapter 147, a physician​

13.11 assistant authorized to prescribe drugs under chapter 147A, or an advanced practice registered​

13.12 nurse authorized to prescribe drugs under section 148.235, provided that the order is​

13.13 consistent with the United States Food and Drug Administration approved labeling of the​

13.14 vaccine; and​

13.15 (v) if the patient is 18 years of age or younger, informs the patient and any adult caregiver​

13.16 accompanying the patient of the importance of a well-child visit with a pediatrician or other​

13.17 licensed primary care provider;​

13.18 (7) participation in the initiation, management, modification, and discontinuation of​

13.19 drug therapy according to a written protocol or collaborative practice agreement between:​

13.20 (i) one or more pharmacists and one or more dentists, optometrists, physicians, podiatrists,​

13.21 or veterinarians; or (ii) one or more pharmacists and one or more physician assistants​

13.22 authorized to prescribe, dispense, and administer under chapter 147A, or advanced practice​

13.23 registered nurses authorized to prescribe, dispense, and administer under section 148.235.​

13.24 Any changes in drug therapy made pursuant to a protocol or collaborative practice agreement​

13.25 must be documented by the pharmacist in the patient's medical record or reported by the​

13.26 pharmacist to a practitioner responsible for the patient's care;​

13.27 (8) participation in the storage of drugs and the maintenance of records;​

13.28 (9) patient counseling on therapeutic values, content, hazards, and uses of drugs and​

13.29 devices;​

13.30 (10) offering or performing those acts, services, operations, or transactions necessary​

13.31 in the conduct, operation, management, and control of a pharmacy;​

13.32 (11) participation in the initiation, management, modification, and discontinuation of​

13.33 therapy with opiate antagonists, as defined in section 604A.04, subdivision 1, pursuant to:​

13​Article 1 Sec. 9.​

COUNSEL KC/SC SCS4198A-2​03/29/22 09:11 am ​



14.1 (i) a written protocol as allowed under clause (7); or​

14.2 (ii) a written protocol with a community health board medical consultant or a practitioner​

14.3 designated by the commissioner of health, as allowed under section 151.37, subdivision 13;​

14.4 and​

14.5 (12) prescribing self-administered hormonal contraceptives; nicotine replacement​

14.6 medications; and opiate antagonists for the treatment of an acute opiate overdose pursuant​

14.7 to section 151.37, subdivision 14, 15, or 16.​

14.8 Sec. 10. [151.103] DELEGATION OF VACCINE ADMINISTRATION.​

14.9 (a) A pharmacy technician or pharmacist intern may administer vaccines under section​

14.10 151.01, subdivision 27, clause (6) if the technician or intern:​

14.11 (1) is under the direct supervision of a pharmacist while administering the vaccine;​

14.12 (2) has successfully completed a program approved by the Accreditation Council for​

14.13 Pharmacy Education specifically for the administration of immunizations or a program​

14.14 approved by the board;​

14.15 (3) has a current certificate in basic cardiopulmonary resuscitation; and​

14.16 (4) if delegated to a pharmacy technician, the technician has completed:​

14.17 (i) one of the training programs listed under Minnesota Rules, part 6800.3850, subpart​

14.18 1h(B); and​

14.19 (ii) a minimum of two hours of ACPE-approved, immunization-related continuing​

14.20 pharmacy education as part of the pharmacy technician's two-year continuing education​

14.21 schedule.​

14.22 (b) Direct supervision under this section must be in-person and must not be done through​

14.23 telehealth as defined under section 62A.673, subdivision 2.​

14.24 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 245C.03, subdivision 5a, is amended​

14.25 to read:​

14.26 Subd. 5a. Facilities serving children or adults licensed or regulated by the​

14.27 Department of Health. (a) Except as specified in paragraph (b), the commissioner shall​

14.28 conduct background studies of:​

14.29 (1) individuals providing services who have direct contact, as defined under section​

14.30 245C.02, subdivision 11, with patients and residents in hospitals, boarding care homes,​
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15.1 outpatient surgical centers licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.58; nursing homes and​

15.2 home care agencies licensed under chapter 144A; assisted living facilities and assisted living​

15.3 facilities with dementia care licensed under chapter 144G; and board and lodging​

15.4 establishments that are registered to provide supportive or health supervision services under​

15.5 section 157.17;​

15.6 (2) individuals specified in subdivision 2 who provide direct contact services in a nursing​

15.7 home or a home care agency licensed under chapter 144A; an assisted living facility or​

15.8 assisted living facility with dementia care licensed under chapter 144G; or a boarding care​

15.9 home licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.58. If the individual undergoing a study resides​

15.10 outside of Minnesota, the study must include a check for substantiated findings of​

15.11 maltreatment of adults and children in the individual's state of residence when the state​

15.12 makes the information available;​

15.13 (3) all other employees in assisted living facilities or assisted living facilities with​

15.14 dementia care licensed under chapter 144G, nursing homes licensed under chapter 144A,​

15.15 and boarding care homes licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.58. A disqualification of​

15.16 an individual in this section shall disqualify the individual from positions allowing direct​

15.17 contact with or access to patients or residents receiving services. "Access" means physical​

15.18 access to a client or the client's personal property without continuous, direct supervision as​

15.19 defined in section 245C.02, subdivision 8, when the employee's employment responsibilities​

15.20 do not include providing direct contact services;​

15.21 (4) individuals employed by a supplemental nursing services agency, as defined under​

15.22 section 144A.70, who are providing services in health care facilities; and​

15.23 (5) controlling persons of a supplemental nursing services agency, as defined by section​

15.24 144A.70.​

15.25 (b) The commissioner of human services is not required to conduct a background study​

15.26 on any individual identified in paragraph (a) if the individual has a valid license issued by​

15.27 a health-related licensing board as defined in section 214.01, subdivision 2, and has completed​

15.28 the criminal background check as required in section 214.075.​

15.29 (c) If a facility or program is licensed by the Department of Human Services and the​

15.30 Department of Health and is subject to the background study provisions of this chapter, the​

15.31 Department of Human Services is solely responsible for the background studies of individuals​

15.32 in the jointly licensed program.​

15.33 (c) (d) The commissioner of health shall review and make decisions regarding​

15.34 reconsideration requests, including whether to grant variances, according to the procedures​
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16.1 and criteria in this chapter. The commissioner of health shall inform the requesting individual​

16.2 and the Department of Human Services of the commissioner of health's decision regarding​

16.3 the reconsideration. The commissioner of health's decision to grant or deny a reconsideration​

16.4 of a disqualification is a final administrative agency action.​

16.5 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 245C.31, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

16.6 Subdivision 1. Board determines disciplinary or corrective action. (a) When the​

16.7 subject of a background study is regulated by a health-related licensing board as defined in​

16.8 chapter 214, and the commissioner determines that the regulated individual is responsible​

16.9 for substantiated maltreatment under section 626.557 or chapter 260E, instead of the​

16.10 commissioner making a decision regarding disqualification, the board shall make a​

16.11 determination whether to impose disciplinary or corrective action under chapter 214 The​

16.12 commissioner shall notify a health-related licensing board as defined in section 214.01,​

16.13 subdivision 2, if the commissioner determines that an individual who is licensed by the​

16.14 health-related licensing board is responsible for substantiated maltreatment under section​

16.15 626.557 or chapter 260E, in accordance with subdivision 2. Upon receiving notification,​

16.16 the health-related licensing board shall make a determination as to whether to impose​

16.17 disciplinary or corrective action under chapter 214.​

16.18 (b) This section does not apply to a background study of an individual regulated by a​

16.19 health-related licensing board if the individual's study is related to child foster care, adult​

16.20 foster care, or family child care licensure.​

16.21 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 245C.31, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

16.22 Subd. 2. Commissioner's notice to board. (a) The commissioner shall notify the a​

16.23 health-related licensing board:​

16.24 (1) upon completion of a background study that produces of a record showing that the​

16.25 individual licensed by the board was determined to have been responsible for substantiated​

16.26 maltreatment;​

16.27 (2) upon the commissioner's completion of an investigation that determined the an​

16.28 individual licensed by the board was responsible for substantiated maltreatment; or​

16.29 (3) upon receipt from another agency of a finding of substantiated maltreatment for​

16.30 which the an individual licensed by the board was responsible.​
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17.1 (b) The commissioner's notice to the health-related licensing board shall indicate whether​

17.2 the commissioner would have disqualified the individual for the substantiated maltreatment​

17.3 if the individual were not regulated by the board.​

17.4 (c) The commissioner shall concurrently send the notice under this subdivision to the​

17.5 individual who is the subject of the background study notification.​

17.6 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 245C.31, is amended by adding a subdivision​

17.7 to read:​

17.8 Subd. 3a. Agreements with health-related licensing boards. The commissioner and​

17.9 each health-related licensing board shall enter into an agreement in order for each board to​

17.10 provide the commissioner with a quarterly roster list of individuals licensed by the board.​

17.11 The list must include for each licensed individual the individual's name, license number,​

17.12 the date the license was issued, and the status of the license.​

17.13 Sec. 15. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 16, section 2, subdivision 33,​

17.14 is amended to read:​

17.15 Subd. 33. Grant Programs; Chemical​
17.16 Dependency Treatment Support Grants​

17.17 Appropriations by Fund​

4,274,000​4,273,000​17.18 General​

1,733,000​1,733,000​17.19 Lottery Prize​

500,000​500,000​
17.20 Opiate Epidemic​
17.21 Response​

17.22 (a) Problem Gambling. $225,000 in fiscal​

17.23 year 2022 and $225,000 in fiscal year 2023​

17.24 are from the lottery prize fund for a grant to​

17.25 the state affiliate recognized by the National​

17.26 Council on Problem Gambling. The affiliate​

17.27 must provide services to increase public​

17.28 awareness of problem gambling, education,​

17.29 training for individuals and organizations​

17.30 providing effective treatment services to​

17.31 problem gamblers and their families, and​

17.32 research related to problem gambling.​
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18.1 (b) Recovery Community Organization​

18.2 Grants. $2,000,000 in fiscal year 2022 and​

18.3 $2,000,000 in fiscal year 2023 are from the​

18.4 general fund for grants to recovery community​

18.5 organizations, as defined in Minnesota​

18.6 Statutes, section 254B.01, subdivision 8, to​

18.7 provide for costs and community-based peer​

18.8 recovery support services that are not​

18.9 otherwise eligible for reimbursement under​

18.10 Minnesota Statutes, section 254B.05, as part​

18.11 of the continuum of care for substance use​

18.12 disorders. The general fund base for this​

18.13 appropriation is $2,000,000 in fiscal year 2024​

18.14 and $0 in fiscal year 2025​

18.15 (c) Base Level Adjustment. The general fund​

18.16 base is $4,636,000 $3,886,000 in fiscal year​

18.17 2024 and $2,636,000 $1,886,000 in fiscal year​

18.18 2025. The opiate epidemic response fund base​

18.19 is $500,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $0 in fiscal​

18.20 year 2025.​

18.21 Sec. 16. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF HEALTH; J-1 VISA WAIVER​

18.22 PROGRAM RECOMMENDATION.​

18.23 (a) For purposes of this section:​

18.24 (1) "Department of Health recommendation" means a recommendation from the state​

18.25 Department of Health that a foreign medical graduate should be considered for a J-1 visa​

18.26 waiver under the J-1 visa waiver program; and​

18.27 (2) "J-1 visa waiver program" means a program administered by the United States​

18.28 Department of State under United States Code, title 8, section 1184(l), in which a waiver​

18.29 is sought for the requirement that a foreign medical graduate with a J-1 visa must return to​

18.30 the graduate's home country for two years at the conclusion of the graduate's medical study​

18.31 before applying for employment authorization in the United States.​

18.32 (b) In administering the program to issue Department of Health recommendations for​

18.33 purposes of the J-1 visa waiver program, the commissioner of health shall allow an applicant​

18.34 to submit to the commissioner evidence that the foreign medical graduate for whom the​
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19.1 waiver is sought is licensed to practice medicine in Minnesota in place of evidence that the​

19.2 foreign medical graduate has passed steps 1, 2, and 3 of the United States Medical Licensing​

19.3 Examination.​

19.4 Sec. 17. BASE LEVEL ADJUSTMENT; FETAL ALCOHOL SPECTRUM​

19.5 DISORDERS PREVENTION GRANTS.​

19.6 The general fund base for the commissioner of health for health improvement is increased​

19.7 by $750,000 in fiscal year 2024 and increased by $750,000 in fiscal year 2025 for fetal​

19.8 alcohol spectrum disorders prevention grants under Minnesota Statutes, section 145.267.​

19.9 Sec. 18. APPROPRIATION.​

19.10 $103,000 in fiscal year 2023 is appropriated from the state government special revenue​

19.11 fund to the commissioner of health to implement requirements for submerged closed loop​

19.12 heat exchanger. The base for this appropriation is $86,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $86,000​

19.13 in fiscal year 2025.​

19.14 Sec. 19. REPEALER.​

19.15 Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 254A.21, is repealed, effective July 1, 2013.​

19.16 ARTICLE 2​

19.17 DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES AND HEALTH CARE​

19.18 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 256B.0371, subdivision 4, is​

19.19 amended to read:​

19.20 Subd. 4. Dental utilization report. (a) The commissioner shall submit an annual report​

19.21 beginning March 15, 2022, and ending March 15, 2026, to the chairs and ranking minority​

19.22 members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services​

19.23 policy and finance that includes the percentage for adults and children one through 20 years​

19.24 of age for the most recent complete calendar year receiving at least one dental visit for both​

19.25 fee-for-service and the prepaid medical assistance program. The report must include:​

19.26 (1) statewide utilization for both fee-for-service and for the prepaid medical assistance​

19.27 program;​

19.28 (2) utilization by county;​

19.29 (3) utilization by children receiving dental services through fee-for-service and through​

19.30 a managed care plan or county-based purchasing plan;​
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20.1 (4) utilization by adults receiving dental services through fee-for-service and through a​

20.2 managed care plan or county-based purchasing plan.​

20.3 (b) The report must also include a description of any corrective action plans required to​

20.4 be submitted under subdivision 2.​

20.5 (c) The initial report due on March 15, 2022, must include the utilization metrics described​

20.6 in paragraph (a) for each of the following calendar years: 2017, 2018, 2019, and 2020.​

20.7 (d) In the annual report due on March 15, 2023, and in each report due thereafter, the​

20.8 commissioner shall include the following:​

20.9 (1) the number of dentists enrolled with the commissioner as a medical assistance dental​

20.10 provider and the congressional district or districts in which the dentist provides services;​

20.11 (2) the number of enrolled dentists who provided fee-for-service dental services to​

20.12 medical assistance or MinnesotaCare patients within the previous calendar year in the​

20.13 following increments: one to nine patients, ten to 100 patients, and over 100 patients;​

20.14 (3) the number of enrolled dentists who provided dental services to medical assistance​

20.15 or MinnesotaCare patients through a managed care plan or county-based purchasing plan​

20.16 within the previous calendar year in the following increments: one to nine patients, ten to​

20.17 100 patients, and over 100 patients; and​

20.18 (4) the number of dentists who provided dental services to a new patient who was enrolled​

20.19 in medical assistance or MinnesotaCare within the previous calendar year.​

20.20 (e) The report due on March 15, 2023, must include the metrics described in paragraph​

20.21 (d) for each of the following years: 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, and 2021.​

20.22 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a subdivision​

20.23 to read:​

20.24 Subd. 13k. Vaccines and laboratory tests provided by pharmacists. (a) Medical​

20.25 assistance covers vaccines initiated, ordered, or administered by a licensed pharmacist,​

20.26 according to the requirements of section 151.01, subdivision 27, clause (6), at no less than​

20.27 the rate for which the same services are covered when provided by any other licensed​

20.28 practitioner.​

20.29 (b) Medical assistance covers laboratory tests ordered and performed by a licensed​

20.30 pharmacist, according to the requirements of section 151.01, subdivision 27, clause (3), at​

20.31 no less than the rate for which the same services are covered when provided by any other​

20.32 licensed practitioner.​

20​Article 2 Sec. 2.​

COUNSEL KC/SC SCS4198A-2​03/29/22 09:11 am ​



21.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023, or upon federal approval,​

21.2 whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes​

21.3 when federal approval is obtained.​

21.4 ARTICLE 3​

21.5 HEALTH-RELATED LICENSING BOARDS AND SCOPE OF PRACTICE​

21.6 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 144.051, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

21.7 Subd. 6. Release of private or confidential data. For providers regulated pursuant to​

21.8 sections 144A.43 to 144A.482, 148.5185, and chapter 144G, the department may release​

21.9 private or confidential data, except Social Security numbers, to the appropriate state, federal,​

21.10 or local agency and law enforcement office to enhance investigative or enforcement efforts​

21.11 or further a public health protective process. Types of offices include Adult Protective​

21.12 Services, Office of the Ombudsman for Long-Term Care and Office of the Ombudsman for​

21.13 Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities, the health licensing boards, Department of​

21.14 Human Services, county or city attorney's offices, police, and local or county public health​

21.15 offices.​

21.16 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 147.01, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

21.17 Subd. 7. Physician application and license fees. (a) The board may charge the following​

21.18 nonrefundable application and license fees processed pursuant to sections 147.02, 147.03,​

21.19 147.037, 147.0375, and 147.38:​

21.20 (1) physician application fee, $200;​

21.21 (2) physician annual registration renewal fee, $192;​

21.22 (3) physician endorsement to other states, $40;​

21.23 (4) physician emeritus license, $50;​

21.24 (5) physician temporary license, $60;​

21.25 (6) (5) physician late fee, $60;​

21.26 (7) (6) duplicate license fee, $20;​

21.27 (8) (7) certification letter fee, $25;​

21.28 (9) (8) education or training program approval fee, $100;​

21.29 (10) (9) report creation and generation fee, $60 per hour;​

21.30 (11) (10) examination administration fee (half day), $50;​
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22.1 (12) (11) examination administration fee (full day), $80;​

22.2 (13) (12) fees developed by the Interstate Commission for determining physician​

22.3 qualification to register and participate in the interstate medical licensure compact, as​

22.4 established in rules authorized in and pursuant to section 147.38, not to exceed $1,000; and​

22.5 (14) (13) verification fee, $25.​

22.6 (b) The board may prorate the initial annual license fee. All licensees are required to​

22.7 pay the full fee upon license renewal. The revenue generated from the fee must be deposited​

22.8 in an account in the state government special revenue fund.​

22.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

22.10 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 147.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

22.11 Subdivision 1. Endorsement; reciprocity. (a) The board may issue a license to practice​

22.12 medicine to any person who satisfies the requirements in paragraphs (b) to (e).​

22.13 (b) The applicant shall satisfy all the requirements established in section 147.02,​

22.14 subdivision 1, paragraphs (a), (b), (d), (e), and (f), or section 147.037, subdivision 1,​

22.15 paragraphs (a) to (e).​

22.16 (c) The applicant shall:​

22.17 (1) have passed an examination prepared and graded by the Federation of State Medical​

22.18 Boards, the National Board of Medical Examiners, or the United States Medical Licensing​

22.19 Examination (USMLE) program in accordance with section 147.02, subdivision 1, paragraph​

22.20 (c), clause (2); the National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners; or the Medical Council​

22.21 of Canada; and​

22.22 (2) have a current license from the equivalent licensing agency in another state or Canada​

22.23 and, if the examination in clause (1) was passed more than ten years ago, either:​

22.24 (i) pass the Special Purpose Examination of the Federation of State Medical Boards with​

22.25 a score of 75 or better within three attempts; or​

22.26 (ii) have a current certification by a specialty board of the American Board of Medical​

22.27 Specialties, of the American Osteopathic Association, the Royal College of Physicians and​

22.28 Surgeons of Canada, or of the College of Family Physicians of Canada; or​

22.29 (3) if the applicant fails to meet the requirement established in section 147.02, subdivision​

22.30 1, paragraph (c), clause (2), because the applicant failed to pass each of steps one, two, and​
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23.1 three of the USMLE within the required three attempts, the applicant may be granted a​

23.2 license provided the applicant:​

23.3 (i) has passed each of steps one, two, and three with passing scores as recommended by​

23.4 the USMLE program within no more than four attempts for any of the three steps;​

23.5 (ii) is currently licensed in another state; and​

23.6 (iii) has current certification by a specialty board of the American Board of Medical​

23.7 Specialties, the American Osteopathic Association Bureau of Professional Education, the​

23.8 Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, or the College of Family Physicians​

23.9 of Canada.​

23.10 (d) The applicant must not be under license suspension or revocation by the licensing​

23.11 board of the state or jurisdiction in which the conduct that caused the suspension or revocation​

23.12 occurred.​

23.13 (e) The applicant must not have engaged in conduct warranting disciplinary action against​

23.14 a licensee, or have been subject to disciplinary action other than as specified in paragraph​

23.15 (d). If an applicant does not satisfy the requirements stated in this paragraph, the board may​

23.16 issue a license only on the applicant's showing that the public will be protected through​

23.17 issuance of a license with conditions or limitations the board considers appropriate.​

23.18 (f) Upon the request of an applicant, the board may conduct the final interview of the​

23.19 applicant by teleconference.​

23.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

23.21 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 147.03, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

23.22 Subd. 2. Temporary permit. (a) An applicant for licensure under this section may​

23.23 request the board to issue a temporary permit in accordance with this subdivision. Upon​

23.24 receipt of the application for licensure, a request for a temporary permit, and a nonrefundable​

23.25 physician application fee specified under section 147.01, subdivision 7, the board may issue​

23.26 a temporary permit to practice medicine to as a physician eligible for licensure under this​

23.27 section only if the application for licensure is complete, all requirements in subdivision 1​

23.28 have been met, and a nonrefundable fee set by the board has been paid if the applicant is:​

23.29 (1) currently licensed in good standing to practice medicine as a physician in another​

23.30 state, territory, or Canadian province; and​

23.31 (2) not the subject of a pending investigation or disciplinary action in any state, territory,​

23.32 or Canadian province.​
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24.1 The permit remains (b) A temporary permit issued under this subdivision is nonrenewable​

24.2 and shall be valid only until the meeting of the board at which a decision is made on the​

24.3 physician's application for licensure or for 90 days, whichever occurs first.​

24.4 (c) The board may revoke a temporary permit that has been issued under this subdivision​

24.5 if the physician is the subject of an investigation or disciplinary action, or is disqualified​

