State Length of Source
Temporary
Nurse License
by
Endorsement
Alabama 180 days https://www.abn.alabama.gov/apply/#fag/how-long-is-a-
temporary-permit-active
Alaska 6 months https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/nurd01
6.pdf
Arizona 6 months https://www.azbn.gov/licenses-and-certifications/apply-for-a-
license
Arkansas 6 months https://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/images/uploads/pdf/NURSE
PRACTICEACT 2021.Subchapter3.pdf
California 6 months https://www.rn.ca.gov/applicants/lic-temp.shtml
Colorado 4 months https://dpo.colorado.gov/Nursing/Laws
Connecticut 120 days https://portal.ct.gov/DPH/Practitioner-Licensing--
Investigations/Registered-Nurse/RN-Licensure-by-Endorsement
Delaware 90 days https://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/nursing/rnipntemppermit/
Florida 6 months https://floridasnursing.gov/licensing/licensed-practical-nurse-
registered-nurse-by-endorsement/
Georgia 60 days after https://sos.ga.gov/page/temporary-permits
state of
emergency
Hawaii 90 days https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/nursing/statute rules/
Idaho 90 days https://ibn.idaho.gov/licensure/licensure-application-types/
fllinois 6 months https://ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs4.asp?DocName=022500650
HArt%2E+60&ActiD=1312&ChapteriD=24&SeqStart=15600000
&SegEnd=16500000
Indiana 90 days https://www.in.gov/pla/professions/indiana-state-board-of-
nursing/licensed-practical—nurse/app!ication—bv-endorsemenﬂ
lowa 30 days https://nursing.iowa.gov/sites/default/ﬂles/documents/ZOZl/O
7/endorsement_instructions 2021 07 20.pdf
Kansas 120 days https://ksbn.kansas.gov/wp-content/uploads/NPA/npa.pdf
Kentucky 6 months https://kbn.ky.gov/General/Pages/Provisional-License.aspx
Louisiana 90 days http://www.lsbn.state.la.us/Portals/1/Documents/Forms/RNEn
dorsementApplication.pdf
Maine 90 days https://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/32/title32ch31.pdf
Maryland 90 days https://govt.westlaw.com/mdc/Document/NC9134A106DCC11
E7AAD7AC754BCA4BE8?viewType=FullText&originationContext
=documenttoc&transitionType=CategoryPageltem&contextDat
a=(sc.Default)
Massachusetts | 1year https://malegislature.gov/Laws/Generallaws/Pa rtl/TitleXVIl/Ch
apter112/Section76A
Michigan 1 year https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/Nursing FAQs upd
ated 579848 7.pdf
Minnesota 60 days https://mn.gov/boards/nursing/licensure/apply-for-a-

license/lic-by-end-process.isp




Mississippi 90 days https://law.justia.com/codes/mississippi/2018/title-
73/chapter-15/article-1/section-73-15-19/

Missouri 6 months https://pr.mo.gov/boards/nursing/RN%20License%20by%20En
dorsement%20instruction%20Letter.pdf

Montana 90 days https://boards.bsd.dli.mt.gov/Portals/133/Documents/nur/nur

exam app.pdf

Nebraska 60 days https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Nurse-License-
Applications.aspx

Nevada 6 months https://nevadanursingboard.org/wp-
content/uploads/2022/03/RNLPN-Endorsement-
Instructions.pdf

New 120 days http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XXX/326-B/326-B-

Hampshire 24.htm

New Jersey 1year https://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/nur/Pages/regulations.asp
X

New Mexico 6 months https://nmbon.sks.com/fags.aspx

New York 1 year http://www.op.nysed.gov/prof/nurse/article139.htmitsect6907

North Carolina | 6 months https://www.nchon.com/news-publications-statistics-
frequently-asked-questions-endorsement

North Dakota 90 days https://www.ndbon.org/FAQ/Endorsement.asp

Ohio 180 days https://nursing.ohio.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/Types-
of-Applications.pdf

Oklahoma 90 days https://nursing.ok.gov/endorseused07.pdf

Oregon N/A https://www.oregon.gov/osbn/Documents/FAQ_LicensingProc
ess.pdf

Pennsylvania 1lvyear https://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsCommiss
ions/Nursing/Documents/Applications%20and%20Forms/Onlin
e%20Endorsement%20Combined%20instructions. pdf

Rhode Island N/A

South Carolina | 60 days https://www.scstatehouse.gov/code/t40c033.php

South Dakota 90 days https://www.sdbon.org/rn_Ipn/endorse/

Tennessee 6 months https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&c
rid=a33d27ce-942¢-438f-bfa7-
Slbla1319460&nodeid=ACKAAHAABAAF&nodepath:%ZFROOT
2%62FACK%2FACKAAH%2FACKAAHAABY%2 FACKAAHAABAAF& leve
I=4&haschildren=&populated=false&title=63-7-

105 +Registered+nurse+licensure.&config=025054JABIOTIiNm!
LNiOinIOLTRiZGEtYWESZCOzNGFhOWNhMiFINDgKAFBVZENhd
GFsh2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTalOWcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%
2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-
legislation%2Furn%3Acontentitem%3A50G5-6KJ0-RO3M-2247-
00008-00&ecomp=5g1 kkk&prid=28a4905d-71ba-4f2b-b48d-
ef755de9c7fc

Texas 120 days https://www.bon.texas.gov/licensure _endorsement.asp

Utah Yes but can’t https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title58/Chapter1/58-1-

find time limit $303.htmi?v=C58-1-5303 1800010118000101

Vermont N/A https://sos.vermont.gov/nursing/nursing-fags/#a2




Virginia 30 days https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/Forms/Nursing/RN
LPN End InstrForms.pdf

Washington 180 days https://doh.wa.gov/licenses-permits-and—
certiﬁcates/professions-new~renew»or~update/temporﬂy_-
practice—permits-secretary-authoritv~healthcare-professions

Waest Virginia 90 days https://wvrnboa rd.wv.gov/licensing/Pages/default.aspx

Wisconsin 90 days https://dsps.wi.gov/Pages/Professions/RN/Default‘aspx

Wyoming 90 days https://wsbn.wyo.gov/licensing







