

Education Finance & Policy Committee February 9, 2022 3:00 p.m.

Chair

Roger Chamberlain 3225 MN Senate Bldg. St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-1253

Vice Chair
Justin Eichorn

Ranking Minority Member

Chuck Wiger

Members

Julia Coleman Steve Cwodzinski Zach Duckworth Jason Isaacson Mary Kunesh Scott Newman

Committee Staff:

Committee
Administrator
Grog Marcus

Greg Marcus (651) 296-2167

Committee Legislative

Assistant

Judith Donovan (651) 296-4197

Research

Ed Cook Danna Elling

Senate Counsel

Ann Marie Lewis

Legislative Analyst

Bettsy Hjelseth

Fiscal Analyst

Jenna Hofer

I. Call to order:

II. Agenda:

Bettsy Hjelseth, Senate Legislative Analyst:

- MCA's scores
- Impact of Covid on education outcomes

Dr. Amy Schulting, MDE Dyslexia Specialist: MDE Roll-out of LETRS grants

David Weingartner, Sara Spafford Freeman and Khulia Pringle: MPS Academics Advocacy

Jessica Town-Gunderson, Director of Teaching & Learning for Princeton Public Schools

Lisa M. Silmser, Ed.D., Literacy Specialist, LETRS Certified Trainer and the Literacy Coach Brooklyn Park School (Anoka Hennepin District)

Dr. Carrie Pfeifer, Professor of Education, Bethany Lutheran College.

Susan Thomson and Dr. David Parker of Reading Corps

DDMn

III. Adjournment

Minnesota Education Finance & Policy Committee