24.6 for licensure for any other reason.​

24.7 (d) Notwithstanding section 13.41, subdivision 2, the board may release information​

24.8 regarding action taken by the board pursuant to this subdivision.​

24.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

24.10 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 147.037, is amended to read:​

24.11 147.037 LICENSING OF FOREIGN MEDICAL SCHOOL GRADUATES;​

24.12 TEMPORARY PERMIT.​

24.13 Subdivision 1. Requirements. The board shall issue a license to practice medicine to​

24.14 any person who satisfies the requirements in paragraphs (a) to (g).​

24.15 (a) The applicant shall satisfy all the requirements established in section 147.02,​

24.16 subdivision 1, paragraphs (a), (e), (f), (g), and (h).​

24.17 (b) The applicant shall present evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant is a​

24.18 graduate of a medical or osteopathic school approved by the board as equivalent to accredited​

24.19 United States or Canadian schools based upon its faculty, curriculum, facilities, accreditation,​

24.20 or other relevant data. If the applicant is a graduate of a medical or osteopathic program​

24.21 that is not accredited by the Liaison Committee for Medical Education or the American​

24.22 Osteopathic Association, the applicant may use the Federation of State Medical Boards'​

24.23 Federation Credentials Verification Service (FCVS) or its successor. If the applicant uses​

24.24 this service as allowed under this paragraph, the physician application fee may be less than​

24.25 $200 but must not exceed the cost of administering this paragraph.​

24.26 (c) The applicant shall present evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant has​

24.27 been awarded a certificate by the Educational Council for Foreign Medical Graduates, and​

24.28 the applicant has a working ability in the English language sufficient to communicate with​

24.29 patients and physicians and to engage in the practice of medicine.​

24.30 (d) The applicant shall present evidence satisfactory to the board of the completion of​

24.31 one year of graduate, clinical medical training in a program accredited by a national​

24.32 accrediting organization approved by the board or other graduate training approved in​
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25.1 advance by the board as meeting standards similar to those of a national accrediting​

25.2 organization. This requirement does not apply:​

25.3 (1) to an applicant who is admitted as a permanent immigrant to the United States on or​

25.4 before October 1, 1991, as a person of exceptional ability in the sciences according to Code​

25.5 of Federal Regulations, title 20, section 656.22(d); or​

25.6 (2) to an applicant holding a valid license to practice medicine in another country and​

25.7 issued a permanent immigrant visa after October 1, 1991, as a person of extraordinary ability​

25.8 in the field of science or as an outstanding professor or researcher according to Code of​

25.9 Federal Regulations, title 8, section 204.5(h) and (i), or a temporary nonimmigrant visa as​

25.10 a person of extraordinary ability in the field of science according to Code of Federal​

25.11 Regulations, title 8, section 214.2(o),​

25.12 provided that a person under clause (1) or (2) is admitted pursuant to rules of the United​

25.13 States Department of Labor.​

25.14 (e) The applicant must:​

25.15 (1) have passed an examination prepared and graded by the Federation of State Medical​

25.16 Boards, the United States Medical Licensing Examination program in accordance with​

25.17 section 147.02, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), clause (2), or the Medical Council of Canada;​

25.18 and​

25.19 (2) if the examination in clause (1) was passed more than ten years ago, either:​

25.20 (i) pass the Special Purpose Examination of the Federation of State Medical Boards with​

25.21 a score of 75 or better within three attempts; or​

25.22 (ii) have a current certification by a specialty board of the American Board of Medical​

25.23 Specialties, of the American Osteopathic Association, of the Royal College of Physicians​

25.24 and Surgeons of Canada, or of the College of Family Physicians of Canada; or​

25.25 (3) if the applicant fails to meet the requirement established in section 147.02, subdivision​

25.26 1, paragraph (c), clause (2), because the applicant failed to pass each of steps one, two, and​

25.27 three of the USMLE within the required three attempts, the applicant may be granted a​

25.28 license provided the applicant:​

25.29 (i) has passed each of steps one, two, and three with passing scores as recommended by​

25.30 the USMLE program within no more than four attempts for any of the three steps;​

25.31 (ii) is currently licensed in another state; and​
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26.1 (iii) has current certification by a specialty board of the American Board of Medical​

26.2 Specialties, the American Osteopathic Association, the Royal College of Physicians and​

26.3 Surgeons of Canada, or the College of Family Physicians of Canada.​

26.4 (f) The applicant must not be under license suspension or revocation by the licensing​

26.5 board of the state or jurisdiction in which the conduct that caused the suspension or revocation​

26.6 occurred.​

26.7 (g) The applicant must not have engaged in conduct warranting disciplinary action​

26.8 against a licensee, or have been subject to disciplinary action other than as specified in​

26.9 paragraph (f). If an applicant does not satisfy the requirements stated in this paragraph, the​

26.10 board may issue a license only on the applicant's showing that the public will be protected​

26.11 through issuance of a license with conditions or limitations the board considers appropriate.​

26.12 Subd. 1a. Temporary permit. The board may issue a temporary permit to practice​

26.13 medicine to a physician eligible for licensure under this section only if the application for​

26.14 licensure is complete, all requirements in subdivision 1 have been met, and a nonrefundable​

26.15 fee set by the board has been paid. The permit remains valid only until the meeting of the​

26.16 board at which a decision is made on the physician's application for licensure.​

26.17 Subd. 2. Medical school review. The board may contract with any qualified person or​

26.18 organization for the performance of a review or investigation, including site visits if​

26.19 necessary, of any medical or osteopathic school prior to approving the school under section​

26.20 147.02, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), or subdivision 1, paragraph (b), of this section. To the​

26.21 extent possible, the board shall require the school being reviewed to pay the costs of the​

26.22 review or investigation.​

26.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

26.24 Sec. 6. [147A.025] TEMPORARY PERMIT.​

26.25 (a) An applicant for licensure under section 147A.02, may request the board to issue a​

26.26 temporary permit in accordance with this section. Upon receipt of the application for​

26.27 licensure, a request for a temporary permit, and a nonrefundable physician assistant​

26.28 application fee as specified under section 147A.28, the board may issue a temporary permit​

26.29 to practice as a physician assistant if the applicant is:​

26.30 (1) currently licensed in good standing to practice as a physician assistant in another​

26.31 state, territory, or Canadian province; and​

26.32 (2) not subject to a pending investigation or disciplinary action in any state, territory, or​

26.33 Canadian province.​
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27.1 (b) A temporary permit issued under this section is nonrenewable and shall be valid until​

27.2 a decision is made on the physician assistant's application for licensure or for 90 days,​

27.3 whichever occurs first.​

27.4 (c) The board may revoke the temporary permit that has been issued under this section​

27.5 if the applicant is the subject of an investigation or disciplinary action or is disqualified for​

27.6 licensure for any other reason.​

27.7 (d) Notwithstanding section 13.41, subdivision 2, the board may release information​

27.8 regarding any action taken by the board pursuant to this section.​

27.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

27.10 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 147A.28, is amended to read:​

27.11 147A.28 PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT APPLICATION AND LICENSE FEES.​

27.12 (a) The board may charge the following nonrefundable fees:​

27.13 (1) physician assistant application fee, $120;​

27.14 (2) physician assistant annual registration renewal fee (prescribing authority), $135;​

27.15 (3) (2) physician assistant annual registration license renewal fee (no prescribing​

27.16 authority), $115;​

27.17 (4) physician assistant temporary registration, $115;​

27.18 (5) physician assistant temporary permit, $60;​

27.19 (6) (3) physician assistant locum tenens permit, $25;​

27.20 (7) (4) physician assistant late fee, $50;​

27.21 (8) (5) duplicate license fee, $20;​

27.22 (9) (6) certification letter fee, $25;​

27.23 (10) (7) education or training program approval fee, $100;​

27.24 (11) (8) report creation and generation fee, $60 per hour; and​

27.25 (12) (9) verification fee, $25.​

27.26 (b) The board may prorate the initial annual license fee. All licensees are required to​

27.27 pay the full fee upon license renewal. The revenue generated from the fees must be deposited​

27.28 in an account in the state government special revenue fund.​

27.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​
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28.1 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 147C.15, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

28.2 Subd. 3. Temporary permit. (a) An applicant for licensure under this section may​

28.3 request the board to issue a temporary permit in accordance with this subdivision. Upon​

28.4 receipt of the application for licensure, a request for a temporary permit, and a nonrefundable​

28.5 respiratory therapist application fee as specified under section 147C.40, subdivision 5, the​

28.6 board may issue a temporary permit to practice as a respiratory therapist to an applicant​

28.7 eligible for licensure under this section if the application for licensure is complete, all​

28.8 applicable requirements in this section have been met, and a nonrefundable fee set by the​

28.9 board has been paid applicant is:​

28.10 (1) currently licensed to practice as a respiratory therapist in another state, territory, or​

28.11 Canadian province; and​

28.12 (2) not subject to a pending investigation or disciplinary action in any state, territory, or​

28.13 Canadian province.​

28.14 The (b) A temporary permit remains issued under this subdivision is nonrenewable and​

28.15 shall remain valid only until the meeting of the board at which a decision is made on the​

28.16 respiratory therapist's application for licensure or for 90 days, whichever occurs first.​

28.17 (c) The board may revoke a temporary permit that has been issued under this subdivision​

28.18 if the applicant is the subject of an investigation or disciplinary action or is disqualified for​

28.19 licensure for any other reason.​

28.20 (d) Notwithstanding section 13.41, subdivision 2, the board may release information​

28.21 regarding any action taken by a board pursuant to this section.​

28.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

28.23 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 147C.40, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

28.24 Subd. 5. Respiratory therapist application and license fees. (a) The board may charge​

28.25 the following nonrefundable fees:​

28.26 (1) respiratory therapist application fee, $100;​

28.27 (2) respiratory therapist annual registration renewal fee, $90;​

28.28 (3) respiratory therapist inactive status fee, $50;​

28.29 (4) respiratory therapist temporary registration fee, $90;​

28.30 (5) respiratory therapist temporary permit, $60;​

28.31 (6) (5) respiratory therapist late fee, $50;​
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29.1 (7) (6) duplicate license fee, $20;​

29.2 (8) (7) certification letter fee, $25;​

29.3 (9) (8) education or training program approval fee, $100;​

29.4 (10) (9) report creation and generation fee, $60 per hour; and​

29.5 (11) (10) verification fee, $25.​

29.6 (b) The board may prorate the initial annual license fee. All licensees are required to​

29.7 pay the full fee upon license renewal. The revenue generated from the fees must be deposited​

29.8 in an account in the state government special revenue fund.​

29.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

29.10 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 148.212, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

29.11 Subdivision 1. Issuance. Upon receipt of the applicable licensure or reregistration fee​

29.12 and permit fee, and in accordance with rules of the board, the board may issue a nonrenewable​

29.13 temporary permit to practice professional or practical nursing to an applicant for licensure​

29.14 or reregistration who is not the subject of a pending investigation or disciplinary action, nor​

29.15 disqualified for any other reason, under the following circumstances:​

29.16 (a) The applicant for licensure by endorsement under section 148.211, subdivision 2, is​

29.17 currently licensed to practice professional or practical nursing in another state, territory, or​

29.18 Canadian province. The permit is valid until the date of board action on the application or​

29.19 for 60 90 days, whichever comes first.​

29.20 (b) The applicant for licensure by endorsement under section 148.211, subdivision 2,​

29.21 or for reregistration under section 148.231, subdivision 5, is currently registered in a formal,​

29.22 structured refresher course or its equivalent for nurses that includes clinical practice.​

29.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

29.24 Sec. 11. [148.2855] NURSE LICENSURE COMPACT.​

29.25 The Nurse Licensure Compact is enacted into law and entered into with all other​

29.26 jurisdictions legally joining in it, in the form substantially as follows:​

29.27 ARTICLE 1​

29.28 DEFINITIONS​

29.29 As used in this compact:​
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30.1 (a) "Adverse action" means any administrative, civil, equitable, or criminal action​

30.2 permitted by a state's law that is imposed by a licensing board or other authority against a​

30.3 nurse, including actions against an individual's license or multistate licensure privilege such​

30.4 as revocation, suspension, probation, monitoring of the licensee, limitation on the licensee's​

30.5 practice, or any other encumbrance on licensure affecting a nurse's authorization to practice,​

30.6 including issuance of a cease and desist action.​

30.7 (b) "Alternative program" means a nondisciplinary monitoring program approved by a​

30.8 licensing board.​

30.9 (c) "Coordinated licensure information system" means an integrated process for collecting,​

30.10 storing, and sharing information on nurse licensure and enforcement activities related to​

30.11 nurse licensure laws that is administered by a nonprofit organization composed of and​

30.12 controlled by licensing boards.​

30.13 (d) "Current significant investigative information" means:​

30.14 (1) investigative information that a licensing board, after a preliminary inquiry that​

30.15 includes notification and an opportunity for the nurse to respond, if required by state law,​

30.16 has reason to believe is not groundless and, if proved true, would indicate more than a minor​

30.17 infraction; or​

30.18 (2) investigative information that indicates that the nurse represents an immediate threat​

30.19 to public health and safety, regardless of whether the nurse has been notified and had an​

30.20 opportunity to respond.​

30.21 (e) "Encumbrance" means a revocation or suspension of, or any limitation on, the full​

30.22 and unrestricted practice of nursing imposed by a licensing board.​

30.23 (f) "Home state" means the party state that is the nurse's primary state of residence.​

30.24 (g) "Licensing board" means a party state's regulatory body responsible for issuing nurse​

30.25 licenses.​

30.26 (h) "Multistate license" means a license to practice as a registered or a licensed​

30.27 practical/vocational nurse (LPN/VN) issued by a home state licensing board that authorizes​

30.28 the licensed nurse to practice in all party states under a multistate licensure privilege.​

30.29 (i) "Multistate licensure privilege" means a legal authorization associated with a multistate​

30.30 license permitting the practice of nursing as either a registered nurse (RN) or LPN/VN in​

30.31 a remote state.​
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31.1 (j) "Nurse" means an RN or LPN/VN, as those terms are defined by each party state's​

31.2 practice laws.​

31.3 (k) "Party state" means any state that has adopted this compact.​

31.4 (l) "Remote state" means a party state other than the home state.​

31.5 (m) "Single-state license" means a nurse license issued by a party state that authorizes​

31.6 practice only within the issuing state and does not include a multistate licensure privilege​

31.7 to practice in any other party state.​

31.8 (n) "State" means a state, territory, or possession of the United States and the District​

31.9 of Columbia.​

31.10 (o) "State practice laws" means a party state's laws, rules, and regulations that govern​

31.11 the practice of nursing, define the scope of nursing practice, and create the methods and​

31.12 grounds for imposing discipline. State practice laws do not include requirements necessary​

31.13 to obtain and retain a license, except for qualifications or requirements of the home state.​

31.14 ARTICLE 2​

31.15 GENERAL PROVISIONS AND JURISDICTION​

31.16 (a) A multistate license to practice registered or licensed practical/vocational nursing​

31.17 issued by a home state to a resident in that state will be recognized by each party state as​

31.18 authorizing a nurse to practice as an RN or LPN/VN under a multistate licensure privilege​

31.19 in each party state.​

31.20 (b) A state must implement procedures for considering the criminal history records of​

31.21 applicants for initial multistate license or licensure by endorsement. The procedures shall​

31.22 include the submission of fingerprints or other biometric-based information by applicants​

31.23 for the purpose of obtaining an applicant's criminal history record information from the​

31.24 Federal Bureau of Investigation and the agency responsible for retaining that state's criminal​

31.25 records.​

31.26 (c) Each party state shall require the following for an applicant to obtain or retain a​

31.27 multistate license in the home state:​

31.28 (1) meets the home state's qualifications for licensure or renewal of licensure, as well​

31.29 as all other applicable state laws;​

31.30 (2)(i) has graduated or is eligible to graduate from a licensing board-approved RN or​

31.31 LPN/VN prelicensure education program; or​

31.32 (ii) has graduated from a foreign RN or LPN/VN prelicensure education program that:​
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32.1 (A) has been approved by the authorized accrediting body in the applicable country; and​

32.2 (B) has been verified by an independent credentials review agency to be comparable to​

32.3 a licensing board-approved prelicensure education program;​

32.4 (3) has, if a graduate of a foreign prelicensure education program not taught in English​

32.5 or if English is not the individual's native language, successfully passed an English​

32.6 proficiency examination that includes the components of reading, speaking, writing, and​

32.7 listening;​

32.8 (4) has successfully passed an NCLEX-RN or NCLEX-PN Examination or recognized​

32.9 predecessor, as applicable;​

32.10 (5) is eligible for or holds an active, unencumbered license;​

32.11 (6) has submitted, in connection with an application for initial licensure or licensure by​

32.12 endorsement, fingerprints or other biometric data for the purpose of obtaining criminal​

32.13 history record information from the Federal Bureau of Investigation and the agency​

32.14 responsible for retaining that state's criminal records;​

32.15 (7) has not been convicted or found guilty, or has entered into an agreed disposition, of​

32.16 a felony offense under applicable state or federal criminal law;​

32.17 (8) has not been convicted or found guilty, or has entered into an agreed disposition, of​

32.18 a misdemeanor offense related to the practice of nursing as determined on a case-by-case​

32.19 basis;​

32.20 (9) is not currently enrolled in an alternative program;​

32.21 (10) is subject to self-disclosure requirements regarding current participation in an​

32.22 alternative program; and​

32.23 (11) has a valid United States Social Security number.​

32.24 (d) All party states shall be authorized, in accordance with existing state due process​

32.25 law, to take adverse action against a nurse's multistate licensure privilege such as revocation,​

32.26 suspension, probation, or any other action that affects a nurse's authorization to practice​

32.27 under a multistate licensure privilege, including cease and desist actions. If a party state​

32.28 takes such action, it shall promptly notify the administrator of the coordinated licensure​

32.29 information system. The administrator of the coordinated licensure information system shall​

32.30 promptly notify the home state of any such actions by remote states.​

32.31 (e) A nurse practicing in a party state must comply with the state practice laws of the​

32.32 state in which the client is located at the time service is provided. The practice of nursing​
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33.1 is not limited to patient care, but shall include all nursing practice as defined by the state​

33.2 practice laws of the party state in which the client is located. The practice of nursing in a​

33.3 party state under a multistate licensure privilege shall subject a nurse to the jurisdiction of​

33.4 the licensing board, the courts, and the laws of the party state in which the client is located​

33.5 at the time service is provided.​

33.6 (f) Individuals not residing in a party state shall continue to be able to apply for a party​

33.7 state's single-state license as provided under the laws of each party state. However, the​

33.8 single-state license granted to these individuals will not be recognized as granting the​

33.9 privilege to practice nursing in any other party state. Nothing in this compact shall affect​

33.10 the requirements established by a party state for the issuance of a single-state license.​

33.11 (g) Any nurse holding a home state multistate license, on the effective date of this​

33.12 compact, may retain and renew the multistate license issued by the nurse's then-current​

33.13 home state, provided that:​

33.14 (1) a nurse, who changes primary state of residence after this compact's effective date,​

33.15 must meet all applicable paragraph (c) requirements to obtain a multistate license from a​

33.16 new home state; or​

33.17 (2) a nurse who fails to satisfy the multistate licensure requirements in paragraph (c)​

33.18 due to a disqualifying event occurring after this compact's effective date shall be ineligible​

33.19 to retain or renew a multistate license, and the nurse's multistate license shall be revoked​

33.20 or deactivated in accordance with applicable rules adopted by the Interstate Commission​

33.21 of Nurse Licensure Compact Administrators ("Commission").​

33.22 ARTICLE 3​

33.23 APPLICATIONS FOR LICENSURE IN A PARTY STATE​

33.24 (a) Upon application for a multistate license, the licensing board in the issuing party​

33.25 state shall ascertain, through the coordinated licensure information system, whether the​

33.26 applicant has ever held or is the holder of a license issued by any other state, whether there​

33.27 are any encumbrances on any license or multistate licensure privilege held by the applicant,​

33.28 whether any adverse action has been taken against any license or multistate licensure privilege​

33.29 held by the applicant, and whether the applicant is currently participating in an alternative​

33.30 program.​

33.31 (b) A nurse may hold a multistate license issued by the home state in only one party​

33.32 state at a time.​

33​Article 3 Sec. 11.​

COUNSEL KC/SC SCS4198A-2​03/29/22 09:11 am ​



34.1 (c) If a nurse changes primary state of residence by moving between two party states,​

34.2 the nurse must apply for licensure in the new home state, and the multistate license issued​

34.3 by the prior home state will be deactivated in accordance with applicable rules adopted by​

34.4 the commission:​

34.5 (1) the nurse may apply for licensure in advance of a change in primary state of residence;​

34.6 and​

34.7 (2) a multistate license shall not be issued by the new home state until the nurse provides​

34.8 satisfactory evidence of a change in primary state of residence to the new home state and​

34.9 satisfies all applicable requirements to obtain a multistate license from the new home state.​

34.10 (d) If a nurse changes primary state of residence by moving from a party state to a​

34.11 nonparty state, the multistate license issued by the prior home state will convert to a​

34.12 single-state license, valid only in the former home state.​

34.13 ARTICLE 4​

34.14 ADDITIONAL AUTHORITIES INVESTED IN PARTY STATE LICENSING BOARDS​

34.15 (a) In addition to the other powers conferred by state law, a licensing board shall have​

34.16 the authority to:​

34.17 (1) take adverse action against a nurse's multistate licensure privilege to practice within​

34.18 that party state:​

34.19 (i) only the home state shall have the power to take adverse action against a nurse's​

34.20 license issued by the home state; and​

34.21 (ii) for purposes of taking adverse action, the home state licensing board shall give the​

34.22 same priority and effect to reported conduct received from a remote state as it would if the​

34.23 conduct occurred within the home state. In so doing, the home state shall apply its own state​

34.24 laws to determine appropriate action;​

34.25 (2) issue cease and desist orders or impose an encumbrance on a nurse's authority to​

34.26 practice within that party state;​

34.27 (3) complete any pending investigations of a nurse who changes primary state of residence​

34.28 during the course of the investigations. The licensing board shall also have the authority to​

34.29 take appropriate action and shall promptly report the conclusions of the investigations to​

34.30 the administrator of the coordinated licensure information system. The administrator of the​

34.31 coordinated licensure information system shall promptly notify the new home state of any​

34.32 such actions;​
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35.1 (4) issue subpoenas for hearings and investigations that require the attendance and​

35.2 testimony of witnesses, as well as the production of evidence. Subpoenas issued by a licensing​

35.3 board in a party state for the attendance and testimony of witnesses or the production of​

35.4 evidence from another party state shall be enforced in the latter state by any court of​

35.5 competent jurisdiction according to the practice and procedure of that court applicable to​

35.6 subpoenas issued in proceedings pending before it. The issuing authority shall pay any​

35.7 witness fees, travel expenses, mileage, and other fees required by the service statutes of the​

35.8 state in which the witnesses or evidence are located;​

35.9 (5) obtain and submit, for each nurse licensure applicant, fingerprint or other​

35.10 biometric-based information to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for criminal background​

35.11 checks, receive the results of the Federal Bureau of Investigation record search on criminal​

35.12 background checks, and use the results in making licensure decisions;​

35.13 (6) if otherwise permitted by state law, recover from the affected nurse the costs of​

35.14 investigations and disposition of cases resulting from any adverse action taken against that​

35.15 nurse; and​

35.16 (7) take adverse action based on the factual findings of the remote state, provided that​

35.17 the licensing board follows its own procedures for taking such adverse action.​

35.18 (b) If adverse action is taken by the home state against a nurse's multistate license, the​

35.19 nurse's multistate licensure privilege to practice in all other party states shall be deactivated​

35.20 until all encumbrances have been removed from the multistate license. All home state​

35.21 disciplinary orders that impose adverse action against a nurse's multistate license shall​

35.22 include a statement that the nurse's multistate licensure privilege is deactivated in all party​

35.23 states during the pendency of the order.​

35.24 (c) Nothing in this compact shall override a party state's decision that participation in​

35.25 an alternative program may be used in lieu of adverse action. The home state licensing board​

35.26 shall deactivate the multistate licensure privilege under the multistate license of any nurse​

35.27 for the duration of the nurse's participation in an alternative program.​

35.28 ARTICLE 5​

35.29 COORDINATED LICENSURE INFORMATION SYSTEM AND EXCHANGE OF​

35.30 INFORMATION​

35.31 (a) All party states shall participate in a coordinated licensure information system of​

35.32 RNs and LPNs. The system will include information on the licensure and disciplinary history​
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36.1 of each nurse, as submitted by party states, to assist in the coordination of nurse licensure​

36.2 and enforcement efforts.​

36.3 (b) The commission, in consultation with the administrator of the coordinated licensure​

36.4 information system, shall formulate necessary and proper procedures for the identification,​

36.5 collection, and exchange of information under this compact.​

36.6 (c) All licensing boards shall promptly report to the coordinated licensure information​

36.7 system any adverse action, any current significant investigative information, denials of​

36.8 applications, including the reasons for the denials, and nurse participation in alternative​

36.9 programs known to the licensing board, regardless of whether the participation is deemed​

36.10 nonpublic or confidential under state law.​

36.11 (d) Current significant investigative information and participation in nonpublic or​

36.12 confidential alternative programs shall be transmitted through the coordinated licensure​

36.13 information system only to party state licensing boards.​

36.14 (e) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, all party state licensing boards​

36.15 contributing information to the coordinated licensure information system may designate​

36.16 information that shall not be shared with nonparty states or disclosed to other entities or​

36.17 individuals without the express permission of the contributing state.​

36.18 (f) Any personally identifiable information obtained from the coordinated licensure​

36.19 information system by a party state licensing board shall not be shared with nonparty states​

36.20 or disclosed to other entities or individuals except to the extent permitted by the laws of the​

36.21 party state contributing the information.​

36.22 (g) Any information contributed to the coordinated licensure information system that is​

36.23 subsequently required to be expunged by the laws of the party state contributing that​

36.24 information shall also be expunged from the coordinated licensure information system.​

36.25 (h) The compact administrator of each party state shall furnish a uniform data set to the​

36.26 compact administrator of each other party state, which shall include, at a minimum:​

36.27 (1) identifying information;​

36.28 (2) licensure data;​

36.29 (3) information related to alternative program participation; and​

36.30 (4) other information that may facilitate the administration of this compact, as determined​

36.31 by commission rules.​
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37.1 (i) The compact administrator of a party state shall provide all investigative documents​

37.2 and information requested by another party state.​

37.3 ARTICLE 6​

37.4 ESTABLISHMENT OF THE INTERSTATE COMMISSION OF NURSE LICENSURE​

37.5 COMPACT ADMINISTRATORS​

37.6 (a) The party states hereby create and establish a joint public entity known as the Interstate​

37.7 Commission of Nurse Licensure Compact Administrators:​

37.8 (1) the commission is an instrumentality of the party states;​

37.9 (2) venue is proper, and judicial proceedings by or against the commission shall be​

37.10 brought solely and exclusively in a court of competent jurisdiction where the principal office​

37.11 of the commission is located. The commission may waive venue and jurisdictional defenses​

37.12 to the extent it adopts or consents to participate in alternative dispute resolution proceedings;​

37.13 and​

37.14 (3) nothing in this compact shall be construed to be a waiver of sovereign immunity.​

37.15 (b) Membership, voting, and meetings:​

37.16 (1) each party state shall have and be limited to one administrator. The head of the state​

37.17 licensing board or designee shall be the administrator of this compact for each party state.​

37.18 Any administrator may be removed or suspended from office as provided by the laws of​

37.19 the state from which the administrator is appointed. Any vacancy occurring in the commission​

37.20 shall be filled in accordance with the laws of the party state in which the vacancy exists;​

37.21 (2) each administrator shall be entitled to one vote with regard to the promulgation of​

37.22 rules and creation of bylaws and shall otherwise have an opportunity to participate in the​

37.23 business and affairs of the commission. An administrator shall vote in person or by such​

37.24 other means as provided in the bylaws. The bylaws may provide for an administrator's​

37.25 participation in meetings by telephone or other means of communication;​

37.26 (3) the commission shall meet at least once during each calendar year. Additional​

37.27 meetings shall be held as set forth in the bylaws or rules of the commission;​

37.28 (4) all meetings shall be open to the public, and public notice of meetings shall be given​

37.29 in the same manner as required under the rulemaking provisions in article 7;​

37.30 (5) the commission may convene in a closed, nonpublic meeting if the commission must​

37.31 discuss:​

37.32 (i) noncompliance of a party state with its obligations under this compact;​
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38.1 (ii) the employment, compensation, discipline, or other personnel matters, practices, or​

38.2 procedures related to specific employees or other matters related to the commission's internal​

38.3 personnel practices and procedures;​

38.4 (iii) current, threatened, or reasonably anticipated litigation;​

38.5 (iv) negotiation of contracts for the purchase or sale of goods, services, or real estate;​

38.6 (v) accusing any person of a crime or formally censuring any person;​

38.7 (vi) disclosure of trade secrets or commercial or financial information that is privileged​

38.8 or confidential;​

38.9 (vii) disclosure of information of a personal nature where disclosure would constitute a​

38.10 clearly unwarranted invasion of personal privacy;​

38.11 (viii) disclosure of investigatory records compiled for law enforcement purposes;​

38.12 (ix) disclosure of information related to any reports prepared by or on behalf of the​

38.13 commission for the purpose of investigation of compliance with this compact; or​

38.14 (x) matters specifically exempted from disclosure by federal or state statute; and​

38.15 (6) if a meeting or portion of a meeting is closed pursuant to this provision, the​

38.16 commission's legal counsel or designee shall certify that the meeting may be closed and​

38.17 shall reference each relevant exempting provision. The commission shall keep minutes that​

38.18 fully and clearly describe all matters discussed in a meeting and shall provide a full and​

38.19 accurate summary of actions taken and the reasons therefore, including a description of the​

38.20 views expressed. All documents considered in connection with an action shall be identified​

38.21 in the minutes. All minutes and documents of a closed meeting shall remain under seal,​

38.22 subject to release by a majority vote of the commission or order of a court of competent​

38.23 jurisdiction.​

38.24 (c) The commission shall, by a majority vote of the administrators, prescribe bylaws or​

38.25 rules to govern its conduct as may be necessary or appropriate to carry out the purposes and​

38.26 exercise the powers of this compact, including but not limited to:​

38.27 (1) establishing the fiscal year of the commission;​

38.28 (2) providing reasonable standards and procedures:​

38.29 (i) for the establishment and meetings of other committees; and​

38.30 (ii) governing any general or specific delegation of any authority or function of the​

38.31 commission;​
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39.1 (3) providing reasonable procedures for calling and conducting meetings of the​

39.2 commission, ensuring reasonable advance notice of all meetings and providing an opportunity​

39.3 for attendance of the meetings by interested parties, with enumerated exceptions designed​

39.4 to protect the public's interest, the privacy of individuals, and proprietary information,​

39.5 including trade secrets. The commission may meet in closed session only after a majority​

39.6 of the administrators vote to close a meeting in whole or in part. As soon as practicable, the​

39.7 commission must make public a copy of the vote to close the meeting revealing the vote of​

39.8 each administrator, with no proxy votes allowed;​

39.9 (4) establishing the titles, duties, and authority and reasonable procedures for the election​

39.10 of the officers of the commission;​

39.11 (5) providing reasonable standards and procedures for the establishment of the personnel​

39.12 policies and programs of the commission. Notwithstanding any civil service or other similar​

39.13 laws of any party state, the bylaws shall exclusively govern the personnel policies and​

39.14 programs of the commission; and​

39.15 (6) providing a mechanism for winding up the operations of the commission and the​

39.16 equitable disposition of any surplus funds that may exist after the termination of this compact​

39.17 after the payment or reserving of all of its debts and obligations.​

39.18 (d) The commission shall publish its bylaws, rules, and any amendments in a convenient​

39.19 form on the website of the commission.​

39.20 (e) The commission shall maintain its financial records in accordance with the bylaws.​

39.21 (f) The commission shall meet and take actions consistent with the provisions of this​

39.22 compact and the bylaws.​

39.23 (g) The commission shall have the following powers:​

39.24 (1) to promulgate uniform rules to facilitate and coordinate implementation and​

39.25 administration of this compact. The rules shall have the force and effect of law and shall​

39.26 be binding in all party states;​

39.27 (2) to bring and prosecute legal proceedings or actions in the name of the commission,​

39.28 provided that the standing of any licensing board to sue or be sued under applicable law​

39.29 shall not be affected;​

39.30 (3) to purchase and maintain insurance and bonds;​

39.31 (4) to borrow, accept, or contract for services of personnel, including but not limited to​

39.32 employees of a party state or nonprofit organizations;​
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40.1 (5) to cooperate with other organizations that administer state compacts related to the​

40.2 regulation of nursing, including but not limited to sharing administrative or staff expenses,​

40.3 office space, or other resources;​

40.4 (6) to hire employees, elect or appoint officers, fix compensation, define duties, grant​

40.5 such individuals appropriate authority to carry out the purposes of this compact, and establish​

40.6 the commission's personnel policies and programs relating to conflicts of interest,​

40.7 qualifications of personnel, and other related personnel matters;​

40.8 (7) to accept any and all appropriate donations, grants, and gifts of money, equipment,​

40.9 supplies, materials, and services, and to receive, utilize, and dispose of the same; provided​

40.10 that at all times the commission shall avoid any appearance of impropriety or conflict of​

40.11 interest;​

40.12 (8) to lease, purchase, accept appropriate gifts or donations of, or otherwise to own,​

40.13 hold, improve, or use any property, whether real, personal, or mixed; provided that at all​

40.14 times the commission shall avoid any appearance of impropriety;​

40.15 (9) to sell, convey, mortgage, pledge, lease, exchange, abandon, or otherwise dispose​

40.16 of any property, whether real, personal, or mixed;​

40.17 (10) to establish a budget and make expenditures;​

40.18 (11) to borrow money;​

40.19 (12) to appoint committees, including advisory committees comprised of administrators,​

40.20 state nursing regulators, state legislators or their representatives, and consumer​

40.21 representatives, and other such interested persons;​

40.22 (13) to provide and receive information from, and to cooperate with, law enforcement​

40.23 agencies;​

40.24 (14) to adopt and use an official seal; and​

40.25 (15) to perform other functions as may be necessary or appropriate to achieve the purposes​

40.26 of this compact consistent with the state regulation of nurse licensure and practice.​

40.27 (h) Financing of the commission:​

40.28 (1) the commission shall pay or provide for the payment of the reasonable expenses of​

40.29 its establishment, organization, and ongoing activities;​

40.30 (2) the commission may also levy on and collect an annual assessment from each party​

40.31 state to cover the cost of its operations, activities, and staff in its annual budget as approved​

40.32 each year. The aggregate annual assessment amount, if any, shall be allocated based on a​
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41.1 formula to be determined by the commission, which shall promulgate a rule that is binding​

41.2 upon all party states;​

41.3 (3) the commission shall not incur obligations of any kind prior to securing the funds​

41.4 adequate to meet the same; nor shall the commission pledge the credit of any of the party​

41.5 states, except by and with the authority of the party state; and​

41.6 (4) the commission shall keep accurate accounts of all receipts and disbursements. The​

41.7 receipts and disbursements of the commission shall be subject to the audit and accounting​

41.8 procedures established under its bylaws. However, all receipts and disbursements of funds​

41.9 handled by the commission shall be audited yearly by a certified or licensed public​

41.10 accountant, and the report of the audit shall be included in and become part of the annual​

41.11 report of the commission.​

41.12 (i) Qualified immunity, defense, and indemnification:​

41.13 (1) the administrators, officers, executive director, employees, and representatives of​

41.14 the commission shall be immune from suit and liability, either personally or in their official​

41.15 capacity, for any claim for damage to or loss of property or personal injury or other civil​

41.16 liability caused by or arising out of any actual or alleged act, error, or omission that occurred,​

41.17 or that the person against whom the claim is made had a reasonable basis for believing​

41.18 occurred, within the scope of commission employment, duties, or responsibilities; provided​

41.19 that nothing in this paragraph shall be construed to protect any such person from suit or​

41.20 liability for any damage, loss, injury, or liability caused by the intentional, willful, or wanton​

41.21 misconduct of that person;​

41.22 (2) the commission shall defend any administrator, officer, executive director, employee,​

41.23 or representative of the commission in any civil action seeking to impose liability arising​

41.24 out of any actual or alleged act, error, or omission that occurred within the scope of​

41.25 commission employment, duties, or responsibilities, or that the person against whom the​

41.26 claim is made had a reasonable basis for believing occurred within the scope of commission​

41.27 employment, duties, or responsibilities; provided that nothing herein shall be construed to​

41.28 prohibit that person from retaining the person's counsel; and provided further that the actual​

41.29 or alleged act, error, or omission did not result from that person's intentional, willful, or​

41.30 wanton misconduct; and​

41.31 (3) the commission shall indemnify and hold harmless any administrator, officer,​

41.32 executive director, employee, or representative of the commission for the amount of any​

41.33 settlement or judgment obtained against that person arising out of any actual or alleged act,​

41.34 error, or omission that occurred within the scope of commission employment, duties, or​
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42.1 responsibilities, or that the person had a reasonable basis for believing occurred within the​

42.2 scope of commission employment, duties, or responsibilities, provided that the actual or​

42.3 alleged act, error, or omission did not result from the intentional, willful, or wanton​

42.4 misconduct of that person.​

42.5 ARTICLE 7​

42.6 RULEMAKING​

42.7 (a) The commission shall exercise its rulemaking powers pursuant to this article and the​

42.8 rules adopted thereunder. Rules and amendments shall become binding as of the date​

42.9 specified in each rule or amendment and shall have the same force and effect as provisions​

42.10 of this compact.​

42.11 (b) Rules or amendments to the rules shall be adopted at a regular or special meeting of​

42.12 the commission.​

42.13 (c) Prior to promulgation and adoption of a final rule or rules by the commission, and​

42.14 at least 60 days in advance of the meeting at which the rule will be considered and voted​

42.15 on, the commission shall file a notice of proposed rulemaking:​

42.16 (1) on the website of the commission; and​

42.17 (2) on the website of each licensing board or the publication in which the state would​

42.18 otherwise publish proposed rules.​

42.19 (d) The notice of proposed rulemaking shall include:​

42.20 (1) the proposed time, date, and location of the meeting in which the rule will be​

42.21 considered and voted on;​

42.22 (2) the text of the proposed rule or amendment, and the reason for the proposed rule;​

42.23 (3) a request for comments on the proposed rule from any interested person; and​

42.24 (4) the manner in which interested persons may submit notice to the commission of their​

42.25 intention to attend the public hearing and any written comments.​

42.26 (e) Prior to adoption of a proposed rule, the commission shall allow persons to submit​

42.27 written data, facts, opinions, and arguments that shall be made available to the public.​

42.28 (f) The commission shall grant an opportunity for a public hearing before it adopts a​

42.29 rule or amendment.​

42.30 (g) The commission shall publish the place, time, and date of the scheduled public​

42.31 hearing:​
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43.1 (1) hearings shall be conducted in a manner providing each person who wishes to​

43.2 comment a fair and reasonable opportunity to comment orally or in writing. All hearings​

43.3 will be recorded and a copy will be made available upon request; and​

43.4 (2) nothing in this section shall be construed as requiring a separate hearing on each​

43.5 rule. Rules may be grouped for the convenience of the commission at hearings required by​

43.6 this section.​

43.7 (h) If no person appears at the public hearing, the commission may proceed with​

43.8 promulgation of the proposed rule.​

43.9 (i) Following the scheduled hearing date or by the close of business on the scheduled​

43.10 hearing date if the hearing was not held, the commission shall consider all written and oral​

43.11 comments received.​

43.12 (j) The commission shall, by majority vote of all administrators, take final action on the​

43.13 proposed rule and shall determine the effective date of the rule, if any, based on the​

43.14 rulemaking record and the full text of the rule.​

43.15 (k) Upon determination that an emergency exists, the commission may consider and​

43.16 adopt an emergency rule without prior notice or opportunity for comment or hearing,​

43.17 provided that the usual rulemaking procedures provided in this compact and in this section​

43.18 shall be retroactively applied to the rule as soon as reasonably possible, in no event later​

43.19 than 90 days after the effective date of the rule. For the purposes of this provision, an​

43.20 emergency rule is one that must be adopted immediately in order to:​

43.21 (1) meet an imminent threat to public health, safety, or welfare;​

43.22 (2) prevent a loss of commission or party state funds; or​

43.23 (3) meet a deadline for the promulgation of an administrative rule that is required by​

43.24 federal law or rule.​

43.25 (l) The commission may direct revisions to a previously adopted rule or amendment for​

43.26 purposes of correcting typographical errors, errors in format, errors in consistency, or​

43.27 grammatical errors. Public notice of any revisions shall be posted on the website of the​

43.28 commission. The revision shall be subject to challenge by any person for a period of 30​

43.29 days after posting. The revision may be challenged only on grounds that the revision results​

43.30 in a material change to a rule. A challenge shall be made in writing and delivered to the​

43.31 commission before the end of the notice period. If no challenge is made, the revision will​

43.32 take effect without further action. If the revision is challenged, the revision shall not take​

43.33 effect without the approval of the commission.​
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44.1 ARTICLE 8​

44.2 OVERSIGHT, DISPUTE RESOLUTION, AND ENFORCEMENT​

44.3 (a) Oversight:​

44.4 (1) each party state shall enforce this compact and take all actions necessary and​

44.5 appropriate to effectuate this compact's purposes and intent; and​

44.6 (2) the commission shall be entitled to receive service of process in any proceeding that​

44.7 may affect the powers, responsibilities, or actions of the commission and shall have standing​

44.8 to intervene in such a proceeding for all purposes. Failure to provide service of process in​

44.9 the proceeding to the commission shall render a judgment or order void as to the commission,​

44.10 this compact, or promulgated rules.​

44.11 (b) Default, technical assistance, and termination:​

44.12 (1) if the commission determines that a party state has defaulted in the performance of​

44.13 its obligations or responsibilities under this compact or the promulgated rules, the commission​

44.14 shall:​

44.15 (i) provide written notice to the defaulting state and other party states of the nature of​

44.16 the default, the proposed means of curing the default, or any other action to be taken by the​

44.17 commission; and​

44.18 (ii) provide remedial training and specific technical assistance regarding the default;​

44.19 (2) if a state in default fails to cure the default, the defaulting state's membership in this​

44.20 compact may be terminated upon an affirmative vote of a majority of the administrators,​

44.21 and all rights, privileges, and benefits conferred by this compact may be terminated on the​

44.22 effective date of termination. A cure of the default does not relieve the offending state of​

44.23 obligations or liabilities incurred during the period of default;​

44.24 (3) termination of membership in this compact shall be imposed only after all other​

44.25 means of securing compliance have been exhausted. Notice of intent to suspend or terminate​

44.26 shall be given by the commission to the governor of the defaulting state and to the executive​

44.27 officer of the defaulting state's licensing board and each of the party states;​

44.28 (4) a state whose membership in this compact has been terminated is responsible for all​

44.29 assessments, obligations, and liabilities incurred through the effective date of termination,​

44.30 including obligations that extend beyond the effective date of termination;​
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45.1 (5) the commission shall not bear any costs related to a state that is found to be in default​

45.2 or whose membership in this compact has been terminated, unless agreed upon in writing​

45.3 between the commission and the defaulting state; and​

45.4 (6) the defaulting state may appeal the action of the commission by petitioning the U.S.​

45.5 District Court for the District of Columbia or the federal district in which the commission​

45.6 has its principal offices. The prevailing party shall be awarded all costs of the litigation,​

45.7 including reasonable attorney fees.​

45.8 (c) Dispute resolution:​

45.9 (1) upon request by a party state, the commission shall attempt to resolve disputes related​

45.10 to the compact that arise among party states and between party and nonparty states;​

45.11 (2) the commission shall promulgate a rule providing for both mediation and binding​

45.12 dispute resolution for disputes, as appropriate; and​

45.13 (3) in the event the commission cannot resolve disputes among party states arising under​

45.14 this compact:​

45.15 (i) the party states may submit the issues in dispute to an arbitration panel, that will be​

45.16 comprised of individuals appointed by the compact administrator in each of the affected​

45.17 party states and an individual mutually agreed upon by the compact administrators of all​

45.18 the party states involved in the dispute; and​

45.19 (ii) the decision of a majority of the arbitrators shall be final and binding.​

45.20 (d) Enforcement:​

45.21 (1) the commission, in the reasonable exercise of its discretion, shall enforce the​

45.22 provisions and rules of this compact;​

45.23 (2) by majority vote, the commission may initiate legal action in the U.S. District Court​

45.24 for the District of Columbia or the federal district in which the commission has its principal​

45.25 offices against a party state that is in default to enforce compliance with this compact and​

45.26 its promulgated rules and bylaws. The relief sought may include both injunctive relief and​

45.27 damages. In the event judicial enforcement is necessary, the prevailing party shall be awarded​

45.28 all costs of the litigation, including reasonable attorney fees; and​

45.29 (3) the remedies herein shall not be the exclusive remedies of the commission. The​

45.30 commission may pursue any other remedies available under federal or state law.​

45.31 ARTICLE 9​

45.32 EFFECTIVE DATE, WITHDRAWAL, AND AMENDMENT​
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46.1 (a) This compact shall become effective and binding on July 1, 2022. All party states to​

46.2 this compact that also were parties to the prior Nurse Licensure Compact that was superseded​

46.3 by this compact shall be deemed to have withdrawn from the prior compact within six​

46.4 months after the effective date of this compact.​

46.5 (b) Each party state to this compact shall continue to recognize a nurse's multistate​

46.6 licensure privilege to practice in that party state issued under the prior compact until the​

46.7 party state has withdrawn from the prior compact.​

46.8 (c) Any party state may withdraw from this compact by legislative enactment. A party​

46.9 state's withdrawal shall not take effect until six months after enactment of the repealing​

46.10 statute.​

46.11 (d) A party state's withdrawal or termination shall not affect the continuing requirement​

46.12 of the withdrawing or terminated state's licensing board to report adverse actions and​

46.13 significant investigations occurring prior to the effective date of the withdrawal or​

46.14 termination.​

46.15 (e) Nothing in this compact shall be construed to invalidate or prevent any nurse licensure​

46.16 agreement or other cooperative arrangement between a party state and a nonparty state that​

46.17 is made in accordance with the other provisions of this compact.​

46.18 (f) This compact may be amended by the party states. No amendment to this compact​

46.19 shall become effective and binding upon the party states unless and until it is enacted into​

46.20 the laws of all party states.​

46.21 (g) Representatives of nonparty states to this compact shall be invited to participate in​

46.22 the activities of the commission on a nonvoting basis prior to the adoption of this compact​

46.23 by all states.​

46.24 ARTICLE 10​

46.25 CONSTRUCTION AND SEVERABILITY​

46.26 This compact shall be liberally construed so as to effectuate the purposes thereof. This​

46.27 compact shall be severable, and if any phrase, clause, sentence, or provision of this compact​

46.28 is declared to be contrary to the constitution of any party state or of the United States, or if​

46.29 the applicability thereof to any government, agency, person, or circumstance is held invalid,​

46.30 the validity of the remainder of this compact and the applicability thereof to any government,​

46.31 agency, person, or circumstance shall not be affected thereby. If this compact is held to be​

46.32 contrary to the constitution of any party state, this compact shall remain in full force and​
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47.1 effect for the remaining party states and in full force and effect for the party state affected​

47.2 as to all severable matters.​

47.3 Sec. 12. [148.2856] APPLICATION OF NURSE LICENSURE COMPACT TO​

47.4 EXISTING LAWS.​

47.5 (a) Section 148.2855 does not supersede existing state labor laws.​

47.6 (b) If the board takes action against an individual's multistate privilege, the action must​

47.7 be adjudicated following the procedures in sections 14.50 to 14.62 and must be subject to​

47.8 the judicial review provided for in sections 14.63 to 14.69.​

47.9 (c) The board may take action against an individual's multistate privilege based on the​

47.10 grounds listed in section 148.261, subdivision 1, and any other statute authorizing or requiring​

47.11 the board to take corrective or disciplinary action.​

47.12 (d) The board may take all forms of disciplinary action provided in section 148.262,​

47.13 subdivision 1, and corrective action provided in section 214.103, subdivision 6, against an​

47.14 individual's multistate privilege.​

47.15 (e) The cooperation requirements of section 148.265 apply to individuals who practice​

47.16 professional or practical nursing in Minnesota under section 148.2855.​

47.17 (f) Complaints against individuals who practice professional or practical nursing in​

47.18 Minnesota under section 148.2855 must be addressed according to sections 214.10 and​

47.19 214.103.​

47.20 Sec. 13. [148.5185] AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY​

47.21 INTERSTATE COMPACT.​

47.22 Section 1. Definitions​

47.23 As used in this Compact, and except as otherwise provided, the following definitions​

47.24 shall apply:​

47.25 A. "Active duty military" means full-time duty status in the active uniformed service of​

47.26 the United States, including members of the National Guard and Reserve on active duty​

47.27 orders pursuant to 10 U.S.C. sections 1209 and 1211.​

47.28 B. "Adverse action" means any administrative, civil, equitable, or criminal action​

47.29 permitted by a state's laws which is imposed by a licensing board or other authority against​

47.30 an audiologist or speech-language pathologist, including actions against an individual's​
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48.1 license or privilege to practice such as revocation, suspension, probation, monitoring of the​

48.2 licensee, or restriction on the licensee's practice.​

48.3 C. "Alternative program" means a non-disciplinary monitoring process approved by an​

48.4 audiology or speech-language pathology licensing board to address impaired practitioners.​

48.5 D. "Audiologist" means an individual who is licensed by a state to practice audiology.​

48.6 E. "Audiology" means the care and services provided by a licensed audiologist as set​

48.7 forth in the member state's statutes and rules.​

48.8 F. "Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology Compact Commission" or "Commission"​

48.9 means the national administrative body whose membership consists of all states that have​

48.10 enacted the Compact.​

48.11 G. "Audiology and speech-language pathology licensing board," "audiology licensing​

48.12 board," "speech-language pathology licensing board," or "licensing board" means the agency​

48.13 of a state that is responsible for the licensing and regulation of audiologists or​

48.14 speech-language pathologists or both.​

48.15 H. "Compact privilege" means the authorization granted by a remote state to allow a​

48.16 licensee from another member state to practice as an audiologist or speech-language​

48.17 pathologist in the remote state under its laws and rules. The practice of audiology or​

48.18 speech-language pathology occurs in the member state where the patient, client, or student​

48.19 is located at the time of the patient, client, or student encounter.​

48.20 I. "Current significant investigative information" means investigative information that​

48.21 a licensing board, after an inquiry or investigation that includes notification and an​

48.22 opportunity for the audiologist or speech-language pathologist to respond, if required by​

48.23 state law, has reason to believe is not groundless and, if proved true, would indicate more​

48.24 than a minor infraction.​

48.25 J. "Data system" means a repository of information about licensees, including, but not​

48.26 limited to, continuing education, examination, licensure, investigation, compact privilege,​

48.27 and adverse action.​

48.28 K. "Encumbered license" means a license in which an adverse action restricts the practice​

48.29 of audiology or speech-language pathology by the licensee and said adverse action has been​

48.30 reported to the National Practitioners Data Bank (NPDB).​

48.31 L. "Executive Committee" means a group of directors elected or appointed to act on​

48.32 behalf of, and within the powers granted to them by, the Commission.​
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49.1 M. "Home state" means the member state that is the licensee's primary state of residence.​

49.2 N. "Impaired practitioner" means individuals whose professional practice is adversely​

49.3 affected by substance abuse, addiction, or other health-related conditions.​

49.4 O. "Licensee" means an individual who currently holds an authorization from the state​

49.5 licensing board to practice as an audiologist or speech-language pathologist.​

49.6 P. "Member state" means a state that has enacted the Compact.​

49.7 Q. "Privilege to practice" means a legal authorization permitting the practice of audiology​

49.8 or speech-language pathology in a remote state.​

49.9 R. "Remote state" means a member state other than the home state where a licensee is​

49.10 exercising or seeking to exercise the compact privilege.​

49.11 S. "Rule" means a regulation, principle, or directive promulgated by the Commission​

49.12 that has the force of law.​

49.13 T. "Single-state license" means an audiology or speech-language pathology license​

49.14 issued by a member state that authorizes practice only within the issuing state and does not​

49.15 include a privilege to practice in any other member state.​

49.16 U. "Speech-language pathologist" means an individual who is licensed by a state to​

49.17 practice speech-language pathology.​

49.18 V. "Speech-language pathology" means the care and services provided by a licensed​

49.19 speech-language pathologist as set forth in the member state's statutes and rules.​

49.20 W. "State" means any state, commonwealth, district, or territory of the United States of​

49.21 America that regulates the practice of audiology and speech-language pathology.​

49.22 X. "State practice laws" means a member state's laws, rules, and regulations that govern​

49.23 the practice of audiology or speech-language pathology, define the scope of audiology or​

49.24 speech-language pathology practice, and create the methods and grounds for imposing​

49.25 discipline.​

49.26 Y. "Telehealth" means the application of telecommunication technology to deliver​

49.27 audiology or speech-language pathology services at a distance for assessment, intervention,​

49.28 or consultation.​

49.29 Section 2. State Participation in the Compact​

49.30 A. A license issued to an audiologist or speech-language pathologist by a home state to​

49.31 a resident in that state shall be recognized by each member state as authorizing an audiologist​

49​Article 3 Sec. 13.​

COUNSEL KC/SC SCS4198A-2​03/29/22 09:11 am ​



50.1 or speech-language pathologist to practice audiology or speech-language pathology, under​

50.2 a privilege to practice, in each member state.​

50.3 B. A state must implement or utilize procedures for considering the criminal history​

50.4 records of applicants for initial privilege to practice. These procedures shall include the​

50.5 submission of fingerprints or other biometric-based information by applicants for the purpose​

50.6 of obtaining an applicant's criminal history record information from the Federal Bureau of​

50.7 Investigation and the agency responsible for retaining that state's criminal records.​

50.8 1. A member state must fully implement a criminal background check requirement,​

50.9 within a time frame established by rule, by receiving the results of the Federal Bureau of​

50.10 Investigation record search on criminal background checks and use the results in making​

50.11 licensure decisions.​

50.12 2. Communication between a member state and the Commission and among member​

50.13 states regarding the verification of eligibility for licensure through the Compact shall not​

50.14 include any information received from the Federal Bureau of Investigation relating to a​

50.15 federal criminal records check performed by a member state under Public Law 92-544.​

50.16 C. Upon application for a privilege to practice, the licensing board in the issuing remote​

50.17 state shall ascertain, through the data system, whether the applicant has ever held, or is the​

50.18 holder of, a license issued by any other state, whether there are any encumbrances on any​

50.19 license or privilege to practice held by the applicant, and whether any adverse action has​

50.20 been taken against any license or privilege to practice held by the applicant.​

50.21 D. Each member state shall require an applicant to obtain or retain a license in the home​

50.22 state and meet the home state's qualifications for licensure or renewal of licensure, as well​

50.23 as all other applicable state laws.​

50.24 E. For an audiologist:​

50.25 1. Must meet one of the following educational requirements:​

50.26 a. On or before December 31, 2007, has graduated with a master's degree or doctoral​

50.27 degree in audiology, or equivalent degree regardless of degree name, from a program that​

50.28 is accredited by an accrediting agency recognized by the Council for Higher Education​

50.29 Accreditation, or its successor, or by the United States Department of Education and operated​

50.30 by a college or university accredited by a regional or national accrediting organization​

50.31 recognized by the board; or​

50.32 b. On or after January 1, 2008, has graduated with a doctoral degree in audiology, or​

50.33 equivalent degree regardless of degree name, from a program that is accredited by an​
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51.1 accrediting agency recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation, or its​

51.2 successor, or by the United States Department of Education and operated by a college or​

51.3 university accredited by a regional or national accrediting organization recognized by the​

51.4 board; or​

51.5 c. Has graduated from an audiology program that is housed in an institution of higher​

51.6 education outside of the United States (a) for which the program and institution have been​

51.7 approved by the authorized accrediting body in the applicable country and (b) the degree​

51.8 program has been verified by an independent credentials review agency to be comparable​

51.9 to a state licensing board-approved program;​

51.10 2. Has completed a supervised clinical practicum experience from an accredited​

51.11 educational institution or its cooperating programs as required by the board;​

51.12 3. Has successfully passed a national examination approved by the Commission;​

51.13 4. Holds an active, unencumbered license;​

51.14 5. Has not been convicted or found guilty, and has not entered into an agreed disposition,​

51.15 of a felony related to the practice of audiology, under applicable state or federal criminal​

51.16 law; and​

51.17 6. Has a valid United States Social Security or National Practitioner Identification​

51.18 number.​

51.19 F. For a speech-language pathologist:​

51.20 1. Must meet one of the following educational requirements:​

51.21 a. Has graduated with a master's degree from a speech-language pathology program that​

51.22 is accredited by an organization recognized by the United States Department of Education​

51.23 and operated by a college or university accredited by a regional or national accrediting​

51.24 organization recognized by the board; or​

51.25 b. Has graduated from a speech-language pathology program that is housed in an​

51.26 institution of higher education outside of the United States (a) for which the program and​

51.27 institution have been approved by the authorized accrediting body in the applicable country​

51.28 and (b) the degree program has been verified by an independent credentials review agency​

51.29 to be comparable to a state licensing board-approved program;​

51.30 2. Has completed a supervised clinical practicum experience from an educational​

51.31 institution or its cooperating programs as required by the Commission;​

51​Article 3 Sec. 13.​

COUNSEL KC/SC SCS4198A-2​03/29/22 09:11 am ​



52.1 3. Has completed a supervised postgraduate professional experience as required by the​

52.2 Commission;​

52.3 4. Has successfully passed a national examination approved by the Commission;​

52.4 5. Holds an active, unencumbered license;​

52.5 6. Has not been convicted or found guilty, and has not entered into an agreed disposition,​

52.6 of a felony related to the practice of speech-language pathology, under applicable state or​

52.7 federal criminal law; and​

52.8 7. Has a valid United States Social Security or National Practitioner Identification​

52.9 number.​

52.10 G. The privilege to practice is derived from the home state license.​

52.11 H. An audiologist or speech-language pathologist practicing in a member state must​

52.12 comply with the state practice laws of the state in which the client is located at the time​

52.13 service is provided. The practice of audiology and speech-language pathology shall include​

52.14 all audiology and speech-language pathology practice as defined by the state practice laws​

52.15 of the member state in which the client is located. The practice of audiology and​

52.16 speech-language pathology in a member state under a privilege to practice shall subject an​

52.17 audiologist or speech-language pathologist to the jurisdiction of the licensing board, the​

52.18 courts and the laws of the member state in which the client is located at the time service is​

52.19 provided.​

52.20 I. Individuals not residing in a member state shall continue to be able to apply for a​

52.21 member state's single-state license as provided under the laws of each member state.​

52.22 However, the single-state license granted to these individuals shall not be recognized as​

52.23 granting the privilege to practice audiology or speech-language pathology in any other​

52.24 member state. Nothing in this Compact shall affect the requirements established by a member​

52.25 state for the issuance of a single-state license.​

52.26 J. Member states may charge a fee for granting a compact privilege.​

52.27 K. Member states must comply with the bylaws and rules and regulations of the​

52.28 Commission.​

52.29 Section 3. Compact Privilege​

52.30 A. To exercise the compact privilege under the terms and provisions of the Compact,​

52.31 the audiologist or speech-language pathologist shall:​

52.32 1. Hold an active license in the home state;​
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53.1 2. Have no encumbrance on any state license;​

53.2 3. Be eligible for a compact privilege in any member state in accordance with Section​

53.3 2;​

53.4 4. Have not had any adverse action against any license or compact privilege within the​

53.5 previous two years from date of application;​

53.6 5. Notify the Commission that the licensee is seeking the compact privilege within a​

53.7 remote state(s);​

53.8 6. Pay any applicable fees, including any state fee, for the compact privilege; and​

53.9 7. Report to the Commission adverse action taken by any non-member state within 30​

53.10 days from the date the adverse action is taken.​

53.11 B. For the purposes of the compact privilege, an audiologist or speech-language​

53.12 pathologist shall only hold one home state license at a time.​

53.13 C. Except as provided in Section 5, if an audiologist or speech-language pathologist​

53.14 changes primary state of residence by moving between two member states, the audiologist​

53.15 or speech-language pathologist must apply for licensure in the new home state, and the​

53.16 license issued by the prior home state shall be deactivated in accordance with applicable​

53.17 rules adopted by the Commission.​

53.18 D. The audiologist or speech-language pathologist may apply for licensure in advance​

53.19 of a change in primary state of residence.​

53.20 E. A license shall not be issued by the new home state until the audiologist or​

53.21 speech-language pathologist provides satisfactory evidence of a change in primary state of​

53.22 residence to the new home state and satisfies all applicable requirements to obtain a license​

53.23 from the new home state.​

53.24 F. If an audiologist or speech-language pathologist changes primary state of residence​

53.25 by moving from a member state to a non-member state, the license issued by the prior home​

53.26 state shall convert to a single-state license, valid only in the former home state.​

53.27 G. The compact privilege is valid until the expiration date of the home state license. The​

53.28 licensee must comply with the requirements of Section 3A to maintain the compact privilege​

53.29 in the remote state.​

53.30 H. A licensee providing audiology or speech-language pathology services in a remote​

53.31 state under the compact privilege shall function within the laws and regulations of the remote​

53.32 state.​
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54.1 I. A licensee providing audiology or speech-language pathology services in a remote​

54.2 state is subject to that state's regulatory authority. A remote state may, in accordance with​

54.3 due process and that state's laws, remove a licensee's compact privilege in the remote state​

54.4 for a specific period of time, impose fines, or take any other necessary actions to protect​

54.5 the health and safety of its citizens.​

54.6 J. If a home state license is encumbered, the licensee shall lose the compact privilege in​

54.7 any remote state until the following occur:​

54.8 1. The home state license is no longer encumbered; and​

54.9 2. Two years have elapsed from the date of the adverse action.​

54.10 K. Once an encumbered license in the home state is restored to good standing, the licensee​

54.11 must meet the requirements of Section 3A to obtain a compact privilege in any remote state.​

54.12 L. Once the requirements of Section 3J have been met, the licensee must meet the​

54.13 requirements in Section 3A to obtain a compact privilege in a remote state.​

54.14 Section 4. Compact Privilege to Practice Telehealth​

54.15 Member states shall recognize the right of an audiologist or speech-language pathologist,​

54.16 licensed by a home state in accordance with Section 2 and under rules promulgated by the​

54.17 Commission, to practice audiology or speech-language pathology in a member state via​

54.18 telehealth under a privilege to practice as provided in the Compact and rules promulgated​

54.19 by the Commission.​

54.20 Section 5. Active Duty Military Personnel or Their Spouses​

54.21 Active duty military personnel, or their spouse, shall designate a home state where the​

54.22 individual has a current license in good standing. The individual may retain the home state​

54.23 designation during the period the service member is on active duty. Subsequent to designating​

54.24 a home state, the individual shall only change their home state through application for​

54.25 licensure in the new state.​

54.26 Section 6. Adverse Actions​

54.27 A. In addition to the other powers conferred by state law, a remote state shall have the​

54.28 authority, in accordance with existing state due process law, to:​

54.29 1. Take adverse action against an audiologist's or speech-language pathologist's privilege​

54.30 to practice within that member state.​

54.31 2. Issue subpoenas for both hearings and investigations that require the attendance and​

54.32 testimony of witnesses as well as the production of evidence. Subpoenas issued by a licensing​
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55.1 board in a member state for the attendance and testimony of witnesses or the production of​

55.2 evidence from another member state shall be enforced in the latter state by any court of​

55.3 competent jurisdiction, according to the practice and procedure of that court applicable to​

55.4 subpoenas issued in proceedings pending before it. The issuing authority shall pay any​

55.5 witness fees, travel expenses, mileage and other fees required by the service statutes of the​

55.6 state in which the witnesses or evidence are located.​

55.7 B. Only the home state shall have the power to take adverse action against an audiologist's​

55.8 or speech-language pathologist's license issued by the home state.​

55.9 C. For purposes of taking adverse action, the home state shall give the same priority and​

55.10 effect to reported conduct received from a member state as it would if the conduct had​

55.11 occurred within the home state. In so doing, the home state shall apply its own state laws​

55.12 to determine appropriate action.​

55.13 D. The home state shall complete any pending investigations of an audiologist or​

55.14 speech-language pathologist who changes primary state of residence during the course of​

55.15 the investigations. The home state shall also have the authority to take appropriate action(s)​

55.16 and shall promptly report the conclusions of the investigations to the administrator of the​

55.17 data system. The administrator of the data system shall promptly notify the new home state​

55.18 of any adverse actions.​

55.19 E. If otherwise permitted by state law, the member state may recover from the affected​

55.20 audiologist or speech-language pathologist the costs of investigations and disposition of​

55.21 cases resulting from any adverse action taken against that audiologist or speech-language​

55.22 pathologist.​

55.23 F. The member state may take adverse action based on the factual findings of the remote​

55.24 state, provided that the home state follows its own procedures for taking the adverse action.​

55.25 G. Joint Investigations​

55.26 1. In addition to the authority granted to a member state by its respective audiology or​

55.27 speech-language pathology practice act or other applicable state law, any member state may​

55.28 participate with other member states in joint investigations of licensees.​

55.29 2. Member states shall share any investigative, litigation, or compliance materials in​

55.30 furtherance of any joint or individual investigation initiated under the Compact.​

55.31 H. If adverse action is taken by the home state against an audiologist's or speech-language​

55.32 pathologist's license, the audiologist's or speech-language pathologist's privilege to practice​

55.33 in all other member states shall be deactivated until all encumbrances have been removed​
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56.1 from the state license. All home state disciplinary orders that impose adverse action against​

56.2 an audiologist's or speech-language pathologist's license shall include a statement that the​

56.3 audiologist's or speech-language pathologist's privilege to practice is deactivated in all​

56.4 member states during the pendency of the order.​

56.5 I. If a member state takes adverse action, it shall promptly notify the administrator of​

56.6 the data system. The administrator of the data system shall promptly notify the home state​

56.7 of any adverse actions by remote states.​

56.8 J. Nothing in this Compact shall override a member state's decision that participation in​

56.9 an alternative program may be used in lieu of adverse action.​

56.10 Section 7. Establishment of the Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology Compact​

56.11 Commission​

56.12 A. The Compact member states hereby create and establish a joint public agency known​

56.13 as the Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology Compact Commission:​

56.14 1. The Commission is an instrumentality of the Compact states.​

56.15 2. Venue is proper and judicial proceedings by or against the Commission shall be​

56.16 brought solely and exclusively in a court of competent jurisdiction where the principal office​

56.17 of the Commission is located. The Commission may waive venue and jurisdictional defenses​

56.18 to the extent it adopts or consents to participate in alternative dispute resolution proceedings.​

56.19 3. Nothing in this Compact shall be construed to be a waiver of sovereign immunity.​

56.20 B. Membership, Voting, and Meetings​

56.21 1. Each member state shall have two delegates selected by that member state's licensing​

56.22 board. The delegates shall be current members of the licensing board. One shall be an​

56.23 audiologist and one shall be a speech-language pathologist.​

56.24 2. An additional five delegates, who are either a public member or board administrator​

56.25 from a state licensing board, shall be chosen by the Executive Committee from a pool of​

56.26 nominees provided by the Commission at Large.​

56.27 3. Any delegate may be removed or suspended from office as provided by the law of​

56.28 the state from which the delegate is appointed.​

56.29 4. The member state board shall fill any vacancy occurring on the Commission, within​

56.30 90 days.​
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57.1 5. Each delegate shall be entitled to one vote with regard to the promulgation of rules​

57.2 and creation of bylaws and shall otherwise have an opportunity to participate in the business​

57.3 and affairs of the Commission.​

57.4 6. A delegate shall vote in person or by other means as provided in the bylaws. The​

57.5 bylaws may provide for delegates' participation in meetings by telephone or other means​

57.6 of communication.​

57.7 7. The Commission shall meet at least once during each calendar year. Additional​

57.8 meetings shall be held as set forth in the bylaws.​

57.9 C. The Commission shall have the following powers and duties:​

57.10 1. Establish the fiscal year of the Commission;​

57.11 2. Establish bylaws;​

57.12 3. Establish a Code of Ethics;​

57.13 4. Maintain its financial records in accordance with the bylaws;​

57.14 5. Meet and take actions as are consistent with the provisions of this Compact and the​

57.15 bylaws;​

57.16 6. Promulgate uniform rules to facilitate and coordinate implementation and​

57.17 administration of this Compact. The rules shall have the force and effect of law and shall​

57.18 be binding in all member states;​

57.19 7. Bring and prosecute legal proceedings or actions in the name of the Commission,​

57.20 provided that the standing of any state audiology or speech-language pathology licensing​

57.21 board to sue or be sued under applicable law shall not be affected;​

57.22 8. Purchase and maintain insurance and bonds;​

57.23 9. Borrow, accept, or contract for services of personnel, including, but not limited to,​

57.24 employees of a member state;​

57.25 10. Hire employees, elect or appoint officers, fix compensation, define duties, grant​

57.26 individuals appropriate authority to carry out the purposes of the Compact, and establish​

57.27 the Commission's personnel policies and programs relating to conflicts of interest,​

57.28 qualifications of personnel, and other related personnel matters;​

57.29 11. Accept any and all appropriate donations and grants of money, equipment, supplies,​

57.30 materials and services, and to receive, utilize and dispose of the same; provided that at all​

57.31 times the Commission shall avoid any appearance of impropriety and/or conflict of interest;​
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58.1 12. Lease, purchase, accept appropriate gifts or donations of, or otherwise own, hold,​

58.2 improve or use, any property, real, personal, or mixed; provided that at all times the​

58.3 Commission shall avoid any appearance of impropriety;​

58.4 13. Sell, convey, mortgage, pledge, lease, exchange, abandon, or otherwise dispose of​

58.5 any property real, personal, or mixed;​

58.6 14. Establish a budget and make expenditures;​

58.7 15. Borrow money;​

58.8 16. Appoint committees, including standing committees composed of members, and​

58.9 other interested persons as may be designated in this Compact and the bylaws;​

58.10 17. Provide and receive information from, and cooperate with, law enforcement agencies;​

58.11 18. Establish and elect an Executive Committee; and​

58.12 19. Perform other functions as may be necessary or appropriate to achieve the purposes​

58.13 of this Compact consistent with the state regulation of audiology and speech-language​

58.14 pathology licensure and practice.​

58.15 D. The Executive Committee​

58.16 The Executive Committee shall have the power to act on behalf of the Commission​

58.17 according to the terms of this Compact.​

58.18 1. The Executive Committee shall be composed of ten members:​

58.19 a. Seven voting members who are elected by the Commission from the current​

58.20 membership of the Commission;​

58.21 b. Two ex-officios, consisting of one nonvoting member from a recognized national​

58.22 audiology professional association and one nonvoting member from a recognized national​

58.23 speech-language pathology association; and​

58.24 c. One ex-officio, nonvoting member from the recognized membership organization of​

58.25 the audiology and speech-language pathology licensing boards.​

58.26 E. The ex-officio members shall be selected by their respective organizations.​

58.27 1. The Commission may remove any member of the Executive Committee as provided​

58.28 in bylaws.​

58.29 2. The Executive Committee shall meet at least annually.​

58.30 3. The Executive Committee shall have the following duties and responsibilities:​
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59.1 a. Recommend to the entire Commission changes to the rules or bylaws, changes to this​

59.2 Compact legislation, fees paid by Compact member states such as annual dues, and any​

59.3 commission Compact fee charged to licensees for the compact privilege;​

59.4 b. Ensure Compact administration services are appropriately provided, contractual or​

59.5 otherwise;​

59.6 c. Prepare and recommend the budget;​

59.7 d. Maintain financial records on behalf of the Commission;​

59.8 e. Monitor Compact compliance of member states and provide compliance reports to​

59.9 the Commission;​

59.10 f. Establish additional committees as necessary; and​

59.11 g. Other duties as provided in rules or bylaws.​

59.12 4. Meetings of the Commission​

59.13 All meetings shall be open to the public, and public notice of meetings shall be given​

59.14 in the same manner as required under the rulemaking provisions in Section 9.​

59.15 5. The Commission or the Executive Committee or other committees of the Commission​

59.16 may convene in a closed, non-public meeting if the Commission or Executive Committee​

59.17 or other committees of the Commission must discuss:​

59.18 a. Non-compliance of a member state with its obligations under the Compact;​

59.19 b. The employment, compensation, discipline, or other matters, practices, or procedures​

59.20 related to specific employees or other matters related to the Commission's internal personnel​

59.21 practices and procedures;​

59.22 c. Current, threatened, or reasonably anticipated litigation;​

59.23 d. Negotiation of contracts for the purchase, lease, or sale of goods, services, or real​

59.24 estate;​

59.25 e. Accusing any person of a crime or formally censuring any person;​

59.26 f. Disclosure of trade secrets or commercial or financial information that is privileged​

59.27 or confidential;​

59.28 g. Disclosure of information of a personal nature where disclosure would constitute a​

59.29 clearly unwarranted invasion of personal privacy;​

59.30 h. Disclosure of investigative records compiled for law enforcement purposes;​
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60.1 i. Disclosure of information related to any investigative reports prepared by or on behalf​

60.2 of or for use of the Commission or other committee charged with responsibility of​

60.3 investigation or determination of compliance issues pursuant to the Compact; or​

60.4 j. Matters specifically exempted from disclosure by federal or member state statute.​

60.5 6. If a meeting, or portion of a meeting, is closed pursuant to this provision, the​

60.6 Commission's legal counsel or designee shall certify that the meeting may be closed and​

60.7 shall reference each relevant exempting provision.​

60.8 7. The Commission shall keep minutes that fully and clearly describe all matters discussed​

60.9 in a meeting and shall provide a full and accurate summary of actions taken, and the reasons​

60.10 therefore, including a description of the views expressed. All documents considered in​

60.11 connection with an action shall be identified in minutes. All minutes and documents of a​

60.12 closed meeting shall remain under seal, subject to release by a majority vote of the​

60.13 Commission or order of a court of competent jurisdiction.​

60.14 8. Financing of the Commission​

60.15 a. The Commission shall pay, or provide for the payment of, the reasonable expenses​

60.16 of its establishment, organization, and ongoing activities.​

60.17 b. The Commission may accept any and all appropriate revenue sources, donations, and​

60.18 grants of money, equipment, supplies, materials, and services.​

60.19 c. The Commission may levy on and collect an annual assessment from each member​

60.20 state or impose fees on other parties to cover the cost of the operations and activities of the​

60.21 Commission and its staff, which must be in a total amount sufficient to cover its annual​

60.22 budget as approved each year for which revenue is not provided by other sources. The​

60.23 aggregate annual assessment amount shall be allocated based upon a formula to be determined​

60.24 by the Commission, which shall promulgate a rule binding upon all member states.​

60.25 9. The Commission shall not incur obligations of any kind prior to securing the funds​

60.26 adequate to meet the same; nor shall the Commission pledge the credit of any of the member​

60.27 states, except by and with the authority of the member state.​

60.28 10. The Commission shall keep accurate accounts of all receipts and disbursements. The​

60.29 receipts and disbursements of the Commission shall be subject to the audit and accounting​

60.30 procedures established under its bylaws. However, all receipts and disbursements of funds​

60.31 handled by the Commission shall be audited yearly by a certified or licensed public​

60.32 accountant, and the report of the audit shall be included in and become part of the annual​

60.33 report of the Commission.​
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61.1 F. Qualified Immunity, Defense, and Indemnification​

61.2 1. The members, officers, executive director, employees and representatives of the​

61.3 Commission shall be immune from suit and liability, either personally or in their official​

61.4 capacity, for any claim for damage to or loss of property or personal injury or other civil​

61.5 liability caused by or arising out of any actual or alleged act, error, or omission that occurred,​

61.6 or that the person against whom the claim is made had a reasonable basis for believing​

61.7 occurred within the scope of Commission employment, duties, or responsibilities; provided​

61.8 that nothing in this paragraph shall be construed to protect any person from suit or liability​

61.9 for any damage, loss, injury, or liability caused by the intentional or willful or wanton​

61.10 misconduct of that person.​

61.11 2. The Commission shall defend any member, officer, executive director, employee, or​

61.12 representative of the Commission in any civil action seeking to impose liability arising out​

61.13 of any actual or alleged act, error, or omission that occurred within the scope of Commission​

61.14 employment, duties, or responsibilities, or that the person against whom the claim is made​

61.15 had a reasonable basis for believing occurred within the scope of Commission employment,​

61.16 duties, or responsibilities; provided that nothing herein shall be construed to prohibit that​

61.17 person from retaining his or her own counsel; and provided further, that the actual or alleged​

61.18 act, error, or omission did not result from that person's intentional or willful or wanton​

61.19 misconduct.​

61.20 3. The Commission shall indemnify and hold harmless any member, officer, executive​

61.21 director, employee, or representative of the Commission for the amount of any settlement​

61.22 or judgment obtained against that person arising out of any actual or alleged act, error or​

61.23 omission that occurred within the scope of Commission employment, duties, or​

61.24 responsibilities, or that person had a reasonable basis for believing occurred within the scope​

61.25 of Commission employment, duties, or responsibilities, provided that the actual or alleged​

61.26 act, error, or omission did not result from the intentional or willful or wanton misconduct​

61.27 of that person.​

61.28 Section 8. Data System​

61.29 A. The Commission shall provide for the development, maintenance, and utilization of​

61.30 a coordinated database and reporting system containing licensure, adverse action, and​

61.31 investigative information on all licensed individuals in member states.​

61.32 B. Notwithstanding any other provision of state law to the contrary, a member state shall​

61.33 submit a uniform data set to the data system on all individuals to whom this Compact is​

61.34 applicable as required by the rules of the Commission, including:​
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62.1 1. Identifying information;​

62.2 2. Licensure data;​

62.3 3. Adverse actions against a license or compact privilege;​

62.4 4. Non-confidential information related to alternative program participation;​

62.5 5. Any denial of application for licensure, and the reason(s) for denial; and​

62.6 6. Other information that may facilitate the administration of this Compact, as determined​

62.7 by the rules of the Commission.​

62.8 C. Investigative information pertaining to a licensee in any member state shall only be​

62.9 available to other member states.​

62.10 D. The Commission shall promptly notify all member states of any adverse action taken​

62.11 against a licensee or an individual applying for a license. Adverse action information​

62.12 pertaining to a licensee in any member state shall be available to any other member state.​

62.13 E. Member states contributing information to the data system may designate information​

62.14 that may not be shared with the public without the express permission of the contributing​

62.15 state.​

62.16 F. Any information submitted to the data system that is subsequently required to be​

62.17 expunged by the laws of the member state contributing the information shall be removed​

62.18 from the data system.​

62.19 Section 9. Rulemaking​

62.20 A. The Commission shall exercise its rulemaking powers pursuant to the criteria set​

62.21 forth in this Section and the rules adopted thereunder. Rules and amendments shall become​

62.22 binding as of the date specified in each rule or amendment.​

62.23 B. If a majority of the legislatures of the member states rejects a rule, by enactment of​

62.24 a statute or resolution in the same manner used to adopt the Compact within four years of​

62.25 the date of adoption of the rule, the rule shall have no further force and effect in any member​

62.26 state.​

62.27 C. Rules or amendments to the rules shall be adopted at a regular or special meeting of​

62.28 the Commission.​

62.29 D. Prior to promulgation and adoption of a final rule or rules by the Commission, and​

62.30 at least 30 days in advance of the meeting at which the rule shall be considered and voted​

62.31 upon, the Commission shall file a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking:​
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63.1 1. On the website of the Commission or other publicly accessible platform; and​

63.2 2. On the website of each member state audiology or speech-language pathology licensing​

63.3 board or other publicly accessible platform or the publication in which each state would​

63.4 otherwise publish proposed rules.​

63.5 E. The Notice of Proposed Rulemaking shall include:​

63.6 1. The proposed time, date, and location of the meeting in which the rule shall be​

63.7 considered and voted upon;​

63.8 2. The text of the proposed rule or amendment and the reason for the proposed rule;​

63.9 3. A request for comments on the proposed rule from any interested person; and​

63.10 4. The manner in which interested persons may submit notice to the Commission of​

63.11 their intention to attend the public hearing and any written comments.​

63.12 F. Prior to the adoption of a proposed rule, the Commission shall allow persons to submit​

63.13 written data, facts, opinions, and arguments, which shall be made available to the public.​

63.14 G. The Commission shall grant an opportunity for a public hearing before it adopts a​

63.15 rule or amendment if a hearing is requested by:​

63.16 1. At least 25 persons;​

63.17 2. A state or federal governmental subdivision or agency; or​

63.18 3. An association having at least 25 members.​

63.19 H. If a hearing is held on the proposed rule or amendment, the Commission shall publish​

63.20 the place, time, and date of the scheduled public hearing. If the hearing is held via electronic​

63.21 means, the Commission shall publish the mechanism for access to the electronic hearing.​

63.22 1. All persons wishing to be heard at the hearing shall notify the executive director of​

63.23 the Commission or other designated member in writing of their desire to appear and testify​

63.24 at the hearing not less than five business days before the scheduled date of the hearing.​

63.25 2. Hearings shall be conducted in a manner providing each person who wishes to comment​

63.26 a fair and reasonable opportunity to comment orally or in writing.​

63.27 3. All hearings shall be recorded. A copy of the recording shall be made available on​

63.28 request.​

63.29 4. Nothing in this section shall be construed as requiring a separate hearing on each rule.​

63.30 Rules may be grouped for the convenience of the Commission at hearings required by this​

63.31 section.​
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64.1 I. Following the scheduled hearing date, or by the close of business on the scheduled​

64.2 hearing date if the hearing was not held, the Commission shall consider all written and oral​

64.3 comments received.​

64.4 J. If no written notice of intent to attend the public hearing by interested parties is​

64.5 received, the Commission may proceed with promulgation of the proposed rule without a​

64.6 public hearing.​

64.7 K. The Commission shall, by majority vote of all members, take final action on the​

64.8 proposed rule and shall determine the effective date of the rule, if any, based on the​

64.9 rulemaking record and the full text of the rule.​

64.10 L. Upon determination that an emergency exists, the Commission may consider and​

64.11 adopt an emergency rule without prior notice, opportunity for comment, or hearing, provided​

64.12 that the usual rulemaking procedures provided in the Compact and in this section shall be​

64.13 retroactively applied to the rule as soon as reasonably possible, in no event later than 90​

64.14 days after the effective date of the rule. For the purposes of this provision, an emergency​

64.15 rule is one that must be adopted immediately in order to:​

64.16 1. Meet an imminent threat to public health, safety, or welfare;​

64.17 2. Prevent a loss of Commission or member state funds; or​

64.18 3. Meet a deadline for the promulgation of an administrative rule that is established by​

64.19 federal law or rule.​

64.20 M. The Commission or an authorized committee of the Commission may direct revisions​

64.21 to a previously adopted rule or amendment for purposes of correcting typographical errors,​

64.22 errors in format, errors in consistency, or grammatical errors. Public notice of any revisions​

64.23 shall be posted on the website of the Commission. The revision shall be subject to challenge​

64.24 by any person for a period of 30 days after posting. The revision may be challenged only​

64.25 on grounds that the revision results in a material change to a rule. A challenge shall be made​

64.26 in writing and delivered to the chair of the Commission prior to the end of the notice period.​

64.27 If no challenge is made, the revision shall take effect without further action. If the revision​

64.28 is challenged, the revision may not take effect without the approval of the Commission.​

64.29 Section 10. Oversight, Dispute Resolution, and Enforcement​

64.30 A. Dispute Resolution​

64.31 1. Upon request by a member state, the Commission shall attempt to resolve disputes​

64.32 related to the Compact that arise among member states and between member and non-member​

64.33 states.​
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65.1 2. The Commission shall promulgate a rule providing for both mediation and binding​

65.2 dispute resolution for disputes as appropriate.​

65.3 B. Enforcement​

65.4 1. The Commission, in the reasonable exercise of its discretion, shall enforce the​

65.5 provisions and rules of this Compact.​

65.6 2. By majority vote, the Commission may initiate legal action in the United States District​

65.7 Court for the District of Columbia or the federal district where the Commission has its​

65.8 principal offices against a member state in default to enforce compliance with the provisions​

65.9 of the Compact and its promulgated rules and bylaws. The relief sought may include both​

65.10 injunctive relief and damages. In the event judicial enforcement is necessary, the prevailing​

65.11 member shall be awarded all costs of litigation, including reasonable attorney's fees.​

65.12 3. The remedies herein shall not be the exclusive remedies of the Commission. The​

65.13 Commission may pursue any other remedies available under federal or state law.​

65.14 Section 11. Date of Implementation of the Interstate Commission for Audiology and​

65.15 Speech-Language Pathology Practice and Associated Rules, Withdrawal, and Amendment​

65.16 A. The Compact shall come into effect on the date on which the Compact statute is​

65.17 enacted into law in the tenth member state. The provisions, which become effective at that​

65.18 time, shall be limited to the powers granted to the Commission relating to assembly and the​

65.19 promulgation of rules. Thereafter, the Commission shall meet and exercise rulemaking​

65.20 powers necessary to the implementation and administration of the Compact.​

65.21 B. Any state that joins the Compact subsequent to the Commission's initial adoption of​

65.22 the rules shall be subject to the rules as they exist on the date on which the Compact becomes​

65.23 law in that state. Any rule that has been previously adopted by the Commission shall have​

65.24 the full force and effect of law on the day the Compact becomes law in that state.​

65.25 C. Any member state may withdraw from this Compact by enacting a statute repealing​

65.26 the same.​

65.27 1. A member state's withdrawal shall not take effect until six months after enactment of​

65.28 the repealing statute.​

65.29 2. Withdrawal shall not affect the continuing requirement of the withdrawing state's​

65.30 audiology or speech-language pathology licensing board to comply with the investigative​

65.31 and adverse action reporting requirements of this act prior to the effective date of withdrawal.​
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66.1 D. Nothing contained in this Compact shall be construed to invalidate or prevent any​

66.2 audiology or speech-language pathology licensure agreement or other cooperative​

66.3 arrangement between a member state and a non-member state that does not conflict with​

66.4 the provisions of this Compact.​

66.5 E. This Compact may be amended by the member states. No amendment to this Compact​

66.6 shall become effective and binding upon any member state until it is enacted into the laws​

66.7 of all member states.​

66.8 Section 12. Construction and Severability​

66.9 This Compact shall be liberally construed so as to effectuate the purposes thereof. The​

66.10 provisions of this Compact shall be severable and if any phrase, clause, sentence, or provision​

66.11 of this Compact is declared to be contrary to the constitution of any member state or of the​

66.12 United States or the applicability thereof to any government, agency, person, or circumstance​

66.13 is held invalid, the validity of the remainder of this Compact and the applicability thereof​

66.14 to any government, agency, person, or circumstance shall not be affected thereby. If this​

66.15 Compact shall be held contrary to the constitution of any member state, the Compact shall​

66.16 remain in full force and effect as to the remaining member states and in full force and effect​

66.17 as to the member state affected as to all severable matters.​

66.18 Section 13. Binding Effect of Compact and Other Laws​

66.19 A. Nothing herein prevents the enforcement of any other law of a member state that is​

66.20 not inconsistent with the Compact.​

66.21 B. All laws in a member state in conflict with the Compact are superseded to the extent​

66.22 of the conflict.​

66.23 C. All lawful actions of the Commission, including all rules and bylaws promulgated​

66.24 by the Commission, are binding upon the member states.​

66.25 D. All agreements between the Commission and the member states are binding in​

66.26 accordance with their terms.​

66.27 E. In the event any provision of the Compact exceeds the constitutional limits imposed​

66.28 on the legislature of any member state, the provision shall be ineffective to the extent of the​

66.29 conflict with the constitutional provision in question in that member state.​

66.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the date on which the compact statute​

66.31 is enacted into law in the tenth member state in accordance with section 11 of this Compact.​
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67.1 Sec. 14. [148.5186] APPLICATION OF AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE​

67.2 PATHOLOGY INTERSTATE COMPACT TO EXISTING LAWS.​

67.3 Subdivision 1. Rulemaking. Rules developed by the Audiology and Speech-Language​

67.4 Pathology Compact Commission under section 148.5185 are not subject to sections 14.05​

67.5 to 14.389.​

67.6 Subd. 2. Background studies. The commissioner of health is authorized to require an​

67.7 audiologist or speech-language pathologist licensed in Minnesota as the home state to submit​

67.8 to a criminal history background check under section 144.0572.​

67.9 Subd. 3. Provision of data. All provisions of section 148.5185 authorizing or requiring​

67.10 the commissioner to provide data to the Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology Compact​

67.11 Commission are authorized by section 144.051, subdivision 6.​

67.12 Sec. 15. [148B.75] LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELOR INTERSTATE​

67.13 COMPACT.​

67.14 The licensed professional counselor interstate compact is enacted into law and entered​

67.15 into with all other jurisdictions legally joining in it, in the form substantially specified in​

67.16 this section.​

67.17 ARTICLE I​

67.18 DEFINITIONS​

67.19 (a) As used in this compact, and except as otherwise provided, the following definitions​

67.20 shall apply.​

67.21 (b) "Active duty military" means full-time duty status in the active uniformed service​

67.22 of the United States, including members of the national guard and reserve on active duty​

67.23 orders pursuant to United States Code, title 10, chapters 1209 and 1211.​

67.24 (c) "Adverse action" means any administrative, civil, equitable, or criminal action​

67.25 permitted by a state's laws which is imposed by a licensing board or other authority against​

67.26 a licensed professional counselor, including actions against an individual's license or privilege​

67.27 to practice such as revocation, suspension, probation, monitoring of the licensee, limitation​

67.28 on the licensee's practice, or any other encumbrance on licensure affecting a licensed​

67.29 professional counselor's authorization to practice, including issuance of a cease and desist​

67.30 action.​
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68.1 (d) "Alternative program" means a non-disciplinary monitoring or practice remediation​

68.2 process approved by a professional counseling licensing board to address impaired​

68.3 practitioners.​

68.4 (e) "Continuing competence" and "continuing education" means a requirement, as a​

68.5 condition of license renewal, to provide evidence of participation in, and completion of,​

68.6 educational and professional activities relevant to practice or area of work.​

68.7 (f) "Counseling compact commission" or "commission" means the national administrative​

68.8 body whose membership consists of all states that have enacted the compact.​

68.9 (g) "Current significant investigative information" means:​

68.10 (1) investigative information that a licensing board, after a preliminary inquiry that​

68.11 includes notification and an opportunity for the licensed professional counselor to respond,​

68.12 if required by state law, has reason to believe is not groundless and, if proved true, would​

68.13 indicate more than a minor infraction; or​

68.14 (2) investigative information that indicates that the licensed professional counselor​

68.15 represents an immediate threat to public health and safety regardless of whether the licensed​

68.16 professional counselor has been notified and had an opportunity to respond.​

68.17 (h) "Data system" means a repository of information about licensees, including but not​

68.18 limited to continuing education, examination, licensure, investigative, privilege to practice,​

68.19 and adverse action information.​

68.20 (i) "Encumbered license" means a license in which an adverse action restricts the practice​

68.21 of licensed professional counseling by the licensee and said adverse action has been reported​

68.22 to the National Practitioners Data Bank (NPDB).​

68.23 (j) "Encumbrance" means a revocation or suspension of, or any limitation on, the full​

68.24 and unrestricted practice of licensed professional counseling by a licensing board.​

68.25 (k) "Executive committee" means a group of directors elected or appointed to act on​

68.26 behalf of, and within the powers granted to them by, the commission.​

68.27 (l) "Home state" means the member state that is the licensee's primary state of residence.​

68.28 (m) "Impaired practitioner" means an individual who has a condition that may impair​

68.29 their ability to practice as a licensed professional counselor without some type of intervention​

68.30 and may include but is not limited to alcohol and drug dependence, mental health impairment,​

68.31 and neurological or physical impairment.​
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69.1 (n) "Investigative information" means information, records, and documents received or​

69.2 generated by a professional counseling licensing board pursuant to an investigation.​

69.3 (o) "Jurisprudence requirement," if required by a member state, means the assessment​

69.4 of an individual's knowledge of the laws and rules governing the practice of professional​

69.5 counseling in a state.​

69.6 (p) "Licensed professional counselor" means a counselor licensed by a member state,​

69.7 regardless of the title used by that state, to independently assess, diagnose, and treat​

69.8 behavioral health conditions.​

69.9 (q) "Licensee" means an individual who currently holds an authorization from the state​

69.10 to practice as a licensed professional counselor.​

69.11 (r) "Licensing board" means the agency of a state, or equivalent, that is responsible for​

69.12 the licensing and regulation of licensed professional counselors.​

69.13 (s) "Member state" means a state that has enacted the compact.​

69.14 (t) "Privilege to practice" means a legal authorization, which is equivalent to a license,​

69.15 permitting the practice of professional counseling in a remote state.​

69.16 (u) "Professional counseling" means the assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of​

69.17 behavioral health conditions by a licensed professional counselor.​

69.18 (v) "Remote state" means a member state other than the home state, where a licensee is​

69.19 exercising or seeking to exercise the privilege to practice.​

69.20 (w) "Rule" means a regulation promulgated by the commission that has the force of law.​

69.21 (x) "Single state license" means a licensed professional counselor license issued by a​

69.22 member state that authorizes practice only within the issuing state and does not include a​

69.23 privilege to practice in any other member state.​

69.24 (y) "State" means any state, commonwealth, district, or territory of the United States​

69.25 that regulates the practice of professional counseling.​

69.26 (z) "Telehealth" means the application of telecommunication technology to deliver​

69.27 professional counseling services remotely to assess, diagnose, and treat behavioral health​

69.28 conditions.​

69.29 (aa) "Unencumbered license" means a license that authorizes a licensed professional​

69.30 counselor to engage in the full and unrestricted practice of professional counseling.​

69.31 ARTICLE II​
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70.1 STATE PARTICIPATION IN THE COMPACT​

70.2 (a) To participate in the compact, a state must currently:​

70.3 (1) license and regulate licensed professional counselors;​

70.4 (2) require licensees to pass a nationally recognized exam approved by the commission;​

70.5 (3) require licensees to have a 60 semester-hour or 90 quarter-hour master's degree in​

70.6 counseling or 60 semester-hours or 90 quarter-hours of graduate coursework including the​

70.7 following topic areas:​

70.8 (i) professional counseling orientation and ethical practice;​

70.9 (ii) social and cultural diversity;​

70.10 (iii) human growth and development;​

70.11 (iv) career development;​

70.12 (v) counseling and helping relationships;​

70.13 (vi) group counseling and group work;​

70.14 (vii) diagnosis and treatment; assessment and testing;​

70.15 (viii) research and program evaluation; and​

70.16 (ix) other areas as determined by the commission;​

70.17 (4) require licensees to complete a supervised postgraduate professional experience as​

70.18 defined by the commission; and​

70.19 (5) have a mechanism in place for receiving and investigating complaints about licensees.​

70.20 (b) A member state shall:​

70.21 (1) participate fully in the commission's data system, including using the commission's​

70.22 unique identifier as defined in rules;​

70.23 (2) notify the commission, in compliance with the terms of the compact and rules, of​

70.24 any adverse action or the availability of investigative information regarding a licensee;​

70.25 (3) implement or utilize procedures for considering the criminal history records of​

70.26 applicants for an initial privilege to practice. These procedures shall include the submission​

70.27 of fingerprints or other biometric-based information by applicants for the purpose of obtaining​

70.28 an applicant's criminal history record information from the Federal Bureau of Investigation​

70.29 and the agency responsible for retaining that state's criminal records;​
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71.1 (i) a member state must fully implement a criminal background check requirement,​

71.2 within a timeframe established by rule, by receiving the results of the Federal Bureau of​

71.3 Investigation record search and shall use the results in making licensure decisions; and​

71.4 (ii) communication between a member state, the commission, and among member states​

71.5 regarding the verification of eligibility for licensure through the compact shall not include​

71.6 any information received from the Federal Bureau of Investigation relating to a federal​

71.7 criminal records check performed by a member state under Public Law 92-544;​

71.8 (4) comply with the rules of the commission;​

71.9 (5) require an applicant to obtain or retain a license in the home state and meet the home​

71.10 state's qualifications for licensure or renewal of licensure, as well as all other applicable​

71.11 state laws;​

71.12 (6) grant the privilege to practice to a licensee holding a valid unencumbered license in​

71.13 another member state in accordance with the terms of the compact and rules; and​

71.14 (7) provide for the attendance of the state's commissioner to the counseling compact​

71.15 commission meetings.​

71.16 (c) Member states may charge a fee for granting the privilege to practice.​

71.17 (d) Individuals not residing in a member state shall continue to be able to apply for a​

71.18 member state's single state license as provided under the laws of each member state. However,​

71.19 the single state license granted to these individuals shall not be recognized as granting a​

71.20 privilege to practice professional counseling in any other member state.​

71.21 (e) Nothing in this compact shall affect the requirements established by a member state​

71.22 for the issuance of a single state license.​

71.23 (f) A license issued to a licensed professional counselor by a home state to a resident in​

71.24 that state shall be recognized by each member state as authorizing a licensed professional​

71.25 counselor to practice professional counseling, under a privilege to practice, in each member​

71.26 state.​

71.27 ARTICLE III​

71.28 PRIVILEGE TO PRACTICE​

71.29 (a) To exercise the privilege to practice under the terms and provisions of the compact,​

71.30 the licensee shall:​

71.31 (1) hold a license in the home state;​
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72.1 (2) have a valid United States Social Security number or national practitioner identifier;​

72.2 (3) be eligible for a privilege to practice in any member state in accordance with this​

72.3 article, paragraphs (d), (g), and (h);​

72.4 (4) have not had any encumbrance or restriction against any license or privilege to​

72.5 practice within the previous two years;​

72.6 (5) notify the commission that the licensee is seeking the privilege to practice within a​

72.7 remote state(s);​

72.8 (6) pay any applicable fees, including any state fee, for the privilege to practice;​

72.9 (7) meet any continuing competence or education requirements established by the home​

72.10 state;​

72.11 (8) meet any jurisprudence requirements established by the remote state in which the​

72.12 licensee is seeking a privilege to practice; and​

72.13 (9) report to the commission any adverse action, encumbrance, or restriction on license​

72.14 taken by any nonmember state within 30 days from the date the action is taken.​

72.15 (b) The privilege to practice is valid until the expiration date of the home state license.​

72.16 The licensee must comply with the requirements of this article, paragraph (a), to maintain​

72.17 the privilege to practice in the remote state.​

72.18 (c) A licensee providing professional counseling in a remote state under the privilege​

72.19 to practice shall adhere to the laws and regulations of the remote state.​

72.20 (d) A licensee providing professional counseling services in a remote state is subject to​

72.21 that state's regulatory authority. A remote state may, in accordance with due process and​

72.22 that state's laws, remove a licensee's privilege to practice in the remote state for a specific​

72.23 period of time, impose fines, or take any other necessary actions to protect the health and​

72.24 safety of its citizens. The licensee may be ineligible for a privilege to practice in any member​

72.25 state until the specific time for removal has passed and all fines are paid.​

72.26 (e) If a home state license is encumbered, the licensee shall lose the privilege to practice​

72.27 in any remote state until the following occur:​

72.28 (1) the home state license is no longer encumbered; and​

72.29 (2) have not had any encumbrance or restriction against any license or privilege to​

72.30 practice within the previous two years.​
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73.1 (f) Once an encumbered license in the home state is restored to good standing, the​

73.2 licensee must meet the requirements of this article, paragraph (a), to obtain a privilege to​

73.3 practice in any remote state.​

73.4 (g) If a licensee's privilege to practice in any remote state is removed, the individual​

73.5 may lose the privilege to practice in all other remote states until the following occur:​

73.6 (1) the specific period of time for which the privilege to practice was removed has ended;​

73.7 (2) all fines have been paid; and​

73.8 (3) have not had any encumbrance or restriction against any license or privilege to​

73.9 practice within the previous two years.​

73.10 (h) Once the requirements of this article, paragraph (g), have been met, the licensee must​

73.11 meet the requirements in this article, paragraph (g), to obtain a privilege to practice in a​

73.12 remote state.​

73.13 ARTICLE IV​

73.14 OBTAINING A NEW HOME STATE LICENSE BASED ON A PRIVILEGE TO​

73.15 PRACTICE​

73.16 (a) A licensed professional counselor may hold a home state license, which allows for​

73.17 a privilege to practice in other member states, in only one member state at a time.​

73.18 (b) If a licensed professional counselor changes primary state of residence by moving​

73.19 between two member states:​

73.20 (1) the licensed professional counselor shall file an application for obtaining a new home​

73.21 state license based on a privilege to practice, pay all applicable fees, and notify the current​

73.22 and new home state in accordance with applicable rules adopted by the commission;​

73.23 (2) upon receipt of an application for obtaining a new home state license by virtue of a​

73.24 privilege to practice, the new home state shall verify that the licensed professional counselor​

73.25 meets the pertinent criteria outlined in article III via the data system, without need for​

73.26 primary source verification, except for:​

73.27 (i) a Federal Bureau of Investigation fingerprint-based criminal background check if not​

73.28 previously performed or updated pursuant to applicable rules adopted by the commission​

73.29 in accordance with Public Law 92-544;​

73.30 (ii) other criminal background checks as required by the new home state; and​

73.31 (iii) completion of any requisite jurisprudence requirements of the new home state;​

73​Article 3 Sec. 15.​

COUNSEL KC/SC SCS4198A-2​03/29/22 09:11 am ​



74.1 (3) the former home state shall convert the former home state license into a privilege to​

74.2 practice once the new home state has activated the new home state license in accordance​

74.3 with applicable rules adopted by the commission;​

74.4 (4) notwithstanding any other provision of this compact, if the licensed professional​

74.5 counselor cannot meet the criteria in article V, the new home state may apply its requirements​

74.6 for issuing a new single state license; and​

74.7 (5) the licensed professional counselor shall pay all applicable fees to the new home​

74.8 state in order to be issued a new home state license.​

74.9 (c) If a licensed professional counselor changes primary state of residence by moving​

74.10 from a member state to a nonmember state, or from a nonmember state to a member state,​

74.11 the state criteria shall apply for issuance of a single state license in the new state.​

74.12 (d) Nothing in this compact shall interfere with a licensee's ability to hold a single state​

74.13 license in multiple states, however, for the purposes of this compact, a licensee shall have​

74.14 only one home state license.​

74.15 (e) Nothing in this compact shall affect the requirements established by a member state​

74.16 for the issuance of a single state license.​

74.17 ARTICLE V​

74.18 ACTIVE DUTY MILITARY PERSONNEL OR THEIR SPOUSES​

74.19 Active duty military personnel, or their spouse, shall designate a home state where the​

74.20 individual has a current license in good standing. The individual may retain the home state​

74.21 designation during the period the service member is on active duty. Subsequent to designating​

74.22 a home state, the individual shall only change their home state through application for​

74.23 licensure in the new state or through the process outlined in article IV.​

74.24 ARTICLE VI​

74.25 COMPACT PRIVILEGE TO PRACTICE TELEHEALTH​

74.26 (a) Member states shall recognize the right of a licensed professional counselor, licensed​

74.27 by a home state in accordance with article II and under rules promulgated by the commission,​

74.28 to practice professional counseling in any member state via telehealth under a privilege to​

74.29 practice as provided in the compact and rules promulgated by the commission.​

74.30 (b) A licensee providing professional counseling services in a remote state under the​

74.31 privilege to practice shall adhere to the laws and regulations of the remote state.​

74.32 ARTICLE VII​
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75.1 ADVERSE ACTIONS​

75.2 (a) In addition to the other powers conferred by state law, a remote state shall have the​

75.3 authority, in accordance with existing state due process law, to:​

75.4 (1) take adverse action against a licensed professional counselor's privilege to practice​

75.5 within that member state; and​

75.6 (2) issue subpoenas for both hearings and investigations that require the attendance and​

75.7 testimony of witnesses as well as the production of evidence. Subpoenas issued by a licensing​

75.8 board in a member state for the attendance and testimony of witnesses or the production of​

75.9 evidence from another member state shall be enforced in the latter state by any court of​

75.10 competent jurisdiction according to the practice and procedure of that court applicable to​

75.11 subpoenas issued in proceedings pending before it. The issuing authority shall pay any​

75.12 witness fees, travel expenses, mileage, and other fees required by the service statutes of the​

75.13 state in which the witnesses or evidence are located.​

75.14 (b) Only the home state shall have the power to take adverse action against a licensed​

75.15 professional counselor's license issued by the home state.​

75.16 (c) For purposes of taking adverse action, the home state shall give the same priority​

75.17 and effect to reported conduct received from a member state as it would if the conduct had​

75.18 occurred within the home state. In so doing, the home state shall apply its own state laws​

75.19 to determine appropriate action.​

75.20 (d) The home state shall complete any pending investigations of a licensed professional​

75.21 counselor who changes primary state of residence during the course of the investigations.​

75.22 The home state shall also have the authority to take appropriate action and shall promptly​

75.23 report the conclusions of the investigations to the administrator of the data system. The​

75.24 administrator of the coordinated licensure information system shall promptly notify the new​

75.25 home state of any adverse actions.​

75.26 (e) A member state, if otherwise permitted by state law, may recover from the affected​

75.27 licensed professional counselor the costs of investigations and dispositions of cases resulting​

75.28 from any adverse action taken against that licensed professional counselor.​

75.29 (f) A member state may take adverse action based on the factual findings of the remote​

75.30 state, provided that the member state follows its own procedures for taking the adverse​

75.31 action.​

75.32 (g) Joint investigations:​
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76.1 (1) in addition to the authority granted to a member state by its respective professional​

76.2 counseling practice act or other applicable state law, any member state may participate with​

76.3 other member states in joint investigations of licensees; and​

76.4 (2) member states shall share any investigative, litigation, or compliance materials in​

76.5 furtherance of any joint or individual investigation initiated under the compact.​

76.6 (h) If adverse action is taken by the home state against the license of a licensed​

76.7 professional counselor, the licensed professional counselor's privilege to practice in all other​

76.8 member states shall be deactivated until all encumbrances have been removed from the​

76.9 state license. All home state disciplinary orders that impose adverse action against the license​

76.10 of a licensed professional counselor shall include a statement that the licensed professional​

76.11 counselor's privilege to practice is deactivated in all member states during the pendency of​

76.12 the order.​

76.13 (i) If a member state takes adverse action, it shall promptly notify the administrator of​

76.14 the data system. The administrator of the data system shall promptly notify the home state​

76.15 of any adverse actions by remote states.​

76.16 (j) Nothing in this compact shall override a member state's decision that participation​

76.17 in an alternative program may be used in lieu of adverse action.​

76.18 ARTICLE VIII​

76.19 ESTABLISHMENT OF COUNSELING COMPACT COMMISSION​

76.20 (a) The compact member states hereby create and establish a joint public agency known​

76.21 as the counseling compact commission:​

76.22 (1) the commission is an instrumentality of the compact states;​

76.23 (2) venue is proper and judicial proceedings by or against the commission shall be​

76.24 brought solely and exclusively in a court of competent jurisdiction where the principal office​

76.25 of the commission is located. The commission may waive venue and jurisdictional defenses​

76.26 to the extent it adopts or consents to participate in alternative dispute resolution proceedings;​

76.27 and​

76.28 (3) nothing in this compact shall be construed to be a waiver of sovereign immunity.​

76.29 (b) Membership, voting, and meetings:​

76.30 (1) each member state shall have and be limited to one delegate selected by that member​

76.31 state's licensing board;​

76.32 (2) the delegate shall be either:​
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77.1 (i) a current member of the licensing board at the time of appointment who is a licensed​

77.2 professional counselor or public member; or​

77.3 (ii) an administrator of the licensing board;​

77.4 (3) any delegate may be removed or suspended from office as provided by the law of​

77.5 the state from which the delegate is appointed;​

77.6 (4) the member state licensing board shall fill any vacancy occurring on the commission​

77.7 within 60 days;​

77.8 (5) each delegate shall be entitled to one vote with regard to the promulgation of rules​

77.9 and creation of bylaws and shall otherwise have an opportunity to participate in the business​

77.10 and affairs of the commission;​

77.11 (6) a delegate shall vote in person or by such other means as provided in the bylaws.​

77.12 The bylaws may provide for delegates' participation in meetings by telephone or other means​

77.13 of communication;​

77.14 (7) the commission shall meet at least once during each calendar year. Additional​

77.15 meetings shall be held as set forth in the bylaws; and​

77.16 (8) the commission shall by rule establish a term of office for delegates and may by rule​

77.17 establish term limits.​

77.18 (c) The commission shall have the following powers and duties:​

77.19 (1) establish the fiscal year of the commission;​

77.20 (2) establish bylaws;​

77.21 (3) maintain its financial records in accordance with the bylaws;​

77.22 (4) meet and take such actions as are consistent with the provisions of this compact and​

77.23 the bylaws;​

77.24 (5) promulgate rules which shall be binding to the extent and in the manner provided​

77.25 for in the compact;​

77.26 (6) bring and prosecute legal proceedings or actions in the name of the commission,​

77.27 provided that the standing of any state licensing board to sue or be sued under applicable​

77.28 law shall not be affected;​

77.29 (7) purchase and maintain insurance and bonds;​

77.30 (8) borrow, accept, or contract for services of personnel, including but not limited to​

77.31 employees of a member state;​
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78.1 (9) hire employees, elect or appoint officers, fix compensation, define duties, grant such​

78.2 individuals appropriate authority to carry out the purposes of the compact, and establish the​

78.3 commission's personnel policies and programs relating to conflicts of interest, qualifications​

78.4 of personnel, and other related personnel matters;​

78.5 (10) accept any and all appropriate donations and grants of money, equipment, supplies,​

78.6 materials, and services and to receive, utilize, and dispose of the same; provided that at all​

78.7 times the commission shall avoid any appearance of impropriety and conflict of interest;​

78.8 (11) lease, purchase, accept appropriate gifts or donations of, or otherwise to own, hold,​

78.9 improve, or use any property, real, personal, or mixed; provided that at all times the​

78.10 commission shall avoid any appearance of impropriety;​

78.11 (12) sell convey, mortgage, pledge, lease, exchange, abandon, or otherwise dispose of​

78.12 any property real, personal, or mixed;​

78.13 (13) establish a budget and make expenditures;​

78.14 (14) borrow money;​

78.15 (15) appoint committees, including standing committees composed of members, state​

78.16 regulators, state legislators or their representatives, and consumer representatives, and such​

78.17 other interested persons as may be designated in this compact and the bylaws;​

78.18 (16) provide and receive information from, and cooperate with, law enforcement agencies;​

78.19 (17) establish and elect an executive committee; and​

78.20 (18) perform such other functions as may be necessary or appropriate to achieve the​

78.21 purposes of this compact consistent with the state regulation of professional counseling​

78.22 licensure and practice.​

78.23 (d) The executive committee:​

78.24 (1) The executive committee shall have the power to act on behalf of the commission​

78.25 according to the terms of this compact;​

78.26 (2) The executive committee shall be composed of up to eleven members:​

78.27 (i) seven voting members who are elected by the commission from the current​

78.28 membership of the commission;​

78.29 (ii) up to four ex-officio, nonvoting members from four recognized national professional​

78.30 counselor organizations; and​

78.31 (iii) the ex-officio members will be selected by their respective organizations;​
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79.1 (3) The commission may remove any member of the executive committee as provided​

79.2 in bylaws;​

79.3 (4) The executive committee shall meet at least annually; and​

79.4 (5) The executive committee shall have the following duties and responsibilities:​

79.5 (i) recommend to the entire commission changes to the rules or bylaws, changes to this​

79.6 compact legislation, fees paid by compact member states such as annual dues, and any​

79.7 commission compact fee charged to licensees for the privilege to practice;​

79.8 (ii) ensure compact administration services are appropriately provided, contractual or​

79.9 otherwise;​

79.10 (iii) prepare and recommend the budget;​

79.11 (iv) maintain financial records on behalf of the commission;​

79.12 (v) monitor compact compliance of member states and provide compliance reports to​

79.13 the commission;​

79.14 (vi) establish additional committees as necessary; and​

79.15 (vii) other duties as provided in rules or bylaws.​

79.16 (e) Meetings of the commission:​

79.17 (1) all meetings shall be open to the public, and public notice of meetings shall be given​

79.18 in the same manner as required under the rulemaking provisions in article X;​

79.19 (2) the commission or the executive committee or other committees of the commission​

79.20 may convene in a closed, non-public meeting if the commission or executive committee or​

79.21 other committees of the commission must discuss:​

79.22 (i) non-compliance of a member state with its obligations under the compact;​

79.23 (ii) the employment, compensation, discipline, or other matters, practices, or procedures​

79.24 related to specific employees or other matters related to the commission's internal personnel​

79.25 practices and procedures;​

79.26 (iii) current, threatened, or reasonably anticipated litigation;​

79.27 (iv) negotiation of contracts for the purchase, lease, or sale of goods, services, or real​

79.28 estate;​

79.29 (v) accusing any person of a crime or formally censuring any person;​
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80.1 (vi) disclosure of trade secrets or commercial or financial information that is privileged​

80.2 or confidential;​

80.3 (vii) disclosure of information of a personal nature where disclosure would constitute a​

80.4 clearly unwarranted invasion of personal privacy;​

80.5 (viii) disclosure of investigative records compiled for law enforcement purposes;​

80.6 (ix) disclosure of information related to any investigative reports prepared by or on​

80.7 behalf of or for use of the commission or other committee charged with responsibility of​

80.8 investigation or determination of compliance issues pursuant to the compact; or​

80.9 (x) matters specifically exempted from disclosure by federal or member state statute;​

80.10 (3) if a meeting, or portion of a meeting, is closed pursuant to this provision, the​

80.11 commission's legal counsel or designee shall certify that the meeting may be closed and​

80.12 shall reference each relevant exempting provision; and​

80.13 (4) the commission shall keep minutes that fully and clearly describe all matters discussed​

80.14 in a meeting and shall provide a full and accurate summary of actions taken and the reasons​

80.15 therefore, including a description of the views expressed. All documents considered in​

80.16 connection with an action shall be identified in such minutes. All minutes and documents​

80.17 of a closed meeting shall remain under seal, subject to release by a majority vote of the​

80.18 commission or order of a court of competent jurisdiction.​

80.19 (f) Financing of the commission:​

80.20 (i) the commission shall pay, or provide for the payment of, the reasonable expenses of​

80.21 its establishment, organization, and ongoing activities;​

80.22 (ii) the commission may accept any and all appropriate revenue sources, donations, and​

80.23 grants of money, equipment, supplies, materials, and services;​

80.24 (iii) the commission may levy on and collect an annual assessment from each member​

80.25 state or impose fees on other parties to cover the cost of the operations and activities of the​

80.26 commission and its staff, which must be in a total amount sufficient to cover its annual​

80.27 budget as approved each year for which revenue is not provided by other sources. The​

80.28 aggregate annual assessment amount shall be allocated based upon a formula to be determined​

80.29 by the commission, which shall promulgate a rule binding upon all member states;​

80.30 (iv) the commission shall not incur obligations of any kind prior to securing the funds​

80.31 adequate to meet the same; nor shall the commission pledge the credit of any of the member​

80.32 states, except by and with the authority of the member state; and​
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81.1 (v) the commission shall keep accurate accounts of all receipts and disbursements. The​

81.2 receipts and disbursements of the commission shall be subject to the audit and accounting​

81.3 procedures established under its bylaws. However, all receipts and disbursements of funds​

81.4 handled by the commission shall be audited yearly by a certified or licensed public​

81.5 accountant, and the report of the audit shall be included in and become part of the annual​

81.6 report of the commission.​

81.7 (g) Qualified immunity, defense, and indemnification:​

81.8 (1) the members, officers, executive director, employees, and representatives of the​

81.9 commission shall be immune from suit and liability, either personally or in their official​

81.10 capacity, for any claim for damage to or loss of property or personal injury or other civil​

81.11 liability caused by or arising out of any actual or alleged act, error, or omission that occurred,​

81.12 or that the person against whom the claim is made had a reasonable basis for believing​

81.13 occurred within the scope of commission employment, duties or responsibilities; provided​

81.14 that nothing in this paragraph shall be construed to protect any such person from suit or​

81.15 liability for any damage, loss, injury, or liability caused by the intentional or willful or​

81.16 wanton misconduct of that person;​

81.17 (2) the commission shall defend any member, officer, executive director, employee or​

81.18 representative of the commission in any civil action seeking to impose liability arising out​

81.19 of any actual or alleged act, error, or omission that occurred within the scope of commission​

81.20 employment, duties, or responsibilities, or that the person against whom the claim is made​

81.21 had a reasonable basis for believing occurred within the scope of commission employment,​

81.22 duties, or responsibilities; provided that nothing herein shall be construed to prohibit that​

81.23 person from retaining his or her own counsel; and provided further, that the actual or alleged​

81.24 act, error, or omission did not result from that person's intentional or willful or wanton​

81.25 misconduct; and​

81.26 (3) the commission shall indemnify and hold harmless any member, officer, executive​

81.27 director, employee, or representative of the commission for the amount of any settlement​

81.28 or judgment obtained against that person arising out of any actual or alleged act, error, or​

81.29 omission that occurred within the scope of commission employment, duties, or​

81.30 responsibilities, or that such person had a reasonable basis for believing occurred within​

81.31 the scope of commission employment, duties, or responsibilities, provided that the actual​

81.32 or alleged act, error, or omission did not result from the intentional or willful or wanton​

81.33 misconduct of that person.​

81.34 ARTICLE IX​
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82.1 DATA SYSTEM​

82.2 (a) The commission shall provide for the development, maintenance, operation, and​

82.3 utilization of a coordinated database and reporting system containing licensure, adverse​

82.4 action, and investigative information on all licensed individuals in member states.​

82.5 (b) Notwithstanding any other provision of state law to the contrary, a member state​

82.6 shall submit a uniform data set to the data system on all individuals to whom this compact​

82.7 is applicable as required by the rules of the commission, including:​

82.8 (1) identifying information;​

82.9 (2) licensure data;​

82.10 (3) adverse actions against a license or privilege to practice;​

82.11 (4) nonconfidential information related to alternative program participation;​

82.12 (5) any denial of application for licensure and the reason for such denial;​

82.13 (6) current significant investigative information; and​

82.14 (7) other information that may facilitate the administration of this compact, as determined​

82.15 by the rules of the commission.​

82.16 (c) Investigative information pertaining to a licensee in any member state will only be​

82.17 available to other member states.​

82.18 (d) The commission shall promptly notify all member states of any adverse action taken​

82.19 against a licensee or an individual applying for a license. Adverse action information​

82.20 pertaining to a licensee in any member state will be available to any other member state.​

82.21 (e) Member states contributing information to the data system may designate information​

82.22 that may not be shared with the public without the express permission of the contributing​

82.23 state.​

82.24 (f) Any information submitted to the data system that is subsequently required to be​

82.25 expunged by the laws of the member state contributing the information shall be removed​

82.26 from the data system.​

82.27 ARTICLE X​

82.28 RULEMAKING​

82.29 (a) The commission shall promulgate reasonable rules in order to effectively and​

82.30 efficiently achieve the purpose of the compact. Notwithstanding the foregoing, in the event​

82.31 the commission exercises its rulemaking authority in a manner that is beyond the scope of​
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83.1 the purposes of the compact, or the powers granted hereunder, then such an action by the​

83.2 commission shall be invalid and have no force or effect.​

83.3 (b) The commission shall exercise its rulemaking powers pursuant to the criteria set​

83.4 forth in this article and the rules adopted thereunder. Rules and amendments shall become​

83.5 binding as of the date specified in each rule or amendment.​

83.6 (c) If a majority of the legislatures of the member states rejects a rule, by enactment of​

83.7 a statute or resolution in the same manner used to adopt the compact within four years of​

83.8 the date of adoption of the rule, then such rule shall have no further force and effect in any​

83.9 member state.​

83.10 (d) Rules or amendments to the rules shall be adopted at a regular or special meeting of​

83.11 the commission.​

83.12 (e) Prior to promulgation and adoption of a final rule or rules by the commission, and​

83.13 at least thirty days in advance of the meeting at which the rule will be considered and voted​

83.14 upon, the commission shall file a notice of proposed rulemaking:​

83.15 (1) on the website of the commission or other publicly accessible platform; and​

83.16 (2) on the website of each member state professional counseling licensing board or other​

83.17 publicly accessible platform or the publication in which each state would otherwise publish​

83.18 proposed rules.​

83.19 (f) The notice of proposed rulemaking shall include:​

83.20 (1) the proposed time, date, and location of the meeting in which the rule will be​

83.21 considered and voted upon;​

83.22 (2) the text of the proposed rule or amendment and the reason for the proposed rule;​

83.23 (3) a request for comments on the proposed rule from any interested person; and​

83.24 (4) the manner in which interested persons may submit notice to the commission of their​

83.25 intention to attend the public hearing and any written comments.​

83.26 (g) Prior to adoption of a proposed rule, the commission shall allow persons to submit​

83.27 written data, facts, opinions, and arguments, which shall be made available to the public.​

83.28 (h) The commission shall grant an opportunity for a public hearing before it adopts a​

83.29 rule or amendment if a hearing is requested by:​

83.30 (1) at least 25 persons;​

83.31 (2) a state or federal governmental subdivision or agency; or​
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84.1 (3) an association having at least 25 members.​

84.2 (i) If a hearing is held on the proposed rule or amendment, the commission shall publish​

84.3 the place, time, and date of the scheduled public hearing. If the hearing is held via electronic​

84.4 means, the commission shall publish the mechanism for access to the electronic hearing:​

84.5 (1) all persons wishing to be heard at the hearing shall notify the executive director of​

84.6 the commission or other designated member in writing of their desire to appear and testify​

84.7 at the hearing not less than five business days before the scheduled date of the hearing;​

84.8 (2) hearings shall be conducted in a manner providing each person who wishes to​

84.9 comment a fair and reasonable opportunity to comment orally or in writing;​

84.10 (3) all hearings will be recorded. A copy of the recording will be made available on​

84.11 request; and​

84.12 (4) nothing in this article shall be construed as requiring a separate hearing on each rule.​

84.13 Rules may be grouped for the convenience of the commission at hearings required by this​

84.14 article.​

84.15 (j) Following the scheduled hearing date, or by the close of business on the scheduled​

84.16 hearing date if the hearing was not held, the commission shall consider all written and oral​

84.17 comments received.​

84.18 (k) If no written notice of intent to attend the public hearing by interested parties is​

84.19 received, the commission may proceed with promulgation of the proposed rule without a​

84.20 public hearing.​

84.21 (l) The commission shall, by majority vote of all members, take final action on the​

84.22 proposed rule and shall determine the effective date of the rule, if any, based on the​

84.23 rulemaking record and the full text of the rule.​

84.24 (m) Upon determination that an emergency exists, the commission may consider and​

84.25 adopt an emergency rule without prior notice, opportunity for comment, or hearing, provided​

84.26 that the usual rulemaking procedures provided in the compact and in this article shall be​

84.27 retroactively applied to the rule as soon as reasonably possible, in no event later than 90​

84.28 days after the effective date of the rule. For the purposes of this provision, an emergency​

84.29 rule is one that must be adopted immediately in order to:​

84.30 (1) meet an imminent threat to public health, safety, or welfare;​

84.31 (2) prevent a loss of commission or member state funds;​
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85.1 (3) meet a deadline for the promulgation of an administrative rule that is established by​

85.2 federal law or rule; or​

85.3 (4) protect public health and safety.​

85.4 (n) The commission or an authorized committee of the commission may direct revisions​

85.5 to a previously adopted rule or amendment for purposes of correcting typographical errors,​

85.6 errors in format, errors in consistency, or grammatical errors. Public notice of any revisions​

85.7 shall be posted on the website of the commission. The revision shall be subject to challenge​

85.8 by any person for a period of thirty days after posting. The revision may be challenged only​

85.9 on grounds that the revision results in a material change to a rule. A challenge shall be made​

85.10 in writing and delivered to the chair of the commission prior to the end of the notice period.​

85.11 If no challenge is made, the revision will take effect without further action. If the revision​

85.12 is challenged, the revision may not take effect without the approval of the commission.​

85.13 ARTICLE XI​

85.14 OVERSIGHT, DISPUTE RESOLUTION, AND ENFORCEMENT​

85.15 (a) Oversight:​

85.16 (1) the executive, legislative, and judicial branches of state government in each member​

85.17 state shall enforce this compact and take all actions necessary and appropriate to effectuate​

85.18 the compact's purposes and intent. The provisions of this compact and the rules promulgated​

85.19 hereunder shall have standing as statutory law;​

85.20 (2) all courts shall take judicial notice of the compact and the rules in any judicial or​

85.21 administrative proceeding in a member state pertaining to the subject matter of this compact​

85.22 which may affect the powers, responsibilities, or actions of the commission; and​

85.23 (3) the commission shall be entitled to receive service of process in any such proceeding​

85.24 and shall have standing to intervene in such a proceeding for all purposes. Failure to provide​

85.25 service of process to the commission shall render a judgment or order void as to the​

85.26 commission, this compact, or promulgated rules.​

85.27 (b) Default, technical assistance, and termination:​

85.28 (1) if the commission determines that a member state has defaulted in the performance​

85.29 of its obligations or responsibilities under this compact or the promulgated rules, the​

85.30 commission shall:​
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86.1 (i) provide written notice to the defaulting state and other member states of the nature​

86.2 of the default, the proposed means of curing the default, or any other action to be taken by​

86.3 the commission; and​

86.4 (ii) provide remedial training and specific technical assistance regarding the default.​

86.5 (c) If a state in default fails to cure the default, the defaulting state may be terminated​

86.6 from the compact upon an affirmative vote of a majority of the member states, and all rights,​

86.7 privileges, and benefits conferred by this compact may be terminated on the effective date​

86.8 of termination. A cure of the default does not relieve the offending state of obligations or​

86.9 liabilities incurred during the period of default.​

86.10 (d) Termination of membership in the compact shall be imposed only after all other​

86.11 means of securing compliance have been exhausted. Notice of intent to suspend or terminate​

86.12 shall be given by the commission to the governor, the majority and minority leaders of the​

86.13 defaulting state's legislature, and each of the member states.​

86.14 (e) A state that has been terminated is responsible for all assessments, obligations, and​

86.15 liabilities incurred through the effective date of termination, including obligations that​

86.16 extend beyond the effective date of termination.​

86.17 (f) The commission shall not bear any costs related to a state that is found to be in default​

86.18 or that has been terminated from the compact, unless agreed upon in writing between the​

86.19 commission and the defaulting state.​

86.20 (g) The defaulting state may appeal the action of the commission by petitioning the​

86.21 United States District Court for the District of Columbia or the federal district where the​

86.22 commission has its principal offices. The prevailing member shall be awarded all costs of​

86.23 such litigation, including reasonable attorney's fees.​

86.24 (h) Dispute resolution:​

86.25 (1) Upon request by a member state, the commission shall attempt to resolve disputes​

86.26 related to the compact that arise among member states and between member and nonmember​

86.27 states; and​

86.28 (2) the commission shall promulgate a rule providing for both mediation and binding​

86.29 dispute resolution for such disputes as appropriate.​

86.30 (i) Enforcement:​

86.31 (1) The commission, in the reasonable exercise of its discretion, shall enforce the​

86.32 provisions and rules of this compact;​
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87.1 (2) by majority vote, the commission may initiate legal action in the United States District​

87.2 Court for the District of Columbia or the federal district where the commission has its​

87.3 principal offices against a member state in default to enforce compliance with the provisions​

87.4 of the compact and its promulgated rules and bylaws. The relief sought may include both​

87.5 injunctive relief and damages. In the event judicial enforcement is necessary, the prevailing​

87.6 member shall be awarded all costs of such litigation, including reasonable attorney's fees;​

87.7 and​

87.8 (3) the remedies herein shall not be the exclusive remedies of the commission. The​

87.9 commission may pursue any other remedies available under federal or state law.​

87.10 ARTICLE XII​

87.11 DATE OF IMPLEMENTATION OF THE COUNSELING COMPACT COMMISSION​

87.12 AND ASSOCIATED RULES, WITHDRAWAL, AND AMENDMENT​

87.13 (a) The compact shall come into effect on the date on which the compact statute is​

87.14 enacted into law in the tenth member state. The provisions, which become effective at that​

87.15 time, shall be limited to the powers granted to the commission relating to assembly and the​

87.16 promulgation of rules. Thereafter, the commission shall meet and exercise rulemaking​

87.17 powers necessary to the implementation and administration of the compact.​

87.18 (b) Any state that joins the compact subsequent to the commission's initial adoption of​

87.19 the rules shall be subject to the rules as they exist on the date on which the compact becomes​

87.20 law in that state. Any rule that has been previously adopted by the commission shall have​

87.21 the full force and effect of law on the day the compact becomes law in that state.​

87.22 (c) Any member state may withdraw from this compact by enacting a statute repealing​

87.23 the same.​

87.24 (1) a member state's withdrawal shall not take effect until six months after enactment​

87.25 of the repealing statute; and​

87.26 (2) withdrawal shall not affect the continuing requirement of the withdrawing state's​

87.27 professional counseling licensing board to comply with the investigative and adverse action​

87.28 reporting requirements of this act prior to the effective date of withdrawal.​

87.29 (d) Nothing contained in this compact shall be construed to invalidate or prevent any​

87.30 professional counseling licensure agreement or other cooperative arrangement between a​

87.31 member state and a nonmember state that does not conflict with the provisions of this​

87.32 compact.​
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88.1 (e) This compact may be amended by the member states. No amendment to this compact​

88.2 shall become effective and binding upon any member state until it is enacted into the laws​

88.3 of all member states.​

88.4 ARTICLE XIII​

88.5 CONSTRUCTION AND SEVERABILITY​

88.6 This compact shall be liberally construed so as to effectuate the purposes thereof. The​

88.7 provisions of this compact shall be severable and if any phrase, clause, sentence, or provision​

88.8 of this compact is declared to be contrary to the constitution of any member state or of the​

88.9 United States or the applicability thereof to any government, agency, person, or circumstance​

88.10 is held invalid, the validity of the remainder of this compact and the applicability thereof​

88.11 to any government, agency, person, or circumstance shall not be affected thereby. If this​

88.12 compact shall be held contrary to the constitution of any member state, the compact shall​

88.13 remain in full force and effect as to the remaining member states and in full force and effect​

88.14 as to the member state affected as to all severable matters.​

88.15 ARTICLE XIV​

88.16 BINDING EFFECT OF COMPACT AND OTHER LAWS​

88.17 (a) A licensee providing professional counseling services in a remote state under the​

88.18 privilege to practice shall adhere to the laws and regulations, including scope of practice,​

88.19 of the remote state.​

88.20 (b) Nothing herein prevents the enforcement of any other law of a member state that is​

88.21 not inconsistent with the compact.​

88.22 (c) Any laws in a member state in conflict with the compact are superseded to the extent​

88.23 of the conflict.​

88.24 (d) Any lawful actions of the commission, including all rules and bylaws properly​

88.25 promulgated by the commission, are binding upon the member states.​

88.26 (e) All permissible agreements between the commission and the member states are​

88.27 binding in accordance with their terms.​

88.28 (f) In the event any provision of the compact exceeds the constitutional limits imposed​

88.29 on the legislature of any member state, the provision shall be ineffective to the extent of the​

88.30 conflict with the constitutional provision in question in that member state.​
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89.1 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 152.125, is amended to read:​

89.2 152.125 INTRACTABLE PAIN.​

89.3 Subdivision 1. Definition Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the terms in this​

89.4 subdivision have the meanings given.​

89.5 (b) "Drug diversion" means the unlawful transfer of prescription drugs from their licit​

89.6 medical purpose to the illicit marketplace.​

89.7 (c) "Intractable pain" means a pain state in which the cause of the pain cannot be removed​

89.8 or otherwise treated with the consent of the patient and in which, in the generally accepted​

89.9 course of medical practice, no relief or cure of the cause of the pain is possible, or none has​

89.10 been found after reasonable efforts. Conditions associated with intractable pain include but​

89.11 are not limited to cancer and the recovery period, sickle cell disease, noncancer pain, rare​

89.12 diseases, orphan diseases, severe injuries, and health conditions requiring the provision of​

89.13 palliative care or hospice care. Reasonable efforts for relieving or curing the cause of the​

89.14 pain may be determined on the basis of, but are not limited to, the following:​

89.15 (1) when treating a nonterminally ill patient for intractable pain, an evaluation conducted​

89.16 by the attending physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or physician assistant and​

89.17 one or more physicians, advanced practice registered nurses, or physician assistants​

89.18 specializing in pain medicine or the treatment of the area, system, or organ of the body​

89.19 confirmed or perceived as the source of the intractable pain; or​

89.20 (2) when treating a terminally ill patient, an evaluation conducted by the attending​

89.21 physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or physician assistant who does so in​

89.22 accordance with the standard of care and the level of care, skill, and treatment that would​

89.23 be recognized by a reasonably prudent physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or​

89.24 physician assistant under similar conditions and circumstances.​

89.25 (d) "Palliative care" has the meaning provided in section 144A.75, subdivision 12.​

89.26 (e) "Rare disease" means a disease, disorder, or condition that affects fewer than 200,000​

89.27 individuals in the United States and is chronic, serious, life altering, or life threatening.​

89.28 Subd. 1a. Criteria for the evaluation and treatment of intractable pain. The evaluation​

89.29 and treatment of intractable pain when treating a nonterminally ill patient is governed by​

89.30 the following criteria:​

89.31 (1) a diagnosis of intractable pain by the treating physician, advanced practice registered​

89.32 nurse, or physician assistant and either by a physician, advanced practice registered nurse,​

89.33 or physician assistant specializing in pain medicine or a physician, advanced practice​
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90.1 registered nurse, or physician assistant treating the area, system, or organ of the body that​

90.2 is the source of the pain is sufficient to meet the definition of intractable pain; and​

90.3 (2) the cause of the diagnosis of intractable pain must not interfere with medically​

90.4 necessary treatment including but not limited to prescribing or administering a controlled​

90.5 substance in Schedules II to V of section 152.02.​

90.6 Subd. 2. Prescription and administration of controlled substances for intractable​

90.7 pain. (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, a physician, advanced practice​

90.8 registered nurse, or physician assistant may prescribe or administer a controlled substance​

90.9 in Schedules II to V of section 152.02 to an individual a patient in the course of the​

90.10 physician's, advanced practice registered nurse's, or physician assistant's treatment of the​

90.11 individual patient for a diagnosed condition causing intractable pain. No physician, advanced​

90.12 practice registered nurse, or physician assistant shall be subject to disciplinary action by​

90.13 the Board of Medical Practice or Board of Nursing for appropriately prescribing or​

90.14 administering a controlled substance in Schedules II to V of section 152.02 in the course​

90.15 of treatment of an individual a patient for intractable pain, provided the physician, advanced​

90.16 practice registered nurse, or physician assistant:​

90.17 (1) keeps accurate records of the purpose, use, prescription, and disposal of controlled​

90.18 substances, writes accurate prescriptions, and prescribes medications in conformance with​

90.19 chapter 147. or 148 or in accordance with the current standard of care; and​

90.20 (2) enters into a patient-provider agreement that meets the criteria in subdivision 5.​

90.21 (b) No physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or physician assistant, acting in​

90.22 good faith and based on the needs of the patient, shall be subject to any civil or criminal​

90.23 action or investigation, disenrollment, or termination by the commissioner of health or​

90.24 human services solely for prescribing a dosage that equates to an upward deviation from​

90.25 morphine milligram equivalent dosage recommendations or thresholds specified in state or​

90.26 federal opioid prescribing guidelines or policies, including but not limited to the Guideline​

90.27 for Prescribing Opioids for Chronic Pain issued by the Centers for Disease Control and​

90.28 Prevention, Minnesota opioid prescribing guidelines, the Minnesota opioid prescribing​

90.29 improvement program, and the Minnesota quality improvement program established under​

90.30 section 256B.0638.​

90.31 (c) A physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or physician assistant treating​

90.32 intractable pain by prescribing, dispensing, or administering a controlled substance in​

90.33 Schedules II to V of section 152.02 that includes but is not limited to opioid analgesics must​

90.34 not taper a patient's medication dosage solely to meet a predetermined morphine milligram​
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91.1 equivalent dosage recommendation or threshold if the patient is stable and compliant with​

91.2 the treatment plan, is experiencing no serious harm from the level of medication currently​

91.3 being prescribed or previously prescribed, and is in compliance with the patient-provider​

91.4 agreement as described in subdivision 5.​

91.5 (d) A physician's, advanced practice registered nurse's, or physician assistant's decision​

91.6 to taper a patient's medication dosage must be based on factors other than a morphine​

91.7 milligram equivalent recommendation or threshold.​

91.8 (e) No pharmacist, health plan company, or pharmacy benefit manager shall refuse to​

91.9 fill a prescription for an opiate issued by a licensed practitioner with the authority to prescribe​

91.10 opiates solely based on the prescription exceeding a predetermined morphine milligram​

91.11 equivalent dosage recommendation or threshold.​

91.12 Subd. 3. Limits on applicability. This section does not apply to:​

91.13 (1) a physician's, advanced practice registered nurse's, or physician assistant's treatment​

91.14 of an individual a patient for chemical dependency resulting from the use of controlled​

91.15 substances in Schedules II to V of section 152.02;​

91.16 (2) the prescription or administration of controlled substances in Schedules II to V of​

91.17 section 152.02 to an individual a patient whom the physician, advanced practice registered​

91.18 nurse, or physician assistant knows to be using the controlled substances for nontherapeutic​

91.19 or drug diversion purposes;​

91.20 (3) the prescription or administration of controlled substances in Schedules II to V of​

91.21 section 152.02 for the purpose of terminating the life of an individual a patient having​

91.22 intractable pain; or​

91.23 (4) the prescription or administration of a controlled substance in Schedules II to V of​

91.24 section 152.02 that is not a controlled substance approved by the United States Food and​

91.25 Drug Administration for pain relief.​

91.26 Subd. 4. Notice of risks. Prior to treating an individual a patient for intractable pain in​

91.27 accordance with subdivision 2, a physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or physician​

91.28 assistant shall discuss with the individual patient or the patient's legal guardian, if applicable,​

91.29 the risks associated with the controlled substances in Schedules II to V of section 152.02​

91.30 to be prescribed or administered in the course of the physician's, advanced practice registered​

91.31 nurse's, or physician assistant's treatment of an individual a patient, and document the​

91.32 discussion in the individual's patient's record as required in the patient-provider agreement​

91.33 described in subdivision 5.​
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92.1 Subd. 5. Patient-provider agreement. (a) Before treating a patient for intractable pain,​

92.2 a physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or physician assistant and the patient or the​

92.3 patient's legal guardian, if applicable, must mutually agree to the treatment and enter into​

92.4 a provider-patient agreement. The agreement must include a description of the prescriber's​

92.5 and the patient's expectations, responsibilities, and rights according to best practices and​

92.6 current standards of care.​

92.7 (b) The agreement must be signed by the patient or the patient's legal guardian, if​

92.8 applicable, and the physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or physician assistant and​

92.9 included in the patient's medical records. A copy of the signed agreement must be provided​

92.10 to the patient.​

92.11 (c) The agreement must be reviewed by the patient and the physician, advanced practice​

92.12 registered nurse, or physician assistant annually. If there is a change in the patient's treatment​

92.13 plan, the agreement must be updated and a revised agreement must be signed by the patient​

92.14 or the patient's legal guardian. A copy of the revised agreement must be included in the​

92.15 patient's medical record and a copy must be provided to the patient.​

92.16 (d) A patient-provider agreement is not required in an emergency or inpatient hospital​

92.17 setting.​

92.18 Sec. 17. APPROPRIATION.​

92.19 $157,000 in fiscal year 2023 is appropriated from the state government special revenue​

92.20 fund to the Board of Nursing for the purposes of implementing Minnesota Statutes, section​

92.21 148.2855. The base for this appropriation is $6,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $6,000 in fiscal​

92.22 year 2025.​

92.23 Sec. 18. REPEALER.​

92.24 Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 147.02, subdivision 2a, is repealed.​

92.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

92.26 ARTICLE 4​

92.27 HUMAN SERVICES FORECAST ADJUSTMENT AND CARRY FORWARD​
92.28 AUTHORITY​

92.29 Section 1. HUMAN SERVICES APPROPRIATION.​

92.30 The dollar amounts shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are added to or, if​

92.31 shown in parentheses, are subtracted from the appropriations in Laws 2021, First Special​

92.32 Session chapter 7, article 16, from the general fund or any fund named to the Department​
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93.1 of Human Services for the purposes specified in this article, to be available for the fiscal​

93.2 year indicated for each purpose. The figures "2022" and "2023" used in this article mean​

93.3 that the appropriations listed under them are available for the fiscal years ending June 30,​

93.4 2022, or June 30, 2023, respectively. "The first year" is fiscal year 2022. "The second year"​

93.5 is fiscal year 2023. "The biennium" is fiscal years 2022 and 2023.​

93.6 APPROPRIATIONS​

93.7 Available for the Year​

93.8 Ending June 30​

2023​93.9 2022​

93.10 Sec. 2. COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN​
93.11 SERVICES​

182,791,000​$​(585,901,000)​$​93.12 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation​

93.13 Appropriations by Fund​

185,395,000​(406,629,000)​93.14 General Fund​

(11,799,000)​(86,146,000)​
93.15 Health Care Access​
93.16 Fund​

9,195,000​(93,126,000)​93.17 Federal TANF​

93.18 Subd. 2. Forecasted Programs​

93.19 (a) MFIP/DWP​

93.20 Appropriations by Fund​

(14,397,000)​72,106,000​93.21 General Fund​

9,195,000​(93,126,000)​93.22 Federal TANF​

(73,738,000)​(103,347,000)​93.23 (b) MFIP Child Care Assistance​

(1,488,000)​(4,175,000)​93.24 (c) General Assistance​

1,613,000​318,000​93.25 (d) Minnesota Supplemental Aid​

9,257,000​(1,994,000)​93.26 (e) Housing Support​

(4,865,000)​(9,613,000)​93.27 (f) Northstar Care for Children​

(11,799,000)​(86,146,000)​93.28 (g) MinnesotaCare​

93.29 These appropriations are from the health care​

93.30 access fund.​

93.31 (h) Medical Assistance​
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94.1 Appropriations by Fund​

292,880,000​(348,364,000)​94.2 General Fund​

0​0​
94.3 Health Care Access​
94.4 Fund​

0​0​94.5 (i) Alternative Care Program​

(23,867,000)​(11,560,000)​94.6 (j) Behavioral Health Fund​

0​0​94.7 Subd. 3. Technical Activities​

94.8 These appropriations are from the federal​

94.9 TANF fund.​

94.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

94.11 Sec. 3. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 16, section 2, subdivision 29,​

94.12 is amended to read:​

31,010,000​31,398,000​94.13 Subd. 29. Grant Programs; Disabilities Grants​

94.14 (a) Training Stipends for Direct Support​

94.15 Services Providers. $1,000,000 in fiscal year​

94.16 2022 is from the general fund for stipends for​

94.17 individual providers of direct support services​

94.18 as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section​

94.19 256B.0711, subdivision 1. These stipends are​

94.20 available to individual providers who have​

94.21 completed designated voluntary trainings​

94.22 made available through the State-Provider​

94.23 Cooperation Committee formed by the State​

94.24 of Minnesota and the Service Employees​

94.25 International Union Healthcare Minnesota.​

94.26 Any unspent appropriation in fiscal year 2022​

94.27 is available in fiscal year 2023. This is a​

94.28 onetime appropriation. This appropriation is​

94.29 available only if the labor agreement between​

94.30 the state of Minnesota and the Service​

94.31 Employees International Union Healthcare​

94.32 Minnesota under Minnesota Statutes, section​

94.33 179A.54, is approved under Minnesota​

94.34 Statutes, section 3.855.​
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95.1 (b) Parent-to-Parent Peer Support. $125,000​

95.2 in fiscal year 2022 and $125,000 in fiscal year​

95.3 2023 are from the general fund for a grant to​

95.4 an alliance member of Parent to Parent USA​

95.5 to support the alliance member's​

95.6 parent-to-parent peer support program for​

95.7 families of children with a disability or special​

95.8 health care need.​

95.9 (c) Self-Advocacy Grants. (1) $143,000 in​

95.10 fiscal year 2022 and $143,000 in fiscal year​

95.11 2023 are from the general fund for a grant​

95.12 under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.477,​

95.13 subdivision 1.​

95.14 (2) $105,000 in fiscal year 2022 and $105,000​

95.15 in fiscal year 2023 are from the general fund​

95.16 for subgrants under Minnesota Statutes,​

95.17 section 256.477, subdivision 2.​

95.18 (d) Minnesota Inclusion Initiative Grants.​

95.19 $150,000 in fiscal year 2022 and $150,000 in​

95.20 fiscal year 2023 are from the general fund for​

95.21 grants under Minnesota Statutes, section​

95.22 256.4772.​

95.23 (e) Grants to Expand Access to Child Care​

95.24 for Children with Disabilities. $250,000 in​

95.25 fiscal year 2022 and $250,000 in fiscal year​

95.26 2023 are from the general fund for grants to​

95.27 expand access to child care for children with​

95.28 disabilities. Any unspent amount in fiscal year​

95.29 2022 is available through June 30, 2023. This​

95.30 is a onetime appropriation.​

95.31 (f) Parenting with a Disability Pilot Project.​

95.32 The general fund base includes $1,000,000 in​

95.33 fiscal year 2024 and $0 in fiscal year 2025 to​
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96.1 implement the parenting with a disability pilot​

96.2 project.​

96.3 (g) Base Level Adjustment. The general fund​

96.4 base is $29,260,000 in fiscal year 2024 and​

96.5 $22,260,000 in fiscal year 2025.​

96.6 Sec. 4. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 16, section 2, subdivision 31,​

96.7 is amended to read:​

96.8 Subd. 31. Grant Programs; Adult Mental Health​
96.9 Grants​

96.10 Appropriations by Fund​

98,703,000​98,772,000​96.11 General​

2,000,000​2,000,000​
96.12 Opiate Epidemic​
96.13 Response​

96.14 (a) Culturally and Linguistically​

96.15 Appropriate Services Implementation​

96.16 Grants. $2,275,000 in fiscal year 2022 and​

96.17 $2,206,000 in fiscal year 2023 are from the​

96.18 general fund for grants to disability services,​

96.19 mental health, and substance use disorder​

96.20 treatment providers to implement culturally​

96.21 and linguistically appropriate services​

96.22 standards, according to the implementation​

96.23 and transition plan developed by the​

96.24 commissioner. Any unspent amount in fiscal​

96.25 year 2022 is available through June 30, 2023.​

96.26 The general fund base for this appropriation​

96.27 is $1,655,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $0 in​

96.28 fiscal year 2025.​

96.29 (b) Base Level Adjustment. The general fund​

96.30 base is $93,295,000 in fiscal year 2024 and​

96.31 $83,324,000 in fiscal year 2025. The opiate​

96.32 epidemic response fund base is $2,000,000 in​

96.33 fiscal year 2024 and $0 in fiscal year 2025.​

96​Article 4 Sec. 4.​
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97.1 Sec. 5. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 16, section 2, subdivision 33,​

97.2 is amended to read:​

97.3 Subd. 33. Grant Programs; Chemical​
97.4 Dependency Treatment Support Grants​

97.5 Appropriations by Fund​

4,274,000​4,273,000​97.6 General​

1,733,000​1,733,000​97.7 Lottery Prize​

500,000​500,000​
97.8 Opiate Epidemic​
97.9 Response​

97.10 (a) Problem Gambling. $225,000 in fiscal​

97.11 year 2022 and $225,000 in fiscal year 2023​

97.12 are from the lottery prize fund for a grant to​

97.13 the state affiliate recognized by the National​

97.14 Council on Problem Gambling. The affiliate​

97.15 must provide services to increase public​

97.16 awareness of problem gambling, education,​

97.17 training for individuals and organizations​

97.18 providing effective treatment services to​

97.19 problem gamblers and their families, and​

97.20 research related to problem gambling.​

97.21 (b) Recovery Community Organization​

97.22 Grants. $2,000,000 in fiscal year 2022 and​

97.23 $2,000,000 in fiscal year 2023 are from the​

97.24 general fund for grants to recovery community​

97.25 organizations, as defined in Minnesota​

97.26 Statutes, section 254B.01, subdivision 8, to​

97.27 provide for costs and community-based peer​

97.28 recovery support services that are not​

97.29 otherwise eligible for reimbursement under​

97.30 Minnesota Statutes, section 254B.05, as part​

97.31 of the continuum of care for substance use​

97.32 disorders. Any unspent amount in fiscal year​

97.33 2022 is available through June 30, 2023.  The​

97.34 general fund base for this appropriation is​

97.35 $2,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $0 in fiscal​

97.36 year 2025​
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98.1 (c) Base Level Adjustment. The general fund​

98.2 base is $4,636,000 in fiscal year 2024 and​

98.3 $2,636,000 in fiscal year 2025. The opiate​

98.4 epidemic response fund base is $500,000 in​

98.5 fiscal year 2024 and $0 in fiscal year 2025.​

98.6 Sec. 6. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 17, section 3, is amended to​

98.7 read:​

98.8 Sec. 3. GRANTS FOR TECHNOLOGY FOR HCBS RECIPIENTS.​

98.9 (a) This act includes $500,000 in fiscal year 2022 and $2,000,000 in fiscal year 2023​

98.10 for the commissioner of human services to issue competitive grants to home and​

98.11 community-based service providers. Grants must be used to provide technology assistance,​

98.12 including but not limited to Internet services, to older adults and people with disabilities​

98.13 who do not have access to technology resources necessary to use remote service delivery​

98.14 and telehealth. Any unspent amount in fiscal year 2022 is available through June 30, 2023.​

98.15 The general fund base included in this act for this purpose is $1,500,000 in fiscal year 2024​

98.16 and $0 in fiscal year 2025.​

98.17 (b) All grant activities must be completed by March 31, 2024.​

98.18 (c) This section expires June 30, 2024.​

98.19 Sec. 7. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 17, section 6, is amended to​

98.20 read:​

98.21 Sec. 6. TRANSITION TO COMMUNITY INITIATIVE.​

98.22 (a) This act includes $5,500,000 in fiscal year 2022 and $5,500,000 in fiscal year 2023​

98.23 for additional funding for grants awarded under the transition to community initiative​

98.24 described in Minnesota Statutes, section 256.478. Any unspent amount in fiscal year 2022​

98.25 is available through June 30, 2023. The general fund base in this act for this purpose is​

98.26 $4,125,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $0 in fiscal year 2025.​

98.27 (b) All grant activities must be completed by March 31, 2024.​

98.28 (c) This section expires June 30, 2024.​
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99.1 Sec. 8. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 17, section 10, is amended to​

99.2 read:​

99.3 Sec. 10. PROVIDER CAPACITY GRANTS FOR RURAL AND UNDERSERVED​

99.4 COMMUNITIES.​

99.5 (a) This act includes $6,000,000 in fiscal year 2022 and $8,000,000 in fiscal year 2023​

99.6 for the commissioner to establish a grant program for small provider organizations that​

99.7 provide services to rural or underserved communities with limited home and​

99.8 community-based services provider capacity. The grants are available to build organizational​

99.9 capacity to provide home and community-based services in Minnesota and to build new or​

99.10 expanded infrastructure to access medical assistance reimbursement. Any unspent amount​

99.11 in fiscal year 2022 is available through June 30, 2023. The general fund base in this act for​

99.12 this purpose is $8,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $0 in fiscal year 2025.​

99.13 (b) The commissioner shall conduct community engagement, provide technical assistance,​

99.14 and establish a collaborative learning community related to the grants available under this​

99.15 section and work with the commissioner of management and budget and the commissioner​

99.16 of the Department of Administration to mitigate barriers in accessing grant funds. Funding​

99.17 awarded for the community engagement activities described in this paragraph is exempt​

99.18 from state solicitation requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 16B.97, for activities​

99.19 that occur in fiscal year 2022.​

99.20 (c) All grant activities must be completed by March 31, 2024.​

99.21 (d) This section expires June 30, 2024.​

99.22 Sec. 9. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 17, section 11, is amended to​

99.23 read:​

99.24 Sec. 11. EXPAND MOBILE CRISIS.​

99.25 (a) This act includes $8,000,000 in fiscal year 2022 and $8,000,000 in fiscal year 2023​

99.26 for additional funding for grants for adult mobile crisis services under Minnesota Statutes,​

99.27 section 245.4661, subdivision 9, paragraph (b), clause (15). Any unspent amount in fiscal​

99.28 year 2022 is available through June 30, 2023. The general fund base in this act for this​

99.29 purpose is $4,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $0 in fiscal year 2025.​

99.30 (b) Beginning April 1, 2024, counties may fund and continue conducting activities​

99.31 funded under this section.​
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100.1 (c) All grant activities must be completed by March 31, 2024.​

100.2 (d) This section expires June 30, 2024.​

100.3 Sec. 10. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 17, section 12, is amended to​

100.4 read:​

100.5 Sec. 12. PSYCHIATRIC RESIDENTIAL TREATMENT FACILITY AND CHILD​

100.6 AND ADOLESCENT MOBILE TRANSITION UNIT.​

100.7 (a) This act includes $2,500,000 in fiscal year 2022 and $2,500,000 in fiscal year 2023​

100.8 for the commissioner of human services to create children's mental health transition and​

100.9 support teams to facilitate transition back to the community of children from psychiatric​

100.10 residential treatment facilities, and child and adolescent behavioral health hospitals. Any​

100.11 unspent amount in fiscal year 2022 is available through June 30, 2023. The general fund​

100.12 base included in this act for this purpose is $1,875,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $0 in fiscal​

100.13 year 2025.​

100.14 (b) Beginning April 1, 2024, counties may fund and continue conducting activities​

100.15 funded under this section.​

100.16 (c) This section expires March 31, 2024.​

100.17 Sec. 11. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 17, section 17, subdivision 3,​

100.18 is amended to read:​

100.19 Subd. 3. Respite services for older adults grants. (a) This act includes $2,000,000 in​

100.20 fiscal year 2022 and $2,000,000 in fiscal year 2023 for the commissioner of human services​

100.21 to establish a grant program for respite services for older adults. The commissioner must​

100.22 award grants on a competitive basis to respite service providers. Any unspent amount in​

100.23 fiscal year 2022 is available through June 30, 2023. The general fund base included in this​

100.24 act for this purpose is $2,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $0 in fiscal year 2025.​

100.25 (b) All grant activities must be completed by March 31, 2024.​

100.26 (c) This subdivision expires June 30, 2024."​

100.27 Amend the title accordingly​

100​Article 4 Sec. 11.​
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